• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Feb 14, 2012
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 235 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 38 out of 235

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 14, 2012
    8
    **** awesome game, Really, The multiplayer is chaose, And I love how this game is something new, It's bases of fun is pure gameplay.

    Try it out, you wont be disapointed, Gaming needs more real games like this.
  2. Feb 16, 2012
    10
    If you enjoyed the old twisted metal games like Twisted Metal 2, you will LOVE this game. It is extremely fun and enjoyable. I had to create an account simply here simply to say how much fun this game is to someone that has been waiting years for another good Twisted metal game.

    The different game modes for multiple player is fun. the race mode and killbox mode for story mode are
    really crazy. This game exceeded my hopes and dreams. Expand
  3. Feb 14, 2012
    10
    Very good game, with a sensational hardcore touch and very loyal to previous Twisted Metal.This new TM for me is the best of all regardless of the criticisms this game worth the purchase because it has a sensational outside the single player multiplayer very attractive that game makes the PS3 and the series juz Twisted Metal.
  4. Feb 14, 2012
    10
    Props to Jaffe. He really created a truly amazing game. It combines amazing visual elements with even more satisfying destruction. Easily one of the most fun games I have EVER played. Granted the control scheme might take some getting used to, encouraging some and discouraging others. Patience reveals the true reward here. Persistence rewards players with a true, fulfilling experience, one that is hard to put down and walk away from. Another huge point in all this is that its 4-PLAYER SPLIT-SCREEN. In a day and age where everything is done online, its great that you can still play locally with friends and family. Get this game, and never look back. Easily one of the best and most addicting PS3 games on the market. Expand
  5. Feb 15, 2012
    10
    Very fun, brings back a lot of childhood memories of fun. If you want a unique and fun game, look no further. This has it all, single player and great online and local multiplayer. The stages look great, the cars are fantastic, and the voice actor for Optimus Prime tells you when you kill someone. Great game.
  6. Feb 14, 2012
    10
    Simply amazing. Perfect balance, perfect physics, perfect controls. The amount of chaos and depth to gameplay is untouched in any genre. Will be playing this for years to come!
  7. Feb 16, 2012
    4
    Sloppy controls and bad physics hamper this half complete game. Where the hell are all the characters that made this game so fun to play? A complete mess. I can't believe they released the game in this condition. Don't waste your money folks.
  8. Feb 16, 2012
    10
    So far this is easily my favorite game of 2012. Live action cut scenes,
    awesome graphics
    How could anyone call this game middle of the road unless you're a compete idiot and only like Skyrim and Call of Duty.
    Seriously pick this game up.

    Just like how Zelda can sell a Nintendo console Twisted Metal does the same for PlayStation.
  9. Feb 14, 2012
    1
    The car combat genre died for a reason. Awful controls. Terrible game modes. Laughable voice acting. It looks like a late PS2 or early PS3 launch title. Pretty obvious why Jaffe jumped ship before this game was even released.
  10. Apr 4, 2012
    10
    Frantic by Metallica is a perfect son to boost the twisted experience of this game through the roof. If what you remember about past twisted metal games is them being satisfying as ever than you should feel right at home with this awesome game. If your new to the series well then be prepared to experience what we felt back in the 90's rev you engines and those epic missile launchers because sweet tooth is comin' biatch!!! Expand
  11. Feb 14, 2012
    10
    This game is awesome. Takes a lil while to get use to the controls and to learn where the health packs are but don't let that discourage you. And don't start out picking Reaper. Reaper is the easiest to kill. Use Talon to learn where health pickups are for each map. Excellent level design. Pure fun. Ton of online modes including local co-op with bots and nuke mode. Separate campaign story lines (although short campaigns). Lots you can do, lots of fun. Some people might like the Race Controls but i like Classic TM. Expand
  12. Feb 15, 2012
    10
    This game is refreshing. It's been too long. The game-play is complex, varied and FUN. The levels designs great. There is a lot to learn at first. The unlock system and training mode help manage it. The game only got better the more I played it..
  13. Feb 16, 2012
    10
    I love this game. It is one of those games where FUN is at its best.!!! the online is great! the singleplayer is there but its not bad, i love the cutscences. David Jaffe is the man!!!!
  14. Feb 14, 2012
    10
    I had high expectations for this game...but there was a doubt. This game exceeded those expectations by 10. Within 15 mins of popping this game in I had no doubt. The multiplayer is complex AKA FUN (different to both bf3 and mw3), and the story is gripping. Best 65 $$$ ever. !!
  15. Feb 14, 2012
    9
    A great and (given today's gaming portfolio) pretty unique game with some minor flaws. As with any good hardcore game, it takes some time (and skill) for the complex controls and deep, fast gameplay mechanics to *click* - but once you finally *got it* it's hard to keep quibbling over the shortcomings (see below) and deny the fun. The single-player campaign is rather short, but filled with great gameplay ideas (especially the boss battles are extremely well done). Story-wise, it's basically just a thin framework of three Faustian characters depicted in brief cut scenes (which are interspersed between the different battle events). The *stories* themselves are very simplistic (actually, they are more like brief character sketches) - but the way they are presented basically would have made Tarantino proud. Multiplayer is where this game really shines, though. The sheer potential and scope in this field are rather intriguing: There are tons of options and game modes to choose from - although I personally missed a multiplayer version of the single player racing events. People who argue this game lacks balance obviously haven't figured out the different classes, btw. I found it pretty well balanced. Bottom line: Look past its minor shortcomings and accept the challenge of a rather steep learning curve, and this game will pay you back with a deep and unique gameplay experience that will turn out way more fun than you might initially expect. Expand
  16. Feb 14, 2012
    10
    I haven't even played this game. Why? I don't own a PS3, but this game is still the s***. How do I know that? Because the Twisted Metal franchise is the s***. How can you not have fun cruising around blowing up everything you possibly can? I'll find a way to play this game... and when I do it'll be the s***.
  17. Feb 18, 2012
    10
    Fast, frantic, but most importantly fun. If what you remember about past twisted metal games is the fun you had playing them either alone or with friends, I'm happy to say that remains intact and satisfying as ever. If your new to the series...... Then start your engine!
  18. Feb 14, 2012
    10
    this game are masterpiece for party game, nice visual effect, mediocore graphi, great gameplay, few rosters but overall it is niceeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee gameeeeeee for 150 char min
  19. Feb 14, 2012
    10
    OHH YA !!!! Props to Jaffe. He really created a truly amazing game. It combines amazing visual elements with even more satisfying destruction. Easily one of the most fun games I have EVER played. Granted the control scheme might take some getting used to, encouraging some and discouraging others. Patience reveals the true reward here. Persistence rewards players with a true, fulfilling experience, one Expand
  20. Feb 14, 2012
    10
    IT'S BACK!! Great single player, the live-action cutscenes are awesome. Awesome multiplayer, I can't express in text how much fun the multiplayer is. Nuke mode especially. Hoping for some DLC with some classic cars like Spectre and Mr. Slam. 10/10 BUY THIS NOW!
  21. Feb 14, 2012
    10
    I loved the series on Playstation 1, I loved the series on Playstation 2 and I still love it on Playstation 3. This is an absolutely fantastic revival of a classic series that needed to keep itself relevant, and succeeeds.
  22. Feb 14, 2012
    10
    This game is a blast to play! I loved the original Twisted Metal, and this one is even better. Multiplayer is insane, awesome graphics, excellent sound effects, and the soundtrack is top notch! Welcome back to the Twisted Metal gaming experience.
  23. Feb 14, 2012
    10
    Incredible VALUE that hasn't been put into a game for some time. The great thing about this series and this game in particular is that it doesn't care to fit into mainstream conventions... it takes a leap. I certainly believe this pays off. David Jaffe and the rest of the people at ESP also truly care about the consumer. Why would anyone want COD and the rest of the typical breed when they can have something a little different - Brilliant. Expand
  24. Feb 14, 2012
    7
    Twisted metal is a blast to play! It's awesome to know that developers can still make games that are fun and not the same recycled games. This is the first game in years that I just have fun with. Being a very competitive, I've gotten fatigued at yelling at the TV when I play shooters. This game is a blast even when I die. Single Player is just as fun as it was back in the day with PS1 and twisted metal 2. Two-Player split screen in story mode is always fun when you have someone right next to you calling out locations of other people to blow up.The controls are IMHO much better than the original games. They are strange to get used to at first but once you get them, its easy and it makes sense.

