TRON: Evolution PlayStation 3

Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 47 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 47
  2. Negative: 8 out of 47
Buy On
  1. Feb 7, 2011
    73
    Tron: Evolution is a game that has so much going for it, but lets itself down at the last hurdle. With average combat and poorly designed free running, the game ultimately redeems itself in the story.
  2. Dec 17, 2010
    71
    Is TRON:Evolution a bad game that continues the trend of awful licensed games? Not at all, but I can't say its a masterpiece either.
  3. Jan 28, 2011
    70
    Surprisingly entertaining, but it borrows a lot from famous assassins and princes of Persia.
  4. Jan 25, 2011
    70
    To put it simply, if you liked the new movie, despite its flaws, Tron: Evolution is a decent companion piece.
  5. Jan 3, 2011
    70
    Tron: Legacy from Disney Interactive Studios is a surprising fun ride. Short in the single player experience, but can have a longer life with more diverseness added to the multiplayer free for alls and team matches that go on.
  6. Jan 2, 2011
    70
    TRON: Evolution is a good but not excellent game. The main structure is quite standard, and the game flow is good enough to keep the player glued to the experience. The multiplayer is fair and funny, even if the Light Cycle battles are not as good as the originals.
  7. Dec 17, 2010
    70
    TRON: Evolution mixes free-running platforming with simple but engaging combat and is a fun if slightly repetitive trip back into the digital world of the Grid.
  8. Dec 16, 2010
    70
    The game exceeds our expectations in nearly all areas and certainly rates highly in our minds-own check-list of movie cash-ins.
  9. Dec 15, 2010
    70
    TRON: Evolution is definitely a good game; it just isn't a great game.
  10. 68
    The story mode is extremely short, and the online offerings feel a bit hollow.
  11. Dec 17, 2010
    67
    I was happy to see that Propaganda at least put forward a decent effort and with a bigger budget and more development time, they might have been able to smooth out the game's edges and turn in something that could have been less of a "fans only" proposition and more of a mainstream contender.
  12. Jan 25, 2011
    65
    TRON transports you right into a computer and apparently that computer is very old because the game has a lot of flaws. This game will still be able to let you have a fair share of fun but it would have been better if Propaganda Games had put just a little bit more effort in this one.
  13. Dec 17, 2010
    65
    Tron's nothing but an evolution of a game - it delivers a nice experience, with an unique atmosphere, but It lacks and interesting gameplay scheme. It'll satisfy the fans of genre.
  14. 65
    A must-play game for fans of the Tron Universe, though even they may become frustrated with some of the clunky parkour gameplay and repetitive battles.
  15. Feb 23, 2011
    63
    When you have seen the TRON movie, than you'll will appreciate this game. It got a few pretty strong and nice elements, but besides of that there is also a lot of frustrating elements. It isn't really bad, but it could have been a lot better.
  16. Jan 10, 2011
    63
    If you loved the movie (the new one), you'll probably be interested in this plain action title. Otherwise, there's much better whichever the platform you own.
  17. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    Feb 3, 2011
    60
    Even the light cycle sections...are reduced to a forgettable, linear scramble. [Feb 2011, p.104]
  18. Jan 24, 2011
    60
    With a special universe at hand, we believe that Disney could have used much more of the franchise.
  19. PSM3 Magazine UK
    Jan 13, 2011
    60
    Has all the right influences, but uses them in all the wrong ways. [Jan 2011, p.92]
  20. Jan 12, 2011
    60
