Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 30
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 30
  3. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. Mar 5, 2012
    95
    If you've ever enjoyed UFC, fighting games or even games in general, give this game a look. You'll thank me later.
  2. Feb 13, 2012
    92
    Large bank of modes and fighters, pristine presentation, and unbelievably immersive gameplay is what will make this game such a huge hit. It may be so well received, in fact, that non fans interested in the game could begin to watch the real events and become real MMA fans.
  3. Feb 12, 2012
    91
    UFC Undisputed 3 is a great game for any fight fan. It's a perfect mix of boxing and WWE showmanship with the cuts and cauliflower ears to prove it.
  4. Feb 10, 2012
    91
    UFC Undisputed 3 is the ultimate package for MMA fans and a heck of a primer for MMA novices. The developers took some time away from the market and really refined this game, well past what was even seen in UFC Undisputed 2010 and it really shows.
  5. Mar 13, 2012
    90
    The undisputed champion of the genre. This time it's more accessible to beginners and offers an improved career mode, some tweaks to the combat system, as well as the famed PRIDE organization. [April 2012, p.76]
  6. The truest expression of digital combat around. Amazing. [March 2012, p74]
  7. Prolonged hugging sessions on the tatami, barbaric fist fighting marathons in the octagon: you will experience it all. We even won on points on time. And that was only the second round! Saving your energy for the next round isn't an unnecessary precaution. [March 2012, p.78]
  8. Feb 21, 2012
    90
    UFC fans will love it. Newcomers may come to love it due to the better accessibility the game offers. UFC Undisputed 3 has a good career mode but the strength really lies with facing other human opposition.
  9. Feb 20, 2012
    90
    UFC Undisputed 3 is certain to please even the most discerning MMA fan. Its new Pride mode plus suite of gameplay tweaks address the few but noticeable holes of an already winning predecessor.
  10. Feb 17, 2012
    90
    UFC Undisputed 3 is a great evolution of this interesting franchise. The deep fighting system is still there, but the new design of the entire game turns a complex and hard experience into something more easy to play.
  11. Feb 15, 2012
    90
    Don't get me wrong - this is the best UFC game, the best combat sports game and one of the better fighting games to come out... it's just that I can see it being even better, and I'm disappointed that hasn't happened yet.
  12. There were questions over whether the Undisputed series would be another journeyman fighter, occasionally shoring up weaknesses but never quite improving enough to beat the best. Instead, this addresses virtually every criticism of the last game, then throws in a load more that nobody even thought to ask for. Champion.
  13. Feb 9, 2012
    90
    The sheer amount of new content in UFC Undisputed 3 is staggering. The devs have managed to combine elements to make the experience less intimidating while still adding in a ton of new features to keep hardcore fans engaged.
  14. Feb 16, 2012
    89
    UFC 3 Undisputed offers a huge roster, the ring announcer Bruce Buffer, the UFC and PRIDE commentators, and, for the first time ever, the chance to fight in the Japanese MMA League PRIDE. There's nothing more to say than: Let's get ready to rumble!
  15. Feb 20, 2012
    88
    The loading times are steep, but other than that we can't think of many flaws to this fighting game. Adding PRIDE to the mix turns out to be a good call, resulting in an impressive roster of 150 fighters. Overall there's a nice increase in depth and modi, making for a nice third entry in the series.
  16. Feb 20, 2012
    88
    AS a whole package UFC is excellent value for money, and sees enough additions from previous, besides the enormous roster to warrant a purchase for fans of the franchise.
  17. Apr 28, 2012
    85
    UFC Undisputed 3 rectifies many issues of previous installments, combines depth and simplistic gameplay successfully and contains more content then you'd expect from a new game in a sport franchise. It nears perfection in the MMA-genre, but there's still enough room for improvement.
  18. Mar 22, 2012
    85
    Simulates brutality so every blow feels heavy and real. [Apr 2012, p.100]
  19. Feb 21, 2012
    85
    You really can't go wrong with Undisputed 3. Fans and newbies can come in and enjoy the game at their own pace and those victories moments can't be beat. After the online gets fixed up this will be a game that shouldn't be missed.
  20. Feb 20, 2012
    85
    The game is impressive, and it seems we're on the cusp of something truly special.
  21. Feb 18, 2012
    85
    UFC Undisputed 3 is easily the best game in the franchise. It's suitable for beginners as well as UFC veterans. Despite a few flaws it's still a must buy for fans of the sport.
  22. Feb 16, 2012
    85
    While gameplay is overall a great experience, I would like to see more control given to my fighter when it comes to the sway system, and I'm not completely sold on the new submission mini-game.
  23. Mar 4, 2012
    84
    A sizeable step over its predecessor. [Issue#215, p.84]
  24. Feb 16, 2012
    84
    For the third time, UFC Undisputed stands as the best fight simulation available. New improvements and an impressive roster of fighters are there to please old time fans. Too bad for a uncertain netcode.
  25. Hopefully sequels will enhance the career mode. [Apr 2012, p.80]
  26. 80
    A great gameplay, the new Pride mode and improved career mode are the main reasons to buy UFC Undisputed 3 if you have the previous edition and are having second thoughts.
  27. Mar 1, 2012
    80
    UFC Undisputed 3 is a continual refinement of systems that THQ established several years ago, but when you add up all its features, you end up with superbly well-rounded fighter.
  28. Feb 16, 2012
    80
    The shortcomings of the career are the main reason why my enthusiasm is a little bit dampened, but the rest of the game was improved in all its aspects. The new moves, attacks and the inclusion of the PRIDE-Modes make it a must-buy for fans. Even newcomers and people who so far just liked the UFC-Videos donĀ“t need to be afraid of the steep learning curve they found in the earlier games.
  29. Feb 14, 2012
    80
    Yuke's is trying to deliver something fresh albeit with mixed results. The addition of "Pride" is welcomed, but serious changes must be done with the graphics engine of the franchise.
  30. Feb 13, 2012
    80
    Like the best MMA fighters, UFC Undisputed 3 is well-rounded and impresses in a lot of different areas. It improves upon its predecessors at practically every opportunity and, for the moment, is the undisputed champion of MMA video games.
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 72 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 19
  2. Negative: 4 out of 19
  1. May 15, 2012
    10
    This game is incredible. I play this game EVERYDAY since it came out back in February. The amount of fights available in this game is over 100 not counting the endless amounts of create a characters you can make yourself. The new PRIDE fighting mode is great. For hardcore MMA fans this is the major selling point. Bringing old school PRIDE fighting into this game is so amazing. To relive the old PRIDE fight classics is something that never gets old. The online mode is great. Having fight camps, and the whole online fighting system is about the same as last game only the servers seem much more stable. The amount of downloadable extras including classic fights and extra fights has also been increased since last game. My favorite part of this game is the submission system. I had so much trouble in past UFC games with the submission system and many others had the same. IT was very frustrating to even attempt a submission prior to this game. I love going for the submission now. Its easier and a much needed overhaul. I really can't find anything wrong with this game. I play it daily for the last 3 months and Its always a fun new experience every time I start to play. I would HIGHLY recommend getting this game. Full Review »
  2. Feb 21, 2012
    8
    A good mindset to start this game with is to know what you're buying here: an MMA game. Calling it a "fighting" game may give people the wrong idea of what to expect. This game doesn't rely on fist/foot striking alone, it also incorporates a strong emphasis on wrestling skills and grappling. The Good: Improved Career Mode, responsive controls, improved submission system, graphics in the ring have improved, many modes to play through, acceptable Create-A-Fighter (CAF) options, and online mode adds nearly endless re playability. PRIDE competitions integrated into the whole package, even career mode.

