• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Oct 13, 2009
User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 4430 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ReeceL
    Nov 11, 2009
    10
    This game is amazing, what more can be said. Superb graphics, gameplay, and a mindblowing story and musical score.
  2. JACKL
    Nov 10, 2009
    10
    Absolutley the best! won't put the controller down it is orgasmic! buy buy buy this game if you don't own it, best graphics, gameplay, and best story since Zelda! Orgasmic!
  3. AdamF
    Nov 10, 2009
    10
    Initially renting this game, days after release, I was stunned. Never before had a game been so successful in immersing me into the story line than Uncharted 2. Building off of a great cast from Drake's Fortune, the actors are all back, with some new faces too. Going head first into the story mode is the best decision for you in this game, for you will experience much from beginning Initially renting this game, days after release, I was stunned. Never before had a game been so successful in immersing me into the story line than Uncharted 2. Building off of a great cast from Drake's Fortune, the actors are all back, with some new faces too. Going head first into the story mode is the best decision for you in this game, for you will experience much from beginning to end. I actually found myself playing this game three times through to find all the collectibles, and achieving all awards to gain money for cheats. Once you feel the story mode loses it's thrill, you won't be unsatisfied with the highly addictive online modes. Variants of popular shooter matches, like death match, capture the flag, or elimination will keep you busy for months to come. The co-op is also a blast to play, but although it only sticks to three missions, they stick to the story very well. Along with a store to purchase goods like costumes, perks, and co-op weapon upgrades, which add a very deep feel to the online. So all-in-all, the shooting is great, the graphics are great, the acting is great, and everything else is great. This game raises the bar in so many ways, and it never ceases to surprise. Expand
  4. daniellopez
    Nov 12, 2009
    10
    A MASTERPICE wow just wow cannot miss this game if u are a true gamer GET IT just GET IT it wont dissapoint nd u are amazing devs cannot thank u enough for this not since re4 have i been so engrossed in a game
  5. mobius
    Nov 1, 2009
    10
    great story. belivable charactors, great set peices, i own a xbox 360 aswell as a ps3 slim and i pity my 360 buddys for not being able to play such a fantastic game. just a note to my 360 buddys who think the xbox has its own exclusives, think again as those 360 exclusives all appear on the PC, i should know as i have a gaming PC, the thing that the PC and the xbox cant do is play great story. belivable charactors, great set peices, i own a xbox 360 aswell as a ps3 slim and i pity my 360 buddys for not being able to play such a fantastic game. just a note to my 360 buddys who think the xbox has its own exclusives, think again as those 360 exclusives all appear on the PC, i should know as i have a gaming PC, the thing that the PC and the xbox cant do is play exclusive titles that you find on the PS3. infact has the 360 and the PC play the same games im gonna trade in my 360 and just keep the PS3 and PC. Expand
  6. AgnerS
    Nov 10, 2009
    10
    One of the best games I've ever played and easily one of the top games of this generation. The story, graphics, and gameplay while not flawless are still the best to date on any console. Looking forward to the next uncharted and whatever else the industry has for us over the next few years. Multiple player is also great and I hope ND keeps supporting it for many months to come. A One of the best games I've ever played and easily one of the top games of this generation. The story, graphics, and gameplay while not flawless are still the best to date on any console. Looking forward to the next uncharted and whatever else the industry has for us over the next few years. Multiple player is also great and I hope ND keeps supporting it for many months to come. A must have title in anyone's library. Expand
  7. Maxj
    Nov 12, 2009
    10
    AWESOME! best game of this generation. graphics,gameplay,story,level design, multiplayer, are all perfect!Naughty dog has set the bar very very higher among the other developers.GOTY 2009.
  8. rockyRoger
    Nov 12, 2009
    10
    perfect game,perfect gameplay. grafically gorgeous.level design top notch. best game of this generation.
  9. vineetb
    Nov 1, 2009
    10
    stellar graphics, superb gameplay, & brilliant characters.uc2 is realy one hell of a game. all my kudos to the devlopers
  10. JoeD
    Nov 15, 2009
    10
    This game is amazing in every way. Nonstop action, excellent plot, amazing cutscenes, and mind blowing graphics. This game deserves a 10/10. This is definitely the best game this generation.
  11. NickG
    Nov 2, 2009
    10
    Excellent.Haven't been this impressed since MGS4.This game is inarguably the best out this year.An extreme "miss-out" for Xbox users.
  12. EvanB.
    Nov 21, 2009
    10
    The only game I have played to completion this year! Game of the Year for me, and best game on the Playstation 3!
  13. dtT22
    Nov 20, 2009
    10
    uncharted 2 is the best game of 2009!! the graphics is great! the story is engaging!!!! this game should be in the top 5 ps3 games of all time, o wait, it is it rules!!!!! ill rate it 30 out of 10 but i was limited with 10 so ill give it a graet 10 out of 10!!!!!
  14. FrancisN
    Oct 13, 2009
    7
    I love this game. It is something the ps3 has really need for a long time. The action, shooting and characters are all well made. The voice acting is the best I have seen in a PS3 game since Killzone 2. This is going to be the PlayStation number one title of all other PlayStation games release this year. Killzone 2 was a great game with good graphics but this game has everything and more. I love this game. It is something the ps3 has really need for a long time. The action, shooting and characters are all well made. The voice acting is the best I have seen in a PS3 game since Killzone 2. This is going to be the PlayStation number one title of all other PlayStation games release this year. Killzone 2 was a great game with good graphics but this game has everything and more. How each mission is planned out it looks like your watching a movie, but not in a metal gear type way where you start to lose interest. It bring you in to its world! Expand
  15. Callahan09
    Oct 13, 2009
    10
    The graphics are amazing, the story is intriguing, the acting is convincing and natural. The level designs are exciting and fun, the controls are spot-on, the multiplayer is addictive, and all-in-all I can only say that this game is brilliantly executed, and more fun than you're likely to have had in a long, long time.
  16. SamR
    Oct 13, 2009
    10
    Simply put, if you own a PS3, buy it. If you don't then buy a PS3 and buy this game. The graphics are jaw dropping, the story is excellent, the acting is top notch, and the multiplayer is loads of fun. Stop reading and buy it now!!!!
