Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. Jun 3, 2014
    100
    Street Fighter IV was a superlative experience even before today, but Ultra Street Fighter IV, with its well devised additions, has added the bacon to what was already a tasty burger – you don’t know that Street Fighter IV needs these mechanics until you’ve tasted it with them.
  2. Secures the crown as this generation's greatest fighter. That said, will price gouge returning fans. [August 2014, p81]
  3. Jul 7, 2014
    90
    Ultimately, what we’ve got here is absolutely zero failure in making the ultimate version of one of the greatest fighting games known to man. This is every bit ultra street fighting and Capcom deserve all manner of goodwill for continuing to develop their stunning game for casual sofa fighters and professional contestants alike.
  4. Jun 30, 2014
    90
    It will make your blood boil at times, but even if you’ve never played a version of Street Fighter IV before, you owe it to yourself to give this definitive edition a go.
  5. It stands out as the most complete version of one of the greatest fighting games of all time. [July 2014, p.90]
  6. Jun 20, 2014
    90
    Innovations with the combo meter and multiple versions of fighters only add intrigue and depth to a solid effort.
  7. Jun 18, 2014
    90
    With new characters, stages, modes, and careful tweaking of the entire roster, Ultra Street Fighter IV is without a doubt, the definitive version of Street Fighter IV. It provides a plethora of new content and a staggering amount of detail, all for the modest price of $15. Its greatest feat, however, is that everything culminates into a package that casual fans will enjoy and fighting game enthusiasts will appreciate.
  8. Jun 17, 2014
    90
    For the regular fighting game players, this is a no brainer. People that once were into Street Fighter IV will find enough here to bring them right back into the fray.
  9. Jun 6, 2014
    90
    The handful of new characters and modes won’t entice newcomers, but considerable changes and balances have been made to the engine. It isn’t groundbreaking, but it keeps the venerable Street Fighter IV on top of the fighting game hierarchy.
  10. Aug 13, 2014
    88
    Ultra Street Fighter IV is probably one of the best Street Fighter games to date, especially with the new gaming mechanics, characters and game modes.
  11. Jul 16, 2014
    85
    If you’re still playing Street Fighter IV or looking for a reason to go back to it, Ultra is an easy recommendation. If somehow you’ve gone this long without actually owning a copy, the retail release due in August comes packaged with all of the costume DLC, so it’s probably worth holding out for that.
  12. Ultra Street Fighter IV continues Capcom's continuing evolution of the Street Fighter IV series. Five new characters join the SF's world. With new stages, costumes and modes, Ultra Street Fighter IV should be in your gaming archive.
  13. 85
    Ultra Street Fighter IV refines Capcom's celebrated brawler to within an inch of its life with some great additions, making it a must-have for any hardcore fan.
  14. Jun 5, 2014
    85
    It is far from being a new experience, but it adds enough content to become the ultimate edition of one of the best fighting games of the current generation.
  15. Jun 3, 2014
    85
    A new expansion for the mega classic 2D arcade fighting game. New fighters, arenas, modes and refinements have been included in this fresh DLC.
  16. Jun 4, 2014
    82
    Whether you consider it to be meaningfully different or pretty much the same old thing, the important question is whether or not it’s worth playing. That one’s easy to answer. The game is aging, but it’s still great. And if you’re already a Street Fighter fan, it’s hardly a question at all.
  17. Aug 8, 2014
    80
    Ultra Street Fighter 4 may not be a new game, but it's the definitive version of one of the greatest brawlers of its generation, refined in all the right ways.
  18. Jun 29, 2014
    80
    The additions and balance tweaks make this the definitive version of an already great fighter. [Aug 2014, p.74]
  19. Jun 28, 2014
    80
    For the hardcore audience it’s aimed at, it is a logical end point to an important series and for new recruits, it’s the definitive version of a landmark game.
  20. Jun 20, 2014
    80
    We'd like to give a greeting to Ultra Street Fighter 4 but we doubt that a wider audience can enjoy the few technical changes in it. It would maybe have been better in a free update? Fair enough, it comes with five new characters, but only one is a real surprise... And this version comes with glitches of its own, so it's the most complete iteration, but not the perfect one. It's perhaps time for Street Fighter 5.
  21. Jun 5, 2014
    80
    A must for all the competitive Street Fighter IV players. The news features are nice, the five characters are interesting and the updated mechanics will change the pace of the game, making it more strategic.
  22. Jun 5, 2014
    80
    Capcom once more improves upon the original Street Fighter IV with some tweaks and characters lifted from Street Fighter X Tekken. It's not quite new anymore, but fans will definitely want to pick this up.
  23. Jun 3, 2014
    80
    With 44 total characters, a host of balance tweaks, new fighting options, and native YouTube uploading, Ultra Street Fighter IV is a release that's worth picking up for hardcore Street Fighter fans or returning casual players.
  24. Jul 18, 2014
    75
    Ultra Street Fighter IV proved to be exactly what we expected, featuring a well balanced fighting system, but disappoints a lot when you take into account the actual contents offered, which turn out to be way too few.
  25. Whether this is worth $15 is really moot: if you’re a Street Fighter devotee, this is a required update, end of discussion.
  26. Aug 29, 2014
    70
    Hardcore Street Fighter IV fans will find this appealing, but for the rest of us this is another example of Capcom trying to cash in with one of their most successful games.
  27. Jun 25, 2014
    70
    Ultra Street Fighter IV is the best version of Street Fighter so far. The option to take both of your ultra attacks into combat leads to a deeper and more challenging game. On the other hand it starts to show that Capcom have been making a little to many games in the series by now and for the casual player this update isn’t really a must buy.
  28. 70
    Ultra Street Fighter IV is undeniably enjoyable.
User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 39 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 11
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 11
  3. Negative: 2 out of 11
  1. Jun 4, 2014
    10
    The definitive version of the game. There really isn't any competition when it comes to deep, involved fighting mechanics. You aren't drowned in a quandary of different systems and minutia. Everything simply works.

