• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Oct 13, 2009
User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 4404 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 19, 2012
    1
    This game is disappointing. The puzzles are easy, the platform is terrible and the shooter is meh. To me Uncharted 2 is more of a cinematic quality show-off than a game with good gameplay.
  2. GameInformer
    Oct 17, 2009
    0
    This game blows chunks. We at Game Informer believe that you have all caught "the vapors" and also believe if you love this game so much, that you should marry it. Gamers always eat up everything that has an ounce of hype, and then cry like babies when the game sucks. You all fail at life. - GI
  3. Apr 20, 2012
    3
    This game is very polished in almost every aspect: the graphics, the cinematic cut scenes, the voice acting, the story. The only thing it lacks is an exciting gameplay, which is why I give this game such a low score. Sure it has a combination of puzzle solving, shooting, platforming, online multiplayer but none of them are really interesting (to me at least). Overall this is a ridiculouslyThis game is very polished in almost every aspect: the graphics, the cinematic cut scenes, the voice acting, the story. The only thing it lacks is an exciting gameplay, which is why I give this game such a low score. Sure it has a combination of puzzle solving, shooting, platforming, online multiplayer but none of them are really interesting (to me at least). Overall this is a ridiculously overrated game with mediocre gameplay. Expand
  4. Liferuler
    Dec 6, 2009
    0
    Every Aspect of Uncharted 2 that has been implemented as a new addition to Uncharted 1 sucks. This game is completely lifeless and full of bugs! Stay with Uncharted (one!) if you like adventure games on PS3!!
  5. ElSupes
    Nov 24, 2009
    2
    This game is soooo OVERRATED it´s not even funny, oh wait! it is! OK the game looks good, it looks better than anything I've ever played on any console, however this only applies to the environments; the character models are nothing to write home about, specially the enemies, they are generic and every enemy in a given area looks exactly the same. The combat is not as good as This game is soooo OVERRATED it´s not even funny, oh wait! it is! OK the game looks good, it looks better than anything I've ever played on any console, however this only applies to the environments; the character models are nothing to write home about, specially the enemies, they are generic and every enemy in a given area looks exactly the same. The combat is not as good as they make it sound, the only thing I really enjoyed was the story and the dialogue is pretty funny, but really, if I want witty and funny talking characters I´d just rent a movie and that would be a lot cheaper and it wouldn't take as long. In a related story, people who write comments in sites like this have the most horrible writing I´ve ever seen, guys! please, grab a book every once in a while so you can write proper reviews. Expand
  6. Nov 6, 2011
    1
    Absolutely awful. The characters, Drake in particular, are so dull, and there isn't a single line that isn't a cliche. I found it insulting, and can't really understand how can IGN rate it so highly.
  7. cb
    Dec 11, 2009
    2
    Since I played Uncharted 1 I couldnt quit thinking about how great its sequel would be if they fixed the controls and added multiplayer. To my surprise, I thought the sequel was much worse. All you do in single player is climb. This game is broken. I have gotten to two spots in this game where i knew where to climb but the he could not grab the ledge. Both times I spent about 3 hours and Since I played Uncharted 1 I couldnt quit thinking about how great its sequel would be if they fixed the controls and added multiplayer. To my surprise, I thought the sequel was much worse. All you do in single player is climb. This game is broken. I have gotten to two spots in this game where i knew where to climb but the he could not grab the ledge. Both times I spent about 3 hours and died over a 100 times because he would not recognize the ledge to grab. At another point i was supposed to put a dagger into a statue. Well the game never gave me the option to. The triangle button never came up when I was at the statue. I blew about three hours trying to figure out what to do. Finally, all the sudden a cut scene came on that never came on before and it allowed me to put the dagger in. Simply climbing in this game is a major chore. I tried my hardest to finish this game. But I cant beat a broken game. There is so little action in this game. And when you finally get to some, it to is very frustrating. Cut scenes and bad controls ruin the action. At one point I walked up to the boss and shot bullets directly into his head yet it didnt hurt him, and he killed me. But the next time a cut scene happened (why didnt the cut scene occur the first time) and we got into a fight and a simple punch killed him. The action in this game feels forced, manipulative, and buggy. As far as multiplayer goes, it isnt much better. I liked Gears 2 alot, so I couldnt wait for this game because I thought it would be a faster paced version of Gears 2 with the ability to respawn in multiplayer. But its frustrating and felt tacked on. The load times are long. The menus are confusing. And I cant figure out how to switch modes. How do you get into free for all deathmatch? How do you alter your character? Couldnt figure out how co-op worked. When trying to upgrade what does upgrade co-op guns mean? Does it not effect your gun in deathmatch? Overall, I thought Uncharted 2 is possibly the most frustrating game ive ever played. It could have been so good if they would have finished the game and fixed the controls, camera, melee, mulitiplayer, and gave it some of the nice touces of Gears 2 or the new COD, to show they actually care and werent trying to rush it out before the game was finished. If you want a better 3rd person shooter, its not even close, go with Gears 2 or the new Ratchet and clank game. Expand