  17. JahM
    Oct 13, 2009
    10
    Simply put this is the GOTY. The action is incredible and well paced. The mulitiplayer is so addictive and so fun it can keep you hooked for hours upon hours with out even realizing the time going by, it really captures the single player campaign of the game in a multiplayer setting. If you don't have a PS3 and have been on the fence on getting one, I can only say that the price of Simply put this is the GOTY. The action is incredible and well paced. The mulitiplayer is so addictive and so fun it can keep you hooked for hours upon hours with out even realizing the time going by, it really captures the single player campaign of the game in a multiplayer setting. If you don't have a PS3 and have been on the fence on getting one, I can only say that the price of the PS3 alone is worth playing this game. You will not regret it. And if you already have a PS3 this is most definetly a must buy, hands down. ENJOY!!! Expand
  18. UnchartedUncharted
    Oct 13, 2009
    10
    This game will blow you away. Clearly shows why the xbox360 is the inferior system and shouldn't even be compared to the PS3. Go buy it.
  19. AJR.
    Oct 13, 2009
    10
    The first Uncharted tried to give gamers a more cinematic experience and succeeded. Uncharted 2 perfects the art (emphasis on perfect). Everything about the game is great and very polished. The environments have all the little details that make your mouth drop. The gameplay is ever changing. The shooting and AI is so much better than the first game. If you thought Uncharted: Drake's The first Uncharted tried to give gamers a more cinematic experience and succeeded. Uncharted 2 perfects the art (emphasis on perfect). Everything about the game is great and very polished. The environments have all the little details that make your mouth drop. The gameplay is ever changing. The shooting and AI is so much better than the first game. If you thought Uncharted: Drake's Fortune was any good then you will be blown away by Uncharted 2. Even if you aren't normally a (3rd person) shooter fan you should pick up this game. This game alone (well at least with Metal Gear Solid) is worth buying a PS3. Everyone needs to play this game, its the next Zelda. Expand
  20. JoeB
    Nov 30, 2009
    10
    Absolutely great. 1 problem with game the penalty for quitting in MP is too much esp if you lose connection
  21. glennd
    Oct 13, 2009
    10
    Easily the best game this gen after three and a half hours of playing i was still waiting for the game to start. Thats how beautiful and engaging it is. Highly recommend.
  22. ahmedb.
    Oct 13, 2009
    10
    The best freakin experience I've had playing a game EVER! If you even slightly enjoyed uncharted: drake's fortune, I don't see how you can't love this game. Infact, i'll make a bold statement here: I don't think anyone with their right mind intact could not enjoy the adventure of Nate around the world.
  23. MattA
    Oct 13, 2009
    10
    This is one of the best single player games I have ever played. It really makes you feel like you are the star of a summer action movie. The voice acting is second to none and it feels like the characters are living breathing people that you actually know. The multiplayer is also surprisingly good and can compete with other top multiplayer's out there like call of duty 4 and Halo. This is one of the best single player games I have ever played. It really makes you feel like you are the star of a summer action movie. The voice acting is second to none and it feels like the characters are living breathing people that you actually know. The multiplayer is also surprisingly good and can compete with other top multiplayer's out there like call of duty 4 and Halo. Overall this is one of the best gaming experiences you will have in a long time. Expand
  24. jumpingjack
    Oct 13, 2009
    10
    This game is absolutely brilliant. I dont know why people give it anything less than a 10. the graphics are amazing, the gameplay is similar to uncharted 1 but why change anything which works great. the weapons are great, and multiplayer is sooo addictive.
  25. JonhX
    Oct 13, 2009
    10
    Amazing! Buy it now! hehe it may not redefine a genre or something like that but it´s the must fun i had in so long, maybe since metal gear solid 4 that i havent played such a good game.
  26. ErlandK
    Oct 14, 2009
    10
    Two armed guards chatted obliviously as I looked into the kitchen of a dilapidated Nepalese apartment. Careful not to be spotted, I pulled myself up and took aim at a propane tank. "Boom," whispered Nathan Drake, just before I pulled the trigger, blowing the unsuspecting guards into oblivion. That was the moment that I realized I was in Drake's skin, he was in my head, and I was in Two armed guards chatted obliviously as I looked into the kitchen of a dilapidated Nepalese apartment. Careful not to be spotted, I pulled myself up and took aim at a propane tank. "Boom," whispered Nathan Drake, just before I pulled the trigger, blowing the unsuspecting guards into oblivion. That was the moment that I realized I was in Drake's skin, he was in my head, and I was in love with this game. Expand
  27. KennyB
    Nov 4, 2009
    8
    Amazing game that should get a 10 but is let down becasue it is way to short !
  28. RobertH
    Oct 14, 2009
    10
    I've not played ANYTHING that has been this engaging since GTA IV. The characters are scripted beautifully, the enemies are ludicrously crafty and the end boss is the most evil b*stard in any game thus-far. With nods to just about every adventurer there has ever been, this is game of the year. As with every engaging story the ability to transport you there is made real by I've not played ANYTHING that has been this engaging since GTA IV. The characters are scripted beautifully, the enemies are ludicrously crafty and the end boss is the most evil b*stard in any game thus-far. With nods to just about every adventurer there has ever been, this is game of the year. As with every engaging story the ability to transport you there is made real by spellbinding visuals. There is not a weak spot during the entire game and is made all the more believable by having several sub plots as a base. Uncharted 2 starts off perfectly, blends stealth and brains with mini guns and rocket launchers and ultimately creates one of the most perfect gaming experiences anyone will ever have the satisfaction of playing Expand
  29. HarrisK.
    Oct 14, 2009
    10
    One of the best games that I have ever played. I loved the first one, but this game ups the ante on so many fronts. The story, the voice acting, the unprecedented graphics, the game play is incredible, AND stellar multiplayer and co-op to boot! The PS3 is really showing its muscle now!
  30. BillS
    Oct 14, 2009
    10
    If I could vote higher I would. The most incredible game I've ever played. I loved the witty banter, the action, and the breathtaking set pieces. I have never seen anything so gorgeous in a video game. Plus, Chloe does have a nice butt.
