User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 77 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 67 out of 77
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 77
  3. Negative: 10 out of 77

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 21, 2012
    10
    The Best transformers game now after War for cybertron being the best before! Great Multiplayer and customization options. Escalation mode is improved and provided with other tactical options! Campaign takes 10 hours on normal so the single player itself is worth it. This game is a must for G1 Transformers fans and will keep you playing for months!
  2. Aug 23, 2012
    10
    Quite honestly one of the best third person shooters I have played. While I miss the co-op from War, the way they made each level to fit the characters is possibly one of my favorite features. Once I get Live back, I'm definitely playing the multiplayer for a long time.
  3. Aug 22, 2012
    10
    it's cool and very fun i feel this is better than war for cybertron now it might not have the same omg we finally got a good transformers game feel but it does have that omg epic scale on everything such as maps and the story though idk whether or not escalation is any better but try it out!
  4. Sep 9, 2012
    2
    This game is lack lustre and feels like it was mad for children. I immediately returned this. They have completly simplified the game and removed to many good features
  5. Aug 24, 2012
    10
    This is a big improvement over an already good previous game entry. Better and more varied gameplay is clearly obvious and some dramatic moments followed by quiet scenes make this game fresh to play all the way through. Multiplayer is fun and more dynamic in choice of map and robot. Is it better than Arkham City - No . Some minor glitches of falling through scenery and the occasional low-res looking textures are apparent. It's minor but not what you'd expect from a AAA title. Still the characterisation, story, gameplay and stunning scenery soars this title to one of the best games of the year so far for 2012. Expand
  6. Oct 27, 2012
    9
    This game shows that the developers in High Moon studios really respect the source material. There idea of dropping co-op in the main story ended up being beneficial, letting them have much better level design. The main problem in War for Cybertron (I gave that game an 8/10) was level variety, and High Moon promised to fix this problem. They ended up meeting that promise with flying colors, making every chapter in the game a different experience. On the multiplayer aspect, they did a solid job. The classes are very balanced, each class fitting for the player's preferred play style. The only problem that I saw with the multiplayer was minor lag, but that's not enough to take away from the experience. If competitive multiplayer is not your thing, then Escalation might be your thing. It puts you and your friends (up to 4 players) against waves of enemies. In order to survive all 15 waves, you will need to establish order in your team (MIC is recommend). Final thoughts- This game is the full package for all gamers, transformer fans or not. This is the type of game that will be left in your consoles for months, without you ever taking it out. For all those reasons is why this is the best transformers game ever created. Collapse
  7. Sep 1, 2012
    7
    Haven't progressed too far, but I would recommend this as a rental unless you're a die-hard fan of the Transformers. Seems a lot more like a Transformers cartoon that you can play than a game. I do enjoy seeing my fave robots in lots of cutscenes, but I wish I could do more with them. It is highly linear and though I understand the design choices for showing off the different styles of Autobot/Decepticon powers and needing to show both sides of the conflict, the game feels a lot like an expansion to the previous War for Cybertron rather than a major upgrade. I have yet to reach the most talked about levels or try the multiplayer, but the single-player experience (though it looks great, sounds great, and feels great) is more limited and less empowering than I was hoping for. Expand
  8. Jan 22, 2013
    8
    what a great little game...this one almost passed under my radar..an excellent 3rd person shooter, you dont have to be into Transformers to enjoy this one. Lots of variety in the missions, some great cinematic set pieces ..I think the mag reviews have been a little harsh this game deserves more than 77% overall.
    I pick ed this up for £20.00 worth every penny.
  9. Jul 30, 2013
    10
    Wow, just wow. I didn't expect this game to be as good as it was, I expected great things, but it just blew me away. It's incredible. Transformers: Fall of Cybertron has a brilliant story with great character building and exciting and/or moving scenes. The main campaign consists of 10 different chapters, 5 of them being Autobot (these I thought were the best ones), and the other 5 being decepticon. The chapters are all unique and offer exiting things, like, for example, the 4th chapter (my favourite one), you advised to be stealthy, but it's your choice if you want to be or not, I chose to be stealthy, and it was filled with suspence and excitement, but chapter 9, on the other hand, you play as grimlock, a massive dinobot with a sword, in this mission, you basically have choice but recklessly berzerk through, devouring everything in your sight.

    As well as the campaign, you can go on online multiplayer, which I spend hours on. You can go on Team Deathmatch, Capture the Flag, Conquest, and Head Hunt. Team Deathmatch is my favourite and I also love the strategic necessities of Capture the Flag. You can also customize your on characters of different types Infiltrators are the best.

