Uncharted 2: Among Thieves PlayStation 3

  • Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Oct 13, 2009
User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 4466 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 2, 2012
    7
    Plays like an action movie, which is kind of cool but at the same time kind of problematic. The set-pieces are fantastic and the locales and graphics are finely crafted and detailed. The cut-scenes are some of the best in games but then... there is the gameplay. The thing that makes this, you know, a game. Combat is fairly one-note, predictable and overall not that fun. PlatformingPlays like an action movie, which is kind of cool but at the same time kind of problematic. The set-pieces are fantastic and the locales and graphics are finely crafted and detailed. The cut-scenes are some of the best in games but then... there is the gameplay. The thing that makes this, you know, a game. Combat is fairly one-note, predictable and overall not that fun. Platforming sections are okay, some more enjoyable than others. I feel like this game puts story ahead of gameplay, and the game suffers as a result of this. Still great to look at though. Expand
  2. Apr 10, 2012
    7
    Uncharted 2: Among Thieves is a very solid adventure game with stunning graphics. Lots of people seem to think that this is one of the best games of all time. I'm not one of them. Uncharted 2 was fun, but I did not think it to be exceptional. There were times in the game when I became frustrated. This frustration wasn't born from the game's difficulty but from it's design. The seeminglyUncharted 2: Among Thieves is a very solid adventure game with stunning graphics. Lots of people seem to think that this is one of the best games of all time. I'm not one of them. Uncharted 2 was fun, but I did not think it to be exceptional. There were times in the game when I became frustrated. This frustration wasn't born from the game's difficulty but from it's design. The seemingly endless hoards of enemies that frequently attack you feels quite like, well, a 'hoard' mode. It feels basic and tacky. The climbing also seems fairly rudimentary and limited when compared to something like Assassin's Creed. I don't mean to savage the game too much, though, as it does have some very strong elements. The script is descent and the acting is very strong. It makes for a compelling reason to finish the game, even when the gameplay isn't pulling it's weight. The graphics can sometimes dazzle and create truly special moments, such as climbing up high and catching the sight of a spectacular vista. In the end, I felt Uncharted was a solid game that was worth playing... But it didn't meet my expectations for "The Best Game Ever". Expand
  3. RavenX301
    Oct 14, 2009
    7
    A little big over blown. I don't care much for it...at least not to the point that I see this game scoring better than games like Batman AA or Demon Souls. It is very, very, VERY linear...ALMOST to the point of the new Prince of Persia. Also the gun play isn't really all that interesting. Considering the reviews on this game, I was expecting much better than this. After the A little big over blown. I don't care much for it...at least not to the point that I see this game scoring better than games like Batman AA or Demon Souls. It is very, very, VERY linear...ALMOST to the point of the new Prince of Persia. Also the gun play isn't really all that interesting. Considering the reviews on this game, I was expecting much better than this. After the first couple days, I'm back on Demon Souls. I know these are two completely different games, but Uncharted 2 really does not warrant its high 90's reviews. Expand
  4. Dec 19, 2013
    7
    One of the most beautiful games I've ever seen. The gameplay is almost perfect. It's fun, but I find it hard to be able to follow the storyline somehow. I can't put my finger on it. The thing is, besides being technically perfect, this is just a standard third person shooter. There is absolutely nothing original here. It's probably just me, but the game doesn't really touch me, it's just aOne of the most beautiful games I've ever seen. The gameplay is almost perfect. It's fun, but I find it hard to be able to follow the storyline somehow. I can't put my finger on it. The thing is, besides being technically perfect, this is just a standard third person shooter. There is absolutely nothing original here. It's probably just me, but the game doesn't really touch me, it's just a very well made shooter, there's no angle, nothing new or original, nothing to draw me in.
    For some reason this game gets better reviews then the first one. I don't understand why, not much has changed.
    Expand
  5. Mar 5, 2011
    7
    I think the best way to summarize Uncharted 2 in two words it would be ''popcorn game''.
    Uncharted 2 is one of those games that are really fun and epic but don't do much more then that. I'ts fun shooting tons of enemies and Uncharted 2 makes sure that you will shoot as many as possible. The problem is that the game doesn't do much to be original or add anything beyond that, just like the
    I think the best way to summarize Uncharted 2 in two words it would be ''popcorn game''.
    Uncharted 2 is one of those games that are really fun and epic but don't do much more then that. I'ts fun shooting tons of enemies and Uncharted 2 makes sure that you will shoot as many as possible. The problem is that the game doesn't do much to be original or add anything beyond that, just like the first uncharted. The story is ridiculous. The characters are nothing less then stereotypes, and the humor as simple and somewhat retarded. There are also millions of times where Drake and his friends were supposed to die and somehow they survive. Drake is apperantly inhuman since he can climb any small crany in the wall and jump ridiculous distances or catching a ledge at the last secong( for the gazillionth time). It's as if the Naughty dog did it on purpose that the ''platforming'' sequences will be this laughable. The game also has puzzles which test nothing else then your ability of sight( matching colors with status and such, really simple and slightly retarded stuff) so these aren't really puzzles. Putting the **** stuff aside the game is a blast and i mean it. The shooting elements in the game are far better then the platforming ones and are really the best thing about it. It's a 10 hour rollercoaster of fun shooting and it also has multiplayer which is nice. For all that it's worth the game is worth a ride for shooters fans. People who love platforming games( such as mario, sly, ratchet etc) will be really disappointed with the platforming elements in this game. In the end it's a solid shooter that's worth a mention but I have no idea why did it outhype Jesus with so many AAAAAAAA scores.
    Expand
  6. Jan 2, 2012
    6
    Somewhat overrated...The presentation is stunning, the graphics and aesthetics remain amazing to this date, but when you break it down to the core gameplay, you're left with a mediocre title which fails to engage. The shooting is downright boring, with very basic enemy A.I. and horrible gun sounds, the melee combat is underwhelming with only a few (bad) moves, the sneaking is even worseSomewhat overrated...The presentation is stunning, the graphics and aesthetics remain amazing to this date, but when you break it down to the core gameplay, you're left with a mediocre title which fails to engage. The shooting is downright boring, with very basic enemy A.I. and horrible gun sounds, the melee combat is underwhelming with only a few (bad) moves, the sneaking is even worse because of the A.I., or the lack thereof. Climbing lacks variety or suspense(think of the Prince of Persia series) and the puzzles are ridiculously easy. Combine all this with the most annoyingly cliché Russian villains and soldiers you can imagine and it becomes clear why Uncharted deuce fails to impress. Expand
  7. Jun 10, 2012
    5
    If you're staggered by an explosion, enemies can shoot you, even if your character is clearly in cover. The melee combat is flawed, with no real way to exit combat, or cancel into other moves like the previous 2 games. There are times where the game feels like it's just throwing enemies at you for the sake of making it more difficult, only to have it be incredibly annoying.
