UFC Undisputed 2009 PlayStation 3

UFC Undisputed 2009 Image
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 58 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 46 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: UFC 2009 Undisputed is an explosive fighting game that details the action, intensity and attitude of a UFC live event. Players explore a deep roster of more than 80 top fighters in UFC competition across all five weight classes. In addition, they enter the Octagon surrounded by the sport’sUFC 2009 Undisputed is an explosive fighting game that details the action, intensity and attitude of a UFC live event. Players explore a deep roster of more than 80 top fighters in UFC competition across all five weight classes. In addition, they enter the Octagon surrounded by the sport’s popular commentators, announcers, referees, trainers, Octagon girls and more. Photorealistic models are at the forefront, as players view amazing ripple effects across the faces and bodies of their fighters from the impact of devastating punches and kicks. A brand new fighting game engine designed specifically for next generation systems delivers innovative, responsive and easy-to-play controls that give unparalleled command of fighters, as players take down opponents with a variety of mixed martial arts disciplines like Muay Thai, Kickboxing and Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu. In addition, the game’s Create-A-Fighter system jumpstarts the careers of future champions through character customization and training management, while a robust Career Mode develops a fighter's attributes and skill sets while fighting to enter the UFC Hall of Fame through a series of dynamic storylines. Furthermore, players can enhance their UFC 2009 Undisputed gameplay experience through online support, including downloadable content. [THQ] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 56 out of 58
  2. Negative: 0 out of 58
  1. 100
    UFC 2009 Undisputed does have a couple of issues that keep it from being a MMA-fan's dream come true but it is still a tremendous title that will make any fan of the sport proud.
  2. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    90
    It's a great example of how sports games should be done - both as a simulation that teases ever greater skill from all comers, and as a service to fans. [June 2009, p.88]
  3. UFC 2009 is a solid game with plenty of gameplay hours in it. Slide in your gum guard and get ready to meet your maker.
  4. The game's core is deep enough to keep gamers entertained for some time, and the game mechanics are realistic, while simultaneously feeling exciting. On top of that, the Classic Fights and the online keep the entertainment going, which helps make Undisputed worth the coin.
  5. Games Master UK
    80
    A rock-solid simulation and recreation of the real thing. Perhaps a little too real out of the ring. [June 2009, p.64]
  6. UFC 2009 is a delicious fighting game and hopefully the start of a successful franchise. A franchise Mixed Martial Arts-fans have been waiting for. The learning curve is pretty steep, but it makes the taste of success, when you do get the hang of it, a lot sweeter. A must buy for fighter fans.
  7. The core element of the game is solid and all that needs to be done is some polishing. Hopefully, the next installment in the series will do just that and then we really do have an undisputed champion.

See all 58 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 14
  2. Negative: 2 out of 14
  1. joeb
    May 22, 2009
    10
    So many people claim the ground game doesn't make sense. The ground game is incredibly easy, but you need to take the time to learn the So many people claim the ground game doesn't make sense. The ground game is incredibly easy, but you need to take the time to learn the 3 disiplines and how to counter. Most reviews sound like they were written in a day, you need to spend at least 20 hours with the game to be good online. After that though, the game is incredible and fun. Expand
  2. rudolpht
    May 20, 2009
    10
    This game is the realist and most complete fighting game that has hit the stores. most people that play this game says it is to hard to do a This game is the realist and most complete fighting game that has hit the stores. most people that play this game says it is to hard to do a submission, in real mma it is hard to pull off a submission. this is the realist fighting game made. Expand
  3. codyB
    May 20, 2009
    10
    If I could give this game a 20 I would. I admit I was hesitant to buy it after the demo. The demo was so so, but now that I have had a chance If I could give this game a 20 I would. I admit I was hesitant to buy it after the demo. The demo was so so, but now that I have had a chance to play online and the career mode, I must say that it has been a loooong time since a game this deep has hooked me so fast. Expand
  4. RobertJ
    Aug 27, 2009
    8
    Good game that is alot of fun playing with friends.The Game looks absolutely awesome, great graphics and the animations are extremely good, Good game that is alot of fun playing with friends.The Game looks absolutely awesome, great graphics and the animations are extremely good, you never see a bodypart go through your opponent like you do in alot of games (WWE SD vs Raw for example). Over 80 fighters to choose from is really awesome allthough I miss Clay Guida And Randy Couture. The worst thing about the game i by far the horrible choice of music, good thing can turn that off though. Other then that theres just some minor things that annoy. I'm a bit dissapointed with the ground game. when you hold back on the right analog stick you block your opponent when he tries to pass from sidecontrol to mount for example. And when you do that your character holds his arms wide open instead of holding on to your opponent. Looks extremly wierd and makes no sence. I would also like to see different types of mount(like a really high mount when you sit on the chest). When yo mount now it's pretty mutch like this, you hit one punch and your opponent tries to roll out, but you block the transition, you hit one punch and your opponent tries to roll out, but you block the transition, and the same thing over and over again. It just takes away alot of the feel of you beeing in a real match cuz I personally have never seen that in a real MMA-fight. The Career mode is okay not more, you create a fighter and fight about 40 - 50 fights and then retire, And its pretty stupid that your ceated fighter does'nt age. Soo your fighter is for example 18y and goes 40+ fights in the ufc and retires at the age of 18. Another thing that tha wold be nice would be create your own Event and after a match in Exhibition Mode it would be nice to be able to choose another figter instead of just Rematch and Quit(wich takes you back to the star meny and you have to choose sides everything again) But well no game is perfect and other then some minor thing here and there THQ has done a awesome job, after all it's their first try to make a MMA game on a next gen console. Buy it if your a MMA fan! Expand
  5. Apr 13, 2016
    8
    In Ufc it is made of many ultimate fighters that aren’t your ordinary fighters that you would find of the street. These guys are fighters thatIn Ufc it is made of many ultimate fighters that aren’t your ordinary fighters that you would find of the street. These guys are fighters that are very skilled in all around mma, sharp on the ground and deadly on their feet. And when you get step into the octagon and that cage closes the referee, officials and the millions people around the world don’t want to see that you are not a real fighter. What they want to see is a good fight that they have paid to watch.