    I'm tired of people saying the game is too hard or the controls are too hard. We live in a society now that rewards you for everything. This is a game that when you win, it's actually satisfying. Levels are designed very well. Each character has it's PRO's and CON's which is great for game balancing. I knew this game was going to great when I saw the built in Clan screen and LAN options. All you old school gamers know why that's exciting. Looking forward to tons of hours online, and maybe DLC in the future.
    As a gamer that's wore out the shooter genre in the past 4-5 years, this game is a Nostalgic breath of fresh air.This is a must buy if you have ever played a Twisted Metal game in the past. And if your new to the game/genre, I recommend renting at the bare minimum. You'll miss out on a great time if you don't try this game.
    Expand
  25. Feb 14, 2012
    10
    Games should be about gameplay and level design first and foremost! Twisted Metal nails this. Controls have a high learning curve so pick up and play types: you have be warned. This game is here for the multiplayer and thats fine by me. Ive got literally hours ahead, becoming the best twisted metal player. Happy Twisted Valentines Day!!!
  26. Feb 14, 2012
    9
    A very enjoyable, well polished game. Graphics could have been a bit better. Fresh new gameplay that keeps you going back. This is definitely a game you should own for your PS3
  27. Feb 26, 2012
    10
    This game is truly amazing and don't believe anything the reviewers and negatrons say about this game on this website. Except IGN because they actually gave the most favorable and correct review. Anyone who gives this game a bad review is ignorant and probably got their ass kicked online because they believe every game should be Call of Duty easy.

    Patience is proven to be a virtue in this
    game because it may be frustrating at first, but it good time your skill will shine through. This game makes you earn your skill more than most popular games which provides a game addiction unlike any other. I could play this game for years to come (probably until PS4 comes out) without a new version. This is an instant classic among the now vast amounts of exclusives for the Playstation 3! Expand
  28. Feb 14, 2012
    10
    After a long hiatus, Twisted Metal returns. The controls take a little getting used to, but the addition of dpad energy moves is one that is over due, even if some other functions require multiple buttons. The Story satisfies, but its not gonna win any awards. Deathmatch and Nuke are a blast, but online in general is a welcome break from the 5 second lives of call of duty. This game is easy to play, but skill is rewarded to players who can use the more advanced, lightly armored classes. I recommend learning the maps before trying some of the more speedy classes. A must own for PS3 players Expand
  29. Feb 14, 2012
    9
    Overall this is one of the best Twisted Metals to date. The campaign could have been longer and more fleshed out. There ere many cars to choose and you can customize the skin of each one to your liking. Online is great with minimum lag.
  30. Feb 14, 2012
    10
    I have not have had this much fun since MW2. It's been two years since a multiplayer game has given me the same thrills and addiction that this has. I have received this today and cannot stop playing. I spent 10 + hours on the multiplayer DEMO. This game is amazing. I've never played a twisted metal game before, but I am an old school pc gamer who loves half life and quake. This is the console equivalent guys! THe cotnrols are hard to get used to, but once you do, the game is fluid, fast, and feels natural. The revieres complaining about the controls simply have not spent the time to enjoy the complex game that is twisted metal! Expand
  31. Feb 14, 2012
    10
    Honestly, this game is awesome. A vast majority of people who had a PS1 probably played Twisted Metal 2 at least, the last true console Twisted Metal we had was Black on PS2 so to get this gem is a dream come true! First off, I love Call Of Duty. HOWEVER, I hate how it's an annual release and I really became bored with it. We need more games like this, something refreshing from the yearly norm. If you're unsure of the game at least rent it from Redbox or buy day 1 but for god's sake please SUPPORT this game...you will NOT be disappointed if you have an open mind and be willing to overcome the learning curve, this is gaming at it's best Expand
  32. Feb 14, 2012
    10
    This is the best twisted metal ever pick it up I can't put it down it's amazing it's the most diverse multplayer experience I've played for awhile or maybe have ever played the controls are responsive the game play is fun David jaffe you rockm/
  33. Feb 15, 2012
    10
    First off this game is all about the multiplayer. And it is fantastic! So addicting and so fun, that is what all your time is going to be spent playing! That being said, the story is entertaining and I really enjoy the live action cut-scenes. Makes it fell more real to me. The story mode is also very short. But there is occasional frustrating in the story. Some missions see too focused on an all bot opponents verses you system. Which can get tough if you don't play with the right strategy. But if your looking for a game with legs this is definitely it! Expand
  34. Feb 15, 2012
    10
    I effing loved this game!!! Controls are precise, stories are fun to watch. Most All those stupid official reviewer are nit picking stupid reasons to give it a lower score. Its not a perfect game to some although it is to me! I did not mind paying full price for this heck i would not mind paying 100 bucks since i know i will be playing this game for years to come yes effing YEARS!! Pick it up you will not be disappointed. Expand
  35. Feb 15, 2012
    10
    This isn't the best Twisted Metal package. That honor goes to Black, in my opinion. But what it is, is absolutely amazing. The graphics are incredible. (people who say they aren't are probably the same people who complained that GTA3 looked bad. You sacrifice some things to get the scope this game provides.) The cinematics are fantastic. The music is great and the gameplay is honed to a level most games don't dream of. The only problems so far are poor voice acting from Calypso that really knocks this game down a notch. It's that bad. Also, the overall game design is hurt by the decison to do the story mode in the way it is done. Wrong choice, flat out.

