Metascore
42

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 28 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 30 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The game supposes that the incident in which a car struck Winston Churchill in New York on December 13th 1931 actually proved fatal – and that without his inspirational speeches to galvanise the Allies, the course of the Second World War took a very different route, with the Axis Powers even invading America. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 28
  2. Negative: 19 out of 28
  1. This is a game for rent without a shadow of a doubt. The shortness and the general issues with it mean I can’t really recommend anything else.
  2. Overall, Turning Point: Fall of Liberty is game which had some fantastic ideas and concepts. Unfortunately, the great ideas did not transform into a solid shooter.
  3. Turning Point's minimalist approach to everything - from its stale levels and sticky controls to its thin plot and absent character development - killed what could've been a really unique and engaging shooter and will disappoint hardcore fans of the genre across the board.
  4. A good story made into a terrible game.
  5. Dumb AI, stupidly linear, crap guns... a disaster. [May 2008, p.79]
  6. Aiming is askew; enemies are dumb and the level design is bland.
  7. 20
    The game tells its story horribly, your character is both improbable and without any personality, the AI is terrible, the gameplay lackluster, and graphics middling. Even as a budget title, which Turning Point is certainly doomed to become, the game is hardly worth the bother.

See all 28 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 10
  2. Negative: 8 out of 10
  1. MichelSabbagh
    May 22, 2008
    10
    Those who syas that this game is bad is a dumbass. This game is a must-have. The graphics are semi-stylized, semi-realistic and fits the game well. The grapple moves and the human shields are awesome and the story is also great. So, buy this game and without ANY complaint or kiss my fair butt! Expand
  2. HunterH.
    Mar 1, 2008
    5
    Perfect example of great concept/poor execution. The game suffers from being heavily scripted, which in of itself isn't always bad, but its just painfully obvious. It also is piss poor graphics, reminding of of Return to Castle Wolfenstein, which must be 5 years old by now at least, and the lack of 1080 output hurts as well. The developers missed out on a GREAT chance to have somewhat open ended street fighting on the streets of American cities, and instead decided to rush out a objective based funnel that probably skipped beta testing. Expand
  3. JonnyC.
    Mar 12, 2008
    4
    If the Nazis really did invade America, the first thing they would do is send the creators of this game to the gas chambers. This game has a great storyline, but it's way too short. Excellent background, but PS2 graphics. I'd rather be playing BLACK for the PS2. Good points: you get to spray bad guys with tommygun fire a la Hickey in "Last Man Standing", and cross-check Nazis in the teeth with their own machine guns, but I can't find too much more. Complaints: 1) Donkey-punching evil Nazis and tossing them out the window is hilarious. However, they make no sound and fall like stuffed crash-test dummies. Boring. Want some fun environmental kills? Buy THE PUNISHER. 2) When I kill someone, I don't want them to levitate in mid-air and hang there. What kind of a screwed-up glitch is that? 3) If a guy's hiding behind a table, and I blast him with a rocket launcher, what kind of material is the table made out of that it absorbs the blast completely and he emerges unscathed? Lousy destructability. 4) Really, really, STUPID AI. A couple of times I walked up to a guy to see if he was dead, and he was just prone, pointing his gun at the wall. 5) I'm guessing the blimps in this game are made out of the same material as the tables, because they are completely resistant to automatic weapons fire. It takes 6 rockets to take them out. On the other hand, I only need 3 rockets to waste a Panzer, or a frigging destroyer. Maybe if the Nazis went to Ikea and strapped dining room tables to the front of their armour, they'd have won this invasion. All in all, an abysmal failure. With games like Resistance, and even Turok, for crying out loud, this shouldn't have made it past the drawing table (no matter how heavily-armoured that table may have been). Collapse
  4. KennyL.
    Mar 18, 2008
    3
    Yea the game is not great. Its not even good. But I'll stop short of saying its horrible. Graphics are glitchy and the level design isnt good. The only thing i dont dislike about it is the sound and thats not saying much. Some people will like it but you should wait til it ends up in the bargain bin which wont be long. Expand
  5. BrettNeff
    Apr 29, 2008
    2
    Giving this game a rating of 5 out of 10 is ridiculous! I was being very, very generous giving it a 2. The game was so dark that I had to completely turn up the brightness on my big screen TV to barely see the enemy, but it didn't keep them from blowing me away. The check points were too few and far between with no way to save progress without getting to a check point. The AI might not be the smartest I have seen, but they are much better shots. The aiming is clunky. The weapons don't carry over sop don't horde your ammo. There just isn't anything I can think of to say about this game that is positive. I was really looking forward to this game and what I thought was a great premise for an interesting game. I even preordered it thinking that there was no way that it could be a bad game. I WAS WRONG!!! Turning Point turned my stomach and is to date the only Playstation game I have ever played that I dreaded wasting my time playing it to completion It is also the only game I have owned that ever locked up my Playstation 3. This happened on four seperate occassions. Do yourself a favor and don't even consider this game for purchase or rent unless you feel like your life needs a large dose of disappointment. Expand
  6. M.oe
    Mar 3, 2008
    2
    this game is problably the worst one i've played so far on my ps3 it is graphically reminiscent of a game known as "the great escape" if you find yourself in the position where your gonna binge buy this game rent it and spend that money on beer like I should have. I bought this gem a week ago on it's release date and it's not even trading in for 20 bucks save your money. Expand
  7. ToeJ.
    Mar 8, 2008
    1
    This game blows! Dreamcast games were way better.

See all 10 User Reviews