Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 47 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 47
  2. Negative: 8 out of 47
  1. Jan 1, 2011
    45
    Tron: Evolution has too much going for it to write it off as another inspiration-free paycheck game, but I can't help but feel that if the developers had had another six months and perhaps a little more freedom to stray from the film's narrative, the end result would have been much better.
  2. Dec 17, 2010
    45
    When all is said and done, it is difficult to recommend TRON: Evolution as a game. Though it expands on some of the background leading up to the new film and gives us a bit more insight into Quorra's character, suffering through the tedious gameplay segments just isn't worth it, even for a hardcore fan.
  3. Dec 13, 2010
    45
    Tron: Evolution will probably have a handful of defenders, but I can't reasonably suggest that anyone play it. It's a shoddy experience that ultimately isn't much fun. Tron superfans would do better simply watching the movie again and calling it a day. [Jan 2011, p.80]
  4. Dec 17, 2010
    42
    Evolution has a few passable moments, but it's ultimately too dull to be anything more than a missed opportunity.
  5. Feb 1, 2011
    40
    TRON Evolution, even though it bridges the gap between the two movies, remains quite dispensable, even for fans of the universe. Its gameplay, a mashup of cheesy combat and pale wallrun-based stunts copied and pasted from other more respectable games, bores more than it entertains. Even though its technically and visually correct, its dreariness and lack of pace nullifies its original ambitions.
  6. Jan 28, 2011
    40
    If you want to get irritated by a game, Tron: Evolution is the one for you. The sluggish controls ruin the experience and the story doesn't make up for it at all. The beautiful looking world can't save the game from being anything more than a cheap marketing tool for Disney.
  7. Dec 17, 2010
    33
    As much as it pains me to say it, Tron: Evolution proves that it takes a lot more than nostalgia and shiny graphics to make an enjoyable videogame.
  8. Dec 29, 2010
    17
    Cynical cash-in. [Issue#200, p.96]
User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 22 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 4
  2. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Jan 7, 2011
    8
    Let me start my multiplayer rant with this message: PSN: sutherland604 add me, lets battle on The Grid.

    After reading/watching most of the
    reviews online for Tron: Evolution I have noticed they barely mention the multiplayer aspects of the game. The game by no means re-created the wheel with their online modes, but I find it to be a welcomed change from the overload of 1st person shooters online. As much fun as rolling into cover behind an abandoned Hummer on the war torn streets of Cuba with a loaded automatic rifle is, I fully enjoyed grabbing my light disc and going into The Grid.

    By now you have probably already read a review or two that talks about how the game is a chapter in the TRON saga that takes place somewhere between the events of the 1982 TRON film and the 2010 release of Tron: Legacy. With parkour inspired mobility and combat, full 3D support on the PS3 as well as support for the Playstaion Move on light cycle levels. My review isnâ
    Full Review »
  2. Mar 1, 2012
    6
    Hate me now, but i haven't seen the first movie. I saw Tron Legacy in theaters and i did like that movie, it seemed a great idea and playing it as a video is a fool proof idea. How can you mess up a movie tie-in game when the movie itself is about a video game? I'm not saying this is a terrible game, but this just isn't what i expected. I'll start with what it got right, the core gameplay. The fast combat that has u flipping around and attacking enemies with you disc is enjoyable and feels good to get in a strong combo is multiple moves that you learned. If i were to compare it to another game, it would have to be God of War or Dantes Inferno, with light, heavy and special moves that you can flow together. After that though, there isn't anything that Tron Evolution really gets right, or at least doesn't do to the fullest extent. The visuals are fine, but if you have seen one glowing blue wall, you have seen the rest. They spice it up once in a while with green and orange, but it's all very simplistic and i feel that if they had made it to a bigger scale it would have felt more like the movie, instead of showing us all the big set pieces in cut scenes only. Enemies also are bland. Some will have you using new skills you learned to take them out, but that is the only way TO kill them. You just have to spam that attack over and over again in order to kill them. At some points in the game it feels like they threw it in there as an after thought just to extend the play time, with some entire chapters being room after room with the same enemy type just to slow you down. You also find little attachment to anything in this game story wise. Yes, some of the actors from the movies voice their characters here, but they just seem like a cameo, even if they are a part of the story, they will leave you to fend for yourself and you wont see them again for quite some time. Your character also is silly in all reason. You are an AI of the Tron universe that somehow escaped a virus and everyone trusts you because you don't have any emotions, but that leaves you not caring for him either. Why can't i play as Clu or something? Id even be happy if it was just a small mission where you could play as an actual character of the movies, but you don't. Finally there is the multiplayer, which is probably the most fun you can have with this package, if you can find a match. Once you do though, the nostalgia that fans of the movies will be worth the price of the game, with fast paced deathmatches on lightbikes and arena matches that can be chaotic fun. Even for those, like myself, who wouldn't have the same nostalgia rush as some, these are still alot of fun. The experience you earn in the multiplayer also help you out in the main story, which is something i think is amazing to see. In all, Tron Evolution isn't a bad game, it also isn't a very good game. You can have some fun in the single player, but it won't last long, but in multiplayer the game shines and I loved my time with it. Sadly the multiplayer (at least on the PS3 version) isn't very populated and finding a match that is full isn't easy. I say this is good if you are a die hard fan of Tron, but if you want fast gameplay and a good story, there are other games that can do better than Tron Evolution. Full Review »
  3. Jul 2, 2011
    9
    a very good game from my opinion because it has a good story line and the online play is one of the best of all. could have a better reasoning for being rated T and could have you play on both sides of the story. Also more weapons during online would be cool but for me i'd give this game a 9/10 score. (Or 99/100.) Full Review »