Uncharted 2: Among Thieves PlayStation 3

  • Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Oct 13, 2009
User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 5415 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Khalil
    Oct 15, 2009
    10
    This game is glorious! I was hooked from beginning to end and was sad when it was over. It is truly one of the greatest gaming experiences I have ever played and I'm already looking forward to Uncharted 3!
  2. JarrodS
    Nov 5, 2009
    10
    Unbelievable game. It's been a long time since any game (including Mario Galaxy) matched the level of this. The voice acting,the animation,the graphics,the gameplay,the stealth elements. Simply an amazing 10/10 title.
  3. KritU
    Oct 15, 2009
    10
    Awesome games, got it day one, love it. This game is deserve to be on #1 spot not that piece of trash GTA4. Anyway Metacritic, where is G4TV score? I don't see it on here?
  4. JesseM
    Oct 15, 2009
    10
    This game blew my sucks off. Even if this game had no multilayer it still would have been a must own title. Yes the single player campaign is that good. Speaking of multilayer its amazing there's all of the usual modes and up to three player coop for the campaign/ survival mode.The multilayer is also structured like COD4 with perks to unlock which is a good thing. Theres also tons of This game blew my sucks off. Even if this game had no multilayer it still would have been a must own title. Yes the single player campaign is that good. Speaking of multilayer its amazing there's all of the usual modes and up to three player coop for the campaign/ survival mode.The multilayer is also structured like COD4 with perks to unlock which is a good thing. Theres also tons of content to unlock after you beat the game. If you don't own this game what are you doing. I say its worth getting a PS3 just for this game. Expand
  5. WingJ
    Oct 15, 2009
    10
    I could not put down the controller once I start playing the single player. My wife had to stop me for the last couple of nights, and sometimes she ended up watching me some more. That's how good this game is. Do yourself a favor, buy this game and experience it yourself. I have not been this excited for a game since X-COM days.
  6. LenyH.
    Oct 15, 2009
    10
    I've been gaming since the days of Atari 2600 and NES, over 20 years of gaming. This is definitely one of the best games I've ever played, easily in my top 3. I don't care if you don't have a PS3, buy one, borrow one, or go to a friends house and play it. Naughty Dog has created a magnificent title that is the epitome of this generation of gaming. Graphics, gameplay, I've been gaming since the days of Atari 2600 and NES, over 20 years of gaming. This is definitely one of the best games I've ever played, easily in my top 3. I don't care if you don't have a PS3, buy one, borrow one, or go to a friends house and play it. Naughty Dog has created a magnificent title that is the epitome of this generation of gaming. Graphics, gameplay, storyline, character development, you name it and this game excels in every aspect. Amazing, engaging, epic. Buy the game! Expand
  7. JuanV
    Oct 16, 2009
    10
    If I had to describe the game on one word, it would have to be "Wow". I was getting very nervous over all the hype, and worried that the game may not live up to such a high mark. My worries where for not. This game is perfect. Even with all the flaws you can find in this game, (which aren't many) the game is still beyond excellent. Once you start the story, there are NO loading If I had to describe the game on one word, it would have to be "Wow". I was getting very nervous over all the hype, and worried that the game may not live up to such a high mark. My worries where for not. This game is perfect. Even with all the flaws you can find in this game, (which aren't many) the game is still beyond excellent. Once you start the story, there are NO loading screens. The game was so absorbing at times, I forgot for a few seconds every now and then that I was playing a game. It feels so fluid, and the camera is almost always where it is best suited. The complaints of some reviewers on the AI being dump are childish at best. playing on normal, The enemy AI will duck, take cover, and move out of your line of sight at when you start firing. Throwing a grenade at an enemy causes them to move away from the resting place of the grenade to a safer location. Stealth mode is not a joke at all, as it out classes many games that call them selves stealth action games, and can't give the same kind of game mechanics. Enemy AI is perfect, 10. Buddy AI is a perfect 10. Graphics are a perfect 10. Sound is a perfect 10. Presentation is a perfect 10. Controls are a perfect 10. Online Multi-player is a perfect 10. Online Co-Op is a perfect 10. I am currently playing the game again on hard after beating it twice on normal, to get all the trophies, and also to unlock crushing difficulty. Needless to say: Replay-Ability is a perfect 10. Expand
  8. DavidG
    Oct 16, 2009
    10
    Definetly the best game on the PS3, maybe even of all console this generation, I just finished it and everything is polished to the maximum, the story is interesting, the graphics are well.... let's just say WOW, the voice acting is top notch, the soundtrack is amazing, the combat is pretty developped actually, including Sneaking element, Hand to hand combat and good gun play with Definetly the best game on the PS3, maybe even of all console this generation, I just finished it and everything is polished to the maximum, the story is interesting, the graphics are well.... let's just say WOW, the voice acting is top notch, the soundtrack is amazing, the combat is pretty developped actually, including Sneaking element, Hand to hand combat and good gun play with awesome AI and good cover system with destructible cover. It took me about 12 hours finishing the game on hard, looking for treasure and trying for trophies, im going for a second playthrought to get all the trophies and it's still amazing the second time around. If you have a PS3, you absolutely want this game. Expand
  9. RickL
    Nov 6, 2009
    10
    Absolutely an amazing experience, words can't do this title justice. All I can say is: go out there, buy this game and PLAY
  10. AlbertoC
    Oct 16, 2009
    10
    There's no words to describe this game. best graphics ever, and one of the best campaigns ever created.
  11. SimonB
    Oct 16, 2009
    10
    An amazing game - one of the few linear games that i would wonna complete multiple times - and don't even get me started on the multiplayer - it's incredible!
  12. JoelB.
    Oct 16, 2009
    10
    Definitely the best game i have ever played. It did everything right when compared to the first. The first was awesome too but this game is awesome squared. It's so Well paced and the story only exemplifies it. It's a perfectly balanced game that's a lot of fun to play. And that's only the single player.
