• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Oct 13, 2009
User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 4370 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. cb
    Dec 11, 2009
    2
    Since I played Uncharted 1 I couldnt quit thinking about how great its sequel would be if they fixed the controls and added multiplayer. To my surprise, I thought the sequel was much worse. All you do in single player is climb. This game is broken. I have gotten to two spots in this game where i knew where to climb but the he could not grab the ledge. Both times I spent about 3 hours and Since I played Uncharted 1 I couldnt quit thinking about how great its sequel would be if they fixed the controls and added multiplayer. To my surprise, I thought the sequel was much worse. All you do in single player is climb. This game is broken. I have gotten to two spots in this game where i knew where to climb but the he could not grab the ledge. Both times I spent about 3 hours and died over a 100 times because he would not recognize the ledge to grab. At another point i was supposed to put a dagger into a statue. Well the game never gave me the option to. The triangle button never came up when I was at the statue. I blew about three hours trying to figure out what to do. Finally, all the sudden a cut scene came on that never came on before and it allowed me to put the dagger in. Simply climbing in this game is a major chore. I tried my hardest to finish this game. But I cant beat a broken game. There is so little action in this game. And when you finally get to some, it to is very frustrating. Cut scenes and bad controls ruin the action. At one point I walked up to the boss and shot bullets directly into his head yet it didnt hurt him, and he killed me. But the next time a cut scene happened (why didnt the cut scene occur the first time) and we got into a fight and a simple punch killed him. The action in this game feels forced, manipulative, and buggy. As far as multiplayer goes, it isnt much better. I liked Gears 2 alot, so I couldnt wait for this game because I thought it would be a faster paced version of Gears 2 with the ability to respawn in multiplayer. But its frustrating and felt tacked on. The load times are long. The menus are confusing. And I cant figure out how to switch modes. How do you get into free for all deathmatch? How do you alter your character? Couldnt figure out how co-op worked. When trying to upgrade what does upgrade co-op guns mean? Does it not effect your gun in deathmatch? Overall, I thought Uncharted 2 is possibly the most frustrating game ive ever played. It could have been so good if they would have finished the game and fixed the controls, camera, melee, mulitiplayer, and gave it some of the nice touces of Gears 2 or the new COD, to show they actually care and werent trying to rush it out before the game was finished. If you want a better 3rd person shooter, its not even close, go with Gears 2 or the new Ratchet and clank game. Expand
  2. DV
    Dec 15, 2009
    3
    I expect every good game I play to be innovative in every regard or it has automatically failed. I hate it when games borrow ideas or game mechanics from other games. I don't care if a story has a good game with good characters, I will find and point out alleged bugs that were minor yet proved game-breaking for me. Any game that is not on PC is graphically inferior since it runs at I expect every good game I play to be innovative in every regard or it has automatically failed. I hate it when games borrow ideas or game mechanics from other games. I don't care if a story has a good game with good characters, I will find and point out alleged bugs that were minor yet proved game-breaking for me. Any game that is not on PC is graphically inferior since it runs at lower resolution. People who enjoy games are fanboys and my sole purpose is to find faults in their arguments. Liking a game has to be justified using faulty logic. Expand
  3. Aug 6, 2011
    0
    This game is horrible. The puzzles are either easy or broken, the gameplay is tedious (go behind cover, guy sticks his head out, shoot him, repeat) and I could have written a better story at the age of 5. And I'm not a 360 fanboy. Do you want to know what's even worse about this game? That the first game was the exact same god damn thing. That just goes to show that the developers didn'tThis game is horrible. The puzzles are either easy or broken, the gameplay is tedious (go behind cover, guy sticks his head out, shoot him, repeat) and I could have written a better story at the age of 5. And I'm not a 360 fanboy. Do you want to know what's even worse about this game? That the first game was the exact same god damn thing. That just goes to show that the developers didn't learn from their first piece of **** Expand
  4. SolT
    Dec 10, 2009
    0
    This game will officially go down as officially one of the most overrated games of all time, due to unjustifiably being praised excessively given the lack of blockbuster titles on a largely failed system to the most successful gaming brand of all time in Sony Playstation. The title does not innovate in any way beyond its cinematic presentation and the gameplay is standardised to the core This game will officially go down as officially one of the most overrated games of all time, due to unjustifiably being praised excessively given the lack of blockbuster titles on a largely failed system to the most successful gaming brand of all time in Sony Playstation. The title does not innovate in any way beyond its cinematic presentation and the gameplay is standardised to the core with very little in the way of innovate mechanics that seperate all time great games from merely good ones. Mark my words, when the dust settles on this game, and this game doesn't feature prominently (i.e. in the top 20) in many of the nets greatest games of all time lists (surprise surprise) the gaming world will finally come to the proper realisation that this truly is one of the most overrated games (by both critics and users) of all time. Expand
  5. DanielJ.
    Oct 15, 2009
    0
    This game is very overrated, obv not a 0 but sure as hell nothing higher than an 8, i gave it a 0 mainly as a response to all the unnecessary 10's, I bet most of the people who gave it that haven't even played it, stupid fanboys.
  6. Aug 30, 2010
    1
    Waste of money! Redundant action, climb some walls, jump some gaps, shoot a couple baddies, repeat. So boring in all aspects. The only reason I gave this game a 1 is because the human graphics are almost lifelike.
  7. JohanF
    Jan 18, 2010
    3
    It seems to me that there is a very few gaming addicts that rate this game round 0 - 5 in this blog against the other 95% who helps to overate this game. I however have to fall in between the 0 - 5. I played the first one (finished it with great boredom) and can
  8. Jan 12, 2012
    1
    This game has bad controls. I personally dislike it due to the clunky shooting mechanics and its overrated.
  9. GarryKasparov
    Nov 9, 2009
    0
    This game has nothing to do with tactics and the game of chess. This game is pure gun fighting with nothing special. Something like the "Super-Mario Chess" is an ingenious game incomparable to Uncharted 2
  10. LexL
    Oct 15, 2009
    3
    Very underwhelming on all fronts. The graphics are nice but graphics do not make a game. This game is basically a shootan that is masked with awful platforming sections.
  11. ace02
    Jan 26, 2010
    4
    A mix of Tomb Raider,Splinter Cell and kill.switch with better graphics and cinematics. Just like its brother(God of War),this game is just another game but with tricks to make you think that it's awesome. What tricks? Remove the graphics and the explosions and you'll have just one more Tomb Raider clone.
  12. Nov 4, 2011
    6
    The most overrated game ever. After reading all the reviews, i had really high expectations.Yes the graphics were pretty, but the game itself was boring, and it repeated itself. The plot was like from a chinese copy of an indiana jones movie. It sucked. The gameplay and co-op were really good, and they pretty much saved the game. But still i cant really recommend it to anyone.
