Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 997 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: An intense and gritty story of the origins of Lara Croft and her ascent from frightened young woman to hardened survivor in Tomb Raider.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. 100
    If you love videogames you’ve got to play this game.
  2. Feb 25, 2013
    91
    It is a superb action game that brings a new emotional dimension to one of gaming's most enduring icons, and repositions her alongside Nathan Drake at the top of gaming's action-hero heirachy.
  3. 90
    It is a symbiosis of elements from the old titles and a lot of Uncharted. As such, free-form exploration, puzzles and tombs to raid meet big-screen action and frenzied shootouts. It could be a great way into the future for Lara, one you couldn't really picture before. For now, this really works.
  4. Mar 28, 2013
    90
    Despite occasional dissonance between narrative and game mechanics, Tomb Raider is a highly polished, highly accomplished reboot. Kudos, Crystal Dynamics. [Issue#235]
  5. Mar 6, 2013
    89
    It's exactly what this franchise needed: A modern-day wake-up call that revamps an outdated character and gives us a role model of whom this industry can be proud. Our pride - however misplaced it may have been before - no longer resides in Lara Croft's chest. The setting is excellent, the character's transformation is emotional and effective, the control and combat is rock solid, and the pacing and variety is top-notch. They could've done more with the ideas they present and the multiplayer is lacking but beyond that, this one is a can't-miss for all serious gamers out there.
  6. 85
    It sets the character up for an amazing sequel and improved multiplayer on next-gen platforms. There’s a whole lot of island to cover and tons of killer action on the way. Set-pieces are astounding and really push the player forward with intense visuals.
  7. Mar 4, 2013
    60
    Tomb Raider is trying to tell Lara’s origin story in a mature fashion, and it somewhat succeeds by depicting the island as an organic living being, and making sure Lara is a believable character with great performances by actress Camilla Luddington. The rest of the game is less impressive, with the sheer amount of jarring enemies, stale combat and tacked on multiplayer.

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 21 out of 258
  1. Mar 6, 2013
    10
    Amazing game, one of the best in the series! It has a slightly cliched story, characters and ending, but in saying that the ending really is amazing and the game needs to be played! Lara Croft is yet again back!! Expand
  2. May 21, 2013
    10
    This is a awesome reboot of Tomb Raider! Now we have a more human Lara, more realistic story context and a great "hero journey"! I'm a Uncharted and Lost die-hard fan, I love mythology, mysteries, puzzles and rpg, so this Tomb Raider is one of the best games I ever played in my life. I hope they make many many sequels! Expand
  3. Mar 5, 2013
    10
    This is the new standard for tomb raider. The atmosphere is amazing. Great story so Far( i am 5 hours in) The gameplay is great. And for the first time in a long Time i truly care about lara. And if She lives or dies. The only cons are the multiplayer feels of uncharted lite. But the cover system is great. I love being as stealthy as I can be. I am very much looking forward for tomb raider 2. lol. Don't let this one pass you by!!!! Expand
  4. Mar 30, 2013
    9
    This was a very fun game a few things that could have done better in the campaign like add more guys shooting while you are trying to find objects ect.... The biggest compliant I have with the game are the glitches and bugs in the multi player, OMG it is awful, and that is an understatement! Expand
  5. Mar 15, 2014
    8
    Tomb Raider is a adernaline filled origin story that never fails to exite in single player and frustrate in multiplayer. The single player of tomb raider is fantastic, although any character but Lara are boring and underdevolped speaking of Lara Camilla Ludington puts in a fantastic performance as the famous action heroine who adds starts as an scared lonely castaway to a confident survivor although some scenes like Lara''s first kill felt unneccesary as after she slo-mo kills three kills with not so much as a flinch. The gameplay in Tomb Raider is great, the combat is fantastic thanks to a great variety of weapons and gear but unlike the first Uncharted it feels more like skipping the cutscenes for the combat than the other way round. The first hour or so feels quite slow and filled with button mashing QTE's that feel out of place. The puzzles that made tomb raider famous return's here but without the bigger and more complex mechanisms and alot more hand holding like the new special ability "survival instincts" which highlights any objects that can be interacted with and just makes things easier. Tomb Raider's multiplayer is a glitchy mess that is no fun and should not be played by anyone. Tomb Raider provides thrills throughout but is bogged down by a broken multiplayer and underdevolped side characters.
    8.5/10
    Expand
  6. Mar 17, 2013
    8
    I was sceptical about this game until i saw some of the gameplay so decided to brave it. I was mightily impressed with this reboot. Made Lara a very believable character as part of a very dark and gritty story that turns her into the survival/explorer that made her famous. I loved the hidden tombs that you could explore off the beaten track which I expect will be expanded more in the next installment as this game is mainly (and rightly) about the origin. The soundtrack is fantastic particularly with a surround sound system and really add to the atmosphere. The action set pieces are amazing and topple the likes of the uncharted series and many recent action films. The only downside is the trophy system for my fellow 100% completionists. In order to fully platinum this game you are required to spend at least 20-40 hours just on the multi-player side to level up which is simply unacceptable for a single-player game such as this. To close this is probably the best game of 2013 so far and will take something special to top it. This game has set a high standard for the series and I hope that they can build on the great foundation they have laid here. Expand
  7. Apr 28, 2013
    0
    Bad. Just bad.
    I recall the original tomb raider. Press forward, Lara moves forward. A rock falls down, you have to press away from the rock
    to run away from it. If a rock falls from above, you move or you die. Not so in this new version. A rock falls, you have to guess what button you have to press before it tells you at the last millisecond giving you no time to press it unless your first name is robocop. Then there comes the part you need to scrabble up a slope and the simple system of pressing a direction to go that direction gets replaced by the l and r button. I seriously do not have the patience for this kind of crap. If I have to press triangle, I expect to be told this ahead of time. I don't expect the game to serve me freshly pickled death just so it can laugh at my Lara girl getting crushed by a huge rock, not giving me much choice because of a completely disproportionate reaction time. Expand

See all 258 User Reviews