  13. EricM.
    Oct 16, 2009
    10
    outstanding game. uses the ps3's potential. outstanding storyline, plot structure, twists, turns. and everything in between.
  14. CJC
    Oct 16, 2009
    8
    ACT I
  15. AdnanA
    Oct 17, 2009
    10
    The gameplay feels solid, the graphics and the sound are the best there is. The voice acting is so well done that you'd swear you'd mistake them for a real character. Couple that with a solid story, epic globe trotting adventure, funny moments, fusing cinematic and gameplay the way never done before and you got yourself a GOTY 2009.
  16. PeterP
    Nov 7, 2009
    10
    Unbelievable. I never thought I could play a game that captured my attention like Metal Gear Solid 4 did, and this one really did it.
  17. DillonS
    Oct 17, 2009
    10
    The best game I have ever played. I haven't played a game's campaign so lovingly since Halo: Combat Evolved. No other game even comes close in terms of the campaign. Period.
  18. JonP
    Oct 17, 2009
    10
    Its easily one of the best games, maybe the best, in next-gen consoles. Amazing graphics and little details like birds fly away if you get too close etc.. Sometimes i think that am i playing or watching the movie so.. Storytelling is also very very good and voice actors are amazing! Its hard to find any sad thinks about this game, but enemies are sometimes very stupid and little bugs over Its easily one of the best games, maybe the best, in next-gen consoles. Amazing graphics and little details like birds fly away if you get too close etc.. Sometimes i think that am i playing or watching the movie so.. Storytelling is also very very good and voice actors are amazing! Its hard to find any sad thinks about this game, but enemies are sometimes very stupid and little bugs over there but it doesn't matter. Naughty Dog made again good job and im waiting Uncharted 3 more than any other game, but before that, im going to play Uncharted 2 multiplayer which is also fantastic! Thank you Naughty Dog! Expand
  19. EdC
    Oct 17, 2009
    10
    GOTY Best thing I have played this generation for sure, I have owned all 3 consoles and honestly this game is pretty much perfect. I would say it has a few flaws (takes to long to list pros) such as finicky cover system, and slow search engine for online. Regardless this game is infinitely better than games like Halo 3, Killzone 2, Gears of War 2, Resistance, and Mass Effect.
  20. anonymous
    Nov 7, 2009
    10
    This game is perfect. Story, gameplay, balance, graphics.. To the point I'm feeling sad because of completing it :) An absolute must have for anyone even remotely into gaming (on any platform). Don't miss this gem
  21. AndrewP.
    Oct 18, 2009
    10
    This game is more than just a perfect game, its a look into the future, its the vision for the standard of video gaming for next generation. Everything about the game is mind blowing, and presentation is astounding. Forget game of the year, Game of the Decade!
  22. DanielF
    Oct 18, 2009
    10
    I usually don't bother commenting, but this game is undoubtably one of the best games ever made, irrespective of gaming platform. A large amount of time and effort has been spent on the storyline and this is evident throughout the game. There are minor niggles but they are so small they do not even reflect on the overall game. If you have a PS3, BUY THIS and lets hope Naughty Dog I usually don't bother commenting, but this game is undoubtably one of the best games ever made, irrespective of gaming platform. A large amount of time and effort has been spent on the storyline and this is evident throughout the game. There are minor niggles but they are so small they do not even reflect on the overall game. If you have a PS3, BUY THIS and lets hope Naughty Dog brings further games out that are created with such obvious passion and pride. Expand
  23. EmilD
    Oct 19, 2009
    10
    Uncharted 2 remains interesting from beginning to end. The amount and attention to detail in this game make the innately unbelievable believable, and the cameras expertly pull your vision towards the best set pieces in the videogame industry since Metal Gear Solid 4. Several times I wanted to applaude the animators for doing and extra bit of work, and putting in special animations only Uncharted 2 remains interesting from beginning to end. The amount and attention to detail in this game make the innately unbelievable believable, and the cameras expertly pull your vision towards the best set pieces in the videogame industry since Metal Gear Solid 4. Several times I wanted to applaude the animators for doing and extra bit of work, and putting in special animations only seen once in the game, for instance when walking down some narrow stairs in a temple (you know where). I believe that someone may view the sudden jumps in difficulty, particularily in the trainyard, to be a little off putting, but not giving the players any challenge would be a crime to a much higher degree. Finally, it shows that the snow in the game had a norwegian perfectionist behind it. Next time, give me an old regular north norwegian winter storm! Three times hurray for uncharted! Expand
  24. SargonY
    Oct 19, 2009
    10
    just completed it yesterday and omg its seriously the best game i have every played!! if you dont have a ps3 im not saying buy one but atleast boroow one as everyone should have the chance whatever machine they own to play this game! id give it a 9.99 but it wont let me so il round it up. :D Play this game, you deserve to!
  25. Tahoe
    Dec 10, 2009
    10
    Amazing campaign. Compelling story. Great multiplayer. It's not as extensive as MW2's multiplayer, but it surpasses that, because the graphics of Uncharted 2 are amazing, has a GREAT motion capture and superb voice acting.