  8. jeffl
    Nov 2, 2009
    6
    For some reason i didnt really enjoy the game. I was expecting a gears feel to the game but for some reason the controls felt clunky and counter intuitive and I felt Drake moved awkward. Anyways played the game for 2.5 hours and after 1.5 hours of play I felt more of a duty to move on then me having fun trying to finish the game.
  9. Nov 4, 2011
    6
    The most overrated game ever. After reading all the reviews, i had really high expectations.Yes the graphics were pretty, but the game itself was boring, and it repeated itself. The plot was like from a chinese copy of an indiana jones movie. It sucked. The gameplay and co-op were really good, and they pretty much saved the game. But still i cant really recommend it to anyone.
  10. bt
    Dec 9, 2009
    6
    Way too much looking around to find where to climb to next in single player. This game isnt a 3rd person shooter like people say, its more of a platformer. You spend the vast majority of your time looking where to climb to next and its very frustrating. Poor controls too. MP is a confusing mess. Cant figure out how to upgrade my character, choose my booster, choose any deathmatch other Way too much looking around to find where to climb to next in single player. This game isnt a 3rd person shooter like people say, its more of a platformer. You spend the vast majority of your time looking where to climb to next and its very frustrating. Poor controls too. MP is a confusing mess. Cant figure out how to upgrade my character, choose my booster, choose any deathmatch other then team, or play the horde mode (which I heard this game has). Also under my stats in multiplayer it says ive killed 0 people. That isnt right. Its just a confusing mess with bad controls and terrible melee. The graphics are great (though they didnt blow me away the way uncharted 1 did) and the voice acting is wonderful. Lacks the gore, chainsaws, crawling to a teammate, headstomping and other cool things in Gears 2. And lacks the instant respawns and replays of deaths of CODMW2. Expand
  11. TonyL.
    Nov 8, 2009
    5
    This is probably the most overrated and hyped game of 2009. I played this at a friend's on his 47" 1080P LCD w/ HDMI and honestly the visuals did not impress me, since I usually game on PC with a powerful machine. The game looked like it was running at 720P and had weak textures, including jaggies. Sad how some say this is the best looking thing out there. Besides the visuals, this This is probably the most overrated and hyped game of 2009. I played this at a friend's on his 47" 1080P LCD w/ HDMI and honestly the visuals did not impress me, since I usually game on PC with a powerful machine. The game looked like it was running at 720P and had weak textures, including jaggies. Sad how some say this is the best looking thing out there. Besides the visuals, this game is very unoriginal; meaning it steals a lot of other game's mechanics. This game even felt too short for 60 bucks. Also, I did not like the controls... although its most likely because I've spent my time firing virtual guns near accurate with you know, a computer mouse. I ended up asking my friend if this game was overrated and he replied in a mellow way that, yeah it was and kind of short. If you're an open-minded gamer and isn't biased, you will agree with my review. I am puzzled how Viorel 800022 gave this game a 10, yet saying he has a full list of complaints for Uncharted 2. This game just really isn't so godly. Expand
  12. ????????
    Nov 9, 2009
    6
    Easily the 2nd most overated game on ps3 (1st inFamous) has some god bits but is repatative all the way through with the same shoot, climb, shoot so if you want a good action game buy Arkham Asylum instead, it beats it bycountry mile
  13. GusC
    Dec 31, 2009
    5
    Meh. This is really no different from every other adventure blockbluster. There's a lackluster plot, repetitive gameplay, uninspired sidequests, all adding up to no fun for an experienced gamer. The graphics are top notch, however, so if you are won over by eye candy, this alone may get you by.
  14. WillC
    Nov 19, 2009
    6
    Yes. The game looks amazing. I agree with that. But the gameplay is generic and is nothing new. The characters are voiced well, but not very relatable. The set pieces are pretty impressive, but mainly on a visual level. The multiplayer is good, but generic. Generic, but very pretty
  15. kosmow
    Nov 25, 2009
    6
    I don't understand what all the fuss is about this game is... Take away the graphics and one is left with a standard linear action game, with lots of wall climbing, easy to solve puzzles and whats that another wave of bad guys to shoot at. Think I've played this game before....
  16. fanlyficks
    Dec 25, 2009
    6
    over hyped game, not so bad but not so good either. the best part were the dialogues and yes, they deserve a 9. the rest is just Uncharted 2 with some more polished graphics.
  17. DavidS
    Oct 26, 2009
    6
    First off, this game is very overrated, I bought my PS3 in 2007 and was disappointed by the major lack of good games coming out for it. However, there were a couple things i could hold above my xbox 360 owning friends's heads - the original Uncharted and Metal Gear Solid 4. besides, my PS3 doesnt get red rings and die every time i turn it on. other than that, well we all know xbox First off, this game is very overrated, I bought my PS3 in 2007 and was disappointed by the major lack of good games coming out for it. However, there were a couple things i could hold above my xbox 360 owning friends's heads - the original Uncharted and Metal Gear Solid 4. besides, my PS3 doesnt get red rings and die every time i turn it on. other than that, well we all know xbox 360 is probably the winner of this gen, lol actually its the Wii for sales but whatever, because it has much better software, no not games, the operating system is much friendlier and everything is easier to use, but hey, it breaks. also, our exclusives are twice as good as theirs, gears? lol that game sucks, but dont compare it to Killzone, that sucked too. actually there were no good exclusives this time around, except for the first Uncharted. Great set pieces, voice acting, story, graphics, gameplay. So naturally i was psyched for this game and all the hype it was receiving, it looked like the best game ever. Boy was I wrong. Don't get me wrong, its alright, its capable, just not what I was hoping for. graphics remain unchanged, and come on, do we really want worse graphics than that uber crappy gears of war 2? sure we might call them fanboys when they say how good gears is, but we have to shut up when asked how uncharted compares. textures are not smooth, they are jaggy and not detailed anywhere except for character models, and animations are STIFF. I could not believe it, everything was so robotic, I dreaded the horrible platforming sections. the mechanics are still good, being unchanged from the superior first installment, but nothing is improved upon enough to warrant this game a purchase. Please, all you people buying the new Slim and getting into the steadily-growing-better-than-360 playstation experience - buy the first game but skip this one. This is one game i do not mind gamestop ripping me off on a trade in for, i haven't felt this way since resident evil 5! Expand
