UFC Undisputed 2009 PlayStation 3

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 43 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 43
  2. Negative: 3 out of 43

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. codyB
    May 20, 2009
    10
    If I could give this game a 20 I would. I admit I was hesitant to buy it after the demo. The demo was so so, but now that I have had a chance to play online and the career mode, I must say that it has been a loooong time since a game this deep has hooked me so fast.
  2. rudolpht
    May 20, 2009
    10
    This game is the realist and most complete fighting game that has hit the stores. most people that play this game says it is to hard to do a submission, in real mma it is hard to pull off a submission. this is the realist fighting game made.
  3. aaronl
    Jun 3, 2009
    9
    Good game, unfortunately the single player career mode gets boring very quickly... and the computer's very easy to beat. and once you reach being the champion...training seems almost useless as no one will be able to defeat you...to a point where i would just skip the 13 weeks of supposedly training time just to fight the next bout... but rest of the game however is amazing, the Good game, unfortunately the single player career mode gets boring very quickly... and the computer's very easy to beat. and once you reach being the champion...training seems almost useless as no one will be able to defeat you...to a point where i would just skip the 13 weeks of supposedly training time just to fight the next bout... but rest of the game however is amazing, the depth of the combat is not anything i've ever seen in any games. and there is no stupid health bars, if you are skilled/lucky enough, you can get a first strike ko (and i have done that...first punch thrown was a ko one). Expand
  4. RobertJ
    Aug 27, 2009
    8
    Good game that is alot of fun playing with friends.The Game looks absolutely awesome, great graphics and the animations are extremely good, you never see a bodypart go through your opponent like you do in alot of games (WWE SD vs Raw for example). Over 80 fighters to choose from is really awesome allthough I miss Clay Guida And Randy Couture. The worst thing about the game i by far the Good game that is alot of fun playing with friends.The Game looks absolutely awesome, great graphics and the animations are extremely good, you never see a bodypart go through your opponent like you do in alot of games (WWE SD vs Raw for example). Over 80 fighters to choose from is really awesome allthough I miss Clay Guida And Randy Couture. The worst thing about the game i by far the horrible choice of music, good thing can turn that off though. Other then that theres just some minor things that annoy. I'm a bit dissapointed with the ground game. when you hold back on the right analog stick you block your opponent when he tries to pass from sidecontrol to mount for example. And when you do that your character holds his arms wide open instead of holding on to your opponent. Looks extremly wierd and makes no sence. I would also like to see different types of mount(like a really high mount when you sit on the chest). When yo mount now it's pretty mutch like this, you hit one punch and your opponent tries to roll out, but you block the transition, you hit one punch and your opponent tries to roll out, but you block the transition, and the same thing over and over again. It just takes away alot of the feel of you beeing in a real match cuz I personally have never seen that in a real MMA-fight. The Career mode is okay not more, you create a fighter and fight about 40 - 50 fights and then retire, And its pretty stupid that your ceated fighter does'nt age. Soo your fighter is for example 18y and goes 40+ fights in the ufc and retires at the age of 18. Another thing that tha wold be nice would be create your own Event and after a match in Exhibition Mode it would be nice to be able to choose another figter instead of just Rematch and Quit(wich takes you back to the star meny and you have to choose sides everything again) But well no game is perfect and other then some minor thing here and there THQ has done a awesome job, after all it's their first try to make a MMA game on a next gen console. Buy it if your a MMA fan! Expand
  5. DavidG
    May 20, 2009
    8
    Impressive! It
  6. JohnDoe
    May 29, 2009
    9
    First, let me say that I am a fan of the MMA. Not crazy hardcore but still enjoy the kick ass of the sport. Now to the game, visually the game is excellent. The depth of the game is solid but still has room for improvement. The fighter selection is pretty good. The only visual thing I didn't like was the Refs heads seem to be the size of a melon. Controls: Here is one of the new First, let me say that I am a fan of the MMA. Not crazy hardcore but still enjoy the kick ass of the sport. Now to the game, visually the game is excellent. The depth of the game is solid but still has room for improvement. The fighter selection is pretty good. The only visual thing I didn't like was the Refs heads seem to be the size of a melon. Controls: Here is one of the new formats that all PS3 gamers will need to become accustomed to. The great equalizer is that damn right joystick. A lot of moves and actions in the game utilize the joystick so be prepared to relearn the controls. The moves that request a joystick are a pain but with a little practice grappling becomes easier. Start with the tutorial and start slow run, after do the practice to get a feel for the game before you start career. Music/sound: One word says it best. Redundant, overall the music is entertaining however it repeats way too much. Use your ipod 8-) Cons: The only issue I have is the grappling. It Collapse
  7. joeb
    May 22, 2009
    10
    So many people claim the ground game doesn't make sense. The ground game is incredibly easy, but you need to take the time to learn the 3 disiplines and how to counter. Most reviews sound like they were written in a day, you need to spend at least 20 hours with the game to be good online. After that though, the game is incredible and fun.
  8. RafaelD
    May 22, 2009
    9
    For any UFC fan this is a must have , but overrall is good fighting game. nice controls , graphics and nice moves from more than 80 fighters.
  9. Nov 11, 2011
    8
    I highly enjoyed this game. The knockouts in this game made me want to keep playing it. The graphics were very good. My favorite part was the replays of the knockouts. Whether it was a kick to the face or the chest. The controls were a bit hard to figure out but eventually when I did the game became alot easier to play
  10. Nov 17, 2012
    9
    The game has incredible graphics and sound polished to a high sheen. The controls while confusing work great, and the structure to gameplay is good. You can also play against bots and real people
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 58 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 56 out of 58
  2. Negative: 0 out of 58
  1. 100
    UFC 2009 Undisputed does have a couple of issues that keep it from being a MMA-fan's dream come true but it is still a tremendous title that will make any fan of the sport proud.
  2. The game's wealth of combos and grapples are made even more impressive by Undisputed's nearly flawless collision detection and animation. [June 2009, p.83]
  3. A rock-solid simulation and recreation of the real thing. Perhaps a little too real out of the ring. [June 2009, p.64]