  26. JedidiahR
    Dec 10, 2009
    10
    This game is a beautifully crafted piece of work from on of the greatest developers in gaming.The game may lack originallity and innovation,but The Dark Knight lacked those things essentially and that is still praised.GTA IV lacked those things and that is still praised.Your unlikely to find a more immersive,more engaging game than Uncharted 2 in the history of gaming so far.For those This game is a beautifully crafted piece of work from on of the greatest developers in gaming.The game may lack originallity and innovation,but The Dark Knight lacked those things essentially and that is still praised.GTA IV lacked those things and that is still praised.Your unlikely to find a more immersive,more engaging game than Uncharted 2 in the history of gaming so far.For those who've played the first game it will have even more to offer as I found personally,that even after a year without playing the first game my love for the characters never wained.This game is perfect for anyone who enjoys action,adventure and a real sense of escapism that you just can't find in games like Halo,Gears or Resistance. Expand
  27. SebastianG
    Oct 20, 2009
    10
    A stunningly presented, expertly paced adventure. Uncharted 2 might impress you with just one of its features; its looks or its style, its gameplay or presentation, or its excellent characterisation and voice acting. But success in every single one of these areas and more, means it truly captures you, and truly pushes action adventure to a whole new level. And then gives you brilliant A stunningly presented, expertly paced adventure. Uncharted 2 might impress you with just one of its features; its looks or its style, its gameplay or presentation, or its excellent characterisation and voice acting. But success in every single one of these areas and more, means it truly captures you, and truly pushes action adventure to a whole new level. And then gives you brilliant online multiplayer as well. An absolute thrill ride from beginning to end, and an unforgettable experience. Expand
  28. DaveH
    Oct 20, 2009
    10
    As an xbox owner i can say im guilty of wanting this game to be dissapointing due to jealousey, but after seeing my brother playing it i just had to swap consoles for the weekend. The game itself, as you may of heard, is amazing. It takes the best parts of other AAA games and pushes the boundaries of each element to the next level. With the gun play of Gears and the climbing of Assains As an xbox owner i can say im guilty of wanting this game to be dissapointing due to jealousey, but after seeing my brother playing it i just had to swap consoles for the weekend. The game itself, as you may of heard, is amazing. It takes the best parts of other AAA games and pushes the boundaries of each element to the next level. With the gun play of Gears and the climbing of Assains creed blended perfectly together all with breathtaking set peices from the likes of call of duty added to the mix. But what makes it even more impressive is the graphical quality throughout. Alot of things are happening at anyone time but the engine runs smooth with with no slow down or graphical comprimise. Obviously no game is perfect and more than likely never will, but if you like this type of game, you will find it closer to perfect than you may of been led to expect. I can honestly say this is my favourite game of the last couple of years and if money wasnt an issue, and playstation keeps getting games of this quality, then i would have to invest in a playstation3. Although im sure gears of war3 will give it a run for its money, lol. Expand
  29. RichardE
    Oct 20, 2009
    9
    Terrific game. It is very similar to the first game but with all the dials turned up to 11. It has its' faults but nothing to spoil the overall experience. Drake is definately one of gamings great characters; kind of between John McLane (Die Hard) and Indiana Jones. Definate replay value and excellent online features, both co-op and versus. Naughty Dog are a developer to watch.
  30. NazrulH
    Oct 21, 2009
    10
    Has amazing set pieces. Improves on everything from Drake's Fortune - animation, melee, much more varied stealth attack, varied guns with specific and essential abilities i.e close range type/long range type, monkey bars, story, more andrenaline in narrow escape set courses and of course graphics. Puzzles are of same challenge but with a slight bigger scale in terms of manoeuvre. Has amazing set pieces. Improves on everything from Drake's Fortune - animation, melee, much more varied stealth attack, varied guns with specific and essential abilities i.e close range type/long range type, monkey bars, story, more andrenaline in narrow escape set courses and of course graphics. Puzzles are of same challenge but with a slight bigger scale in terms of manoeuvre. Naughty Gods go as far as having specific animation coded for those 1 special moments such as walking past villigers and interacting with them if u feel like it. There's lots of things they knew that didn't have to be done yet they put so much dedication towards it. Coop is THE best among all games on Playstation3. Has specific objective mode for online coop which is a good move since it allows for better and balanced gameplay without hindering the amazing single player campaign. Never should you run and gun but keep an eye out for each other and work together. It's like horde mode but not just fixed in 1 area. You still have to progress through the levels which are slightly tweaked versions of single player mission. Lot's of fun especially playing with mic on with online friends. Competitive online is fair and runs very well. Expand
  31. CatT
    Oct 22, 2009
    10
    Graphics and story are great. They changed the fighting system. More variation than the first game, beautiful locations, some great (may I say 'epic?') moments. Puzzles were nice and good fights. I loved the voice acting.. simply phenomenal. Awesome co-op and multiplayer. I just have to give it a 10/10, the critics didn't lie, It really is awesome.
  32. AndrewK
    Oct 23, 2009
    10
    Best game I've played in a long time, and I don't think its an understatement when people say that this game makes PS3 worth buying. I know the same was said about LittleBigPlanet, which I thought was awesome, but I definitely think Uncharted 2 was a more fun experience. Great replay value with unlockables, treasures and Crushing mode, and you will want to play the story again Best game I've played in a long time, and I don't think its an understatement when people say that this game makes PS3 worth buying. I know the same was said about LittleBigPlanet, which I thought was awesome, but I definitely think Uncharted 2 was a more fun experience. Great replay value with unlockables, treasures and Crushing mode, and you will want to play the story again because it is that sick. The graphics are phenomenal. The last game of this sort I've had this much fun playing was Goldeneye for N64. This may be the best game I've played in years. Expand
  33. TracieV.
    Oct 23, 2009
    10
    Uncharted 2: Among Thieves is one of the best games I have ever played. Everything about this game is amazing. Beautiful graphics, great characters, great story, great voice acting, etc. Whenever I'm playing the game, I don't want to put the controller down. Whenever I would play my brother, sister, and dad would watch me because they were so interested in the story. (my dad Uncharted 2: Among Thieves is one of the best games I have ever played. Everything about this game is amazing. Beautiful graphics, great characters, great story, great voice acting, etc. Whenever I'm playing the game, I don't want to put the controller down. Whenever I would play my brother, sister, and dad would watch me because they were so interested in the story. (my dad forced me to turn it off because he had to go to work and didn't want to miss any of the storyline). I don't care what anyone else says, Uncharted 2: Among Thieves deserves to be game of the year! Expand
  34. ScottA
    Oct 20, 2009
    10
    The game takes you back to the first time you watched an Indiana Jones movie, except this time it's playable... and better. Uncharted 2 combines fun, fast-paced gunplay with great platforming sequences and stunning graphics. The digital acting is unparallel and is easily one of the best games ever created. A must play for every fan of action games.
