User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 90 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 51 out of 90
  2. Negative: 27 out of 90

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 15, 2011
    6
    What a waste of money! All of the things they could have done right with this game, and what do we get? They actually buff several top tier characters and nerf a couple bottom tiers. And in typical capcom fashion, they nerf wolverine to the point of uselessness rather than taking out the things that made him overpowered. And who asked for mashable hypers?! What exactly will that add to the gameplay?! And the new characters are just as scatter-shot as the balancing, there are some great picks (Vergil, Strider, Ghost Rider) some okay picks (Doctor Strange, Nova, Hawkeye) and WTF picks (Rocket Raccoon, Nemesis, Phoenix Wright). Don't even get me started on the "new" stages. Expand
  2. Nov 18, 2011
    10
    I bought MVC3 on opening day and was very disappointed with it, mainly because of the online compared to super street fighter4. Well Capcom has brought out UMVC3 and I must admit that this is a solid game all round. Online is allot funner to play because now you can actually spectate matches instead of just waiting around in the lobby for matches to be over. The 12 new characters that they added are extremely cool to play with especially Iron fist who plays like a super hero version of feilong. I have been waiting for a fighting game that could take me from SSF4 for a long time and it looks like Capcom has done that for me with UMVC3. The game controls are easy to learn but UMVC3 gets very difficult when you compete at a competitive level so just be aware of that, definitely a game that makes you spend alot of time in the lab but the results are worth it if you are into fighting games. Expand
  3. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    Ultimate Marvel vs Capcom 3 is a great game with 12 new characters and some new tweaks for added to the game-play it's a fun game none the less, but I hope there isn't I another version of this game though like super ultimate marvel vs capcom 3 arcade edition.
  4. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    im probably going to pick this game up because i like the series but word of advice for capcom please start using dlc for content like this ..instead of re releasing a whole new product
  5. Nov 17, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Don't spend your hardly earned money on this Crap(-com). It's a new way to say f.... y... to the customers. There are other games worthly to buy. Check out the reviews Expand
  6. Nov 19, 2011
    8
    One thing I notice with some of these reviews is that they seem to be on opposite ends of the spectrum, and actually seem to be rating CAPCOM instead of the GAME. Yes I'm just as annoyed that they decided to release this less than a year after they released Vanilla, before the game had proper time to develop and people had time to properly master each of the characters. HOWEVER, with this said, Ultimate is still a good game and improves upon its predecessor in basically every way. First off, the 12 new characters. Each of them is a great addition in my opinion, and help to bring something new and/or powerful to the table. One thing about the original MvC3 was how the focus was so much on fast, powerful characters with rush-down (Wolverine, Magneto, Wesker etc), but now not only do the new characters all introduce new playstyles, but also some of the existing ones offer new tricks as well. From Ghost Rider's ranged play, to Iron Fist's ground based Rekka style, to Phoenix Wright and Frank West's multi staged "leveling up" abilities; each, in my opinion is a welcome addition. The next thing is the balancing and new gameplay mechanics. Whilst some balancing and mechanic decisions were just odd (buffing Wesker and Spencer and mashable hypers are the ones that come to mind), a lot of the changes are mainly for the better, allowing for more characters to be competitively viable. The characters that were really powerful before, are still pretty powerful for example, but require a higher level of execution to get that power (see Magneto and Dante). The other main feature of Ultimate is the revamped online service. Vanilla had a fairly poor online component, but Ultimate's is MUCH better. With stuff like Spectator mode and increased overall accessibility, it just feels like a significantly more satisfying online experience. However, it would be nice if it had some of those SFxTekken modes like 2 player online training. Overall, Ultimate is much better than the first game in basically every way. It takes a fundamentally solid game, and makes it more complete. Oh and those whining about the price, it's only £25/$40 RRP. Trade in the original game at the right place and it's even less. Expand
  7. Nov 21, 2011
    9
    Love the improvements. Minor balancing issues (will be fixed)
    Anyone who's burned because they bought MvC 3 should have seen it coming :P
    Come on. Street Fighter IV, Super Street Fighter IV, and Super Street Fighter IV: Arcade Edition. Did you really think that MvC 3 would be any different?