    Buy this game.
    Expand
  36. Feb 19, 2012
    10
    Twisted Metal Is Back MuthaTruckas!!!!

    Twisted Metal Black was one of my favorite ps2 games of all time, to have it in the first shipments of the game as a bonus is a great treat.

    With that said Twisted Metal for ps3 may have just become my favorite game in the series. This game is pure bliss the combat is supreme you become an armory on wheel dealing death & destruction. The
    environments are fully destructible & make the battles pure epic compared to other games indestructible set pieces it is an advancement that I wish all games explored to a further degree. But hey graphics over game play ya'll....

    This may not be the most visually pleasing game however its world is convincing & entrenches you within it's adrenaline/petrol soaked universe of chaos.
    Expand
  37. Feb 15, 2012
    9
    This game is absolutely incredible. Theres no other game like it. It isnt a racing game as many believe for some reason, there are some race type single player missions but the game really shines with the combat system. It's VERY fast paced, the controls at first will be hard to get used to because there are very small pockets of time where you can pull off certain attacks. The gameplay is very smooth aside from sometimes the automatic lock on is flimsy from a far distance. This game deserves at least an 8 out of 10, i give it a 9 because its FUN, it's exactly what i expected it to be, and MORE. Expand
  38. Feb 14, 2012
    10
    Great game. It's simple fun and destruction. Love playing to a custom soundtrack. If you want to get good, you have to keep playing. Graphics are awesome. Sounds are acceptable. Multi player was easy to get into to. This game you should buy new.
  39. Feb 15, 2012
    8
    This game is great, yes. BUT their are a few MAJOR Problems.
    First off, The Controls fell perfect, The graphics are nice, and the Gameplay is so fun.
    But if you're like me, you played these games on ps1 and ps2.
    The problem is that the story SUCKS, not because it is boring. But you only play as Sweet Tooth, Mr. Grimm, and Dollface. Some might get over that, I can't. the story feels sorta
    like Black, just way less characters. I want to see Outlaw try take down calpyso, or Crimson Fury trying to arrest Calpyso.... And although the cars are pretty good, I HATE IT when they **** leave out other characters. Anyway, this game is great, BUT WHERE THE **** IS MY AXEL!!!!!!! Expand
  40. Feb 14, 2012
    10
    Awesome game, the best Music on a Videogame and a super Multiplayer Online and also like the Splitscreen, the gameplay is good with an arsenal of weapons and Special Weapons, And good Live-action Cutscenes
  41. Feb 14, 2012
    10
    Absolutely amazing. As an fan of the franchise, I am so glad I just went and bought the game before the reviews came out. It is so much fun. The controls are the same as they have always been. So you might have to play and practice to master it, but when you do pull off a difficult move, it's just as satisfying as I remembered. Plus the destruction, the secret paths, it's all there and then some.

    If you were a fan, buy this now. If you never played, it is a totally different play mechanic than anything out. Give it a chance. You won't regret it.

    Buy this game if you can. It was sold out when I went to get it today. Had to beg for a pre-order copy.
    Expand
  42. Feb 15, 2012
    10
    Competitive combat perfection. If you are a fan of the Twisted Metal series this is indeed the game you have been waiting for. It offers the finest mix of gameplay features and stage design in the series, taking the best elements of prior Twisted offerings (including characteristics of Twisted Metal 1 and Rogue Trip). The gameplay is tight and very well balanced, with well adjusted special weapons which now feature alternative fire modes, and offers the best mix of weapon pickups in the series. The story mode offers only three characters, but the actual structure is largely an improvement on past iterations with more varied gameplay offerings such as cage matches and endurance modes rather than 100% death match. The boss fights are a thing of intense beauty, they will get your heart pumping. Some may or may not like the battle race mode (think Death Race/Carmeggedon), but once you get used to it it's very fun and challenging and represents the best this sub-genre has to offer. There are a few other notable changes, such as making "energy moves" (freeze, mine, shield) mapped to the directional pad instead of requiring a combo string as in previous iterations. This really helps to make the game more accessible to newcomers and is frankly a welcome change. These moves also have alternate fire modes by holding the Triangle-button, though you have to unlock them through story mode. Series veterans be warned though - shields now last a fraction of their previous duration and you will have to adapt to new strategies with the lighter armored vehicles. This change is probably healthier for the game as a whole as shield barrages (shield up, drive in, and unload entire weapon bay) became the de facto strategy far too often in previous games, though I do wish shields lasted about half of a second longer.

    The game offers profound replay value in both the offline and online realms. Those wishing to play solo against the AI can play several different game modes such as traditional deathmatch, cagematch (where combatants must fight in a "cage" area that moves on a timer), battle race, and nuke (sort of like capture the flag but with more steps). There is an online leaderboard and ranking system that is sure to be a hit with series veterans who just want to see how good they think they are. The multiplayer is robust, offering clan-systems and in-game updates to see when your friends online for structured play as well as providing a quick match feature if you're just looking for some fast action.

    Graphically, the visual quality is on par with other AAA PS3 titles of this nature. The framerate is incredibly fluid and never dips at even the most chaotic moments. The art design is fantastic and each car has it's own unique look and feel, which represents the series well. The color schemes used for the stages are quite varied and offer something different that makes each environment feel unique. Special effects such smoke and flames also look great.

    The music features a roughly even split of licensed tracks and tracks made specifically for the game. On the whole, it is a great soundtrack featuring a heavy dose of hard rock and metal with a suitably vehicular centric theme. Sound effects are generally fantastic; the missiles and gunfire sound truly intimidating and both are functional and immersive.

