Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 72 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The critically acclaimed and best-selling MMA videogame franchise returns to take players inside the Octagon with UFC Undisputed 3, delivering intense UFC action focused on brutal toe-to-toe combat, impressive visual presentation and increased accessibility.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 30
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 30
  3. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. Mar 5, 2012
    95
    If you've ever enjoyed UFC, fighting games or even games in general, give this game a look. You'll thank me later.
  2. Feb 10, 2012
    91
    UFC Undisputed 3 is the ultimate package for MMA fans and a heck of a primer for MMA novices. The developers took some time away from the market and really refined this game, well past what was even seen in UFC Undisputed 2010 and it really shows.
  3. Prolonged hugging sessions on the tatami, barbaric fist fighting marathons in the octagon: you will experience it all. We even won on points on time. And that was only the second round! Saving your energy for the next round isn't an unnecessary precaution. [March 2012, p.78]
  4. Feb 20, 2012
    88
    AS a whole package UFC is excellent value for money, and sees enough additions from previous, besides the enormous roster to warrant a purchase for fans of the franchise.
  5. Feb 21, 2012
    85
    You really can't go wrong with Undisputed 3. Fans and newbies can come in and enjoy the game at their own pace and those victories moments can't be beat. After the online gets fixed up this will be a game that shouldn't be missed.
  6. Feb 16, 2012
    85
    While gameplay is overall a great experience, I would like to see more control given to my fighter when it comes to the sway system, and I'm not completely sold on the new submission mini-game.
  7. Feb 13, 2012
    80
    Like the best MMA fighters, UFC Undisputed 3 is well-rounded and impresses in a lot of different areas. It improves upon its predecessors at practically every opportunity and, for the moment, is the undisputed champion of MMA video games.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 19
  2. Negative: 4 out of 19
  1. Feb 15, 2012
    10
    Simply spectacular. They pulled the best things out of the Undisputed 09 and 10 and put them together. They answered the fans hate over the past submission system and turned it into strategy instead of button mashing. Leg kicks are now important being able to TKO an opponent with them. Better game physics, graphics, and new character animations. Brilliant replay and ingame video creation. Couldnt be any better then asked for. Well done THQ well done. Expand
  2. May 15, 2012
    10
    This game is incredible. I play this game EVERYDAY since it came out back in February. The amount of fights available in this game is over 100 not counting the endless amounts of create a characters you can make yourself. The new PRIDE fighting mode is great. For hardcore MMA fans this is the major selling point. Bringing old school PRIDE fighting into this game is so amazing. To relive the old PRIDE fight classics is something that never gets old. The online mode is great. Having fight camps, and the whole online fighting system is about the same as last game only the servers seem much more stable. The amount of downloadable extras including classic fights and extra fights has also been increased since last game. My favorite part of this game is the submission system. I had so much trouble in past UFC games with the submission system and many others had the same. IT was very frustrating to even attempt a submission prior to this game. I love going for the submission now. Its easier and a much needed overhaul. I really can't find anything wrong with this game. I play it daily for the last 3 months and Its always a fun new experience every time I start to play. I would HIGHLY recommend getting this game. Expand
  3. Feb 26, 2012
    9
    UFC 3 After a year out the ufc series returns stronger faster longer than before the extra time spent in production shows as overall apart from the odd long loading time everything about the game now oozes quality. From a good range of difficulties beginner to expert and above and a good range of indepth tutorials for all the game modes. there are now two career paths player created Caf or Pro ufc fighter career although pro fighter does not take there base set of skills with them which kind of defeats the object of playing a pro fighter career but still a good addition. fighter creation is now more indepth with club banner tattoos snd emblems for clothing all fully customisable. there is also a video editor which while ok significantly slows down the games loading times if left on for every match. Best to switch video recording off unless you actually want to use it. a 50 second clip took over 1hour 20mins to compress and convert for upload way too long. the editor needs improving for next years title. slightly limited Camera angles for the editor (no free cam) and the game itself cam angles are ufc 2010 or 12, no broadcast far wide near over shoulder cam options maybe these can be added ln next year. Online while suffering from the curse of release week difficulties of every ufc title so far is up and running and working fine i played 10 matches thruout the day with no lag and no disconects. the fights were smooth button inputs were not delayed. surprisingly good even on a 2bar connection. So overall if u like fighting games add thisyoure collection. Kudos to thq for taking a year out to make the necessary improvements. And also for having a dedicated team for the online. As close to the real thing as it can get. ufc3. Expand