  8. Nov 18, 2011
    9
    At least this game has the decency of being sold at only $ 40 bucks unlike MODERN WARFARE 3 who is the same and its sold like if it was a new game

    Great gameplay, very fun game, the roster is even more balanced now and the 12 new characters are great aditions, but this game if you want a fun, competitive over the top figther, it's worth it even if you have the original already
  9. Nov 17, 2011
    10
    The game is all around fantastic. It' has a great fighting system, strong presentation values, some nice extra modes, and a terrific online component. It's a bit lacking in modes when compared to something like Super Street Fighter IV, but it's still a terrific game all around. Yes the roster is smaller than it was in MvC2, but with that comes better balance. If you can't have fun in this game, you might just be dead inside. Expand
  10. Nov 18, 2011
    10
    MvC3 is a great game to play online alone or any time with friends. It's accessible enough to be able to be able to pull off easy combos after a few tries if it's your first time. Ultimate Marvel vs Capcom 3 is even better. It is more balanced for more competitive play and the new characters are very fun to play with. Ultimate Marvel vs Capcom 3 is a great game and is worth the cheap $40 price tag. Expand
  11. Nov 17, 2011
    0
    DO NOT BUY THIS TRASH. Don't support Capcom, this is basically an insult to gamers. Deeming us sheep and zombies that are willing to buy anything just for the name. People that bought MvsC3 wasted their money because a better version came out in the SAME YEAR!.. what!?... not only that this version has DLC too. So you are still not getting a complete game! **** Capcom, **** DLC, and **** any company that partakes in this shameless business practice! Expand
  12. Nov 17, 2011
    3
    What was the point of releasing MvC3 when you were going to release a new version a few months later? No only that but changing characters in a way that renders previous strategies based on the previous version is very annoying.

    The thing I still don't like is that they have no real offline play value at all. Yes, that the competitive scene is what this game mainly caters for, but
    really, while it is supposedly a new version it has no true 'new modes' or new ways to play. No survival, time attack, bonus ways you can play (all characters the same, 2v1 etc)

    While it was exciting to get new characters and better online, just those two things alone do not warrant a completely new release. While critics do have to be really subjective, they are all giving positive reviews, yet this is pretty much the same this as before. I am lucky I gave my brother in law my copy of MvC3 because now I have an excuse to buy an new version.
    Expand
  13. Nov 26, 2011
    0
    SCREW YOU CAPCOM!!! YET ANOTHER CASH IN. not more than a year later here we are again with the same crap! first arcade edition now this?! wat did i even buy MVC3 for if it was going to be obsolete in a matter of months? F CAPCOM!!!
  14. Nov 28, 2011
    9
    I borrowed MvC3 when it came out because it didn't look that great to me & lack a Spectator mode so hey I saved 60$, When I found out about the new game that had a bunch of new things like modes, tweaks to characters, better online, 12 new characters & 8 stages I was like now that's worth my money & so I bought plus it was only 40 bucks so it was a steal. While the controls are still a dumbed down MvC2 model, they controls are tighter than in Vanilla so you can get away with things like in Vanilla & while most problems were removed some still remain like a few glitches but not a lot of them. UMvC3 is not for casual friendly like MvC3 so casuals should stay away if they don't feel like learning how to fight properly & just want to mash buttons to claim victory.

