Transformers: Fall of Cybertron PlayStation 3

Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. Oct 2, 2012
    73
    If the vehicles were up to snuff then this would be a game worth celebrating. [Issue#223, p.85]
  2. Sep 27, 2012
    70
    Take control of well known Transformers and battle your foes both as robot and vehicle. There are some problems with bugs and the controls, but apart from that it's a fast paced and action filled game. If you're a fan of Transformers then this is a must buy.
  3. It's not innovative or wildly creative, but the gameplay is fun and the multiplayer is excellent. [Nov 2012, p.80]
  4. Sep 17, 2012
    70
    There's a lot to like about the game's single-player campaign, but sloppy shooting and some technical issues detract from its cinematic achievements. Once again multiplayer is perhaps the highlight of the package, serving up a punchy competitive and co-operative experience that, while unlikely to consume your gaming attention for months on end, is a lot more than meets the eye.
  5. Sep 13, 2012
    70
    Fall of Cybertron is undoubtedly an improvement over an already impressive debut, yet it doesn't feel nearly as invigorating or daring as War for Cybertron did.
  6. Sep 12, 2012
    70
    Released two years after War for Cybertron, Transformers : Fall of Cybertron had plenty of time to correct the mistakes of the first episode. However, instead of doing so, the developers prefered to work on the different robots players could play with in the sequel. Thereby, featuring a varied gameplay, Fall of Cybertron appears to be a good game to blow off some steam, just hoping the next sequel will be better.
  7. Sep 5, 2012
    70
    As a straight-up action adventure game, Transformers: Fall of Cybertron it's falls short in terms of excellence, but the titantic epicness of the concluding shots is so awesome that any Transformers fan should grab Fall of Cybertron if one's willing to overlook the shortcomings of some of the game mechanics.
  8. 60
    After playing Transformers: Fall of Cybertron only one word comes to mind: functional. It's sad that a game with as many narrative hooks and the look of the generation one Transformers is so prone to technical issues and some bizarre design choices.
  9. Aug 21, 2012
    65
    Offers some entertaining action, lots of explosions, and too many technical hiccups.
  10. Aug 21, 2012
    60
    It has the right idea with character-specific abilities that help to make the individual Transformers feel different. But it doesn't go far enough in that direction to stand out, and it ultimately feels like it's being held back by its by-the-numbers shooting. There are some great ideas here, but you'll have to wade through a pretty thick set of drawbacks to enjoy them.
User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 82 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 21
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 21
  3. Negative: 1 out of 21
  1. Aug 21, 2012
    10
    The Best transformers game now after War for cybertron being the best before! Great Multiplayer and customization options. Escalation mode isThe Best transformers game now after War for cybertron being the best before! Great Multiplayer and customization options. Escalation mode is improved and provided with other tactical options! Campaign takes 10 hours on normal so the single player itself is worth it. This game is a must for G1 Transformers fans and will keep you playing for months! Full Review »
  2. Aug 23, 2012
    10
    Quite honestly one of the best third person shooters I have played. While I miss the co-op from War, the way they made each level to fit theQuite honestly one of the best third person shooters I have played. While I miss the co-op from War, the way they made each level to fit the characters is possibly one of my favorite features. Once I get Live back, I'm definitely playing the multiplayer for a long time. Full Review »
  3. Aug 22, 2012
    10
    it's cool and very fun i feel this is better than war for cybertron now it might not have the same omg we finally got a good transformers gameit's cool and very fun i feel this is better than war for cybertron now it might not have the same omg we finally got a good transformers game feel but it does have that omg epic scale on everything such as maps and the story though idk whether or not escalation is any better but try it out! Full Review »