    Something tells me that another 6 months to a year of development time on Tron: Evolution could have brought a truly amazing game, but unfortunately the rushed development cycle to match the movie's release strikes again and the half-assed gameplay is the result of that.
  21. 60
    From its sometimes frustrating platforming, to its button mashing combat, Tron: Evolution has many shortcomings. Even with these issues, fans of the Tron universe will get some enjoyment out of this game, and all in all it is not a bad rental, but for those who are not interested in the franchise, its best to steer clear of the game.
  22. Jan 2, 2011
    60
    Tron Evolution could have been a great game, but it lacks much of the polish required to leave a lasting impression.
  23. Dec 27, 2010
    60
    If you have seen and enjoyed Tron: Legacy, then it may be worth picking up Evolution to explore the universe a little further. However, if you happen to be a gamer with no connections to the series, it's difficult to recommend.
  24. Dec 17, 2010
    60
    It's a competent enough game but could have been so much more, if you fancy something like Prince of Persia though it's definitely worth a rental, and if you loved Tron and can't wait for the new film then you really have to give it a go, if only just for the story.
  25. Dec 17, 2010
    60
    It's a repetitive cyberpunk Prince of Persia. The platforming and combat are flashy, but both feel awkward to control and get really competitive.
  26. Dec 17, 2010
    60
    Tron: Evolution is simple fun, but let down by a fairly short campaign that becomes samey far too quickly.
  27. Dec 17, 2010
    60
    As a guy that appreciated Tron back when it was released who is already interested in seeing the new movie, the way Evolution fleshes out the world and sets up the events of Tron: Legacy makes it a lot more interesting than it would have been otherwise.
  28. Dec 17, 2010
    60
    This game got some fun elements, but falls on boring gameplay-elements and a plain story. The game is fun when you jump around throwing discs at opponents, and can be quite challenging at times. Much of the gameplay is dull though and the multiplayer feels unnecessary.
  29. May 24, 2011
    59
    The game is too hard and many parts of it are too frustrating. The controls in Tron: Evolution are a total mess. Why is there a multiplayer in this game?
  30. Games Master UK
    Dec 29, 2010
    59
    Numbingly ordinary. [Jan 2011, p.86]
  31. Dec 17, 2010
    58
    Tron: Evolution is a perfect tie-in, decent visuals but unfortunately the gameplay is quite broken. The platform parts are plagued by trial and error mechanics and cheesy camera, combat parts are quite good, but they lack variety and in the end they can be quite boring.
  32. Dec 17, 2010
    55
    This game actually doesn't have any flaw too negative, but neither anything remarkable.
  33. Jan 23, 2011
    50
    Only for fans of the movie. It's a shame that although not being the typical tie-in going for easy money the final result is as mediocre.
  34. Playstation: The Official Magazine (US)
    Jan 6, 2011
    50
    Beyond that, Evolution offers the opposite of its namesake: a big step backward. [Jan 2011, p.81]
  35. Jan 1, 2011
    50
    TRON: Evolution is a solid romp, whose entertainment is hampered by some niggling control and camera issues.
  36. Edge Magazine
    Dec 23, 2010
    50
    Platforming only ever threatens to be acceptable, lacking both the freedom and finesse that further development time might have granted, while the lightcycle sections - well, there might not be any way of saving them. [Jan 2011, p.96]
User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 27 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Jan 7, 2011
    8
    Let me start my multiplayer rant with this message: PSN: sutherland604 add me, lets battle on The Grid.