  18. DennisH.
    Oct 14, 2009
    5
    If you enjoy watching long, between-level cutscenes and constantly having play stopped during gameplay for mini cutscenes then this is the game for you! Unfortunately for me, I don't. As a result I'm not able to even remotely enjoy this game. Yes, it is absolutely beautiful. The best looking game on any console, period! If you like Metal Gear Solid and/or watching a movie while If you enjoy watching long, between-level cutscenes and constantly having play stopped during gameplay for mini cutscenes then this is the game for you! Unfortunately for me, I don't. As a result I'm not able to even remotely enjoy this game. Yes, it is absolutely beautiful. The best looking game on any console, period! If you like Metal Gear Solid and/or watching a movie while holding your PS3 controller, then you will love this game. If not, don't even bother with it. Expand
  19. Mar 14, 2011
    6
    I really wanted to love this game, but I can't honestly even say that I like it all that much. The main reason: it's monotonous. I was really into this game for about the first quarter or so, but as I made more and more progress, I realized that there really wasn't much else to the game play. It's just a series of endless climbing puzzles in tandem with endless gun battles against foesI really wanted to love this game, but I can't honestly even say that I like it all that much. The main reason: it's monotonous. I was really into this game for about the first quarter or so, but as I made more and more progress, I realized that there really wasn't much else to the game play. It's just a series of endless climbing puzzles in tandem with endless gun battles against foes with lousy AI. What makes matters even worse is how incredibly linear the game is. I knew when I bought it that I wasn't getting an open world game like Fallout, but it would be nice if you could explore a bit more to break up some of the boredom. The single player campaign isn't all that long, but it seems much longer than it really is due to the repetitive and tedious nature of the game play. I'm about 90 percent of the way through and at this point, I'm just struggling to finish it. I don't even care about finding all of the treasures anymore. I will say that visually the game is quite stunning and for some, that might be enough to carry the day. Expand
  20. Aug 5, 2012
    6
    You know, this game is good but at the same time is extremely overrated. The story is nothing to write home about, the first 4 Tomb Raiders had the same storyline - and even better ones - and in 1996/1999. Actually, this game copies A LOT of stuff in the old and classic Tomb Raider games (the 'tibetan dagger', the Tibet itself, the Monastery, the train fight, the bad guy who wants theYou know, this game is good but at the same time is extremely overrated. The story is nothing to write home about, the first 4 Tomb Raiders had the same storyline - and even better ones - and in 1996/1999. Actually, this game copies A LOT of stuff in the old and classic Tomb Raider games (the 'tibetan dagger', the Tibet itself, the Monastery, the train fight, the bad guy who wants the artifact to have all power, and I could go on). The gameplay is repetitive and the cutscenes are excessive (better than UC3 at least, that was a pain in the ass, cutscenes EVERYWHERE). The platforming is nothing exceptional. The best things? The graphics, the atmosphere, the lypsinching and Nathan Drake is a funny character. People just give it a 10 because it has superb graphics, the plot/gameplay stuff was made years ago and better, IMO. Expand
  21. TheChosenOne
    Jan 22, 2010
    6
    Ridiculously overrated... This is a perfect example of people mimmicking whatever mag they read. Notice how anybody who criticises it is a '360 fanboy'? Yes well done, your complimenting the framerate not dropping and the draw distance, just like IGN. You must be really clever. Anybody that can see past their own hand will immediately realise this is just another linear Ridiculously overrated... This is a perfect example of people mimmicking whatever mag they read. Notice how anybody who criticises it is a '360 fanboy'? Yes well done, your complimenting the framerate not dropping and the draw distance, just like IGN. You must be really clever. Anybody that can see past their own hand will immediately realise this is just another linear platformer. About 10-12 hrs, and there is not really that much replayability either. And you can forget "hundreds of hours" on multiplayer. I've never heard so much garbage in my life. Now don't get me wrong this is not a bad game at all, but its certainly nothing 'revolutionary'. I suppose its natural, a kind of defense mechanism, a reason to defend ones purchased console. Expand
  22. Feb 23, 2011
    6
    i know right? a 6 breez? a freaking 6? yup dawg a 6....snatch my manhood card for a week...ban me from my ps3...a very overrated, BORING, dull, experience... i fell to see the interest in this game... technically its a masterpiece, i understand most enjoy it. just not me... i'm having trouble concentrating on it...because i just don't care about nathan drake or his dull adventure. LARA CROFT!
