Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 28
  2. Negative: 2 out of 28
  1. Feb 8, 2011
    60
    Two Worlds II has a lot of potential, but ultimately, it can't fulfill the lofty ambitions that Reality Pump set for it and comes up shorter than it probably would have for the trouble.
  2. Feb 2, 2011
    70
    This role-playing sequel's big world and seemingly countless quests make it easy to overlook its wrinkles.
  3. Jan 29, 2011
    78
    Reality Pump has gone a long way since Two Worlds 1, and they've got a long way to go still. But Two Worlds 2 is a definite step in the right direction.
  4. Jan 25, 2011
    78
    Like other games that could fit under the B-game label, not everyone will embrace the elements I enjoyed in Two Worlds II. If you're looking for a lengthy and humorous (if somewhat unpolished) hack-and-slash RPG to tide you over while you wait for Dragon Age II or The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim, it's worth giving Reality Pump a second chance.
  5. Feb 3, 2011
    70
    It's not a perfect sequel, but for those who remember the original Two Worlds, it's an adventure that is finally worth most of its weight in loot.
  6. Feb 4, 2011
    75
    Basically, there's a whole lot of trial and error involved at the outset, which will definitely be off-putting to some players that have grown used to in-depth tutorials right at the outset of their games.
  7. Mar 7, 2011
    60
    Is Two Worlds II better than the original? Sure, but there's still a lot of room for improvement.
  8. Dec 16, 2010
    83
    Two Worlds II is a very complete RPG which substantially improves the original game, engaging us in a fantasy world. Its huge and atractive environments, simple and direct gameplay, and the variety of things available to be done in the Antaloor universe are some of the great virtues of and adventures oriented both to genre veterans and newcomers.
  9. Feb 3, 2011
    80
    There is plenty of game to warrant your $60 and the flavor of the franchise is written all over it.
  10. Dec 17, 2010
    75
    The best of the released iterations of the Two Worlds series is this sequel. Many of the problems of its precedent remain, but this is certainly a better videogame.
  11. Dec 17, 2010
    87
    A genuine RPG with a lot of freedom, customization and a good multiplayer experience. The console version still suffers from some issues with the complex controls, but Two Worlds II is still largly enjoyable even with a pad.
  12. Dec 17, 2010
    78
    The world is vivid and wide, but the gameplay has a lot of issues, and the plot is quite silly.
  13. Jan 4, 2011
    80
    Developer Reality Pump has delivered another great RPG that forms a great successor to the original Two Worlds. Certain aspects could have used a little bit of tuning, but that won't bother the average gamer.
  14. There's not enough room here to say how much I hate this game. I could write a novel about why Two Worlds II is the worst thing to happen to the fantasy RPG genre since encumbrance systems. [Apr 2011, p.114]
  15. Mar 21, 2011
    64
    A bit of a technical mess. [Issue#203, p.86]
  16. Jan 25, 2011
    85
    Two Worlds II is so big, you almost need 'two worlds' to hold all its contents. And for RPG fans, that is what matters most.
  17. 80
    With plenty to see and do, not to mention some great multiplayer offerings, this is a sequel worth checking out.
  18. Feb 8, 2011
    74
    Two Worlds II takes a big step in the right direction. They've still got to catch up to the rest of the development world when it comes to technical elements, and a better story with more interesting characters would vault this franchise into the 8+ realm.
  19. Feb 19, 2011
    40
    Two Worlds 2 just takes too long and requires too much punishment on the part of the player to be an overall enjoyable experience, despite a few fleeting instances of charm.
  20. Dec 16, 2010
    70
    Two Worlds is atmospheric and exiting, vast and addictive. It has some pretty big flaws though that can't be ignored.
  21. Despite the surprisingly solid gameplay, not all is perfect: Animations are stiff, close combat can feel clunky, and the voice-acting's more miss than hit. [March 2011, p.78]
  22. Jan 30, 2011
    80
    Two Worlds II is a solid open world RPG that has enough good going for it to overshadow its issues. Had it a little more time in development for polish and tweaks, it could have been outstanding, but as it stands I think it's still a great game that I'm happy to recommend.
  23. Feb 9, 2011
    62
    Most of us, however, will find Two Worlds II boring, mindless, and dull, requiring (and consisting of) such little thought that it should have a warning label.
  24. Feb 25, 2011
    60
    The game is filled to bursting with flaws and yet I found myself becoming curiously affectionate towards it. Yes the AI are baffilingly dim, gameplay is incredibly inconsistent, characters and plot are both clich├ęd and dull, graphics are nothing to write home about and the package as a whole does nothing to warrant your hard earned cash.
  25. 60
    Two Worlds II is one of the most broken games that we actually enjoyed. There are heaps of problems, including shoddy controls, dreadful graphics, stiff animations, and atrocious voice acting, but RPG buffs will enjoy the addicting loot system and superb character development.
