User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 119 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 59 out of 119
  2. Negative: 29 out of 119
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 28, 2011
    9
    I borrowed MvC3 when it came out because it didn't look that great to me & lack a Spectator mode so hey I saved 60$, When I found out about the new game that had a bunch of new things like modes, tweaks to characters, better online, 12 new characters & 8 stages I was like now that's worth my money & so I bought plus it was only 40 bucks so it was a steal. While the controls are still aI borrowed MvC3 when it came out because it didn't look that great to me & lack a Spectator mode so hey I saved 60$, When I found out about the new game that had a bunch of new things like modes, tweaks to characters, better online, 12 new characters & 8 stages I was like now that's worth my money & so I bought plus it was only 40 bucks so it was a steal. While the controls are still a dumbed down MvC2 model, they controls are tighter than in Vanilla so you can get away with things like in Vanilla & while most problems were removed some still remain like a few glitches but not a lot of them. UMvC3 is not for casual friendly like MvC3 so casuals should stay away if they don't feel like learning how to fight properly & just want to mash buttons to claim victory.

    Gripes

    1. X-Factor lvl3 is still a little to good & needs to be toned down a little bit more.
    2. Some characters got moves they didn't need.
    3. Some characters got nerfs they didn't need
    Expand
  2. Feb 14, 2012
    8
    Yes yes this game has a few balancing issues. But overall it's a great game. Gosh.. how I remember those times when I would duel opponents face to face on coin operated arcades back in the days. Now I can do it in the comfort of... my own Toilet! The only drawback of this game for me , is really their online scoring system on network mode. I've faced countless opponents who always leaveYes yes this game has a few balancing issues. But overall it's a great game. Gosh.. how I remember those times when I would duel opponents face to face on coin operated arcades back in the days. Now I can do it in the comfort of... my own Toilet! The only drawback of this game for me , is really their online scoring system on network mode. I've faced countless opponents who always leave the game when they're about to lose so it doesnt affect their online scoring. tsk.. give me a break. One even scored 98-0 on the ladder. riggght.. Expand
  3. Jun 11, 2012
    8
    ultimate marvel vs. capcom is a mixed bag. if you bought the first one. quit complaining. go trade it in and use the money towards this one. you will only be losing about 20 bucks and hey. you would have spent that to download these characters anyway. with the addition of the added features. i now feel like mvc is in fact the barebones of the two products. in every way ultimate mvc3ultimate marvel vs. capcom is a mixed bag. if you bought the first one. quit complaining. go trade it in and use the money towards this one. you will only be losing about 20 bucks and hey. you would have spent that to download these characters anyway. with the addition of the added features. i now feel like mvc is in fact the barebones of the two products. in every way ultimate mvc3 outshines mvc3, especially because of the new characters and costumes. its feel, and its approach. the seem to have redesigned or tweaked everything to give this ultimate mvc3 a new game feel. why such a moderate score. because whether capcom likes it or not. i just finished seeing the other version so the giddiness is gone. next time capcom, get it right the first time. Expand
  4. Dec 13, 2012
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is excellent in most places in the game, except the difficulty remembering the moves for each character, and some are impossible to figure out. The main part of this game that makes it go the extra mile is the inclusion of Phoenix Wright as an unlockable character, which is from one of the best video games ever. Overall: 7.9/10 Expand
  5. Jun 7, 2013
    10
    It is a brilliant game as long as you put the hours in learning how to play it as the creators intended it to be played
    Please don't shun it as a button masher because that is actually an aspect of the gameplay and if you watch someone like Justin Long every button press is done for a reason.
  6. Jul 20, 2013
    8
    Capcom is well known for their constant rehashing of their most popular titles, it's just a shame Ultimate Marvel vs. Capcom 3 came out only 6 months after the original, making for an all-new disappointing low. However, if you regard that minor set back (it's been 2 years since then and the price is only a mere $25 now), Ultimate tweaks many minor yet buggy flaws that crowded in theCapcom is well known for their constant rehashing of their most popular titles, it's just a shame Ultimate Marvel vs. Capcom 3 came out only 6 months after the original, making for an all-new disappointing low. However, if you regard that minor set back (it's been 2 years since then and the price is only a mere $25 now), Ultimate tweaks many minor yet buggy flaws that crowded in the previous version, and the 12 new playable characters (including MVC veteran Srider Hiryu) simply make for all-new fun and will take even longer to master. But even with the inclusion of the moderately fun Heroes and Heralds mode, Ultimate is still lacking the variety it needs to attract a broader fan base. Still, as long as fans aren't too disappointed with Capcom's cold marketing game or haven't yet purchased it, go ahead and give it a try. Expand
  7. Jun 27, 2014
    10
    Another great example of a perfect fighter! Great online, good fighters, perfect combo system, better balancing than the 2nd one, and of course, 3 character to go on your tem for variety!
