• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Oct 13, 2009
User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 4369 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. AlanD
    Dec 7, 2009
    10
    Refines adventure games as Tomb Raider did back in 1996! A true masterpiece of a game!
  2. SuperSlasher
    Oct 28, 2009
    10
    Absolutely without a doubet the most awesome game I've ever played, and I've played a alot of games way back to Goldeneye on N64. The atmosphere, graphics, puzzles, adventure, voice-acting, musical score, surprises, storyline, humor, etc., etc., etc. are simply unparalleled on any platform! So rich & delicious it's like French Food. Completely satisfying in every way Absolutely without a doubet the most awesome game I've ever played, and I've played a alot of games way back to Goldeneye on N64. The atmosphere, graphics, puzzles, adventure, voice-acting, musical score, surprises, storyline, humor, etc., etc., etc. are simply unparalleled on any platform! So rich & delicious it's like French Food. Completely satisfying in every way imaginable. Shall I tell you how I REALLY feel? Haha Expand
  3. Laszlo
    Oct 28, 2009
    9
    The game is a technical marvel and sets a new standard for action games. However it takes a few hours till it gets really amazing. The Train and convoy levels were the most fun IMO. Overall I prefer more atmospheric games like TOMB RAIDER UNDERWORLD.
  4. Val
    Dec 8, 2009
    10
    One of the best games.. in fact, possibly THE best game ever made. The only disappointment is that it's a bit too short
  5. neofitoso
    Dec 9, 2009
    10
    The best graphics ever and fantastic action.Perfect story.I never wanted this memorable game to end.This game is 10/10.MUST BUY.
  6. DraganaK
    Oct 29, 2009
    10
    Absolutely fantastic game. The story, gameplay, graphics, sound, level design, controls, and multi-player options are all top notch. You're really doing yourself a great disservice as a gamer if you do not at least try out this game.
  7. pg
    Dec 9, 2009
    10
    No game has yet to reach the standards of Uncharted 2. The game is near perfect in every aspect.
  8. ColeP
    Oct 31, 2009
    10
    Incredible game: awesome story, amazing characters, great humor, unprecedented graphics, and a multiplayer experience that has a non-mulitplayer guy excited to keep playing it! Everyone should give this game a try!
  9. BrianB
    Oct 30, 2009
    10
    Probably the best game ever made! No other game comes even remotly close to this, exept maybe drakes fortune. Everything about this game is top noch. Even the multiplayer is fun and i dont like playing online games! This is what all games should strive for in terms of quality. Naughty Dog is the best !
  10. CranstonB.
    Oct 30, 2009
    10
    What is up with the PS3 lately. It's really coming out with top notch games. I own both and have not bought a game for the 360 in 10 months. Uncharted 2 has got to be the best, most polished game I have ever played. I can't remember the last time I wanted to start a game over the minute I finished it. That's exactly what I did with Uncharted 2. People. NOW is the time to What is up with the PS3 lately. It's really coming out with top notch games. I own both and have not bought a game for the 360 in 10 months. Uncharted 2 has got to be the best, most polished game I have ever played. I can't remember the last time I wanted to start a game over the minute I finished it. That's exactly what I did with Uncharted 2. People. NOW is the time to buy a PS3. Infamous, Demon Souls, Uncharted series, Killzone, God of War. Sheesh. How could you NOT want one??? Expand
  11. MichaelH.
    Oct 30, 2009
    10
    That's actually a 9.5 but since i can't put it ill stick with 10. This game is mind-blowing in every way; the graphics, storytelling, the characters it just gets about everything right, but it's not perfect because no game so far can be perfect; yet. I fully recommend this game and also recommend that you keep a close eye on Naughty Dog.
  12. AnthonyR
    Jan 11, 2010
    10
    This game is very underrated, obv a 10 but sure as hell nothing lower than an 8, i gave it a 10 mainly because it is awesome, I bet most of the people who gave it 0 haven't even played it, probably don't even have a ps3, stupid fanboys.
  13. josephc
    Jan 13, 2010
    10
    This is simply the best action game ever made. Naughty dog has created a master piece, start to finish. Go buy this game! Go buy a PS3 just for this game
  14. markl
    Jan 14, 2010
    10
    uncharted 2 is NOT overated at all it is singlehandedly one of the best apps to come out in a long time. The game play is simple, fluid and dynamic. The movies will hook you from the start and are worthy of a oscar. The multiplayer isnt so good but dont let this spoil you from one of the greatest games out there. The graphics are beautiful and it is a solid emotional rollercoaster of a uncharted 2 is NOT overated at all it is singlehandedly one of the best apps to come out in a long time. The game play is simple, fluid and dynamic. The movies will hook you from the start and are worthy of a oscar. The multiplayer isnt so good but dont let this spoil you from one of the greatest games out there. The graphics are beautiful and it is a solid emotional rollercoaster of a game. This truly deserves to stand amongst the giants of the gaming world. Expand
  15. MattW
    Jan 15, 2010
    10
    Wow DV trolled you guys hard XD He was commenting on how some other reviewers act in their reviews. Anyway, Uncharted 2 is pretty damn amazing.
