Transformers: Dark of the Moon PlayStation 3

User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 27 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 27
  2. Negative: 9 out of 27
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 2, 2011
    7
    First things first don't but this game. I rented it today and I beat it today. Its very short and unless you're a mega Transformers fan I'd say rent this game. The game play is a bit sluggish and the graphics are bland at best. Some of the character models look pretty good and it's always fun to see them go from robot to vehicle. The environments look pretty bad with the scale of buildingsFirst things first don't but this game. I rented it today and I beat it today. Its very short and unless you're a mega Transformers fan I'd say rent this game. The game play is a bit sluggish and the graphics are bland at best. Some of the character models look pretty good and it's always fun to see them go from robot to vehicle. The environments look pretty bad with the scale of buildings and vehicles feeling way of. The game really is just for those that didn't get enough of War For Cybertron, which is an amazing game. This game had huge potential it had some great game play and a great variety, but the character movements felt too sluggish most of the time and some of the boss fights became overlong and tedious. It was still great to see characters you love and a story that fits well into the movie. Bottom line if you like Transformers you'll like this game, just expect some minor frustrations from slow characters and poor graphics. Expand
  2. Jul 26, 2011
    5
    Totally mediocre game. As a Transformers fan it was mildly enjoyable being able to play as some of the characters, but the robot forms felt too sluggish for it to be fun. In the movies and cartoons and anywhere else you see them they're very nimble in their robot forms. Even though they're huge they don't move like they're huge. In this game you move like you're a giant robot. You canTotally mediocre game. As a Transformers fan it was mildly enjoyable being able to play as some of the characters, but the robot forms felt too sluggish for it to be fun. In the movies and cartoons and anywhere else you see them they're very nimble in their robot forms. Even though they're huge they don't move like they're huge. In this game you move like you're a giant robot. You can only move at one pace, the jumping feels very clumsy and most unforgivable of all there's no dodge button. I will admit I enjoyed watching the transformations between forms and the vehicle forms were fun when you're in an open area, but even if you absolutely loved this game I'd still recommend renting it as it's extremely short. I beat it in just a few hours and I'm not exactly an expert game player. Expand
  3. Jun 21, 2011
    10
    Clearly, you need to be a major Trans Fan who loves all forms of TF media (Loved the classic cartoon, animes, comics, and even the movies) to appreciate this. And as one of 'em, I truly enjoyed the game as much as War for Cybertron even as the latter is the best of 'em.
  4. Jun 14, 2011
    7
    This series (Transformers: Dark of the Moon) will really becoming one of best games in this year due to the special effects and amazing graphicsThis series (Transformers: Dark of the Moon) will really becoming one of best games in this year due to the special effects and amazing graphics . Expand
  5. Jul 5, 2011
    2
    Since this was a movie game I naturally set my standards low...

    Yet this game still fails to reach these low standards. A terrible third person shooter, the transformers move slower than a geriatric snail in robot form, each robot only having 1 worthwhile weapon, usually a shotgun or blast weapon. The vehicle mode is ruined by having no truly open areas to move around and fight in. The
    Since this was a movie game I naturally set my standards low...

    Yet this game still fails to reach these low standards.
    A terrible third person shooter, the transformers move slower than a geriatric snail in robot form, each robot only having 1 worthwhile weapon, usually a shotgun or blast weapon.