  35. RogerT
    Oct 24, 2009
    10
    Games like this one don't come around very often. It's the best looking game on any platform and I had a lot of fun playing it. You don't need to have played the first one to enjoy this one, but I highly recommend picking it up.
  36. ILoveThisGame
    Oct 24, 2009
    10
    I always go to metacritic for reviews but never have written one. But Uncharted 2 is so awesome that it deserves it. I truly don't think I've enjoyed a game like this in a long time. All the gameplay elements go together. Every little detail is touched upon. I play all the big blockbusters on xbox 360 and ps3 and would say I like a game that is truly exciting for a shorter I always go to metacritic for reviews but never have written one. But Uncharted 2 is so awesome that it deserves it. I truly don't think I've enjoyed a game like this in a long time. All the gameplay elements go together. Every little detail is touched upon. I play all the big blockbusters on xbox 360 and ps3 and would say I like a game that is truly exciting for a shorter amount of time then just average for a long time (looking at you fallout 3). As a busy person I don't have a lot of free time and am truly thankful for a game without extreme time devotions. IMO this is the most perfect game to come out. I'm not saying its all perfect because there is always room to improve but in comparison to every game that has ever come out (at least the ones I've played) its by far the greatest single player experience you can have (multiplayer on uncharted is no MW but its above everage). If you can buy only one system and one game this should be it. I think anyone that doesn't enjoy this game should go to a doctor because you might be depressed! Expand
  37. JaimeS
    Oct 25, 2009
    10
    This game is simply extraordinary. I was worried online would not be good because its their first time having multiplayer, but naughty dog nailed it to create a very addictive multiplayer. The offline is great as well. I dont usually play the story lines, but this one i had to play. Cut scenes are not short but also not near as much as MGS4 as some people would claim(maybe because they This game is simply extraordinary. I was worried online would not be good because its their first time having multiplayer, but naughty dog nailed it to create a very addictive multiplayer. The offline is great as well. I dont usually play the story lines, but this one i had to play. Cut scenes are not short but also not near as much as MGS4 as some people would claim(maybe because they haven't played it). Naughty Dog has really stepped it up. For that i will consider their games they will release. Expand
  38. JörgT
    Oct 25, 2009
    10
    10 for effort, 10 for execution, 10 for the fun of it all. No, it's not a sandbox game, but man, does it do story well... at least for a videogame. If only we can get away from Indiana Jones in the next big action adventure franchise, that would be even better.
  39. MatthewE
    Dec 6, 2009
    10
    Possibly the best single-player gaming ever! The multiplayer gets almost as high marks. The vs mode is OK, but the co-op is friggin' sweet. Not perfect, but almost.
  40. AlanD
    Dec 7, 2009
    10
    Refines adventure games as Tomb Raider did back in 1996! A true masterpiece of a game!
  41. SuperSlasher
    Oct 28, 2009
    10
    Absolutely without a doubet the most awesome game I've ever played, and I've played a alot of games way back to Goldeneye on N64. The atmosphere, graphics, puzzles, adventure, voice-acting, musical score, surprises, storyline, humor, etc., etc., etc. are simply unparalleled on any platform! So rich & delicious it's like French Food. Completely satisfying in every way Absolutely without a doubet the most awesome game I've ever played, and I've played a alot of games way back to Goldeneye on N64. The atmosphere, graphics, puzzles, adventure, voice-acting, musical score, surprises, storyline, humor, etc., etc., etc. are simply unparalleled on any platform! So rich & delicious it's like French Food. Completely satisfying in every way imaginable. Shall I tell you how I REALLY feel? Haha Expand
  42. Laszlo
    Oct 28, 2009
    9
    The game is a technical marvel and sets a new standard for action games. However it takes a few hours till it gets really amazing. The Train and convoy levels were the most fun IMO. Overall I prefer more atmospheric games like TOMB RAIDER UNDERWORLD.
  43. Val
    Dec 8, 2009
    10
    One of the best games.. in fact, possibly THE best game ever made. The only disappointment is that it's a bit too short
  44. neofitoso
    Dec 9, 2009
    10
    The best graphics ever and fantastic action.Perfect story.I never wanted this memorable game to end.This game is 10/10.MUST BUY.
  45. DraganaK
    Oct 29, 2009
    10
    Absolutely fantastic game. The story, gameplay, graphics, sound, level design, controls, and multi-player options are all top notch. You're really doing yourself a great disservice as a gamer if you do not at least try out this game.
  46. pg
    Dec 9, 2009
    10
    No game has yet to reach the standards of Uncharted 2. The game is near perfect in every aspect.
  47. ColeP
    Oct 31, 2009
    10
    Incredible game: awesome story, amazing characters, great humor, unprecedented graphics, and a multiplayer experience that has a non-mulitplayer guy excited to keep playing it! Everyone should give this game a try!
  48. BrianB
    Oct 30, 2009
    10
    Probably the best game ever made! No other game comes even remotly close to this, exept maybe drakes fortune. Everything about this game is top noch. Even the multiplayer is fun and i dont like playing online games! This is what all games should strive for in terms of quality. Naughty Dog is the best !
