Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1125 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: An intense and gritty story of the origins of Lara Croft and her ascent from frightened young woman to hardened survivor in Tomb Raider.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. 100
    If you love videogames you’ve got to play this game.
  2. Feb 25, 2013
    91
    It is a superb action game that brings a new emotional dimension to one of gaming's most enduring icons, and repositions her alongside Nathan Drake at the top of gaming's action-hero heirachy.
  3. 90
    It is a symbiosis of elements from the old titles and a lot of Uncharted. As such, free-form exploration, puzzles and tombs to raid meet big-screen action and frenzied shootouts. It could be a great way into the future for Lara, one you couldn't really picture before. For now, this really works.
  4. Mar 28, 2013
    90
    Despite occasional dissonance between narrative and game mechanics, Tomb Raider is a highly polished, highly accomplished reboot. Kudos, Crystal Dynamics. [Issue#235]
  5. Mar 6, 2013
    89
    It's exactly what this franchise needed: A modern-day wake-up call that revamps an outdated character and gives us a role model of whom this industry can be proud. Our pride - however misplaced it may have been before - no longer resides in Lara Croft's chest. The setting is excellent, the character's transformation is emotional and effective, the control and combat is rock solid, and the pacing and variety is top-notch. They could've done more with the ideas they present and the multiplayer is lacking but beyond that, this one is a can't-miss for all serious gamers out there.
  6. 85
    It sets the character up for an amazing sequel and improved multiplayer on next-gen platforms. There’s a whole lot of island to cover and tons of killer action on the way. Set-pieces are astounding and really push the player forward with intense visuals.
  7. Mar 4, 2013
    60
    Tomb Raider is trying to tell Lara’s origin story in a mature fashion, and it somewhat succeeds by depicting the island as an organic living being, and making sure Lara is a believable character with great performances by actress Camilla Luddington. The rest of the game is less impressive, with the sheer amount of jarring enemies, stale combat and tacked on multiplayer.

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 22 out of 272
  1. Mar 5, 2013
    10
    What a return for Lara Croft. Crystal Dynamics have made exactly what they were aiming for. Lara is no longer a hardened tomb raider. She'sWhat a return for Lara Croft. Crystal Dynamics have made exactly what they were aiming for. Lara is no longer a hardened tomb raider. She's young and terrified and this atmosphere is made perfectly. The story is deep and involving. The action sequences are brutally amazing, ripping along at a breakneck pace. The gameplay is solid and enjoyable and the visuals are quite staggering at times. A near perfect experience. Expand
  2. May 12, 2013
    10
    Did naughty dog make this game? lol cause it's exactly like uncharted with added weapon upgrade, and other other upgrades. Saying thatDid naughty dog make this game? lol cause it's exactly like uncharted with added weapon upgrade, and other other upgrades. Saying that uncharted 2 is one of my favorite games of all times so I don't mind. What can I say this game has a little bit of everything, awesome cut scenes, good gameplay, good story, mini puzzles, etc. It was fun, and finding the collectibles were also a challenge to find. Don't let the awful slow beginning fool you, this game keeps you on the edge of your seat from the semi start to finish. Like some reviews said it best, it's uncharted with boobs. Expand
  3. Mar 5, 2013
    10
    This is the new standard for tomb raider. The atmosphere is amazing. Great story so Far( i am 5 hours in) The gameplay is great. And for theThis is the new standard for tomb raider. The atmosphere is amazing. Great story so Far( i am 5 hours in) The gameplay is great. And for the first time in a long Time i truly care about lara. And if She lives or dies. The only cons are the multiplayer feels of uncharted lite. But the cover system is great. I love being as stealthy as I can be. I am very much looking forward for tomb raider 2. lol. Don't let this one pass you by!!!! Expand
  4. Mar 21, 2013
    9
    It's like they have entered my mind and gave me the game I always wanted. In my honest opinion, this is an ALMOST perfect game. Think of it asIt's like they have entered my mind and gave me the game I always wanted. In my honest opinion, this is an ALMOST perfect game. Think of it as Uncharted meets Far Cry 3 and you'll get a picture of what a great gaming experience this new birth of the TR franchise means. Lara is younger, very much younger, trailing the path to become the famous explorer. She is not confident, she's learning, she's suffering, gradually becoming the fearsome leonesse she'll eventually be. This game gives you everything. Stunning graphics, fluid gameplay, strong atmosphere, movie-like moments of tension, small bits of RPG (like leveling up and upgrading) and a big island to explore (FILLED with collectibles, by the way). I JUST CAN'T PUT THIS GAME DOWN. You know when you are playing a game and you keep feeling sorry that each hour you put in means it will eventually end? I don't want this game to end. It is THAT good. Although this is just March, in a year with a lot of promising releases, I already think Tomb Raider is one of the games of the year (if not THE game). Expand
  5. Mar 15, 2014
    8
    Tomb Raider is a adernaline filled origin story that never fails to exite in single player and frustrate in multiplayer. The single player ofTomb Raider is a adernaline filled origin story that never fails to exite in single player and frustrate in multiplayer. The single player of tomb raider is fantastic, although any character but Lara are boring and underdevolped speaking of Lara Camilla Ludington puts in a fantastic performance as the famous action heroine who adds starts as an scared lonely castaway to a confident survivor although some scenes like Lara''s first kill felt unneccesary as after she slo-mo kills three kills with not so much as a flinch. The gameplay in Tomb Raider is great, the combat is fantastic thanks to a great variety of weapons and gear but unlike the first Uncharted it feels more like skipping the cutscenes for the combat than the other way round. The first hour or so feels quite slow and filled with button mashing QTE's that feel out of place. The puzzles that made tomb raider famous return's here but without the bigger and more complex mechanisms and alot more hand holding like the new special ability "survival instincts" which highlights any objects that can be interacted with and just makes things easier. Tomb Raider's multiplayer is a glitchy mess that is no fun and should not be played by anyone. Tomb Raider provides thrills throughout but is bogged down by a broken multiplayer and underdevolped side characters.
    8.5/10
    Expand
  6. Mar 10, 2013
    8
    I have been looking forward to this game. I am a huge Uncharted fan, so this game was right up my alley. I am not familiar with other TombI have been looking forward to this game. I am a huge Uncharted fan, so this game was right up my alley. I am not familiar with other Tomb Raider games, but I get upset to when one of my favorite franchises is changed (i.e. Resident Evil). This was fun, action game with a few problems. I died way too many times because it was difficult to see where to go and the overall game play was fairly repetitive. I liked the treasure part, and would have enjoyed more of the puzzle solving, but overall a good game that I am sure I will play through multiple times. Expand
  7. Jun 9, 2013
    0
    The multiplayer of this game is soo poor I want to kill myself, There was so much Lag on Console versions and it was not consistent, it hadThe multiplayer of this game is soo poor I want to kill myself, There was so much Lag on Console versions and it was not consistent, it had bugs glitches, the campaign was very short too, it felt too lack lust and i wish it could've been more but the replay value just died as there were many latency and server lagging within the multiplayer! Expand

See all 272 User Reviews