Tomb Raider PlayStation 3

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1295 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 6, 2013
    10
    I enjoyed this game immensely. I am a long time Tomb Raider fan and I thought this game was a well needed breath of fresh air. I think Lara has earned back her treasure hunting crown from Nathan Drake (not bashing uncharted, love those games too) as there is plenty to see and explore in Tomb Raider, even after the story ends.
  2. Mar 12, 2013
    10
    [Disclaimer: I haven't played the entire game so my review is partly based on actual gameplay and the rest is what I've already read.] Wow. The visuals so far are amazing. It does exceed Uncharted that way, also in the openness of the levels and the natural feel to the platforming and combat. I can tell I'm going to be playing this for a while. I haven't played MP at all, I also don't[Disclaimer: I haven't played the entire game so my review is partly based on actual gameplay and the rest is what I've already read.] Wow. The visuals so far are amazing. It does exceed Uncharted that way, also in the openness of the levels and the natural feel to the platforming and combat. I can tell I'm going to be playing this for a while. I haven't played MP at all, I also don't like that there are MP Trophies required for platinum. If it wasn't for that I'm sure I would Platinum this to explore every nook on the island. The leveling up of the character makes sense, I've read it seems like your a bit powerful at the end. This is a must play for 2013. Might be in the top 3-5 to finish this console cycle. Expand
  3. Mar 5, 2013
    10
    Oh wow this game is simply stunning! I've been a fan of Tomb Raider ever since I played the original on my very first computer. Through the years I haven't spent much time with Laura but I'm back for this one and its the best one to date. Everything about this game is a work of art. The gameplay is fluid and looks so beautiful. Let me emphasize on BEAUTIFUL!!! Best game of the year so far.Oh wow this game is simply stunning! I've been a fan of Tomb Raider ever since I played the original on my very first computer. Through the years I haven't spent much time with Laura but I'm back for this one and its the best one to date. Everything about this game is a work of art. The gameplay is fluid and looks so beautiful. Let me emphasize on BEAUTIFUL!!! Best game of the year so far. The multiplayer is pretty good and it will get better. They have a lot behind this so they will fix it and it will be loved by most. Either way its a game worth checking out. I'm a happy guy! Expand
  4. Mar 24, 2013
    10
    Absolutely amazing, such a turn around for a horrible franchise. To put it gently, Tomb Raider was a very bad series, but this new Tomb Raider changes all of that. When completing the game, yes, it can feel like they are holding your hand, but the game is just too epic and amazing to give a crap about something that Uncharted is just as guilty of. Where this Tomb Raider defeatsAbsolutely amazing, such a turn around for a horrible franchise. To put it gently, Tomb Raider was a very bad series, but this new Tomb Raider changes all of that. When completing the game, yes, it can feel like they are holding your hand, but the game is just too epic and amazing to give a crap about something that Uncharted is just as guilty of. Where this Tomb Raider defeats Uncharted is the tombs and optional tombs that await off the beaten path. While in these tombs, there is absolutely no hand holding and I get giddy about the joy to behold when I discovered a hidden tomb deep inside of a cave or inside a merky mountain passage. Inside these tombs, there is brilliant and rewarding puzzles. Buy this game, it is the best game I've played in YEARS. 11/10 in my opinion, but the rating bar only goes up to 10. Expand
  5. Mar 10, 2013
    10
    Wow this is by far the best Tomb Raider game yet.The game play is incredible the action is intense and the controls is as smooth as butter not forgetting the graphics it is stunning. The entire game is incredible you even have some very thrilling scenes a true survival game at it's very best. Square Enix and Crystal Dynamics did a brilliant no an excellent job in rebooting the tomb raiderWow this is by far the best Tomb Raider game yet.The game play is incredible the action is intense and the controls is as smooth as butter not forgetting the graphics it is stunning. The entire game is incredible you even have some very thrilling scenes a true survival game at it's very best. Square Enix and Crystal Dynamics did a brilliant no an excellent job in rebooting the tomb raider franchise. If you love action packed games filled with thrill and adrenaline then Tomb Raider is for you forget the negative reviews those people simply do not know what a good game is all about. Expand
  6. May 5, 2013
    10