    The vehicle mode is ruined by having no truly open areas to move around and fight in. The programmers have tried to compensated for this by allowing the vehicle to â
    Expand
  6. Jun 15, 2011
    1
    Lame, rushed, horrible game. I gave it a 1 rating only because it's Transformers; if anything else it would have been 0. After doing a google search and looking everywhere for a review to my dismay I found none. So not listening to my better judgement I picked up Transformers: Dark of the Moon. Let me start by saying it'll take up 4.5 gb of your hard drive only to have you constantlyLame, rushed, horrible game. I gave it a 1 rating only because it's Transformers; if anything else it would have been 0. After doing a google search and looking everywhere for a review to my dismay I found none. So not listening to my better judgement I picked up Transformers: Dark of the Moon. Let me start by saying it'll take up 4.5 gb of your hard drive only to have you constantly looking at load screens, bad graphics, horrible textures, bland colors, lame level designs, and unoriginal gameplay. It also follows no story related to the Transformers (not even the movie it's titled after!?) I own many video games and would recommend them over this game any day. Try these great games instead: Infamous 2, Dirt 3, L.A. Noire, Crysis 2, Outland (downloadable on PSN), or any of the Uncharted games. Take my advice and don't waste $60 on Transformers: Dark of the Moon. (The only other review I've seen for this game is from someone that wrote: "This series... will really becoming one of the best games in this year due to the special effects and amazing graphics." -Wow, this person really shouldn't be part of any games network or be writing reviews.) Expand
  7. Jul 18, 2011
    6
    Considering the fact that movie tie-in games tend to be gay as aids, the first Transformers Game was probably one of my favourite games on the PS2. I'm a sucker for open-world gameplay, the freedom to do whatever you want wherever you want in a thoroughly non-linear setting, admittedly, there was a lot wrong with the gameplay, but it was just undeniable fun to stomp around mission city asConsidering the fact that movie tie-in games tend to be gay as aids, the first Transformers Game was probably one of my favourite games on the PS2. I'm a sucker for open-world gameplay, the freedom to do whatever you want wherever you want in a thoroughly non-linear setting, admittedly, there was a lot wrong with the gameplay, but it was just undeniable fun to stomp around mission city as my favourite transformers. Then came "War for Cybertron", which I only got around to playing a few months ago, while it was quite the linear game (-____-) it was undeniable Transformers gold and a love letter to the utter classiness of G1 Transformers. So I can understand why good ol' Activision would try and emulate WfC's gameplay style with this offering, simply because War for Cybertron's gameplay style worked, but the thing is, G1 Transformers and Michael Bay Transformers are two very different things, as such the linear and non-linear gameplay styles work for each brand respectively. That should give you a hint as to where this review is heading. The Campaign is predictable, an equal number of Autobot and Decepticon levels followed by a boss fight. Over the course of these levels, you play as Bumblebee, Ironhide, Mirage (Dino in the film). Soundwave (with a guest appearance from Lazerbeak), Starscream, Megatron and finally a one-room boss fight between Optimus Prime and Shockwave). Respectable character choices, I think. The environments are pretty, but level-design is poor and the linear progression soon becomes a chore rather than a fun gameplay style like WfC. You're three different character forms are present like in WfC only now the 'halfway point' between robot and actual car is more powerful than any other form, and since you can move around much easier in this form (know as 'Stealth Force') it gives you very little reason to sample the others, short of using your special abilities and Mirage's Sniper Rifle. All of these culminates in the obvious fact, this game shouldn't try and be WfC, it should try and be a Michael Bay Transformer's game. The plot is generic and boring as watching grass grow, with no real objective to keep you interested in seeing the game through, the game relies entirely on the big explosions to keep you interested, and in the event that this game were any longer, I honestly wouldn't have bothered, probably the most poorly written prequel in existence, which brings me to the games primary fault, it isn't Dark of the Moon, it's an unnecessary prologue to Dark of the Moon. Peter Cullen voices Optimus Prime :D as he always does but the stand-in voice actors for everyone else are atrocious, not only that, but the dialogue is so pointless and dry that I had to mute the game to stop myself from taking the disk out and snapping it (also, it cost me $69, so there was very little motivation there). The soundtrack is brilliant (as it comes straight from the movie's soundtrack, which was brilliant) and distracted from the atrocious dialogue. The multiplayer is also generic and identical to every other cheaply designed multiplayer package in existence, with nothing substantial to keep you playing for more than a few minutes.
    Overall, Dark of the Moon is a poor attempt at riding the coattails of War for Cybertron's success by mimicking it's gameplay with some very minor and **** up tweaks, and when I fork out anything above $50 for a game, I expect more than this, a pure disappointment, that keeps its head above water simply because it's **** Transformers. Verdict: -5.6 (Rounded to 6)
    Expand
  8. Aug 9, 2011
    8
    Im currently in the process of playing this game, im on chapter 5. I am impressed, this game is alot of fun, especially for a big transformers fan like myself, im lovin the graphics and the great storyline, along with the details of each transformer. One thing i was upset about the movie is they didnt use mirage and wheeljacks real names but they did in the game, i think mirages was dinoIm currently in the process of playing this game, im on chapter 5. I am impressed, this game is alot of fun, especially for a big transformers fan like myself, im lovin the graphics and the great storyline, along with the details of each transformer. One thing i was upset about the movie is they didnt use mirage and wheeljacks real names but they did in the game, i think mirages was dino and wheeljacks was cube or something like that, but anyways, a few complaints though, their are a few glitches here and there and the other thing is, ive got like an hour playing time into this game and im already on chapter 5! Theirs only 7 chapters, the campaign is wayyyyyyy too short, but havent tried multiplayer yet, i sure will once the campaign is complete, but anyways,so far the game is alot of fun, if you are a die hard transformers fan like me and you enjoyed the movies, then you will enjoy this game, despite its very short length, not as good or long as war for cybertron but still a good transformers game 8/10 Expand
  9. Nov 18, 2011
    0
    ok, played it last night finished it in about 3 hours.has good graphics and good looking scenery.but was a total faliure for people who are a fan of the previous transformer series.terrible gamplay.didn't expect it to be that terrible.it lacks many thing among them is the storyline.
