TRON: Evolution PlayStation 3

Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 47 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 47
  2. Negative: 8 out of 47
Buy On
  1. Jan 1, 2011
    45
    Tron: Evolution has too much going for it to write it off as another inspiration-free paycheck game, but I can't help but feel that if the developers had had another six months and perhaps a little more freedom to stray from the film's narrative, the end result would have been much better.
  2. Dec 17, 2010
    45
    When all is said and done, it is difficult to recommend TRON: Evolution as a game. Though it expands on some of the background leading up to the new film and gives us a bit more insight into Quorra's character, suffering through the tedious gameplay segments just isn't worth it, even for a hardcore fan.
  3. Game Informer
    Dec 13, 2010
    45
    Tron: Evolution will probably have a handful of defenders, but I can't reasonably suggest that anyone play it. It's a shoddy experience that ultimately isn't much fun. Tron superfans would do better simply watching the movie again and calling it a day. [Jan 2011, p.80]
  4. Dec 17, 2010
    42
    Evolution has a few passable moments, but it's ultimately too dull to be anything more than a missed opportunity.
  5. Feb 1, 2011
    40
    TRON Evolution, even though it bridges the gap between the two movies, remains quite dispensable, even for fans of the universe. Its gameplay, a mashup of cheesy combat and pale wallrun-based stunts copied and pasted from other more respectable games, bores more than it entertains. Even though its technically and visually correct, its dreariness and lack of pace nullifies its original ambitions.
  6. Jan 28, 2011
    40
    If you want to get irritated by a game, Tron: Evolution is the one for you. The sluggish controls ruin the experience and the story doesn't make up for it at all. The beautiful looking world can't save the game from being anything more than a cheap marketing tool for Disney.
  7. Dec 17, 2010
    33
    As much as it pains me to say it, Tron: Evolution proves that it takes a lot more than nostalgia and shiny graphics to make an enjoyable videogame.
  8. Play UK
    Dec 29, 2010
    17
    Cynical cash-in. [Issue#200, p.96]
User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 27 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Jan 7, 2011
    8
    Let me start my multiplayer rant with this message: PSN: sutherland604 add me, lets battle on The Grid.

    After reading/watching most of the
    Let me start my multiplayer rant with this message: PSN: sutherland604 add me, lets battle on The Grid.

    After reading/watching most of the reviews online for Tron: Evolution I have noticed they barely mention the multiplayer aspects of the game. The game by no means re-created the wheel with their online modes, but I find it to be a welcomed change from the overload of 1st person shooters online. As much fun as rolling into cover behind an abandoned Hummer on the war torn streets of Cuba with a loaded automatic rifle is, I fully enjoyed grabbing my light disc and going into The Grid.

    By now you have probably already read a review or two that talks about how the game is a chapter in the TRON saga that takes place somewhere between the events of the 1982 TRON film and the 2010 release of Tron: Legacy. With parkour inspired mobility and combat, full 3D support on the PS3 as well as support for the Playstaion Move on light cycle levels. My review isnâ
    Full Review »
  2. Feb 19, 2016
    6
    Tron Evolution is a movie tie in game to Tron Legacy, while maintaining not to be a horrible game it ends up being very mediocre. Tron opensTron Evolution is a movie tie in game to Tron Legacy, while maintaining not to be a horrible game it ends up being very mediocre. Tron opens up, with the system evolving there is the basics which Flynn wrote, then there is the ISOs ( Programs with there own will power, like a human). The ISOs and the basics don't get along and there is what is presumed to have been a murder by the basics against an ISO leader named Jalen. So Flynn installs a security program in the system which is you the player.

    The story remained interesting all the way till the end for me and seemed to be a nice way to wrap up for the beginning of the film. I have never seen a Tron movie personally so I am not sure what info helped for the plot of Tron Legacy, nor what info and how true it stayed to the original film. This is a review based on the game and not a fan opinion. However the game did get me interested in watching the films down the road.

    As far as visuals go the game looked very nice and what I imagine Tron would look like, while mostly maintaining the colors of blue and different colors for the enemies the game does switch it up later in the game, Adding a new bright coat of paint as its theme. The physical game case also does a good job representing what the game may look like with its shine which I believe to be a nice added touch.

    Trons soundtrack I enjoyed, very electronic SCIFI sounding vibe to it. As far as the other sound work goes the voice actors did a good job, I never rolled my eyes to it. while the sound effects did nothing special but got the job done.

    The gameplay revolves around a lot of platforming and the platforming is not the greatest everything from bad camera angels and the controls not being as fluid as other platformers on the market it disappoints. I even encountered rubber banding, in a platformer, how does a developer let that happen. Then there was a one time encounter were the sound got all messed up. Thankfully a quick restart fixed that issue and I never ran into that issue again. The combat is very average and did alright, there is also light cycle and tank segments added to the mix to change things up a bit. Those work fine and can be sort of fun, mind yea other moments not so much.

    I can't recommend this game to anyone id say skip it and if you have not played the game as of yet you wont likely do so as I did. There is better games from this games time period and as of now to play and the game is rough for the time released. Sure I had fun at times and enjoyed some aspects but the majority of the time threw its short campaign that was not the case.
    Full Review »
  3. Oct 6, 2014
    5
    Tron evolution...
    where do I begin?
    I was given this by a friend on Christmas of 2011. CHECK. I played for a few minutes before realizing
    Tron evolution...
    where do I begin?
    I was given this by a friend on Christmas of 2011. CHECK.
    I played for a few minutes before realizing it was a very MEH game. CHECK.
    This game had an interesting concept, make a tie-in game to 2010's tron legacy
    (which was panned by critics unfortunately). However, as with most tie-in games,
    they're flawed, and this is just an example at a flawed one.
    First problem I have right off is the story. For a prequel, the story is the heart,
    but the story is not anything we haven't seen before, considering this is
    1 out of 3 prequels for tron legacy? THREE? yes, three.
    1 is this game,
    the other one is some werid comic book,
    and the last is that TV show on that disney channel.
    Next is the gameplay itself.
    Now where do I start with the gameplay?
    It's very much prince of Persia, with a god awful camera,
    and a sh*t ton of wall jumping and etc.
    That's it.
    Sure, multiplayer is okay and lets you ride on a light cycle
    much like the movie, but that is only OKAY and a feature
    that felt like it was put in at the last second for fan service.
    Okay, I do admit it is fun when it works, but just like prince of Persia,
    the wall jumping controls are very sticky, so sticky indeed that you'll be screaming
    at your TV "WHY THE HELL WON'T HE GO UP THE WALL?".
    As for the 3D, I am wordless, even though I own a 3D TV.
    I saw that they just released this on steam, but considering
    what most PC ports are nowadays, and that it's 20 bucks and has no community
    reviews yet, I'm backing away.
    5 out of 10.
    It's fun when it works, but it's frustrating and the story suffers because (in terms of the prequels we've
    seen to the movie's story so far) it's not really original.
    Overall I would think that this game really had potential, but it suffers from what I call "rushed game syndrome".
    Full Review »