    All in all, the game is simply fantastic. The variety of vehicles and playstyles, incredible stage design, and enhanced ruleset all add up to a Twisted Metal experience that is frankly, the best the series has to offer. If you are a fan of competitive action games that require expert timing and advanced spatial reasoning, this is your new go-to game. You simply cannot get as fine of a car combat experience anywhere else.
    Expand
  43. Feb 15, 2012
    9
    I have been a big fan of twisted metal since it first came out on playstation. I think they did a great job with this installment graphics look good controls great and fun to play online against friends. The firing controls take some time to get used to as well as how the weapons all work but once you get the hang of things this game is a really fun experience that you can just pick up and play. Im glad they brought the series to ps3 i just wish the ps3 had better private chat. This game isnt perfect but neither is any of the other released twisted metal titles. Expand
  44. Feb 18, 2012
    9
    Really fun! I miss all the characters from Twisted Metal Black but the maps and the new modes are really great. If you are a fan of Twisted Metal 2 or Twisted Metal Black then you should love this. Twisted sense of humor for sure.
  45. Feb 17, 2012
    10
    That game really bring back the fun TM was. Awesome game overall. The cut scene movie type are great, the MP is more then great. What i'd like is fully customisable button mapping. Beside that this game is really worth the bucks.
  46. Mar 2, 2012
    7
    When you compare it to other car game genres, it is far from being the best. When you compare this to other car combat games, this is the best of the best. Sure, there are quite a few bugs in the game, and the controls and game modes take time to understand, but there is also a lot to like about this game. The story is amusing and the story mode has some great missions. There are plenty of cool characters, most with unique abilities and weapons, although some can be really weak and can be destroyed instantly. The difficulty can quickly spike from mission to mission. Twisted Metal will please fans and newcomers both. Expand
  47. Feb 14, 2012
    10
    Got it this morning. Welcome back, Sweet Tooth. Welcome back awesome car combat. I played Twisted Metal 2 with my cousin back in the day for over 100 hours, had to be! If you're into combat games, grab this asap! I've only had two hours or so with it but you're not going to be disappointed! Graphics so far are amazing! And the best part? Besides the atmosphere and fun factor is the game with all the explosions, buildings being destroyed has so far NEVER had a frame rate problem. Go enjoy yourself some wonderful Twisted Metal!!! Expand
  48. Feb 17, 2012
    5
    wtf is with the cars that go airborne every time something strikes them? Cars spinning in place to target, all of the computer opponents coming after you and ignoring each other, and god help me the race sequence with doll face is an absolute disaster. The game was fun at first, but then you realize your playing the same physics game from the ps1 twisted metals. I can't state strongly enough how bad the race sequences are unclear checkpoints, computer screwing you mid jump so that you fall all the way back to last place, weapons hitting you on the other side of solid objects. Really disappointed in the graphics as well. You get in close quarters with a few computer opponents and there are so many explosions you cant even tell where your car is. Online? Couldn't tell ya i haven't been able to stay in a lobby...I connect, game starts, disconnect. Doesn't matter which lobby. I have solid green connection so that isn't the issue. I was able to actually start one online game, but it disconnected shortly after start. This game in my opinion is a step backwards. I remember twisted metal black fondly..this however should have stayed in the over a bit longer. Expand
  49. Feb 14, 2012
    8
    This is a game that has very fun elements and very frustrating elements in it. Twisted Metal brings back all of the things we enjoyed with the previous titles but expands it with new ideas that seems to work out pretty well. Although the frustrating part about it is the freezing technique and the strong magnet move. With that said, I am not enjoying the whole sound track while the game is being played. I'm speaking about the hip hop rap song they throw in the game, which it doesn't fit the adrenaline that Rock and Metal provides. In other words, Rap does not belong in any twisted metal game unless it was tweaked with a metal style beat. The controls aren't to great and it will take some time to get use to. Lastly the story was ight but it seemed that they held back in some of the cut scenes. Making it somewhat enjoyable to watch. Overall, the game has many cars, weapons, and massive levels that has mostly destructible environments in them. Which bring me the my conclusion that this game is barely worth the $60 and does deserve a sequel. Expand
  50. Feb 15, 2012
    9
    This is some of the most brainless fun I've had in a game since SSBB. It's total beautiful chaos in all it's glory. If you're a fan of the originals I can't imagine you not enjoying it. The controls are good, the levels are incredible (Blackrock Stadium is insanely intense). My only criticisms are that I wish more of the original cast made it and the new Calypso looks kind of unimpressive. But even the live action cut scenes are deliciously cheesy. I'm greatly enjoying this mega-fun blast from the past. Expand
  51. Feb 16, 2012
    6
    I have never written a review for a video game in my life. I feel i have to write one for this game thought. I am a huge TM fan. Played them all and loved the dark twisted changed to TMB. It made you some what interested in the characters and you felt compelled to complete their story lines to see how their gruesome story turned out. So what did i expect from the PS3 version. Well it has been ten years so I thought, keep it like TMB, but add a few characters and stories, make the graphics premium quality, have a quality multiplayer, and keep it fun. I purchased the game and I am really try to like it here. But making this one story line suck. I want to feel accomplished by completing every characters background. Furthermore, why would the alter the one car one character formula. This is a staple of TM, knowing Mr. Grim with his scythe is chasing you down, or Sweet tooths ice cream truck is beautifully chasing you while playing creepy music. Now I can be Sweet tooth and ride Mr. Grims stupid motorcycle. It just seems like a lazy way to make multi player fair. Finally, for everyone saying TM has always been about multi player, that might be true playing with your friends but the story mode was fun, tough, lengthy, and made you want to play. Now i feel David Jaffee felt that there was no need to address the story and just throw out a PSN content online game. Its like Twisted Metal has been "Call of dutied". I will continue to play this game and hope in ten years i have fond memories like i did with TMB, but thus far very disappointed. Especially when the only thing they focused on(multi player) is so bugged right now. It bothers me that this game is getting a free pass based on nostalga, so i posted an honest review coming from a huge TM fan. Collapse
  52. Feb 18, 2012
    9
    Car Combat ended during the PS2 era with the incredible, dark, and gritty Twisted Metal: Black. No one seemed to bring over a genre that was all in good fun, except David Jaffe and the Team. Gone are various characters from the line-up, and we simply have four factions. Though, personally I always found the vehicles as the center of attention.