  16. Classy
    Jan 21, 2010
    10
    I would give this game a 9.8ish but since there isn't one it gets a 10, this game is beyond impressive. And to the poster below me known as Johan F, he says he gets bored yet based on 104 Game critics, which gave this game the best rated of 2009 are overhyping it? Yeah okay there buddy, and Average graphics? Right there gives away that you are an Xbox fanboy...a fanboy regardless I would give this game a 9.8ish but since there isn't one it gets a 10, this game is beyond impressive. And to the poster below me known as Johan F, he says he gets bored yet based on 104 Game critics, which gave this game the best rated of 2009 are overhyping it? Yeah okay there buddy, and Average graphics? Right there gives away that you are an Xbox fanboy...a fanboy regardless shouldn't even be able to post due to their incoherent minds to assume whatever Sony pushes out must be garbage 100%... What this game is, is the Die Hard of Video Games. The way that movie redefined Action movies is the way this game redefined Action Games...through great voice acting and motion capture, unbelievable action sets and a superb plot that keeps going and going it will be entertaining to all...an example of this is my dad was watching me play from the beginning, the next day i was playing Modern Warfare 2 and he comes in and tells me to play Uncharted 2...He WANTED me to play the game so he can see what happens...unfortunately my PS3 YLOD so he didn't get to see the ending to it but he will eventually (I'm at university so the ps3 is with me) Bottomline: If you own a ps3, this game is a MUST have, best game out on PS3 so far and well deserves the many GotY awards it recieved. Expand
  17. MT
    Jan 2, 2010
    10
    The game is great! Even playing it through a second time I was still very into the game. I do not understand why people make such a big deal about a game borrowing from other games, saying that it is nothing new and it is repetitive. Halo is repetitive and borrows from other fps. Gears of War is repetitive and borrows from other 3rd person shooters. Heck, even a creative game such as The game is great! Even playing it through a second time I was still very into the game. I do not understand why people make such a big deal about a game borrowing from other games, saying that it is nothing new and it is repetitive. Halo is repetitive and borrows from other fps. Gears of War is repetitive and borrows from other 3rd person shooters. Heck, even a creative game such as Braid borrowed aspects from SMBs. Face it, U2 is amazing. Expand
  18. MarkyMarkWhaleberg
    Jan 25, 2010
    9
    Great game that improves on the original in almost every way. Very close to the experience of a great action movie. That being said, it is overrated in retrospect because of the lack of good action games.
  19. L.Mehr
    Jan 26, 2010
    9
    Don't give in completely to the hype (like almost every critic did). Where you see so much praise for it graphics, you'll notice it's gameplay has hardly changed and what gameplay did change wasn't well implemented. A great thrill ride with the pacing of a Hollywood movie but........a bit of an annoying climax-cliche so I can't say great story all-around but in Don't give in completely to the hype (like almost every critic did). Where you see so much praise for it graphics, you'll notice it's gameplay has hardly changed and what gameplay did change wasn't well implemented. A great thrill ride with the pacing of a Hollywood movie but........a bit of an annoying climax-cliche so I can't say great story all-around but in terms of dialouge and pacing, it's superb. Expand
  20. MarcosD.
    Jan 26, 2010
    10
    Fantastic experience, fantastic graphics (both technical and artistic), fantastic offline gameplay, fantastic online gameplay, FANTASTIC GAME.
  21. Alex
    May 18, 2010
    10
    This game would be a 9, only if it came out when it was suppose to. Standards on games have increased, which is why this game is not what it could have been. A big complaint with this game is the ending, which i won't spoil anything but lets just say it is one of the most predictable physiological endings EVER. The gameplay is fun at first, but gets very repetitive as well as theThis game would be a 9, only if it came out when it was suppose to. Standards on games have increased, which is why this game is not what it could have been. A big complaint with this game is the ending, which i won't spoil anything but lets just say it is one of the most predictable physiological endings EVER. The gameplay is fun at first, but gets very repetitive as well as the enemies. Almost every enemy is the same for the most part with no variety. The visuals are pleasing, but do not set any standards to modern day. All in all I wish I could have played this game two years ago. Expand
  22. ReeceL
    Nov 11, 2009
    10
    This game is amazing, what more can be said. Superb graphics, gameplay, and a mindblowing story and musical score.
  23. JACKL
    Nov 10, 2009
    10
    Absolutley the best! won't put the controller down it is orgasmic! buy buy buy this game if you don't own it, best graphics, gameplay, and best story since Zelda! Orgasmic!
  24. AdamF
    Nov 10, 2009
    10
    Initially renting this game, days after release, I was stunned. Never before had a game been so successful in immersing me into the story line than Uncharted 2. Building off of a great cast from Drake's Fortune, the actors are all back, with some new faces too. Going head first into the story mode is the best decision for you in this game, for you will experience much from beginning Initially renting this game, days after release, I was stunned. Never before had a game been so successful in immersing me into the story line than Uncharted 2. Building off of a great cast from Drake's Fortune, the actors are all back, with some new faces too. Going head first into the story mode is the best decision for you in this game, for you will experience much from beginning to end. I actually found myself playing this game three times through to find all the collectibles, and achieving all awards to gain money for cheats. Once you feel the story mode loses it's thrill, you won't be unsatisfied with the highly addictive online modes. Variants of popular shooter matches, like death match, capture the flag, or elimination will keep you busy for months to come. The co-op is also a blast to play, but although it only sticks to three missions, they stick to the story very well. Along with a store to purchase goods like costumes, perks, and co-op weapon upgrades, which add a very deep feel to the online. So all-in-all, the shooting is great, the graphics are great, the acting is great, and everything else is great. This game raises the bar in so many ways, and it never ceases to surprise. Expand
  25. daniellopez
    Nov 12, 2009
    10
    A MASTERPICE wow just wow cannot miss this game if u are a true gamer GET IT just GET IT it wont dissapoint nd u are amazing devs cannot thank u enough for this not since re4 have i been so engrossed in a game
  26. mobius
    Nov 1, 2009
    10
    great story. belivable charactors, great set peices, i own a xbox 360 aswell as a ps3 slim and i pity my 360 buddys for not being able to play such a fantastic game. just a note to my 360 buddys who think the xbox has its own exclusives, think again as those 360 exclusives all appear on the PC, i should know as i have a gaming PC, the thing that the PC and the xbox cant do is play great story. belivable charactors, great set peices, i own a xbox 360 aswell as a ps3 slim and i pity my 360 buddys for not being able to play such a fantastic game. just a note to my 360 buddys who think the xbox has its own exclusives, think again as those 360 exclusives all appear on the PC, i should know as i have a gaming PC, the thing that the PC and the xbox cant do is play exclusive titles that you find on the PS3. infact has the 360 and the PC play the same games im gonna trade in my 360 and just keep the PS3 and PC. Expand
  27. AgnerS
    Nov 10, 2009
    10
    One of the best games I've ever played and easily one of the top games of this generation. The story, graphics, and gameplay while not flawless are still the best to date on any console. Looking forward to the next uncharted and whatever else the industry has for us over the next few years. Multiple player is also great and I hope ND keeps supporting it for many months to come. A One of the best games I've ever played and easily one of the top games of this generation. The story, graphics, and gameplay while not flawless are still the best to date on any console. Looking forward to the next uncharted and whatever else the industry has for us over the next few years. Multiple player is also great and I hope ND keeps supporting it for many months to come. A must have title in anyone's library. Expand
  28. Maxj
    Nov 12, 2009
    10
    AWESOME! best game of this generation. graphics,gameplay,story,level design, multiplayer, are all perfect!Naughty dog has set the bar very very higher among the other developers.GOTY 2009.