  13. Oct 29, 2011
    0
    This game was a yawn from start to finish.... Off to play some Killzone instead of this crap. The combat was iffy, the cover system was horrible, the guns where generic bullcrap, the level design was so cruddy, the whole game was basicly a massive long tunnel, the graphics are not that amazing, the story is not that great. Overall a very over-rated game. Waste of money! Redundant action,This game was a yawn from start to finish.... Off to play some Killzone instead of this crap. The combat was iffy, the cover system was horrible, the guns where generic bullcrap, the level design was so cruddy, the whole game was basicly a massive long tunnel, the graphics are not that amazing, the story is not that great. Overall a very over-rated game. Waste of money! Redundant action, climb some walls, jump some gaps, shoot a couple baddies, repeat. So boring in all aspects. The only reason I gave this game a 1 is because the human graphics are almost lifelike. Expand
  14. bt
    Dec 9, 2009
    6
    Way too much looking around to find where to climb to next in single player. This game isnt a 3rd person shooter like people say, its more of a platformer. You spend the vast majority of your time looking where to climb to next and its very frustrating. Poor controls too. MP is a confusing mess. Cant figure out how to upgrade my character, choose my booster, choose any deathmatch other Way too much looking around to find where to climb to next in single player. This game isnt a 3rd person shooter like people say, its more of a platformer. You spend the vast majority of your time looking where to climb to next and its very frustrating. Poor controls too. MP is a confusing mess. Cant figure out how to upgrade my character, choose my booster, choose any deathmatch other then team, or play the horde mode (which I heard this game has). Also under my stats in multiplayer it says ive killed 0 people. That isnt right. Its just a confusing mess with bad controls and terrible melee. The graphics are great (though they didnt blow me away the way uncharted 1 did) and the voice acting is wonderful. Lacks the gore, chainsaws, crawling to a teammate, headstomping and other cool things in Gears 2. And lacks the instant respawns and replays of deaths of CODMW2. Expand
  15. TonyL.
    Nov 8, 2009
    5
    This is probably the most overrated and hyped game of 2009. I played this at a friend's on his 47" 1080P LCD w/ HDMI and honestly the visuals did not impress me, since I usually game on PC with a powerful machine. The game looked like it was running at 720P and had weak textures, including jaggies. Sad how some say this is the best looking thing out there. Besides the visuals, this This is probably the most overrated and hyped game of 2009. I played this at a friend's on his 47" 1080P LCD w/ HDMI and honestly the visuals did not impress me, since I usually game on PC with a powerful machine. The game looked like it was running at 720P and had weak textures, including jaggies. Sad how some say this is the best looking thing out there. Besides the visuals, this game is very unoriginal; meaning it steals a lot of other game's mechanics. This game even felt too short for 60 bucks. Also, I did not like the controls... although its most likely because I've spent my time firing virtual guns near accurate with you know, a computer mouse. I ended up asking my friend if this game was overrated and he replied in a mellow way that, yeah it was and kind of short. If you're an open-minded gamer and isn't biased, you will agree with my review. I am puzzled how Viorel 800022 gave this game a 10, yet saying he has a full list of complaints for Uncharted 2. This game just really isn't so godly. Expand
  16. ????????
    Nov 9, 2009
    6
    Easily the 2nd most overated game on ps3 (1st inFamous) has some god bits but is repatative all the way through with the same shoot, climb, shoot so if you want a good action game buy Arkham Asylum instead, it beats it bycountry mile
  17. GusC
    Dec 31, 2009
    5
    Meh. This is really no different from every other adventure blockbluster. There's a lackluster plot, repetitive gameplay, uninspired sidequests, all adding up to no fun for an experienced gamer. The graphics are top notch, however, so if you are won over by eye candy, this alone may get you by.
  18. WillC
    Nov 19, 2009
    6
    Yes. The game looks amazing. I agree with that. But the gameplay is generic and is nothing new. The characters are voiced well, but not very relatable. The set pieces are pretty impressive, but mainly on a visual level. The multiplayer is good, but generic. Generic, but very pretty
  19. kosmow
    Nov 25, 2009
    6
    I don't understand what all the fuss is about this game is... Take away the graphics and one is left with a standard linear action game, with lots of wall climbing, easy to solve puzzles and whats that another wave of bad guys to shoot at. Think I've played this game before....
  20. fanlyficks
    Dec 25, 2009
    6
    over hyped game, not so bad but not so good either. the best part were the dialogues and yes, they deserve a 9. the rest is just Uncharted 2 with some more polished graphics.
  21. Jul 15, 2012
    1
    I love and hate this game at the same time. Sometimes it's just awesome and sometimes it's just kick the crap out of you because of its stupidity. Ololololololololo
  22. DanielJ.
    Feb 17, 2010
    0
    This game is very overrated, obv not a 0 but sure as hell nothing higher than an 8, i gave it a 0 mainly as a response to all the unnecessary 10's, I bet most of the people who gave it that haven't even played it, stupid fanboys.
  23. MEYOU
    Jan 24, 2010
    0
    The graphics were pretty good, but the way the gameplay was i did not like. This game took a 3rd person shooter and messed it up.
  24. olet
    Oct 31, 2009
    1
    This game deserves a 9, but there are issues. The camera sensitivity is realy slow, with no way of adjustments. That can be a real pain in multiplayer, and is bad in the singel and coop mode to. The cover system is also not perfect, becouse when you are walking out of cover and wants to go forward, you are forced to take a little step backwards first, wich with then you are dead in This game deserves a 9, but there are issues. The camera sensitivity is realy slow, with no way of adjustments. That can be a real pain in multiplayer, and is bad in the singel and coop mode to. The cover system is also not perfect, becouse when you are walking out of cover and wants to go forward, you are forced to take a little step backwards first, wich with then you are dead in multiplayer mode. If it was not for this issues, i would rate this game 8, but its not playable before noughtydog fix this things. Expand
  25. DavidS
    Oct 26, 2009
    6
    First off, this game is very overrated, I bought my PS3 in 2007 and was disappointed by the major lack of good games coming out for it. However, there were a couple things i could hold above my xbox 360 owning friends's heads - the original Uncharted and Metal Gear Solid 4. besides, my PS3 doesnt get red rings and die every time i turn it on. other than that, well we all know xbox First off, this game is very overrated, I bought my PS3 in 2007 and was disappointed by the major lack of good games coming out for it. However, there were a couple things i could hold above my xbox 360 owning friends's heads - the original Uncharted and Metal Gear Solid 4. besides, my PS3 doesnt get red rings and die every time i turn it on. other than that, well we all know xbox 360 is probably the winner of this gen, lol actually its the Wii for sales but whatever, because it has much better software, no not games, the operating system is much friendlier and everything is easier to use, but hey, it breaks. also, our exclusives are twice as good as theirs, gears? lol that game sucks, but dont compare it to Killzone, that sucked too. actually there were no good exclusives this time around, except for the first Uncharted. Great set pieces, voice acting, story, graphics, gameplay. So naturally i was psyched for this game and all the hype it was receiving, it looked like the best game ever. Boy was I wrong. Don't get me wrong, its alright, its capable, just not what I was hoping for. graphics remain unchanged, and come on, do we really want worse graphics than that uber crappy gears of war 2? sure we might call them fanboys when they say how good gears is, but we have to shut up when asked how uncharted compares. textures are not smooth, they are jaggy and not detailed anywhere except for character models, and animations are STIFF. I could not believe it, everything was so robotic, I dreaded the horrible platforming sections. the mechanics are still good, being unchanged from the superior first installment, but nothing is improved upon enough to warrant this game a purchase. Please, all you people buying the new Slim and getting into the steadily-growing-better-than-360 playstation experience - buy the first game but skip this one. This is one game i do not mind gamestop ripping me off on a trade in for, i haven't felt this way since resident evil 5! Expand
