• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 34 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 31 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: For years, Omega Force has transcended the action genre to create one of video gaming's most legendary franchises. Now, it will unleash its imagination on the realm of fantasy with the upcoming TRINITY: Souls of Zill O'll.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 34
  2. Negative: 10 out of 34
  1. Feb 26, 2011
    74
    There's a ton of content available, but far too much of it is repetitive. That said, if you enjoy leveling up and questing, then there's 50+ hours of it here.
  2. Feb 11, 2011
    70
    Combat is solid and dependable, the RPG elements are functional and decently presented, and there is a good 'just one more mission' addictiveness that'll keep you coming back for more if you let its charms sink in.
  3. Mar 20, 2011
    68
    Trinity: Souls of Zill O'll doesn't stand out much from the crowd with good reason, as it doesn't do much that we haven't seen before. That said, it features solid gameplay and a pretty long campaign, although more could have been done to enhance the experience.
  4. Feb 15, 2011
    60
    Despite its average production and an obvious lack of ambition, Trinity remains a nice and solid game, one, however, that is closer to a beat'em all like Dynasty Warriors or N3 than to a real action-RPG. Most games of that genre have a tendency to become tedious after some time, and Trinity can be no exception : if you like more subtle and narratively rich games, be warned.
  5. Feb 20, 2011
    56
    Too repetitive and lacking in the kind of depth we look for in an action RPG. [Issue#202, p.92]
  6. Mar 29, 2011
    40
    There are good ideias but they need a much better execution.
  7. Feb 11, 2011
    20
    Personally, I wouldn't give this game the time of day, and I happen to like RPGs. However, I'm envisioning Trinity being available for 99 cents a couple years down the line, and some very poor college student may want to grab it because they're bored and can't afford the latest shooter du jour. To those people I say, hey, if you don't mind forgoing ramen for a day, knock yourself out. You'll get a healthy 15-20 hours of kicking around goblins for your money. As for the rest of you, you'll probably be happier sticking with the ramen.

See all 34 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 10
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 10
  3. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Nov 24, 2011
    10
    The biggest issue is the lack of interesting questing content. There are occasional important story-based quests, but for vast hours inThe biggest issue is the lack of interesting questing content. There are occasional important story-based quests, but for vast hours in between there is a ton of busy work. When the game opens, you're dropped into the world with nothing more for an impetus than "you want to get revenge on this guy, but you're not strong enough yet. Go get stronger."

    Read more: ****
    Under Creative Commons License: Attribution Non-Commercial No Derivatives
    Collapse
  2. Dec 24, 2011
    10
    Despite the lackluster reviews, Trinity: Souls of Zill O'll has received, I found it to be a deep and rewarding experience with a lot of heartDespite the lackluster reviews, Trinity: Souls of Zill O'll has received, I found it to be a deep and rewarding experience with a lot of heart behind it. If it wasn't for Skyrim coming out this would have been my game of the year.

    There are enough main characters and side character that are given a lot of screen time for you to actually know and care about them.

    When it comes to graphics, it's not as nearly up to date as it should be, but it is leap and bounds better than Nier, yes I loved Nier, and I'm not hating on it either.

    The big criticism I can wag against this game in the almost lack of in game voice acting don't get me wrong there is voice acting in the cut-scenes making getting to them more rewarding, but it gets aggravating having to trudge through text. Since its lack of sell over seas, a lot of DLC will never be translated, which makes me sad since I found this to be a game that I would want to play over and over.
    Expand
  3. Mar 3, 2011
    10
    Western Reviews are clearly biased. If its not coming out of the @$$holes of Bioware than they don't want it. Anyway, this game is a reallyWestern Reviews are clearly biased. If its not coming out of the @$$holes of Bioware than they don't want it. Anyway, this game is a really good JRPG especially since the PS3 doesn't have a lot to choose from. The battle system is very fast paced and fun. The characters are somewhat shallow but do have they're charm. The storyline is kinda basic but its done very well. If you need a RPG fix for the PS3 pick this up. Expand
  4. Jun 4, 2011
    9
    This game proves to be a very good action-RPG .game play is very good and good making he may be lacking of more playable characters and skillsThis game proves to be a very good action-RPG .game play is very good and good making he may be lacking of more playable characters and skills but whit 3 characters he do a nice job and a game that may give 60 hours of game play its hard to find these days even e this new generations consoles. Expand
  5. May 29, 2014
    8
    I don't really feel deeply connected to the characters, but this is a solid game packed with many good features that I appreciate. I feel aI don't really feel deeply connected to the characters, but this is a solid game packed with many good features that I appreciate. I feel a 2/10 or 1/5 would be way too harsh. I can see a 7/10. If the Dynasty Warriors series was anything like this, I'd be into them.

    On the other side of the coin, I think the camera was not great, and I felt like their elemental weakness system didn't feel like it was working at 100%
    Expand
  6. Aug 9, 2011
    7
    Maybe not worth full price (wait for a sale), but if the reviewers had taken into account this is rated T for teen and considered the targetMaybe not worth full price (wait for a sale), but if the reviewers had taken into account this is rated T for teen and considered the target audience for the game, this would be more of a solid 7. I absolutely enjoy my adult Bioware RPG's, but sometimes I just need to indulge my inner 13-year old. Is the plot cliched and linear? Yes, but that's fairly typical. Is the combat repetitive? Yes, but very well-implemented. The game is very good when you're content to waste a few hours doing a little dungeon-crawl, hack and slash, and addictive Diablo-style looting and leveling. The artwork is high-quality animation and the music (when you notice it) is excellent. A good, if not great effort by Omega Force to do a swords-and-sorcery style RPG. Expand
  7. Mar 29, 2011
    7
    Can't see the reasons for the hate surrounding this game... it surely isn't a masterpiece, but it's a competent hack&slash game with a decentCan't see the reasons for the hate surrounding this game... it surely isn't a masterpiece, but it's a competent hack&slash game with a decent plot and a great ending. I played it during my DA2 playthrough, and I was surprised to see that Trinity actually had far more diverse locales while Bioware's AAA hit manages to repeat the same areas over and over. Also. the characters' skills were quite interesting and gave the action some variety even in post game. Expand

See all 10 User Reviews