Uncharted 2: Among Thieves PlayStation 3

  • Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Oct 13, 2009
User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 5398 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    I don't always give games a perfect score, but when I do, its Uncharted 2. I was completely blown away by this game and had absolutely no idea what I was getting into. I got this game as a Christmas gift the year it was released since it was the only game that seemed interesting to me at the time. I had played the first one for a good ten hours, but this one is a huge upgrade. Brand newI don't always give games a perfect score, but when I do, its Uncharted 2. I was completely blown away by this game and had absolutely no idea what I was getting into. I got this game as a Christmas gift the year it was released since it was the only game that seemed interesting to me at the time. I had played the first one for a good ten hours, but this one is a huge upgrade. Brand new engine with stunning visuals, sound design, and the camera work. It's all in the camera work, man! Naughty Dog has left a very deep mark in platforming titles with this game for years to come. Expand
  2. Nov 17, 2011
    10
    Best game ever! Best game ever! I even have an extra copy do lend to a friend.
    ////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////
  3. Nov 17, 2011
    10
    Uncharted 2 is just plain amazing. It is very well one of the best games I have ever played, second only to Grand Theft Auto IV. Nathan Drake's latest journey is amazing. The graphics are flat out amazing, the voice acting is great, the characters are great , and the set pieces are breath-taking, it's like watching a movie! The plot is great, the plot of a typical action movie and theUncharted 2 is just plain amazing. It is very well one of the best games I have ever played, second only to Grand Theft Auto IV. Nathan Drake's latest journey is amazing. The graphics are flat out amazing, the voice acting is great, the characters are great , and the set pieces are breath-taking, it's like watching a movie! The plot is great, the plot of a typical action movie and the action is wowinvoking as well. The gameplay is very good, one of the best controls schemes to date and I feel like I am Nathan Drake when I play. The humanization is so cool that you feel more attached to the characters. The action genre just got renovated with Uncharted 2, not only does it set the bar for the series but the bar for action games and gaming in general. Flaws, there are like virtually no flaws at all but just that maybe a tiny tiny portion is inariably clunky and that is the gnplay which can be a little twitchy but nonetheless almost perfect and platforming is a little limited, again, just a little but still Uncharted 2 gives you many ways to tackle the situation. These flaws are very minute compared to the rest of the game and they are teeny tiny problems in general. Overall Uncharted 2 is an amazing that I absolutely love. It's thrilling, it's entertaining, it's flat-out amazing. I will never look at video games the same way. Uncharted 2 comes second only to GTA IV. I love this game. Breakdown for "Uncharted 2: Among Thieves": Presentation: 10, Graphics: 10, Sound: 10, Playability: 9.8, Lasting Appeal: 10. Verdict: 9.9 out of 10 "Amazing". The best adventure game of all time. Expand
  4. Nov 19, 2011
    10
    This game is incredible, the graphics are stunning and the Single-Player is one of the best in the market. The only thing that this game doesn't have is a good multiplayer, but who cares about this when there is a Story mode that deserves multiples playthroughs and also have about 100 treasures to find.
  5. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    I didn't think the sequel could be better and I was dead wrong. The graphics, oh my god, are so dazzling and incredible. The story picks up some time after the first one and accelerates into the action right away. This movie... er I mean game is a thrill ride from start to finish. The gameplay improves removing the six-axis controller from use entirely, and the combat is more effective andI didn't think the sequel could be better and I was dead wrong. The graphics, oh my god, are so dazzling and incredible. The story picks up some time after the first one and accelerates into the action right away. This movie... er I mean game is a thrill ride from start to finish. The gameplay improves removing the six-axis controller from use entirely, and the combat is more effective and less tedious. This is quite possibly the best game on the PS3. And then you have the multiplayer... it just never stops amazing you from the moment you put it in. Expand
  6. Nov 22, 2011
    8
    Brilliant cinematic experience. Some of the set pieces are particularly enjoyable, even awe inspiring on a few occasions. Only really losing their appeal ones you have to repeat them multiple times owing to a silly death of mistake. But this is a rather minor point. The game feels largely responsive and agile in responding to your actions, though the AI can feel a little robotic. TheBrilliant cinematic experience. Some of the set pieces are particularly enjoyable, even awe inspiring on a few occasions. Only really losing their appeal ones you have to repeat them multiple times owing to a silly death of mistake. But this is a rather minor point. The game feels largely responsive and agile in responding to your actions, though the AI can feel a little robotic. The character development, while not masterful, is certainly entertaining. All in all, it's a highly polished and pleasant game to play through, and well worth pushing through the odd moment of jarring suspended belief given that the vast majority will sweep you up with it and carry you along its tight, beautiful and varied trajectory! Expand
  7. Nov 24, 2011
    9
    I really have nothing bad to say about this game. The graphics are phenomenal, even for the game being a few years old. The story is so captivating, and you really become emotionally invested in the characters. The gameplay is a lot of fun, with creative platforming sections that remind me of assassin's creed/tomb raider. While some may not like the bounciness and inaccuracy of theI really have nothing bad to say about this game. The graphics are phenomenal, even for the game being a few years old. The story is so captivating, and you really become emotionally invested in the characters. The gameplay is a lot of fun, with creative platforming sections that remind me of assassin's creed/tomb raider. While some may not like the bounciness and inaccuracy of the shooting, I think it adds a level of realism to the game. Minus the bad guys being able to take 5 shotgun rounds to the chest Expand
  8. Nov 28, 2011
    10
    I bought a PS3 recently and don't regret it one bit simply because I went through the Uncharted experience. WOW!! This game is groundbreaking!!! The characters are great. The story is engaging. The gameplay is brilliant. It definitely set the standard for Action-Adventure games. Would highly recommend anybody who hasnt played
  9. Dec 2, 2011
    10
    I absolutely love this game! The graphics and game-play and everything else is so awesome. Truly the best on the PS3 and a must-have. The game is hugely fun and the voice-acting is spectacular. Do not hesitate to buy this game.
  10. Apr 17, 2012
    9
    I am not seeking to counter the current average, I am just seeking to be honest. Is this a "great" game? Yes. Is it "sublime"? No. Is it better than the first installment in the series, yes, but not in every way. The two main things I liked about the first game in the series (the intelligent AI and the realistic difficulty) were completely absent in this game. In the first game, the enemyI am not seeking to counter the current average, I am just seeking to be honest. Is this a "great" game? Yes. Is it "sublime"? No. Is it better than the first installment in the series, yes, but not in every way. The two main things I liked about the first game in the series (the intelligent AI and the realistic difficulty) were completely absent in this game. In the first game, the enemy would intelligently flank you, centered around where you were, and all the enemies would do this while actively pinning you down with bullet fire. In U2, the enemies do not behave so. Some do, but most of the enemies' behaviors are either clearly set as "stay behind this box or whatever and keep shooting" or "just walk in a straight line towards Drake." I was very disappointed by that, and also by how much easier the game was in general. I played both games on normal and in the first game, you would take as much damage before death as the enemies at whom you were shooting. I liked this since I never liked the idea of why you can take 20 more bullets to the chest than everyone else. However, U2 employs the more ubiquitous "superhuman" approach, which was a shame. To make up for these absences, Naughty Dog gave us some incredibly varied level designs and a more interesting story. You travel to a lot more interesting places (though sadly these places are much more linear) and you are more curious as to what happens in the end. Otherwise, the biggest problem plagues both games: the tedious and crude gunplay. It's not "bad", and I certainly don't expect it to hit the heights of Gears of War, but it could stand to see substantial improvement. Overall, I don't see why this game is considered one of the best of this generation. Great, but not transcendental. Expand
  11. Dec 6, 2011
    10
    This game gives you very little to relax and frankly that's ok because how can you relax when you're a treasure hunter. And what a treasure hunter Drake is he(you) is well equipped to do pretty much anything; from fighting, to leaping, to solving puzzles. The only thing that Drake can't do is take on a lot of bullets; so cover is a major thing in this game, which gives it a huge realisticThis game gives you very little to relax and frankly that's ok because how can you relax when you're a treasure hunter. And what a treasure hunter Drake is he(you) is well equipped to do pretty much anything; from fighting, to leaping, to solving puzzles. The only thing that Drake can't do is take on a lot of bullets; so cover is a major thing in this game, which gives it a huge realistic feel. Drake's agility can be used during combat but it mostly shines during platforming sections and a thrilling chase. The only time where Drake can relax a bit is during the puzzle sections of the game; they are not as entertaining as the combat but they do present their own buckets of charm. Although these sections are slower this is not to say that uncharted is a slow game; exactly the opposite. The pace of this game is incredible. All of this is complemented by the breath-taking sites you encounter...this must be one of the best looking games of all time. After finishing the campaign you would definitely want some more and there is plenty. One definite more is the three-player cooperative mode, which is highly recommended if you have a couple of friends. The competitive multiplayer is also a must which provides explosive action and the same great core gameplay and the great visuals. All-in-all uncharted 2 is a complete package and a must play for anyone who has a ps3. Expand
  12. Dec 11, 2011
    9
    Pretty decent game with great graphics and cinematics. A lot of fun wall hopping and killing dudes in a variety of ways. Campaign is short at around 8 hours or less. Would have preferred more weapons to choose from, but still good. Multiplayer is a good add-on to the main game. I was more than happy to step into drakes boots again.