  26. DennisH.
    Oct 14, 2009
    5
    If you enjoy watching long, between-level cutscenes and constantly having play stopped during gameplay for mini cutscenes then this is the game for you! Unfortunately for me, I don't. As a result I'm not able to even remotely enjoy this game. Yes, it is absolutely beautiful. The best looking game on any console, period! If you like Metal Gear Solid and/or watching a movie while If you enjoy watching long, between-level cutscenes and constantly having play stopped during gameplay for mini cutscenes then this is the game for you! Unfortunately for me, I don't. As a result I'm not able to even remotely enjoy this game. Yes, it is absolutely beautiful. The best looking game on any console, period! If you like Metal Gear Solid and/or watching a movie while holding your PS3 controller, then you will love this game. If not, don't even bother with it. Expand
  27. Mar 14, 2011
    6
    I really wanted to love this game, but I can't honestly even say that I like it all that much. The main reason: it's monotonous. I was really into this game for about the first quarter or so, but as I made more and more progress, I realized that there really wasn't much else to the game play. It's just a series of endless climbing puzzles in tandem with endless gun battles against foesI really wanted to love this game, but I can't honestly even say that I like it all that much. The main reason: it's monotonous. I was really into this game for about the first quarter or so, but as I made more and more progress, I realized that there really wasn't much else to the game play. It's just a series of endless climbing puzzles in tandem with endless gun battles against foes with lousy AI. What makes matters even worse is how incredibly linear the game is. I knew when I bought it that I wasn't getting an open world game like Fallout, but it would be nice if you could explore a bit more to break up some of the boredom. The single player campaign isn't all that long, but it seems much longer than it really is due to the repetitive and tedious nature of the game play. I'm about 90 percent of the way through and at this point, I'm just struggling to finish it. I don't even care about finding all of the treasures anymore. I will say that visually the game is quite stunning and for some, that might be enough to carry the day. Expand
  28. KieranS.
    Jan 27, 2010
    1
    I've owned this game since launch. The graphics are poor at best and the online is constantly laggy. Overall I was let down by the badly written story and generic characters. This game tries to copy Gears of War and does it badly.
  29. Aug 13, 2011
    0
    it's a great game, but overrated.
    so I gave it 0 to balance the score.
    portal2 95 and this game 96? I don't agree.
    game play is a little bored but scene is very Great.
  30. Aug 5, 2012
    6
    You know, this game is good but at the same time is extremely overrated. The story is nothing to write home about, the first 4 Tomb Raiders had the same storyline - and even better ones - and in 1996/1999. Actually, this game copies A LOT of stuff in the old and classic Tomb Raider games (the 'tibetan dagger', the Tibet itself, the Monastery, the train fight, the bad guy who wants theYou know, this game is good but at the same time is extremely overrated. The story is nothing to write home about, the first 4 Tomb Raiders had the same storyline - and even better ones - and in 1996/1999. Actually, this game copies A LOT of stuff in the old and classic Tomb Raider games (the 'tibetan dagger', the Tibet itself, the Monastery, the train fight, the bad guy who wants the artifact to have all power, and I could go on). The gameplay is repetitive and the cutscenes are excessive (better than UC3 at least, that was a pain in the ass, cutscenes EVERYWHERE). The platforming is nothing exceptional. The best things? The graphics, the atmosphere, the lypsinching and Nathan Drake is a funny character. People just give it a 10 because it has superb graphics, the plot/gameplay stuff was made years ago and better, IMO. Expand
  31. TheChosenOne
    Jan 22, 2010
    6
    Ridiculously overrated... This is a perfect example of people mimmicking whatever mag they read. Notice how anybody who criticises it is a '360 fanboy'? Yes well done, your complimenting the framerate not dropping and the draw distance, just like IGN. You must be really clever. Anybody that can see past their own hand will immediately realise this is just another linear Ridiculously overrated... This is a perfect example of people mimmicking whatever mag they read. Notice how anybody who criticises it is a '360 fanboy'? Yes well done, your complimenting the framerate not dropping and the draw distance, just like IGN. You must be really clever. Anybody that can see past their own hand will immediately realise this is just another linear platformer. About 10-12 hrs, and there is not really that much replayability either. And you can forget "hundreds of hours" on multiplayer. I've never heard so much garbage in my life. Now don't get me wrong this is not a bad game at all, but its certainly nothing 'revolutionary'. I suppose its natural, a kind of defense mechanism, a reason to defend ones purchased console. Expand
  32. Sep 14, 2010
    0
    This game was a yawn from start to finish.... Off to play some Killzone instead of this crap. The combat was iffy, the cover system was horrible, the guns where generic bullcrap, the level design was so cruddy, the whole game was basicly a massive long tunnel, the graphics are not that amazing, the story is not that great. Overall a very over-rated game.
  33. Jul 7, 2012
    0
    I thought I paid for a game, not an interactive movie.
  34. paulg
    Nov 4, 2009
    1
    is it really a 1 no but i had to give it this to counter all the unnecessary 10's its getting from fanboys yes graphically excellent but thats were it stops the gameplay is broken drake constantly rolls when you want him to go into cover causing him to be killed numerous times the enemy ai is beyond retarted and to make up for it naughty dog gives them rpgs and sniper rifles so you is it really a 1 no but i had to give it this to counter all the unnecessary 10's its getting from fanboys yes graphically excellent but thats were it stops the gameplay is broken drake constantly rolls when you want him to go into cover causing him to be killed numerous times the enemy ai is beyond retarted and to make up for it naughty dog gives them rpgs and sniper rifles so you can get blown up trying to get to a sniper rifle of your own instead of spreading the enemies out naughty dog waits untill 1 section of every chapter and sends wave after wave of soliders at you all the rest of the time your just climbing things after chapter 14 the story gets bland and you start to wonder when its going to be over the co op is fun but you only get 2 levels the competitive multiplayer is awful the climbing leads to a abundance of camers i give it a 7.5 10 for graphics but games are about gameplay and unc2 gameplay is not a ten Expand
  35. Feb 23, 2011
    6
    i know right? a 6 breez? a freaking 6? yup dawg a 6....snatch my manhood card for a week...ban me from my ps3...a very overrated, BORING, dull, experience... i fell to see the interest in this game... technically its a masterpiece, i understand most enjoy it. just not me... i'm having trouble concentrating on it...because i just don't care about nathan drake or his dull adventure. LARA CROFT!
  36. Ridnarhtim
    Jan 6, 2010
    6
    Most overrated game this year. Okay, so the graphics are amazing, and the dialogue is usually smooth and witty. But the controls are awful, it made the game frustrating for me to constantly jump into holes, cover behind the wrong objects, and roll off cliffs. The camera was quite frequently completely off, causing me to suddenly find myself running around blindly in the hectic of combat. Most overrated game this year. Okay, so the graphics are amazing, and the dialogue is usually smooth and witty. But the controls are awful, it made the game frustrating for me to constantly jump into holes, cover behind the wrong objects, and roll off cliffs. The camera was quite frequently completely off, causing me to suddenly find myself running around blindly in the hectic of combat. Enemies seemed to occasionally spawn behind me, causing me to suddenly be surprised and die, adding to the frustration. The game does nothing new, it's repetitive, you spend most of your time shooting ridiculous numbers of enemies, and the puzzles weren't challenging in the slightest. Not to mention the disgusting story progression in the last third or so. Having said all that, it's a fantastic cinematic experience, have your friends watch you play the first few levels and watch their jaws drop. But don't play too far, or they may realise just how repetitive and linear the gameplay truly is. Expand
  37. HowdyD
    Oct 24, 2009
    6
    Gotta be honest, this game annoyed the crap out of me, and I had such fond memories of the first one. It seems just like that last Tomb Raider which was a disaster. And the jumping and climbing should have been toned down for more gunplay. I think it's a problem with these "story" games. There's no challenge or accomplishment. You put in the time, and you get walked through the Gotta be honest, this game annoyed the crap out of me, and I had such fond memories of the first one. It seems just like that last Tomb Raider which was a disaster. And the jumping and climbing should have been toned down for more gunplay. I think it's a problem with these "story" games. There's no challenge or accomplishment. You put in the time, and you get walked through the game. Pass. Expand
  38. Jun 28, 2014
    0
    I hate this entire series. It has a garbage cliche story, crappy combat, and out dated textures and graphics for 2009! The graphic aren't even that great in my opinion. This game over uses QuickTime events and mediocre puzzles. This is just a garbage excuse for an action adventure game.