    Not saying that Sweet Tooth, Mr. Grimm,
    Spectre, Roadkill, Dollface, and Axel aren't Iconic characters on their own. Sweet Tooth IS Twisted Metal, but you kill others in various vehicles, not the characters themselves. This isn't Mortal Kombat. There could be so much to say about this return of Twisted Metal that has already been pointed out. The maps are full of detail and variation, the vehicles having different roles on the battlefield, and the great boss battles in the Single-Player Campaign prove that Gameplay can, and is better to have then over-the-top visuals and graphics. The soundtrack to Twisted Metal has some return of fan favourite selection from previous installments, as some new Rock and Metal tunes to kill your enemies to. What if you'd rather kill to your own preferable tunes? not many games offer a custom soundtrack, Twisted Metal does. Want to style your vehicle of choice? no problem. Twisted Metal has a simple customization to all vehicles with unlockables to spend reward points on. Various Online modes with the adrenaline pumping NUKE Mode. Although it would have been nice to see some of the modes you play in the Campaign such as the checkpoint racing with bomb detonation to the winner. There isn't much given by this "Review" but what I personally wanted from Twisted Metal I got. Deep multiplayer with full blown statistics, clan support and party system. Throw in 7 online modes, 8 multiplayer maps with different variation to each, 17 vehicles and hours of **** car carnage fun. Expand
  53. Mar 13, 2012
    8
    Does it in anyway match the expectations set in front of it? No, but after such a wait for a sequel it was never going to fully satisfy its patient and forgiving fan base. Yet is it an enjoyable, if not entirely functional, and enjoyable game? Certainly, its Twisted Metal after all. The old school feeling of glee when you rampage on your friends is still present, the whimsical rules of reality and sense have been abandoned and Twisted Metal is still as enjoyable as it was all those years ago. Pity they just didn't put a little more effort into the visuals and mechanics to turn it into the game it deserved to be. Alas there is enough here for everyone to enjoy, just not enough to satisfy the long wait. Expand
  54. Feb 21, 2012
    10
    Just as Twisted Metal Black was a huge jump from TM2, this game is just as much of a jump from Black. The physics feel just like Black and Head On but the real bonus is the amount of content here. Plenty of new weapons, maps, and vehicles. The new game modes add a ton of variety. Lots of customization options too. A must for anyone who's been a fan of TM. For those who haven't played the series yet, this is a perfect one to start with. The best one to date, hands down. Expand
  55. Feb 15, 2012
    8
    Twisted Metal is a welcome return of an old classic! The main difference is the lack of focus on the story mode. One straight through story line highlighting only three characters. This is somewhat disappointing but what is there is quite fun. Some frustrating times (especially in races for me at least) but overall the parts that are there are fun. Where this game really shines is the gameplay they have mostly stuck true to but added to as well in the best possible ways. This fast paced destruction with smooth frame rates is what in the end makes Multiplayer so fun! Never did I feel the game wasn't treating me fair only that I forgot to mash a button by myself. Some of the physics are floaty but being able to jump your car out of a building and land on the roof flip right over and keep going we have to have some leniency. Can get frustrating if a lot of people are shooting weapons at you that make you flip in the air but those times aren't exceedingly often and it's not the games fault you got yourself in their line of sights. Also graphics and levels are fantastic. gorgeous destruction and explosions as well as lighting and texturing. I got the pre-order with twisted metal black and jumping into that for a few minutes really shows how far graphics have come. The level designs are great with large layouts and tons of vertical variances. I give this game an eight because it's multiplayer is really fun but with only a few different modes I know it won't last more than a few months at least for me. And not having a larger single player campaign was disappointing so dock a point for that. Overall a great game though and a must buy for a fan of the series. Expand
  56. Feb 25, 2012
    9
    Do me a favorite: load up a map on challenge. Play it and play it until you mastered the controls, perhaps gradually increasing the number of enemies. Memorize the map, the health locations. Research how every weapon works and learn to use them effectively. Do this for hours, and when you have it mastered.....

