Metascore
67

Mixed or average reviews - based on 38 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 37 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Turok is an epic, story-driven FPS game set on a dark, mysterious planet in the near future. Players take on the role of Joseph Turok, a former Black Ops commando, now part of an elite Special Forces squad on a mission to take down a war criminal on a genetically-altered planet. After the ship is shot down while approaching the planet, Joseph Turok must use his instincts and elite military training to elude an army of well-trained soldiers, and the ravenous, unpredictable creatures that populate the dangerous environment. Joseph Turok’s mission? Survive at all costs. [Touchstone] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 38
  2. Negative: 2 out of 38
  1. Even with a weak script, Turok's flexible play mechanics, strong level designs, and high production values make the story mode alone worth the price of admission. [Jan 2008, p.49]
  2. The atmosphere pulls you into the experience thanks to fantastic dinosaurs and great sound, being given the choice between straight-up gunning and stealth is most appreciated (the bow rules!), and the efforts made for accurate momentum physics don't go unnoticed. All of this means the positives outweigh the negatives by a large amount.
  3. Unfortunately, this first-person shooter revived from the N64 title doesn’t live up to the status of the original hit.
  4. Like the mindless Hollywood blockbusters that it emulates, Turok features plenty of dinosaur-hunting action and not too much else.
  5. The thing that sucks is that you really don’t have much of an idea what is going with Turok or the enemy you are fighting against.
  6. Turok is one of those games that has the potential of greatness on the Playstation 3. However even with the potential, you have to capitalize on it, and this is not a game that does that.
  7. Clichéd, generic, bland, boring and infuriating. [Mar 2008, p.120]

See all 38 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 14
  2. Negative: 4 out of 14
  1. HenricW
    Feb 4, 2008
    10
    I love this game. The story is great and onliine is excellent as well. Yay Turok!
  2. MichaelS.
    Apr 8, 2009
    8
    This game is my first Turok game, but overall it was awsome. The different guns, especially pinning guys down with the bow, or stabbing guys/Dinos with the knife. I hoped for splitscreen>I heard previous ones had it, but online is just as great. Although I'm pissed that 360 gets voice chat and PS3 doesn't. In conclusion: could've put more Dinos, there's only like 6-7 different types of dinos u see, and splitscreen (co-op/multiplayer) would've been nice. Expand
  3. LeonE
    Nov 1, 2009
    8
    Turok is a good FPS game it is quite hard in places and there missions you wont be able to do until a couple of days but the storyline is fine the graphics are great and the AI are quite good too now the bad things as i did say this game is quite hard there is no easy opition only normal,hard and inhuman a single guard can quickly take you down with a smg if you chase him with a knife or have bad shooting. There is some stealth it is fun seeing turok just knife his foes but if someone spots you and you have no ammo you are sure to die unless it was a small dinosaur. The weapons are quite good and the realods are great it does live up to the name. So it for people who like fps games but need a challenge since this game might take a couple of weeks to complete Turok Gets 8 out of 10 and gets my reccomendtion (sorry for any spelling mistakes) Expand
  4. JosephB
    Jan 30, 2008
    7
    I found this game to be lacking in appeal. To me this should have been a little bit better. Not as ground breaking as one would want. Very bland and a basic game at that. At least they brought the game back to life a little. A little more realistic dino's makes the game worth playing through. Collapse
  5. MaximeL.
    Mar 26, 2008
    7
    BETTER than the last Turok!!! Love to walk in the forest with my Rambo's Knife haha!!!
  6. May 22, 2011
    5
    I found the story satisfactory not perfect but standard however the multiplayer for the game was very horrible and unenjoyable. i recommend this game for once through story however i dont suggest the game for long term its one of these games you can only play through once Expand
  7. MikeW
    Jan 31, 2008
    2
    Bo-ring. THIS is the best idea you could come up with given such a great franchise? A bad rip-off of Aliens + Jurassic Park? Laa-aame.

See all 14 User Reviews

Trailers