  39. KaranG
    Nov 20, 2009
    10
    This is, 100%, the second best game I have ever played (KOTOR still #1 ). There are very few games I would give a perfect 10/10, but as there is no 9.5 or .9.8 etc, Ill give it a 10. It truly deserves it. The single player campaign in just suberb. Its like playing a movie, but not in a bad way, its just that mind-blowingly realistic. The characters seem real, and Nathan Drake is now my This is, 100%, the second best game I have ever played (KOTOR still #1 ). There are very few games I would give a perfect 10/10, but as there is no 9.5 or .9.8 etc, Ill give it a 10. It truly deserves it. The single player campaign in just suberb. Its like playing a movie, but not in a bad way, its just that mind-blowingly realistic. The characters seem real, and Nathan Drake is now my favourite game protagonist. Hes the type of guy I would chill with, and Im sure everybody who has played can relate to that. And the female leads are also suberb, but I cant get into that without the comment being edited. The graphics are the best I have ever seen in a video game, and the animations are top-notch. The single player alone is worth the full price, even more. The full price plus the price of a movie ticket. The online is also suberb, but not something I will keep going back to. Single-Player has MORE than enough re playability for me to stick to that! Expand
  40. DanielS
    Oct 13, 2009
    10
    Fantastic game. Great presentation and gameplay. Few games have kept my attention like this and the replay value is huge do to the multiplayer. Everybody should experience this.
  41. BD
    Oct 13, 2009
    10
    You, me fellas. You aint try gamin before yall try them Naughty Dogs newest game, yeah, yeah, ai? This games better than everythig, aight? Yeah, peace. Ai?
  42. JackH
    Oct 19, 2009
    10
    I just beat this game this weekend. I've never played the first one. This game was totally not on my radar, but after playing it all the way through, i can honestly say that this is GOTY material. Most theatrical and best voice-acted game i've ever played. Beautiful and Intense. MUST BUY.
  43. Aug 11, 2010
    10
    the most entertaining game i have ever played! it ranks up there with ocarina of time as one of the best games of all time, and easily the best on the ps3. obviously a goty winner that in my opinion blew mwf2 out of the competition.just the first chapter of this game is more epic than all of mwf2. to those who say it isnt original, you are genuine idiots! to all those who say the graphicsthe most entertaining game i have ever played! it ranks up there with ocarina of time as one of the best games of all time, and easily the best on the ps3. obviously a goty winner that in my opinion blew mwf2 out of the competition.just the first chapter of this game is more epic than all of mwf2. to those who say it isnt original, you are genuine idiots! to all those who say the graphics are average or buggy, you are wrong, and basically no one agrees with you except for 40 year olds who play thier pc in their momie's basement. and lets not forget about the losers who give this game a 0 to counter act all the tens, there are 1482 positive reviews to your pathetic 178. a wise man (adam sessler x-play) once said that this is the best single player experience he has ever had in a video game. hell yea!!!!! uncharted 2 FTW!!!! Expand
  44. Mar 27, 2015
    10
    Naughty Dog owned last gen with all 3 Uncharted games and The Last of Us. The gameplay is perfect, the story is as good as Indiana Jones, and it is just the right blend of gunplay, puzzles, exploration, and cinematics. I would NEVER get tired of Naughty Dog doing action-adventure.
  45. Jun 18, 2011
    8
    Pretty one dimensional, but great fun nevertheless. Responsive controls, great graphics, funny dialogue - the only real downside is the overly-simple puzzles.
  46. Jun 26, 2012
    9
    Uncharted 2 improves a lot the previous episode, already very well done, in all respects, and introduces the online game Too bad there were pirates in the first Uncharted ... and a game where there are pirates can not be beat. Monkey Island Rules!
  47. Oct 2, 2010
    10
    I think this is one of the most memorable games I've played in my entire life. I can compare it to experiences like playing Mario 64 for the first time or playing and beating FF7 when I was younger. This game completely blew me away and I kinda knew what to expect since I played the original first but this just blows any game in this generation away. If you own a Ps3 no matter what tastesI think this is one of the most memorable games I've played in my entire life. I can compare it to experiences like playing Mario 64 for the first time or playing and beating FF7 when I was younger. This game completely blew me away and I kinda knew what to expect since I played the original first but this just blows any game in this generation away. If you own a Ps3 no matter what tastes in games you have this game is a MUST play for anyone. Expand
  48. Oct 14, 2011
    5
    Unlike the original Uncharted, that had a simple interesing story taking you through a short game that had spectacular visuals and "good" gameplay... the guys at naughty dog thought they could re do the entire game and make it better by just making it bigger longer and... well... prettier. to be honest. this game did not work for me. halfway through i was tired of shooting soldiers... likeUnlike the original Uncharted, that had a simple interesing story taking you through a short game that had spectacular visuals and "good" gameplay... the guys at naughty dog thought they could re do the entire game and make it better by just making it bigger longer and... well... prettier. to be honest. this game did not work for me. halfway through i was tired of shooting soldiers... like seriously how many can there be, I did not care about the story... kinda forgot what the hell i was doing anyway. not a great game. totally overrated. Expand
  49. Nov 11, 2010
    9
    Epic from start to finish. Atmospheric and exillarating. The graphics and fluidity are sublime. Its challenging but not too challenging. I truly recommend this title.
  50. Dec 23, 2011
    10
    The best of the series in my opinion. While UC3 adds things, UC2 covers the most ground and feels the most balanced and fleshed out, it's really solid. Probably my favorite game of all time, in that despite being very linear, I never get sick of multiple play throughs.
