Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 47 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 47
  2. Negative: 8 out of 47
  1. Dec 17, 2010
    33
    As much as it pains me to say it, Tron: Evolution proves that it takes a lot more than nostalgia and shiny graphics to make an enjoyable videogame.
  2. 68
    The story mode is extremely short, and the online offerings feel a bit hollow.
  3. Dec 16, 2010
    70
    The game exceeds our expectations in nearly all areas and certainly rates highly in our minds-own check-list of movie cash-ins.
  4. Dec 15, 2010
    70
    TRON: Evolution is definitely a good game; it just isn't a great game.
  5. Dec 17, 2010
    60
    It's a competent enough game but could have been so much more, if you fancy something like Prince of Persia though it's definitely worth a rental, and if you loved Tron and can't wait for the new film then you really have to give it a go, if only just for the story.
  6. Dec 23, 2010
    50
    Platforming only ever threatens to be acceptable, lacking both the freedom and finesse that further development time might have granted, while the lightcycle sections - well, there might not be any way of saving them. [Jan 2011, p.96]
  7. Jan 2, 2011
    70
    TRON: Evolution is a good but not excellent game. The main structure is quite standard, and the game flow is good enough to keep the player glued to the experience. The multiplayer is fair and funny, even if the Light Cycle battles are not as good as the originals.
  8. Jan 24, 2011
    60
    With a special universe at hand, we believe that Disney could have used much more of the franchise.
  9. Jan 23, 2011
    50
    Only for fans of the movie. It's a shame that although not being the typical tie-in going for easy money the final result is as mediocre.
  10. Dec 13, 2010
    45
    Tron: Evolution will probably have a handful of defenders, but I can't reasonably suggest that anyone play it. It's a shoddy experience that ultimately isn't much fun. Tron superfans would do better simply watching the movie again and calling it a day. [Jan 2011, p.80]
  11. Feb 1, 2011
    40
    TRON Evolution, even though it bridges the gap between the two movies, remains quite dispensable, even for fans of the universe. Its gameplay, a mashup of cheesy combat and pale wallrun-based stunts copied and pasted from other more respectable games, bores more than it entertains. Even though its technically and visually correct, its dreariness and lack of pace nullifies its original ambitions.
  12. Jan 1, 2011
    45
    Tron: Evolution has too much going for it to write it off as another inspiration-free paycheck game, but I can't help but feel that if the developers had had another six months and perhaps a little more freedom to stray from the film's narrative, the end result would have been much better.
  13. Dec 17, 2010
    71
    Is TRON:Evolution a bad game that continues the trend of awful licensed games? Not at all, but I can't say its a masterpiece either.
  14. Jan 28, 2011
    40
    If you want to get irritated by a game, Tron: Evolution is the one for you. The sluggish controls ruin the experience and the story doesn't make up for it at all. The beautiful looking world can't save the game from being anything more than a cheap marketing tool for Disney.
  15. Jan 28, 2011
    70
    Surprisingly entertaining, but it borrows a lot from famous assassins and princes of Persia.
  16. Dec 29, 2010
    59
    Numbingly ordinary. [Jan 2011, p.86]
  17. Dec 17, 2010
    67
    I was happy to see that Propaganda at least put forward a decent effort and with a bigger budget and more development time, they might have been able to smooth out the game's edges and turn in something that could have been less of a "fans only" proposition and more of a mainstream contender.
  18. Dec 17, 2010
    70
    TRON: Evolution mixes free-running platforming with simple but engaging combat and is a fun if slightly repetitive trip back into the digital world of the Grid.
  19. Jan 1, 2011
    50
    TRON: Evolution is a solid romp, whose entertainment is hampered by some niggling control and camera issues.
  20. Dec 20, 2010
    75
    Propaganda have done a really good job in crafting something that not only achieves its main purpose, but also doesn't completely suck.
  21. Jan 25, 2011
    70
    To put it simply, if you liked the new movie, despite its flaws, Tron: Evolution is a decent companion piece.
  22. Dec 17, 2010
    60
    As a guy that appreciated Tron back when it was released who is already interested in seeing the new movie, the way Evolution fleshes out the world and sets up the events of Tron: Legacy makes it a lot more interesting than it would have been otherwise.
  23. Dec 17, 2010
    80
    It manages a pretty impressive balancing act: non-gamers obsessed with Tron will love its ambience and authenticity, and may even discover they like games more than they thought. Yet it contains enough clever ideas, and is well-enough structured, to keep hardcore gamers interested, particularly given that it takes place in that seductive Tron universe.
  24. Dec 17, 2010
    60
    It's a repetitive cyberpunk Prince of Persia. The platforming and combat are flashy, but both feel awkward to control and get really competitive.