    So I give this game a... 99/100! It's AWESOME!
    Expand
  10. Sep 1, 2012
    9
    If your an Old School Transformers fan or if you enjoyed War for Cybertron then you need to get this game. The game does nothing new its the same stuff that has come out before but the story is what drives the game and makes it worth playing. Multiplayer is okay it does need to be balanced with a patch but escalation is a fun game mode to play with three other people online.
  11. Dec 25, 2012
    8
    The campaign is really good with great graphics, great gameplay and a good storyline... With making your own guns and secondary's that you decide and not the game makers choosing it. There is also a rating too that is useful sometimes. The ending is great I won't spoil it but you can get the game and see. The multiplayer is meh but it's good. The two bad things about it is there are bugs and it takes a lot of bullets to kill people in this game but the multiplayer is fun though. Escalation can get boring in about an hour but it's like zombies or survival in mw3 but it's just like that. Good game to buy if you like online if you finish the campaign. Still glad people play the game's online though. Expand
  12. Sep 1, 2012
    10
    I have been a Transformers fan since 1984. I am a pre-Michael Bay fan, which means I actually understand the world a little better after years of TV, toys, Marvel Comics, IDW/Dreamwave stuff. Even G2. With that said, guess what? This game actually hits it. War For Cybertron was great, and an excellent prelude to Fall Of Cybertron. This game has few issues that I can see, with the only one being difficulty to control left/right and co-ordinate that with forward/back(they actually give you an opportunity to fix the camera/control relation at the beginning of the game). Guess why? Because this game has so much going on in it. You know, kinda like a war! Fog Of War. You are constantly engaged. Being a G1/1984 fan, I am always pleased to hear Peter Cullen, and this one, you actually get Gregg Berger doing Grimlock(original voice actor). Lots of good going on with the voice acting, and the audio is absolutely excellent. Filled with a brilliant color scheme, right down to the always spawning minions. The minions also have color variations, which breaks it up a little bit. I remember reading a review about War for Cybertron when it came out, and a critic complained that all of the levels looked monotone in color. I thought, "It's a metal, machinated planet...what did you expect?" Now, seeing this one, I get it. This game really fills in the color issue, right down to the always occurring explosions. The game really gives you a feel for the Transformers, reminds any fan why we love them, whether you're a G1 and forward fan or a Revenge Of The Fallen and forward fan. I should think that this game will very easily connect newer fans with the G1 roots. The G1 universe, and really the whole multi-layered Transformers universe, are set up here in this game. You end up feeling a great connection to both sides of the war, and start to really understand their objectives and why they are doing what they do and why they continue to do so in G1 and forward. It's a war of ideals. That has always been apparent, of course. But now you are dialed into the how and why. The addition of lots of fan-favorites, particularly Jazz, Swoop, Grimlock, Rumble, and the like, should really flesh this thing out for skeptics of War For Cybertron. The animations of the Transforming are sped up and polished, and the combat and it's relation to the controller is really amped here. The music keeps the pace, kind of reminds me of the score from Terminator(1984). Then, you actually get, "You Got The Touch" brought into it. Absolutely flooring for fans. This game is a clear and present offering of respect to all of the fans who have paid dollar after dollar year after year to keep the Transformers business going. You, the fan and consumer, are essentially being thanked for all of your toy purchases, your comic book reading, your arguing over the Michael Bay treatment and how it is or is not detrimental to the franchise, and even applying Autobot and/or Decepticon decals to your cars. This is a love letter from Hasbro and High Moon Studios to you, the fans. And I mean ALL of the fans, From G1 to The Michael Bay Treatment. If you like action games, shooters, stuff like that, you'll love the game. If you like Transformers, hearing Starscream **** about Megatron, hearing Prime do the whatever-it-takes-even-if-it-means-taking-a-blast-to-the-chest thing he always does in the vocal styling of Peter Cullen, then you will also love this game. if you liked War For Cybertron, you will love Fall Of Cybertron. The only thing this game really needs is a definite G1 sequel. That's right! I am talking a full on battle-for-earth game(hopefully toning down human involvement; I mean, how much help can Spike really be? Do you think Ratchet needs help from him?) in which Megatron changes into a Walther and is fired by either Starscream or a much more obedient Soundwave right at a flat-nosed Optimus Prime Semi complete with trailer in tow and Ironhide complaining that he hasn't blown off enough Decepticreeps heads lately! Please, buy this game if you're a fan. Then, enjoy it. Then, join the choir of G1 fans that want the g1 full treament(you can actually download G1 packs, or just get a free code from Gamestop provided that you pre-ordered the game). In closing, excellent game. Could use a tiny re-tooling of controls, which again, can be adjusted. Voice acting is great. Sound is great. Gameplay is great and the levels move a lot faster and don't drag quite as much as its' predecessor. Action packed. Fun all the time, good challenge. Buy the game. Don't buy it used. Buy it new and support this developer so we can get more out of them! Expand
  13. Dec 8, 2012
    9
    Campaign: The campaign was action packed and really amazong, the only thing that lacked was more in depth clash with Grimlock and Optimus Prime. I give the campaign a 9.5/10.