  13. Dec 28, 2011
    8
    Game with epic history. Must have for every PS3 Player. Now is very cheap. This game have a advanced graphic allows you to use a 1080p. But this game not have good AA. Multiplayer is very booring.. after long playing. Without Multiplayer i'll will give them 9/10 but with it i give 8.
  14. Dec 29, 2011
    10
    This game is simply fantastic. The best PS3 game. It's so addicting, the plot is very good and you want to play the game nonstop until you beat it, The soundtrack is good, it's quite challenging and the graphics are awesome, the voice acting and cutscenes are also great, Drake and Sully are one of the most charismatic characters I've ever seen. Whoever gives this game a score under 8.5 isThis game is simply fantastic. The best PS3 game. It's so addicting, the plot is very good and you want to play the game nonstop until you beat it, The soundtrack is good, it's quite challenging and the graphics are awesome, the voice acting and cutscenes are also great, Drake and Sully are one of the most charismatic characters I've ever seen. Whoever gives this game a score under 8.5 is trolling or is just plain stupid, for real. Expand
  15. Dec 31, 2011
    10
    Uncharted is like the video game love child of Indiana Johns and Mission Impassible. it's rapid paced, always keeps you on the edge of the seat with absolutely fantastic and breathtaking set pieces. It almost flawlessly moves between an action packed fire fight, to high risk platforming sections with gravity defying leaps of fate, all with some of the best animation and graphics the gamingUncharted is like the video game love child of Indiana Johns and Mission Impassible. it's rapid paced, always keeps you on the edge of the seat with absolutely fantastic and breathtaking set pieces. It almost flawlessly moves between an action packed fire fight, to high risk platforming sections with gravity defying leaps of fate, all with some of the best animation and graphics the gaming world ever seen. Is, evan after two years after it's release Among Thieves is a stone cold stunner. Uncharted captures the fast paced fun of a top of line summer flick, with tight gameplay and amazing looking lacks. It is The Raiders of the Lost Ark of gaming, Among Thieves is that good. Expand
  16. Dec 31, 2011
    10
    Same thing I wrote for the original Uncharted and Uncharted 3. This game also deserves a 10. ALL Uncharted games got a 10 from me. They are the best series available on PS3. Anybody who gave mixed and negative reviews to the series is clearly an idiot.
  17. Jan 4, 2012
    10
    This is the best game I have played so far for ps3 it is even better than the first. The graphics are even better the storyline is better a lot more adventure and you never want to stop. It brought back the main characters Alene, Sully, And of course Nathan Drake we also see some new characters including Chloe, Flynn:(:( and Tenzin. This game the fun NEVER stops. Trust me you will neverThis is the best game I have played so far for ps3 it is even better than the first. The graphics are even better the storyline is better a lot more adventure and you never want to stop. It brought back the main characters Alene, Sully, And of course Nathan Drake we also see some new characters including Chloe, Flynn:(:( and Tenzin. This game the fun NEVER stops. Trust me you will never get bored. Something i find way fun is being able to replay the game and buy characters that are in the game so you can replay the game and be whoever the heck you wanna be..:) AMAZING GAME. Expand
  18. Jan 6, 2012
    10
    This game is a must have for all ps3 owners. The story alone is on the precipice of hitting the quality of some of the best films of this decade (well not really but its still amazing) . Chloe is hot!!
  19. Jan 10, 2012
    10
    Uncharted 2 takes what was good in Uncharted 1 and transforms it into an astounding sequel that is clearly the best game of 2009! This time Nate travels across several countries on the hunt of treasure (instead of just the one island from DF) teaming up with a few new faces and a baddie that is more intimidating than the previous one. The sound effects are great and controls have beenUncharted 2 takes what was good in Uncharted 1 and transforms it into an astounding sequel that is clearly the best game of 2009! This time Nate travels across several countries on the hunt of treasure (instead of just the one island from DF) teaming up with a few new faces and a baddie that is more intimidating than the previous one. The sound effects are great and controls have been improved on: gunplay is more realistic, the platforming feel has been changed to perfection and combat is more-or-less the same but feels more controlled. The story is a step-up from DF and moves at a perfect pace from beginning to end that amazes and shocks at every angle. There are virtually no criticisms, however the puzzles are a bit too obvious and the end boss fight was a bit repetitive. Yet the pros outweigh the cons 10 to 1, making this clearly one of PS3's best games ever!! Expand
  20. Jan 10, 2012
    10
    A jaw dropping game. The animations, textures, music, and voice acting are all amazing to behold. But it's the way the game is paced that is its biggest accomplishment. The game rarely lets up, and has you racing from one peril into another at an exciting speed. This is really the only game I can think of that made me feel so damn excited while I played it, particularly the EPIC trainA jaw dropping game. The animations, textures, music, and voice acting are all amazing to behold. But it's the way the game is paced that is its biggest accomplishment. The game rarely lets up, and has you racing from one peril into another at an exciting speed. This is really the only game I can think of that made me feel so damn excited while I played it, particularly the EPIC train sequence in the middle of the game. This game alone has made my recent purchase of a PS3 worth it. It's a f*cking awesome game, and I can't believe how much I enjoyed playing it. Expand
  21. Jan 20, 2012
    8
    Lousy level designs, overused humor, horrible third person firefight and the worst cover system to date. These are the major faults of this game. However, I loved Uncharted's cinematic cut scenes, interesting plot and satisfying voice acting but its story about betrayal is getting old. I mean, I've seen stories of betrayal in almost every game I played. Drake helps Flynn, Flynn abandonsLousy level designs, overused humor, horrible third person firefight and the worst cover system to date. These are the major faults of this game. However, I loved Uncharted's cinematic cut scenes, interesting plot and satisfying voice acting but its story about betrayal is getting old. I mean, I've seen stories of betrayal in almost every game I played. Drake helps Flynn, Flynn abandons Drake.Come on, its too predictable.
    Overall, if you like a good movie, or play a good movie, get this game.Its a must play game for every platformer fans and PS3 owners.