  29. rockyRoger
    Nov 12, 2009
    10
    perfect game,perfect gameplay. grafically gorgeous.level design top notch. best game of this generation.
  30. vineetb
    Nov 1, 2009
    10
    stellar graphics, superb gameplay, & brilliant characters.uc2 is realy one hell of a game. all my kudos to the devlopers
  31. JoeD
    Nov 15, 2009
    10
    This game is amazing in every way. Nonstop action, excellent plot, amazing cutscenes, and mind blowing graphics. This game deserves a 10/10. This is definitely the best game this generation.
  32. NickG
    Nov 2, 2009
    10
    Excellent.Haven't been this impressed since MGS4.This game is inarguably the best out this year.An extreme "miss-out" for Xbox users.
  33. EvanB.
    Nov 21, 2009
    10
    The only game I have played to completion this year! Game of the Year for me, and best game on the Playstation 3!
  34. dtT22
    Nov 20, 2009
    10
    uncharted 2 is the best game of 2009!! the graphics is great! the story is engaging!!!! this game should be in the top 5 ps3 games of all time, o wait, it is it rules!!!!! ill rate it 30 out of 10 but i was limited with 10 so ill give it a graet 10 out of 10!!!!!
  35. Callahan09
    Oct 13, 2009
    10
    The graphics are amazing, the story is intriguing, the acting is convincing and natural. The level designs are exciting and fun, the controls are spot-on, the multiplayer is addictive, and all-in-all I can only say that this game is brilliantly executed, and more fun than you're likely to have had in a long, long time.
  36. SamR
    Oct 13, 2009
    10
    Simply put, if you own a PS3, buy it. If you don't then buy a PS3 and buy this game. The graphics are jaw dropping, the story is excellent, the acting is top notch, and the multiplayer is loads of fun. Stop reading and buy it now!!!!
  37. JahM
    Oct 13, 2009
    10
    Simply put this is the GOTY. The action is incredible and well paced. The mulitiplayer is so addictive and so fun it can keep you hooked for hours upon hours with out even realizing the time going by, it really captures the single player campaign of the game in a multiplayer setting. If you don't have a PS3 and have been on the fence on getting one, I can only say that the price of Simply put this is the GOTY. The action is incredible and well paced. The mulitiplayer is so addictive and so fun it can keep you hooked for hours upon hours with out even realizing the time going by, it really captures the single player campaign of the game in a multiplayer setting. If you don't have a PS3 and have been on the fence on getting one, I can only say that the price of the PS3 alone is worth playing this game. You will not regret it. And if you already have a PS3 this is most definetly a must buy, hands down. ENJOY!!! Expand
  38. UnchartedUncharted
    Oct 13, 2009
    10
    This game will blow you away. Clearly shows why the xbox360 is the inferior system and shouldn't even be compared to the PS3. Go buy it.
  39. AJR.
    Oct 13, 2009
    10
    The first Uncharted tried to give gamers a more cinematic experience and succeeded. Uncharted 2 perfects the art (emphasis on perfect). Everything about the game is great and very polished. The environments have all the little details that make your mouth drop. The gameplay is ever changing. The shooting and AI is so much better than the first game. If you thought Uncharted: Drake's The first Uncharted tried to give gamers a more cinematic experience and succeeded. Uncharted 2 perfects the art (emphasis on perfect). Everything about the game is great and very polished. The environments have all the little details that make your mouth drop. The gameplay is ever changing. The shooting and AI is so much better than the first game. If you thought Uncharted: Drake's Fortune was any good then you will be blown away by Uncharted 2. Even if you aren't normally a (3rd person) shooter fan you should pick up this game. This game alone (well at least with Metal Gear Solid) is worth buying a PS3. Everyone needs to play this game, its the next Zelda. Expand
  40. JoeB
    Nov 30, 2009
    10
    Absolutely great. 1 problem with game the penalty for quitting in MP is too much esp if you lose connection
  41. glennd
    Oct 13, 2009
    10
    Easily the best game this gen after three and a half hours of playing i was still waiting for the game to start. Thats how beautiful and engaging it is. Highly recommend.
  42. ahmedb.
    Oct 13, 2009
    10
    The best freakin experience I've had playing a game EVER! If you even slightly enjoyed uncharted: drake's fortune, I don't see how you can't love this game. Infact, i'll make a bold statement here: I don't think anyone with their right mind intact could not enjoy the adventure of Nate around the world.
  43. MattA
    Oct 13, 2009
    10
    This is one of the best single player games I have ever played. It really makes you feel like you are the star of a summer action movie. The voice acting is second to none and it feels like the characters are living breathing people that you actually know. The multiplayer is also surprisingly good and can compete with other top multiplayer's out there like call of duty 4 and Halo. This is one of the best single player games I have ever played. It really makes you feel like you are the star of a summer action movie. The voice acting is second to none and it feels like the characters are living breathing people that you actually know. The multiplayer is also surprisingly good and can compete with other top multiplayer's out there like call of duty 4 and Halo. Overall this is one of the best gaming experiences you will have in a long time. Expand
  44. jumpingjack
    Oct 13, 2009
    10
    This game is absolutely brilliant. I dont know why people give it anything less than a 10. the graphics are amazing, the gameplay is similar to uncharted 1 but why change anything which works great. the weapons are great, and multiplayer is sooo addictive.