  8. DV
    Dec 15, 2009
    3
    I expect every good game I play to be innovative in every regard or it has automatically failed. I hate it when games borrow ideas or game mechanics from other games. I don't care if a story has a good game with good characters, I will find and point out alleged bugs that were minor yet proved game-breaking for me. Any game that is not on PC is graphically inferior since it runs at I expect every good game I play to be innovative in every regard or it has automatically failed. I hate it when games borrow ideas or game mechanics from other games. I don't care if a story has a good game with good characters, I will find and point out alleged bugs that were minor yet proved game-breaking for me. Any game that is not on PC is graphically inferior since it runs at lower resolution. People who enjoy games are fanboys and my sole purpose is to find faults in their arguments. Liking a game has to be justified using faulty logic. Expand
  9. Nov 8, 2011
    4
    Almost 2 years later, I still don't see what the big fuss is about. The story and characters are your basic Indiana Jones rip-off with a huge emphasis on the action in-game. While I didn't mind the semi-flat characters or the shockingly dumb plot, the part that really irks me is that the game itself is just not fun. Clunky movement, repetitive gunplay, terrible platforming segments, and toAlmost 2 years later, I still don't see what the big fuss is about. The story and characters are your basic Indiana Jones rip-off with a huge emphasis on the action in-game. While I didn't mind the semi-flat characters or the shockingly dumb plot, the part that really irks me is that the game itself is just not fun. Clunky movement, repetitive gunplay, terrible platforming segments, and to top it all off, completely boring boss fights. Now, admittedly, I haven't played the multiplayer, so maybe I'm missing something. But overall, I don't feel like I could recommend the game to anyone. Expand
  10. SolT
    Dec 10, 2009
    0
    This game will officially go down as officially one of the most overrated games of all time, due to unjustifiably being praised excessively given the lack of blockbuster titles on a largely failed system to the most successful gaming brand of all time in Sony Playstation. The title does not innovate in any way beyond its cinematic presentation and the gameplay is standardised to the core This game will officially go down as officially one of the most overrated games of all time, due to unjustifiably being praised excessively given the lack of blockbuster titles on a largely failed system to the most successful gaming brand of all time in Sony Playstation. The title does not innovate in any way beyond its cinematic presentation and the gameplay is standardised to the core with very little in the way of innovate mechanics that seperate all time great games from merely good ones. Mark my words, when the dust settles on this game, and this game doesn't feature prominently (i.e. in the top 20) in many of the nets greatest games of all time lists (surprise surprise) the gaming world will finally come to the proper realisation that this truly is one of the most overrated games (by both critics and users) of all time. Expand
  11. Aug 6, 2011
    0
    This game is horrible. The puzzles are either easy or broken, the gameplay is tedious (go behind cover, guy sticks his head out, shoot him, repeat) and I could have written a better story at the age of 5. And I'm not a 360 fanboy. Do you want to know what's even worse about this game? That the first game was the exact same god damn thing. That just goes to show that the developers didn'tThis game is horrible. The puzzles are either easy or broken, the gameplay is tedious (go behind cover, guy sticks his head out, shoot him, repeat) and I could have written a better story at the age of 5. And I'm not a 360 fanboy. Do you want to know what's even worse about this game? That the first game was the exact same god damn thing. That just goes to show that the developers didn't learn from their first piece of **** Expand
  12. DanielJ.
    Oct 15, 2009
    0
    This game is very overrated, obv not a 0 but sure as hell nothing higher than an 8, i gave it a 0 mainly as a response to all the unnecessary 10's, I bet most of the people who gave it that haven't even played it, stupid fanboys.
  13. JohanF
    Jan 18, 2010
    3
    It seems to me that there is a very few gaming addicts that rate this game round 0 - 5 in this blog against the other 95% who helps to overate this game. I however have to fall in between the 0 - 5. I played the first one (finished it with great boredom) and can
  14. GarryKasparov
    Nov 9, 2009
    0
    This game has nothing to do with tactics and the game of chess. This game is pure gun fighting with nothing special. Something like the "Super-Mario Chess" is an ingenious game incomparable to Uncharted 2
  15. Aug 30, 2010
    1
    Waste of money! Redundant action, climb some walls, jump some gaps, shoot a couple baddies, repeat. So boring in all aspects. The only reason I gave this game a 1 is because the human graphics are almost lifelike.
  16. LexL
    Oct 15, 2009
    3
    Very underwhelming on all fronts. The graphics are nice but graphics do not make a game. This game is basically a shootan that is masked with awful platforming sections.