    Expand
  22. Jan 20, 2012
    10
    It's not hard to see why the Uncharted series is so successful. Drake's Fortune was a brilliantly crafted third person action adventure/shooter than was a few steps short of a golden fortune. The wisecracking protagonist is back, in what is his finest game to date. Unbelievable pacing, with action setpieces and stunning moments, pitched brilliantly and often into the campaign. Most willIt's not hard to see why the Uncharted series is so successful. Drake's Fortune was a brilliantly crafted third person action adventure/shooter than was a few steps short of a golden fortune. The wisecracking protagonist is back, in what is his finest game to date. Unbelievable pacing, with action setpieces and stunning moments, pitched brilliantly and often into the campaign. Most will finish this game in one sitting but that's because the game constantly excels itself with beautiful scenery, clever puzzles and fantastic gunplay. It now even boasts multiplayer, with some narrative elements afoot. In short Uncharted 2 begs to be the top dog, and if this game is any indication, it has succeeded without fault. Expand
  23. Jan 21, 2012
    10
    It's been a while since Uncharted 2: Among Thieves came out, and it is fairly pointless to write a review this late after its release, but if you haven't played it then look no further than this review. Uncharted 2 is a complete package with an incredible story, jaw-dropping graphics, fun gameplay and incredible characters. The story is great- Nate and co. are searching for Shambhala, aIt's been a while since Uncharted 2: Among Thieves came out, and it is fairly pointless to write a review this late after its release, but if you haven't played it then look no further than this review. Uncharted 2 is a complete package with an incredible story, jaw-dropping graphics, fun gameplay and incredible characters. The story is great- Nate and co. are searching for Shambhala, a mythical city supposedly found by Marco Polo. I won't explain further because I really don't want to spoil the game as it has one of the most memorable stories of any video game that I've ever played. The graphics are stunning, from the museum in Istanbul to the jungles of Borneo to the streets of Nepal, to the mountains of Tibet the graphics have a nice diversity and are stunning. The snow effects are fantastic and look incredibly realistic. The gameplay is a mix of shooting, climbing, exploring, puzzle-solving, hand to hand combat and stealth. The gameplay is all great and Uncharted 2 does all of these things well, but isn't the best at doing it. The shooting can feel a little bit dated, the climbing is greatly improved over Uncharted 1 but still isn't the best I've seen and looking in Nate's diary almost gives away the puzzle. But the gameplay of Uncharted 2 is still a blast and it combines with crazy action set-pieces, fantastic story telling with compelling characters and incredible visuals to make a complete package. Then there's the multiplayer. The multiplayer isn't very deep and isn't much more than a little distraction. If you ask me it wasn't needed, but for all you people who think that EVERY game needs online play it's a nice feature. But if you ask me the most addicting part of the game is searching for the 101 hidden treasures and repeating the incredible story. The game isn't an incredibly hard game, but can be annoyingly hard at times. Those armoured giants with the machine guns can get quite annoying, and enemies can take an annoying amount of bullets to kill. The boss fight in the middle of the game is annoying and unrealistic, because the fact that a man only wearing an army vest and helmet with no arm protection or anything like that can take around 100 bullets to kill, while regular armoured foes take less is really stupid. That said, this boss fight isn't particularly hard, but it really is one of the low points of the game. Overall Uncharted 2: Among Thieves is an incredible game. It impresses with incredible visuals, great gameplay, great story and great improvements over Uncharted: Drakes Fortune. If you haven't played this masterpiece yet you must buy this game, your money will be very well spent. Expand
  24. Feb 12, 2012
    10
    Hands down! Uncharted 2 the best games this gen.. The Story is AMAZING!! Nathan Drake is hands down the best main protagonist ever... I liked this game more than mass effect 2 which was a really great game too! But Uncharted 2 is soooo much better than any other game i have ever played The gameplay and the story makes it one of the best games ever... It pretty long game too.. I finished itHands down! Uncharted 2 the best games this gen.. The Story is AMAZING!! Nathan Drake is hands down the best main protagonist ever... I liked this game more than mass effect 2 which was a really great game too! But Uncharted 2 is soooo much better than any other game i have ever played The gameplay and the story makes it one of the best games ever... It pretty long game too.. I finished it in 22 hours and it will take you even longer if you looked for treasures and tried to platinum it Expand
  25. Apr 23, 2012
    10
    Best adventure 3rd person shooter I have ever played. It is perfect in every single way and it has what is necessary to please different audiences (online or single player players). The gameplay, story, characters, graphics, pace, soundtrack and replayability have made me return to this game ever since it came out in 2009. I know that nothing about the game is original as it borrows fromBest adventure 3rd person shooter I have ever played. It is perfect in every single way and it has what is necessary to please different audiences (online or single player players). The gameplay, story, characters, graphics, pace, soundtrack and replayability have made me return to this game ever since it came out in 2009. I know that nothing about the game is original as it borrows from other franchises, but it uses their elements in perfect ways, which is what makes it wonderful and in my opinion better than any other game in the genre. Expand
  26. Feb 17, 2012
    10
    Game of the year. Anyone who doesn't think this is 10/10 might either have never played this game, or fail to understand its intriguing movie elements. This is a game where the player becomes the actor in the cinematics, controlling his own fate. The gun fights and puzzle elements combine flawlessly within Hollywood-styled hit. Words cannot describe how great this game has become, playGame of the year. Anyone who doesn't think this is 10/10 might either have never played this game, or fail to understand its intriguing movie elements. This is a game where the player becomes the actor in the cinematics, controlling his own fate. The gun fights and puzzle elements combine flawlessly within Hollywood-styled hit. Words cannot describe how great this game has become, play for yourself. Expand
  27. Feb 22, 2012
    10
    probably in my top 5 favourite games ever! it took everything from the first uncharted, improved it massively and then some how made a story even more compelling than the first game! a joy to play and to watch! a personal favourite about UC2 is the occasional flashes of the yetis you get what a simple way to keep the tension mounting! perfect!
  28. Feb 22, 2012
    10
    Even more catchy than first part. Awesome story and everything else. Adding multiplayer, that was thing I was waiting for, but it was a little bit disappointing. Best third person shooter I have ever played. U3 awaits!
  29. Mar 1, 2012
    9
    A game that was just as good as the original. Amazingly cinematic, and fun gameplay, even though I sometimes get lost, not knowing what I should do next.
  30. Mar 3, 2012
    10
    When I first heard of this game, and how much reviewers and others loved it, i didn't believe it. I delayed my purchase of this game tell after I saw it on sale and as a GOTY edition. So i decided to take a chance and get it. That was one of the best decisions I have ever made, this game is brilliant in every sense of the word. One of the greatest moments in video game history has to beWhen I first heard of this game, and how much reviewers and others loved it, i didn't believe it. I delayed my purchase of this game tell after I saw it on sale and as a GOTY edition. So i decided to take a chance and get it. That was one of the best decisions I have ever made, this game is brilliant in every sense of the word. One of the greatest moments in video game history has to be the train ride, where you must go from the back of a moving train to the front, taking out guards, tanks, and even helicopters to make your way to the front, and that's just one of many great moments in this game. It has so many defining moments that most games can dream of just one of them. Every time you think this game has done all that it could, something else comes up to shock you. The visuals in this game are outstanding, detail pours out of every scene to make you stop sometimes just to admire what Naughty Dog has done. The platforming in this game is remarkable, with landscapes that sometimes to the naked eye don't seem scalable, but then something breaks or shifts and new routes are open to you. Drake is one of the most likable characters this generation, he is a great explorer, a good friend and even better person, and yet also manages to be badass. There is also a multiplayer, it's good but not addicting. There is nothing wrong with it, it works well, the maps are perfect for the platforming and the competitive aspect is perfect for this sort of game, but personally i couldn't get into. It was fun for a few rounds but its the single player that is the meat of this game. That is how a game should be, and it does it well. Uncharted 2 is one of the best games this generation and I highly recommend this game to anyone who loves good story, great characters, and fantastic gameplay. Expand
  31. Mar 5, 2012
    10
    I know this review is nearly three years after the release and no one will probably read this but I'm bored so i'm reviewing it. When i played this in 2009 it was breathtaking and still is today. Everything is polished to meticulous detail and I do mean everything. This is probably why the game is about 10 hours long which doesn't seem long but it suits the pacing of the game perfectly.I know this review is nearly three years after the release and no one will probably read this but I'm bored so i'm reviewing it. When i played this in 2009 it was breathtaking and still is today. Everything is polished to meticulous detail and I do mean everything. This is probably why the game is about 10 hours long which doesn't seem long but it suits the pacing of the game perfectly. This single player is perfection. The multiplayer is a bonus and is pretty solid. The co-op is great as well. But the game is about 3 years old s the multiplayer isn't exactly hot at the moment. But if anyone is reading this ,which I doubt, and you've never played an uncharted game you simply have to. I'm sorry but you should be forced to play it. There isn't much need to play the first one but make this your first uncharted. The first one is great but that game is very old. But you must play the 2nd one first in my opinion. Expand
  32. Mar 10, 2012
    10
    i can't even begin to say how much i was blown away with the monstrous improvements this game had compared to the 1st one!!
    U2 captivated my soul from start to finish with its impeccable graphics,game play,story telling and cinematic scenes.