  31. LeeL
    Oct 14, 2009
    10
    This is THE greatest action-adventure of all time. One hand you have one of the best single-player experiences there is, with a great story delivered by an amazing cast of actors, with cinematic moments that will keep you on the edge of your sit throughout the way. On the other hand you have not only a very competent online component but a really enjoyable one at that. With 5v5 This is THE greatest action-adventure of all time. One hand you have one of the best single-player experiences there is, with a great story delivered by an amazing cast of actors, with cinematic moments that will keep you on the edge of your sit throughout the way. On the other hand you have not only a very competent online component but a really enjoyable one at that. With 5v5 competitive multiplayer and 3 player co-op there is almost unlimited replay value in this game after you finish the story mode in 12-13 hours. Forget if you are a current or future PS3 owner, if you have any self-respect as a gamer, you MUST play this game! Expand
  32. LeeL
    Oct 14, 2009
    10
    Incredible. This is the type of game you find yourself telling non-gamers about in coffee shops and then they look at you weird and try and change the subject...but you cant stop! you keep bringing it up over and over and then they leave and your alone again...sigh... alone with your amazing game. <3 hah! seriously though this is awesome and YES that did happen to me today.
  33. RyneH
    Oct 14, 2009
    10
    If this game could have a higher score than 10, I would. After playing through 2 online betas, beating the game once on single player, and now playing the more in-depth multiplayers, I would say that Naughty Dog/Sony could get away with a "Pay what you want" for this and make MORE money then they do at the $60 price point. I would EASILY pay $100 for this game... Simply the most If this game could have a higher score than 10, I would. After playing through 2 online betas, beating the game once on single player, and now playing the more in-depth multiplayers, I would say that Naughty Dog/Sony could get away with a "Pay what you want" for this and make MORE money then they do at the $60 price point. I would EASILY pay $100 for this game... Simply the most outstanding game I've EVER played in my ENTIRE life. Expand
  34. mattS
    Oct 14, 2009
    10
    Believe the hype, Uncharted 2: Among Thieves sets the bar for what a AAA title should be. Congrats to Naughty Dog for a near flawless experience but most of all congratulations are to the gamers, you're the biggest winners this season. And to all the xbot flamers and trolls here is the game not even you can convincingly argue against. This many reviews just don't lie.
  35. RobA
    Oct 14, 2009
    10
    If you liked Drake's Fortune, there's no chance you won't love this game. It's added features (stealth, better combat fighting, and more) combined with the excellent voice-over work puts Among Thieves in a class of it's own. If you didn't like Drake's Fortune, go play some more Pong, because clearly you don't like video games.
  36. MikeR
    Oct 15, 2009
    9
    I loved the 1st Uncharted. So why give this one a 9? This is a bigger version of the first, which had nearly as much polish, albeit a smaller scale. The problem is that the story elements in the 2 games parallel one another. To say more would be to drop spoilers. There were no surprises for me in this story. After playing through the 1st several times and finishing Crushing, I needed I loved the 1st Uncharted. So why give this one a 9? This is a bigger version of the first, which had nearly as much polish, albeit a smaller scale. The problem is that the story elements in the 2 games parallel one another. To say more would be to drop spoilers. There were no surprises for me in this story. After playing through the 1st several times and finishing Crushing, I needed something a bit different. Expand
  37. DanB
    Oct 15, 2009
    10
    Simply put...Wow. Never has a game immersed you in the world the way Uncharted 2 does. Amazing graphics(though not as good as Killzone 2), great single player and awesome online play; this is a MUST own.
  38. AmmarH
    Oct 15, 2009
    10
    This game is AMAZING. Best graphics, great story, great mulyplayer, this is my favourite game ever. It is so fun! And actually i give this game a 9.8/10, but we can't use decimals so i just rounded it to a 10. This is the highest i have ever rated a game.
  39. MikeQ
    Oct 15, 2009
    10
    This game is fantastic. The story is packed full of action and twists, and the voice actors really bring the characters to life. The graphics are probably the nicest on the PS3 and you can tell the developers really wanted this game to look perfect. From the jungle to the mountains it all looks stunning. The gameplay is also great. The puzzles and platforming sections are really well This game is fantastic. The story is packed full of action and twists, and the voice actors really bring the characters to life. The graphics are probably the nicest on the PS3 and you can tell the developers really wanted this game to look perfect. From the jungle to the mountains it all looks stunning. The gameplay is also great. The puzzles and platforming sections are really well done, and the action is really full on (you will be jumping from truck to truck, leaping onto a moving train, and taking down choppers just to mention a few bits) Overall this is a must own game. Expand
  40. Mikes
    Oct 15, 2009
    10
    No game this gen holds a candle to UNCHARTED 2 except for MGS4. And honestly, I've been debating which is a superior title which really shows how great this game is. It is easily GAME OF THE YEAR, and one of the finest ever made. Best graphics to date... surpases MGS and Killzone 2.
  41. JodyS
    Oct 15, 2009
    10
    I wish every game was this polished. Great cut scenes with awesome actors. Nice tweaks to the combat from the first one. Great locations both from a beauty and functional viewpoint. Great vehicle sequences. Awesome pacing. I can't wait for the next adventure with Drake.
  42. KyleS
    Oct 15, 2009
    10
    Uncharted 2 is an all around great package. You get one of the best single-player experiences in gaming history along with kick-ass competitive and cooperative multiplayer. If you dont own a Playstation 3 then this is definitly a system seller. Now if the gameplay doesn't bring you in you may want it just for the visuals, the game looks amazing, there is no better looking console Uncharted 2 is an all around great package. You get one of the best single-player experiences in gaming history along with kick-ass competitive and cooperative multiplayer. If you dont own a Playstation 3 then this is definitly a system seller. Now if the gameplay doesn't bring you in you may want it just for the visuals, the game looks amazing, there is no better looking console game out there, sorry Killzone and Gears but you have been beaten. Now I may sound like I was overhyped but in all truth, this is the best game I have played this year on all consoles. Expand
  43. JonathanL
    Oct 15, 2009
    10
    This is easily one of the best games I have ever played. The polish and mass of the game is simply unparalleled. At this point, it's on my top 3 list of all time, and I couldn't be happier. I recommend this game to everyone.
