UFC Undisputed 3 PlayStation 3

UFC Undisputed 3 Image
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 91 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The critically acclaimed and best-selling MMA videogame franchise returns to take players inside the Octagon with UFC Undisputed 3, delivering intense UFC action focused on brutal toe-to-toe combat, impressive visual presentation and increased accessibility.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 30
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 30
  3. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. Mar 5, 2012
    95
    If you've ever enjoyed UFC, fighting games or even games in general, give this game a look. You'll thank me later.
  2. Feb 10, 2012
    91
    UFC Undisputed 3 is the ultimate package for MMA fans and a heck of a primer for MMA novices. The developers took some time away from the market and really refined this game, well past what was even seen in UFC Undisputed 2010 and it really shows.
  3. Official PlayStation Magazine Benelux
    Mar 4, 2012
    90
    Prolonged hugging sessions on the tatami, barbaric fist fighting marathons in the octagon: you will experience it all. We even won on points on time. And that was only the second round! Saving your energy for the next round isn't an unnecessary precaution. [March 2012, p.78]
  4. Feb 20, 2012
    88
    AS a whole package UFC is excellent value for money, and sees enough additions from previous, besides the enormous roster to warrant a purchase for fans of the franchise.
  5. Feb 21, 2012
    85
    You really can't go wrong with Undisputed 3. Fans and newbies can come in and enjoy the game at their own pace and those victories moments can't be beat. After the online gets fixed up this will be a game that shouldn't be missed.
  6. Feb 16, 2012
    85
    While gameplay is overall a great experience, I would like to see more control given to my fighter when it comes to the sway system, and I'm not completely sold on the new submission mini-game.
  7. Feb 13, 2012
    80
    Like the best MMA fighters, UFC Undisputed 3 is well-rounded and impresses in a lot of different areas. It improves upon its predecessors at practically every opportunity and, for the moment, is the undisputed champion of MMA video games.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 21
  2. Negative: 4 out of 21
  1. Mar 10, 2016
    10
    Este jogo é incrível! Eu recebi e ainda não posso parar de jogar. Os gráficos são tão detalhadas para um game e é desafiador, mas divertido eEste jogo é incrível! Eu recebi e ainda não posso parar de jogar. Os gráficos são tão detalhadas para um game e é desafiador, mas divertido e terá que jogar por horas! A história é complexa e profundamente pensado. O melhor jogo que eu já joguei de forma Expand
  2. Feb 15, 2012
    10
    Simply spectacular. They pulled the best things out of the Undisputed 09 and 10 and put them together. They answered the fans hate over theSimply spectacular. They pulled the best things out of the Undisputed 09 and 10 and put them together. They answered the fans hate over the past submission system and turned it into strategy instead of button mashing. Leg kicks are now important being able to TKO an opponent with them. Better game physics, graphics, and new character animations. Brilliant replay and ingame video creation. Couldnt be any better then asked for. Well done THQ well done. Expand
  3. May 15, 2012
    10
    This game is incredible. I play this game EVERYDAY since it came out back in February. The amount of fights available in this game is over 100This game is incredible. I play this game EVERYDAY since it came out back in February. The amount of fights available in this game is over 100 not counting the endless amounts of create a characters you can make yourself. The new PRIDE fighting mode is great. For hardcore MMA fans this is the major selling point. Bringing old school PRIDE fighting into this game is so amazing. To relive the old PRIDE fight classics is something that never gets old. The online mode is great. Having fight camps, and the whole online fighting system is about the same as last game only the servers seem much more stable. The amount of downloadable extras including classic fights and extra fights has also been increased since last game. My favorite part of this game is the submission system. I had so much trouble in past UFC games with the submission system and many others had the same. IT was very frustrating to even attempt a submission prior to this game. I love going for the submission now. Its easier and a much needed overhaul. I really can't find anything wrong with this game. I play it daily for the last 3 months and Its always a fun new experience every time I start to play. I would HIGHLY recommend getting this game. Expand
  4. Apr 9, 2012
    9
    To put it simply, quite easily one of the most improved sports games in recent times. The first UFC game was promising and gave THQ theTo put it simply, quite easily one of the most improved sports games in recent times. The first UFC game was promising and gave THQ the foundations to push on, however I felt slightly let down by the second installment but third time round they tick all the right boxes and deliver a knockout of a game! The overall game mechanics are what we have come to expect but they have been tweaked and enhanced to deliver an even more realistic and engaging experience. Most notably is the new submission system which initially can take a bit of getting used to but once you get the hang of it it's straightforward - now, when you attempt a submission a mini game appears on screen in the shape of an octagon where you chase your opponents bar round it whilst trying to contain it. Other new features include the inclusion of PRIDE, a very worthy addition and in some ways more fun than UFC. There's also a new stamina system as well as new clinch controls. Added to that there are new transitions and new ground positions within the cage and a damage recovery between rounds. There's little things such as new KO animations which add more realism and the striking system has between redesigned. You also have the choice of which controls you wish to use Traditional or Simplified (basically Pro and Amateur controls.) They all make for a much stronger game but more importantly a much more authentic experience. The gameplay as you can imagine benefits from all these major improvements as you can very rarely now dominate a fight only to be amazingly flash KO'd, but you can now really plan out your plan of attack. The career mode has also been overhauled and is very engrossing where you nurse your fighter up from the very bottom to the top overcoming soe of the best names in UFC/PRIDE along the way whilst improving your ability to which style best suits your fighter. It's great fun and hugely enjoyable. Graphically the game excels due to these factors and you will be impressed as each fighter's own persona has been maximised to a tee. The commentary as always is fabulous. Online is as ever addictive and you don't need me to tell you much in that department as you very much know what to expect. As a package UFC Undisputed 3 is the best installment in the fighting franchise to date. It rediscovers some fine form and not only delivers an absolute knockout of a game but one of the best sports games around! It's also easily the most accessible of all 3 of the games as you can get to grips with it within a few hours of starting. All the enhancements and improvements as well as the tweaks and redesigned elements make this one of the best games of the year and also enables the UFC franchise to tale huge strides forward. Combine that with a superb roster full of all your favourite UFC names past and present with the likes of Anderson Silva, Jon Jones, Rampage Jackson, George St Pierre and Brock Lesnar all on show as well as DLC, you really cannot go wrong! Awesome! Expand
  5. Feb 21, 2012
    8
    A good mindset to start this game with is to know what you're buying here: an MMA game. Calling it a "fighting" game may give people theA good mindset to start this game with is to know what you're buying here: an MMA game. Calling it a "fighting" game may give people the wrong idea of what to expect. This game doesn't rely on fist/foot striking alone, it also incorporates a strong emphasis on wrestling skills and grappling. The Good: Improved Career Mode, responsive controls, improved submission system, graphics in the ring have improved, many modes to play through, acceptable Create-A-Fighter (CAF) options, and online mode adds nearly endless re playability. PRIDE competitions integrated into the whole package, even career mode.