    .... try to tell me this game deserves any less than a 10 out of 10.
  57. Feb 29, 2012
    10
    The game is really fun once you get used to it. There is a decent amount of selection to choose from when selecting your car and you can customize the Gun and the paint of the car. 4 player Co-op with friends is a great edition, most new gen games don't have this. So its nice to see this edition, it also has 2 player Online Co-op if your friend has a Psn account. The story mode is alright, lets you practice for Online and there is also a single player challenge mode that adds some longevity to the Single player title. Thought the Multiplayer is where the game really shines, been playing that constantly non-stop its really addicting. I hope they can add a few more classic vehicles from the past through DLC if enough people purchase the game. Getting some great kills will keep you coming back for more, and the Online has generally been fixed since launch, so getting into a game is pretty easy now. and to those complaining about the speed, its easy to get use to once you play it. Overall I find it a 10/10 and a Must buy if you enjoyed any of the twisted metal games over the years because this one improves the formula greatly. Expand
  58. Mar 9, 2012
    8
    Twisted Metal is a Great Game, Very intense fast paced action.. and very true to the original titles that we all loved back in the brink of the 20th century. The only Con to this game is the Ridiculously bad story line, and the lack of drivers for the vehicles. Other than those miniscule criticisms its a very fun title, and the split screen works great.
  59. Feb 22, 2012
    10
    i remember playing tm2 and tm1. those were pretty good, but when i got this game, it is awesome. the game is so much fun. i going to play this instead of cod.
  60. Feb 18, 2012
    10
    This game is so much fun. I haven't played a single player with so much action since God of War 3. The online is pretty great too. I'm so glad that I decided to pick this up.
  61. Feb 18, 2012
    9
    Everyone saying "bad controls" never figured out that changing them was in their best interest but whatever. Solid game, makes me wonder if the Vigilante 8 series will ever come back lol. Overall a fun experience that does the genre right. Also some nostalgia and a good story make it a must play.
  62. Feb 16, 2012
    7
    This game is not a bad way to kill some time but it's nothing special. It features one and two player action (including split screen). the campaign is ok, but like MW3 or Battlefield 3, this game is all about the multiplayer experience. the control scheme really takes some getting used to but once you've got it this it is pretty fun. My biggest criticisms are that the servers are really slow and skill is def involved but luck comes into play a bit to much for my preference. personally, I prefer the Battlefield multiplayer experience but this is a nice little change. p.s. if you played Rage last year and like that multiplayer then you will LOVE this. Expand
  63. Feb 17, 2012
    10
    Great game, fun game! Brings me back to the good old times! The story might not be great, but the game play is where its at! Multiplayer is great, even though..its having its problem from time to time. Its gona get fixed soon im sure!
  64. Feb 16, 2012
    2
    The game looked promising, but fell short. Going into it, I really felt like I was going to re-live the Twisted Metal Black days. Sadly, I did not. There is no longer individual stories for every character. There is no story at all in this game. You can ONLY play as 3 characters and the live action cut scenes look cool, but don't do the game any justice. The game feels so bad, like you drive in a straight line. You have no versatility. The controls are clunky and complex and every new area is the same thing over and over and over with a new set of rules in an attemp to make the game harder. One of the biggest disapointments I've had in a while. Save yourself the time and money, pass this one up. It sucks. Expand
  65. Feb 18, 2012
    10
    It's Just About Fun!
    Amazing controls. Don't matter what, but the FPS is always stable. Chaos in every where.
    It's like Super Mario or Street Fighter... The only thing what matters is the gameplay. And TM's gameplay it's absolutely fantastic. When you understand the game is impossible stop to play. Hours and hours are spent. At first sight can be hard and frustating, but then... Just a
    little time after... I really need to finish this? A lot of reviews says with don't have a good story, or that is unrealistic game. Don't trust them! Okay... This things are aright. But to the hell with all this. Twisted Metal don't need a complex story, and thank GOD it's unrealistic.
    It's not about story or realism. IT'S JUST ABOUT FUN!!!
    Expand
  66. Feb 25, 2012
    10
    very fun game, slightly more difficult then the previous versions but over all definitly brings back the fond memories of TM1-4 and black. i recommended any one if you enjoy pure gameplay very enjoyable game with friends. the story does lack... but who cares most ppl just want to blow SH!T UP. have fun
  67. Feb 29, 2012
    10
    fantastic return of an epic franchise!
  68. Mar 2, 2012
    10
    wonderful game, but i want more histories maybe warthog, miniom, axel ... so more weapons and more variety of game modes maybe racing of time or create vehicles ...
  69. Mar 3, 2012
    10
    At least a 9.5! Dude, it's Twisted Metal. If you love Twisted games, you will *absolutely* adore this game, especially if you are into multiplayer. The single player is shorter now, but that's still very much worth a rent - and even then it's still a short and sweet 9.5 at least. But get online with the constantly-being-patched multiplayer, and my god.....the game is DRIPPING with awesome. Nostalgia certainly helps its case of course, but there is still absolutely nothing quite like it. You cannot accurately judge this game until you've played a bit of the story, tried split screen with friends, and ranked up a few times online (and actually start unlocking stuff). Long live Twisted Metal. Forever. Expand
  70. Mar 13, 2012
    9
    Very well balanced, extremely fun and brings the nostalgia of Twisted Metal 1 back. My only beef is I didn't like the interchangeable drivers and only 3 stories in Campaign Mode (Sweet Tooth, Mr. Grimm & Dollface). Online play is amazing. Nuke Mode is a creative way of playing "capture the flag". Overall though, it's amazing.
  71. Mar 22, 2012
    8
    Twisted Metal (2012) had been anticipated ever since it's previous home-console release, Twisted Metal Black. Although it has the same concept (which is where contestants compete for the same prize), it's gameplay elements weren't disappointing. What's great: I really do love the graphics of the game, for starters. The gameplay (especially online) is amazing itself. Nuke mode is my favorite online mode. Another thing I love about the game is the paint scheme customization to your vehicles! Adding to the list of praising, your very own personalized soundtrack can be played, too, if you prefer not to play to the licensed soundtrack. What's not so great: The only things I really don't like about this game is that the story mode is a bit shorter than I expected it to be. Also, the game has a bit complex controls, but if you've been a long-time fan of the Twisted Metal series since it's Single Trac days, then it'll be no problem getting used to its controls in a matter of time.

    Would I recommend this to a friend?
    Definitely.
    Expand
  72. DME
    Feb 17, 2012
    8
    Story mode is too short and incredibly cheesy, with bad voice acting. The live-action was cool, though. The one-car-per-character thing was dropped and that was a huge disappointment. There's also a shortage of characters as well. I was expecting them to screw up the helicopter's controls, but the developers pulled it off really well. But, I did have lots of fun playing splitscreen coop and deathmatch (lots of customization) and the online multiplayer was well balanced and lots of fun. There's plenty of maps, although they aren't as memorable as older ones. And original soundtrack was replaced with real licensed music (which I personally didn't like). Control system is a lot better than previous games and I especially like the D-Pad being used for special attacks. But even with all of these negative points, I still felt the same excitement I did with the older Twisted Metal games and became addicted fast. One of the game's strongest points is variety in game modes, include death races, boss battles, etc. It's definitely worth playing if you have a splitscreen partner to join in, but may not be as much fun by yourself. Expand
  73. Mar 5, 2012
    10
    The story mode of this game is awesome. Especially Sweet Tooth's story. The primary weapons are really creative and the addition of a freaking helicopter is awesome!
  74. Feb 21, 2012
    10
    Best Twisted Metal game I ever played, worth every dollar. I would not recommend it for just single player though, sadly only three characters, but the story is amazingly acted.

    The multiplayer is fantastic, I highly recommend this game for the crazy explosive fun.
  75. Mar 28, 2012
    8
    For anyone that poured hours into Black... prepare for one amazing blast to the past. The latest entry is great fun and features some gripping live-action movies too. Unfortunately, the removal of most of the characters (but not their cars) has lessened some of the series' charm.
  76. Feb 17, 2012
    9
    Car combat game is what ps3 really missed ! if you had fun playing car combat games on ps1 and ps2 then be ready to get that old feeling again on ps3 ! Twisted Metal is back and it promise to let you busy for a long time ! this game is competitive , addictive and fun !