    After reading/watching most of the
    Let me start my multiplayer rant with this message: PSN: sutherland604 add me, lets battle on The Grid.

    After reading/watching most of the reviews online for Tron: Evolution I have noticed they barely mention the multiplayer aspects of the game. The game by no means re-created the wheel with their online modes, but I find it to be a welcomed change from the overload of 1st person shooters online. As much fun as rolling into cover behind an abandoned Hummer on the war torn streets of Cuba with a loaded automatic rifle is, I fully enjoyed grabbing my light disc and going into The Grid.

    By now you have probably already read a review or two that talks about how the game is a chapter in the TRON saga that takes place somewhere between the events of the 1982 TRON film and the 2010 release of Tron: Legacy. With parkour inspired mobility and combat, full 3D support on the PS3 as well as support for the Playstaion Move on light cycle levels. My review isnâ
    Full Review »
  2. Feb 19, 2016
    6
    Tron Evolution is a movie tie in game to Tron Legacy, while maintaining not to be a horrible game it ends up being very mediocre. Tron opensTron Evolution is a movie tie in game to Tron Legacy, while maintaining not to be a horrible game it ends up being very mediocre. Tron opens up, with the system evolving there is the basics which Flynn wrote, then there is the ISOs ( Programs with there own will power, like a human). The ISOs and the basics don't get along and there is what is presumed to have been a murder by the basics against an ISO leader named Jalen. So Flynn installs a security program in the system which is you the player.

    The story remained interesting all the way till the end for me and seemed to be a nice way to wrap up for the beginning of the film. I have never seen a Tron movie personally so I am not sure what info helped for the plot of Tron Legacy, nor what info and how true it stayed to the original film. This is a review based on the game and not a fan opinion. However the game did get me interested in watching the films down the road.

    As far as visuals go the game looked very nice and what I imagine Tron would look like, while mostly maintaining the colors of blue and different colors for the enemies the game does switch it up later in the game, Adding a new bright coat of paint as its theme. The physical game case also does a good job representing what the game may look like with its shine which I believe to be a nice added touch.

    Trons soundtrack I enjoyed, very electronic SCIFI sounding vibe to it. As far as the other sound work goes the voice actors did a good job, I never rolled my eyes to it. while the sound effects did nothing special but got the job done.

    The gameplay revolves around a lot of platforming and the platforming is not the greatest everything from bad camera angels and the controls not being as fluid as other platformers on the market it disappoints. I even encountered rubber banding, in a platformer, how does a developer let that happen. Then there was a one time encounter were the sound got all messed up. Thankfully a quick restart fixed that issue and I never ran into that issue again. The combat is very average and did alright, there is also light cycle and tank segments added to the mix to change things up a bit. Those work fine and can be sort of fun, mind yea other moments not so much.

    I can't recommend this game to anyone id say skip it and if you have not played the game as of yet you wont likely do so as I did. There is better games from this games time period and as of now to play and the game is rough for the time released. Sure I had fun at times and enjoyed some aspects but the majority of the time threw its short campaign that was not the case.
    Full Review »
  3. Oct 6, 2014
    5
    Tron evolution...
    where do I begin?
    I was given this by a friend on Christmas of 2011. CHECK. I played for a few minutes before realizing
    Tron evolution...
    where do I begin?
    I was given this by a friend on Christmas of 2011. CHECK.
    I played for a few minutes before realizing it was a very MEH game. CHECK.
    This game had an interesting concept, make a tie-in game to 2010's tron legacy
    (which was panned by critics unfortunately). However, as with most tie-in games,
    they're flawed, and this is just an example at a flawed one.
    First problem I have right off is the story. For a prequel, the story is the heart,
    but the story is not anything we haven't seen before, considering this is
    1 out of 3 prequels for tron legacy? THREE? yes, three.
    1 is this game,
    the other one is some werid comic book,
    and the last is that TV show on that disney channel.
    Next is the gameplay itself.
    Now where do I start with the gameplay?
    It's very much prince of Persia, with a god awful camera,
    and a sh*t ton of wall jumping and etc.
    That's it.
    Sure, multiplayer is okay and lets you ride on a light cycle
    much like the movie, but that is only OKAY and a feature
    that felt like it was put in at the last second for fan service.
    Okay, I do admit it is fun when it works, but just like prince of Persia,
    the wall jumping controls are very sticky, so sticky indeed that you'll be screaming
    at your TV "WHY THE HELL WON'T HE GO UP THE WALL?".
    As for the 3D, I am wordless, even though I own a 3D TV.
    I saw that they just released this on steam, but considering
    what most PC ports are nowadays, and that it's 20 bucks and has no community
    reviews yet, I'm backing away.
    5 out of 10.
    It's fun when it works, but it's frustrating and the story suffers because (in terms of the prequels we've
    seen to the movie's story so far) it's not really original.
    Overall I would think that this game really had potential, but it suffers from what I call "rushed game syndrome".
    Full Review »