Sleeping Dogs PlayStation 3

Sleeping Dogs Image
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 649 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Sleeping Dogs is an open world cop drama set in the vibrant city of Hong Kong. Taking the role of undercover cop Wei Shen, players must take down one of the world's most lethal criminal organizations from the inside. Featuring imaginative combat systems, Sleeping Dogs empowers enablesSleeping Dogs is an open world cop drama set in the vibrant city of Hong Kong. Taking the role of undercover cop Wei Shen, players must take down one of the world's most lethal criminal organizations from the inside. Featuring imaginative combat systems, Sleeping Dogs empowers enables players to perform an array of martial arts moves, singlehandedly taking on numerous opponents. Players perform visceral kicks and combos, vicious counters and a cinematic set of environmental takedowns making use of real-world items from circular saws to phone booths, incinerators to refrigerator doors. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 40
  2. Negative: 0 out of 40
  1. Aug 17, 2012
    95
    What's that? Is that Activision cursing themselves because they've abandoned True Crime? Well, if they aren't, they should be! Sleeping Dogs is an absolutely fantastic game, which will definitely be fondly remembered as an example of the loads of fun a sandbox action game can deliver. Do not skip this one!
  2. 90
    The living, breathing underworld of Hong Kong is expertly recreated. The sum of all of these parts give Sleeping Dogs that classic Hong Kong Kung Fu action flick vibe, putting you in the director's chair. There may not be any multiplayer, however, the sheer volume of content and the added Social Hub will keep you playing long after the credits roll.
  3. Playstation: The Official Magazine (US)
    Aug 28, 2012
    90
    After its tumultuous history, Sleeping Dogs needed to emerge from cancellation as something special, and it doesn't disappoint. [Oct 202, p.77
  4. Aug 14, 2012
    83
    Well-tuned driving and fighting ultimately outweigh Sleeping Dogs' inconsistent tone and relatively modest production values. The ability and status of your character ramp up nicely, and you'll have plenty of opportunity to exercise your power in a well-constructed playground.
  5. Aug 22, 2012
    80
    The game has a great world where you can buy cars and clothes, fight with Triads, race cars, or just cause havoc if you like and it all amounts to a great time. Sleeping Dogs seemed like a game that was headed for disaster and pulled a complete curve ball and turned out to be pretty great.
  6. Aug 14, 2012
    80
    Atmospheric, explosive, violent and gripping. This must be a bad day for Activision.
  7. Aug 15, 2012
    60
    You'll find well-executed entertainment here, some moments worth fighting for, but without the glue of a good script or the polish of a blockbuster to hold its disparate parts together, Sleeping Dogs feels as trapped as its hero. It's incapable of committing fully to the action movie thrills it seems so enamoured of, perhaps due to the resources that have been siphoned away to fuel its open-world obligations and scale.

See all 40 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 88 out of 119
  2. Negative: 9 out of 119
  1. Jun 18, 2013
    10
    i played almost every GTA game and too many other sandbox games but sleeping dogs was different because the story was so damn good i eveni played almost every GTA game and too many other sandbox games but sleeping dogs was different because the story was so damn good i even platinumed the game (which i dont do often) Expand
  2. Mar 6, 2013
    10
    great story ,,long ,great action,, nicegreat story ,,long ,great action,, nice visuals>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> Expand
  3. Aug 14, 2012
    10
    The game is amazing!!! great hand-to-hand combat, driving is pretty good, and the gunplay is good. I don't know how they did it but they haveThe game is amazing!!! great hand-to-hand combat, driving is pretty good, and the gunplay is good. I don't know how they did it but they have amazing actors from both Hong Kong cinema and hollywood.(Emma Stone, Edison Chen, Lucy Liu and many more).Overall i would say go get this game now!!! Expand
  4. Jul 21, 2013
    9
    Combat is excellent and entertaining with simple upgrading system, to add some combat progression as well. Graphics are excellent. SoundCombat is excellent and entertaining with simple upgrading system, to add some combat progression as well. Graphics are excellent. Sound track/radio is excellent. Extra mission system is exactly what I want in these types of game, has a good amount of stuff to go do but not so much you lose sight of what the actual game is. Glad i finally picked it up! Expand
  5. Dec 3, 2012
    8
    This game was generally great and a bit underrated. I can understand people being angry that it was not a shooting game (I had the sameThis game was generally great and a bit underrated. I can understand people being angry that it was not a shooting game (I had the same frustration at first). But this game was good partially because it was not the standard Grand Theft Auto or Saints Row. This is the first beat em up I have played in awhile and it was generally good. Not quite as good as Batman: Arkham City, but still good. Story could have used a little work, but not bad. graphics and sound were generally good. A lot to explore but never overwhelming. Once the kinks are worked out, truly worthy of a sequel. Expand
  6. Jun 22, 2013
    8
    I usually always hate sandbox games. This one grabbed me from the start and I loved it. I like the fact that in the game I get to drive onI usually always hate sandbox games. This one grabbed me from the start and I loved it. I like the fact that in the game I get to drive on the left side of the road which I do here in Japan. In GTA I would always be on the wrong side and hit everything so that earned big points for me. Would have scored higher if there was a weapon upgrade system and a more about involved story. Great combat and plenty of outside things to do. Expand
  7. Aug 26, 2012
    0
    Rip off of Stranglehold. Shame that they hired a sex offender to do the voice over . There are better people to hire than some guy who ruinedRip off of Stranglehold. Shame that they hired a sex offender to do the voice over . There are better people to hire than some guy who ruined the lives of several HK women. Expand

See all 119 User Reviews