  17. ace02
    Jan 26, 2010
    4
    A mix of Tomb Raider,Splinter Cell and kill.switch with better graphics and cinematics. Just like its brother(God of War),this game is just another game but with tricks to make you think that it's awesome. What tricks? Remove the graphics and the explosions and you'll have just one more Tomb Raider clone.
  18. Oct 29, 2011
    0
    This game was a yawn from start to finish.... Off to play some Killzone instead of this crap. The combat was iffy, the cover system was horrible, the guns where generic bullcrap, the level design was so cruddy, the whole game was basicly a massive long tunnel, the graphics are not that amazing, the story is not that great. Overall a very over-rated game. Waste of money! Redundant action,This game was a yawn from start to finish.... Off to play some Killzone instead of this crap. The combat was iffy, the cover system was horrible, the guns where generic bullcrap, the level design was so cruddy, the whole game was basicly a massive long tunnel, the graphics are not that amazing, the story is not that great. Overall a very over-rated game. Waste of money! Redundant action, climb some walls, jump some gaps, shoot a couple baddies, repeat. So boring in all aspects. The only reason I gave this game a 1 is because the human graphics are almost lifelike. Expand
  19. Jan 12, 2012
    1
    This game has bad controls. I personally dislike it due to the clunky shooting mechanics and its overrated.
  20. Mar 17, 2014
    4
    This game has very good scripted action sequences. Few games have done better. But There is only about 3 of them and the rest of the gameplay isn't really all that great. The platforming is bland, the shooting mechanics are off, and the stealth mechanics are downright awful. Not worth it.
  21. DanielJ.
    Feb 17, 2010
    0
    This game is very overrated, obv not a 0 but sure as hell nothing higher than an 8, i gave it a 0 mainly as a response to all the unnecessary 10's, I bet most of the people who gave it that haven't even played it, stupid fanboys.
  22. MEYOU
    Jan 24, 2010
    0
    The graphics were pretty good, but the way the gameplay was i did not like. This game took a 3rd person shooter and messed it up.
  23. olet
    Oct 31, 2009
    1
    This game deserves a 9, but there are issues. The camera sensitivity is realy slow, with no way of adjustments. That can be a real pain in multiplayer, and is bad in the singel and coop mode to. The cover system is also not perfect, becouse when you are walking out of cover and wants to go forward, you are forced to take a little step backwards first, wich with then you are dead in This game deserves a 9, but there are issues. The camera sensitivity is realy slow, with no way of adjustments. That can be a real pain in multiplayer, and is bad in the singel and coop mode to. The cover system is also not perfect, becouse when you are walking out of cover and wants to go forward, you are forced to take a little step backwards first, wich with then you are dead in multiplayer mode. If it was not for this issues, i would rate this game 8, but its not playable before noughtydog fix this things. Expand
  24. Jul 15, 2012
    1
    I love and hate this game at the same time. Sometimes it's just awesome and sometimes it's just kick the crap out of you because of its stupidity. Ololololololololo
  25. KieranS.
    Jan 27, 2010
    1
    I've owned this game since launch. The graphics are poor at best and the online is constantly laggy. Overall I was let down by the badly written story and generic characters. This game tries to copy Gears of War and does it badly.
  26. Aug 13, 2011
    0
    it's a great game, but overrated.
    so I gave it 0 to balance the score.
    portal2 95 and this game 96? I don't agree.
    game play is a little bored but scene is very Great.
  27. Sep 14, 2010
    0
    This game was a yawn from start to finish.... Off to play some Killzone instead of this crap. The combat was iffy, the cover system was horrible, the guns where generic bullcrap, the level design was so cruddy, the whole game was basicly a massive long tunnel, the graphics are not that amazing, the story is not that great. Overall a very over-rated game.
  28. Jul 7, 2012
    0
    I thought I paid for a game, not an interactive movie.
  29. paulg
    Nov 4, 2009
    1
    is it really a 1 no but i had to give it this to counter all the unnecessary 10's its getting from fanboys yes graphically excellent but thats were it stops the gameplay is broken drake constantly rolls when you want him to go into cover causing him to be killed numerous times the enemy ai is beyond retarted and to make up for it naughty dog gives them rpgs and sniper rifles so you is it really a 1 no but i had to give it this to counter all the unnecessary 10's its getting from fanboys yes graphically excellent but thats were it stops the gameplay is broken drake constantly rolls when you want him to go into cover causing him to be killed numerous times the enemy ai is beyond retarted and to make up for it naughty dog gives them rpgs and sniper rifles so you can get blown up trying to get to a sniper rifle of your own instead of spreading the enemies out naughty dog waits untill 1 section of every chapter and sends wave after wave of soliders at you all the rest of the time your just climbing things after chapter 14 the story gets bland and you start to wonder when its going to be over the co op is fun but you only get 2 levels the competitive multiplayer is awful the climbing leads to a abundance of camers i give it a 7.5 10 for graphics but games are about gameplay and unc2 gameplay is not a ten Expand
  30. Jun 28, 2014
    0
    I hate this entire series. It has a garbage cliche story, crappy combat, and out dated textures and graphics for 2009! The graphic aren't even that great in my opinion. This game over uses QuickTime events and mediocre puzzles. This is just a garbage excuse for an action adventure game.