  44. MikeM
    Oct 15, 2009
    10
    AMAZING GAME. I picked it up at midnight and played it all through the night... I couldn't put the controller down. Unbelievable production value, great story and characters, awesome pacing... and that's just the single player campaign. I have found the multiplayer and co-op to be addicting!
  45. BrandonJ.
    Oct 15, 2009
    10
    Everything about this game is friggin sweet this is a PS3 gamers wet dream the storyline is superb the graphics are beautiful, and it pulls u in2 the game I pretty much felt as if I was in the skin of Drake. The action is better than any other single player action adventure game this year and I friggin loved Infamous & Batman:AA. w/ Assassin's Creed II and Ratchet & Clank coming out Everything about this game is friggin sweet this is a PS3 gamers wet dream the storyline is superb the graphics are beautiful, and it pulls u in2 the game I pretty much felt as if I was in the skin of Drake. The action is better than any other single player action adventure game this year and I friggin loved Infamous & Batman:AA. w/ Assassin's Creed II and Ratchet & Clank coming out soon it's gonna be kinda difficult 2 determine what the Game of the Year's gonna be. It's pretty much impossible 2 dislike U2:AT, and if there are people that truly disliked the game after playing it, they aren't happy w/ themselves in life. I'm on chapter 23 right now and other than playing the demo once I haven't even played the multiplayer, so I only caught a small glimpse of that so far but I've never been a fan of the whole war type games anyway (especially every game in 1st person shooter perspective), but I did pretty decent by not dying as much as the rest of my team and I even placed 2nd on the team by killing the opposition 5x (hey that's good 4 some1 who hates those types of games right & + we were getting our assess massacred). If this game doesn't make people wanna buy a PS3 than they're a lost cause. Expand
  46. mrsadystic
    Oct 15, 2009
    10
    Uncharted 2 is simply breathtaking from its insanely polished and well voice acted single player campaign to the wonderful assortment of online co op and competitive modes there is simply something for everyone. EASILY the game of the YEAR 2009.
  47. Joshua
    Oct 15, 2009
    10
    Amazing just amazing, Naughty Dog has truly raised the bar with this game.
  48. JoshH
    Oct 15, 2009
    10
    Uncharted 2 is the real deal, from the story telling to the amazing voice acting and godly animation to the most stunningly gorgeous graphics ive ever seen in a game. Naughty Dog has created a masterpiece, i want to play the game that takes away game of the year honers from this one. if it exists.
  49. IshiiB.
    Oct 15, 2009
    10
    Finally a great focus on a total experience and not just one or two cool parts. When you still think you're watching a cut scene when you are supposed to be playing the game has found a perfect flow from the two.
  50. BittonR.
    Oct 15, 2009
    10
    My favorite multiplayer game for the PS3, and the single player story grabs you from the get-go! Perfect game... PS3 is now worth owning!
  51. AggzW.
    Oct 15, 2009
    10
    Multiplayer is intense and addictive, Single-player, while i have only just stated chapter 5 is amazing. Graphically, i find this to be the best looking console game to date, and if you own a PS3 you owe it to yourself to buy this game! as a matter of fact even if you DONT own a PS3, go to the store and buy yourself a new Slimline PS3, and a copy of this game, and if $$$ permits pick up a Multiplayer is intense and addictive, Single-player, while i have only just stated chapter 5 is amazing. Graphically, i find this to be the best looking console game to date, and if you own a PS3 you owe it to yourself to buy this game! as a matter of fact even if you DONT own a PS3, go to the store and buy yourself a new Slimline PS3, and a copy of this game, and if $$$ permits pick up a few other of the great PS3 exclusives!!! Expand
  52. AndyM.
    Oct 16, 2009
    10
    Incredible, Uncharted 2 is a genre defining and generation defining video game, from the moment you look out over Turkey from a rooftop high above the sprawling coastline you realise this game is seriously something special.
  53. MarinaM.
    Nov 6, 2009
    10
    Absolutely amazing. My only complaint is that the platforming is too linear, but other than that, Uncharted 2 is THE GAME of 2009. Do yourself a favor and buy this game NOW. Don't wait till the price drops; seriously, it's that good. On a side note, for those who haven't played the first one, I recommend playing that first though if you just want to skip to the sequel Absolutely amazing. My only complaint is that the platforming is too linear, but other than that, Uncharted 2 is THE GAME of 2009. Do yourself a favor and buy this game NOW. Don't wait till the price drops; seriously, it's that good. On a side note, for those who haven't played the first one, I recommend playing that first though if you just want to skip to the sequel everything still makes sense, you just miss out on a few jokes. Expand
  54. RZ
    Oct 16, 2009
    7
    Most of the game is okay. The game however is poorly designed in most of its sections, mainly the train level. Just like in the first one, you will die MANY times to cheap deaths. It's nothing skill-related, it's trial and error for the most part. This game is a huge product of hype.
  55. NickH
    Oct 16, 2009
    10
    Uncharted 2 is a very good game. It certantly deserves a 10 or to be exact 9.7. I am only going to talk about the disadvantages of the game because the advantages are unlimited. First uncharted 2 was not as good as we expected. We expected even better graphics although the details are nondescribable. Also the game doesn't give the uncharted feeling of the first game evn if it's Uncharted 2 is a very good game. It certantly deserves a 10 or to be exact 9.7. I am only going to talk about the disadvantages of the game because the advantages are unlimited. First uncharted 2 was not as good as we expected. We expected even better graphics although the details are nondescribable. Also the game doesn't give the uncharted feeling of the first game evn if it's better in all ways. Also we expected the single-player to be much bigger. There are 26 chapters but nearly 6 of them last only 5-10 minutes so you have like 20 real chapters. last the story is great but there was so much potential. I just don't get it why developers make the same stories all over again. As with batman AA the story could be much better but still it's one of the best out there. After hearing all these negatives you must be wondering why a give this game a 10. Simply put because it's an amazing game in every compartment. all i'm saying is that it could be even more perfect. maybe in uncharted 3. Expand
  56. brentL
    Oct 16, 2009
    10
    I was honestly thinking about rating it a 9 due to the overhype that it is getting, however many games get that (Halo, GOW and the other GOW) and it really wouldn't be fair. This is a great game in many categories, way too many to list so im just gona list the bad. Enemy ai is typically great, until you try to use stealth. At times you can walk in front of them and still not be I was honestly thinking about rating it a 9 due to the overhype that it is getting, however many games get that (Halo, GOW and the other GOW) and it really wouldn't be fair. This is a great game in many categories, way too many to list so im just gona list the bad. Enemy ai is typically great, until you try to use stealth. At times you can walk in front of them and still not be spotted (on hard by the way), and other times your behind a crate and they see you some how. The multiplayer is great and different from other multiplayers, however the guns used are bland and kinda boring. overall you can read other review for the good, their all true, multiplayer is fresh and fun, story is second only to MSG4, gameplay is easy to learn and improved over the last (melee mainly), character development is great, graphics are amazing and show what the ps3 can do, ect..... There were only two minor flaw that really bothered me which i listed, other then that the only caution I would say is play the first before playing this one. The relationships will make more sense to you. Expand
  57. ThomasH
    Oct 17, 2009
    10
    One of the, if not _the_ best game i've played this console generation, and i have all 3 of them. What can i say, it is just fantastic in every way it should, a great and exciting story, spectacular gameplay, and lets face it; the graphics are phenomenal. The sound and score is very good to. An absolute must buy for everyone who likes action / adventure games.