  33. Mar 13, 2012
    8
    As a Christian, I did not care at all for the profuse use of God's name in vain in this game (this one actually took God's name in vain more than the sequel!). Thus, I give the game an 8. Just about everything about the script (which disrespected God WAY too much) was rock solid! :o If you wish to view my video review, you can do so here: http://youtu.be/JIdSR9b-C_k

    And if you wish to
    As a Christian, I did not care at all for the profuse use of God's name in vain in this game (this one actually took God's name in vain more than the sequel!). Thus, I give the game an 8. Just about everything about the script (which disrespected God WAY too much) was rock solid! :o If you wish to view my video review, you can do so here: http://youtu.be/JIdSR9b-C_k

    And if you wish to visit my Christian gaming channel, direct your browser here: http://www.youtube.com/Gaming4Jesus
    Expand
  34. Mar 21, 2012
    9
    I'm very surprised on how Naughty Dog has changed over the years, i always remembered them for the Crash Bandicoot games, which were ok, it's amazing how it became a great gaming studio and how they came up with this amazing game. The first Uncharted was good but not great, but Among Thieves is just amazing, it has everything a great has to include, a likable hero, great action,I'm very surprised on how Naughty Dog has changed over the years, i always remembered them for the Crash Bandicoot games, which were ok, it's amazing how it became a great gaming studio and how they came up with this amazing game. The first Uncharted was good but not great, but Among Thieves is just amazing, it has everything a great has to include, a likable hero, great action, platforming but what i think is the best accomplishment of this game, is how it manages to tell a story that feels just like a movie, it's a great experience and one of the best of this generation. Expand
  35. Mar 23, 2012
    10
    The game masterpiece, no less. Clever plot, exciting gameplay. Certainly the best game of 2009. I want every year masterpiece of gaming. For me, this series is much better than Indiana Jones
  36. Mar 31, 2012
    10
    2010
    I was contemplating on what I should give this game, and after thinking back on it, This was a great experience. I literally loved every minute of it, and It continued to keep me wanting more. The opening was one of the greatest in gaming. The graphics were the best that I had seen. Everything about this game is awesome. I don't know what else to say. Then multiplayer got me started,
    2010
    I was contemplating on what I should give this game, and after thinking back on it, This was a great experience. I literally loved every minute of it, and It continued to keep me wanting more. The opening was one of the greatest in gaming. The graphics were the best that I had seen. Everything about this game is awesome. I don't know what else to say. Then multiplayer got me started, and then it was as fun and felt like the singleplayer, very rewarding. This game deserves a 10. Story and graphics stand out to me, but that includes all the detail, animation, environment, and everything.
    Expand
  37. Apr 3, 2012
    10
    Before I played Uncharted 2 I was what you could call an "xbox fanboy:" I wanted nothing to do with Sony, and I thought they were a joke of a company. I didn't realize how wrong I really was. One fateful day I strolled into my brothers room while he was at school and popped in Uncharted 2 to see what all the fuss was about. The game was so incredible that the tutorial, THE TUTORIAL,Before I played Uncharted 2 I was what you could call an "xbox fanboy:" I wanted nothing to do with Sony, and I thought they were a joke of a company. I didn't realize how wrong I really was. One fateful day I strolled into my brothers room while he was at school and popped in Uncharted 2 to see what all the fuss was about. The game was so incredible that the tutorial, THE TUTORIAL, made me question my xbox fanboyism. I played nonstop for hours, and Uncharted 2 was so good that I couldn't bring myself to put it down. This is the only game I've ever played that's made me laugh not because something in the game was particularly funny, but because I was experiencing something I've never experienced before in a game and I can't even describe the feeling other than it was pure gaming nirvana. To compare this game to a movie isn't enough, because it easily exceeds any action flick I've ever seen. The graphics, the controls, the characters are all perfect. Although Uncharted 2 may not be as long as say...Skyrim or Arkham city, what it lacks in length it makes up for in pure enjoyment. After one sitting with this game, it converted me from an xbox fan to a ps3 fan, and I ended up driving to Gamestop later that day to purchase a PS3 and Uncharted 2. In closing, even though Uncharted 2 is the second game in the series, I recommend completely skipping the first game, because quite frankly...it isn't that great. You don't need any back-story from Uncharted 1, because each game is it's own story. It's worth owning a PS3 just for Uncharted 2 and Uncharted 3. Expand
  38. Apr 6, 2012
    10
    Naughty Dog's have made a huge step forward after Uncharted: Drakes Fortune in terms of graphics, story, characters design. I like the relationship between Nathan & Elena, maybe it's a main reason i love this franchase so much, and of course snow mountains at any games everytime is special for me, just love the snow :)
  39. Apr 19, 2012
    10
    Take the first Uncharted and add an even better story, more interesting characters and upgraded graphics and you have Among Thieves. Nathan Drake now heads for icy scenarios in search of the fabled Cintamani Stone, a sapphire so big no man can put his arms around it. Naughty Dog did an impressive job in this follow-up, taking the action/adventure genre to new heights. Shooting was greatlyTake the first Uncharted and add an even better story, more interesting characters and upgraded graphics and you have Among Thieves. Nathan Drake now heads for icy scenarios in search of the fabled Cintamani Stone, a sapphire so big no man can put his arms around it. Naughty Dog did an impressive job in this follow-up, taking the action/adventure genre to new heights. Shooting was greatly improved, and the cover system works much better. The addition of stealth was also very welcome, even if most times it is used in specific chapters of the game; and in real combat it's only real use is to eliminate two or three enemies of the equation before the shooting havoc starts. Drake's Fortune looked good, but Among Thieves is just amazing. From the simple snow at Drake's feet to a train crash and a temple inside an ice cavern, everything looks and feels great. Exploration was also increased, though not much. Uncharted 2 is simply an amazing game and a must-have, period. Expand
  40. Apr 13, 2012
    8
    Awesome game. Cinematic storyline. Great graphics. Great improvement to gameplay elements compared to first game. The "stealth" inclusion provided some good diversity to gameplay, however it is in no way anything close to a stealth game. The "Uncharted" formula of endless waves of enemies until reaching set check-points sets a good pace to the game, however does give it a bit of a allAwesome game. Cinematic storyline. Great graphics. Great improvement to gameplay elements compared to first game. The "stealth" inclusion provided some good diversity to gameplay, however it is in no way anything close to a stealth game. The "Uncharted" formula of endless waves of enemies until reaching set check-points sets a good pace to the game, however does give it a bit of a all steam ahead gameplay, with not much by way of strategic planning or thought from the player. Overall very enjoyable. Expand
  41. May 15, 2012
    10
    WOW. This game is so good. I just replayed it after i played uncharted 3 in november. I have to say that this game is the best in the series no contest. Its hard to explain, this one is just better. More engaging story, great variety in scenes(the plane/desert scene of uncharted 3 is still the best scene on the playstation 3) etc.
    10
  42. May 18, 2012
    9
    uncharted 2 is a really good game although not perfect due to multiplayer but if you judge this game only on singleplayer then it is perfect the dialouge is top notch the voice acting is amazing fun as hell extremely beautifull incredible music great story it is just that good until multiplayer its not fun its just boring
  43. Sep 26, 2012
    10
    I had heard about this game alot, before I have actually played the game. I had very high expectation before playing and guess what? I was not disappointed by my hope, but instead I was amazed by this game. This game is perfect in my opinion. Everything is freaking great. If you think the game is not good, do not play video games anymore, because they are just not for you.
  44. Sep 29, 2012
    9
    This is one of the best, maybe THE best game on the PlayStation 3 right now. When it was released it showed what the PS3 can really do. Pushed the limits in terms of everything! The game is graphically stunning, game play has been made to amaze the player and the story is simply magical! It makes you play and play and play more and play it again when it is finished! All 26 chapters areThis is one of the best, maybe THE best game on the PlayStation 3 right now. When it was released it showed what the PS3 can really do. Pushed the limits in terms of everything! The game is graphically stunning, game play has been made to amaze the player and the story is simply magical! It makes you play and play and play more and play it again when it is finished! All 26 chapters are equally awesome. Very minor problems which will not upset you at all when playing this game!
    This is one game that should not be missing from any PS3 owner, and I think it is a very good reason for anyone who doesn't have a PS3 to buy it just for this game! Simply Awesome!
    A must have!
    Expand
  45. Oct 3, 2012
    10
    One of the best games out there. I was really emotional attached to all of the characters. Good pacing. Great story. Just wait til everybody gets disappointed for Uncharted 3.
  46. Oct 7, 2012
    9
    A flowing gameplay image distortion are alien. And finally extremely believable characters. Uncharted 2 looks like great cinema and manages that one becomes one with the scenario of a globe spanning adventure.