    This might be my favorite game of this generation. Huge Uncharted fan but this bests it. Better combat and better platforming on top of a fun upgrade system. Not an open world game but much more open than the very linear Uncharted. Fun exploring looking for collectables. Great length of game that will keep you busy for a while. Multiplayer is kinda of slow and chunky but can be funThis might be my favorite game of this generation. Huge Uncharted fan but this bests it. Better combat and better platforming on top of a fun upgrade system. Not an open world game but much more open than the very linear Uncharted. Fun exploring looking for collectables. Great length of game that will keep you busy for a while. Multiplayer is kinda of slow and chunky but can be fun for a short burst but it isn't the draw of the game. Must buy!! Expand
  7. Mar 12, 2013
    10
    Thoroughly enjoyable reimagining of the tomb raider franchise. It borrows heavily from Uncharted but also exceeds it in certain respects. Level design, particularly in the use of height to create sense of large space is excellent. There are elements of the game that remind of Dark Souls in that levels run from one to the next in a persistent way that actually allows you to back trackThoroughly enjoyable reimagining of the tomb raider franchise. It borrows heavily from Uncharted but also exceeds it in certain respects. Level design, particularly in the use of height to create sense of large space is excellent. There are elements of the game that remind of Dark Souls in that levels run from one to the next in a persistent way that actually allows you to back track through the island if you wish. Although the game doens't quite return to core puzzling like the best of the tomb raider moments you can remember it does include enough of those elements to reignite your love for the series. The collectables are actually interesting and make yoiu want to use your acrobatics to seek them out and the hidden tombs which are optional do provide reasonable puzzles that are enjoyable to complete if not that taxing.
    As with all tomb raiders and uncharted imo the combat is ok and often unecessary, it is varied enough if you wish to explore the dynamics but I would have minimised this even further to sparse but unique events. Tomb Raider also excels at tension building, a number of scenes I won't mention here for fear of spoiling genuinely are tense if often without any real danger to the player dying and you will find yourself frequently smiling at the end of an action scene at how it was put together and the response the developers have got from you. I'm giving this a 10 and hope the developers on their inevitable next time out don't feel the need to break the format by making it more 'actiony(DEADSPACE)' or overdoing the currently excellent cutscenes(Uncharted 3)
    If I was to be hyper critical I'd say Lara's character development is somehow off without me being able to put my finger on it. One minute determined, the next afraid an unsure of herself, it seems to oscillate a bit. Again perhaps I'm being over analytical there.
    Expand
  8. Jun 25, 2013
    10
    This game is amazing! I can't believe it took me so long to play it! It has the best graphics I've seen in a game. Those graphics are backed by super fun gameplay mechanics and amazing storytelling. If they make a sequel, I'll be in line for a midnight release.
  9. Nov 9, 2015
    10
    I have had the pleasure of playing through this game once on two systems, my PC and my PS3. I played TR originally on PC maxed out with a 360 controller, i enjoyed every bit of the game, started collecting for PS3, i thought why th ehell not and added a physical copy to my collection, i expected it to be a downgraded experience especially with hardware being vastly different, however....I have had the pleasure of playing through this game once on two systems, my PC and my PS3. I played TR originally on PC maxed out with a 360 controller, i enjoyed every bit of the game, started collecting for PS3, i thought why th ehell not and added a physical copy to my collection, i expected it to be a downgraded experience especially with hardware being vastly different, however.... even on PS3 this game is breathtaking obviously not as much as the first time, but from memory of me playing it on PC, i have no qualms with it's visuals at all and the game remains at a stable enough framerate even during heavy combat.
    I own all previous TR games across a few systems.. PS1/Dreamcast/PS2/PS3 this TR is different, but in a good way, exploring the open parts of the game, (i say parts as you have to fast travel to other areas) is fun, trying to locate all docs/GPS Caches/Tombs and relics is a nice side quest, and gives this game more to it's fundamental gameplay armory.
    A 10/10 experience.
    Expand
  10. Mar 7, 2013
    10
    Me gusto desde que lo vi en la E3.
    Ahora que lo he podido jugar no me ha defraudado, es un juego de aventuras muy completo y que renueva la franquicie.