  58. JustinG
    Oct 17, 2009
    10
    Highly enjoyable game, just as the first one. Game is the combination of an enjoyable indiana jones movie and a 3rd person cover-shooter with various mini platforming parts. Multiplayer is a plus, lack of local multiplayer or co-op is a negative. Sat down and played through the entire game in one sitting, just like the first one... they are that enjoyable.
  59. WilliamB
    Nov 7, 2009
    8
    Graphics are great, storyline is solid, but overall not that fun to play and the online it a real let down. Final boss battle is an improvement over the originals, but still needs to be less linear and more exciting.
  60. MetalGear
    Oct 17, 2009
    9
    If you did not like the first one due to the loose controls and other issues, like me, then fear not, THIS GAME IS AWESOME! Yes the graphics "are" amazing, but delve deeper, the explosions, the lighting, the spinning guns in the air when baddies take one are all delivered without a drop in frame rate and the resolution of these spot effects are the best I've seen outside Crysis in If you did not like the first one due to the loose controls and other issues, like me, then fear not, THIS GAME IS AWESOME! Yes the graphics "are" amazing, but delve deeper, the explosions, the lighting, the spinning guns in the air when baddies take one are all delivered without a drop in frame rate and the resolution of these spot effects are the best I've seen outside Crysis in dx10 very high quality mode. The load times are pratically invisible, the acting, story, engine made cutscenes, everything basically is seemless and essentially perfect. The critical score says it, the user reviews match that lofty score, there IS only one reason why, it is THAT GOOD! Buy with TOTAL confidence! Expand
  61. JoeMomma
    Oct 17, 2009
    10
    Uncharted 2 blends smooth and satisfying gameplay with the presentation of a blockbuster acion/adventure movie. Action sequences that look like a cut scene end up forcing you to pick up the controller right in the middle of it! The story is compelling and well acted - much like the first. Characters seem real in their delivery in dialogue, and again, it is blended seamlessly with Uncharted 2 blends smooth and satisfying gameplay with the presentation of a blockbuster acion/adventure movie. Action sequences that look like a cut scene end up forcing you to pick up the controller right in the middle of it! The story is compelling and well acted - much like the first. Characters seem real in their delivery in dialogue, and again, it is blended seamlessly with gameplay. Uncharted 2 is a full package - with it's additionally addictive and deep multiplayer modes, including co-op rounds and competitive deathmatch and elimination modes. Once you start, you will not stop. Expand
  62. PeteM
    Oct 17, 2009
    10
    Simply brilliant. From graphics to gameplay to story, this is undoubtedly the GOTY. Yes it has some miniscule shortfalls (more could've been done with the stealth, for example) but they don't detract from this incredible experience at all.
  63. JK
    Oct 18, 2009
    10
    If you like action/adventure games, you will not be disppointed! I loved the first game--one of my all time favorites--and this one just adds to the series greatness. Believe the hype!
  64. RajendraG.
    Oct 18, 2009
    10
    Fantastic game that entertains every second it is played. The balance between shooting, platforming, puzzle solving, and cutscenes is expertly crafted. Very linear, but that is pretty much needed for this type of story driven game.
  65. JoshB
    Nov 8, 2009
    10
    The best game this console generation. A definitive experience which dwarfs the brilliant Killzone 2 and the superb Call of Duty 4. The action is intense and difficult, but gripping and fun as well. The single player is the best I have ever played, and mulitplayer, whilst lacking the depth of Call of Duty 4, Resistance 2, Killzone 2, and others, remains as the most balanced experience to The best game this console generation. A definitive experience which dwarfs the brilliant Killzone 2 and the superb Call of Duty 4. The action is intense and difficult, but gripping and fun as well. The single player is the best I have ever played, and mulitplayer, whilst lacking the depth of Call of Duty 4, Resistance 2, Killzone 2, and others, remains as the most balanced experience to date, with variety in gameplay styles, great maps, numerous 'boosters', characters to play as, and people will be playing this for a very long time. A landmark achievement, anybody who doesn't own this game is missing out. Buy buy buy! Expand
  66. DougS
    Oct 19, 2009
    10
    No either game touches UC2 graphics. The only game more epic and maybe more polished in some areas than UC2 is MGS4, and even still, MGS4 fails to deliver quite the experience as UC2. Its just plain fun from beginning to end. The balance of action, cutscenes, puzzles, etc is some kind of achievement. The only thing I have to say negative about the experience is that it has to end.
  67. JohnC
    Oct 19, 2009
    10
    Game is simply amazing. Probably my favorite game on the PS3. Online is great and i have not experienced a second of lag. Also going to give it a 10 because of all of the unnecessary 0's stupid fanboys. lol yes the irony is funny. But seriously though the game deserves all the praise its getting from everyone.
  68. RobertR
    Oct 19, 2009
    10
    Absolutely unreal! A must buy for all PS3 owners, and for those who don't own a PS3, might want to consider picking one up just for this experience.