  25. Jan 3, 2011
    70
    Tron: Legacy from Disney Interactive Studios is a surprising fun ride. Short in the single player experience, but can have a longer life with more diverseness added to the multiplayer free for alls and team matches that go on.
  26. Dec 17, 2010
    60
    This game got some fun elements, but falls on boring gameplay-elements and a plain story. The game is fun when you jump around throwing discs at opponents, and can be quite challenging at times. Much of the gameplay is dull though and the multiplayer feels unnecessary.
  27. Jan 2, 2011
    60
    Tron Evolution could have been a great game, but it lacks much of the polish required to leave a lasting impression.
  28. Dec 17, 2010
    65
    Tron's nothing but an evolution of a game - it delivers a nice experience, with an unique atmosphere, but It lacks and interesting gameplay scheme. It'll satisfy the fans of genre.
  29. Dec 17, 2010
    58
    Tron: Evolution is a perfect tie-in, decent visuals but unfortunately the gameplay is quite broken. The platform parts are plagued by trial and error mechanics and cheesy camera, combat parts are quite good, but they lack variety and in the end they can be quite boring.
  30. Dec 29, 2010
    17
    Cynical cash-in. [Issue#200, p.96]
  31. 60
    From its sometimes frustrating platforming, to its button mashing combat, Tron: Evolution has many shortcomings. Even with these issues, fans of the Tron universe will get some enjoyment out of this game, and all in all it is not a bad rental, but for those who are not interested in the franchise, its best to steer clear of the game.
  32. Even the light cycle sections...are reduced to a forgettable, linear scramble. [Feb 2011, p.104]
  33. 65
    A must-play game for fans of the Tron Universe, though even they may become frustrated with some of the clunky parkour gameplay and repetitive battles.
  34. Beyond that, Evolution offers the opposite of its namesake: a big step backward. [Jan 2011, p.81]
  35. Feb 23, 2011
    63
    When you have seen the TRON movie, than you'll will appreciate this game. It got a few pretty strong and nice elements, but besides of that there is also a lot of frustrating elements. It isn't really bad, but it could have been a lot better.
  36. Jan 13, 2011
    60
    Has all the right influences, but uses them in all the wrong ways. [Jan 2011, p.92]
  37. Jan 10, 2011
    63
    If you loved the movie (the new one), you'll probably be interested in this plain action title. Otherwise, there's much better whichever the platform you own.
  38. Dec 17, 2010
    42
    Evolution has a few passable moments, but it's ultimately too dull to be anything more than a missed opportunity.
  39. Dec 27, 2010
    60
    If you have seen and enjoyed Tron: Legacy, then it may be worth picking up Evolution to explore the universe a little further. However, if you happen to be a gamer with no connections to the series, it's difficult to recommend.
  40. Dec 17, 2010
    55
    This game actually doesn't have any flaw too negative, but neither anything remarkable.
  41. Jan 12, 2011
    60
    Something tells me that another 6 months to a year of development time on Tron: Evolution could have brought a truly amazing game, but unfortunately the rushed development cycle to match the movie's release strikes again and the half-assed gameplay is the result of that.
  42. Dec 17, 2010
    60
    Tron: Evolution is simple fun, but let down by a fairly short campaign that becomes samey far too quickly.
  43. May 24, 2011
    59
    The game is too hard and many parts of it are too frustrating. The controls in Tron: Evolution are a total mess. Why is there a multiplayer in this game?
  44. Dec 17, 2010
    45
    When all is said and done, it is difficult to recommend TRON: Evolution as a game. Though it expands on some of the background leading up to the new film and gives us a bit more insight into Quorra's character, suffering through the tedious gameplay segments just isn't worth it, even for a hardcore fan.
  45. Jan 25, 2011
    65
    TRON transports you right into a computer and apparently that computer is very old because the game has a lot of flaws. This game will still be able to let you have a fair share of fun but it would have been better if Propaganda Games had put just a little bit more effort in this one.
  46. Feb 7, 2011
    73
    Tron: Evolution is a game that has so much going for it, but lets itself down at the last hurdle. With average combat and poorly designed free running, the game ultimately redeems itself in the story.
User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 24 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Jan 7, 2011
    8
    Let me start my multiplayer rant with this message: PSN: sutherland604 add me, lets battle on The Grid.

    After reading/watching most of the
    reviews online for Tron: Evolution I have noticed they barely mention the multiplayer aspects of the game. The game by no means re-created the wheel with their online modes, but I find it to be a welcomed change from the overload of 1st person shooters online. As much fun as rolling into cover behind an abandoned Hummer on the war torn streets of Cuba with a loaded automatic rifle is, I fully enjoyed grabbing my light disc and going into The Grid.