  51. Jun 8, 2011
    9
    Incredible. Graphically brilliant, technically sound, and a hell of a lot of fun to play. Uncharted 2 exceeds the first game in this series by leaps and bounds. This game's greatest triumph, I feel, is its level design. Every chapter provides a completely different experience, and this keeps the campaign from becoming dull. In addition to this, the puzzles in this Uncharted 2 were aIncredible. Graphically brilliant, technically sound, and a hell of a lot of fun to play. Uncharted 2 exceeds the first game in this series by leaps and bounds. This game's greatest triumph, I feel, is its level design. Every chapter provides a completely different experience, and this keeps the campaign from becoming dull. In addition to this, the puzzles in this Uncharted 2 were a perfect balance of fun and challenge. Each puzzle sequence took a decent amount of thought to complete, yet the developers weren't so heartless as to force you to consult an online walkthrough. The multiplayer mode in Uncharted 2 is well designed, but it doesn't prove to be quite as enjoyable as the single player campaign. A minor annoyance found in this game lies in the controls. More specifically, when you are attempting to crouch behind an obstacle to avoid enemy fire, Drake will often simply roll into the object and stand back up again, happily allowing bullets to decorate his face. Despite this, Uncharted 2: Among Thieves is a masterpiece, and is certainly deserving of the title, "Game of the Year". Expand
  52. Jun 2, 2011
    10
    I think this game is simply breathtaking. And that's not just the graphics. The storyline, the voice acting, the game-play, and just the attention to detail. The opening scene had me on the edge of my seat, and I was sucked into it from there onwards. This is truly *the* game to show off what the PS3 is capable of. Naughty Dog have harnessed the power of the Cell processor, and theI think this game is simply breathtaking. And that's not just the graphics. The storyline, the voice acting, the game-play, and just the attention to detail. The opening scene had me on the edge of my seat, and I was sucked into it from there onwards. This is truly *the* game to show off what the PS3 is capable of. Naughty Dog have harnessed the power of the Cell processor, and the results are spectacular. You feel drawn to look at the scenery, when on top of a building for example, and everything looks so crystal clear, almost even prettier than real life. You really do feel like you're going on an adventure with the lead character: Nathan Drake, and I think he's a character we could possibly all relate too, as he's really just an average guy doing amazing and interesting things. Anyhow, if you still haven't bought this, and you have a PS3, then what's going on? This is something that every PS3 owner should play. And if you don't have a PS3, well then this is the game that should tempt you to buy one. Truly an amazing game. Expand
  53. May 23, 2011
    10
    Is this perfect game? We have to compare it to it's peers and by that standard it's a 10. Great game play, Great story, a real challenge playing on hard.
  54. Jun 29, 2011
    10
    I'll start off by saying that I did NOT play "Uncharted: Drake's Fortune".
    This game is essentially an interactive Indiana Jones movie. In the campaign mode, every thing is perfectly paced. There are plenty of gunfights, but never enough to exhaust you or bore you, the puzzles are accessible enough for anyone to figure out, yet challenging enough to give you that rewarding feeling of
    I'll start off by saying that I did NOT play "Uncharted: Drake's Fortune".
    This game is essentially an interactive Indiana Jones movie. In the campaign mode, every thing is perfectly paced. There are plenty of gunfights, but never enough to exhaust you or bore you, the puzzles are accessible enough for anyone to figure out, yet challenging enough to give you that rewarding feeling of completion, and the controls are simple so that you can focus on what you're doing, as opposed to how you're supposed to do it. The graphics are arguably the best of any game on the PS3, and they run without any slowdown and with some very nice blurring effects. The online is just as good if not better than the campaign. If you've been playing COD a lot, then some adjustments will need to be made, but once you get used to it, it becomes a game that allows you to compete fairly with players of all caliburs. And, unlike COD, the "host migration" problem comes up VERY rarely (although, that may be because there are fewer players per match on Uncharted). WIth the price it's at now (about $30), it's a must buy.
    Expand
  55. Feb 16, 2011
    10
    This game is a fantastic game for the PlayStation 3. IN DEPTH- Uncharted 2: Among Thieves is an incredible sequel to 2007's Uncharted: Drakes Fortune is deservingly received game of the year. Continue reading to see it reviewed in depthâ
  56. Nov 14, 2012
    6
    Great beginning, pretty good middle, horrible third act.
    Story remains pretty good but loses some of its daring, action becomes more scripted and repetition becomes unbearable.
  57. May 27, 2011
    10
    the uncharted series is without a doubt the best playstation exclusive out on the market right now. i was a huge fan of the first game and now having compleated this one as well i think it is even better and i did not think would be possible to improve on an already perfect game but they have done it. with amzaing graphics that makes it feel like you are watcing a movie the whole timethe uncharted series is without a doubt the best playstation exclusive out on the market right now. i was a huge fan of the first game and now having compleated this one as well i think it is even better and i did not think would be possible to improve on an already perfect game but they have done it. with amzaing graphics that makes it feel like you are watcing a movie the whole time instead of playing a game awsome voice actors new characters and the same wit and laugh out loud moments that you fall in love with in the first game there is simply no flaws that i can point out in this game. i have not played online mode yet since the story is so good and very unique based on an interesting concept i have not found a need to do so. i cannot wait for Uncharted 3 and will be pre ordering it asap and urge anyone with a love of games to get this series because both games in this series are can't miss oportunities for a fun filled adventure that will keep you on the edge of your seat until the suprising ending Expand
  58. Jun 10, 2011
    10
    This is truly one of the best games I have ever played. Awesome story, fluid animations, gorgeous environments and movie-like gameplay make this a game no PS3 owner should ever miss.
  59. May 16, 2011
    10
    Easilly the greatest game on the PS3, if not the greatest game ever! This got voted the best game of all time by the readers of the Official PlayStation Magazine UK, so with an award like that it has to be good right? And it certainly is! its essentially the same and its predecessor Drakes Fortune with platforming/puzzling/shooting, but its so much more as well. The graphics are out ofEasilly the greatest game on the PS3, if not the greatest game ever! This got voted the best game of all time by the readers of the Official PlayStation Magazine UK, so with an award like that it has to be good right? And it certainly is! its essentially the same and its predecessor Drakes Fortune with platforming/puzzling/shooting, but its so much more as well. The graphics are out of this world, characters are funny and realistic and the story is even better than Uncharted 1. Drake is after Shambhala with a psychopathic war criminal behind him. This game never lets up, from the agonizing climb up the train wreckage hanging from the side of a cliff to the intense run across rooftops as a chopper chases you to the incredible views of Tibetan mountains. And the addition of multiplayer makes the game last even longer. Even though i have played way more of the campaign than online it is still very good, theres the traditional deathmatch and CTF style matches but the mode i played the most was the survival mode in which you and a friend try to survive 10 waves of enemies. Basically GET THIS GAME, its truly insane how anyone cant like it. Uncharted 3 is out this year too so get playing the first two to get ready for part 3! Expand
  60. May 15, 2011
    10
    This is one of the best games ever! Haters are only doing it because they have Xbox's and can't buy it. Although the story isn't best, it has plenty of plot twists, the backgrounds are beautiful to look at, the multi-player is awesome, and there is a great array of weapons to choose from, and the characters feel like ACTUAL human beings! From my experience few games can be compared to thisThis is one of the best games ever! Haters are only doing it because they have Xbox's and can't buy it. Although the story isn't best, it has plenty of plot twists, the backgrounds are beautiful to look at, the multi-player is awesome, and there is a great array of weapons to choose from, and the characters feel like ACTUAL human beings! From my experience few games can be compared to this masterpiece. 10 out of 10 every step of the way! Expand
  61. May 17, 2011
    10
    A near perfect game. Everything is great. As a person who has been to nepal, I can say that the art direction here is spot on. Voice acting/mocap, writing, gameplay, and pacing are all fantastic. The single player experience alone is totally worth your time and money. One of the best games out there, for any system.