  10. Jan 2, 2013
    9
    Since it was developed by High Moon Studios(the makers of the amazing War for Cybertron), I had very high expectations for this game. I've played both of the previous movie games, but both of them doesn't compare to Transformers: Dark of the Moon. The graphics in this game are amazing, along with the very detailed Transformers. Although some of the game's environments are a bit bland, oneSince it was developed by High Moon Studios(the makers of the amazing War for Cybertron), I had very high expectations for this game. I've played both of the previous movie games, but both of them doesn't compare to Transformers: Dark of the Moon. The graphics in this game are amazing, along with the very detailed Transformers. Although some of the game's environments are a bit bland, one of the things that caught my eye is the Stealth Force mode which allows the Transformers to transform into their modified vehicles with different weapons for a different Transformer. The gameplay though is a bit low since the controls in aiming in Robot mode is different from the controls in aiming in Stealth Force mode. This game isn't better than War for Cybertron but it's certainly a great game that leads up to the film. Expand
  11. FRG
    Jun 21, 2013
    2
    The game is awful.The graphics are ok,but the controls are painful,terrible and the vehicle mode is horrible.The history is disappointing,the sounds are decent but at the end is awful.
  12. Feb 15, 2015
    7
    I think this game is slightly underrated. Sure, the campaign was short and repetitive, but you got to play as some cool characters and use cool weapons. The multiplayer is this game's strong point. The multiplayer is what kept me playing this game for so long. If you're a Transformers fan, you should consider picking this up. I rate it a 7.
  13. Nov 16, 2014
    7
    Transformers dark of the moon
    great but broken game
    Dark of the moon is a very fun to play beat up shooter. Theres 7 chapters in the game all staring a different character from the transformers universe. Youll get to play as both autobots and decpticons while the story didn’t really draw me in, watching it all play out was a blast. as a transformer you can of course switch iin and
    Transformers dark of the moon
    great but broken game
    Dark of the moon is a very fun to play beat up shooter.
    Theres 7 chapters in the game all staring a different character from the transformers universe.
    Youll get to play as both autobots and decpticons
    while the story didn’t really draw me in, watching it all play out was a blast.
    as a transformer you can of course switch iin and out of vehicle mode
    While in vehicele mode you can move much quickly, and have an extra layer of armour making yuou a bullet sponge,
    the only downside is your weapons to less damage
    when youre in robot form you can slice and blast enemies to bits.
    Every robot handles identically qhich is a shame, but to mix it up, they at least all have different abilities, such as cloak, and health drain.
    The game play is very fast paced and action filled, much like the movies
    levels are very linear and all play out the same
    basically get to the next spot on the map and take out everything in your way.
    The gameplay does switch up quite bit though to prevent the 4 hour journey to the credits from feeling like a grind.
    This game is very unstable though, about halfway through the game starts to lag like the good ole ps2 days.
    You move faster than the game does, which leads to mid game loads and even crashes.
    I experienced 2 game crashes during my playthrough, but luckily checkpoints are frequent enough for me to have not lose any serious progressions.
    Darok of the moon also features multiplayer mode consisting of deathmatch, team deathmatch and conquest
    unfortunately I could only ifnd matches in team deathmatch.
    Multiplayer is basically rockem sock em robots meets call of duty.
    Decpticons vs autobots
    You choose one of the 4 classes and battle to death cap
    leveling up is quick and the gameplay is surprisingly fun
    Not addictive enough to keep you playing past the level 20 level cap though
    Transformers dark of the moon is a really great game, and definitely worth your time
    Expand
Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 41
  2. Negative: 7 out of 41
  1. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    Oct 6, 2011
    50
    Though this game can offer fleeting firefight fun it is constantly dragged down by questionable design and a severe lack of polish. Whichever way your eye meets it, Transformers: Dark of the Moon is out of this world ordinary and to expect anything better from it would be lunar-cy. [September 2011 p80]
  2. Sep 27, 2011
    55
    It's hard to think of Dark of the Moon as anything but crass movie advertising of the interactive variety and so it's hard to take it seriously as a game in its own right.
  3. Sep 16, 2011
    40
    It seems like the developer ran out of the time before they could iterate upon last year's Transformers: War for Cybertron. This game winds up being a product of significantly lesser quality than it predecessor.