    Gripes

    1. X-Factor lvl3 is still a little to good & needs to be toned down a little bit more.
    2. Some characters got moves they didn't need.
    3. Some characters got nerfs they didn't need
    Expand
  15. Feb 14, 2012
    8
    Yes yes this game has a few balancing issues. But overall it's a great game. Gosh.. how I remember those times when I would duel opponents face to face on coin operated arcades back in the days. Now I can do it in the comfort of... my own Toilet! The only drawback of this game for me , is really their online scoring system on network mode. I've faced countless opponents who always leave the game when they're about to lose so it doesnt affect their online scoring. tsk.. give me a break. One even scored 98-0 on the ladder. riggght.. Expand
  16. Dec 7, 2011
    0
    BlazBlue did something similar to this, if a few people remember its update, BlazBlue: Continuum Shift, which also had a price tag of $40 to start. BB:CS came really close to passing as a whole new game. Mechanics were radically altered, a *massive* new story mode continued that from Calamity Trigger, some extra modes were added, online was vastly improved, and pretty much every single thing was changed somehow, and always for the better, because CT needed it. They added only three new characters and just a handful of stages, which wasn't a big change from the original 12 (I think), but at least they were worthwhile, and useful. They would later add three DLC characters that were horribly overpriced, and which I refused to purchase at $7.99 each, with no story or arcade modes of their own. Anyway, it was good enough to warrant a separate release due to the amount of content added, but not quite enough to warrant being a full-priced sequel. This, however, doesn't come anywhere near that. In fact, in some ways, it makes MvsC3 worse. This is less than a typical expansion pack. There is virtually nothing else besides a few added characters and stages, along with some bizarre new mechanics which make the game worse. Very little is actually improved and added. This is not how you treat your consumers, Capcom. *THREE* versions of Street Fighter IV with minimal additions in each case was bad enough, and it seems you've become accustomed to this style of release. Forget DLC or patches, just release a new version every few months for $40 more. MvsC3 Ultimate is one of the worst disappointments in fighting game history. The insane lack of new content and changing of mechanics that sometimes make the game worse, as well as failing to address the already-overpowered characters (somehow making them stronger, which boggles the mind), which BB:CS did take care of when ArkSys realized the same characters were winning every match for being overpowered as hell. Capcom hasn't done that. Don't support this nonsense; a $40 DLC pack is absurd. Oh, and there's already DLC out *for this version that just came out*. That should already tell you enough of how Capcom is stringing you along for as long as possible. Don't let them. This is disgraceful. Expand
  17. Jun 11, 2012
    8
    ultimate marvel vs. capcom is a mixed bag. if you bought the first one. quit complaining. go trade it in and use the money towards this one. you will only be losing about 20 bucks and hey. you would have spent that to download these characters anyway. with the addition of the added features. i now feel like mvc is in fact the barebones of the two products. in every way ultimate mvc3 outshines mvc3, especially because of the new characters and costumes. its feel, and its approach. the seem to have redesigned or tweaked everything to give this ultimate mvc3 a new game feel. why such a moderate score. because whether capcom likes it or not. i just finished seeing the other version so the giddiness is gone. next time capcom, get it right the first time. Expand
  18. sgb
    Jan 20, 2012
    6