  62. May 31, 2011
    10
    This is by far the best example of a game making a movie like experience. The gameplay is amazing the cinematic's are superb and this and the first uncharted is the only game I've had where I had people wanting to watch me play for the amazing story behind this epic game
  63. Jun 12, 2011
    10
    Haha, it's so funny to see X-boys rating this game 0/10. What's wrong with people? First of all this is the best game I've played in 10 years. And that's not just because of the graphics, the storyline is superb, the acting is amazing, the animation is top class, epic gunfights, the characters are lovable and they feel like people. Nathan Drake, our hero, is no macho guy who says "shot me,Haha, it's so funny to see X-boys rating this game 0/10. What's wrong with people? First of all this is the best game I've played in 10 years. And that's not just because of the graphics, the storyline is superb, the acting is amazing, the animation is top class, epic gunfights, the characters are lovable and they feel like people. Nathan Drake, our hero, is no macho guy who says "shot me, helicopter, you're nothing to me, I'm the man!". No, he says "No way!"or "What about a break? Can't you guys see the helicopter!" (The helicopter is trying to kill him) He feels real, so everyone who says this is like Gears of War are wrong. This is Uncharted. Expand
  64. Jun 10, 2011
    10
    For everyone complaining about the controls, i have never had a problem with it. This game has one of the best stories ever. It has amazing graphics, and it has amazing controls, it is super fun to play and has almost no flaws. Its the best game ever!
  65. Jun 14, 2011
    10
    Amazing game, story is excellent - well written and executed. Visuals are excellent too; some of the backdrops in this game are breath-taking. The gameplay varies well with great puzzle integration, combat and shooting elements. Well worth the purchase, and highly recommended.
  66. Jun 14, 2011
    9
    okay, the campaign isn't that good, but the multiplayer is AWESOME. it's like goldeneye 007 multiplayer, except even better. the only downside is that for some game modes, match making is unreliable.
  67. Jun 15, 2011
    9
    The single player "story" mode is an expansion on the tried and true Uncharted: Drake's Fortune gameplay. For the most part, yes, you mostly climb stuff, and stare at the beautiful scenery that Naughty Dog has masterfully produced. The irony is that even though Uncharted is a platformer, not a shooter, it actually has more responsive and in depth shooting and combat mechanics than anythingThe single player "story" mode is an expansion on the tried and true Uncharted: Drake's Fortune gameplay. For the most part, yes, you mostly climb stuff, and stare at the beautiful scenery that Naughty Dog has masterfully produced. The irony is that even though Uncharted is a platformer, not a shooter, it actually has more responsive and in depth shooting and combat mechanics than anything else on the market. However, THIS IS JUST THE BEGINNING. Log into the multiplayer, and you're in for the time of your life. Uncharted 2: Among Thieves contains one of the most well designed multiplayer modes available today. Yes, it is greater than anything that the "all-powerful" Xbox Live has to offer. With 10 players, in beautiful maps, you can partake in many of the typical multiplayer modes. The most impressive parts of the multiplayer are the facts that the maps aren't FLAT like in COD or Halo. Victory in the multiplayer relies upon the players' skill levels, not how long they've played or how many expansions that they had purchased, as in other shooters. This is no doubt one of the most complete packages that has been offered this generation. The only drawback is the repetitive single player mode, but that is soon forgotten as you step onto one of the most active online multiplayers on the PS3. At $20-$30 now for the game of the year edition, this game is no doubt worth the money for PS3 owners. Xbox 360 users who have gotten tired of Halo and Gears of War may even be convinced to get a PS3 for this reason. Congratulations, Naughty Dog. Expand
  68. Jun 16, 2011
    10
    The game is just unbelievably amazing. I never played a game that combined really good action with a superb voice casting, impressive environment (I love the part in Nepal) and a fascinating story. This is truly my favorite game!!!!!
  69. Jun 19, 2011
    10
    This is a truly amazing game that fully deserves the praise it has received. The gameplay is solid, easy to pick up. As for multiplayer, it outshines easily other TPS games like Gears. The graphics are indeed amazing, and this game doesn't copy Tomb Raider, it goes beyond it and reaches the hall of fame of TPS games.
  70. Jun 21, 2011
    10
    IS the game linear? Yes. Is it a bit too easy? yes, is it one hell of a ride? yes!
    This game is a 10/10 no questions about that at all, the story, excellent graphics, amazing passing really do make this a game to marvel at.
    Its good fun and a real showcase on what consoles can achieve when a developer really has some passion.
  71. Jun 25, 2011
    5
    Uncharted 2 is the most insanely overrated game of all time. Much more so that Final Fantasy VII or Ocarina of Time. The fanboys for this game have my utmost pity. It's not necessarily a bad game but the over-whelming amount of perfect scores and awards this game gets really shows how gaming is going down the toilet. Where do I begin? There are so many things to pick apart, so fewUncharted 2 is the most insanely overrated game of all time. Much more so that Final Fantasy VII or Ocarina of Time. The fanboys for this game have my utmost pity. It's not necessarily a bad game but the over-whelming amount of perfect scores and awards this game gets really shows how gaming is going down the toilet. Where do I begin? There are so many things to pick apart, so few characters. How bout the graphics? Yes, technically the graphics and animations are top-notch, but that doesn't mean that they're appealing to look at. Uncharted 2 has a very generic look to it. At least in the mountainous levels (which make up most of the game). Most of the game is quite uninteresting to look at unlike the first game. Something that's not helped by the fact that there really isn't ever much going on screen. Maps are small and usually have few enemies, no destruction, and some really bad textures. So is it really that impressive for them to have such good graphics? Not that graphics make a game good. But I bring it up because any Uncharted 2 fanboy will never shut up about the graphics. Much like they will tell you about how amazing the story and characters are. The story is as generic and unsatisfying as they come. Even compared to a summer flick movie like Transformers, the story in Uncharted 2 boils down to being an excuse to go around the world. Same goes for the characters. They're generic, annoying, and unlikable. Especially Nathan Drake- who is so moronic that he gets back-stabbed, not once, but twice by Cloe throughout the game and he STILL trusts her. He also has nothing interesting to say aside from some history lessons and failed attempted jokes. Moving on. The final point made by Uncharted fanboys is that the game "plays like a movie". My question is How in their feeble minds, is that a good thing? How is it good that a game plays like a movie? Shouldn't it play like- oh I don't know... A GAME! Indeed. Uncharted plays like a movie. Only one where you're forced to move the character and do other such button presses. Much of your time will be spent watching cutscenes. And even when you're not technically watching cutscenes, the gameplay is so mind-bogglingly linear that it's pretty much the equivalent of watching cutscenes. Especially the combat. This game was clearly dumbed down for dumbass casuals that just got done playing Call of Duty with their fraghead friends. The combat is so easy now. I remember playing Uncharted 1 and being destroyed with challenge. It was frustrating at times, sure. But it was fun and helped the gameplay. The maps were large and you'd face waves of 10 or 20 enemies. All of whom took no less than a half a clip of ammo to kill. You couldn't hold nearly enough ammo to take all of them which would force you move your ass out of the cover you're on, into fire, and find more ammo or better yet, different guns. It was exciting. In Uncharted 2, that's all gone. Maps are small and confined, and you can win each firefight by sitting at one bit of cover with an AK-47, until the enemies start spawning on your side of the cover. It' gets so boring because of this. The only times I really died during U2 were because of **** who hit me with RPGs or because of environmental stuff like the infamous tank level. This kind of thing is really getting annoying in games where you're punished by instant death for not knowing what to do. You put up with all this crap for easily the most **** ending I've ever seen in a game. In short, the singleplayer for this game was a disaster. The one interesting part of this game WAS the competetive multiplayer. It was really fun, especially in a party. It played like Gears of War but with much more maneuverability. You could climb anything and the maps were well designed. But Naughty Dog ruined it by constantly updating the game and tweaking. So often that I got pissed off. It didn't help that there was never a large population on the game. The most I ever saw online was 15,000 at once (which is pretty sad since over 3 million ppl had already bought the game). The co-op was also dull. It lacked much platforming or puzzles and there were only 3 levels. In short, this game average at best. I can't believe people have the nerve to say that it's one of the best games of all time. Even of 2009. It's a mess. I hope Naughty Dog learns their lesson before Uncharted 3. I used to be their #1 fan. Now, they're dead to me. Expand
  72. Jun 28, 2011
    10
    Hands down THE best PS3 game ever developed. Naughty Dog is SPOT on with everything a TRUE gamer wants! Uncharted 3 will once again take the stand as the best PS3 game when it comes out.