  8. Nov 21, 2011
    9
    Love the improvements. Minor balancing issues (will be fixed)
    Anyone who's burned because they bought MvC 3 should have seen it coming :P
    Come on. Street Fighter IV, Super Street Fighter IV, and Super Street Fighter IV: Arcade Edition. Did you really think that MvC 3 would be any different?
  9. Nov 18, 2011
    9
    At least this game has the decency of being sold at only $ 40 bucks unlike MODERN WARFARE 3 who is the same and its sold like if it was a new game

    Great gameplay, very fun game, the roster is even more balanced now and the 12 new characters are great aditions, but this game if you want a fun, competitive over the top figther, it's worth it even if you have the original already
  10. Nov 18, 2011
    10
    I bought MVC3 on opening day and was very disappointed with it, mainly because of the online compared to super street fighter4. Well Capcom has brought out UMVC3 and I must admit that this is a solid game all round. Online is allot funner to play because now you can actually spectate matches instead of just waiting around in the lobby for matches to be over. The 12 new characters thatI bought MVC3 on opening day and was very disappointed with it, mainly because of the online compared to super street fighter4. Well Capcom has brought out UMVC3 and I must admit that this is a solid game all round. Online is allot funner to play because now you can actually spectate matches instead of just waiting around in the lobby for matches to be over. The 12 new characters that they added are extremely cool to play with especially Iron fist who plays like a super hero version of feilong. I have been waiting for a fighting game that could take me from SSF4 for a long time and it looks like Capcom has done that for me with UMVC3. The game controls are easy to learn but UMVC3 gets very difficult when you compete at a competitive level so just be aware of that, definitely a game that makes you spend alot of time in the lab but the results are worth it if you are into fighting games. Expand
  11. Nov 18, 2011
    10
    MvC3 is a great game to play online alone or any time with friends. It's accessible enough to be able to be able to pull off easy combos after a few tries if it's your first time. Ultimate Marvel vs Capcom 3 is even better. It is more balanced for more competitive play and the new characters are very fun to play with. Ultimate Marvel vs Capcom 3 is a great game and is worth the cheap $40MvC3 is a great game to play online alone or any time with friends. It's accessible enough to be able to be able to pull off easy combos after a few tries if it's your first time. Ultimate Marvel vs Capcom 3 is even better. It is more balanced for more competitive play and the new characters are very fun to play with. Ultimate Marvel vs Capcom 3 is a great game and is worth the cheap $40 price tag. Expand
  12. Nov 19, 2011
    8
    One thing I notice with some of these reviews is that they seem to be on opposite ends of the spectrum, and actually seem to be rating CAPCOM instead of the GAME. Yes I'm just as annoyed that they decided to release this less than a year after they released Vanilla, before the game had proper time to develop and people had time to properly master each of the characters. HOWEVER, withOne thing I notice with some of these reviews is that they seem to be on opposite ends of the spectrum, and actually seem to be rating CAPCOM instead of the GAME. Yes I'm just as annoyed that they decided to release this less than a year after they released Vanilla, before the game had proper time to develop and people had time to properly master each of the characters. HOWEVER, with this said, Ultimate is still a good game and improves upon its predecessor in basically every way. First off, the 12 new characters. Each of them is a great addition in my opinion, and help to bring something new and/or powerful to the table. One thing about the original MvC3 was how the focus was so much on fast, powerful characters with rush-down (Wolverine, Magneto, Wesker etc), but now not only do the new characters all introduce new playstyles, but also some of the existing ones offer new tricks as well. From Ghost Rider's ranged play, to Iron Fist's ground based Rekka style, to Phoenix Wright and Frank West's multi staged "leveling up" abilities; each, in my opinion is a welcome addition. The next thing is the balancing and new gameplay mechanics. Whilst some balancing and mechanic decisions were just odd (buffing Wesker and Spencer and mashable hypers are the ones that come to mind), a lot of the changes are mainly for the better, allowing for more characters to be competitively viable. The characters that were really powerful before, are still pretty powerful for example, but require a higher level of execution to get that power (see Magneto and Dante). The other main feature of Ultimate is the revamped online service. Vanilla had a fairly poor online component, but Ultimate's is MUCH better. With stuff like Spectator mode and increased overall accessibility, it just feels like a significantly more satisfying online experience. However, it would be nice if it had some of those SFxTekken modes like 2 player online training. Overall, Ultimate is much better than the first game in basically every way. It takes a fundamentally solid game, and makes it more complete. Oh and those whining about the price, it's only £25/$40 RRP. Trade in the original game at the right place and it's even less. Expand
