Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 69 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This follow-up to 2010's War for Cybertron depicts the final hours of the civil war that led the Autobots and Decepticons to abandon their home planet.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. Sep 7, 2012
    92
    Fall of Cybertron is the best Transformers game fans have ever seen.
  2. Aug 21, 2012
    85
    Campaign co-op is definitely missed, but Fall's superior single-player mode goes a long way to make up for it.
  3. Aug 21, 2012
    80
    Another fantastic adventure to the world of Cybertron by the folks at High Moon Studios-but one that combines some excellent new elements and gameplay offerings with a smattering of peculiar omissions and design choices.
  4. Sep 24, 2012
    80
    As a package, Transformers: Fall of Cybertron's lack of ambition is countered by an obvious fondness for the Transformers themselves and the amount of polish that has been lavished on its presentation and mechanics. Gamers looking for something new will find little here to draw them in, but as a celebration of Hasbro's iconic cast of characters there is much here to be recommended, and plenty for High Moon Studios to build on should it get another chance to work with the robots in disguise.
  5. Sep 10, 2012
    75
    The Escalation mode and the singleplayer are the main causes as to why Transformers: Fall of Cybertron is a nice third-person shooter. The game is far from perfect and that doesn't help to make this an unforgettable experience. It's fun for a while, but disappears in the back of your closet soon enough.
  6. It's not innovative or wildly creative, but the gameplay is fun and the multiplayer is excellent. [Nov 2012, p.80]
  7. Aug 21, 2012
    60
    It has the right idea with character-specific abilities that help to make the individual Transformers feel different. But it doesn't go far enough in that direction to stand out, and it ultimately feels like it's being held back by its by-the-numbers shooting. There are some great ideas here, but you'll have to wade through a pretty thick set of drawbacks to enjoy them.

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 16
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 16
  3. Negative: 1 out of 16
  1. Jul 30, 2013
    10
    Wow, just wow. I didn't expect this game to be as good as it was, I expected great things, but it just blew me away. It's incredible. Transformers: Fall of Cybertron has a brilliant story with great character building and exciting and/or moving scenes. The main campaign consists of 10 different chapters, 5 of them being Autobot (these I thought were the best ones), and the other 5 being decepticon. The chapters are all unique and offer exiting things, like, for example, the 4th chapter (my favourite one), you advised to be stealthy, but it's your choice if you want to be or not, I chose to be stealthy, and it was filled with suspence and excitement, but chapter 9, on the other hand, you play as grimlock, a massive dinobot with a sword, in this mission, you basically have choice but recklessly berzerk through, devouring everything in your sight.

    As well as the campaign, you can go on online multiplayer, which I spend hours on. You can go on Team Deathmatch, Capture the Flag, Conquest, and Head Hunt. Team Deathmatch is my favourite and I also love the strategic necessities of Capture the Flag. You can also customize your on characters of different types Infiltrators are the best.

    So I give this game a... 99/100! It's AWESOME!
    Expand
  2. Aug 22, 2012
    10
    it's cool and very fun i feel this is better than war for cybertron now it might not have the same omg we finally got a good transformers game feel but it does have that omg epic scale on everything such as maps and the story though idk whether or not escalation is any better but try it out! Expand
  3. Aug 21, 2012
    10
    The Best transformers game now after War for cybertron being the best before! Great Multiplayer and customization options. Escalation mode is improved and provided with other tactical options! Campaign takes 10 hours on normal so the single player itself is worth it. This game is a must for G1 Transformers fans and will keep you playing for months! Expand
  4. Sep 1, 2012
    9
    If your an Old School Transformers fan or if you enjoyed War for Cybertron then you need to get this game. The game does nothing new its the same stuff that has come out before but the story is what drives the game and makes it worth playing. Multiplayer is okay it does need to be balanced with a patch but escalation is a fun game mode to play with three other people online. Collapse
  5. May 12, 2013
    8
    As a transformers fan I was very excited for this game, and when it came out I wasn't disappointed. I haven't played any other transformers games before, so I don't know if this will effect my credibility. The story mode was the first part I tried; the game actually suggested to start with it, and it was surely interesting to play. Playing as some of the most famous characters from the Transformers franchise: Optimus prime, Megatron, Bumblebee, and my favorite Soundwave. It's great how they change the variety in gameplay with each chapter, from stealth to full out brawl. It is dragging however when you play as Optimus for quite awhile and just watch him watch stuff happen. The next part of the game is probably the best part: Multiplayer. With the ability to customize your very own character and weapons, it makes it feel more like your actually a Transformers. I do however dislike how only certain classes can have certain weapons, but then again it does make each class special in it's own way. The last section of the game is escalation, which is just survival with classic characters. I personally am not a big fan of this part, mainly because I thought it would be offline multiplayer, but whatever it's still fun to play sometimes. In conclusion, this is one of my favorite games of all time; that doesn't mean much to others though, and I had a blast playing it. Expand
  6. Jan 22, 2013
    8
    what a great little game...this one almost passed under my radar..an excellent 3rd person shooter, you dont have to be into Transformers to enjoy this one. Lots of variety in the missions, some great cinematic set pieces ..I think the mag reviews have been a little harsh this game deserves more than 77% overall.
    I pick ed this up for £20.00 worth every penny.
    Expand
  7. Sep 9, 2012
    2
    This game is lack lustre and feels like it was mad for children. I immediately returned this. They have completly simplified the game and removed to many good features Expand

See all 16 User Reviews