    By now you have probably already read a review or two that talks about how the game is a chapter in the TRON saga that takes place somewhere between the events of the 1982 TRON film and the 2010 release of Tron: Legacy. With parkour inspired mobility and combat, full 3D support on the PS3 as well as support for the Playstaion Move on light cycle levels. My review isnâ
    Full Review »
  2. Oct 6, 2014
    5
    Tron evolution...
    where do I begin?
    I was given this by a friend on Christmas of 2011. CHECK.
    I played for a few minutes before realizing
    it was a very MEH game. CHECK.
    This game had an interesting concept, make a tie-in game to 2010's tron legacy
    (which was panned by critics unfortunately). However, as with most tie-in games,
    they're flawed, and this is just an example at a flawed one.
    First problem I have right off is the story. For a prequel, the story is the heart,
    but the story is not anything we haven't seen before, considering this is
    1 out of 3 prequels for tron legacy? THREE? yes, three.
    1 is this game,
    the other one is some werid comic book,
    and the last is that TV show on that disney channel.
    Next is the gameplay itself.
    Now where do I start with the gameplay?
    It's very much prince of Persia, with a god awful camera,
    and a sh*t ton of wall jumping and etc.
    That's it.
    Sure, multiplayer is okay and lets you ride on a light cycle
    much like the movie, but that is only OKAY and a feature
    that felt like it was put in at the last second for fan service.
    Okay, I do admit it is fun when it works, but just like prince of Persia,
    the wall jumping controls are very sticky, so sticky indeed that you'll be screaming
    at your TV "WHY THE HELL WON'T HE GO UP THE WALL?".
    As for the 3D, I am wordless, even though I own a 3D TV.
    I saw that they just released this on steam, but considering
    what most PC ports are nowadays, and that it's 20 bucks and has no community
    reviews yet, I'm backing away.
    5 out of 10.
    It's fun when it works, but it's frustrating and the story suffers because (in terms of the prequels we've
    seen to the movie's story so far) it's not really original.
    Overall I would think that this game really had potential, but it suffers from what I call "rushed game syndrome".
    Full Review »
  3. Mar 1, 2012
    6
    Hate me now, but i haven't seen the first movie. I saw Tron Legacy in theaters and i did like that movie, it seemed a great idea and playing it as a video is a fool proof idea. How can you mess up a movie tie-in game when the movie itself is about a video game? I'm not saying this is a terrible game, but this just isn't what i expected. I'll start with what it got right, the core gameplay. The fast combat that has u flipping around and attacking enemies with you disc is enjoyable and feels good to get in a strong combo is multiple moves that you learned. If i were to compare it to another game, it would have to be God of War or Dantes Inferno, with light, heavy and special moves that you can flow together. After that though, there isn't anything that Tron Evolution really gets right, or at least doesn't do to the fullest extent. The visuals are fine, but if you have seen one glowing blue wall, you have seen the rest. They spice it up once in a while with green and orange, but it's all very simplistic and i feel that if they had made it to a bigger scale it would have felt more like the movie, instead of showing us all the big set pieces in cut scenes only. Enemies also are bland. Some will have you using new skills you learned to take them out, but that is the only way TO kill them. You just have to spam that attack over and over again in order to kill them. At some points in the game it feels like they threw it in there as an after thought just to extend the play time, with some entire chapters being room after room with the same enemy type just to slow you down. You also find little attachment to anything in this game story wise. Yes, some of the actors from the movies voice their characters here, but they just seem like a cameo, even if they are a part of the story, they will leave you to fend for yourself and you wont see them again for quite some time. Your character also is silly in all reason. You are an AI of the Tron universe that somehow escaped a virus and everyone trusts you because you don't have any emotions, but that leaves you not caring for him either. Why can't i play as Clu or something? Id even be happy if it was just a small mission where you could play as an actual character of the movies, but you don't. Finally there is the multiplayer, which is probably the most fun you can have with this package, if you can find a match. Once you do though, the nostalgia that fans of the movies will be worth the price of the game, with fast paced deathmatches on lightbikes and arena matches that can be chaotic fun. Even for those, like myself, who wouldn't have the same nostalgia rush as some, these are still alot of fun. The experience you earn in the multiplayer also help you out in the main story, which is something i think is amazing to see. In all, Tron Evolution isn't a bad game, it also isn't a very good game. You can have some fun in the single player, but it won't last long, but in multiplayer the game shines and I loved my time with it. Sadly the multiplayer (at least on the PS3 version) isn't very populated and finding a match that is full isn't easy. I say this is good if you are a die hard fan of Tron, but if you want fast gameplay and a good story, there are other games that can do better than Tron Evolution. Full Review »