  31. Jan 10, 2013
    4
    Just like the first "Uncharted" game, this one is a marvel in the graphics and sound department and there is some fun to be had, but the game is still ruined by the frustrating "monster closet" combat system. The combat is so un-fun I put the game aside after only a few hours of play and never went back.

    Only slighty more fun than the first one...
  32. Jan 30, 2013
    1
    Graphics are okay, the story seems witty...the positive stop there. I bought a ps3 on my day off work as i have played near enough all the titles that i want to play on my xbox 360 (can't wait a week for Dead Space 3) and this was the title everybody knows for being a ps3 exclusive that is meant to intise people to buying the console (which i did) and can i say what an appauling over ratedGraphics are okay, the story seems witty...the positive stop there. I bought a ps3 on my day off work as i have played near enough all the titles that i want to play on my xbox 360 (can't wait a week for Dead Space 3) and this was the title everybody knows for being a ps3 exclusive that is meant to intise people to buying the console (which i did) and can i say what an appauling over rated game. Someone has paid off reviewers and why not? sales of the ps3 will the rise. The gameplay in this game was attroutious, from the button mashing melee to the assasins creed, prince of persia like platforming and the third person shooting.....dont get me started. I couldnt hit a thing the game just didnt not flow. Nothing makes me want to put this game back in that ps3, i cannot believe how this game is the appitamy of PS3. Shame, both the PS3 and Uncharted are now on ebay. Ill stick with Halo, Alan wake and gears of war 3 as my xbox 360 exclusives thank you very much, Expand
  33. Feb 12, 2013
    1
    To me this game was the franchise's chance to wow me into buying it all for myself, and I gotta say I sure have been cherishing my unspent money ever since. That Drake character is such a safe whitebread cutout he could be in a Disney movie. The main villain himself was a cartoon, constantly sputtering something about the greatness of Hitler and Genghis Khan, names which, in Canada anyway,To me this game was the franchise's chance to wow me into buying it all for myself, and I gotta say I sure have been cherishing my unspent money ever since. That Drake character is such a safe whitebread cutout he could be in a Disney movie. The main villain himself was a cartoon, constantly sputtering something about the greatness of Hitler and Genghis Khan, names which, in Canada anyway, mean absolutely nothing. The story was only there to lead you from Pretty Colours A to Pretty Colours B, and those Colours go bland after even half an hour, if you're masochistic enough to go through that horribly broken stealth section. In short, I don't recommend it to anyone in particular, not to cinephiles and certainly not to gamers.
    A.B.
    Expand
  34. Jun 29, 2013
    4
    Uncharted... why why why. I played the first uncharted game for awhile and was on my list of games to buy when I finally decided to pick up a PS3 and it was horrible. It suffers from trying to mix a Tomb Raider genre and a 3rd Person shooter into one and just ends up being a hard to control, no fun game. I forced myself to play the original for a couple of hours before I had to give up.Uncharted... why why why. I played the first uncharted game for awhile and was on my list of games to buy when I finally decided to pick up a PS3 and it was horrible. It suffers from trying to mix a Tomb Raider genre and a 3rd Person shooter into one and just ends up being a hard to control, no fun game. I forced myself to play the original for a couple of hours before I had to give up.

    Yet with all the reviews going on for uncharted I decided to give the second a shot and it was the same thing in a different world. Dare I say that the combat ruins the game making it unplayable. Sure you could argue that I'm just a bad player but here is the deal, its not fun.

    While the adventure part in its own right ranks much higher please stop trying to force me into firefights where I sit at one bunker and pop out of cover to shoot. This is enjoyable in Gears of War but this game just doesn't do it well.
    Expand
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 105 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Mixed: 0 out of 105
  2. Negative: 0 out of 105
  1. 100
    Spread across twenty-six chapters is a story as playful and worthwhile as the gameplay.
  2. Graphically stunning, Uncharted 2: Among Thieves is, first of all, an interactive adventure, one that feels like a movie and even has a storyline of a movie. Most gameplay situations have been tailored in order to stun the player with originality and identification, and the end result is absolutely amazing.
  3. Among Thieves is all about constant movement. And even movement on top of movement. It grabbed me from the beginning and didn't let go for twelve hours. Once I finished, all I could think about was playing it again. More than a defining game for the PS3, Uncharted 2 is a defining game of this console generation.