User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 119 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 59 out of 119
  2. Negative: 29 out of 119
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 15, 2011
    6
    What a waste of money! All of the things they could have done right with this game, and what do we get? They actually buff several top tier characters and nerf a couple bottom tiers. And in typical capcom fashion, they nerf wolverine to the point of uselessness rather than taking out the things that made him overpowered. And who asked for mashable hypers?! What exactly will that add to theWhat a waste of money! All of the things they could have done right with this game, and what do we get? They actually buff several top tier characters and nerf a couple bottom tiers. And in typical capcom fashion, they nerf wolverine to the point of uselessness rather than taking out the things that made him overpowered. And who asked for mashable hypers?! What exactly will that add to the gameplay?! And the new characters are just as scatter-shot as the balancing, there are some great picks (Vergil, Strider, Ghost Rider) some okay picks (Doctor Strange, Nova, Hawkeye) and WTF picks (Rocket Raccoon, Nemesis, Phoenix Wright). Don't even get me started on the "new" stages. Expand
  2. Apr 7, 2013
    7
    I love MVC 1 and 2. I have had them the day they came out on the Dreamcast and played the crap out of them and over the years i ould break out my Dreamcast jst to play thoose games again. They both with out a doubt are my favorite fighting games to date. I never got MVC3 because with in months UMVC3 was announced I have to say Capcom kind of messed this game up. First off the controllsI love MVC 1 and 2. I have had them the day they came out on the Dreamcast and played the crap out of them and over the years i ould break out my Dreamcast jst to play thoose games again. They both with out a doubt are my favorite fighting games to date. I never got MVC3 because with in months UMVC3 was announced I have to say Capcom kind of messed this game up. First off the controlls why the hell are we using the 4 button attack system? its suppose to be 6!!! It just feels so wrong The games controlls seem like the are catering to non fighting game fans its like here e made it super easy for any one wanting to play. as a old school fan i am let down by this. Then there is the lack of characters. MVC2 had a ton and now UMVC3 has cut out a good chunk of them and replaced them ith alot of junky ones. hy didn't they keep all the characters from MVC2 and just add more on to UMVC3??? I miss Venom Black Heart ,Cammy, and Juggernaut. Graphically the game looks great and the game moves super smooth The online works well. They have a decent amount of game modes Also the game endings just suck so hard This is the best Capcom could come up with? Its still not a bad fighting game in the end but hardcore MVC 1 and 2 fans will be let down i think by alot of this. Expand
  3. Dec 19, 2011
    7
    Character interactions aside, this game is short on charm and personality, despite the reservoir of characters and franchises it draws upon. As a beat-em-up, it excels with all the competence you should expect from a Capcom title; an impressive roster, varied move sets, technical opportunities etc are all in abundance. However, take away the competition presented by a lag-ridden onlineCharacter interactions aside, this game is short on charm and personality, despite the reservoir of characters and franchises it draws upon. As a beat-em-up, it excels with all the competence you should expect from a Capcom title; an impressive roster, varied move sets, technical opportunities etc are all in abundance. However, take away the competition presented by a lag-ridden online component and you're left with some very slim pickings to scrape up. Offline gameplay offers a short arcade mode halted by an anti-climatic boss fight against Galactus, a merciless trials mode that fails to initiate newcomers, and a cookie-cutter training mode. A disappointment when compared to the rival beat-em-up of the year, and hopefully not an indication of what to expect from Street Fighter X Tekken. Expand
  4. sgb
    Jan 20, 2012
    6