  11. Mar 7, 2013
    10
    Let me start by saying I was never I huge fan of the old tomb raider games in the past,and I never really got involved with tomb raider or Lara Croft since the series first appearance on PlayStation 1,I always thought they where to hard and just plain Boring...But now in 2013 with the release of this AMAZING Reboot,all I can say is that this is the Best game ever created.the graphics areLet me start by saying I was never I huge fan of the old tomb raider games in the past,and I never really got involved with tomb raider or Lara Croft since the series first appearance on PlayStation 1,I always thought they where to hard and just plain Boring...But now in 2013 with the release of this AMAZING Reboot,all I can say is that this is the Best game ever created.the graphics are some of the best I've ever seen(even beating the uncharted series in that sense).the music,voice acting and controls are superb.the game is going to keep you on the edge of you're seat, Tomb Raider is in plain words a masterpiece that gives the Uncharted series a run for it's money.Well done Crystal Dynamics and Square Enix I'm now a Fan of Tomb Raider.the multi player is okay just not perfect,besides that weakness Tomb Raider 2013 is INCREDible.go get it you won't regret it. Expand
  12. Mar 18, 2013
    10
    This game contains a lot more action than the previous installments of the series. But at the same time it also contains a fantastic story with a very believable main character. It is not a story about another super hero fighting his way through countless enemies. Lara has feelings and opinions and they are portrayed in a believable way that even surpasses many movies. That surprisingThis game contains a lot more action than the previous installments of the series. But at the same time it also contains a fantastic story with a very believable main character. It is not a story about another super hero fighting his way through countless enemies. Lara has feelings and opinions and they are portrayed in a believable way that even surpasses many movies. That surprising amount of depth makes this one of the rare games these days that take their adult players seriously. This game will certainly have to be a contestant for the game of the year awards. Expand
  13. Mar 6, 2013
    10
    This new Tomb raider is dirty, beautiful and shocking and Lara really shines in this game!
    Set pieces will make you're jaw drop and keep you at the edge of your seat the whole time!
    Game is amazing and you should get this now!
  14. May 12, 2013
    10
    Did naughty dog make this game? lol cause it's exactly like uncharted with added weapon upgrade, and other other upgrades. Saying that uncharted 2 is one of my favorite games of all times so I don't mind. What can I say this game has a little bit of everything, awesome cut scenes, good gameplay, good story, mini puzzles, etc. It was fun, and finding the collectibles were also a challengeDid naughty dog make this game? lol cause it's exactly like uncharted with added weapon upgrade, and other other upgrades. Saying that uncharted 2 is one of my favorite games of all times so I don't mind. What can I say this game has a little bit of everything, awesome cut scenes, good gameplay, good story, mini puzzles, etc. It was fun, and finding the collectibles were also a challenge to find. Don't let the awful slow beginning fool you, this game keeps you on the edge of your seat from the semi start to finish. Like some reviews said it best, it's uncharted with boobs. Expand
  15. Mar 16, 2013
    10
    One of the best games I've ever played! Words can't express how much I enjoyed this game. I'm a big tomb raider fan and I couldn't have asked for a better reboot than this. It is better than the old in so many was it's incomparable. From the start to finish I was hooked, this game it's amazing in so many ways I would have to go on and on, but I'm not! If you like tomb raider, you'll loveOne of the best games I've ever played! Words can't express how much I enjoyed this game. I'm a big tomb raider fan and I couldn't have asked for a better reboot than this. It is better than the old in so many was it's incomparable. From the start to finish I was hooked, this game it's amazing in so many ways I would have to go on and on, but I'm not! If you like tomb raider, you'll love this, and and of you like video games, you absolutely have to play this game!! It is now in my top 10 favorite games of all time. A must play. Expand
  16. Mar 9, 2013
    10
    wow, what an awesome game. the pace is non stop rush. i loved the design because it is made to have fun with also. this tomb raider is different, but none the less great. laura grew on you and she became s likable believable character. it is obvious that the guys who made this tried to make a great game. my opinion is they did. thanks for an awesome game. visually this work waswow, what an awesome game. the pace is non stop rush. i loved the design because it is made to have fun with also. this tomb raider is different, but none the less great. laura grew on you and she became s likable believable character. it is obvious that the guys who made this tried to make a great game. my opinion is they did. thanks for an awesome game. visually this work was perfect. story was great. game design was player friendly. there weren't the excessive amounts of punishing restarts like the old ones if you made a mistake. this game gets my coveted 10. Expand
  17. Mar 6, 2013
    10
    Great game. Beautiful and awesome environments and I love the exploration aspect of the game. Its among the best action/adventure games on the PS3 but this game is a little more open world while also keeping you engaged and right in the action. Plus the score is amazing, such beautiful music.