  23. Ridnarhtim
    Jan 6, 2010
    6
    Most overrated game this year. Okay, so the graphics are amazing, and the dialogue is usually smooth and witty. But the controls are awful, it made the game frustrating for me to constantly jump into holes, cover behind the wrong objects, and roll off cliffs. The camera was quite frequently completely off, causing me to suddenly find myself running around blindly in the hectic of combat. Most overrated game this year. Okay, so the graphics are amazing, and the dialogue is usually smooth and witty. But the controls are awful, it made the game frustrating for me to constantly jump into holes, cover behind the wrong objects, and roll off cliffs. The camera was quite frequently completely off, causing me to suddenly find myself running around blindly in the hectic of combat. Enemies seemed to occasionally spawn behind me, causing me to suddenly be surprised and die, adding to the frustration. The game does nothing new, it's repetitive, you spend most of your time shooting ridiculous numbers of enemies, and the puzzles weren't challenging in the slightest. Not to mention the disgusting story progression in the last third or so. Having said all that, it's a fantastic cinematic experience, have your friends watch you play the first few levels and watch their jaws drop. But don't play too far, or they may realise just how repetitive and linear the gameplay truly is. Expand
  24. HowdyD
    Oct 24, 2009
    6
    Gotta be honest, this game annoyed the crap out of me, and I had such fond memories of the first one. It seems just like that last Tomb Raider which was a disaster. And the jumping and climbing should have been toned down for more gunplay. I think it's a problem with these "story" games. There's no challenge or accomplishment. You put in the time, and you get walked through the Gotta be honest, this game annoyed the crap out of me, and I had such fond memories of the first one. It seems just like that last Tomb Raider which was a disaster. And the jumping and climbing should have been toned down for more gunplay. I think it's a problem with these "story" games. There's no challenge or accomplishment. You put in the time, and you get walked through the game. Pass. Expand
  25. Oct 14, 2011
    5
    Unlike the original Uncharted, that had a simple interesing story taking you through a short game that had spectacular visuals and "good" gameplay... the guys at naughty dog thought they could re do the entire game and make it better by just making it bigger longer and... well... prettier. to be honest. this game did not work for me. halfway through i was tired of shooting soldiers... likeUnlike the original Uncharted, that had a simple interesing story taking you through a short game that had spectacular visuals and "good" gameplay... the guys at naughty dog thought they could re do the entire game and make it better by just making it bigger longer and... well... prettier. to be honest. this game did not work for me. halfway through i was tired of shooting soldiers... like seriously how many can there be, I did not care about the story... kinda forgot what the hell i was doing anyway. not a great game. totally overrated. Expand
  26. Nov 14, 2012
    6
    Great beginning, pretty good middle, horrible third act.
    Story remains pretty good but loses some of its daring, action becomes more scripted and repetition becomes unbearable.
  27. Jun 25, 2011
    5
    Uncharted 2 is the most insanely overrated game of all time. Much more so that Final Fantasy VII or Ocarina of Time. The fanboys for this game have my utmost pity. It's not necessarily a bad game but the over-whelming amount of perfect scores and awards this game gets really shows how gaming is going down the toilet. Where do I begin? There are so many things to pick apart, so fewUncharted 2 is the most insanely overrated game of all time. Much more so that Final Fantasy VII or Ocarina of Time. The fanboys for this game have my utmost pity. It's not necessarily a bad game but the over-whelming amount of perfect scores and awards this game gets really shows how gaming is going down the toilet. Where do I begin? There are so many things to pick apart, so few characters. How bout the graphics? Yes, technically the graphics and animations are top-notch, but that doesn't mean that they're appealing to look at. Uncharted 2 has a very generic look to it. At least in the mountainous levels (which make up most of the game). Most of the game is quite uninteresting to look at unlike the first game. Something that's not helped by the fact that there really isn't ever much going on screen. Maps are small and usually have few enemies, no destruction, and some really bad textures. So is it really that impressive for them to have such good graphics? Not that graphics make a game good. But I bring it up because any Uncharted 2 fanboy will never shut up about the graphics. Much like they will tell you about how amazing the story and characters are. The story is as generic and unsatisfying as they come. Even compared to a summer flick movie like Transformers, the story in Uncharted 2 boils down to being an excuse to go around the world. Same goes for the characters. They're generic, annoying, and unlikable. Especially Nathan Drake- who is so moronic that he gets back-stabbed, not once, but twice by Cloe throughout the game and he STILL trusts her. He also has nothing interesting to say aside from some history lessons and failed attempted jokes. Moving on. The final point made by Uncharted fanboys is that the game "plays like a movie". My question is How in their feeble minds, is that a good thing? How is it good that a game plays like a movie? Shouldn't it play like- oh I don't know... A GAME! Indeed. Uncharted plays like a movie. Only one where you're forced to move the character and do other such button presses. Much of your time will be spent watching cutscenes. And even when you're not technically watching cutscenes, the gameplay is so mind-bogglingly linear that it's pretty much the equivalent of watching cutscenes. Especially the combat. This game was clearly dumbed down for dumbass casuals that just got done playing Call of Duty with their fraghead friends. The combat is so easy now. I remember playing Uncharted 1 and being destroyed with challenge. It was frustrating at times, sure. But it was fun and helped the gameplay. The maps were large and you'd face waves of 10 or 20 enemies. All of whom took no less than a half a clip of ammo to kill. You couldn't hold nearly enough ammo to take all of them which would force you move your ass out of the cover you're on, into fire, and find more ammo or better yet, different guns. It was exciting. In Uncharted 2, that's all gone. Maps are small and confined, and you can win each firefight by sitting at one bit of cover with an AK-47, until the enemies start spawning on your side of the cover. It' gets so boring because of this. The only times I really died during U2 were because of **** who hit me with RPGs or because of environmental stuff like the infamous tank level. This kind of thing is really getting annoying in games where you're punished by instant death for not knowing what to do. You put up with all this crap for easily the most **** ending I've ever seen in a game. In short, the singleplayer for this game was a disaster. The one interesting part of this game WAS the competetive multiplayer. It was really fun, especially in a party. It played like Gears of War but with much more maneuverability. You could climb anything and the maps were well designed. But Naughty Dog ruined it by constantly updating the game and tweaking. So often that I got pissed off. It didn't help that there was never a large population on the game. The most I ever saw online was 15,000 at once (which is pretty sad since over 3 million ppl had already bought the game). The co-op was also dull. It lacked much platforming or puzzles and there were only 3 levels. In short, this game average at best. I can't believe people have the nerve to say that it's one of the best games of all time. Even of 2009. It's a mess. I hope Naughty Dog learns their lesson before Uncharted 3. I used to be their #1 fan. Now, they're dead to me. Expand
  28. Sep 5, 2012
    6