  49. RyanS
    Oct 30, 2009
    8
    This is a great game, but don't let anyone fool you, It is NOT the best game of all time (or generation even)... The Single-player experience if great, but for an adventure game, is pretty linear. It is pretty lengthy, but the scenarios seem kind of blended together (you have at least one teamate leading you around for most of the game). The multiplayer is unique, with the perk This is a great game, but don't let anyone fool you, It is NOT the best game of all time (or generation even)... The Single-player experience if great, but for an adventure game, is pretty linear. It is pretty lengthy, but the scenarios seem kind of blended together (you have at least one teamate leading you around for most of the game). The multiplayer is unique, with the perk system, to the gunplay. My biggest gripe is the inconsistancy and how the maps fail to utilize height advantage. Certainly a must have for PS3 owners, who have to be itching for a game to play lately... But doesn't come close to the metascore champion of the Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time. Solid game, but doesn't deserve a 97 metascore... Expand
  50. CranstonB.
    Oct 30, 2009
    10
    What is up with the PS3 lately. It's really coming out with top notch games. I own both and have not bought a game for the 360 in 10 months. Uncharted 2 has got to be the best, most polished game I have ever played. I can't remember the last time I wanted to start a game over the minute I finished it. That's exactly what I did with Uncharted 2. People. NOW is the time to What is up with the PS3 lately. It's really coming out with top notch games. I own both and have not bought a game for the 360 in 10 months. Uncharted 2 has got to be the best, most polished game I have ever played. I can't remember the last time I wanted to start a game over the minute I finished it. That's exactly what I did with Uncharted 2. People. NOW is the time to buy a PS3. Infamous, Demon Souls, Uncharted series, Killzone, God of War. Sheesh. How could you NOT want one??? Expand
  51. MichaelH.
    Oct 30, 2009
    10
    That's actually a 9.5 but since i can't put it ill stick with 10. This game is mind-blowing in every way; the graphics, storytelling, the characters it just gets about everything right, but it's not perfect because no game so far can be perfect; yet. I fully recommend this game and also recommend that you keep a close eye on Naughty Dog.
  52. AnthonyR
    Jan 11, 2010
    10
    This game is very underrated, obv a 10 but sure as hell nothing lower than an 8, i gave it a 10 mainly because it is awesome, I bet most of the people who gave it 0 haven't even played it, probably don't even have a ps3, stupid fanboys.
  53. josephc
    Jan 13, 2010
    10
    This is simply the best action game ever made. Naughty dog has created a master piece, start to finish. Go buy this game! Go buy a PS3 just for this game
  54. markl
    Jan 14, 2010
    10
    uncharted 2 is NOT overated at all it is singlehandedly one of the best apps to come out in a long time. The game play is simple, fluid and dynamic. The movies will hook you from the start and are worthy of a oscar. The multiplayer isnt so good but dont let this spoil you from one of the greatest games out there. The graphics are beautiful and it is a solid emotional rollercoaster of a uncharted 2 is NOT overated at all it is singlehandedly one of the best apps to come out in a long time. The game play is simple, fluid and dynamic. The movies will hook you from the start and are worthy of a oscar. The multiplayer isnt so good but dont let this spoil you from one of the greatest games out there. The graphics are beautiful and it is a solid emotional rollercoaster of a game. This truly deserves to stand amongst the giants of the gaming world. Expand
  55. MattW
    Jan 15, 2010
    10
    Wow DV trolled you guys hard XD He was commenting on how some other reviewers act in their reviews. Anyway, Uncharted 2 is pretty damn amazing.
  56. grimdeath
    Jan 18, 2010
    8
    Good game but I don't see what all the fuss is about it's good but not great, don't believe the hype.
  57. Classy
    Jan 21, 2010
    10
    I would give this game a 9.8ish but since there isn't one it gets a 10, this game is beyond impressive. And to the poster below me known as Johan F, he says he gets bored yet based on 104 Game critics, which gave this game the best rated of 2009 are overhyping it? Yeah okay there buddy, and Average graphics? Right there gives away that you are an Xbox fanboy...a fanboy regardless I would give this game a 9.8ish but since there isn't one it gets a 10, this game is beyond impressive. And to the poster below me known as Johan F, he says he gets bored yet based on 104 Game critics, which gave this game the best rated of 2009 are overhyping it? Yeah okay there buddy, and Average graphics? Right there gives away that you are an Xbox fanboy...a fanboy regardless shouldn't even be able to post due to their incoherent minds to assume whatever Sony pushes out must be garbage 100%... What this game is, is the Die Hard of Video Games. The way that movie redefined Action movies is the way this game redefined Action Games...through great voice acting and motion capture, unbelievable action sets and a superb plot that keeps going and going it will be entertaining to all...an example of this is my dad was watching me play from the beginning, the next day i was playing Modern Warfare 2 and he comes in and tells me to play Uncharted 2...He WANTED me to play the game so he can see what happens...unfortunately my PS3 YLOD so he didn't get to see the ending to it but he will eventually (I'm at university so the ps3 is with me) Bottomline: If you own a ps3, this game is a MUST have, best game out on PS3 so far and well deserves the many GotY awards it recieved. Expand
  58. MT
    Jan 2, 2010
    10
    The game is great! Even playing it through a second time I was still very into the game. I do not understand why people make such a big deal about a game borrowing from other games, saying that it is nothing new and it is repetitive. Halo is repetitive and borrows from other fps. Gears of War is repetitive and borrows from other 3rd person shooters. Heck, even a creative game such as The game is great! Even playing it through a second time I was still very into the game. I do not understand why people make such a big deal about a game borrowing from other games, saying that it is nothing new and it is repetitive. Halo is repetitive and borrows from other fps. Gears of War is repetitive and borrows from other 3rd person shooters. Heck, even a creative game such as Braid borrowed aspects from SMBs. Face it, U2 is amazing. Expand
  59. MarkyMarkWhaleberg
    Jan 25, 2010
    9
    Great game that improves on the original in almost every way. Very close to the experience of a great action movie. That being said, it is overrated in retrospect because of the lack of good action games.
  60. L.Mehr
    Jan 26, 2010
    9
    Don't give in completely to the hype (like almost every critic did). Where you see so much praise for it graphics, you'll notice it's gameplay has hardly changed and what gameplay did change wasn't well implemented. A great thrill ride with the pacing of a Hollywood movie but........a bit of an annoying climax-cliche so I can't say great story all-around but in Don't give in completely to the hype (like almost every critic did). Where you see so much praise for it graphics, you'll notice it's gameplay has hardly changed and what gameplay did change wasn't well implemented. A great thrill ride with the pacing of a Hollywood movie but........a bit of an annoying climax-cliche so I can't say great story all-around but in terms of dialouge and pacing, it's superb. Expand
  61. MarcosD.
    Jan 26, 2010
    10
    Fantastic experience, fantastic graphics (both technical and artistic), fantastic offline gameplay, fantastic online gameplay, FANTASTIC GAME.