  18. Mar 5, 2013
    10
    a great reboot of the game making Lara grounded and more of a person than a symbol

    gear and skills are good but I wish they add more

    the cinematics here are super high quality like from an action move
  19. Apr 26, 2013
    10
    This new Tomb Raider is the best Tomb Raider that you can get it´s over 10 times better than Underworld, Legend or Anniversary.It has the perfect story and the perfect control scheme having a touch of Arkham City, Uncharted and Assassin´s Creed
  20. Mar 6, 2013
    10
    After years of poor tomb raider games a reboot was well needed. The new gameplay is fun as you can either choose to sneak around killing everyone or go in all guns blazing. The story is interesting and the exploration is fun. The multiplayer is this games only let down but im not going to let it affect my score as any true fan knows tomb raider is a single player game!
  21. Mar 8, 2013
    10
    Tomb Raider is a brilliantly crafted action/adventure game. Offering a directed experience, Tomb Raider is very cinematic, but it also features large environments within that allow you to explore, collect things, unlock pathways to new areas, etc. in the vein of the Metroidvania games. This is a very polished and beautiful game that deserves your attention. My one complaint are someTomb Raider is a brilliantly crafted action/adventure game. Offering a directed experience, Tomb Raider is very cinematic, but it also features large environments within that allow you to explore, collect things, unlock pathways to new areas, etc. in the vein of the Metroidvania games. This is a very polished and beautiful game that deserves your attention. My one complaint are some annoying quick-time events. Expand
  22. Mar 16, 2013
    10
    i`ve played and beat this game and i found this to be the best tomb raider game yet.i`m going to say right now this no uncharted.the game has great visuals.and the game play is excellent.you feel connected with lara and her friends as they explore and try to survive.the game is open world to certain point since you can come back and explore old areas to find things you may have missed.thisi`ve played and beat this game and i found this to be the best tomb raider game yet.i`m going to say right now this no uncharted.the game has great visuals.and the game play is excellent.you feel connected with lara and her friends as they explore and try to survive.the game is open world to certain point since you can come back and explore old areas to find things you may have missed.this game feels like the old tomb raider games but the only thing they could of done a little better or add more of is the puzzles.the mutliplayer is fun to play. but can get a little boring to fast. i really felt for the lara and her friends.looting tombs and finding treasure is there just like in the old romb raider games and jumping and climbing as well.no matter what anyone says it still tomb raider old with a new look. Expand
  23. Mar 5, 2013
    10
    What a return for Lara Croft. Crystal Dynamics have made exactly what they were aiming for. Lara is no longer a hardened tomb raider. She's young and terrified and this atmosphere is made perfectly. The story is deep and involving. The action sequences are brutally amazing, ripping along at a breakneck pace. The gameplay is solid and enjoyable and the visuals are quite staggering at times.What a return for Lara Croft. Crystal Dynamics have made exactly what they were aiming for. Lara is no longer a hardened tomb raider. She's young and terrified and this atmosphere is made perfectly. The story is deep and involving. The action sequences are brutally amazing, ripping along at a breakneck pace. The gameplay is solid and enjoyable and the visuals are quite staggering at times. A near perfect experience. Expand
  24. Mar 5, 2013
    10
    This game does not seem like past Tomb Raider games because it really isn't meant to. It is supposed to be a new start and it gets off to a great one. This games Lara isn't the confident and completely fearless Lara from past titles. She is a vulnerable and more realistic character who really makes the player feel more connected to her. The story is a very rich and exciting one thatThis game does not seem like past Tomb Raider games because it really isn't meant to. It is supposed to be a new start and it gets off to a great one. This games Lara isn't the confident and completely fearless Lara from past titles. She is a vulnerable and more realistic character who really makes the player feel more connected to her. The story is a very rich and exciting one that made it very hard for me to take breaks This game is about her very first expedition and how it helped her become the Lara we all know and let me tell you, it is fantastic. Like Uncharted took inspiration from the original Tomb Raider games, this new Tomb Raider title does the same but still maintains a sense of originality. The gameplay is very easy to grasp and very fluid. Not a whole lot of issues there. Also the game allows a variety of tactics to use. If you want sneak around like Rambo and take everyone out silently with a bow, you can do that. If you are more traditional and want to grab an assault rifle and start a fire fight, then yippee ki yay The whole world is beautiful and I didn't notice any glitches. If there were some, which there probably were, they were so small that you probably won't notice unless you look for them. Camilla Luddington does a fantastic job as Lara and I was impressed with the rest of the voice acting as well. Crystal Dynamics wanted a grittier storyline to take this franchise to new horizons and they succeeded in a triumphant fashion. Hopefully this is a start of a glorious revival of the Tomb Raider franchise. Expand
  25. Mar 7, 2013
    10
    "This, however, is not a OLD Tomb Raider game" Puff... That is good.
