User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 119 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 93 out of 119
  2. Negative: 11 out of 119
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 13, 2010
    9
    The voice acting is superb, the environments, while they can glitch are beautiful and do immerse you, and the action itself is pretty intuitive and fun. It can be suprisingly hard sometimes, and does retain some re-playability to unlock everything. Multiplayer is very well done, so more people should head out and go play this!
  2. Nov 18, 2010
    7
    wasnt to sure what to expect from this game . when its coming from activision its even more troubiling . well they did actauly pull off a pretty decent transformers game that thank god didnt follow micheal bays Transformers and sticks alot to the old G1 cartoon . it's basically a prequel to when the war for cybertron started . the voice acting is pretty good and the charicters feel likewasnt to sure what to expect from this game . when its coming from activision its even more troubiling . well they did actauly pull off a pretty decent transformers game that thank god didnt follow micheal bays Transformers and sticks alot to the old G1 cartoon . it's basically a prequel to when the war for cybertron started . the voice acting is pretty good and the charicters feel like they should. star scream has his lust for power and wants to take over as leader of the decipticons . megatron is a sidistical uncaring mad man . so it feels right to that extent . you fight through 5 missions as eather autobot or decipticon . the story mode for each is about 4-5 hours long whoch you can also play in co-op . you also get 2 other AI player following you and helping you out who do a fairly decent job of backing you up. there banter as you run through the game is a nice touch and brings the transformers universe to life . the gameplay is pretty simple just shoot and kill with a few platforming and a few other elements tossed in . this is also where the game lacks because it gets alittle repetitive shooting no name robots over and over and you get little ammo to shoot with and can only carry 2 guns at a time . which brings me to the wepons which arnt any thing that wowed me and i wish you could carry more then just 2 and more ammo. it also would have been nice if in the start of the game it gave you a guide on the controls and what does what . they do have a guide in the pause menue but it sucks . the game is also abit buggy nothing terrable mind you but the game will freeze up on occasion durring load time . my PS3 is only 2 months old and has no problem with any other game and ive heard the same from my friends as well having this issue. this happend to me 2 times through both story modes and my game was saved seconds before it happend so i wasnt to mad about it other then having to power off my PS3 . if the missions has more varity this could been a much better game the online though is pretty fun and i had fun with it for about a week . which is pretty good for me having played so many differnt games online in the last 12 years i find hardly any thing that i find i wana play longer then a day online . all and all though it was a pretty decent game based off of TF . it could have been better but it is atleast worth a rental and if you are a die hard TF fan you will be pretty happy with this game . Expand
  3. Jul 2, 2011
    8
    Isn't it surprising that Transformers, of all things, has a solid video game? The singleplayer has great gameplay but the environments feel repetitive. But this is Cybertron, a technical planet so give it a break. The story is too OK but darker. However, I find the Decepticon campaign humorous because of how the Decepticons act, especially Starscream. The story has co-op, but online onlyIsn't it surprising that Transformers, of all things, has a solid video game? The singleplayer has great gameplay but the environments feel repetitive. But this is Cybertron, a technical planet so give it a break. The story is too OK but darker. However, I find the Decepticon campaign humorous because of how the Decepticons act, especially Starscream. The story has co-op, but online only (why?). Horde mode is also fun. And another thing I like about online is that you can create (to an extent) your own Transformer. This may sound nerdy, but I always wanted my dream Transformers come to life. War for Cybertron is a great game. Roll out! Expand
  4. Jun 30, 2011
    10