  69. ZubairL
    Oct 19, 2009
    10
    Absolutely Brilliant! Cinematic, looks great,plays great and keeps you wanting to play and see what happens next. Truly next gen! From now on all games will be judged by Pre Unchartered 2 and Post Unchartred 2, its the new benchmark for sure!
  70. GabrielM.
    Oct 19, 2009
    10
    Absolutely amazing. And that's only refering to the single player! The multiplayer is fun and addicting. This game just screams polish and perfection. Wonderfully cinematic and action packed. One of the best video games of all time. Why are you still reading this? GO PLAY IT NOW!!!
  71. NickT
    Oct 19, 2009
    10
    With a game of this magnitude, you cannot just pass it up. The game's presentation is top notch and strikes notes of pulchritude and unimaginable beauty. Sound plays another important part in this game, too. You can tell, because Naughty Dog's sound team went out of their way to record their moving scores in Skywalker Sound Ranch (the place where they recorded sounds for all the With a game of this magnitude, you cannot just pass it up. The game's presentation is top notch and strikes notes of pulchritude and unimaginable beauty. Sound plays another important part in this game, too. You can tell, because Naughty Dog's sound team went out of their way to record their moving scores in Skywalker Sound Ranch (the place where they recorded sounds for all the Lucas Arts movies). Gameplay revolves around your traversal of the world, and shooting most every bad guy along the way. The controls are pulled off flawlessly. The overall experience puts a feeling of forced love in your heart. It's a hard game to hate. Expand
  72. JamesA.
    Nov 9, 2009
    10
    Up there with Resident Evil 4, Bioshock, and Final Fantasy 7 as one of the greatest games i ever played.
  73. ScottP
    Oct 19, 2009
    10
    Not since playing Resident Evil 4 for the first time have I been so utterly dumbfounded by a game before. From the games "active cinematic experiences" to the absolutely jaw-dropping graphics, this game has it all. One of the best told stories I've ever seen in a game before with compelling and realistic characters. The gunplay has thankfully rid itself of the "lets shoot this guy Not since playing Resident Evil 4 for the first time have I been so utterly dumbfounded by a game before. From the games "active cinematic experiences" to the absolutely jaw-dropping graphics, this game has it all. One of the best told stories I've ever seen in a game before with compelling and realistic characters. The gunplay has thankfully rid itself of the "lets shoot this guy for 5 minutes until he finally dies" mechanic to a more realistic and satasfying firing mechanic. When you shoot them they die in just a few hits (shocking isn't it?) There are several moments in this game that can literally make your jaw drop. One of my favorite scenes involving a tank (not saying anymore than that, you'll know it when it happens). Uncharted 2 simply does not disappoint in any way, it is my new favorite game (surpassing RE4 and Bioshock) and easily a contender for Game of the year. This is a classic in the making and if you have a PS3 and don't get this game, how do you call yourself a gamer? Expand
  74. spyrewolf
    Nov 9, 2009
    10
    this game was truly amazing, it really shows what the ps3 is capable of and naughty dog knocked this out of the park, every aspect of the game was flawless, not only is it beautiful to look at but the voice acting, story and pacing are tight! great game!
  75. ZachJ
    Oct 19, 2009
    9
    I see this game as a good/bad scenario. The game really hasn't changed much since the original. But that's more of a testament to the greatness of the original than a critique of this sequel. Also, the only real "evolution" is with the online multiplayer. But once again, the multiplayer is great and complements an already awesome single player experience. Where I'm I see this game as a good/bad scenario. The game really hasn't changed much since the original. But that's more of a testament to the greatness of the original than a critique of this sequel. Also, the only real "evolution" is with the online multiplayer. But once again, the multiplayer is great and complements an already awesome single player experience. Where I'm dissatisfied is with the story. I don't feel Drake's motivations are as strong in this game as in the first. With Uncharted, Drake was discovering his lineage, he was seeking revenge, he was saving the girl, he was looking for riches and he was also stuck on this island. So his escape and victory lined up for a powerful motivation to risk climbing giant cliffs while battling pirates, mercenaries, and...those other guys. But Uncharted 2, I really just didn't "feel" why Drake was moving forward. Besides the obvious reason that we need an excuse to climb-roll-punch-shoot-hide. Also, I didn't develop emotional attachments to characters because they were introduced too late into the game. Maybe they saw this as the optimum scenario, but I feel developing relationships and motivations that occurred in the third act should have moved to the first or second. But that's where it's at. My only real complaints about a video game is the story. Also, I'm pretty damn analytical so I imagine most will be completely satisfied. Another great game from Naughty Dog. Expand
  76. JonathanS
    Oct 21, 2009
    10
    I haven't played the game yet but felt that I should give it a 10 because Daniel J. gave it a 0 to skew the results. If you feel the game is an 8, give it an 8. Don't give it a 0 to alter the score because you don't think others should have given it a 10. The point of this site is to average individual scores of the game to give you a realistic view of what others think.
  77. JonA.
    Oct 20, 2009
    10
    Uncharted 2 is simply amazing. The game's story is like that of Indiana Jones and National Treasure. It feels like an action movie and a game at the same time. The voice actors and the awesome face movements and body movements make it seem like a real movie. The gameplay is astounding and slightly tweaked from the original formula. The music is well done and it is obvious that a lot Uncharted 2 is simply amazing. The game's story is like that of Indiana Jones and National Treasure. It feels like an action movie and a game at the same time. The voice actors and the awesome face movements and body movements make it seem like a real movie. The gameplay is astounding and slightly tweaked from the original formula. The music is well done and it is obvious that a lot of care has been put in this game. To put it simply, this is the best single-player experience I have ever played. One to rival the stroy telling of Metal Gear Solid 4. I highly recommend this game. Expand
  78. ToddP.
    Oct 21, 2009
    10
    This is a must-play for all PS3 owners. All the praise is richly deserved. Engaging story, varied and addicting gameplay, fun multiplayer, and absolutely gorgeous to behold.
  79. Memyself
    Dec 11, 2009
    10
    Definitely the best game this generation so far. Great gameplay, great plot, great characters, I don't even need to comment the visuals and the voice acting. It's just top notch. This game is more than game of the year, so far it's the Game of the WHOLE 7th GENERATION!