    The original MvC3 felt like a late beta, with barebones features, poor netcode, poor balancing, and on-disc DLC Crapcom expected suckers to pay for. I was luckier than most and sold it privately early on to get most of my money back. There was some fun at its core, so foolishly I decided to give the new version a chance hoping Capcom fixed much of the stupidity of the first. They didThe original MvC3 felt like a late beta, with barebones features, poor netcode, poor balancing, and on-disc DLC Crapcom expected suckers to pay for. I was luckier than most and sold it privately early on to get most of my money back. There was some fun at its core, so foolishly I decided to give the new version a chance hoping Capcom fixed much of the stupidity of the first. They did not. The game is still missing much in the way of useful content beyond online play, there's still no replay system, x-factor is still a broken mechanic, balance is still a trainwreck, and the AI for offline play is still awful (it goes from uselessly easy at all but one skill level, to blatantly reading your every move at the highest setting). The lone salvation was hoped to be the Heroes and Heralds mode, spicing things up by allowing card deck to customize your team. All it actually did was break things even more, as overpowered characters simply get stronger with the best cards backing them. The online H&H playerbase is pretty much dead as of this review. Speaking of cards, it's a real chore to get them all as the game has no limit on the number of duplicates you can get. I got to ~80% completion, and just gave up as the last dozen or so cards simply never popped. Worse, there are a few that can only be acquired by luck from online mode. Something that may be impossible to do if the community drops any more. It isn't all bad, the graphics are nice, most of the music is great, and the game is fun with friends who you can trust to not cheese it up with broken characters. All in all, I'd avoid this one. The community isn't as strong as the first game due to justified anger over the debacle with the first version, and may well die off entirely after the next Capcom fighter release. There is no reason to buy this with better values for money such as KoFXIII, Mortal Kombat, and even Super Street Fighter IV out there right now. Expand
  5. Nov 23, 2011
    5
    Not too much content unfortunately: balance changes, new characters and some new stages and few modes, absurd mechanics like x-factor ("normalized" in theory) and TAC's are still in the game, some glitches were removed but execution in this game is so easy that every player can make insane damage with no effort no matter how experienced he is, defense is the real deal here if you make aNot too much content unfortunately: balance changes, new characters and some new stages and few modes, absurd mechanics like x-factor ("normalized" in theory) and TAC's are still in the game, some glitches were removed but execution in this game is so easy that every player can make insane damage with no effort no matter how experienced he is, defense is the real deal here if you make a single mistake say goodbye to 70% of your life bar or even an entire character. This game is full of fan service and provides nice times of fun for fans, but keep in mind that this is a casual fighting game, if you don't like unbalanced comeback mechanics like x-factor or the accessible combo system maybe this is not the game for you these mechanics were introduced for casual players, not a bad at all thing but brings a lot of problems to the core gameplay that not everybody will like, unfortunately a lot of people thinks that FG should be dictated by capcom and they will buy it anyways (if you have fun great for you!!) but i would invite you to think before you purchase this. Expand
  6. Apr 3, 2013
    6
    I'll great straight to the point. This is a decent game, not great, not fabulous, certainly not PERFECT but its decent enough to rent, borrow, own...certainly the latter now that it's price dropped down to the $25-30 range. I'm not thrilled with the graphics at all. I know its supposed to look like the inked pages of a comic book come to life...but it doesn't. It looks terrible. They couldI'll great straight to the point. This is a decent game, not great, not fabulous, certainly not PERFECT but its decent enough to rent, borrow, own...certainly the latter now that it's price dropped down to the $25-30 range. I'm not thrilled with the graphics at all. I know its supposed to look like the inked pages of a comic book come to life...but it doesn't. It looks terrible. They could have stuck with the classic 2D cartoon style of Marvel vs Capcom 2 or maybe gone with the 2D/3D-hybrid of Super Street Fighter 4 or Street Fighter X Tekken but they didn't and the art department at Capcom certainly dropped the ball on that issue. Yes, there are are quite a few characters but some of them are so obscure that no one will care that they're in the game. Meanwhile other noteworthy characters like Gambit, Rogue, Psylocke, Venom, and Mega Man are completely missing from the roster. Capcom could have supported the game a little longer with some DLC but with Marvel recently acquired by Disney, I'm sure there was alot of red tape to go through to get that going. I won't take points off for that. The levels/backgrounds are nice. I see you Daredevil, hanging out with The Hand back there!

