Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 75 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This follow-up to 2010's War for Cybertron depicts the final hours of the civil war that led the Autobots and Decepticons to abandon their home planet.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. Sep 7, 2012
    92
    Fall of Cybertron is the best Transformers game fans have ever seen.
  2. Aug 21, 2012
    85
    Campaign co-op is definitely missed, but Fall's superior single-player mode goes a long way to make up for it.
  3. Aug 21, 2012
    80
    Another fantastic adventure to the world of Cybertron by the folks at High Moon Studios-but one that combines some excellent new elements and gameplay offerings with a smattering of peculiar omissions and design choices.
  4. Sep 24, 2012
    80
    As a package, Transformers: Fall of Cybertron's lack of ambition is countered by an obvious fondness for the Transformers themselves and the amount of polish that has been lavished on its presentation and mechanics. Gamers looking for something new will find little here to draw them in, but as a celebration of Hasbro's iconic cast of characters there is much here to be recommended, and plenty for High Moon Studios to build on should it get another chance to work with the robots in disguise.
  5. Sep 10, 2012
    75
    The Escalation mode and the singleplayer are the main causes as to why Transformers: Fall of Cybertron is a nice third-person shooter. The game is far from perfect and that doesn't help to make this an unforgettable experience. It's fun for a while, but disappears in the back of your closet soon enough.
  6. It's not innovative or wildly creative, but the gameplay is fun and the multiplayer is excellent. [Nov 2012, p.80]
  7. Aug 21, 2012
    60
    It has the right idea with character-specific abilities that help to make the individual Transformers feel different. But it doesn't go far enough in that direction to stand out, and it ultimately feels like it's being held back by its by-the-numbers shooting. There are some great ideas here, but you'll have to wade through a pretty thick set of drawbacks to enjoy them.

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 18
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 18
  3. Negative: 1 out of 18
  1. Sep 18, 2014
    10
    This was a sequel I was hoping for. It is not as great as the first but it´s still worth playing throught. The voice actors continue to make an amazing work giving us voices the match each Decepticon and Autobot. The only bthing I did not liked in this game are the fact that during most of the game you will be alone, instead of the two companions. But we cannot have everything Expand
  2. Aug 22, 2012
    10
    it's cool and very fun i feel this is better than war for cybertron now it might not have the same omg we finally got a good transformers game feel but it does have that omg epic scale on everything such as maps and the story though idk whether or not escalation is any better but try it out! Expand
  3. Aug 21, 2012
    10
    The Best transformers game now after War for cybertron being the best before! Great Multiplayer and customization options. Escalation mode is improved and provided with other tactical options! Campaign takes 10 hours on normal so the single player itself is worth it. This game is a must for G1 Transformers fans and will keep you playing for months! Expand
  4. Sep 1, 2012
    9
    If your an Old School Transformers fan or if you enjoyed War for Cybertron then you need to get this game. The game does nothing new its the same stuff that has come out before but the story is what drives the game and makes it worth playing. Multiplayer is okay it does need to be balanced with a patch but escalation is a fun game mode to play with three other people online. Expand
  5. Nov 4, 2013
    8
    Let me start off by saying i have never played War for Cybertron, but i still managed to really like Fall of Cybertron. The first few chapters are decent at best, at first i was not intrigued at all, but after chapter four is when the game starts getting really good. In FoC you switch between the Autobots and Decepticons, sometimes in between missions which is awesome. FoC has a really great ending and is one of the funnest games ive played this year. I did not play the Escalation or Multiplayer modes. The graphics are solid, and their are some funny comments here and there. Some of my favorite characters in the game are Grimlock, Optimus Prime, Megatron, Slug, Metroplex, The Combaticons, and the Dino Robots. This is a great game by High Moon Studios and im actually going to buy War for Cybertron because of its sequel. Expand
  6. Apr 6, 2013
    8
    The game is very enjoyable and has a campaign based alot on the story unlike other games the mix between levels varys from flying to driving and stealth to commanding a giant artillery gun Expand
  7. Sep 9, 2012
    2
    This game is lack lustre and feels like it was mad for children. I immediately returned this. They have completly simplified the game and removed to many good features Expand

See all 18 User Reviews