    The original MvC3 felt like a late beta, with barebones features, poor netcode, poor balancing, and on-disc DLC Crapcom expected suckers to pay for. I was luckier than most and sold it privately early on to get most of my money back. There was some fun at its core, so foolishly I decided to give the new version a chance hoping Capcom fixed much of the stupidity of the first. They did not. The game is still missing much in the way of useful content beyond online play, there's still no replay system, x-factor is still a broken mechanic, balance is still a trainwreck, and the AI for offline play is still awful (it goes from uselessly easy at all but one skill level, to blatantly reading your every move at the highest setting). The lone salvation was hoped to be the Heroes and Heralds mode, spicing things up by allowing card deck to customize your team. All it actually did was break things even more, as overpowered characters simply get stronger with the best cards backing them. The online H&H playerbase is pretty much dead as of this review. Speaking of cards, it's a real chore to get them all as the game has no limit on the number of duplicates you can get. I got to ~80% completion, and just gave up as the last dozen or so cards simply never popped. Worse, there are a few that can only be acquired by luck from online mode. Something that may be impossible to do if the community drops any more. It isn't all bad, the graphics are nice, most of the music is great, and the game is fun with friends who you can trust to not cheese it up with broken characters. All in all, I'd avoid this one. The community isn't as strong as the first game due to justified anger over the debacle with the first version, and may well die off entirely after the next Capcom fighter release. There is no reason to buy this with better values for money such as KoFXIII, Mortal Kombat, and even Super Street Fighter IV out there right now. Expand
  19. Dec 19, 2011
    7
    Character interactions aside, this game is short on charm and personality, despite the reservoir of characters and franchises it draws upon. As a beat-em-up, it excels with all the competence you should expect from a Capcom title; an impressive roster, varied move sets, technical opportunities etc are all in abundance. However, take away the competition presented by a lag-ridden online component and you're left with some very slim pickings to scrape up. Offline gameplay offers a short arcade mode halted by an anti-climatic boss fight against Galactus, a merciless trials mode that fails to initiate newcomers, and a cookie-cutter training mode. A disappointment when compared to the rival beat-em-up of the year, and hopefully not an indication of what to expect from Street Fighter X Tekken. Expand
  20. Nov 23, 2011
    5
    Not too much content unfortunately: balance changes, new characters and some new stages and few modes, absurd mechanics like x-factor ("normalized" in theory) and TAC's are still in the game, some glitches were removed but execution in this game is so easy that every player can make insane damage with no effort no matter how experienced he is, defense is the real deal here if you make a single mistake say goodbye to 70% of your life bar or even an entire character. This game is full of fan service and provides nice times of fun for fans, but keep in mind that this is a casual fighting game, if you don't like unbalanced comeback mechanics like x-factor or the accessible combo system maybe this is not the game for you these mechanics were introduced for casual players, not a bad at all thing but brings a lot of problems to the core gameplay that not everybody will like, unfortunately a lot of people thinks that FG should be dictated by capcom and they will buy it anyways (if you have fun great for you!!) but i would invite you to think before you purchase this. Expand
  21. May 30, 2012
    10
    I don't get why people are complaining itâ
  22. Dec 13, 2012
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is excellent in most places in the game, except the difficulty remembering the moves for each character, and some are impossible to figure out. The main part of this game that makes it go the extra mile is the inclusion of Phoenix Wright as an unlockable character, which is from one of the best video games ever. Overall: 7.9/10 Expand
  23. Jun 7, 2013
    10
    It is a brilliant game as long as you put the hours in learning how to play it as the creators intended it to be played
    Please don't shun it as a button masher because that is actually an aspect of the gameplay and if you watch someone like Justin Long every button press is done for a reason.
  24. Jul 20, 2013
    8