  73. Oct 9, 2011
    9
    Naughty Dog does it again--they seem to never make a mediocre game! Uncharted 2 is undoubtedly not a mediocre game. The characters are real characters, the story is deep, engaging and is executed properly. What Uncharted 2's real goal was to bring real cinematic entertainment into a shooter platform, it has surely succeeded in doing so. Uncharted 2 theme is adventurous, the animations lookNaughty Dog does it again--they seem to never make a mediocre game! Uncharted 2 is undoubtedly not a mediocre game. The characters are real characters, the story is deep, engaging and is executed properly. What Uncharted 2's real goal was to bring real cinematic entertainment into a shooter platform, it has surely succeeded in doing so. Uncharted 2 theme is adventurous, the animations look lifelike, the action is intense and the violence is pure. Expand
  74. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    After finishing this game I was trying to find some of the flaws in this game, then I realized, there are none. Games don't get any better this, no matter what you are looking for, good game play, story line, graphics, Uncharted 2: Among Thieves has you covered. It will provide approximately 8-10 hours of jaw-droppingly single player action, and hours on end of surprisingly good onlineAfter finishing this game I was trying to find some of the flaws in this game, then I realized, there are none. Games don't get any better this, no matter what you are looking for, good game play, story line, graphics, Uncharted 2: Among Thieves has you covered. It will provide approximately 8-10 hours of jaw-droppingly single player action, and hours on end of surprisingly good online multiplayer. Not only is this the best action/adventure games ever, it is also, arguably, the best game of this generation. You don't want to miss out on Nathan Drake's latest amazing adventure, when it comes to games, I couldn't think of a better way to spend my money than on this game. Expand
  75. Oct 19, 2011
    10
    Definitely the best game of all time.
  76. Oct 26, 2011
    10
    The uncharted series is honestly my favorite series of games i have played, and now when we are about 6 days from the release of Uncharted 3, i just had the urge to right a review on how awesome the first two were. No question that uncharted 3 will be GOTY! uncharted 2 pushes the boundries of what playstation can handle, its up with one of the best looking console games, along with God OfThe uncharted series is honestly my favorite series of games i have played, and now when we are about 6 days from the release of Uncharted 3, i just had the urge to right a review on how awesome the first two were. No question that uncharted 3 will be GOTY! uncharted 2 pushes the boundries of what playstation can handle, its up with one of the best looking console games, along with God Of War 3. Just buy, dont rent, if you love a great story and adventure along with a fantastic supporting cast, dont hesitate to put this on your ps3 rack. Expand
  77. Oct 27, 2011
    10
    something unreal,graphics,gameplay,characters,story,emotions,are all of great quality,maybe the greatest game in the history of videogames..sit down and play it now!
  78. Nov 1, 2011
    10
    Incredible. Phenomenal. Engaging. And much much more. It only does everything a gamer wants! I mean seriously, I can't say what most other people have not said. This game is just smiling with 10s and A's for its reviews, and for those who didn't give it a 10, you'd be damned not to. Or they just aren't your average gamer (those jerks). Anyways, this game's graphics are so beautiful, itsIncredible. Phenomenal. Engaging. And much much more. It only does everything a gamer wants! I mean seriously, I can't say what most other people have not said. This game is just smiling with 10s and A's for its reviews, and for those who didn't give it a 10, you'd be damned not to. Or they just aren't your average gamer (those jerks). Anyways, this game's graphics are so beautiful, its gameplay is so, just so awesome. There is not much to say when a game is that good besides this word that can describe it in its fullest. Perfection (Perfect won't cut it). Multiplayer is great and fun. Now all I can do after playing this game for 100 plus hours is, you know, play some more while we wait for the next universally acclaimed three-quel! Expand
  79. Nov 4, 2011
    10
    This is arguably the best game ever made. Uncharted 2 feels like you're watching a awesome and epic action movie and playing a great game all at once. Naughty Dog always make A+ games.
  80. Nov 7, 2011
    10
    awesomeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee gameeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee
  81. Dec 6, 2011
    10
    It is simply game of the generation. Nothing else is quite like it, and I expect that nothing else will ever be quite like it. A masterful blend of cinema and video games.
  82. Sep 5, 2012
    6
    A great adventure movie but a terrible "game". The aspects of Uncharted 2 that have nothing to do with gameplay are so good that I withstood 7 hours of pure gameplay misery to see them to completion. I once read a gaming article that said if your game in prototype form is not fun to just walk around, then your game is not going to be fun. The gamer-avatar connection in Uncharted 2, as withA great adventure movie but a terrible "game". The aspects of Uncharted 2 that have nothing to do with gameplay are so good that I withstood 7 hours of pure gameplay misery to see them to completion. I once read a gaming article that said if your game in prototype form is not fun to just walk around, then your game is not going to be fun. The gamer-avatar connection in Uncharted 2, as with Uncharted 1, is simply broken. The movement system (both on foot and on walls) is imprecise, sluggish, and unpredictable. It causes me mental pain to play this game because your avatar, Drake, will not do what you want. It's the same sort of mental pain when you write with your non-dominant hand. This is not a function of games in general, because I re-played some Mass Effect 2 to see if I was crazy, and it felt incredibly responsive, precise, and predictable. Guess what I'm doing for Uncharted 3? I'll watch a video of it. I will get all the good parts with none of the misery. What are the good parts? Anything that is unrelated to gameplay: the one-liner writing, art assets (some of the best texturing I've ever seen), lighting, vistas, sense of adventure, outstanding music, etc. I will never buy another Naughty Dog (the developer) game without renting it first. Expand
  83. Dec 29, 2011
    10
    The perfect game and even though graphically and technically its been out done by Uncharted 3 this is a game no one is ever going to forget. It was such a leap from Uncharted Drake's Fortune it hit us like a brick wall opened a door and dragged us into this amazing immersive experience and that does not happen to often in video games. There is just so many great things about this game IThe perfect game and even though graphically and technically its been out done by Uncharted 3 this is a game no one is ever going to forget. It was such a leap from Uncharted Drake's Fortune it hit us like a brick wall opened a door and dragged us into this amazing immersive experience and that does not happen to often in video games. There is just so many great things about this game I have chosen the 3 best things about the game. 1: technology leap was huge and graphically stunning. 2: Set pieces. from walking through a tibetan village high in the mountains to a massive collapsing bridge at the end. 3: The characters are epic from Nathan and Harry's chats to the amazing Villain Zoran Lazarovich which to this day still is one of the greatest villains to ever be made and I wish he comes back. The only down thing was the multiplayer which I played for quite a while but needed a bit of work doing to it but luckily its all been sorted out in Uncharted 3. Another Flawless game by Naughty Dog but this game gets a 10 and theres no other score besides 10 for it.