    The gameplay is great. It probably seems a little dumbed down to the hardcore fighter fans but its easily accessible and doesn't take much effort for first time players to pull off special moves with very little effort. There are some remaining balancing issues carried over from MvC3 to the Ultimate version. I'm not sure if Capcom will further tweak these inconsistencies through patches or not. I would have liked to see some point system from MvC2 passed over to this one. Specifically with the option of collecting points and purchasing (unlocking) new characters, costumes, music, modes, etc.

    Its hard to find jump into online gaming on the PSN w/ this game. There aren't alot of people playing online and many times when you finally do get a game going, the connection gets dropped. It could be my internet connection, it could be Capcom's servers, I don't know. What I do know is that waiting around for someone to join your game is boring as hell. I wish it had the online challenge settings of Super Street Fighter 4 where anyone at anytime could just jump into your game and challenge you.

    Final notes: This IS worth playing. For a low price, its even worth owning. For the next one in the series, and I'm sure that with Capcom, there will be atleast 5 versions of that, I hope that they go with a better art style and certainly an improved online component. Overall, I give this a 6 out of 10.
    Expand
  7. May 12, 2013
    5
    This was my introduction to this type of fighting style, and I thought it was okay. I only bought the game because it had a cool character or two, but when I looked at the previous game it kind of changed my opinion of this game. So let me get this straight, they make a whole new game just to give us: 12 new characters, some new stages, and spectator mode........... Lame. Talk about greedyThis was my introduction to this type of fighting style, and I thought it was okay. I only bought the game because it had a cool character or two, but when I looked at the previous game it kind of changed my opinion of this game. So let me get this straight, they make a whole new game just to give us: 12 new characters, some new stages, and spectator mode........... Lame. Talk about greedy bastards, sure the game is fine; although I had trouble inputting buttons and certain special moves, but this game shouldn't exist. Expand
  8. Feb 16, 2016
    5
    I played this game about 5 times for about 15 minutes each and I still haven't changed my mind. Unless you're an extremely hardcore gamer of the genre, this game will only confuse you and possibly give you an epileptic seizure. To top it off, I heavily dislike the artistic style they went for. If you want to relive MvsC without necessarily playing the 2nd installment then Tatsunoko VSI played this game about 5 times for about 15 minutes each and I still haven't changed my mind. Unless you're an extremely hardcore gamer of the genre, this game will only confuse you and possibly give you an epileptic seizure. To top it off, I heavily dislike the artistic style they went for. If you want to relive MvsC without necessarily playing the 2nd installment then Tatsunoko VS Capcom is definitely the game to play. Expand
  9. May 20, 2016
    6
    Please Note: This review is from the perspective of someone who has not played the other games.

    Capcom has always been known as one of the pioneers of the tournament- fighter genre. This game has incredible fighting mechanics with each character having a different play-style. Each also has their own distinct movement t show their personalities. Each one has their own intro and out tros
    Please Note: This review is from the perspective of someone who has not played the other games.

    Capcom has always been known as one of the pioneers of the tournament- fighter genre. This game has incredible fighting mechanics with each character having a different play-style. Each also has their own distinct movement t show their personalities. Each one has their own intro and out tros depending on who they are fighting and the ultimate moves are a true sight to behold. Voice acting is passable but aside from Nolan North as Dead pool none of the vocal performances really stand out. In this update their are more characters to play as the most noticeable for me is Virgil from Devil May Cry and Ghost Rider. The fighting allows players to execute really cool combos as they master the systems or in the most likely case button mash their way to the top. The animation is smooth and over the top which fits the intended mood of the game. This game's greatest strength is when you are fighting with another player in the room or online. However there is a severe lack of single player content. Each fight has a three on three team base system and when a certain combo is activated players can unleash devastating combos with the characters in their team. My personal team had always been DeadPool, Dante, and Spider-Man. The arcade mode doesn't have an interesting narrative and the character endings are hardly satisfying to say the least. The online mode doesn't fair much better since when the game first launched they have been unreliable. There isn't even a tournament mode to test your skills against the A.I which is unheard of for a fighting game. The tutorial doesn't really tell you how to play the game and the combos are difficult to pull off for new comers. This update should have been DlC as opposed to an whole new package which makes the value of this game's original release obsolete. This game is lacking in content but the fighting holds it up and the animations are very impressive which does make it above some of its peers but if you are looking for a fighting game that will satisfy you til the ed of time you are best to look elsewhere.
    Expand
  10. Sep 9, 2016
    7
    Was my ultimate favorite game until a little kid beat me just by smashing on the buttons. Visuals, soundtrack, endings, everything is just incredible.
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. Feb 6, 2012
    81
    This update does bring a lot of new stuff to the table. If you haven't bought the original game yet, this is a must-buy for fighting fans. And even if you have, you shouldn't hesitate to get this.
  2. Playstation: The Official Magazine (US)
    Jan 6, 2012
    70
    More than enough for hardcore fans to justify the purchase. [Jan 2012, p.83]
  3. Official PlayStation Magazine Benelux
    Jan 2, 2012
    87
    Do you scour the internet daily for new combos or strategies to use in Marvel vs. Capcom 3, then you should buy this update blindly. There is no doubt about it: this ultimate edition of Capcom's beat 'm up is in every way superior to its predecessor. [December 2011, p.72]