  62. Alex
    May 18, 2010
    10
    This game would be a 9, only if it came out when it was suppose to. Standards on games have increased, which is why this game is not what it could have been. A big complaint with this game is the ending, which i won't spoil anything but lets just say it is one of the most predictable physiological endings EVER. The gameplay is fun at first, but gets very repetitive as well as theThis game would be a 9, only if it came out when it was suppose to. Standards on games have increased, which is why this game is not what it could have been. A big complaint with this game is the ending, which i won't spoil anything but lets just say it is one of the most predictable physiological endings EVER. The gameplay is fun at first, but gets very repetitive as well as the enemies. Almost every enemy is the same for the most part with no variety. The visuals are pleasing, but do not set any standards to modern day. All in all I wish I could have played this game two years ago. Expand
  63. ReeceL
    Nov 11, 2009
    10
    This game is amazing, what more can be said. Superb graphics, gameplay, and a mindblowing story and musical score.
  64. JACKL
    Nov 10, 2009
    10
    Absolutley the best! won't put the controller down it is orgasmic! buy buy buy this game if you don't own it, best graphics, gameplay, and best story since Zelda! Orgasmic!
  65. AdamF
    Nov 10, 2009
    10
    Initially renting this game, days after release, I was stunned. Never before had a game been so successful in immersing me into the story line than Uncharted 2. Building off of a great cast from Drake's Fortune, the actors are all back, with some new faces too. Going head first into the story mode is the best decision for you in this game, for you will experience much from beginning Initially renting this game, days after release, I was stunned. Never before had a game been so successful in immersing me into the story line than Uncharted 2. Building off of a great cast from Drake's Fortune, the actors are all back, with some new faces too. Going head first into the story mode is the best decision for you in this game, for you will experience much from beginning to end. I actually found myself playing this game three times through to find all the collectibles, and achieving all awards to gain money for cheats. Once you feel the story mode loses it's thrill, you won't be unsatisfied with the highly addictive online modes. Variants of popular shooter matches, like death match, capture the flag, or elimination will keep you busy for months to come. The co-op is also a blast to play, but although it only sticks to three missions, they stick to the story very well. Along with a store to purchase goods like costumes, perks, and co-op weapon upgrades, which add a very deep feel to the online. So all-in-all, the shooting is great, the graphics are great, the acting is great, and everything else is great. This game raises the bar in so many ways, and it never ceases to surprise. Expand
  66. daniellopez
    Nov 12, 2009
    10
    A MASTERPICE wow just wow cannot miss this game if u are a true gamer GET IT just GET IT it wont dissapoint nd u are amazing devs cannot thank u enough for this not since re4 have i been so engrossed in a game
  67. mobius
    Nov 1, 2009
    10
    great story. belivable charactors, great set peices, i own a xbox 360 aswell as a ps3 slim and i pity my 360 buddys for not being able to play such a fantastic game. just a note to my 360 buddys who think the xbox has its own exclusives, think again as those 360 exclusives all appear on the PC, i should know as i have a gaming PC, the thing that the PC and the xbox cant do is play great story. belivable charactors, great set peices, i own a xbox 360 aswell as a ps3 slim and i pity my 360 buddys for not being able to play such a fantastic game. just a note to my 360 buddys who think the xbox has its own exclusives, think again as those 360 exclusives all appear on the PC, i should know as i have a gaming PC, the thing that the PC and the xbox cant do is play exclusive titles that you find on the PS3. infact has the 360 and the PC play the same games im gonna trade in my 360 and just keep the PS3 and PC. Expand
  68. AgnerS
    Nov 10, 2009
    10
    One of the best games I've ever played and easily one of the top games of this generation. The story, graphics, and gameplay while not flawless are still the best to date on any console. Looking forward to the next uncharted and whatever else the industry has for us over the next few years. Multiple player is also great and I hope ND keeps supporting it for many months to come. A One of the best games I've ever played and easily one of the top games of this generation. The story, graphics, and gameplay while not flawless are still the best to date on any console. Looking forward to the next uncharted and whatever else the industry has for us over the next few years. Multiple player is also great and I hope ND keeps supporting it for many months to come. A must have title in anyone's library. Expand
  69. Maxj
    Nov 12, 2009
    10
    AWESOME! best game of this generation. graphics,gameplay,story,level design, multiplayer, are all perfect!Naughty dog has set the bar very very higher among the other developers.GOTY 2009.
  70. rockyRoger
    Nov 12, 2009
    10
    perfect game,perfect gameplay. grafically gorgeous.level design top notch. best game of this generation.
  71. vineetb
    Nov 1, 2009
    10
    stellar graphics, superb gameplay, & brilliant characters.uc2 is realy one hell of a game. all my kudos to the devlopers
  72. JoeD
    Nov 15, 2009
    10
    This game is amazing in every way. Nonstop action, excellent plot, amazing cutscenes, and mind blowing graphics. This game deserves a 10/10. This is definitely the best game this generation.
  73. NickG
    Nov 2, 2009
    10
    Excellent.Haven't been this impressed since MGS4.This game is inarguably the best out this year.An extreme "miss-out" for Xbox users.
  74. EvanB.
    Nov 21, 2009
    10
    The only game I have played to completion this year! Game of the Year for me, and best game on the Playstation 3!
  75. dtT22
    Nov 20, 2009
    10
    uncharted 2 is the best game of 2009!! the graphics is great! the story is engaging!!!! this game should be in the top 5 ps3 games of all time, o wait, it is it rules!!!!! ill rate it 30 out of 10 but i was limited with 10 so ill give it a graet 10 out of 10!!!!!
