• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Oct 13, 2009
User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 3869 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 29, 2012
    9
    This is one of the best, maybe THE best game on the PlayStation 3 right now. When it was released it showed what the PS3 can really do. Pushed the limits in terms of everything! The game is graphically stunning, game play has been made to amaze the player and the story is simply magical! It makes you play and play and play more and play it again when it is finished! All 26 chapters are equally awesome. Very minor problems which will not upset you at all when playing this game!
    This is one game that should not be missing from any PS3 owner, and I think it is a very good reason for anyone who doesn't have a PS3 to buy it just for this game! Simply Awesome!
    A must have!
    Expand
  2. Sep 26, 2012
    10
    I had heard about this game alot, before I have actually played the game. I had very high expectation before playing and guess what? I was not disappointed by my hope, but instead I was amazed by this game. This game is perfect in my opinion. Everything is freaking great. If you think the game is not good, do not play video games anymore, because they are just not for you.
  3. Aug 7, 2012
    10
    This is easily the crown jewel of the Uncharted series. The story itself is fantastic, there is a very good variety of different places you find yourself at, and everything just seems to flow together very well. The controls are very easy to use and much improved over the first installment of the game. There is not a single thing that I didn't love about this game, and I consider it to be one of the best video games that I've ever played in 25+ years of actually playing video games. Expand
  4. Aug 6, 2012
    10
    This game is really awesome. The graphics are really beautiful. The characters and the story are really very good. The game really pass that adventure feeling. Who said that this game is bad is because don't even played, or are just fanboys trying to express his sadness cause can't play the game.
  5. Jul 31, 2012
    9
    This is the best uncharted game so far. Long, visually stunning, deep and explosive, Uncharted 2 combines all the qualities you can find in a videogame, and more! No video game has ever done a better job of capturing the style and rhythm of the movies.
  6. Jul 29, 2012
    10
    By far the best PS3 game yet to date in this generation and Naughty dog's best game they made during their development time.

    Story- Nathan Drake returns this time dealing with Marco Polo's journey on what happened during Marco Polo's expedition, eventually it leads to Nathan drake finding an artifact that leads to places he never seen before in his life. Along side Drake is Elena and
    sullivan returning though sully doesn't appear as much as he used to in the 1st game and Chloe Fraizer gets introduced as a protagonist with drake to help him get to the treasure first before the antagonist finds him.

    Graphics- OMG i would never believed that Naughty Dog is this good in detailing this awesome game by making it look like its a movie compared to a game but its outstanding in being well toned for its texture and designing on the levels so IT gets me 5 thumbs up or stars.

    Gameplay-By far the most exceeding game after the original game and improves easily. By aiming your gun in a direction you want you can tap the grenade button and throw it at a distance. puzzle which appeared in uncharted 1 mostly don't show alot in this game alot but are enjoyable to play.Combat is much easier to pull off and show slow motion which is awesome to see your guy just kill a soldier in style. Stealth is much easier to do unlike uncharted 1 in which all you do is snap a guys neck which isn't much but uncharted 2 depending on where you are can be described awesome stealth kills and be easy on pulling off.

    Multiplayer- This is the first that naughty dog has managed to pull an online sever for their shooting games since Jak X combat racing which was considered a racing game similar to twisted metal, they only pull off basic multiplayer modes to make the players feel enjoyed with no customizations to guns similar to the COD series but boosters is what help players feel enjoyed to no end. Basic Team deathmatch, plunder, elmination, KOTH, turf war, chain reaction feels superior but the problem with the online is if somebody were to drop it due to connection issues or B.S. online can make the game not feel playable at all. Another problem was the patch after 1.04 naughty dog released that has changed the game completely now its basically respawns being stupid and a booster called "Situational Awareness" because everyones so scared of being shot at as soon as they respawn and troll the opposing team on where they were going to spawn next after they died which basically the game was not good as it used to be.

    Co-op- In adventure of it theres couple of stages you do to complete serveral objective they have to do. Arena has number of rounds you do but only in 1 objective you have to play compared to uncharted 3 with different variety. But another problem is if people drop from connection issues or other stuff it immediatley end the game completely and you get thrown back into the main menu of the online.