  13. Nov 17, 2011
    10
    The game is all around fantastic. It' has a great fighting system, strong presentation values, some nice extra modes, and a terrific online component. It's a bit lacking in modes when compared to something like Super Street Fighter IV, but it's still a terrific game all around. Yes the roster is smaller than it was in MvC2, but with that comes better balance. If you can't have fun in thisThe game is all around fantastic. It' has a great fighting system, strong presentation values, some nice extra modes, and a terrific online component. It's a bit lacking in modes when compared to something like Super Street Fighter IV, but it's still a terrific game all around. Yes the roster is smaller than it was in MvC2, but with that comes better balance. If you can't have fun in this game, you might just be dead inside. Expand
  14. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    Ultimate Marvel vs Capcom 3 is a great game with 12 new characters and some new tweaks for added to the game-play it's a fun game none the less, but I hope there isn't I another version of this game though like super ultimate marvel vs capcom 3 arcade edition.
  15. May 30, 2012
    10
    I don't get why people are complaining itâ
  16. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    im probably going to pick this game up because i like the series but word of advice for capcom please start using dlc for content like this ..instead of re releasing a whole new product
  17. Nov 17, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Don't spend your hardly earned money on this Crap(-com). It's a new way to say f.... y... to the customers. There are other games worthly to buy. Check out the reviews Expand
  18. Oct 18, 2013
    8
    This game is very enjoyable and it has a variety of characters(for Capcom: Morrigan, Wesker, Chris, Ryu, Dante, etc)/(for Marvel: Deadpool(he even knows hes in a game), Spiderman, Captain America, Dr. Doom, etc) It does have some button mashing but its combos are great and very fun to execute. The graphics are great if you like this type of art style. There isnt much of a story so thatThis game is very enjoyable and it has a variety of characters(for Capcom: Morrigan, Wesker, Chris, Ryu, Dante, etc)/(for Marvel: Deadpool(he even knows hes in a game), Spiderman, Captain America, Dr. Doom, etc) It does have some button mashing but its combos are great and very fun to execute. The graphics are great if you like this type of art style. There isnt much of a story so that pisses me off. There is lot of replay value: fun with a CPU or a friend. You arent able to choose maps. I am doing my best not to be biased. Even though I like DC over Marvel, Injustice and Mortal Kombat are based on timing. I love Capcom and this game. Expand
  19. Jan 8, 2014
    9
    This game should not be judged by it's history (terrible DLC practices and released too early), it should be judge by being fun and as a game and i find the game very fun. Sure it coulda used more modes (really should have used more modes) but the overall characters just leaves you with endless possibilities to create your own teams and use them competitively. The combos in this gameThis game should not be judged by it's history (terrible DLC practices and released too early), it should be judge by being fun and as a game and i find the game very fun. Sure it coulda used more modes (really should have used more modes) but the overall characters just leaves you with endless possibilities to create your own teams and use them competitively. The combos in this game almost make you want to comeback to practice so you can make your own creative combos with all of your team members (Wesker, Iron Man, Akuma for me). Again, the game was rushed out the door to fast and there are very little modes, but the fighting is so addicting that i want to play this game at least once a day. Both the PS3 and 360 versions get a 9 from me. Expand
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. Feb 6, 2012
    81
    This update does bring a lot of new stuff to the table. If you haven't bought the original game yet, this is a must-buy for fighting fans. And even if you have, you shouldn't hesitate to get this.
  2. Playstation: The Official Magazine (US)
    Jan 6, 2012
    70
    More than enough for hardcore fans to justify the purchase. [Jan 2012, p.83]
  3. Official PlayStation Magazine Benelux
    Jan 2, 2012
    87
    Do you scour the internet daily for new combos or strategies to use in Marvel vs. Capcom 3, then you should buy this update blindly. There is no doubt about it: this ultimate edition of Capcom's beat 'm up is in every way superior to its predecessor. [December 2011, p.72]