  76. Callahan09
    Oct 13, 2009
    10
    The graphics are amazing, the story is intriguing, the acting is convincing and natural. The level designs are exciting and fun, the controls are spot-on, the multiplayer is addictive, and all-in-all I can only say that this game is brilliantly executed, and more fun than you're likely to have had in a long, long time.
  77. SamR
    Oct 13, 2009
    10
    Simply put, if you own a PS3, buy it. If you don't then buy a PS3 and buy this game. The graphics are jaw dropping, the story is excellent, the acting is top notch, and the multiplayer is loads of fun. Stop reading and buy it now!!!!
  78. JahM
    Oct 13, 2009
    10
    Simply put this is the GOTY. The action is incredible and well paced. The mulitiplayer is so addictive and so fun it can keep you hooked for hours upon hours with out even realizing the time going by, it really captures the single player campaign of the game in a multiplayer setting. If you don't have a PS3 and have been on the fence on getting one, I can only say that the price of Simply put this is the GOTY. The action is incredible and well paced. The mulitiplayer is so addictive and so fun it can keep you hooked for hours upon hours with out even realizing the time going by, it really captures the single player campaign of the game in a multiplayer setting. If you don't have a PS3 and have been on the fence on getting one, I can only say that the price of the PS3 alone is worth playing this game. You will not regret it. And if you already have a PS3 this is most definetly a must buy, hands down. ENJOY!!! Expand
  79. UnchartedUncharted
    Oct 13, 2009
    10
    This game will blow you away. Clearly shows why the xbox360 is the inferior system and shouldn't even be compared to the PS3. Go buy it.
  80. AJR.
    Oct 13, 2009
    10
    The first Uncharted tried to give gamers a more cinematic experience and succeeded. Uncharted 2 perfects the art (emphasis on perfect). Everything about the game is great and very polished. The environments have all the little details that make your mouth drop. The gameplay is ever changing. The shooting and AI is so much better than the first game. If you thought Uncharted: Drake's The first Uncharted tried to give gamers a more cinematic experience and succeeded. Uncharted 2 perfects the art (emphasis on perfect). Everything about the game is great and very polished. The environments have all the little details that make your mouth drop. The gameplay is ever changing. The shooting and AI is so much better than the first game. If you thought Uncharted: Drake's Fortune was any good then you will be blown away by Uncharted 2. Even if you aren't normally a (3rd person) shooter fan you should pick up this game. This game alone (well at least with Metal Gear Solid) is worth buying a PS3. Everyone needs to play this game, its the next Zelda. Expand
  81. JoeB
    Nov 30, 2009
    10
    Absolutely great. 1 problem with game the penalty for quitting in MP is too much esp if you lose connection
  82. glennd
    Oct 13, 2009
    10
    Easily the best game this gen after three and a half hours of playing i was still waiting for the game to start. Thats how beautiful and engaging it is. Highly recommend.
  83. ahmedb.
    Oct 13, 2009
    10
    The best freakin experience I've had playing a game EVER! If you even slightly enjoyed uncharted: drake's fortune, I don't see how you can't love this game. Infact, i'll make a bold statement here: I don't think anyone with their right mind intact could not enjoy the adventure of Nate around the world.
  84. MattA
    Oct 13, 2009
    10
    This is one of the best single player games I have ever played. It really makes you feel like you are the star of a summer action movie. The voice acting is second to none and it feels like the characters are living breathing people that you actually know. The multiplayer is also surprisingly good and can compete with other top multiplayer's out there like call of duty 4 and Halo. This is one of the best single player games I have ever played. It really makes you feel like you are the star of a summer action movie. The voice acting is second to none and it feels like the characters are living breathing people that you actually know. The multiplayer is also surprisingly good and can compete with other top multiplayer's out there like call of duty 4 and Halo. Overall this is one of the best gaming experiences you will have in a long time. Expand
  85. jumpingjack
    Oct 13, 2009
    10
    This game is absolutely brilliant. I dont know why people give it anything less than a 10. the graphics are amazing, the gameplay is similar to uncharted 1 but why change anything which works great. the weapons are great, and multiplayer is sooo addictive.
  86. JonhX
    Oct 13, 2009
    10
    Amazing! Buy it now! hehe it may not redefine a genre or something like that but it´s the must fun i had in so long, maybe since metal gear solid 4 that i havent played such a good game.
  87. ErlandK
    Oct 14, 2009
    10
    Two armed guards chatted obliviously as I looked into the kitchen of a dilapidated Nepalese apartment. Careful not to be spotted, I pulled myself up and took aim at a propane tank. "Boom," whispered Nathan Drake, just before I pulled the trigger, blowing the unsuspecting guards into oblivion. That was the moment that I realized I was in Drake's skin, he was in my head, and I was in Two armed guards chatted obliviously as I looked into the kitchen of a dilapidated Nepalese apartment. Careful not to be spotted, I pulled myself up and took aim at a propane tank. "Boom," whispered Nathan Drake, just before I pulled the trigger, blowing the unsuspecting guards into oblivion. That was the moment that I realized I was in Drake's skin, he was in my head, and I was in love with this game. Expand
  88. KennyB
    Nov 4, 2009
    8
    Amazing game that should get a 10 but is let down becasue it is way to short !
  89. RobertH
    Oct 14, 2009
    10
    I've not played ANYTHING that has been this engaging since GTA IV. The characters are scripted beautifully, the enemies are ludicrously crafty and the end boss is the most evil b*stard in any game thus-far. With nods to just about every adventurer there has ever been, this is game of the year. As with every engaging story the ability to transport you there is made real by I've not played ANYTHING that has been this engaging since GTA IV. The characters are scripted beautifully, the enemies are ludicrously crafty and the end boss is the most evil b*stard in any game thus-far. With nods to just about every adventurer there has ever been, this is game of the year. As with every engaging story the ability to transport you there is made real by spellbinding visuals. There is not a weak spot during the entire game and is made all the more believable by having several sub plots as a base. Uncharted 2 starts off perfectly, blends stealth and brains with mini guns and rocket launchers and ultimately creates one of the most perfect gaming experiences anyone will ever have the satisfaction of playing Expand
  90. HarrisK.
    Oct 14, 2009
    10
    One of the best games that I have ever played. I loved the first one, but this game ups the ante on so many fronts. The story, the voice acting, the unprecedented graphics, the game play is incredible, AND stellar multiplayer and co-op to boot! The PS3 is really showing its muscle now!