  4. Feb 16, 2012
    9
    The best aspects of 1 and 2 put into one great game. The ground game is not overly complicated like 2 but is not as simple as 1. The revised submission is much better than "shining" until your skin falls off. Graphics are fantastic, and the training "mini-games" make improving your fighter a lot of fun. The new highlight reel creator will definitely take up a few hours of your time. All in all, you can tell they listened to their fans have created a great game with a wide range of characters from UFC and Pride. Expand
  5. Feb 16, 2012
    8
    I'm torn. If you don't own a UFC game and want one, then this is worth a 59.99 purchase. Pros: expansive roster; accessible yet challenging user-interface; and more importantly, just plain FUN! But that's really it. There aren't a lot of pros so much as there are fewer cons. For example, I like that I don't waste nearly as much time customizing apparel to get cred bonuses (though you still waste time; it be nice if there was a setting to toggle to have this done automatically to maximize cred forever). But again, removing a con is not the same as adding a pro. Cons: the menus and load-times are light-years beyond 2010--so much so that I was going to put them in the 'pro' column. But then I timed how long it takes for me to pop in 2k12 or Madden and be playing a game and how long it takes for me to pop in UFC 3 and throw my first punch and...yeah menus and load-times are still a 'con'. THQ's mma game is ironically in the same state as the UFC itself: awesome, greatly evolved but still glaringly in the nascent stages of development. The only difference is that as a fan of the UFC, I'm excited to be apart of this evolution as a fan and also proud of how far the sport has come But as a consumer of the game, I'm impatient and a little dissatisfied...though the satisfaction ebbs as soon as I lock on a triangle and switch to an armbar...then returns again as I spend the same amount of time waiting through load screens as I did fighting my opponent (not really but it sure seems that way some times). The first hour, I was afraid to navigate lest I initiate yet another loading screen. It seems like everything you do triggers a load screen. If you love the UFC and don't own the previous iteration, then this is worth the full price but don't expect the polish of a Madden, FIFA, MLB The Show, or NBA 2K. If you don't love the UFC and just want a good fighting game, I'm sure there are others that worth far fewer of your dimes. The toughest call is if you own 2010...; is it worth upgrading? The game just isn't that much different in a good way to warrant a full price up-grade in my opinion. I would rather have paid 5-10 bucks for a roster update or maybe even 15 if it came with added commentary. UFC 3 stripped away as much good as it added. I like the new submission system and the PRIDE mode is as fun as it is nostalgia inducing. And combat is more fluid but still feels essentially the same. Gone are the Blu Ray quality fights (or maybe I didn't navigate through enough menus to find them) on the PS3 edition as are the career mode interviews. In retrospect a more prudent purchase would be a roster update (not available unfortunately) and to wait for UFC 4, complete with Strikeforce, UFC on Fuel, FX, and FOX shows, and even more fluid fighting (elusive running aside, think Condit's combos against Diaz).If you've already paid 100+ dollars on previous UFC games, no matter how much it fixes, UFC3 just doesn't add enough to warrant more than 30 dollar purchase in my humble opinion. In the amount of time I spent going through load screens, perhaps I could have crafted enough simulacrums of fighters to make my own roster update. Sigh... Live and learn. As a brand new game, this is a fun and solid 8. As an update to a game (or games) you've already paid 60-120 dollars for, this is a bit of a disappointment. Expand
  6. Apr 20, 2012
    6
    While it is a big improvement from the previous UFC games. It still seems to be missing something. When most gamers look to grab a game and play it they look for replay value and how amusing the game is. And while UFC is appealing for the first couple matches it gets quite old as time goes on. There is no replay value and after a few fights you will be sure to put it in the old game collection and let it collect dust. The controls for new players take time for players to fully learn which can be quite frustrating. While the gameplay improvements are noticeable from the others, its not one of those games that i will brag about to friends or co workers. With that being said i give the game a lower rating since the game has little to no replay value. it is not worth the price or the time. Collapse
  7. Feb 17, 2012
    0
    Lame game. Not fun at all. It gets boring very quickly. If you have the means to purchase a game, please, don't let it be this one. It's dumb, repetitive, and uninteresting with almost no new features. Expand

See all 19 User Reviews