  26. Mar 14, 2013
    10
    Great overhaul of the franchise! Have always been a fan of the TR games, loved the original. This new version is the shot in the arm they needed. Surpassing the Uncharted games IMO, this new TR is fun, great controls, better firearm dynamics and love the bow and arrow inclusion. Graphics are good too. If you like TR and have enjoyed the Uncharteds on PS3, you will be pleased. TR rocks.
  27. May 2, 2013
    10
    This game was an absolute gem. I rate it higher than Bioshock Infinite. It was SO AMAZING!
    The story, the character development, the environments were all perfect! Uncharted 2 and 3 being my favorite video games, I can easily recommend this to anyone who likes platformer/action-adventure/third person shooter.
  28. Mar 8, 2013
    10
    Just finished the game. One of the best games this gen. If you love Uncharted you'll love this game. The story was cool, the graphics were top notch for a multi platform game. And the setting and set pieces were stunning. I love those asian set pieces like Uncharted 2 also did. Great work Crystal Dynamics keep 'em coming.
  29. Mar 6, 2013
    10
    This is the perfect game for the end of this generation of video games. Tomb Raider is beautifully made, has great storyline and characters and it is a extremely fun game, from beginning to end. But the real point here is Lara Croft. She is more human than ever and also very charismatic. It's a pleasure to play with a female character that is clever and straight, and is not just a "sexyThis is the perfect game for the end of this generation of video games. Tomb Raider is beautifully made, has great storyline and characters and it is a extremely fun game, from beginning to end. But the real point here is Lara Croft. She is more human than ever and also very charismatic. It's a pleasure to play with a female character that is clever and straight, and is not just a "sexy chic". Definitely is a better character than Nathan Drake from Uncharted and, of course, she is an icon. Just three words: BEST-GAME-EVER. Expand
  30. Mar 31, 2013
    10
    I love this game a lot. I'm happy Laura is getting the respect she deserves. She is more than a sex symbol now! She is a human trying to survive. I'm 100% positive that all the bad reviews are forever alones pissed because Laura doesn't have big breast, and they are probably the same people who will give a game like Call of Duty Black Ops 2 a 10/10 rating. Even though call of duty hasI love this game a lot. I'm happy Laura is getting the respect she deserves. She is more than a sex symbol now! She is a human trying to survive. I'm 100% positive that all the bad reviews are forever alones pissed because Laura doesn't have big breast, and they are probably the same people who will give a game like Call of Duty Black Ops 2 a 10/10 rating. Even though call of duty has become so repetitive its boring. At least with this game your getting some excitement. Its hard for me to put the controller down. If your tired of the same old call of duty taking your money for the same thing over and over again, and you want a game that is actually exciting. I would say you must defiantly get a copy of this game. you wont be disappointed. Expand
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. Apr 11, 2013
    90
    This reboot of the series not only surpassed my expectations, but it is easily one of the best games I have played in a long time. If you're like me and love story driven games that offer a great gaming experience then Tomb Raider is definitely for you.
  2. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    Apr 3, 2013
    90
    There’s no denying Tomb Raider is a heavily influenced work, both mechanically and aesthetically (its nods to Neil Marshall’s The Descent are so happy to be there at one point Lara even re-enacts the “girlrising-out-of-sea-of-blood” scene). While it offers nothing wholly original, its salvaged parts combine to produce an experience that is consistently better than anything its own heroes have produced. [April 2013, p70]
  3. Hyper Magazine
    Mar 28, 2013
    90
    Despite occasional dissonance between narrative and game mechanics, Tomb Raider is a highly polished, highly accomplished reboot. Kudos, Crystal Dynamics. [Issue#235]