    A great adventure movie but a terrible "game". The aspects of Uncharted 2 that have nothing to do with gameplay are so good that I withstood 7 hours of pure gameplay misery to see them to completion. I once read a gaming article that said if your game in prototype form is not fun to just walk around, then your game is not going to be fun. The gamer-avatar connection in Uncharted 2, as withA great adventure movie but a terrible "game". The aspects of Uncharted 2 that have nothing to do with gameplay are so good that I withstood 7 hours of pure gameplay misery to see them to completion. I once read a gaming article that said if your game in prototype form is not fun to just walk around, then your game is not going to be fun. The gamer-avatar connection in Uncharted 2, as with Uncharted 1, is simply broken. The movement system (both on foot and on walls) is imprecise, sluggish, and unpredictable. It causes me mental pain to play this game because your avatar, Drake, will not do what you want. It's the same sort of mental pain when you write with your non-dominant hand. This is not a function of games in general, because I re-played some Mass Effect 2 to see if I was crazy, and it felt incredibly responsive, precise, and predictable. Guess what I'm doing for Uncharted 3? I'll watch a video of it. I will get all the good parts with none of the misery. What are the good parts? Anything that is unrelated to gameplay: the one-liner writing, art assets (some of the best texturing I've ever seen), lighting, vistas, sense of adventure, outstanding music, etc. I will never buy another Naughty Dog (the developer) game without renting it first. Expand
  29. Jun 28, 2012
    5
    The original was fun in many ways. This one is visually just as impressive if not better. Also, the Tomb Raider 2 influences are definitely present (Daggers, Tibet, etc) though that is a good thing. Honestly, this game doesn't really do me in. I feel liked I had more fun with the original. I see some notable improvements in this one over the original, but really it feels like the sameThe original was fun in many ways. This one is visually just as impressive if not better. Also, the Tomb Raider 2 influences are definitely present (Daggers, Tibet, etc) though that is a good thing. Honestly, this game doesn't really do me in. I feel liked I had more fun with the original. I see some notable improvements in this one over the original, but really it feels like the same game. It's not a bad one, but I'm not into basic platforming games and heavy emphasis on shooting. Expand
  30. Jul 5, 2013
    7
    What to say? After 1st part I expected awesomeness! Got good game, but worse than first part. Game is totally polished with great graphics, sound, cutscenes, but gameplay from 1st part awesome become shooting gallery. It's almost survival gameplay. Further, while some parts are technically PERFECT their gameplay is concurrent for most boring gameplay of all times (referring to train partWhat to say? After 1st part I expected awesomeness! Got good game, but worse than first part. Game is totally polished with great graphics, sound, cutscenes, but gameplay from 1st part awesome become shooting gallery. It's almost survival gameplay. Further, while some parts are technically PERFECT their gameplay is concurrent for most boring gameplay of all times (referring to train part of the game). Overall good game with almost no story. Only shooting. Expand
  31. May 2, 2014
    5
    Save yourself some cash and watch an Indiana Jones movie while holding a controller. Any one of them will do, even that turd with Shia LeBeouf. You will get better story, characters and gameplay. Plus you'll save yourself about 10 hours you can sink into something more fun, like staring at a wall. If it's on VHS Uncharted may have it in the graphics department, but that is about it.
  32. Jan 15, 2014
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Uncharted 2 does a great homage for the most popular action-adventure films out there like the Indiana Jones movies. The cinematics are very well done, with tons of detail on the graphics, great music score (especially the Main Theme) and great characters that made up this game. Unlike The Last of Us, where the pace is extremely slow, this game has a ton of action, involving shooting, fist fights and parkour, all blended in with explosions and funny humor, including some puzzle solving. Unfortunately, there are some things that break immersion: it seems more plot driven than character driven, as I felt that there was almost no moment where I feel a connection with the characters, not even Nathan Drake himself. There are moments in the story that made no sense, and Chloe Frazer, Nathan´s new girlfriend, was highly unlikable, because even though I don´t have problem with people who are just themselves, she has an unstable change of personality: she´s good, she´s bad, she´s good, she´s bad, for no apparent reason! Also, in the gameplay, there´s an excessive amount of enemies, and I find it illogical: it seemed that Lazaravich, the antagonist, who is considered to be a major criminal who kills, mutilates and disrupts innocent people, had the entire Russian Army with him. And while the shooting mechanics gets the job done, the melee combat was highly ineffective, as Nathan is somewhat slow to land a single hit. But the biggest flaw is the fact that Nathan kills a thousand enemies like some sort of killing machine, and that may detract the player from the experience. And where the hell is Victor Sullivan?! I think he was the funniest of all the characters here, with the most awesome voice so far, and he doesn´t appear a lot in the game! For the rest of the game, I enjoyed it a lot, especially the boarding train sequence, as it shows a great example of how Naughty Dog handles its technology for epicness. The multiplayer is a ton of fun, and I played a lot of competitive matches. Now, even with the excessive waves and waves of enemies, I found it to be a decent experience overall. Expand
  33. Jul 11, 2014
    6
    This game was really very poor compared to Uncharted 1 and Uncharted 3 - which were great. The locations in this game are dull and boring, and the story is poorly written, probably because Sully is more or less not in the game.
    The free-running really sucks in this particular game, and combat is very unrealistic.
  34. May 15, 2015
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I do not have to say anything more. But i need to write one hundred and fifty characters. i think my score can describe it............................ Expand
  35. GypsumFantastic
    Jan 4, 2010
    7
    It's visually lush, has some exciting plot points. I liked the voice acting and soundtrack - both pretty cinematic. It's a completely linear adventure on rails. Each area is presented in order and there's no opportunity to revisit completed areas. The controls can clunk a bit - eg the system for ducking in and out of cover can be a bit awkward, and occasional sudden camera It's visually lush, has some exciting plot points. I liked the voice acting and soundtrack - both pretty cinematic. It's a completely linear adventure on rails. Each area is presented in order and there's no opportunity to revisit completed areas. The controls can clunk a bit - eg the system for ducking in and out of cover can be a bit awkward, and occasional sudden camera movements can catch you out. It's quite good but by no means a perfect game. I don't know how it got so many 100% reviews. Expand
  36. FrancisN
    Oct 13, 2009
    7
    I love this game. It is something the ps3 has really need for a long time. The action, shooting and characters are all well made. The voice acting is the best I have seen in a PS3 game since Killzone 2. This is going to be the PlayStation number one title of all other PlayStation games release this year. Killzone 2 was a great game with good graphics but this game has everything and more. I love this game. It is something the ps3 has really need for a long time. The action, shooting and characters are all well made. The voice acting is the best I have seen in a PS3 game since Killzone 2. This is going to be the PlayStation number one title of all other PlayStation games release this year. Killzone 2 was a great game with good graphics but this game has everything and more. How each mission is planned out it looks like your watching a movie, but not in a metal gear type way where you start to lose interest. It bring you in to its world! Expand
  37. RZ
    Oct 16, 2009
    7
    Most of the game is okay. The game however is poorly designed in most of its sections, mainly the train level. Just like in the first one, you will die MANY times to cheap deaths. It's nothing skill-related, it's trial and error for the most part. This game is a huge product of hype.