  47. Oct 11, 2012
    10
    I knew going into it that it was supposed to be better than the first but I didn't know how well it was going to keep my suspense up and surprise up after so recently having played the first. In every way I thought this was an improvement over the first game which I've never really felt about a series before. It felt just a unique, beautiful, and well-told as the Drakes Fortune. The pacingI knew going into it that it was supposed to be better than the first but I didn't know how well it was going to keep my suspense up and surprise up after so recently having played the first. In every way I thought this was an improvement over the first game which I've never really felt about a series before. It felt just a unique, beautiful, and well-told as the Drakes Fortune. The pacing felt strange to me as at chapter 22 it said that I had played for almost seven hours and then the last four chapters took another three or four hours. So the back end felt pretty heavy but it wasn't in a way that made you ask "When is this going to end?". I'm excited for the third but am going to give myself a break to avoid burning myself out on the series. Expand
  48. Oct 14, 2012
    10
    Maybe the best action adventure game i've ever played. Great storyline, great adventure, great experience. The Multiplayer is a lot of fun too. A true classic! By the way i'm already on the 3rd playtrhough...
  49. Oct 28, 2012
    9
    Uno de los mejores juegos que hay para PS3
    GRAFICOS: 10 SONIDO:9 JUGABILIDAD/DIVERSION: 10 DURACION:8
    ejejejejejejejejejejejjejejejejejjejejejejejejejjeje
  50. Nov 5, 2012
    10
    The best game of this generation. I think its sufficient argument to gave 10 to this masterpiece. Graphics are outstandings, excelent history, good multiplayer, sounds and gameplay are good.
  51. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    Easily one of the best games of this generation as said by many others here, The graphics are still some of the best the PS3 has to offer 3 years after it's release, only being beaten by probably Uncharted 3 and God of War 3 in the graphics, But the characters, story and gameplay are all fantastic, the multiplayer is good, although I'd assume more probably play Uncharted 3 now online, butEasily one of the best games of this generation as said by many others here, The graphics are still some of the best the PS3 has to offer 3 years after it's release, only being beaten by probably Uncharted 3 and God of War 3 in the graphics, But the characters, story and gameplay are all fantastic, the multiplayer is good, although I'd assume more probably play Uncharted 3 now online, but nonetheless this is a game you should not miss, you should not miss this entire trilogy. Expand
  52. Nov 15, 2012
    10
    An amazing game that was unprecedented in it's sheer ability to create a cinematic, tense, and downright thrilling atmosphere for the entire game. It keeps players on the edges of their seats for the entire time with a fantastic and gripping story, incredible graphics, and fun gameplay. If you want to imagine it, imagine an Indiana Jones movie, except interactive, longer, and moreAn amazing game that was unprecedented in it's sheer ability to create a cinematic, tense, and downright thrilling atmosphere for the entire game. It keeps players on the edges of their seats for the entire time with a fantastic and gripping story, incredible graphics, and fun gameplay. If you want to imagine it, imagine an Indiana Jones movie, except interactive, longer, and more thrilling. It's that good. One of the few games this console generation to truly deserve a ten. Expand
  53. Nov 21, 2012
    9
    Great game, different levels make it stay interesting and amazing graphics.. One of the best PS3 games ive played. Havent got many negatives to say if any, if youve just bought a ps3 this is a must have game, enjoy
  54. Nov 28, 2012
    10
    Uncharted 2 is the best part of this wonderful series. Awesome Gameplay and fantastic Graphics. I have played it until i reached the Platinum Trophy. I didn't liked the Multiplayer, but the Singleplayer couldn't be better.
  55. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    Best action video game I have ever played! It had a great storyline, great action, great variety, great puzzles, etc. Everything was fantastic; best of the 3 Uncharted games!
  56. Dec 6, 2012
    9
    If you want realistic movements on your games you are definitely going to see repeated movements on the different games, you can't compare Gears Of War with Uncharted 2, come on!, Tomb Raider, really?, bad controls? they're one of the easiest controls out there! I mean if you don't like adventure games it's O.k. go back to Street Fighter but don't hate a game that its developers reallyIf you want realistic movements on your games you are definitely going to see repeated movements on the different games, you can't compare Gears Of War with Uncharted 2, come on!, Tomb Raider, really?, bad controls? they're one of the easiest controls out there! I mean if you don't like adventure games it's O.k. go back to Street Fighter but don't hate a game that its developers really spend time on polishing details as they did in this game (that's why it seems like a beautiful cinematic), if you don't want to spend 12 hours on this game instead you want weeks or months for "someone" or "something" to give you credit for your "efforts" play Zelda perhaps or make exercise. If you like cellphone games such as LIMBO it's ok too (I also like LIMBO) but don't compare it's not the same thing, personally I wasn't feeling smart while solving the puzzles just wanted to discover what was next, please don't talk about cliche on video games, like 99.9% of them are based on characters and scenarios that are not from the video game world, and by God how can you compare Uncahrted 2 with a game of Chess are you INSANE!! I understand that you want to express your fillings but this is a critic site not a Psychologist. I don't think that it deserves a 10 either only for the fact that I also think that it's missing some game play. But I can assure anyone that is looking for a good adventure game and it's not jealous of others success, that this is one of the best adventure games EVER. Expand
  57. Dec 7, 2012
    10
    With this, Naughty Dog really stepped it up from the first of the series, Drake's Fortune. Amazing visuals, great voice acting, great story, and of course excellent characters. The game definitely feels bigger and better than the previous one. A note on the stunning visuals of the game: I was playing this and my mother walked into the living room and asked me what movie I was watching. TheWith this, Naughty Dog really stepped it up from the first of the series, Drake's Fortune. Amazing visuals, great voice acting, great story, and of course excellent characters. The game definitely feels bigger and better than the previous one. A note on the stunning visuals of the game: I was playing this and my mother walked into the living room and asked me what movie I was watching. The voice acting, as per usual, is superb. The character really come alive, and the dialogue is excellent. I want more games like this! The amount of one-liners here and there and dialogue as you're walking around and playing instead of in cut-scenes is fantastically done. There is, again, a nice blend of fighting, parkour-esque moving around, and puzzles. There are a lot of different twists and turns to this game too, and the amount of scenes that really make you feel like you were controlling an on-going action movie is pretty freaking awesome!!! Ten thumbs up and I'd give this a 100 out of 10 if I could. Loved every second of it. Expand
  58. Dec 22, 2012
    9
    If you loved the first game, well be ready to get blown away because Uncharted 2 Among Thieves is an amazing game. The areas in this game are flat out awesome and the crisp cut scenes are jaw dropping. The first game felt a bit predictable but the second game deals you with twists that you would of never seen coming. Shooting bad guys is still awesome but the puzzles are still tedious andIf you loved the first game, well be ready to get blown away because Uncharted 2 Among Thieves is an amazing game. The areas in this game are flat out awesome and the crisp cut scenes are jaw dropping. The first game felt a bit predictable but the second game deals you with twists that you would of never seen coming. Shooting bad guys is still awesome but the puzzles are still tedious and mediocre. But the puzzles don't ruin the game as some are pretty fun to figure out. Uncharted 2 is amazing 9/10 Expand
  59. Dec 29, 2012
    9
    In case you didn't know, Uncharted 2 was "The Game" of 2009. Winning 32 GOTY Awards, Uncharted 2 was universally acclaimed as one of the best games in PS3. Why not play it? Uncharted 2 takes off right after Uncharted 1, where our Hero, Nathan Drake, teams up with some buddies to discover the treasure Marco Polo and his fleet were after. Well, that is just the beginning, really. I'm notIn case you didn't know, Uncharted 2 was "The Game" of 2009. Winning 32 GOTY Awards, Uncharted 2 was universally acclaimed as one of the best games in PS3. Why not play it? Uncharted 2 takes off right after Uncharted 1, where our Hero, Nathan Drake, teams up with some buddies to discover the treasure Marco Polo and his fleet were after. Well, that is just the beginning, really. I'm not going to tell more because Uncharted 2 is full of twists and surprises. The characters are all charismatic (Except for the Bad Guy, he isn't too "nice") and Nathan's journey is full of dangers, puzzles and shooting, LOTS OF SHOOTING. That gets us to the gameplay: Jump, punch and shoot. We will climb around majestic temples, kill some bad guys silently by our stealth ability, and of course shooting. And that's where the game sort of misses its pace. In the original Uncharted, we've sweared a lot as we were that fat boy in South Park, because we died a lot trying to kill wave after wave of enemies that came in the same room, leaving little progress. Uncharted 2 does the same. Although you can try to avoid the shooting by attacking silently, sooner or later someone will see you and another 1000 guys will come and start shooting. Another thing that this game has and it shouldn't is its extreme dificulty. I played it on medium and got stucked for so long I HAD to change it to easy, that is the true Medium pace of the game. It is a really hard game, and the boss battles are nerve-wracking (My inner "Fat Boy from South Park" bursted again), but the game still takes advantage of that. It's tense, exciting....It's like taking a Summer Mega-budget Blockbuster Movie and take it to the screen. The graphics are from other world. You will be astonished by how beautiful the game looks, both in the short movies and in the actual gameplay, and it goes really well with the story. And when the game actually ends (And this game it's a truly cheater, you think it has ended, BUT NO, there are a lot of adventures to come) you will feel a relaxing sensation all over your body, your nerves will return to its normal position and you will understand how awesome this, let's say 10-15 hours game it is. But that's no the end! Naughty Dog has added a Multiplayer complement, and it's phenomenal. Customized matches and the typical ones like Team Deathmach and Capture the flag, but with the beautiful maps and scenery of Uncharted, and the Third Person Perspective. Trust me, you're gonna have lots of fun. The weapons are really good, the perks, the maps are so well designed it's always pleasant to put PlayStation Network into action with this type of Online Multiplayer. So, let's give this game a 9. It definately is one of the best game on PS3, and one of the games that contain most epicness. Expand
  60. Jan 2, 2013
    7
    Overall, i think the game is pretty excited and love the storyline. Some humor in the game, little things that i enjoy. However, i took away a few scores is because the game is very simmilar to the first 1 and is ethier find another way around or sh*t lodes of people to shoot. And some of the things doesnt make sense, punching actually will do more damage then a AK47 or a shotgun?Overall, i think the game is pretty excited and love the storyline. Some humor in the game, little things that i enjoy. However, i took away a few scores is because the game is very simmilar to the first 1 and is ethier find another way around or sh*t lodes of people to shoot. And some of the things doesnt make sense, punching actually will do more damage then a AK47 or a shotgun? Ya...think about that. Jumping off a place where its only 10 feet tall and u die, doesnt make sense!! (other mission u jump like 20 feet :O)Also, it always give me hints when i dont need them(i know u can turn it off though :P) when i need them, they dont give me. So i think it will be better if u want some hints, press a button then its there, will be the best option. (too complicate to understand?) Expand
  61. Jan 7, 2013
    10
    This Uncharted is the best of them all! Usually most of the time you get to have good games by SCEA but they took it to a whole new level. The Playstation VITA was terrible with Fight for Fortune but Among thieves has a better and more understandable story line and a excellent HD quality graphics and preface screen action turns into the "Uncharted" sucess story.