    Capcom is well known for their constant rehashing of their most popular titles, it's just a shame Ultimate Marvel vs. Capcom 3 came out only 6 months after the original, making for an all-new disappointing low. However, if you regard that minor set back (it's been 2 years since then and the price is only a mere $25 now), Ultimate tweaks many minor yet buggy flaws that crowded in the previous version, and the 12 new playable characters (including MVC veteran Srider Hiryu) simply make for all-new fun and will take even longer to master. But even with the inclusion of the moderately fun Heroes and Heralds mode, Ultimate is still lacking the variety it needs to attract a broader fan base. Still, as long as fans aren't too disappointed with Capcom's cold marketing game or haven't yet purchased it, go ahead and give it a try. Expand
  25. Apr 7, 2013
    7
    I love MVC 1 and 2. I have had them the day they came out on the Dreamcast and played the crap out of them and over the years i ould break out my Dreamcast jst to play thoose games again. They both with out a doubt are my favorite fighting games to date. I never got MVC3 because with in months UMVC3 was announced I have to say Capcom kind of messed this game up. First off the controlls why the hell are we using the 4 button attack system? its suppose to be 6!!! It just feels so wrong The games controlls seem like the are catering to non fighting game fans its like here e made it super easy for any one wanting to play. as a old school fan i am let down by this. Then there is the lack of characters. MVC2 had a ton and now UMVC3 has cut out a good chunk of them and replaced them ith alot of junky ones. hy didn't they keep all the characters from MVC2 and just add more on to UMVC3??? I miss Venom Black Heart ,Cammy, and Juggernaut. Graphically the game looks great and the game moves super smooth The online works well. They have a decent amount of game modes Also the game endings just suck so hard This is the best Capcom could come up with? Its still not a bad fighting game in the end but hardcore MVC 1 and 2 fans will be let down i think by alot of this. Expand
  26. Apr 3, 2013
    6
    I'll great straight to the point. This is a decent game, not great, not fabulous, certainly not PERFECT but its decent enough to rent, borrow, own...certainly the latter now that it's price dropped down to the $25-30 range. I'm not thrilled with the graphics at all. I know its supposed to look like the inked pages of a comic book come to life...but it doesn't. It looks terrible. They could have stuck with the classic 2D cartoon style of Marvel vs Capcom 2 or maybe gone with the 2D/3D-hybrid of Super Street Fighter 4 or Street Fighter X Tekken but they didn't and the art department at Capcom certainly dropped the ball on that issue. Yes, there are are quite a few characters but some of them are so obscure that no one will care that they're in the game. Meanwhile other noteworthy characters like Gambit, Rogue, Psylocke, Venom, and Mega Man are completely missing from the roster. Capcom could have supported the game a little longer with some DLC but with Marvel recently acquired by Disney, I'm sure there was alot of red tape to go through to get that going. I won't take points off for that. The levels/backgrounds are nice. I see you Daredevil, hanging out with The Hand back there!

    The gameplay is great. It probably seems a little dumbed down to the hardcore fighter fans but its easily accessible and doesn't take much effort for first time players to pull off special moves with very little effort. There are some remaining balancing issues carried over from MvC3 to the Ultimate version. I'm not sure if Capcom will further tweak these inconsistencies through patches or not. I would have liked to see some point system from MvC2 passed over to this one. Specifically with the option of collecting points and purchasing (unlocking) new characters, costumes, music, modes, etc.

    Its hard to find jump into online gaming on the PSN w/ this game. There aren't alot of people playing online and many times when you finally do get a game going, the connection gets dropped. It could be my internet connection, it could be Capcom's servers, I don't know. What I do know is that waiting around for someone to join your game is boring as hell. I wish it had the online challenge settings of Super Street Fighter 4 where anyone at anytime could just jump into your game and challenge you.

    Final notes: This IS worth playing. For a low price, its even worth owning. For the next one in the series, and I'm sure that with Capcom, there will be atleast 5 versions of that, I hope that they go with a better art style and certainly an improved online component. Overall, I give this a 6 out of 10.