  80. BL
    Dec 10, 2009
    10
    Without a doubt the best game this generation, one of the best games I've ever played. Beautiful graphics(the best console graphics yet), smooth gameplay, jaw-dropping action, immersive, excellent story with voice acting and dialogue. The singleplayer & multiplayer bonuses top it off wonderfully with great features like cinema in which you can rewatch automatically recorded games, Without a doubt the best game this generation, one of the best games I've ever played. Beautiful graphics(the best console graphics yet), smooth gameplay, jaw-dropping action, immersive, excellent story with voice acting and dialogue. The singleplayer & multiplayer bonuses top it off wonderfully with great features like cinema in which you can rewatch automatically recorded games, controlling the camera in real time and even adding weather effects. Expand
  81. AnonymousMC
    Oct 20, 2009
    10
    Amazing. No other game looks good, plays good, and sounds good than uncharted 2. One of my favorite games of all time. Multiplayer is amazing and everything bout it is just awesome. Characters, enviornments, EVERYTHING. Naughty Dog, this is why I have bout your games ever since crash bandicoot era on the ps1. Great job.
  82. CruzU
    Oct 20, 2009
    10
    Clearly one of my best single-player experiences ever... Uncharted 2 has brought serious competition for Game of The Year, and possibly one of the greatest, ever. Multiplayer is just another reason why this defines near perfection, in just a third-person shooter!
  83. MarkG
    Oct 20, 2009
    10
    If you thought Uncharted 1 was a 10/10 (I did), this will blow your socks off. Its perfection is every respect. Not just the best game on PS3 this year, not even best game on any console this year, not even best game on any console this generation. This is the best game I have EVER played on ANY system...
  84. BDow
    Dec 16, 2009
    10
    wow D V. this "inferior" logic is whether or not a game is fun. this is a fun game. its Uncharted used to be my favorite game till this came out. Why? because it is fun. whole point of the game. fun.
  85. DawnD
    Oct 21, 2009
    10
    Having played and loved the first game I was afraid to buy into the hype of this game, until I played it. Tighter controls than the first, with fantastic acting and beautiful scenes, this game just topped my favorites list.
  86. Sam
    Dec 19, 2009
    10
    Uncharted 2 is easily the best game of the year, possibly of all time. It has a plot as good, if not better, then movies. If you are new to the series, this game can be thought of as something similar to Indiana Jones or Tomb Raider. This game is perfect in every aspect. The single player so good if this game didn't have multiplayer it would still recieve a ten. The multiplayer has a Uncharted 2 is easily the best game of the year, possibly of all time. It has a plot as good, if not better, then movies. If you are new to the series, this game can be thought of as something similar to Indiana Jones or Tomb Raider. This game is perfect in every aspect. The single player so good if this game didn't have multiplayer it would still recieve a ten. The multiplayer has a wide variety of modes, all of which are executed perfectly. The game has the best graphics of all time. It is photorealistic. This game is a must-buy and if you don't have a ps3 it is the sole reason to get one. Expand
  87. JoshuA
    Oct 22, 2009
    10
    Uncharted 2: Amongst Thieves made me feel foolish that i gave any other game a 10 before it but I must give a shout out to Gears of War & Tomb Raider for Naughty Dog took lessons from these 2 fantastic Series & created The Best Game Of All Time!! It's Incredible!!!
  88. VictorS
    Dec 20, 2009
    10
    This game is one of the best games I've played. Unmatched graphics, amazing story and characters, fuun multiplayer, epic gameplay, what more do you need?
  89. shetaki
    Dec 23, 2009
    10
    Very good graphics and amazing story line. hopefully the cover glitches and A.I. will be fixed in an update but even if it isnt this is still a great gaming experience. oh and for all those people who are giving this game low scores, games are meant to be enjoyed. you guys seem to just play it, find as many glitches as you can and then write a bad review so that people who have not played Very good graphics and amazing story line. hopefully the cover glitches and A.I. will be fixed in an update but even if it isnt this is still a great gaming experience. oh and for all those people who are giving this game low scores, games are meant to be enjoyed. you guys seem to just play it, find as many glitches as you can and then write a bad review so that people who have not played the game yet will get the wrong idea. jesus christ PLAY THE GAME TO HAVE FUN! if something like this came out 5 years ago the whole world would have shit themselves. Well for those of you who have not played this game yet, dont listen to those dumbshits buy it and prepare for a stellar gaming experience that you will come back for again and again. Expand
  90. JimR
    Oct 22, 2009
    10
    Definitely a system seller, all four of my non ps3 owning friends who saw me playing this have gone out and brought a ps3 slim, this game is a joy to play and perfect at what it does which is top class adventuring, some bitter fanboys of the other system have labelled it 'duderaider' which is very funny, but it is much more advanced in every respect . I do still love the first Definitely a system seller, all four of my non ps3 owning friends who saw me playing this have gone out and brought a ps3 slim, this game is a joy to play and perfect at what it does which is top class adventuring, some bitter fanboys of the other system have labelled it 'duderaider' which is very funny, but it is much more advanced in every respect . I do still love the first game though and i wish all the efforts had gone into the single player experience. Expand
  91. PeterR
    Oct 22, 2009
    10
    This game is truly amazing. Characters are fleshed out, gun play is on point, platforming is perfect and the story is just magnificent. It's been a while since I've gone through a game multiple times but the single player experience is just that good and the platinum trophy was just icing on the cake. Naughty Dog deserves all the praises it gets because this game is an absolute This game is truly amazing. Characters are fleshed out, gun play is on point, platforming is perfect and the story is just magnificent. It's been a while since I've gone through a game multiple times but the single player experience is just that good and the platinum trophy was just icing on the cake. Naughty Dog deserves all the praises it gets because this game is an absolute stunner, production values through the roof. Expand
  92. CBowen
    Oct 23, 2009
    10
    You saw this coming, completely misunderstood, you hit the books while the now-gen plugged in ÅccessàWiï's and X Jox dropouts flipped the only McPorts in town. Now generation-(ps)X design scene has a collective masters degree and finally dev cake's abound and you might just eat it too. It's not jade this time, but more importantly this game is a MGS4 for You saw this coming, completely misunderstood, you hit the books while the now-gen plugged in ÅccessàWiï's and X Jox dropouts flipped the only McPorts in town. Now generation-(ps)X design scene has a collective masters degree and finally dev cake's abound and you might just eat it too. It's not jade this time, but more importantly this game is a MGS4 for the masses. Chin up next-next#ps3rd-gen UC2 will impregnate any member of the family, yes itll get you too.. Expand
  93. ChrisS
    Dec 30, 2009
    10
    First Game was my game of this Gen... 2 has blown me away! If there is a game to make it worth owning a PS3 its this.