  62. Jan 18, 2013
    9
    I do not like this better than the first game... The guys with the armor/shotguns are annoying as hell. I do not like some of the enemies... I fn hate the levels where you have to platform through that snow cave (lv 18-20 I believe)... When I played through it on crushing, it was a lot harder than the first... I found myself hanging on ledges, waiting for the guys to get close, and pullingI do not like this better than the first game... The guys with the armor/shotguns are annoying as hell. I do not like some of the enemies... I fn hate the levels where you have to platform through that snow cave (lv 18-20 I believe)... When I played through it on crushing, it was a lot harder than the first... I found myself hanging on ledges, waiting for the guys to get close, and pulling them off even after being seen... Other than that, excellent game... Like Zelda on Nintendo, I will buy every future Sony console to play Uncharted... Although this one didn't charm me as much as the first, the cinematics, platforming, and action are equal... Great fn game... Xbox people can eat their hearts out Expand
  63. Jan 21, 2013
    10
    Uncharted 2 is a masterpiece, and probably one of the finest games to come out in the past 10 years. It's an experience you don't want to miss. Bravo.
  64. Mar 6, 2013
    9
    What can i say,i bought my ps3 mainly for this game and i consider myself a pc gamer.Definitely one of the best games of the decade.Beautiful,just beautiful.
  65. Mar 17, 2013
    10
    I've actually just started playing the uncharted games starting with the third one. While playing the third game I remember saying to myself how there is NO way uncharted 2 could top this. Boy was I wrong. More exciting, more action packed, better shootouts and a much better story. Uncharted 2 is flawless.
  66. Mar 22, 2013
    10
    Best PS3 game to date, and will probably remain my personal favourite game of this generation. The graphics are amazing, game play is smooth, story is brilliant, and the writing reminds me of the funny lines in Naughty Dog's classic Jak and Daxter. This game is the pinnacle of cinematic experiences. Must buy for all PS3 owners.
  67. Apr 1, 2013
    10
    I've read and heard all the hype and was expecting one of the all time greats and I absolutely got it here. The problems with the first Uncharted are solved and improved here.
  68. Apr 2, 2013
    10
    This is as about as good as games get. Uncharted 2 is no doubt the best shooter I've ever played. The single player is absolutely amazing with a top-of-the line set of characters you would really care about (or hate), a few of them returning from the previous game Uncharted Drakes fortune. The story is followable and interesting with some incredibly varied environments and some epic setThis is as about as good as games get. Uncharted 2 is no doubt the best shooter I've ever played. The single player is absolutely amazing with a top-of-the line set of characters you would really care about (or hate), a few of them returning from the previous game Uncharted Drakes fortune. The story is followable and interesting with some incredibly varied environments and some epic set pieces The AI is incredibly challenging, especially on the higher difficulties where they try to flush you out, surround you and ambush you. The enemies are varied with a different tactic needed for a couple of them. The bosses are also epic. There is also treasures to find in hidden areas. The graphics are amazing, squeezing every last drop out of the ps3. The textures are extremely detailed with each are of the game looking like a masterpiece. This game has the finest cutscenes around, somehow a step up from the amazing looking cutscenes in the first game. The facial animationsare top notch, along with the movement being silky smooth and the cinematography being as if it was directed by jesus himself. This further reels you into the story. Overall this is one of the best singleplayer experiences I've had.

    However, though if you grow tired of the singleplayer you can always try out multiplayer (although if really want a Uncharted multiplayer experience I'd really recommend that you play uncharted 3 multiplayer, which is now free to play) The multiplayer is pretty fun, with the power weapon strewn all over the map being the key to success. There are multiple modes including TDM domination etc. The co-op mode is very challenging and fun with friends with varied maps with some cool set pieces although not quite as epic as the singleplayer.

    Overall though you should come for the singleplayer, as it is the best in the series. Bottom line, if you own a ps3, get this game. You won't regret it.
    Expand
  69. Apr 6, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A game worth buying! Uncharted 2: Among Thieves is great and for PS3 only. The game came with my PS3 when I bought one and I gave it a Try. The game is not open world but has many puzzles that aren't too hard but some of them are. The reason i gave it a 9 was because of the Final Boss Fight *SPOILER* It was not a very good boos fight. It made just no sense. This is the best Uncharted in the series and Uncharted 1 is probably the worst in my opinion. 9 out of 10 stars means that you should buy this game if you have a Playstation 3 and that is the end of my review.
    ~TheMajorCritic
    Expand
  70. Apr 10, 2013
    10
    This game is one of the best games of all time. I put it in and played it through in one sitting because I just could not put the controller down. Amazing visuals, great pacing, quality writing by Amy Hennig one of the most creative ladies in the game creation world. Awesome experience that everyone should have.
  71. Apr 16, 2013
    10
    If this isn't one of the best console games ever, I don't know what is. Literally from the moment you start, you're in the thick of intense action and gameplay and a very well crafted storyline. The game is extremely well paced, and it doesn't take too long to pick up new weapons and abilities and get the hang of it, even if you're new to RPG/shooter games. The story surrounding NathanIf this isn't one of the best console games ever, I don't know what is. Literally from the moment you start, you're in the thick of intense action and gameplay and a very well crafted storyline. The game is extremely well paced, and it doesn't take too long to pick up new weapons and abilities and get the hang of it, even if you're new to RPG/shooter games. The story surrounding Nathan Drake in search of the "goods" (I want ruin the story here) is enthralling and the cut scenes blend in perfectly....no other game truly makes you feel like you're in a movie like Uncharted 2. Play this....you will not regret it. Expand
  72. Apr 30, 2013
    10
    This game came out in 2009, obviously it's not up to par on the graphics with the current games in 2013 (although arguably it still looks better than most games today). It's a huge leap from Drake's Fortune which was a good game, but felt a little clunky especially while changing shoulders. The multiplayer was phenomenal before the 1.05 update. This game still brings in about 10K dailyThis game came out in 2009, obviously it's not up to par on the graphics with the current games in 2013 (although arguably it still looks better than most games today). It's a huge leap from Drake's Fortune which was a good game, but felt a little clunky especially while changing shoulders. The multiplayer was phenomenal before the 1.05 update. This game still brings in about 10K daily despite Uncharted 3 which was a colossal failure. My friends list is 90% Uncharted 2 players so maybe I am a bit biased but this is definitely a system seller and one of the finest games this gen. Expand
  73. May 12, 2013
    10
    While Uncharted:Drakes Fortune was a great game, Uncharted 2:Among Thieves is one of those games that gives people a reason to buy a PS3. It's Story was perfect, that graphic mind blowing, and astounding gameplay make this game something you will remember for a long time after you finish it.