    The greatest transformers game ever! This game was action packed from beginning to end with hours and hours of gameplay and the onlinemultiplayer was great until everybody stopped playing, my only problem with the game was the final battle against trypticon took mw forever because their were no heckpoints throughout the fight against him, but the ending ccredits were awesome. I alwaysThe greatest transformers game ever! This game was action packed from beginning to end with hours and hours of gameplay and the onlinemultiplayer was great until everybody stopped playing, my only problem with the game was the final battle against trypticon took mw forever because their were no heckpoints throughout the fight against him, but the ending ccredits were awesome. I always hate the ending credits of game because their boring and they take forever but with this game they were awesome with the transformers theme and the original g1 series graphics. All in all this game was no doubt a 10, great graphics, excellent gameplay, with exciting story, and nonstop action, this was the perfect transformers game Expand
  5. Nov 14, 2011
    9
    War for Cybertron marks an evolution in the Transformers Video Game Series, a true work of originality and divine inspiration. Taking us back to the hallowed realms of Generation One Transformers, WfC's plot serves as a direct prequel to the original animated series, which I'm sure will make long-time fans **** in their limited edition Optimus Prime silk pyjamas, your standard fair, youWar for Cybertron marks an evolution in the Transformers Video Game Series, a true work of originality and divine inspiration. Taking us back to the hallowed realms of Generation One Transformers, WfC's plot serves as a direct prequel to the original animated series, which I'm sure will make long-time fans **** in their limited edition Optimus Prime silk pyjamas, your standard fair, you spend six missions wrecking **** as the Decepticons, then six missions cleaning it up as the Autobots, the character designs and personalities are true to their G1 counterparts, which i'm sure everyone can appreciate. The gameplay is a significant step up from previous movie-based entries, the graphics are silky smooth and a joy to behold (particular props to the brilliant transformation animations) and the world of Cybertron is created with love, care and immense detail, the sleek, metallic structure of the world very rightly suited to subject-matter. The multiplayer does have more than your standard shooter, but won't have you coming back for long (COD, Halo, Assassin's Creed and Battlefield all trump it significantly). Overall, the best Transformers game ever made and one of the most fun i've had with a games campaign for a while now, but I sincerely hope they don't blow it with this coming sequel. Expand
  6. Sep 18, 2014
    10
    One of the best games that I have ever played. This game offers us a great story of the War on Cybertron and a GREAT gameplay and a beautful voice acting. I was also impressed with the amount of playable characters like Bumblebee, Optimus, Megatron, Sondwave, Megatron... This is a beautiful game and it is worth to play throught several times, using different characters.
  7. Dec 12, 2011
    10
    It is amazing not as much as Transformers Armada with he sand box exploring byt as similar controls and game play style. The multilayer is addictive but sadly ended when the big shot games came out right after it like black ops and halo reach. If it wasn't for those games the multilayer would be full right now but overall the game is amazing and the plot is excellent
  8. Nov 25, 2010
    10
    great one! I mean there really is a lack of transforming robot games on any console anywhere, so we Transformers fans have to take the experience where we can get it. This sounds quite worthy of my time.
    oh, found a transporter in france :)
    fun to watch: http://www.lookeen.net/de/352/allgemein/deutsch-e-postbrief-lookeen-stellt-sich-der-herausforderung/ Again..This "review" seems to
    great one! I mean there really is a lack of transforming robot games on any console anywhere, so we Transformers fans have to take the experience where we can get it. This sounds quite worthy of my time.
    oh, found a transporter in france :)
    fun to watch: http://www.lookeen.net/de/352/allgemein/deutsch-e-postbrief-lookeen-stellt-sich-der-herausforderung/

    Again..This "review" seems to be Pro-Gobots.
    Expand
  9. Jan 1, 2011
    8
    This is the best game that no one played. As a Transformers fan, this game is great and is full of fan service. The story is pretty good, the game play is solid, the graphics are great, and the voice acting is perfect. My only issue is that at times ammo can be sparse and no one plays this online anymore, which is a shame. If you are a Transformers fan, or a fan of action games, buy it.
  10. Dec 18, 2010
    3
    At first I expected a reasonable plot and high graphic game with an apparently good multi-player. But I was horrifically wrong. Yes the graphics are reasonable but the action and story is repetitive and overall a very boring gaming experience.
