• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 69 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 238 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: With four factions battling for control, players step into the combat boots of a twisted disciple in a high octane, highly destructible world. Players fight for the prize of one wish fulfilled by the stylishly evil Calypso, the mastermind behind the Twisted Metal tournament. Disciples strategically dismantle opponents in vehicles loaded with weapons of Twisted destruction. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 69
  2. Negative: 0 out of 69
  1. Aug 20, 2012
    96
    Twisted Metal isn't perfect, but most gamers will enjoy this game regardless of genre-loyalty. Twisted Metal is one of the most rewarding multiplayer experiences a gamer can have.
  2. Mar 20, 2012
    85
    The best vehicle combat game available today, pure fun and extreme vandalism. It is a bit tough to get engaged by the game, but soon you will become addicted to its excellent and anarchic mechanics.
  3. Mar 18, 2012
    83
    It loses points for having a dull singleplayer mode, but if it is viewed as your training ground for the multiplayer it starts to make more sense. The multiplayer is so fast paced and convincingly pulled off it is a blast to play, even with the controls being a tad hard to get used to.
  4. Mar 5, 2012
    80
    Twisted Metal is back with its chaotic and amazing multiplayer. Unfortunately, the single-player campaign is pretty boring and from a technical standpoint the game feels a bit "old". Still, if you want a brutally fun online experience, this is the game for you.
  5. Feb 14, 2012
    76
    At the end of the day, vehicular combat is fun. Unlike all the kart racing games we have played over the years, Twisted Metal is just about blowing your opponents up, and that's simply an enjoyable pastime.
  6. Despite feeling the need to shower regularly during much of Twisted Metal, though, this should still be considered a successful return. A super violent serving of chunkily satisfying motor carnage, it offers a unique P53 joyride. Just tone down the Ronald McDonald homicide next time, eh?
  7. 50
    It doesn't matter that the vechiles are extremely balanced and that the online multiplayer flows like clockwork. Twisted Metal is, in it's very core, boring and ugly.

See all 69 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 95 out of 114
  2. Negative: 14 out of 114
  1. Feb 16, 2012
    10
    If you enjoyed the old twisted metal games like Twisted Metal 2, you will LOVE this game. It is extremely fun and enjoyable. I had to create an account simply here simply to say how much fun this game is to someone that has been waiting years for another good Twisted metal game.

    The different game modes for multiple player is fun. the race mode and killbox mode for story mode are really crazy. This game exceeded my hopes and dreams.
    Expand
  2. Feb 14, 2012
    10
    Honestly, this game is awesome. A vast majority of people who had a PS1 probably played Twisted Metal 2 at least, the last true console Twisted Metal we had was Black on PS2 so to get this gem is a dream come true! First off, I love Call Of Duty. HOWEVER, I hate how it's an annual release and I really became bored with it. We need more games like this, something refreshing from the yearly norm. If you're unsure of the game at least rent it from Redbox or buy day 1 but for god's sake please SUPPORT this game...you will NOT be disappointed if you have an open mind and be willing to overcome the learning curve, this is gaming at it's best Expand
  3. Feb 26, 2012
    10
    This game is truly amazing and don't believe anything the reviewers and negatrons say about this game on this website. Except IGN because they actually gave the most favorable and correct review. Anyone who gives this game a bad review is ignorant and probably got their ass kicked online because they believe every game should be Call of Duty easy.

    Patience is proven to be a virtue in this game because it may be frustrating at first, but it good time your skill will shine through. This game makes you earn your skill more than most popular games which provides a game addiction unlike any other. I could play this game for years to come (probably until PS4 comes out) without a new version. This is an instant classic among the now vast amounts of exclusives for the Playstation 3!
    Expand
  4. Apr 21, 2014
    9
    One of the best games of PS3, without mention the Online pass, its very fun specially play with your brothers in 4 splitscreen for a total mayhem, its not like a COD or something, every car has a perk in every situation, the IA is one of the few that kill me, and this is rare in a actual game, the story mode can be a little short but multiplayer has a lot of replay value, We need more games that can be played for 2 coop splitscreen, there is not campers or kids screaming at you, this is old school baby Expand
  5. Feb 15, 2012
    9
    I have been a big fan of twisted metal since it first came out on playstation. I think they did a great job with this installment graphics look good controls great and fun to play online against friends. The firing controls take some time to get used to as well as how the weapons all work but once you get the hang of things this game is a really fun experience that you can just pick up and play. Im glad they brought the series to ps3 i just wish the ps3 had better private chat. This game isnt perfect but neither is any of the other released twisted metal titles. Expand
  6. DME
    Feb 17, 2012
    8
    Story mode is too short and incredibly cheesy, with bad voice acting. The live-action was cool, though. The one-car-per-character thing was dropped and that was a huge disappointment. There's also a shortage of characters as well. I was expecting them to screw up the helicopter's controls, but the developers pulled it off really well. But, I did have lots of fun playing splitscreen coop and deathmatch (lots of customization) and the online multiplayer was well balanced and lots of fun. There's plenty of maps, although they aren't as memorable as older ones. And original soundtrack was replaced with real licensed music (which I personally didn't like). Control system is a lot better than previous games and I especially like the D-Pad being used for special attacks. But even with all of these negative points, I still felt the same excitement I did with the older Twisted Metal games and became addicted fast. One of the game's strongest points is variety in game modes, include death races, boss battles, etc. It's definitely worth playing if you have a splitscreen partner to join in, but may not be as much fun by yourself. Expand
  7. Apr 4, 2012
    0
    This game was promising, but alas, they found a way to screw up this classic. Everything about this game is horrible. Not even worth a rent, because you won't be able to play the online half of the game without purchasing an online pass for 10 dollars. Expand

See all 114 User Reviews