    Multiplayer: The multiplayer is phenomanal. The one thing it lacks is maps and game modes, the new modes are great but they are repetitve, they need more game modes. The other thing is colors, the original colors
    need to be put back. I give the multiplayer a 9/10

    Escalation: I f the escalation was going to have an ending wave than there should've been a boss battle at the very end of the wave 15. There needs to be more maps as well. In WFC's escalation it wanted me to play it more and I did. FOC's escaltion doesn't give me a message to play it, it got boring. I give escalation 7.5/10.
    Expand
  14. Apr 6, 2013
    8
    The game is very enjoyable and has a campaign based alot on the story unlike other games the mix between levels varys from flying to driving and stealth to commanding a giant artillery gun
  15. May 12, 2013
    8
    As a transformers fan I was very excited for this game, and when it came out I wasn't disappointed. I haven't played any other transformers games before, so I don't know if this will effect my credibility. The story mode was the first part I tried; the game actually suggested to start with it, and it was surely interesting to play. Playing as some of the most famous characters from the Transformers franchise: Optimus prime, Megatron, Bumblebee, and my favorite Soundwave. It's great how they change the variety in gameplay with each chapter, from stealth to full out brawl. It is dragging however when you play as Optimus for quite awhile and just watch him watch stuff happen. The next part of the game is probably the best part: Multiplayer. With the ability to customize your very own character and weapons, it makes it feel more like your actually a Transformers. I do however dislike how only certain classes can have certain weapons, but then again it does make each class special in it's own way. The last section of the game is escalation, which is just survival with classic characters. I personally am not a big fan of this part, mainly because I thought it would be offline multiplayer, but whatever it's still fun to play sometimes. In conclusion, this is one of my favorite games of all time; that doesn't mean much to others though, and I had a blast playing it. Expand
  16. Nov 4, 2013
    8
    Let me start off by saying i have never played War for Cybertron, but i still managed to really like Fall of Cybertron. The first few chapters are decent at best, at first i was not intrigued at all, but after chapter four is when the game starts getting really good. In FoC you switch between the Autobots and Decepticons, sometimes in between missions which is awesome. FoC has a really great ending and is one of the funnest games ive played this year. I did not play the Escalation or Multiplayer modes. The graphics are solid, and their are some funny comments here and there. Some of my favorite characters in the game are Grimlock, Optimus Prime, Megatron, Slug, Metroplex, The Combaticons, and the Dino Robots. This is a great game by High Moon Studios and im actually going to buy War for Cybertron because of its sequel. Expand
  17. Jul 27, 2014
    8
    This game is GREYt. Get it?........ :| Whatever. Anyways, this game is everything a transformers fan could ask for! It even has an awesome premise where the Deceptions win, & the Autobots are trying to stop them, but they have to leave Cybertron so the core has time to heal from the dark energon, which ties into the next game.
  18. Sep 18, 2014
    10
    This was a sequel I was hoping for. It is not as great as the first but it´s still worth playing throught. The voice actors continue to make an amazing work giving us voices the match each Decepticon and Autobot. The only bthing I did not liked in this game are the fact that during most of the game you will be alone, instead of the two companions. But we cannot have everything
  19. Oct 7, 2014
    10
    Best game I've ever played. The campaign is epic and awesome. Graphics are good, and unlike other games, this isn't repetitive. The multiplayer and escalation modes are really fun once you beat the campaign. I still play this game's campaign and multiplayer sometimes. Must buy if you have a PS3 and you love transformers.
  20. Nov 9, 2014
    10
    Transformers: Fall of Cybertron è uno dei migliori sparatutto in terza persona che si possono trovare su PlayStation 3.Un capolavoro fenomenale,il miglior videogioco basato su una delle mie serie preferite.
  21. Oct 27, 2012
    0
    This game shows that the developers in High Moon studios really respect the source material. There idea of dropping co-op in the main story ended up being beneficial, letting them have much better level design. The main problem in War for Cybertron (I gave that game an 8/10) was level variety, and High Moon promised to fix this problem. They ended up meeting that promise with flying colors, making every chapter in the game a different experience. On the multiplayer aspect, they did a solid job. The classes are very balanced, each class fitting for the player's preferred play style. The only problem that I saw with the multiplayer was minor lag, but that's not enough to take away from the experience. If competitive multiplayer is not your thing, then Escalation might be your thing. It puts you and your friends (up to 4 players) against waves of enemies. In order to survive all 15 waves, you will need to establish order in your team (MIC is recommend). Final thoughts- This game is the full package for all gamers, transformer fans or not. This is the type of game that will be left in your consoles for months, without you ever taking it out. For all those reasons is why this is the best transformers game ever created. Collapse
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. Oct 9, 2012
    80
    A tale of two games, Transformers: Fall of Cybertron plods through its opening acts only to redeem itself with a strong showing at the end. Plenty of fan service will make series vets smile.
  2. Oct 2, 2012
    73
    If the vehicles were up to snuff then this would be a game worth celebrating. [Issue#223, p.85]
  3. It's a pity that your enemies can't transform themselves and the game only gets going when it puts you behind the wheel (pun intended) of the sneaky Cliffjumper in a level that feels like a tribute to Uncharted. It even has the same voice actor. [October 2012, p.68]