  38. DaveJ
    Nov 15, 2009
    7
    Maybe I'm just a tough critic but I don't believe Uncharted 2 deserves a 10. Don't get me wrong, the game is good - but is it great?... Not in my opinion. My issues are with the linearity of the game. Why is there only one path, this is a game that could easily incorporate several different routes to reach the same destination. It makes it all too easy. Choosing where your Maybe I'm just a tough critic but I don't believe Uncharted 2 deserves a 10. Don't get me wrong, the game is good - but is it great?... Not in my opinion. My issues are with the linearity of the game. Why is there only one path, this is a game that could easily incorporate several different routes to reach the same destination. It makes it all too easy. Choosing where your next jump will be has no consequence at all; if you try to jump off a ledge you Expand
  39. Lazarebeech
    Nov 3, 2009
    7
    This review is on the single player campaign. I have not played the first Uncharted and went into the game with an open mind. I'm not the one to easily fall into the "hype" mode expecting great things. I am a casual gamer and rather a very picky one at that. The last game I found pleasure and worth my time was Metal Gear Solid 4. I have Assassin's Creed and Resident Evil 5 which This review is on the single player campaign. I have not played the first Uncharted and went into the game with an open mind. I'm not the one to easily fall into the "hype" mode expecting great things. I am a casual gamer and rather a very picky one at that. The last game I found pleasure and worth my time was Metal Gear Solid 4. I have Assassin's Creed and Resident Evil 5 which has been sitting on my shelf for months still factory sealed. One of these days I'll have the desire and courage to try them out. Well, on to the review of Uncharted 2. The game was very fun and manageable even on the hardest level. The cinematics, the voice acting, the story, the graphics, and the gameplay were all top notch production values. The unlockables were interesting and a novel idea. However the problem for me was in the gameplay's cover system, shooting, and platforming that prevented the game scoring any higher. Cover System. Very finicky during firefights where I wanted to cover behind a broken down wall however the character kepted on covering in the open on the opposite side whereby I would get killed in the most frustrating way because the cover system is not polished. And this mainly happens around corners. Keep in mind on the "hard" and "crushing" difficulty levels, you will die alot and repeat a section many many times over until you finally figure out a way. On "crushing", you die with just a couple bullets and the screen turns gray and stays gray for a much longer time than on other levels as well as smarter enemies that will flank you and use team work and their aiming is probably better than yours. That is why a good cover mechanic is so important in the hardest level and online. Shooting. The shooting portion was a steep learning curve for me as I am used to the mouse for aiming accuracy. The right thumb pad is not the best for shooters and nothing will ever beat the mouse in ease and accuracy of shots. That's why I usually stay away from shooting games on the PS3. However after I played through the game once, the aiming and shooting became alot more comfortable and yet it can't ever be compared to the ease and accuracy of using a mouse. Platforming. Now this is the part I hated playing. It was tedious and boring with no replay value. Not that it was difficult rather the fact I was wasting my time on such a wasteful gameplay element. There were too many platforming sections. I would rather view more cutscenes then spend another minute on such a boring and brainless aspect of the game. After completing the game on "hard" and "crushing" as well as unlocking everything and buying everything I would not go back to the single player portion of the game for a long time because of the platforming and puzzle solving sections of the game which was a complete waste of my time. And it's not fun playing certain chapters as it is playing the game from start to finish. There would have been more replay value if they had included different endings and different paths however the game is incessantly linear. And because the platforming is so boring and so frequent, replay value is practically nonexistant. Nontheless, this game is solid overall and kept me entertained for the most part. I will definitely try out the multiplayer and there might be a score upgrade. Expand
  40. BH
    Oct 22, 2009
    7
    The most over-rated game since GTAIV. Don't believe the hype. The graphics, which everyone seems to be raving about are definitely not amazing. Theres nothing wrong with them but they certainly aren't anything special. And the story, well lets just say if you've seen an Indiana Jones movie before then nothing in this story will surprise you. Gameplay is incredibly The most over-rated game since GTAIV. Don't believe the hype. The graphics, which everyone seems to be raving about are definitely not amazing. Theres nothing wrong with them but they certainly aren't anything special. And the story, well lets just say if you've seen an Indiana Jones movie before then nothing in this story will surprise you. Gameplay is incredibly repetitive, especially the platforming and puzzle sections which feel like they were added solely to boost the campaign's length (8-9 hour campaign) The best bit about the game is it's online competitive mode, which concentrates solely on gunplay, Uncharted 2's best part. Don't get me wrong the game isn't bad by any stretch, even I will admit that the voice acting is very good, and you will probably enjoy your time playing it, but it's still nowhere near a 9.6/10 game. Expand
  41. FPSMaster
    Dec 27, 2009
    7
    I'm one of the people that also feels against the rest of the world when it comes to this game. Maybe I'm just jaded from this generation's small leap graphically over last generation, but I'm just not impressed by this game's graphics. They don't look bad, but I feel they look too colorful & over saturated for my tastes. I also think they sometimes look I'm one of the people that also feels against the rest of the world when it comes to this game. Maybe I'm just jaded from this generation's small leap graphically over last generation, but I'm just not impressed by this game's graphics. They don't look bad, but I feel they look too colorful & over saturated for my tastes. I also think they sometimes look really plain & cheap & poorly textured compared to other games this generation that have a meaty & hefty look to them with high res textures. The platforming is OK at best but extremely linear. I'd rather play POP:SOT or those horrible Assassins Creed games for my platforming fix. Shooting feels too light & chintsy & almost tacked on which carries over into the terrible tacked on multiplayer. Maybe it's because I was a 360 fan all generation until recently that makes me not understand why everyone thinks this game is so amazing, but like with KZ2, Infamous, UC1 & MGS4, I feel I saw all this years ago on 360 where it all looked & played better. Expand
  42. Jul 28, 2013
    7
    It is better then its prequel but still nothing outstanding. Some scenes really seem to be from an action movie, but it struggles to maintain the cinema feeling. Design is awesome, shamballa really looks beautiful and also the soundtrack succeds.