    it just need some bots in the local 4 players and some classic fans vehicles as DLC such as Mr.Slam , Twister ,
    Grasshopper , Hammerhead and Minion . Expand
  77. Mar 25, 2012
    10
    I thought this game was awesome! I have no idea why some people are even giving this game bad ratings! I have to admit that David Jaffe should have added more characters and allow the player to choose what character they want to play as, but besides that everyone should have given the game at least a 6. The gameplay was awesome! Twisted Metal wasn't too hard and wasn't too easy. The special weapons were awesome, graphics were great, and the Sweet Bot was epic! David Jaffe probably didn't add as much characters because he didn't want the game to have so much information on the disc that it would have as much glitches as Skyrim. So, for those of you who say they're Twisted Metal fans and didn't like this game are not Twisted Metal fans! The negative people probably only like doing multiplayer or only like really dark video games. I could care less about multiplayer. I prefer to player story mode. For me, Twisted metal had enough darkness in it that it appealed to me. The new Twisted Metal is the best Twisted Metal of all time! Expand
  78. Apr 3, 2012
    8
    really a fun game i never played any of the others twisted metals excepted twisted metal black but only after i played this on. Anyway I love how this game plays it fast pace action and fun every thing i love about a video game. now the bad it is quit difficult even on normal and i by the time this is out online for it doesn't work for me. Well thats my review 8/10 I suggest getting it now to have some fun with friends trust me it a blast! Expand
  79. Jul 9, 2012
    9
    As someone who has played Twisted Metal since the original came out in 1996, I am absolutely ecstatic to see such a great game make it's way to the PS3. The game is absolute fun and minimal frustration, in multiplayer and singleplayer alike. In my opinion, the second best Twisted Metal game to date. While the controls are a little sloppy, the game makes up for it with great effects, storylines, and soundtrack. Go pick up a copy today! Expand
  80. Jul 26, 2012
    9
    Amazing game, a true Twisted Metal towards the series. The visuals, graphics are great. There's loads of destructive Enviroments. Alot of the original, if not most, characters are back and there's even story progression. Only downside is, if you don't like repetative games, this isn't the cake slice for you. The boss battles on the other hand are fantastic! The OST for the game is mind blowing too! Highly recommend it! Expand
  81. Apr 5, 2012
    10
    This game stays true to the franchise and adds a unique experience that hasn't been properly represented since Twisted Metal Black. This game is a must buy as all will enjoy the robust multiplayer and a amazing single player experience as well. Utter mayhem is the best way to describe it and I mean this in a sincere good way. Pick it up you wont be disappointed in the least. Amazing all around and deserves a 10! Expand
  82. May 12, 2012
    8
    while the game is not without its flaws it is a very good game. it had the basic elements of a story, which if i can recall from my very young brain, was more than the one i use to play did(can't remember which). one major letdown for me was the fact that they didn't bring back all of the old drivers. it centers around Sweet Tooth, Mr.Grim, and Dollface, each owning their own "gang" which starts the factions for online play. i however find no reason to love them except sheer nostalgia, with the exception of Mr.Grim. the car balance however is nice, some being faster with more damage while others are tanks with heavy armor and powerful weapons. the one inclusion all fans of the series were fretting about though was the helicopter, Talon. They did a wonderful job of implementing him making it difficult to use him from too high up and susceptible to immense fire too low. He has low armor making it extremely difficult to stay near one car too long. the only thing i feel was missing was axle. axle was the reward you got for pre-ordering the game, though he was also my favorite character as a kid, making me incredibly dissapointed that i didn't pre-order it. the online experience feels just...unpolished. you can't join a match in session making it similar to WoW except you can't play while waiting, though once i was in it was smooth with no lag at all, and they included an online pass code system though as long as you don't mind buying new the servers stay up constantly so it isn't "that" bad though it seems like they're way of milking money from the customer. one of my favorite features in the game is the ability to customize the paint of your car to whatever you please. you can jut go on their website, upload a picture, and put it in the game. every fan knows however that this is one of those games that is best played splitscreen and it delivers. you can go through a co-op campaign or just have a deathmatch. it is very fun. Expand
  83. May 11, 2012
    8
    I agree with the guy below me, its a lot fun especially multiplayer once u get the hang of it. It can however be very frustrating but when ur ice cream van can transform into optimus prime or ur flinging flaming chainsaws from ur motorcycle, frustration becomes irrelevant.
  84. Apr 3, 2012
    7
    So fast and chaotic that it has to be fun, right? Well it was fun but it wasn't completely epic. Since 'Black' I forgot how twisted the series really is. It is really messed up at times. The grindhouse storyline was not bad, but it was too short. The graphics were not bad but not with the times. The option to use any vehicle with any character was just stupid. It is an awesome game but I expected so much more with the PS3 powering this franchise powerhouse. A good time but a waste of time. http://liquidgamer.podbean.com/ Expand
  85. Apr 7, 2012
    8
    ------------------------Really great game, sweet gameplay that remainds me old fashion productions !!! Maybe the graphics are little updated, but in this production it doest matter, ------------------------------------
  86. May 5, 2012
    9
    Ok, all of them haters out there dissin' on the game should shut up. This game was fantastic. They brought back a classic PS1 game to the PS3, only stronger, faster, better, and most importantly, Online playability! I was disappointed in 1 thing when playing the game, and that was finding out that there were only 4 playable characters, instead of like 15 from the original. But pushing that aside for now, this game was spectacular! Discard all of the game reviews with Average to Below Average scores, and take my word for the game! You'll Love It! Expand
  87. Mar 23, 2013
    9
    The decision to get this game was very difficult because it lacks DLC and it seems like there's zero chance of that happening at all. I took a huge risk getting this game and I must say I actually like it. It plays much better than the originals and the option to play a custom soundtrack makes this game 10x better!
  88. Jun 17, 2013
    9
    Cuando este juego apareció era la época en la cual todas las viejas franquicias renacían de las cenizas y era el momento de que "Twisted Metal" hiciera su triunfal regreso a las consolas...pero la pregunta era ¿Lo haría bien?.Y hoy queridos amigos puedo contestar esa pregunta.La historia en si sigue siendo la misma que en otros Twisted Metal,una disputa a muerte,el ganador tendrá el deseo que quiera sin importar que tan retorcido sea este... pero no obstante la historia solo se ha concentrado en 3 personajes contrario a lo que se había establecido a lo largo de la saga,para avanzar en la historia escogerás al personaje ya establecido para el principio de la historia,al lograr pequeñas escaramuzas avanzaras y conocerás un poco más de la historia de aquel personaje,sorpresivamente el modo de historia se siente muy lineal debido a este detalle....Durante el juego tomarás el control de una variedad enorme de vehículos. El gameplay consiste en pequeñas batallas a muerte con otros corredores,estas confrontaciones son muy dinámicas y frenéticas.La música es un conjunto de Rock and Roll,Hip Hop y toques electrónicos,los cuales van muy bien con el Gameplay en sí.Mi conclusión es que quizás Twisted Metal no haiga seguido al pie de la letra su receta de éxito pero la franquicia conserva ese sentimiento de locura en la historia y conservando lo que más necesita un gameplay exitante... Expand
  89. Apr 16, 2012
    8
    Could definitely use more story mode characters. The FMV sequences for the 3 that were included are awesome. Uses Online Pass and I rented so can't tell you about the online multiplayer, but the local matches that I played were great. Weapons, both special and normal are lots of fun.