  45. JonhX
    Oct 13, 2009
    10
    Amazing! Buy it now! hehe it may not redefine a genre or something like that but it´s the must fun i had in so long, maybe since metal gear solid 4 that i havent played such a good game.
  46. ErlandK
    Oct 14, 2009
    10
    Two armed guards chatted obliviously as I looked into the kitchen of a dilapidated Nepalese apartment. Careful not to be spotted, I pulled myself up and took aim at a propane tank. "Boom," whispered Nathan Drake, just before I pulled the trigger, blowing the unsuspecting guards into oblivion. That was the moment that I realized I was in Drake's skin, he was in my head, and I was in Two armed guards chatted obliviously as I looked into the kitchen of a dilapidated Nepalese apartment. Careful not to be spotted, I pulled myself up and took aim at a propane tank. "Boom," whispered Nathan Drake, just before I pulled the trigger, blowing the unsuspecting guards into oblivion. That was the moment that I realized I was in Drake's skin, he was in my head, and I was in love with this game. Expand
  47. RobertH
    Oct 14, 2009
    10
    I've not played ANYTHING that has been this engaging since GTA IV. The characters are scripted beautifully, the enemies are ludicrously crafty and the end boss is the most evil b*stard in any game thus-far. With nods to just about every adventurer there has ever been, this is game of the year. As with every engaging story the ability to transport you there is made real by I've not played ANYTHING that has been this engaging since GTA IV. The characters are scripted beautifully, the enemies are ludicrously crafty and the end boss is the most evil b*stard in any game thus-far. With nods to just about every adventurer there has ever been, this is game of the year. As with every engaging story the ability to transport you there is made real by spellbinding visuals. There is not a weak spot during the entire game and is made all the more believable by having several sub plots as a base. Uncharted 2 starts off perfectly, blends stealth and brains with mini guns and rocket launchers and ultimately creates one of the most perfect gaming experiences anyone will ever have the satisfaction of playing Expand
  48. HarrisK.
    Oct 14, 2009
    10
    One of the best games that I have ever played. I loved the first one, but this game ups the ante on so many fronts. The story, the voice acting, the unprecedented graphics, the game play is incredible, AND stellar multiplayer and co-op to boot! The PS3 is really showing its muscle now!
  49. BillS
    Oct 14, 2009
    10
    If I could vote higher I would. The most incredible game I've ever played. I loved the witty banter, the action, and the breathtaking set pieces. I have never seen anything so gorgeous in a video game. Plus, Chloe does have a nice butt.
  50. LeeL
    Oct 14, 2009
    10
    This is THE greatest action-adventure of all time. One hand you have one of the best single-player experiences there is, with a great story delivered by an amazing cast of actors, with cinematic moments that will keep you on the edge of your sit throughout the way. On the other hand you have not only a very competent online component but a really enjoyable one at that. With 5v5 This is THE greatest action-adventure of all time. One hand you have one of the best single-player experiences there is, with a great story delivered by an amazing cast of actors, with cinematic moments that will keep you on the edge of your sit throughout the way. On the other hand you have not only a very competent online component but a really enjoyable one at that. With 5v5 competitive multiplayer and 3 player co-op there is almost unlimited replay value in this game after you finish the story mode in 12-13 hours. Forget if you are a current or future PS3 owner, if you have any self-respect as a gamer, you MUST play this game! Expand
  51. LeeL
    Oct 14, 2009
    10
    Incredible. This is the type of game you find yourself telling non-gamers about in coffee shops and then they look at you weird and try and change the subject...but you cant stop! you keep bringing it up over and over and then they leave and your alone again...sigh... alone with your amazing game. <3 hah! seriously though this is awesome and YES that did happen to me today.
  52. RyneH
    Oct 14, 2009
    10
    If this game could have a higher score than 10, I would. After playing through 2 online betas, beating the game once on single player, and now playing the more in-depth multiplayers, I would say that Naughty Dog/Sony could get away with a "Pay what you want" for this and make MORE money then they do at the $60 price point. I would EASILY pay $100 for this game... Simply the most If this game could have a higher score than 10, I would. After playing through 2 online betas, beating the game once on single player, and now playing the more in-depth multiplayers, I would say that Naughty Dog/Sony could get away with a "Pay what you want" for this and make MORE money then they do at the $60 price point. I would EASILY pay $100 for this game... Simply the most outstanding game I've EVER played in my ENTIRE life. Expand
  53. mattS
    Oct 14, 2009
    10
    Believe the hype, Uncharted 2: Among Thieves sets the bar for what a AAA title should be. Congrats to Naughty Dog for a near flawless experience but most of all congratulations are to the gamers, you're the biggest winners this season. And to all the xbot flamers and trolls here is the game not even you can convincingly argue against. This many reviews just don't lie.
  54. RobA
    Oct 14, 2009
    10
    If you liked Drake's Fortune, there's no chance you won't love this game. It's added features (stealth, better combat fighting, and more) combined with the excellent voice-over work puts Among Thieves in a class of it's own. If you didn't like Drake's Fortune, go play some more Pong, because clearly you don't like video games.
  55. MikeR
    Oct 15, 2009
    9
    I loved the 1st Uncharted. So why give this one a 9? This is a bigger version of the first, which had nearly as much polish, albeit a smaller scale. The problem is that the story elements in the 2 games parallel one another. To say more would be to drop spoilers. There were no surprises for me in this story. After playing through the 1st several times and finishing Crushing, I needed I loved the 1st Uncharted. So why give this one a 9? This is a bigger version of the first, which had nearly as much polish, albeit a smaller scale. The problem is that the story elements in the 2 games parallel one another. To say more would be to drop spoilers. There were no surprises for me in this story. After playing through the 1st several times and finishing Crushing, I needed something a bit different. Expand
  56. DanB
    Oct 15, 2009
    10
    Simply put...Wow. Never has a game immersed you in the world the way Uncharted 2 does. Amazing graphics(though not as good as Killzone 2), great single player and awesome online play; this is a MUST own.