  94. Salvy102
    Dec 30, 2009
    9
    I didn't find anything "GROUND BREAKING" in this game, but it was fun to play, it is the best single player for an adventure game. The online is fun in its own way. I was stunned by the visuals and the climatic scenes. I liked the game but it's not perfect, at least in my eyes.
  95. HarsitamoD
    Oct 23, 2009
    10
    Uncharted 2: Among Theives is an extremely good game. Although it has its flaws this is one of the best games I've played and definetly the best Playstation 3 game I have play. Some of the flaws of this game are: bad camera angles (mostly when you are climing), a few unpolished parts like sliding up stairs with the GAU-19 and a bad plot twist at the end, which could have been saved Uncharted 2: Among Theives is an extremely good game. Although it has its flaws this is one of the best games I've played and definetly the best Playstation 3 game I have play. Some of the flaws of this game are: bad camera angles (mostly when you are climing), a few unpolished parts like sliding up stairs with the GAU-19 and a bad plot twist at the end, which could have been saved if it was explained. This easily out weighed by: the exellent graphics, good AIs, perfect voice acting, good platforming sections, large puzzles and great cutscenes which are timed perfectly. I would give this game's single player a ten for its entertaiment value but take a mark off for it's flaws giving it a nine. Uncharted 2's Multiplayer is a great extension to the almost perfect single player part and I would give it a 10 for it is fair (as it pairs you with others around the same level as you) and fun with an epic co-op and very good competitive multiplayer. Even though it is definetly not one of the best multiplayer in the market (Call of Duty 4 takes that position) it is near the top. In conclusion I give Uncharted 2: Among Theives a nine for its single player and a ten for its multiplayer giving it an average of nine and a half, which I round up to then because it was so entertaining! Expand
  96. MirzaA
    Oct 24, 2009
    10
    Ive played Uncharted multiple times and for me that was the game that validated my purchase of the Ps3. My mum sat down and asked me whether i was watching an indiana jones flick because the enviroments looked that good. The graphics blew my mind and the story and soundtrack was just damn PERFECT. Now take all that and imagine it better in every way and u get Uncharted 2. Granted the Ive played Uncharted multiple times and for me that was the game that validated my purchase of the Ps3. My mum sat down and asked me whether i was watching an indiana jones flick because the enviroments looked that good. The graphics blew my mind and the story and soundtrack was just damn PERFECT. Now take all that and imagine it better in every way and u get Uncharted 2. Granted the graphics do NOT make the game. But in this game the Graphics are a kick in the nuts to all the other next gen games proving that a game can indeed have it all and rock a gamers world! Expand
  97. AndrewL
    Oct 24, 2009
    10
    Hands down Game of the Year, console-wide. Perfect as a platformer, Perfect as a third-person shooter. If you don't own a PS3 already you're insane, and yet, not having one NOW.. when a Uncharted 2 exists, there's something wrong with you. The graphics are unparalleled and the cheeky humour in the characters' banter is something unique. It's impossible to not love Hands down Game of the Year, console-wide. Perfect as a platformer, Perfect as a third-person shooter. If you don't own a PS3 already you're insane, and yet, not having one NOW.. when a Uncharted 2 exists, there's something wrong with you. The graphics are unparalleled and the cheeky humour in the characters' banter is something unique. It's impossible to not love Drake, I can't think of a more entertaining, likeable and memorable lead role since Guybrush Threepwood. Not to mention once the instantly classic, amazing single player ends, the multiplayer begins. After playing 5 minutes of any random match, you see that it's one of the smoothest, most enjoyable online experience in existence, and surprisingly, living in Australia I can't even play a second of LittleBigPlanet online, and yet, Uncharted 2 runs smooth as a baby's bum, it really is something else! 10/10, 5 stars. Expand
  98. BrettD
    Dec 4, 2009
    10
    If you want to enjoy other games do not play this game. It will ruin every other game. The graphics on this game are possibly the best of this generation with the only competition coming from Killzone 2. The story is actually good compared to most of the tripe that gets passed off in other games. The controls are flawless especially when compared to AC2. This game isn't all hype like If you want to enjoy other games do not play this game. It will ruin every other game. The graphics on this game are possibly the best of this generation with the only competition coming from Killzone 2. The story is actually good compared to most of the tripe that gets passed off in other games. The controls are flawless especially when compared to AC2. This game isn't all hype like GTA4 it actually deserves the scores it has been getting. The best part is it's worth buying because the multi-player is the best experience out right now and that includes MW2. Expand
  99. jennifertheterrible
    Oct 24, 2009
    10
    Telling that this game is the best for is generation is a lie. there is not a single game that comes close to this. simply, this is the best. if you have a ps3 then go and buy it. if you don't have a ps3, first get a ps3 and then buy uncharted 2. now I am returning to the game, see you there.
  100. JacobZ.P.
    Oct 27, 2009
    10
    If you love Indiana Jones over the top adventure, good humor, an awesome story with some really fun gameplay, this is a game for you. Make sure you pick up the first one though, because Uncharted: Drake's fortune is almost just as rememerable, but this is a game that friends and families should experience. 10/10
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 105 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Mixed: 0 out of 105
  2. Negative: 0 out of 105
  1. 100
    Spread across twenty-six chapters is a story as playful and worthwhile as the gameplay.
  2. Graphically stunning, Uncharted 2: Among Thieves is, first of all, an interactive adventure, one that feels like a movie and even has a storyline of a movie. Most gameplay situations have been tailored in order to stun the player with originality and identification, and the end result is absolutely amazing.
  3. Among Thieves is all about constant movement. And even movement on top of movement. It grabbed me from the beginning and didn't let go for twelve hours. Once I finished, all I could think about was playing it again. More than a defining game for the PS3, Uncharted 2 is a defining game of this console generation.