    The transition between a cutscene, and gameplay is flawless that you can't tell the difference.
    While Uncharted:Drakes Fortune was a great game, Uncharted 2:Among Thieves is one of those games that gives people a reason to buy a PS3. It's Story was perfect, that graphic mind blowing, and astounding gameplay make this game something you will remember for a long time after you finish it.
    The transition between a cutscene, and gameplay is flawless that you can't tell the difference. There are moments where you can play while you're in a cutscene. The characters are unique and original. You probably googled marco polo while playing this game didn't you.
    The story takes so many twists and turns you will always be interested and never gets boring, it will always have you at the edge of you're seat the whole time.
    The multiplayer is fun,and enjoyable but it is never really engaging. It seems like a add on that was just tacked on at the last moment for the sake of just having a multiplayer. It does seem to have a strong audience, because every time i tried getting on there was never a shortage of people to play with.I will say it was fun for what it was, and had me playing for a hour or two.There is also a co-op that you can play with you're friends. It offers a different take on the story, and i had more fun with that than with the multiplayer. A type of defense mode is also added which throws wave after wave of enemies at you, and you have to try and survive as long as you can. The maps in this mode a huge, and fore you to constantly be on the move or else some bady with a shotgun will creep up behind and take you out.
    Expand
  74. Jun 3, 2013
    8
    Uncharted 2 is much improved than its predecessor. It is a hard game to put down, the story is captivating and the characters are once again superbly written. The musical score sets the mood of the game. It is easy to see that a lot of time was spent by Naughty Dog to give the game a "movie" feel; the level of detail is truly unrivaled. The game features multiplayer for the first timeUncharted 2 is much improved than its predecessor. It is a hard game to put down, the story is captivating and the characters are once again superbly written. The musical score sets the mood of the game. It is easy to see that a lot of time was spent by Naughty Dog to give the game a "movie" feel; the level of detail is truly unrivaled. The game features multiplayer for the first time in the series which is enjoyable if you can get passed the horrible searching functions and the inability for new players to join a match after it has started. There are some very tedious trophies to earn multiplayer. For those completionists, be warned you may be in for a frustrating challenge. Expand
  75. Jun 6, 2013
    10
    This game is a marvel of gameplay merged with storytelling. From end to end it is a non-stop rollercoaster of excitement and action. You genuinely get to know and care about each character and their journey through this game. It is a game that I will go back to again and again, just to experience it again. Truly one of the best games ever made.
  76. Jun 7, 2013
    10
    Uncharted 2: Among Thieves is an absolutely amazing game! The story, the graphics and even the multiplayer are all excellent! This is definitely one that if you don't own a PS3 is worth buying one for!
  77. Jun 8, 2013
    10
    The most memorable experience I've had this console generation. Definitely of the greatest gaming trilogies of all time, I hope Naughty Dog continue their brilliant work on to the PS4.
  78. Jun 8, 2013
    10
    This is my punctuation of the game
    10 graphics
    9 playability
    10 music
    9 multiplayer
    although the puzzles are somewhat easier,everything is very good!!
  79. Jun 12, 2013
    10
    Naughty Dog definitely can impress us gamer's 'cause this game is amazing! An entire game that acts and plays out like an actual movie is awesome! Wonder what else they got in stored for us in the future!
  80. Jun 15, 2013
    10
    the first uncharted game was great but Naughty dog made the next part of the series one of the greatest experiences you'll ever have in your life the great gameplay or the amazing plot or the amazing graphics this is simply a game to buy a ps3 for
  81. Jun 15, 2013
    10
    To simply put, Uncharted 2: Among Thieves is the best game ever made. I love both Drake's Fortune and Drake's Deception, but in my opinion this one is the best out of the three amazing Naughty Dog games, starring Nathan Drake, the greatest video game hero ever created in my opinion. The story is outsanding, the characters are excellent, the gameplay is smooth and fun (whether it'sTo simply put, Uncharted 2: Among Thieves is the best game ever made. I love both Drake's Fortune and Drake's Deception, but in my opinion this one is the best out of the three amazing Naughty Dog games, starring Nathan Drake, the greatest video game hero ever created in my opinion. The story is outsanding, the characters are excellent, the gameplay is smooth and fun (whether it's shooting, fighting, platforming or stealth) plus the graphics are just stunning! I love everything about this masterpiece. Expand
  82. Jun 17, 2013
    9
    Epic second outing for Nathan Drake, sees this game as one of the best games on Ps3. the action is indescribably one of the best i have ever seen. one minute you're in a wrecked train off the edge of a snowy mountain and then you're evading a tank in a high speed chase. As for the plot, i was completely blown away by the depth of the story. The characters are well built which makes cutEpic second outing for Nathan Drake, sees this game as one of the best games on Ps3. the action is indescribably one of the best i have ever seen. one minute you're in a wrecked train off the edge of a snowy mountain and then you're evading a tank in a high speed chase. As for the plot, i was completely blown away by the depth of the story. The characters are well built which makes cut scenes run smoothly. It is also good to see New characters being included. this story is worthy of a Hollywood makeover.

    As for the multiplier i am not convinced. i enjoyed the new rewind theater; when in a large game in one of the more impressing maps) the game play can be enjoyable too. that as far as it goes though "enjoyable" comparing it to other multiplying games out there would be stupid, even if they are different person shooters (the likes of battlefield and Call of duty are greater) Also i didn't feel i was getting rewarded enough for each game, which can make the whole leveling up system boring.

    That all said the single player demolishes the likes of call of duty, or any other third person shooter with in Uncharted 's range. Uncharted is essential for any Ps3 gamer.
    Expand
  83. Jun 22, 2013
    9
    All the elements of a great single player experience are found in Uncharted 2. Naughty Dog mixes great action set pieces, graphics and gameplay with a superb story. There's standard 3rd person shooting, platforming, cover and stealth based mechanics with exploration and puzzles to solve. The story and action add to the replayability (multiple play-throughs a must) and the multiplayer isAll the elements of a great single player experience are found in Uncharted 2. Naughty Dog mixes great action set pieces, graphics and gameplay with a superb story. There's standard 3rd person shooting, platforming, cover and stealth based mechanics with exploration and puzzles to solve. The story and action add to the replayability (multiple play-throughs a must) and the multiplayer is just the icing on the cake. Expand
  84. Jun 23, 2013
    10
    UNCHARTED 2 was the most amazing game experience i have ever had. Thank u very much NAUGHTY DOG for this "FOREVER GIFT" to gamers. I am so excited to see your further great works.
  85. Jul 12, 2013
    10
    This was one of the first game I played with my Ps3...and what a surprise! I wasn't a real fan of adventure's game before I tried this one.
    This game is like a movie, I just couldn't stop playing after I started! Lot of action, lot of different environment, good story,...this kind of game you really enjoy and you are sad when you finish it.
  86. Jul 18, 2013
    8
    amazing game! great story, characters, and gameplay! naughty dog is at it again with another amazing game!

    now, you're not shooting random pirates for no reason like the last game, you're shooting them for a more clear reason now which makes the games much more engaging unlike the first one. skip the first one and play 2 and 3.
  87. Jul 18, 2013
    10
    second one was most powerful of trilogy i never sat down really play these game but it was awesome i could not even put it down i wanted to know what happen next
  88. Jul 24, 2013
    10
    2 years have passed since i finished this game for the first time, and still is the best PS3 game I've ever played. A story full of action, adventures and fun. 10 out of 10. Forever.