  57. AmmarH
    Oct 15, 2009
    10
    This game is AMAZING. Best graphics, great story, great mulyplayer, this is my favourite game ever. It is so fun! And actually i give this game a 9.8/10, but we can't use decimals so i just rounded it to a 10. This is the highest i have ever rated a game.
  58. MikeQ
    Oct 15, 2009
    10
    This game is fantastic. The story is packed full of action and twists, and the voice actors really bring the characters to life. The graphics are probably the nicest on the PS3 and you can tell the developers really wanted this game to look perfect. From the jungle to the mountains it all looks stunning. The gameplay is also great. The puzzles and platforming sections are really well This game is fantastic. The story is packed full of action and twists, and the voice actors really bring the characters to life. The graphics are probably the nicest on the PS3 and you can tell the developers really wanted this game to look perfect. From the jungle to the mountains it all looks stunning. The gameplay is also great. The puzzles and platforming sections are really well done, and the action is really full on (you will be jumping from truck to truck, leaping onto a moving train, and taking down choppers just to mention a few bits) Overall this is a must own game. Expand
  59. Mikes
    Oct 15, 2009
    10
    No game this gen holds a candle to UNCHARTED 2 except for MGS4. And honestly, I've been debating which is a superior title which really shows how great this game is. It is easily GAME OF THE YEAR, and one of the finest ever made. Best graphics to date... surpases MGS and Killzone 2.
  60. JodyS
    Oct 15, 2009
    10
    I wish every game was this polished. Great cut scenes with awesome actors. Nice tweaks to the combat from the first one. Great locations both from a beauty and functional viewpoint. Great vehicle sequences. Awesome pacing. I can't wait for the next adventure with Drake.
  61. KyleS
    Oct 15, 2009
    10
    Uncharted 2 is an all around great package. You get one of the best single-player experiences in gaming history along with kick-ass competitive and cooperative multiplayer. If you dont own a Playstation 3 then this is definitly a system seller. Now if the gameplay doesn't bring you in you may want it just for the visuals, the game looks amazing, there is no better looking console Uncharted 2 is an all around great package. You get one of the best single-player experiences in gaming history along with kick-ass competitive and cooperative multiplayer. If you dont own a Playstation 3 then this is definitly a system seller. Now if the gameplay doesn't bring you in you may want it just for the visuals, the game looks amazing, there is no better looking console game out there, sorry Killzone and Gears but you have been beaten. Now I may sound like I was overhyped but in all truth, this is the best game I have played this year on all consoles. Expand
  62. JonathanL
    Oct 15, 2009
    10
    This is easily one of the best games I have ever played. The polish and mass of the game is simply unparalleled. At this point, it's on my top 3 list of all time, and I couldn't be happier. I recommend this game to everyone.
  63. MikeM
    Oct 15, 2009
    10
    AMAZING GAME. I picked it up at midnight and played it all through the night... I couldn't put the controller down. Unbelievable production value, great story and characters, awesome pacing... and that's just the single player campaign. I have found the multiplayer and co-op to be addicting!
  64. BrandonJ.
    Oct 15, 2009
    10
    Everything about this game is friggin sweet this is a PS3 gamers wet dream the storyline is superb the graphics are beautiful, and it pulls u in2 the game I pretty much felt as if I was in the skin of Drake. The action is better than any other single player action adventure game this year and I friggin loved Infamous & Batman:AA. w/ Assassin's Creed II and Ratchet & Clank coming out Everything about this game is friggin sweet this is a PS3 gamers wet dream the storyline is superb the graphics are beautiful, and it pulls u in2 the game I pretty much felt as if I was in the skin of Drake. The action is better than any other single player action adventure game this year and I friggin loved Infamous & Batman:AA. w/ Assassin's Creed II and Ratchet & Clank coming out soon it's gonna be kinda difficult 2 determine what the Game of the Year's gonna be. It's pretty much impossible 2 dislike U2:AT, and if there are people that truly disliked the game after playing it, they aren't happy w/ themselves in life. I'm on chapter 23 right now and other than playing the demo once I haven't even played the multiplayer, so I only caught a small glimpse of that so far but I've never been a fan of the whole war type games anyway (especially every game in 1st person shooter perspective), but I did pretty decent by not dying as much as the rest of my team and I even placed 2nd on the team by killing the opposition 5x (hey that's good 4 some1 who hates those types of games right & + we were getting our assess massacred). If this game doesn't make people wanna buy a PS3 than they're a lost cause. Expand
  65. mrsadystic
    Oct 15, 2009
    10
    Uncharted 2 is simply breathtaking from its insanely polished and well voice acted single player campaign to the wonderful assortment of online co op and competitive modes there is simply something for everyone. EASILY the game of the YEAR 2009.
  66. Joshua
    Oct 15, 2009
    10
    Amazing just amazing, Naughty Dog has truly raised the bar with this game.
  67. JoshH
    Oct 15, 2009
    10
    Uncharted 2 is the real deal, from the story telling to the amazing voice acting and godly animation to the most stunningly gorgeous graphics ive ever seen in a game. Naughty Dog has created a masterpiece, i want to play the game that takes away game of the year honers from this one. if it exists.
  68. IshiiB.
    Oct 15, 2009
    10
    Finally a great focus on a total experience and not just one or two cool parts. When you still think you're watching a cut scene when you are supposed to be playing the game has found a perfect flow from the two.
  69. BittonR.
    Oct 15, 2009
    10
    My favorite multiplayer game for the PS3, and the single player story grabs you from the get-go! Perfect game... PS3 is now worth owning!