    Ufc has grown so huge that it has surpassed all fighting sports such as Boxing, and wrestling and many more. It has been said that ufc was invented when context sports decided they needed way more than what they had considering people have become less and interested in boxing and olympic wrestling. Not only that but there were mma fighters that were so good to the other fighters just couldn’t keep up with their all around fighting such as their striking their grappling and their own special asset that they had. Like for instance current ufc heavyweight champion fabricio werdum is a world class brazilian ju jitsu champion and a lot of the other heavyweights just can’t keep up with it. And it makes sense because they try to avoid the ground as much as possible when an opponent fights him.

    In general some fighters in the ufc are just really hard workers and have dedicated their whole lives to be in the position that they are to this in the ufc. They are all ultimate fighting champions and they all deserve to be there considering they all work hard. However the one who works the hardest deserves to be the champion in their division. Personally I have a lot of respect for Fabricio werdum but I just don’t think that he should be champion right now. As a matter a fact when it comes to working the hardest I don’t think that he’s number one on that list.

    To this day in my opinion ufc should have a lot more sponsors than they already do considering it is so popular and the most popular context sport there is. And the most popular ones should be getting paid based on worldwide popularity and the kind of training they do and their fighting performances. For instance one of the all time fan favorites Anderson silva should’ve been sponsored for everything that he ever did when he was in the ufc before he had to retire. And when he retired he should’ve been paid the most.
    It amazes me how hyped of people get when two competitors are about to fight. For example, when they go to the press conference and the weigh in’s and interview’s that just excites the fans when they trash talk, call each other names, get in each other’s faces that kind of thing. That right there makes a bunch of people tune in to watch the fight and get plane tickets just to where the fight is and watch it live.
    Expand
  6. Nov 11, 2011
    8
    I highly enjoyed this game. The knockouts in this game made me want to keep playing it. The graphics were very good. My favorite part was theI highly enjoyed this game. The knockouts in this game made me want to keep playing it. The graphics were very good. My favorite part was the replays of the knockouts. Whether it was a kick to the face or the chest. The controls were a bit hard to figure out but eventually when I did the game became alot easier to play Expand
  7. BobB
    May 19, 2009
    1
    Grapples are impossible to use and transitions are too difficult. Tutorial is not nearly adequate, leaving you floundering with convoluted Grapples are impossible to use and transitions are too difficult. Tutorial is not nearly adequate, leaving you floundering with convoluted controls long after you struggle with the tutorial for an hour. I've been playing games for all of my life both casual and hardcore, and I've never had so much trouble playing a game. I played on beginner and was not able to accomplish anything after a few rounds into career mode. Match turnouts feel scripted and instant KOs are cheap and unsatisfying. Visuals are merely average. Not recommended. Frat boys who would like to disagree with me due to their awesome skills would best be served by running into oncoming traffic to show the world how hardcore their entrails are. Expand

See all 14 User Reviews