    The Bad: Unorganized and overly-fragmented menus (especially in Career Mode), menu layout leads to a lot of unforgivable load times, load times are lengthy and over abundant in general, in-between matches the load-screen and video portions of presentation are low-resolution, character-select screen has multiple rows of fighters which is not explain by the game in any way because there is no game manual (not even a digital on the disc manual), Online Pass so you can't bring this to a friends house and play the online portion, character select screen avatars and character models look cheap and cartooney.

    That's my UFC 3 experience. Looking up, it seems I had more bad to say than good. But that's only because the good stuff didn't need alot of explaining. Despite the frequent and unnecessary load times, and lack of basic explanations on some of this games layout, this games shines. The quality of the fighting is what's most important here, and this game gets few complaints from me in that department. The only complaint I have is that despite the fact ground grappling controls have been simplified, there is still a very steep learning curve involved when compared to the "stand-up" fighting.

    Career modes menus are poorly laid out and in effect, lead to extra load times that could have been avoided. But I found this mode to be very addictive. I'm playing career mode every night with my CAF, and I don't know when I'm going to stop. Career mode has been simplified compared to 2010, but has been left with just the right amount of depth to feel valid. It doesn't feel "dumbed down" it fells just right. The mode has you collecting "Cred" which is basically the points you earn after each fight. Cred is used to power up your characters stats and abilities.

    I'm having a blast with this games career mode, and playing online with my friends. It's a solid effort, but I'm expecting them to step up the presentation for the next installment and work on streamlining those menus. For example: Have my cred meter displayed when I'm in the Shop so I know better what sponsorship. decisions I need to make. Don't hide the 2-3 load screens away. I got 10 sponsors to rotate and develop, and I can't remember every shuffle I need to make every time. Combine the Store and the sponsorship customization options into one menu please.

    Bottom line: This game delivers awesome MMA action, you will not find a better video game MMA package anywhere else. It has some presentation issues, but not enough to truly dismiss this as a bad game. Recommended to anyone looking for some MMA action on their PS3.
    Expand
  6. Jul 6, 2013
    8
    This game took a turn of which I was hoping it wouldn't. It focused on fighting, rather than being a fighter. I missed the Joe RoganThis game took a turn of which I was hoping it wouldn't. It focused on fighting, rather than being a fighter. I missed the Joe Rogan interviews and the on-camera sparring sessions, they made the career mode feel authentic and it created a lot more immersion. However, I can look past that considering the amazing improvements that the game has brought on. Knock outs feel much better when you can beat down your unconscious opponent for a few seconds afterwards. The god-awful submission system of the past game has been fixed, which was the whole reason I bought the game. PRIDE mode is great fun and it also shows another side of MMA that UFC fans might not have seen before. Can't wait to see what EA has in-store for the next game, though I'm a little concerned due to EA's past of having an absurd amount of DLC and always on DRM. Expand
  7. Feb 17, 2012
    0
    Lame game. Not fun at all. It gets boring very quickly. If you have the means to purchase a game, please, don't let it be this one. It's dumb,Lame game. Not fun at all. It gets boring very quickly. If you have the means to purchase a game, please, don't let it be this one. It's dumb, repetitive, and uninteresting with almost no new features. Expand

See all 21 User Reviews