  70. AggzW.
    Oct 15, 2009
    10
    Multiplayer is intense and addictive, Single-player, while i have only just stated chapter 5 is amazing. Graphically, i find this to be the best looking console game to date, and if you own a PS3 you owe it to yourself to buy this game! as a matter of fact even if you DONT own a PS3, go to the store and buy yourself a new Slimline PS3, and a copy of this game, and if $$$ permits pick up a Multiplayer is intense and addictive, Single-player, while i have only just stated chapter 5 is amazing. Graphically, i find this to be the best looking console game to date, and if you own a PS3 you owe it to yourself to buy this game! as a matter of fact even if you DONT own a PS3, go to the store and buy yourself a new Slimline PS3, and a copy of this game, and if $$$ permits pick up a few other of the great PS3 exclusives!!! Expand
  71. AndyM.
    Oct 16, 2009
    10
    Incredible, Uncharted 2 is a genre defining and generation defining video game, from the moment you look out over Turkey from a rooftop high above the sprawling coastline you realise this game is seriously something special.
  72. MarinaM.
    Nov 6, 2009
    10
    Absolutely amazing. My only complaint is that the platforming is too linear, but other than that, Uncharted 2 is THE GAME of 2009. Do yourself a favor and buy this game NOW. Don't wait till the price drops; seriously, it's that good. On a side note, for those who haven't played the first one, I recommend playing that first though if you just want to skip to the sequel Absolutely amazing. My only complaint is that the platforming is too linear, but other than that, Uncharted 2 is THE GAME of 2009. Do yourself a favor and buy this game NOW. Don't wait till the price drops; seriously, it's that good. On a side note, for those who haven't played the first one, I recommend playing that first though if you just want to skip to the sequel everything still makes sense, you just miss out on a few jokes. Expand
  73. NickH
    Oct 16, 2009
    10
    Uncharted 2 is a very good game. It certantly deserves a 10 or to be exact 9.7. I am only going to talk about the disadvantages of the game because the advantages are unlimited. First uncharted 2 was not as good as we expected. We expected even better graphics although the details are nondescribable. Also the game doesn't give the uncharted feeling of the first game evn if it's Uncharted 2 is a very good game. It certantly deserves a 10 or to be exact 9.7. I am only going to talk about the disadvantages of the game because the advantages are unlimited. First uncharted 2 was not as good as we expected. We expected even better graphics although the details are nondescribable. Also the game doesn't give the uncharted feeling of the first game evn if it's better in all ways. Also we expected the single-player to be much bigger. There are 26 chapters but nearly 6 of them last only 5-10 minutes so you have like 20 real chapters. last the story is great but there was so much potential. I just don't get it why developers make the same stories all over again. As with batman AA the story could be much better but still it's one of the best out there. After hearing all these negatives you must be wondering why a give this game a 10. Simply put because it's an amazing game in every compartment. all i'm saying is that it could be even more perfect. maybe in uncharted 3. Expand
  74. brentL
    Oct 16, 2009
    10
    I was honestly thinking about rating it a 9 due to the overhype that it is getting, however many games get that (Halo, GOW and the other GOW) and it really wouldn't be fair. This is a great game in many categories, way too many to list so im just gona list the bad. Enemy ai is typically great, until you try to use stealth. At times you can walk in front of them and still not be I was honestly thinking about rating it a 9 due to the overhype that it is getting, however many games get that (Halo, GOW and the other GOW) and it really wouldn't be fair. This is a great game in many categories, way too many to list so im just gona list the bad. Enemy ai is typically great, until you try to use stealth. At times you can walk in front of them and still not be spotted (on hard by the way), and other times your behind a crate and they see you some how. The multiplayer is great and different from other multiplayers, however the guns used are bland and kinda boring. overall you can read other review for the good, their all true, multiplayer is fresh and fun, story is second only to MSG4, gameplay is easy to learn and improved over the last (melee mainly), character development is great, graphics are amazing and show what the ps3 can do, ect..... There were only two minor flaw that really bothered me which i listed, other then that the only caution I would say is play the first before playing this one. The relationships will make more sense to you. Expand
  75. ThomasH
    Oct 17, 2009
    10
    One of the, if not _the_ best game i've played this console generation, and i have all 3 of them. What can i say, it is just fantastic in every way it should, a great and exciting story, spectacular gameplay, and lets face it; the graphics are phenomenal. The sound and score is very good to. An absolute must buy for everyone who likes action / adventure games.
  76. JustinG
    Oct 17, 2009
    10
    Highly enjoyable game, just as the first one. Game is the combination of an enjoyable indiana jones movie and a 3rd person cover-shooter with various mini platforming parts. Multiplayer is a plus, lack of local multiplayer or co-op is a negative. Sat down and played through the entire game in one sitting, just like the first one... they are that enjoyable.
  77. MetalGear
    Oct 17, 2009
    9
    If you did not like the first one due to the loose controls and other issues, like me, then fear not, THIS GAME IS AWESOME! Yes the graphics "are" amazing, but delve deeper, the explosions, the lighting, the spinning guns in the air when baddies take one are all delivered without a drop in frame rate and the resolution of these spot effects are the best I've seen outside Crysis in If you did not like the first one due to the loose controls and other issues, like me, then fear not, THIS GAME IS AWESOME! Yes the graphics "are" amazing, but delve deeper, the explosions, the lighting, the spinning guns in the air when baddies take one are all delivered without a drop in frame rate and the resolution of these spot effects are the best I've seen outside Crysis in dx10 very high quality mode. The load times are pratically invisible, the acting, story, engine made cutscenes, everything basically is seemless and essentially perfect. The critical score says it, the user reviews match that lofty score, there IS only one reason why, it is THAT GOOD! Buy with TOTAL confidence! Expand
  78. JoeMomma
    Oct 17, 2009
    10
    Uncharted 2 blends smooth and satisfying gameplay with the presentation of a blockbuster acion/adventure movie. Action sequences that look like a cut scene end up forcing you to pick up the controller right in the middle of it! The story is compelling and well acted - much like the first. Characters seem real in their delivery in dialogue, and again, it is blended seamlessly with Uncharted 2 blends smooth and satisfying gameplay with the presentation of a blockbuster acion/adventure movie. Action sequences that look like a cut scene end up forcing you to pick up the controller right in the middle of it! The story is compelling and well acted - much like the first. Characters seem real in their delivery in dialogue, and again, it is blended seamlessly with gameplay. Uncharted 2 is a full package - with it's additionally addictive and deep multiplayer modes, including co-op rounds and competitive deathmatch and elimination modes. Once you start, you will not stop. Expand
  79. PeteM
    Oct 17, 2009
    10
    Simply brilliant. From graphics to gameplay to story, this is undoubtedly the GOTY. Yes it has some miniscule shortfalls (more could've been done with the stealth, for example) but they don't detract from this incredible experience at all.