  89. Jul 24, 2013
    8
    Uncharted 2 is a great sequel, but not as good as Uncharted 1. The game takes place a year after Drake's Fortune and starts with Nate performing a robbery from an Istanbul museum with two old accomplices Chloe and Flynn. When Flynn betrays Nate and lands him in prison Nate plots his revenge on him. This sets Drake & old friend Sully on a race to find the Cintimani Stone before ZoranUncharted 2 is a great sequel, but not as good as Uncharted 1. The game takes place a year after Drake's Fortune and starts with Nate performing a robbery from an Istanbul museum with two old accomplices Chloe and Flynn. When Flynn betrays Nate and lands him in prison Nate plots his revenge on him. This sets Drake & old friend Sully on a race to find the Cintimani Stone before Zoran Lezarevic, a Russian bent on being the next big dictator can use it to be the most powerful man on Earth with Flynn at his side. The story spends too much time on a love triangle between Chloe and Elena from the first Uncharted and therefore slows the pace of the game down significantly. Plus the classic Uncharted difficulty spike hits about halfway through and makes the rest of the game such a slog it becomes near unenjoyable.
    Uncharted 2 does a lot right but quite a few significant things wrong which let it down, but it is by no means a bad game. A must own for PS3 owners
    Expand
  90. Jul 24, 2013
    8
    The problem with playing a game as highly regarded as Uncharted 2 a few years after its release is that it is easy to set your expectations a little too high. As a result any flaws the title may have, such as instant fail stealth sections, slightly fiddly controls (I lost count of the time Drake would take cover behind the wrong bit of scenery) and bosses that are no more than bulletThe problem with playing a game as highly regarded as Uncharted 2 a few years after its release is that it is easy to set your expectations a little too high. As a result any flaws the title may have, such as instant fail stealth sections, slightly fiddly controls (I lost count of the time Drake would take cover behind the wrong bit of scenery) and bosses that are no more than bullet sponges can become magnified. Anyone that has played Naughty Dog’s zombie epic The Last of Us will immediately be stuck by the lower quality graphics as well.

    Having said all that, this is still without doubt a quality title. The characters are more likable than the usual video game protagonists and the fast paced gameplay features a good mix of shooting, spectacular climbs and puzzles. The sheer spectacle of Drake’s adventure will also ensure that most players are be able to overlook the aforementioned flaws and be swept along for what is a pretty entertaining ride that clocks in at a decent 15 hours or so in length.
    Expand
  91. Jul 26, 2013
    9
    Naughty Dog created quite a fantastic experience and really shows off what the PS3 can do. The Indiana Jones feel is still here but the plat-forming reminded me less of the Prince of Persia series this time around, which is a good thing because it helps the series carve out it's own identity even more. The campaign is fantastic, pumping out awesome set pieces, emotional moments, andNaughty Dog created quite a fantastic experience and really shows off what the PS3 can do. The Indiana Jones feel is still here but the plat-forming reminded me less of the Prince of Persia series this time around, which is a good thing because it helps the series carve out it's own identity even more. The campaign is fantastic, pumping out awesome set pieces, emotional moments, and genuine humor. Gunplay still isn't the tightest thing in the world but it feels alright once you get the hang of it. Developer Naughty Dog really shows off what the PS3 is capable of in the graphics department. Truly this game looks just as good, and sometimes better, than games that are coming out this year (2013)! The game has multiplayer this time around, and just like the campaign it is also fantastic. Most of the objective modes have been abandoned, but you can still find Deathmatches and co-op games. Truly Uncharted 2 is one of the PS3's most treasured titles, and for good reason, it not only manages to best its predecessor but also manages to best most of the PS3 exclusives out there. If you enjoyed the first Uncharted then prepare to love Among Thieves. Naughty Dog truly knows how to work the PS3 and has firmly cemented itself as one of the go to developers for quality games. This is worth every second of your time and I HIGHLY recommend it. Expand
  92. Jul 28, 2013
    7
    It is better then its prequel but still nothing outstanding. Some scenes really seem to be from an action movie, but it struggles to maintain the cinema feeling. Design is awesome, shamballa really looks beautiful and also the soundtrack succeds.
  93. Jul 30, 2013
    10
    Amazing game, outstanding graphics and a good story will keep you chain to the console for a long time. I really enjoyed the game and would recommend to anyone.
  94. Aug 23, 2013
    9
    This game is for me the best. Is long, the scenarios are fantastics and the game is not do hard, but is amazing. Naughty Dog outdid with this game. This game is much better than the third
  95. Sep 6, 2013
    10
    I freaking love this game so much! My favorite game I ever played so far this year! Everything about this game has great game-play action, simple story, good set-ups, and some crisp and clean graphics that were handled extremely well.
  96. Sep 16, 2013
    10
    Another great classic game from the Uncharted Series. This was my favourite from the 3 and certainly one of the all-time best playstation games. Nothing less than a 10 for this marvellous experience I had playing the single-player
  97. Sep 28, 2013
    10
    "Uncharted 2: Among Thieves" cruzó los límites, ¡Qué manera de mejorar un juego de esa forma, todo lo que tiene la primera entrega triplicado en la secuela sin perder el tono cinematográfico de Naughty Dog! Sin duda alguna, tuve suerte de comprar la PlayStation 3 y convertir este juego en el primer título que compré para la consola. Un juego bellísimo y excepcional, espectacular desde la"Uncharted 2: Among Thieves" cruzó los límites, ¡Qué manera de mejorar un juego de esa forma, todo lo que tiene la primera entrega triplicado en la secuela sin perder el tono cinematográfico de Naughty Dog! Sin duda alguna, tuve suerte de comprar la PlayStation 3 y convertir este juego en el primer título que compré para la consola. Un juego bellísimo y excepcional, espectacular desde la "e" hasta la "r". Un magnífico título que tiene bien merecido el Premio VGA a la categoría de Mejor Juego del año 2009. "Uncharted 2: Among Thieves" es pura pasión, acción, emoción y aventura para el espectador general. Expand
  98. Oct 5, 2013
    10
    This game is one of the best games ive ever played its a masterpiece from start to finish and i advise everyone to get this game the graphics are incredible and and stylish the gameplay is perfect and the story keeps you coming back for more even if you finished it before the game lasts 10-15 hours depending on how you play which is always a good reason to come back and try it so theThis game is one of the best games ive ever played its a masterpiece from start to finish and i advise everyone to get this game the graphics are incredible and and stylish the gameplay is perfect and the story keeps you coming back for more even if you finished it before the game lasts 10-15 hours depending on how you play which is always a good reason to come back and try it so the bottom line is this is one of the best (if not the best ps3 titles to date and and is still the benchmark for action/adventure tiles. Expand
  99. Oct 11, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Uncharted 2 delivers a cinematic gaming experience. A typical story paired with great gameplay and characters makes one great game. I just wish they didn't go with the mystical direction like the first one did. Still, it's a great game and I'd say it earned its spot nicely as GOTY in the year it was released. Expand
  100. Oct 11, 2013
    10
    The only game better than Uncharted 2: Among Thieves is The Last Of Us. It is perhaps the greatest sequel of all time (honorable mention Mass Effect 2), it takes the Uncharted series to the next level in every single department. Better graphics, better characters, better game play and better action.

    With many sequels they often disappoint, especially if they are following great
    The only game better than Uncharted 2: Among Thieves is The Last Of Us. It is perhaps the greatest sequel of all time (honorable mention Mass Effect 2), it takes the Uncharted series to the next level in every single department. Better graphics, better characters, better game play and better action.

    With many sequels they often disappoint, especially if they are following great predecessors, but Uncharted 2 was far from being a let down, it simply blew the first one out of the water. After replaying both games, there is certainly a difference, the second game feels much better and more natural. The main antagonist Zoran Lazarević provides a excellent performance as he and Nathan Drake race to find the lost city of Shambhala. The introduction of Chloe Frazer provides an interesting dilemma for gamers, do they prefer Elena, the good girl with the right morals or Chloe, the sexy teasing yet interesting character and whether or they go better with Drake.

    All I can say is if you have not played this game (or the first) you simply have to give it a go, Uncharted 2 is in my Top 5 best games I have ever played because it is that good. And it without a doubt one of the best games of the generation.

    10/10 INCREDIBLE
    Expand
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 105 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Mixed: 0 out of 105
  2. Negative: 0 out of 105
  1. 100
    Spread across twenty-six chapters is a story as playful and worthwhile as the gameplay.
  2. Graphically stunning, Uncharted 2: Among Thieves is, first of all, an interactive adventure, one that feels like a movie and even has a storyline of a movie. Most gameplay situations have been tailored in order to stun the player with originality and identification, and the end result is absolutely amazing.
  3. Among Thieves is all about constant movement. And even movement on top of movement. It grabbed me from the beginning and didn't let go for twelve hours. Once I finished, all I could think about was playing it again. More than a defining game for the PS3, Uncharted 2 is a defining game of this console generation.