    Expand
  27. Feb 7, 2013
    3
    This game had a lot of hype and a lot of promise but couldn't deliver and couldn't live up to what it was speculated to be. The story mode for the game is very lazy. Graphics are okay (about 6/10 but much better than MvC2). The negatives highly outweigh the positives for this game. The DLC you buy in the original MvC3 doesn't transfer to UMvC3 so you have to buy it over again when it's the Exact same game with the exact same moves only some of their properties change and 12 new characters. The original MvC3 came out months before. There shouldn't be a release of the same game in the same year it was released even if it does have new characters and patches for old ones. This isn't a completely different game, it's the same game with a patch and 12 new characters which should have been DLC for the original MvC3. The music in the game is okay (5/10) could use a little more variety. After beating the story and finding your best teams it offers very little except versing friends or people online. If you only verse the cpu before playing others then you'll most likely find your most effective teams are spamming teams. There is almost no creativity with online battles. The combos in this game look very flashy and inspire much creativity with the many different assists although some combos are incredibly long and boring for the other person to not be able to do anything but watch as his character dies aside from the guessing game of up/down/left/right for TAC's in the event that the opponent decides to do a TAC. A few cast members and teams are very over-powered compared to majority of the cast but many teams are still viable. Pheonix, Dante, Vergil, and Wesker alone have much more options than majority of the cast and on there own can take out majority of the cast on a well constructed team. If you just want to combo people with some of your favorite characters this game will be fun for about 6 months to possibly 3 years if you have friends. Some of the better characters you'll come across like Wesker, Vergil, Magneto, Wolverine, Storm, and Sentinel are noob friendly. If you're looking to be the best you'll be playing with the same characters as majority other players and will most likely include at least 1 of the 8 characters above or a team based off some kind of gimmick. The game offers very little other than mission mode to get new comers into the game on a deeper level. Without the release of the original MvC3 this game would receive a slightly better score of 4 to 4.5 out of 10 so as you can see it didn't affect the score of this game THAT much because it was only one point. Other than that this game was judged on its own content. The concentrated categories were story, sound, graphics, and game-play although some attention was given to the lack of additional content, modes, etc. Expand
  28. May 12, 2013
    5
    This was my introduction to this type of fighting style, and I thought it was okay. I only bought the game because it had a cool character or two, but when I looked at the previous game it kind of changed my opinion of this game. So let me get this straight, they make a whole new game just to give us: 12 new characters, some new stages, and spectator mode........... Lame. Talk about greedy bastards, sure the game is fine; although I had trouble inputting buttons and certain special moves, but this game shouldn't exist. Expand
  29. Oct 18, 2013
    8
    This game is very enjoyable and it has a variety of characters(for Capcom: Morrigan, Wesker, Chris, Ryu, Dante, etc)/(for Marvel: Deadpool(he even knows hes in a game), Spiderman, Captain America, Dr. Doom, etc) It does have some button mashing but its combos are great and very fun to execute. The graphics are great if you like this type of art style. There isnt much of a story so that pisses me off. There is lot of replay value: fun with a CPU or a friend. You arent able to choose maps. I am doing my best not to be biased. Even though I like DC over Marvel, Injustice and Mortal Kombat are based on timing. I love Capcom and this game. Expand
  30. Jan 27, 2014
    3
    i do not own the "ULTIMATE" version, and i think that version of the game is a 5. But the older version before it gets a lower rating only due to the fact there's less characters. Now let me get to the reason i think this game is awful, i feel this way due to the fact that almost all of the characters feel the same, unlike the older games where the characters actually felt completely different from each other. Another thing i dont like about this game is the weird control scheme on how you're supposed to be getting combos, its basically
    its basically "hit them in the air, do a simple combo, switch to continue that combo going, repeat" and i feel as if that's bad game design.
    I also found that the story was a little lacking, but its a fighting game, i wasnt expecting a mind blowing story.
    Expand
  31. Jan 8, 2014
    9
    This game should not be judged by it's history (terrible DLC practices and released too early), it should be judge by being fun and as a game and i find the game very fun. Sure it coulda used more modes (really should have used more modes) but the overall characters just leaves you with endless possibilities to create your own teams and use them competitively. The combos in this game almost make you want to comeback to practice so you can make your own creative combos with all of your team members (Wesker, Iron Man, Akuma for me). Again, the game was rushed out the door to fast and there are very little modes, but the fighting is so addicting that i want to play this game at least once a day. Both the PS3 and 360 versions get a 9 from me. Expand
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. Feb 6, 2012
    81
    This update does bring a lot of new stuff to the table. If you haven't bought the original game yet, this is a must-buy for fighting fans. And even if you have, you shouldn't hesitate to get this.
  2. More than enough for hardcore fans to justify the purchase. [Jan 2012, p.83]
  3. Do you scour the internet daily for new combos or strategies to use in Marvel vs. Capcom 3, then you should buy this update blindly. There is no doubt about it: this ultimate edition of Capcom's beat 'm up is in every way superior to its predecessor. [December 2011, p.72]