  80. JK
    Oct 18, 2009
    10
    If you like action/adventure games, you will not be disppointed! I loved the first game--one of my all time favorites--and this one just adds to the series greatness. Believe the hype!
  81. RajendraG.
    Oct 18, 2009
    10
    Fantastic game that entertains every second it is played. The balance between shooting, platforming, puzzle solving, and cutscenes is expertly crafted. Very linear, but that is pretty much needed for this type of story driven game.
  82. JoshB
    Nov 8, 2009
    10
    The best game this console generation. A definitive experience which dwarfs the brilliant Killzone 2 and the superb Call of Duty 4. The action is intense and difficult, but gripping and fun as well. The single player is the best I have ever played, and mulitplayer, whilst lacking the depth of Call of Duty 4, Resistance 2, Killzone 2, and others, remains as the most balanced experience to The best game this console generation. A definitive experience which dwarfs the brilliant Killzone 2 and the superb Call of Duty 4. The action is intense and difficult, but gripping and fun as well. The single player is the best I have ever played, and mulitplayer, whilst lacking the depth of Call of Duty 4, Resistance 2, Killzone 2, and others, remains as the most balanced experience to date, with variety in gameplay styles, great maps, numerous 'boosters', characters to play as, and people will be playing this for a very long time. A landmark achievement, anybody who doesn't own this game is missing out. Buy buy buy! Expand
  83. DougS
    Oct 19, 2009
    10
    No either game touches UC2 graphics. The only game more epic and maybe more polished in some areas than UC2 is MGS4, and even still, MGS4 fails to deliver quite the experience as UC2. Its just plain fun from beginning to end. The balance of action, cutscenes, puzzles, etc is some kind of achievement. The only thing I have to say negative about the experience is that it has to end.
  84. JohnC
    Oct 19, 2009
    10
    Game is simply amazing. Probably my favorite game on the PS3. Online is great and i have not experienced a second of lag. Also going to give it a 10 because of all of the unnecessary 0's stupid fanboys. lol yes the irony is funny. But seriously though the game deserves all the praise its getting from everyone.
  85. RobertR
    Oct 19, 2009
    10
    Absolutely unreal! A must buy for all PS3 owners, and for those who don't own a PS3, might want to consider picking one up just for this experience.
  86. ZubairL
    Oct 19, 2009
    10
    Absolutely Brilliant! Cinematic, looks great,plays great and keeps you wanting to play and see what happens next. Truly next gen! From now on all games will be judged by Pre Unchartered 2 and Post Unchartred 2, its the new benchmark for sure!
  87. GabrielM.
    Oct 19, 2009
    10
    Absolutely amazing. And that's only refering to the single player! The multiplayer is fun and addicting. This game just screams polish and perfection. Wonderfully cinematic and action packed. One of the best video games of all time. Why are you still reading this? GO PLAY IT NOW!!!
  88. NickT
    Oct 19, 2009
    10
    With a game of this magnitude, you cannot just pass it up. The game's presentation is top notch and strikes notes of pulchritude and unimaginable beauty. Sound plays another important part in this game, too. You can tell, because Naughty Dog's sound team went out of their way to record their moving scores in Skywalker Sound Ranch (the place where they recorded sounds for all the With a game of this magnitude, you cannot just pass it up. The game's presentation is top notch and strikes notes of pulchritude and unimaginable beauty. Sound plays another important part in this game, too. You can tell, because Naughty Dog's sound team went out of their way to record their moving scores in Skywalker Sound Ranch (the place where they recorded sounds for all the Lucas Arts movies). Gameplay revolves around your traversal of the world, and shooting most every bad guy along the way. The controls are pulled off flawlessly. The overall experience puts a feeling of forced love in your heart. It's a hard game to hate. Expand
  89. JamesA.
    Nov 9, 2009
    10
    Up there with Resident Evil 4, Bioshock, and Final Fantasy 7 as one of the greatest games i ever played.
  90. ScottP
    Oct 19, 2009
    10
    Not since playing Resident Evil 4 for the first time have I been so utterly dumbfounded by a game before. From the games "active cinematic experiences" to the absolutely jaw-dropping graphics, this game has it all. One of the best told stories I've ever seen in a game before with compelling and realistic characters. The gunplay has thankfully rid itself of the "lets shoot this guy Not since playing Resident Evil 4 for the first time have I been so utterly dumbfounded by a game before. From the games "active cinematic experiences" to the absolutely jaw-dropping graphics, this game has it all. One of the best told stories I've ever seen in a game before with compelling and realistic characters. The gunplay has thankfully rid itself of the "lets shoot this guy for 5 minutes until he finally dies" mechanic to a more realistic and satasfying firing mechanic. When you shoot them they die in just a few hits (shocking isn't it?) There are several moments in this game that can literally make your jaw drop. One of my favorite scenes involving a tank (not saying anymore than that, you'll know it when it happens). Uncharted 2 simply does not disappoint in any way, it is my new favorite game (surpassing RE4 and Bioshock) and easily a contender for Game of the year. This is a classic in the making and if you have a PS3 and don't get this game, how do you call yourself a gamer? Expand
  91. spyrewolf
    Nov 9, 2009
    10
    this game was truly amazing, it really shows what the ps3 is capable of and naughty dog knocked this out of the park, every aspect of the game was flawless, not only is it beautiful to look at but the voice acting, story and pacing are tight! great game!