    The balance is also razor thin. The worst characters (when looking at a 10 point match up tier list) are only 20% below the best. The same can't be said for pretty much any fighting game aside from SF2. Using MVC3 as an example, the best character is actually close to 250% better than the worst (on a match up based tier list).

    You also don't have to sit there and watch the other person play while your character is endlessly juggled for half the match. Combos are there but they are swift and succinct. No more 15-20 second long combos of MVC3 and King of Fighters 13.

    The character variety is amazing. The inputs are tight and responsive while also demanding that you learn your character. There is no dial-a-combo system, so mistakes are still risky but not as risky as Street Fighter X Tekken where stray jabs lead to full out dial-a-combos.

    If you are new to fighting games this is absolutely, positively a 10. If you have the older versions of Street Fighter 4 then this is a 9, seeing as how you've tread this ground before.
    Full Review »
  2. Jun 4, 2014
    10
    Another Street Fighter game to last for years.
    Like it or not, this is the biggest and the best fighting game on the planet.
    Deep fighting
    game mechanics and so many unique characters make this game an instant classic for any fighting game fan. With EVO just around the corner, the hype is only starting to build up. Shoryuken! Full Review »
  3. Jun 3, 2014
    9
    Exciting. Brimming with vivid lights, colors and sounds. Understand this, I have bought every release of street fighter 4. From the original, to super, to arcade edition. So I wasn't really geeked to find Capcom tapping into the street fighter 4 well again. Then again, because of the popularity of streetfighter 4, and its upgrades, I can understand another 15$ upgrade from super to ultra streetfighter 4 would reach the masses more easily than a completely new 60$ game. I'm not happy, but I understand.
    The first thing I did was take the new characters for a ride. Rolento, Decapre, Elena, Hugo, and Poison. Again a bit of unhappiness set in as I have already played with or seen these characters in previous Capcom titles, so they are not completely "new" to me. But whatever.
    My fun wasn't had in playing these characters. I am more of a akuma or cody kind of guy. I more wanted to see their movesets, how they blended in and what I should expect out of each of these new characters.
    Going online was a different affair. What I saw out of the players in the lobbies was less ken, ryu, and oni's, and more trying out of the new characters, mixed in with other peoples favorites, gave me more variety in my fights. And that is where the fun really kicked in.
    From the total number of characters to choose from 44, the number of different fighting styles, the new "ultra" moves, tweaks to the gameplay, vibrant character costumes, new stages, it was hard for me to believe that the original streetfighter 4 was released 5 years ago, and it looks, plays and sounds on par with any of the more recent 2d fighters. From jojo's allstar battle, to blazblue chrono phantasma (which yes I bought both of) Ultra streetfighter 4 has had time to perfect its formula and comes across as a step up from these two games. The speed of ultra, the tight controls. I am not angry because I felt that the computer did not recognize my moves for a win. I truly understand it was my fault, I didn't input the move on time or correctly. And once you recognize how perfect the controls are, you stop blaming the computer and recognize it is in fact you. Learning starts to set in. Not just guessing.
    Online I guess either the kinks aren't completely worked out or other peoples connections lagged a bit. I noticed "waiting on opponents" signs sometimes in battles. My ps3 took a tad longer to connect everybody together, even though I tried to only play in rooms with full bars.
    There are still rage quitters. But I am glad (so far) that the amount of spammers is way down thanks to the Red focus which allows you to absorb an attack and launch a counter attack. When used effectively helps to keep people honest from the same moves repeated over and over.
    Between the red focus, the ultra moves, there is also the delayed wake-up. If you are knocked to the ground, and you know you will get caught by a combo or fireball, you "delay" getting up meaning the timing of your opponent gets thrown off causing them to miss. These three things together seem more focused on hardcore competitors to use, but they add an amount of depth and unpredictability to an already deep fighting game. As long as you have a desire to learn, the game is prepared to teach you. Unfortunately I didn't see any trials (challenge mode) for the new characters. Basically you have to train with them to learn their moves verses the challenges you can go through with the other streetfighter 4 or super streetfighter 4 characters. If Capcom wants a totally complete fighter they will patch these in for the new characters in the future.
    To wrap this up, whether you are new to streetfighter, you moved on, or you are a seasoned pro. The amount of new content, tight gameplay, plethora of counters, super moves, and ultras. Whether its new characters, tweaked characters, or new stages, Capcom has re-written the book on content to add on for its 15$ price tag. Is is worth it? Heck Yeah!
    Now Capcom quit milking streetfighter 4 and give us streetfighter 5 already.
    9 out of 10.
    But here's to Capcom releasing a street fighter 5 in the future and leaving street fighter 4 alone.
    Full Review »