  26. Dec 17, 2010
    85
    No doubt, Two Worlds 2 is a great role-playing game with a fantastic presentation, an enormous world and an innovative magic-spell system. But on the other side, the inventory is very confusing and the characters are missing some details. Also there are also lags in the PS3 version.
  27. 70
    The plot is rather generic, the voice acting is inconsistent, the framerate struggles at times and graphically the game is average at best. But none of that should be enough to dissuade any RPG fan from buying this game.
  28. Dec 16, 2010
    89
    One of the biggest surprises of this year. This game has many, many different quests, possibilities, a great and big world to play in. Fans of the The Elder Scrolls franchise, this is the best alternative you can get!
User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 57 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 27
  2. Negative: 3 out of 27
  1. dpc
    Jan 30, 2011
    10
    First off, change the camera sensitivity to "1" and you're all set. The negative reviewer clearly doesn't have the smarts to customize the game - which is why I give this a 10. You really can customize your experience any way you like, more than many RPGs I've played. Plus, it's charming in a goofy sort of way. Yes, the voice acting is horrendous. Yes, the story is derivative. But the gameplay and the rest of it is a lot of fun. And I agree with the comment about the major game sites not reviewing this. I was eagerly awaiting reviews before I bought it, but they lamed out and raved over Dead Space 2 and Mass Effect 2. No one could have played for a couple hours and reviewed? Full Review »
  2. Jan 28, 2011
    10
    I was a little apprehensive getting this game mostly due to the fact that it's predecessor was absolutely awful. After the first five minutes my doubts were laid to rest. The camera and controls are drastically improved, along with the graphics and menu system. Three different armor sets make for an easy transistion from magic, archery and close combat. With the touch of a button you are frying someone with your magic and instantly changing to your sword to finish them off. Every mechanic is polished real well and never leaves a bad taste in your mouth. The graphics are awesome, and the locales are truly vast and well put together. The inventory is twenty measures more intuitive, and never frustrating to micro manage. Put that together with an easy alchemy, blacksmithing, and magic crafting system, this game stands apart from it's prequel on every level. One problem I have is being surrounded by managable opponents and one unencountered minion comes up and kills in one strike. The voice acting is unremarkable as well as the horse riding. Minor issues like these hardly keep the game from being immensely enjoyable. Load of quests, hostile npc's, loot and locations all add up to one damn game. The major critics will piss all over it as usual but don't let that dissuade you from at least renting it. Dedicate a weekend to this game and it will not dissapoint. A great distraction until Elder Scrolls 5. Full Review »
  3. Feb 18, 2011
    9
    I wasn't expecting too much from this game. I personally was not a big fan of Oblivion. I tried to be, but there were aspects of the game that really bothered me such as all the monster leveling up with you. Having said that, I still bought this game hoping it would entertain me. For the first two hours, I really was not impressed. I did not like the character models, the way they moved, and I didn't like the voice acting. But I decided to give it a longer chance because I read someone say it took them an hour to get into it.

    I am so happy I did. I love this game. Absolutely love it. I like it much better than Oblivion. I enjoy the combat much more as it feels more hack and slash. I like the fact that certain monsters will kill you with one or two blows. I have 9 1/2 hours logged into this game, and there is so much to do. The horse is difficult until you get used to it, once you do it is no problem. Remember that if you buy it and hate the horse.

    For me, this game reminds me of an improved Diablo with the fighting, rapid looting, selling equipment, spells. If you ignore the voice acting which becomes easy to do as the game progresses, you will find yourself immersed in this game wanting to play more, to make your character stronger, and to make your weapons and armor stronger. There are graphical glitches, you definitely should load it onto your harddrive, and there are minor bugs here and there but they do not reduce the amount of fun this game is. As everyone else has stated, map is huge and there are so many side quests to do. Even though the voice acting is poor, the dialog is great and the characters have believable quests for you to do which makes them that much more enjoyable. I have played World of Warcraft, Oblivion, Sacred II, and I like the quests much more on this game than those. These quests actually have a bit of thought into them, instead of just making you "kill that guy because he has wronged me." Instead, you will hear him talk to you and tell you (and I am somewhat telling one of the quests but changing it a bit)"I want you to take care of this guy. By take care of this guy, you know what I mean. The reason I want you to deal with this is because when the Orc war was going on, he offered safe passage to my family in exchange for 500 gold. We paid him. On the day we were supposed to meet him, he disappeared. We knew the route of the passage, so we went. Little did we know he had led us straight into an ambush. It seems that is his way of making money..." and there would be more but you get the picture. It gives you an actual reason to want to do the quest instead of simple two line words that scroll across the screen. Anyhow, great game. I am glad I bought it.
    Full Review »