    The Bad: Unorganized and overly-fragmented menus (especially in Career Mode), menu layout leads to a lot of unforgivable load times, load times are lengthy and over abundant in general, in-between matches the load-screen and video portions of presentation are low-resolution, character-select screen has multiple rows of fighters which is not explain by the game in any way because there is no game manual (not even a digital on the disc manual), Online Pass so you can't bring this to a friends house and play the online portion, character select screen avatars and character models look cheap and cartooney.

    That's my UFC 3 experience. Looking up, it seems I had more bad to say than good. But that's only because the good stuff didn't need alot of explaining. Despite the frequent and unnecessary load times, and lack of basic explanations on some of this games layout, this games shines. The quality of the fighting is what's most important here, and this game gets few complaints from me in that department. The only complaint I have is that despite the fact ground grappling controls have been simplified, there is still a very steep learning curve involved when compared to the "stand-up" fighting.

    Career modes menus are poorly laid out and in effect, lead to extra load times that could have been avoided. But I found this mode to be very addictive. I'm playing career mode every night with my CAF, and I don't know when I'm going to stop. Career mode has been simplified compared to 2010, but has been left with just the right amount of depth to feel valid. It doesn't feel "dumbed down" it fells just right. The mode has you collecting "Cred" which is basically the points you earn after each fight. Cred is used to power up your characters stats and abilities.

    I'm having a blast with this games career mode, and playing online with my friends. It's a solid effort, but I'm expecting them to step up the presentation for the next installment and work on streamlining those menus. For example: Have my cred meter displayed when I'm in the Shop so I know better what sponsorship. decisions I need to make. Don't hide the 2-3 load screens away. I got 10 sponsors to rotate and develop, and I can't remember every shuffle I need to make every time. Combine the Store and the sponsorship customization options into one menu please.

    Bottom line: This game delivers awesome MMA action, you will not find a better video game MMA package anywhere else. It has some presentation issues, but not enough to truly dismiss this as a bad game. Recommended to anyone looking for some MMA action on their PS3.
    Full Review »
  3. Feb 18, 2012
    0
    Many areas of the game systems are broken, or just downright unpolished; Single player training exercises fail to register player input, sparring partners who just stand and do nothing, the wrong video clip displayed for moves and constant online disconnects, and far more than I can be bothered to mention. I purchased the two previous titles in the series but this will be my last unless the publisher and developers change. To add insult to injury, much of the games content will be released as DLC, to help bail out the ailing THQ who are close to going into receivership and given their efforts to publish an MMA game it's no surprise they are in dire financial straits.

    For me personally I have no reason to recommend this to anyone who may already own one of the earlier versions, itâ
    Full Review »