  43. Jun 20, 2013
    7
    Uncharted 2 is a fun game, but it is one of those games that just doesn't have much value. The production quality is great, with very nice graphics, however the gameplay isn't always the best. There are a few reasons the gameplay isn't great for me. First of all, the gunplay isn't the best. Most of the time it just gets repetitive and boring. Second of all, there is no replayability toUncharted 2 is a fun game, but it is one of those games that just doesn't have much value. The production quality is great, with very nice graphics, however the gameplay isn't always the best. There are a few reasons the gameplay isn't great for me. First of all, the gunplay isn't the best. Most of the time it just gets repetitive and boring. Second of all, there is no replayability to this game, I played it once and I was done with the game. If you enjoy the multiplayer then the game will have more value for you. The story is fun and it feels like an Indiana Jones movie, but once you know what happens the draw to play the game is gone. Definitely a game to rent and beat as quickly as you can. Expand
  44. Dec 13, 2013
    7
    The 'special' sequences lift this game to something extraordinary. Shooting has improved since 1, because opponents are less cartoony and just less irritating, more realistic. The color palette has widened a lot in Uncharted 1, it was lots of green and grey, jungle and temples. In this game, there are just lots of colors, truly varied locations/scenarios, a lot more happening on screen.The 'special' sequences lift this game to something extraordinary. Shooting has improved since 1, because opponents are less cartoony and just less irritating, more realistic. The color palette has widened a lot in Uncharted 1, it was lots of green and grey, jungle and temples. In this game, there are just lots of colors, truly varied locations/scenarios, a lot more happening on screen. It still takes the player from A to B and asks few questions of any kind, but there is so much spectacle you can't call it a bad time. The middle section of the game is amazing. The last hour is a bit lackluster, when the game really tests your concentration by spamming enemies so the tempo slows down and you get a bit bored, but even the most difficult parts should be manageable in a few tries on easy mode. All in all, I finished single player in around 10 hours. It left me satisfied, and feeling like I'd just been on a long roller coaster ride. I would have liked more (elaborate) puzzles, more ingenuity, wider use of the physics so impressively mastered in some sequences. It's also soo easy for a seasoned gamer like me to pick out the 'inspirations' for the game. It's all seen before. Whether in Tomb Raider, Gears of War, etc etc. I didn't get very immersed or involved in the story either, since the gameplay had little to do with the plot and I felt like Nathan Drake was a monster rather than a hero... it was like "plot in a clip, pause clip/plot to have meaningless violence or simple navigation, then further plot, then pause". Not very creative in terms of pushing the medium's mechanics forward. Expand
  45. Jan 2, 2013
    7
    Overall, i think the game is pretty excited and love the storyline. Some humor in the game, little things that i enjoy. However, i took away a few scores is because the game is very simmilar to the first 1 and is ethier find another way around or sh*t lodes of people to shoot. And some of the things doesnt make sense, punching actually will do more damage then a AK47 or a shotgun?Overall, i think the game is pretty excited and love the storyline. Some humor in the game, little things that i enjoy. However, i took away a few scores is because the game is very simmilar to the first 1 and is ethier find another way around or sh*t lodes of people to shoot. And some of the things doesnt make sense, punching actually will do more damage then a AK47 or a shotgun? Ya...think about that. Jumping off a place where its only 10 feet tall and u die, doesnt make sense!! (other mission u jump like 20 feet :O)Also, it always give me hints when i dont need them(i know u can turn it off though :P) when i need them, they dont give me. So i think it will be better if u want some hints, press a button then its there, will be the best option. (too complicate to understand?) Expand
  46. Dec 13, 2013
    5
    I feel as though I've missed something. While the production values of the game were certainly stunning, the gameplay and narrative seemed very stale and uninspiring. Both the platforming and the shooting mechanics felt clunky and stiff. Also, having played open world climbing platformers like Assassin's Creed it was a real bummer to see how linear the game's environments were. TheI feel as though I've missed something. While the production values of the game were certainly stunning, the gameplay and narrative seemed very stale and uninspiring. Both the platforming and the shooting mechanics felt clunky and stiff. Also, having played open world climbing platformers like Assassin's Creed it was a real bummer to see how linear the game's environments were. The developers built only a single path through every level making for a very predictable and frankly boring experience. Honestly, I don't really understand what all the fuss is about. Also, it has one of the most disappointing and horribly annoying boss fights in video game history. This game has made me very hesitant to play The Last of Us. Expand
  47. Dec 12, 2013
    5
    Perhaps if I had played it back in 2009 I would have given it a better score, but it's 2013 and after playing Tomb Raider on PC with 3D Vision and Full HD, Uncharted 2 on PS3 seems just mediocre. I loved various scenery, the plot was ok, but repeatable tasks like giving someone a boost or climbing, which is not half as enjoyable as in Assassin's Creed series, make this game a bore. IPerhaps if I had played it back in 2009 I would have given it a better score, but it's 2013 and after playing Tomb Raider on PC with 3D Vision and Full HD, Uncharted 2 on PS3 seems just mediocre. I loved various scenery, the plot was ok, but repeatable tasks like giving someone a boost or climbing, which is not half as enjoyable as in Assassin's Creed series, make this game a bore. I would have enjoyed it more if it had been shorter and published on PC with mouse support.
    All in all, I regret buying it and I will definitely skip the next part.