  11. Jul 1, 2011
    9
    I just finished this game and it is near perfect! The best run and gun 3rd person shooter I've played in awhile. The enemies are varied, the 2 campaigns are equally fun, and if you like transformers you'll love the story. The ability to transform at almost any time during battles is a unique idea that works amazingly well and can help you in sticky situations. I fully recommend this gameI just finished this game and it is near perfect! The best run and gun 3rd person shooter I've played in awhile. The enemies are varied, the 2 campaigns are equally fun, and if you like transformers you'll love the story. The ability to transform at almost any time during battles is a unique idea that works amazingly well and can help you in sticky situations. I fully recommend this game if you're looking for something quick and fun. Expand
  12. Aug 25, 2011
    8
    You could totally skip the story mode and just play the multiplayer and you would have a great time. The story is okay, I got bored though after beating the Decepticon side and playing some of the Autobot side and just played the multiplayer.
  13. Nov 17, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. loved transformers as a kid and still love em.. this is a game that youll not want to stop playing whatever ur playing, multiplayer or campaign. the classes to choose from the weapons and iconic characters-simply a bad ass game whichever side you choose- autobot or DECEPTICONS....but really go with decepticons for maximum destruction Expand
  14. May 1, 2013
    7
    I haven't yet finished this game, but I have completed a few boss battles already and I think at this point it's safe to give this a review. It's a really fun game challenging at times, but really fun. My no.1 complaint about this game is graphics. They're not bad, they're really good, but they cause eye-strain quickly. I don't know if it's just me, but after I turn the game off, my eyesI haven't yet finished this game, but I have completed a few boss battles already and I think at this point it's safe to give this a review. It's a really fun game challenging at times, but really fun. My no.1 complaint about this game is graphics. They're not bad, they're really good, but they cause eye-strain quickly. I don't know if it's just me, but after I turn the game off, my eyes feel very relieved. All in all, I like the action, the story, and the boss battles. Solid game. Expand
  15. Jun 23, 2013
    7
    I'm a fan of transformers so when this game came out I gave it a look. I love the story of this game which details the final weeks of the war on cybertron before the autobots were forced to abandon their planet. Gameplay-wise it plays like a 3rd person shooter and although you're a transformer most of your time will be spent in robot form. There are some interesting weapons to use but II'm a fan of transformers so when this game came out I gave it a look. I love the story of this game which details the final weeks of the war on cybertron before the autobots were forced to abandon their planet. Gameplay-wise it plays like a 3rd person shooter and although you're a transformer most of your time will be spent in robot form. There are some interesting weapons to use but I wish there was more. The graphics could be better as well but the environments are very interesting. Its also nice being able to play as your favourite transformer characters. Overall a good game that is let down a bit by some uninteresting gameplay. Still fun and the best transformers game out there Expand
  16. Nov 4, 2013
    9
    The best transformers series of all time. Great story, good gameplay and also cool design for every character. This is an absolutely must have for all the gamers who love shooting games. So much better than my expectation!
  17. Feb 15, 2015
    9
    Probably one of the best, if not, the best transformers game ever. Had lots of fun, from slightly repetitive (SLIGHTLY) campaign to the awesome multiplayer. Absolute must-buy for a Transformers fan. If you aren't into Transformers, I still recommend picking this up.
  18. Jan 27, 2017
    10
    War for Cybertron marks an evolution in the Transformers Video Game Series, a true work of originality and divine inspiration. Taking us back to the hallowed realms of Generation One Transformers, WfC's plot serves as a direct prequel to the original animated series, which I'm sure will make long-time fans **** in their limited edition Optimus Prime silk pyjamas, your standard fair.
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 45 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 45
  2. Negative: 0 out of 45
  1. Dec 28, 2010
    75
    It's not bad, exactly, and a lot of people are going to have fun with it just by virtue of the fact that they get to play as an awesome Transformer. It's just not as good as it could be.
  2. As a shooter, Transformers is purely about running and gunning, and the lack of strategy causes problems with difficulty-balancing.
  3. 85
    Transformers: The War for Cybertron is definitely a love-letter to fans of the G1 cartoon series. All of your favorite characters are here and somehow mixed in with a genuinely fun and competent shooter.