  91. BillS
    Oct 14, 2009
    10
    If I could vote higher I would. The most incredible game I've ever played. I loved the witty banter, the action, and the breathtaking set pieces. I have never seen anything so gorgeous in a video game. Plus, Chloe does have a nice butt.
  92. LeeL
    Oct 14, 2009
    10
    This is THE greatest action-adventure of all time. One hand you have one of the best single-player experiences there is, with a great story delivered by an amazing cast of actors, with cinematic moments that will keep you on the edge of your sit throughout the way. On the other hand you have not only a very competent online component but a really enjoyable one at that. With 5v5 This is THE greatest action-adventure of all time. One hand you have one of the best single-player experiences there is, with a great story delivered by an amazing cast of actors, with cinematic moments that will keep you on the edge of your sit throughout the way. On the other hand you have not only a very competent online component but a really enjoyable one at that. With 5v5 competitive multiplayer and 3 player co-op there is almost unlimited replay value in this game after you finish the story mode in 12-13 hours. Forget if you are a current or future PS3 owner, if you have any self-respect as a gamer, you MUST play this game! Expand
  93. LeeL
    Oct 14, 2009
    10
    Incredible. This is the type of game you find yourself telling non-gamers about in coffee shops and then they look at you weird and try and change the subject...but you cant stop! you keep bringing it up over and over and then they leave and your alone again...sigh... alone with your amazing game. <3 hah! seriously though this is awesome and YES that did happen to me today.
  94. RyneH
    Oct 14, 2009
    10
    If this game could have a higher score than 10, I would. After playing through 2 online betas, beating the game once on single player, and now playing the more in-depth multiplayers, I would say that Naughty Dog/Sony could get away with a "Pay what you want" for this and make MORE money then they do at the $60 price point. I would EASILY pay $100 for this game... Simply the most If this game could have a higher score than 10, I would. After playing through 2 online betas, beating the game once on single player, and now playing the more in-depth multiplayers, I would say that Naughty Dog/Sony could get away with a "Pay what you want" for this and make MORE money then they do at the $60 price point. I would EASILY pay $100 for this game... Simply the most outstanding game I've EVER played in my ENTIRE life. Expand
  95. mattS
    Oct 14, 2009
    10
    Believe the hype, Uncharted 2: Among Thieves sets the bar for what a AAA title should be. Congrats to Naughty Dog for a near flawless experience but most of all congratulations are to the gamers, you're the biggest winners this season. And to all the xbot flamers and trolls here is the game not even you can convincingly argue against. This many reviews just don't lie.
  96. RobA
    Oct 14, 2009
    10
    If you liked Drake's Fortune, there's no chance you won't love this game. It's added features (stealth, better combat fighting, and more) combined with the excellent voice-over work puts Among Thieves in a class of it's own. If you didn't like Drake's Fortune, go play some more Pong, because clearly you don't like video games.
  97. MikeR
    Oct 15, 2009
    9
    I loved the 1st Uncharted. So why give this one a 9? This is a bigger version of the first, which had nearly as much polish, albeit a smaller scale. The problem is that the story elements in the 2 games parallel one another. To say more would be to drop spoilers. There were no surprises for me in this story. After playing through the 1st several times and finishing Crushing, I needed I loved the 1st Uncharted. So why give this one a 9? This is a bigger version of the first, which had nearly as much polish, albeit a smaller scale. The problem is that the story elements in the 2 games parallel one another. To say more would be to drop spoilers. There were no surprises for me in this story. After playing through the 1st several times and finishing Crushing, I needed something a bit different. Expand
  98. DanB
    Oct 15, 2009
    10
    Simply put...Wow. Never has a game immersed you in the world the way Uncharted 2 does. Amazing graphics(though not as good as Killzone 2), great single player and awesome online play; this is a MUST own.
  99. AmmarH
    Oct 15, 2009
    10
    This game is AMAZING. Best graphics, great story, great mulyplayer, this is my favourite game ever. It is so fun! And actually i give this game a 9.8/10, but we can't use decimals so i just rounded it to a 10. This is the highest i have ever rated a game.
  100. MikeQ
    Oct 15, 2009
    10
    This game is fantastic. The story is packed full of action and twists, and the voice actors really bring the characters to life. The graphics are probably the nicest on the PS3 and you can tell the developers really wanted this game to look perfect. From the jungle to the mountains it all looks stunning. The gameplay is also great. The puzzles and platforming sections are really well This game is fantastic. The story is packed full of action and twists, and the voice actors really bring the characters to life. The graphics are probably the nicest on the PS3 and you can tell the developers really wanted this game to look perfect. From the jungle to the mountains it all looks stunning. The gameplay is also great. The puzzles and platforming sections are really well done, and the action is really full on (you will be jumping from truck to truck, leaping onto a moving train, and taking down choppers just to mention a few bits) Overall this is a must own game. Expand
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 105 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Mixed: 0 out of 105
  2. Negative: 0 out of 105
  1. 100
    Spread across twenty-six chapters is a story as playful and worthwhile as the gameplay.
  2. Graphically stunning, Uncharted 2: Among Thieves is, first of all, an interactive adventure, one that feels like a movie and even has a storyline of a movie. Most gameplay situations have been tailored in order to stun the player with originality and identification, and the end result is absolutely amazing.
  3. Among Thieves is all about constant movement. And even movement on top of movement. It grabbed me from the beginning and didn't let go for twelve hours. Once I finished, all I could think about was playing it again. More than a defining game for the PS3, Uncharted 2 is a defining game of this console generation.