  90. Sep 26, 2013
    9
    Only played 16 percent of it so far, but what a sick freaking story line. Holy carp. This one ain't for the kiddies. Just like I remembered the game. Excellent.
  91. Apr 17, 2012
    4
    Eat Sleep Play had an opportunity to take a unique and beloved franchise into bolder, fuller territory with this release but it seems as if they should have left Twisted Metal in the good graces they placed it in with Black. With an unpolished interface, a humorously bad soundtrack (aside from the main theme), fidgety controls, and an underemphasis on horror and character, this iteration on TM is just a shell of it's former self. There is no longer any weight behind the motivation for the drivers to murder one another because instead of each vehicle harboring it's own theme with a driver to accompany it, they give us bland and absurd "factions" to run along side the incredibly lame and sparse versions of past TM favorites like Mr. Grimm and Dollface. Your opponents are as faceless as the online enemies Eat Sleep Play wants you to only focus on with this installment. The campaign is silly and nonsensical and dark as it should be, but it is tinged by a rushed feeling, with hastily produced live action sequences and poor acting. The gameplay and level design are solid but certain campaign sequences are frustrating to maneuver at best. If you are looking for a decent car combat game and nothing else, check out Twisted Metal...but if you are looking to get the new Twisted Metal in hopes that you'll be returned to it's one-of-a-kind sick pulp horror style, stay far away. Expand
  92. Feb 18, 2012
    0
    a network error occurred while joining the game.... a network error occurred while joining game...a network error occurred while joining game.. get use to seeing these messages cause that's all you get with the alleged multiplayer mode.
  93. Feb 29, 2012
    2
    Back on the PS2 we had Twisted Metal Black and it was pretty fun - luckily we rented this game instead of purchasing it - if it was a $10 download then I'd buy it. I'm sure it gets better the longer you play but I thought the graphics were not up to par, the story was cheesy and the gameplay mechanics. Even though we had it for a couple days it was only played for a couple of hours. If you are interested in this game - do what I did - rent it first. When I look at all the extremely positive reviews here I wonder - did Redbox give us the wrong game? Expand
  94. Apr 4, 2012
    0
    This game was promising, but alas, they found a way to screw up this classic. Everything about this game is horrible. Not even worth a rent, because you won't be able to play the online half of the game without purchasing an online pass for 10 dollars.
  95. Feb 19, 2012
    4
    Twisted metal has potential but I don't think it should be sold at the price it's currently at. Bad controls, crappy story and bugged multiplayer made my turn my PS3 off and never play this game again, at least not until it's fixed. I don't see why so many people are giving it a 10 with the standard of games that are coming out these days this game doesn't deserve a 5 imo
  96. Apr 26, 2012
    6
    When I first got the game, it was unplayable because the EU servers was down for a week. Now they work again and I got the game going. First impressions when launching the game is that its sub par graphics. The shooting is alright I suppose. So far only tried offline modes. I like the animated story, it's original and well done.
  97. Oct 17, 2012
    6
    picked this game up feeling nostalgic for my ps1 days. this game was made in a sloppy manner in my opinion. instead of story lines for every driver like in the older installments, your reduced to only a few story lines of pre-determined drivers(some of the more boring in my mind). the combat is at a much much faster pace than earlier games but i think it actually works against the game. in older games you feel like you have much more control, the weapons that you use actually matter, as in which you use at what time. this however is just pull the trigger till your empty and drive. this aspect may be appealing to some but for me it didnt work. my advice would be to stick to twisted metal black. the franchise deserved better. Expand
  98. Mar 25, 2012
    2
    anyone who gives this game over 5 must have super down syndrome, this game was **** awful. Twisted metal was all about the single player and the single player in this game was total garbage, the stories were full of holes and stupid.
  99. May 4, 2012
    2
    Garbage just garbage as a fan of Twisted Metal from 1 all the way thru TM:Black the only way to describe this is awful. Nothing is good about it. Singleplayer is cheap, its so called racing is the worst ever, while online is unbalanced beyond belief.
  100. Jun 2, 2012
    9
    Really can't believe 2 months after game came out and multiple patches, the game froze today, june 2nd 2012 again, really, annoying that the dev, jaffe talks about all kinds of crap and not fixing the game. I do really like the game, really fun, esp online. I never played any twisted metals before, i think the grapfics good, but lots of destructibles which makes action explosive, i would give this game 8.6 out of 10, but very dissapointed in the people working on this game, u neeed to focus on making the game run properly and not worry about what color bmw u are going to get with all the copies sold. and maybe worry about not getting a bmw and putting time and money into fixing a few bugs,or banning skins when game doesn't run without freezing putting wear and tear on my ps3, custom music is good option, but needed with jay -z on the original, n not old jay-z new crap, why no immortal technique, or rage against the machine, i mean come on who gets a paycheck for picking this stuff, but all in all a good game , and lots of fun, , i mean send this guys tweets to fix the game, if you paid for it you at least deserve that Expand
  101. Feb 16, 2012
    0
    I have never written a review for a video game in my life. I feel i have to write one for this game thought. I am a huge TM fan. Played them all and loved the dark twisted changed to TMB. It made you some what interested in the characters and you felt compelled to complete their story lines to see how their gruesome story turned out. So what did i expect from the PS3 version. Well it has been ten years so I thought, keep it like TMB, but add a few characters and stories, make the graphics premium quality, have a quality multiplayer, and keep it fun. I purchased the game and I am really try to like it here. But making this one story line suck. I want to feel accomplished by completing every characters background. Furthermore, why would the alter the one car one character formula. This is a staple of TM, knowing Mr. Grim with his scythe is chasing you down, or Sweet tooths ice cream truck is beautifully chasing you while playing creepy music. Now I can be Sweet tooth and ride Mr. Grims stupid motorcycle. It just seems like a lazy way to make multi player fair. Finally, for everyone saying TM has always been about multi player, that might be true playing with your friends but the story mode was fun, tough, lengthy, and made you want to play. Now i feel David Jaffee felt that there was no need to address the story and just throw out a PSN content online game. Its like Twisted Metal has been "Call of dutied". I will continue to play this game and hope in ten years i have fond memories like i did with TMB, but thus far very disappointed. Especially when the only thing they focused on(multi player) is so bugged right now. It bothers me that this game is getting a free pass based on nostalga, so i posted an honest review coming from a huge TM fan. Collapse
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 69 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 69
  2. Negative: 0 out of 69
  1. Aug 20, 2012
    96
    Twisted Metal isn't perfect, but most gamers will enjoy this game regardless of genre-loyalty. Twisted Metal is one of the most rewarding multiplayer experiences a gamer can have.
  2. 80
    An old school and tough "demolition" game with obsolete graphics and few choices yet enjoyable – mostly thanks to the dynamic multiplayer mode. [Apr 2012]
  3. Apr 17, 2012
    80
    Although the game has some obvious issues, mainly the controls and the over-the-top difficulty level, the game sure has some character. Fast paced shooter/racer is a great way to get rid of stress. The network game is pure adrenaline packed fun. [Apr 2012]