    Technology: 10
    Graphics: 10 Campaign: 10
    Multiplayer: 7 CO-OP: 7
    Expand
  84. Mar 6, 2012
    10
    BEST GAME EVER!!!! , I cant believe how some people gave this game such low scores! Its an AWESOME! game.. I recommend this game to every "REAL" gamer out there.
  85. Jul 2, 2012
    10
    This is the second best series next to Metal Gear Solid for me. This game in particular has the best storyline of the three that are out thus far. The shooting sequences are very fun and the graphics are top notch; only being beaten by Uncharted 3 in 2011. This game is a true masterpiece! My only complains are some minor control issues as well as the stealth and melee system, howeverThis is the second best series next to Metal Gear Solid for me. This game in particular has the best storyline of the three that are out thus far. The shooting sequences are very fun and the graphics are top notch; only being beaten by Uncharted 3 in 2011. This game is a true masterpiece! My only complains are some minor control issues as well as the stealth and melee system, however both of these issues were fixed for Uncharted 3 Expand
  86. May 22, 2012
    10
    This game is absolutely outstanding in every aspect . It reflects itself and clearly stands among the greatest game made in any platform . Going onto multiplayer it's purely unique and amazing unlike all those fps games
  87. May 25, 2012
    8
    Played this after Uncharted 3 and as a result it did feel slightly dated in almost every area which it is praised for (and I include story within that)

    Still a very good game nevertheless.
  88. Jun 21, 2012
    10
    best game ever made- worth buying a ps3 for the unchartered series. i own an xbox 360- only forza 4, and witcher 3 can compare graphically to this masterpiece
  89. Jun 28, 2012
    5
    The original was fun in many ways. This one is visually just as impressive if not better. Also, the Tomb Raider 2 influences are definitely present (Daggers, Tibet, etc) though that is a good thing. Honestly, this game doesn't really do me in. I feel liked I had more fun with the original. I see some notable improvements in this one over the original, but really it feels like the sameThe original was fun in many ways. This one is visually just as impressive if not better. Also, the Tomb Raider 2 influences are definitely present (Daggers, Tibet, etc) though that is a good thing. Honestly, this game doesn't really do me in. I feel liked I had more fun with the original. I see some notable improvements in this one over the original, but really it feels like the same game. It's not a bad one, but I'm not into basic platforming games and heavy emphasis on shooting. Expand
  90. May 18, 2012
    10
    this was one of the best games I've played on ps3 period. I think I've played this game twice, and then went back once a while do play particular chapters again. It was just everything you would want in a third person shooter. The story was addicting, every chapter was diverse, and game play was top notch. I loved the puzzles, and the climbing (assasins creed feel) to it. I also love thethis was one of the best games I've played on ps3 period. I think I've played this game twice, and then went back once a while do play particular chapters again. It was just everything you would want in a third person shooter. The story was addicting, every chapter was diverse, and game play was top notch. I loved the puzzles, and the climbing (assasins creed feel) to it. I also love the humor that was sometimes added into this game whether that be cut scenes, or when nathan randonly talks during firefights. Expand
  91. Jul 5, 2013
    7
    What to say? After 1st part I expected awesomeness! Got good game, but worse than first part. Game is totally polished with great graphics, sound, cutscenes, but gameplay from 1st part awesome become shooting gallery. It's almost survival gameplay. Further, while some parts are technically PERFECT their gameplay is concurrent for most boring gameplay of all times (referring to train partWhat to say? After 1st part I expected awesomeness! Got good game, but worse than first part. Game is totally polished with great graphics, sound, cutscenes, but gameplay from 1st part awesome become shooting gallery. It's almost survival gameplay. Further, while some parts are technically PERFECT their gameplay is concurrent for most boring gameplay of all times (referring to train part of the game). Overall good game with almost no story. Only shooting. Expand
  92. Jan 10, 2013
    4
    Just like the first "Uncharted" game, this one is a marvel in the graphics and sound department and there is some fun to be had, but the game is still ruined by the frustrating "monster closet" combat system. The combat is so un-fun I put the game aside after only a few hours of play and never went back.

    Only slighty more fun than the first one...
  93. Jun 10, 2012
    10
    i love this game one of the best for the playstation 3 the story is good
    the gameplay is good
    the singleplayer is long or 13hours
    the soundtrack is great
    the multiplayer is good
    and the co-op is awesome
  94. Sep 18, 2013
    10
    this games is one of the most amazing I have played in my life, definitely in my top 5, my mind was freaking blown, it is really one of the best games you can buy, so if you haven't played it... WHAT ARE YOU WAITING FOR??? DO IT NOW!!!
  95. Jun 13, 2012
    10
    This game got me into Uncharted... I played it through, and the second I touched the multiplayer I FELT why this game is so great compared to others... THE gameplay mechanics are simply unmached!
    The Singleplayer is more than a blockbuster and should be played by EVERY gamer in this world! (or other world!)
  96. Jun 16, 2012
    10
    From start to finish, I could not put this game down. The story is very engaging. The voice acting is incredible. The sound effects and music are awesome. And the graphics are simply beautiful. I highly recommend this game to anyone that likes the Action/Adventure genre.
  97. Jun 27, 2012
    10
    Best game i've ever played.. Single player is sooo good. the co-op mode online is really fun to play with friends as well. I can't Imagine games will look much better than this game does
  98. Jun 30, 2012
    10
    Amazing. Great gameplay, a fantastic storyline, a compelling narritive with great characters and a fun multiplayer.
    This game builds on the foundations left by the first game and improves it by a mile creating one of the best games ever made in my opinion as once I started playing it I couldn't stop as it was very fun.
    The controls are so fluid and the set pieces are mind blowing and it
    Amazing. Great gameplay, a fantastic storyline, a compelling narritive with great characters and a fun multiplayer.
    This game builds on the foundations left by the first game and improves it by a mile creating one of the best games ever made in my opinion as once I started playing it I couldn't stop as it was very fun.
    The controls are so fluid and the set pieces are mind blowing and it has the best single player campaign ever in a game.
    The multiplayer is great with great map designs and great game modes like elimination, team deathmatch, capture the flag etc. and is very fun but I feel they could have added more custimization of guns and characters other than designing a clan logo. but otherwise is a great multiplayer experience.
    A Must have for any PS3 owner & if you don't have a PS3 get one for this game. 10/10
    Expand
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 105 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Mixed: 0 out of 105
  2. Negative: 0 out of 105
  1. 100
    Spread across twenty-six chapters is a story as playful and worthwhile as the gameplay.
  2. Graphically stunning, Uncharted 2: Among Thieves is, first of all, an interactive adventure, one that feels like a movie and even has a storyline of a movie. Most gameplay situations have been tailored in order to stun the player with originality and identification, and the end result is absolutely amazing.
  3. Among Thieves is all about constant movement. And even movement on top of movement. It grabbed me from the beginning and didn't let go for twelve hours. Once I finished, all I could think about was playing it again. More than a defining game for the PS3, Uncharted 2 is a defining game of this console generation.