    Expand
  48. Jan 23, 2015
    6
    While I still prefer the original Uncharted, this is pretty impressive sequel. Uncharted 1 had a nice personal charm of Indiana Jones wannabe, it felt more compact with it's story, locations. Uncharted 2 tries to do more, be bigger, change locations completely, but it lacks a bit of that personal magic from Uncharted 1. It's definitely a visual upgrade, but other than that it's basicallyWhile I still prefer the original Uncharted, this is pretty impressive sequel. Uncharted 1 had a nice personal charm of Indiana Jones wannabe, it felt more compact with it's story, locations. Uncharted 2 tries to do more, be bigger, change locations completely, but it lacks a bit of that personal magic from Uncharted 1. It's definitely a visual upgrade, but other than that it's basically more of the same set in different locations. Game mechanics are still nothing to write home about, overly used shooting sections are once again quite annoying and overused, but most importantly it often doesn't even make sense. They are somewhere high in the tops of Himalayas and of course that the bad guys suddenly have their own army there, hundreds of jeeps, tanks, hordes of enemies coming out of nowhere and in their lead is typical over the top very tough muscular bad guy with Russian or whatever accent. I said that before, but Uncharted should really calm down, stop trying to be bombastic shooting fest and focus more on the adventure and exploration. Because when it comes to that, to story, characters, location exploration, treasure hunting, that's when I have fun. Maybe a bit more open world and less linearity would help. Looking forward to other chapters. 6/10 Expand
  49. Dec 10, 2014
    6
    Greatly improves but under performs in key moments. Has an interesting cast , story, gameplay, immersion and all that is much appreciated. The game glitches hard a lot atleast on my ps3 but it doesn't take me away from the moment
  50. Feb 9, 2015
    5
    One of the best games ever? Good shooting? Good story? Great Characters? This is what I had been promised with all the talk of this game I'd heard. Was any of it true? No....none of it. For starters the shooting is completely stupid. It feels like your aim is sliding on ice, and it feels pointlessly hard to line up your shots. The story? wtf? You know what I really compare this to.One of the best games ever? Good shooting? Good story? Great Characters? This is what I had been promised with all the talk of this game I'd heard. Was any of it true? No....none of it. For starters the shooting is completely stupid. It feels like your aim is sliding on ice, and it feels pointlessly hard to line up your shots. The story? wtf? You know what I really compare this to. National Treasure. The story has about as much build up. Woo~ Treasure hunting. Woo~ Random Terrorist that has nothing to do with my character personally and I see maybe a total of three times before I fight him. Other than Drake himself, I hate most all of the characters in this game. None of them are interesting or none stereotypical. And completely screw the enemies. You see a total of ONE type of enemy through the whole game. They don't even change in looks, like, at all. They **** suck. Taking several assault rifles clips straight to the face and STILL not dying.The game looks alright, if it was a lunch title than its forgivable. The amount of constraint this game puts on you is complete garbage. Oh, you want to jump down those four feet? **** you. You die, do it the way WE want you to, or not at all. This game is a painfully average third person shooter, with no real polish or over all, is simply outdated by the times. One of the best games ever MY ASS. Expand
  51. Aug 27, 2015
    7
    Uncharted 2 is probably my highest disappointment with PS3. It is a good game. It is beautiful, it sounds good and lasts long enough. However, it did not make it to my top 5 of Playstation 3 exclusives.

    The problem is, just like in the first game of the series, the gameplay. Hours and hours of repetitive shooting with mediocre controls make this game way less interesting than it could
    Uncharted 2 is probably my highest disappointment with PS3. It is a good game. It is beautiful, it sounds good and lasts long enough. However, it did not make it to my top 5 of Playstation 3 exclusives.

    The problem is, just like in the first game of the series, the gameplay. Hours and hours of repetitive shooting with mediocre controls make this game way less interesting than it could have been. It is very cinematic, but many situations are predictable and annoying. All missions can be summed up as follows: Nathan discovers some great place, explores it, solves the puzzle, and... Suddenly, hundreds of enemies - who, apparently, were waiting for you to solve it - enter the place and start shooting at you.
    And, again like in the previous game of the series, enemies (who are just wearing a T-shirt) need 4-5 rifle bullets to die, which is not credible. There are other ways of making the game more difficult, Naughty Dog...

    However, the graphics are amazing and the exploration gained importance in Uncharted 2 with respect to Uncharted 1, and this is a good direction to follow. If the shooting gameplay was great, or just good, this game would have been way better.
    Expand
  52. Jul 9, 2015
    7
    Mediocre with highs and lows and slightly entertaining.

    First things first. This is not an adventure game, this is a third person shooter in each and every aspect. The fact that it has many clunky climbing sections and "puzzles" that couldn't pose a challenge even to a braindead monkey is just an insult to the great games of this genre from which Uncharted tries to get inspiration,
    Mediocre with highs and lows and slightly entertaining.

    First things first. This is not an adventure game, this is a third person shooter in each and every aspect. The fact that it has many clunky climbing sections and "puzzles" that couldn't pose a challenge even to a braindead monkey is just an insult to the great games of this genre from which Uncharted tries to get inspiration, namely: Tomb Raider before the reboots, and Prince of Persia.
    This is a game that tries to give a lot but ends up delivering a dull and linear experience. The main problem with it is that despite the look of the maps, the game is linear and has a single path. It also frustrates your efforts in playing it more stealthy or strategically by flooding the areas with endless amounts of enemies.
    Though it is a major improvement compared to the first game it's still pretty lacking.

    PROS:
    - Pretty visuals, varied and nice looking environments
    - Balanced weapons(which was a big con in the first one)
    - Fairly long
    - Incredibly cliché but entertaining story
    - Likable characters
    - If you can bother shooting hordes of enemies over and over it's a fairly fun shooter
    - The two stealthy levels were actually good, but the game can't be played all like that

    CONS:
    - If you're looking for an adventure game this is 80% shooting
    - Clunky climbing/jumping controls
    - Artificially extended longevity via really slow trivial animations, need to wait for other characters, wounded Drake walking incredibly slow and stopping for every wind-blow ever, enemies spawning out of empty rooms just to block your path
    - No brainer puzzles
    - Linear maps
    - Many cliches
    - Good shooting dragged down by terrible cover system
    - Pretty maps with bad level design
    - Terribly exposed invisible walls( for example to the right of the temple behind the gunner)
    - No logic behind climbable objects, just the ones the developers chose

    Overall, not a bad game but mediocre to the point that I didn't want to play it again and I probably never will.
    6.5/10
    Expand
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 105 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Mixed: 0 out of 105
  2. Negative: 0 out of 105
  1. 100
    Spread across twenty-six chapters is a story as playful and worthwhile as the gameplay.
  2. Graphically stunning, Uncharted 2: Among Thieves is, first of all, an interactive adventure, one that feels like a movie and even has a storyline of a movie. Most gameplay situations have been tailored in order to stun the player with originality and identification, and the end result is absolutely amazing.
  3. Among Thieves is all about constant movement. And even movement on top of movement. It grabbed me from the beginning and didn't let go for twelve hours. Once I finished, all I could think about was playing it again. More than a defining game for the PS3, Uncharted 2 is a defining game of this console generation.