  92. ZachJ
    Oct 19, 2009
    9
    I see this game as a good/bad scenario. The game really hasn't changed much since the original. But that's more of a testament to the greatness of the original than a critique of this sequel. Also, the only real "evolution" is with the online multiplayer. But once again, the multiplayer is great and complements an already awesome single player experience. Where I'm I see this game as a good/bad scenario. The game really hasn't changed much since the original. But that's more of a testament to the greatness of the original than a critique of this sequel. Also, the only real "evolution" is with the online multiplayer. But once again, the multiplayer is great and complements an already awesome single player experience. Where I'm dissatisfied is with the story. I don't feel Drake's motivations are as strong in this game as in the first. With Uncharted, Drake was discovering his lineage, he was seeking revenge, he was saving the girl, he was looking for riches and he was also stuck on this island. So his escape and victory lined up for a powerful motivation to risk climbing giant cliffs while battling pirates, mercenaries, and...those other guys. But Uncharted 2, I really just didn't "feel" why Drake was moving forward. Besides the obvious reason that we need an excuse to climb-roll-punch-shoot-hide. Also, I didn't develop emotional attachments to characters because they were introduced too late into the game. Maybe they saw this as the optimum scenario, but I feel developing relationships and motivations that occurred in the third act should have moved to the first or second. But that's where it's at. My only real complaints about a video game is the story. Also, I'm pretty damn analytical so I imagine most will be completely satisfied. Another great game from Naughty Dog. Expand
  93. JonathanS
    Oct 21, 2009
    10
    I haven't played the game yet but felt that I should give it a 10 because Daniel J. gave it a 0 to skew the results. If you feel the game is an 8, give it an 8. Don't give it a 0 to alter the score because you don't think others should have given it a 10. The point of this site is to average individual scores of the game to give you a realistic view of what others think.
  94. JonA.
    Oct 20, 2009
    10
    Uncharted 2 is simply amazing. The game's story is like that of Indiana Jones and National Treasure. It feels like an action movie and a game at the same time. The voice actors and the awesome face movements and body movements make it seem like a real movie. The gameplay is astounding and slightly tweaked from the original formula. The music is well done and it is obvious that a lot Uncharted 2 is simply amazing. The game's story is like that of Indiana Jones and National Treasure. It feels like an action movie and a game at the same time. The voice actors and the awesome face movements and body movements make it seem like a real movie. The gameplay is astounding and slightly tweaked from the original formula. The music is well done and it is obvious that a lot of care has been put in this game. To put it simply, this is the best single-player experience I have ever played. One to rival the stroy telling of Metal Gear Solid 4. I highly recommend this game. Expand
  95. ToddP.
    Oct 21, 2009
    10
    This is a must-play for all PS3 owners. All the praise is richly deserved. Engaging story, varied and addicting gameplay, fun multiplayer, and absolutely gorgeous to behold.
  96. Memyself
    Dec 11, 2009
    10
    Definitely the best game this generation so far. Great gameplay, great plot, great characters, I don't even need to comment the visuals and the voice acting. It's just top notch. This game is more than game of the year, so far it's the Game of the WHOLE 7th GENERATION!
  97. BL
    Dec 10, 2009
    10
    Without a doubt the best game this generation, one of the best games I've ever played. Beautiful graphics(the best console graphics yet), smooth gameplay, jaw-dropping action, immersive, excellent story with voice acting and dialogue. The singleplayer & multiplayer bonuses top it off wonderfully with great features like cinema in which you can rewatch automatically recorded games, Without a doubt the best game this generation, one of the best games I've ever played. Beautiful graphics(the best console graphics yet), smooth gameplay, jaw-dropping action, immersive, excellent story with voice acting and dialogue. The singleplayer & multiplayer bonuses top it off wonderfully with great features like cinema in which you can rewatch automatically recorded games, controlling the camera in real time and even adding weather effects. Expand
  98. AnonymousMC
    Oct 20, 2009
    10
    Amazing. No other game looks good, plays good, and sounds good than uncharted 2. One of my favorite games of all time. Multiplayer is amazing and everything bout it is just awesome. Characters, enviornments, EVERYTHING. Naughty Dog, this is why I have bout your games ever since crash bandicoot era on the ps1. Great job.
  99. CruzU
    Oct 20, 2009
    10
    Clearly one of my best single-player experiences ever... Uncharted 2 has brought serious competition for Game of The Year, and possibly one of the greatest, ever. Multiplayer is just another reason why this defines near perfection, in just a third-person shooter!
  100. MarkG
    Oct 20, 2009
    10
    If you thought Uncharted 1 was a 10/10 (I did), this will blow your socks off. Its perfection is every respect. Not just the best game on PS3 this year, not even best game on any console this year, not even best game on any console this generation. This is the best game I have EVER played on ANY system...
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 105 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Mixed: 0 out of 105
  2. Negative: 0 out of 105
  1. 100
    Spread across twenty-six chapters is a story as playful and worthwhile as the gameplay.
  2. Graphically stunning, Uncharted 2: Among Thieves is, first of all, an interactive adventure, one that feels like a movie and even has a storyline of a movie. Most gameplay situations have been tailored in order to stun the player with originality and identification, and the end result is absolutely amazing.
  3. Among Thieves is all about constant movement. And even movement on top of movement. It grabbed me from the beginning and didn't let go for twelve hours. Once I finished, all I could think about was playing it again. More than a defining game for the PS3, Uncharted 2 is a defining game of this console generation.