    Overall- In my opinion and still to this day that Uncharted 2 was the top overrated dog of this generation and always will be for having at least an epic story like movie and traditional multiplayer that rocks and though it may have problems still i'll considered it giving uncharted 2 a perfect 10 for a masterpiece of a game that will live up to its name. Haters can hate but Uncharted 2 still one of the kings of PS3.
    Expand
  7. Jul 21, 2012
    10
    Didn't think I would enjoy the game but it was fantastic. One of the best single-player modes I have ever played. I wouldn't even hesitate to say that it is better than any sports game I play and I am a sports fanatic. Fantastic stuff.
  8. Jul 13, 2012
    10
    I didn't know anything about the game before I played it - which just goes to show how surprised I was when I realized I couldn't put down the controller. Not only is this game beautiful graphically, but it also includes many challenges and is great in terms of educational values. A masterpiece.
  9. Jul 6, 2012
    10
    Just fantastic. Its so fresh, and its a tale thats just awesome with brilliant writing and stellar gameplay. Everything about it is a step up from the previous game, and its just awesome. If you dont have a PS3, buy it for this game if any.
  10. Jul 2, 2012
    10
    This is the second best series next to Metal Gear Solid for me. This game in particular has the best storyline of the three that are out thus far. The shooting sequences are very fun and the graphics are top notch; only being beaten by Uncharted 3 in 2011. This game is a true masterpiece! My only complains are some minor control issues as well as the stealth and melee system, however both of these issues were fixed for Uncharted 3 Expand
  11. Jun 30, 2012
    10
    Amazing. Great gameplay, a fantastic storyline, a compelling narritive with great characters and a fun multiplayer.
    This game builds on the foundations left by the first game and improves it by a mile creating one of the best games ever made in my opinion as once I started playing it I couldn't stop as it was very fun.
    The controls are so fluid and the set pieces are mind blowing and it
    has the best single player campaign ever in a game.
    The multiplayer is great with great map designs and great game modes like elimination, team deathmatch, capture the flag etc. and is very fun but I feel they could have added more custimization of guns and characters other than designing a clan logo. but otherwise is a great multiplayer experience.
    A Must have for any PS3 owner & if you don't have a PS3 get one for this game. 10/10
    Expand
  12. Jun 27, 2012
    10
    Best game i've ever played.. Single player is sooo good. the co-op mode online is really fun to play with friends as well. I can't Imagine games will look much better than this game does
  13. Jun 26, 2012
    9
    Uncharted 2 improves a lot the previous episode, already very well done, in all respects, and introduces the online game Too bad there were pirates in the first Uncharted ... and a game where there are pirates can not be beat. Monkey Island Rules!
  14. Jun 23, 2012
    9
    I'm surprised at some if not all the negative reviews but everyone has their own interpretation of what they play...I enjoyed this very much.while the gameplay might scream tomb raider rip off it actually plays much much better than lara's to the point where you tell yourself "why did I even compare the two! I also found the gunplay excellently implemented! You can either run & gun or use the duck & cover option & silently take out enemy's. The presentation in this game is unbelievable as you progress through the game playing with character's that bring so much life to the game! The enemy. A.I. is smart enough to keep things interesting and the level design is top notch but the true star of the game has to be the story which is very well written and blends well with action like the train level which is my favorite level to end this review I walked away very pleased especially if you can beat crushing difficultly!!! This is a must own for action adventure gamers everywhere!! with characters that just bring so much life to them while facing smart enemies on well crafted levels. Expand
  15. Jun 21, 2012
    10
    best game ever made- worth buying a ps3 for the unchartered series. i own an xbox 360- only forza 4, and witcher 3 can compare graphically to this masterpiece
  16. Jun 16, 2012
    10
    From start to finish, I could not put this game down. The story is very engaging. The voice acting is incredible. The sound effects and music are awesome. And the graphics are simply beautiful. I highly recommend this game to anyone that likes the Action/Adventure genre.
  17. Jun 13, 2012
    10
    This game got me into Uncharted... I played it through, and the second I touched the multiplayer I FELT why this game is so great compared to others... THE gameplay mechanics are simply unmached!
    The Singleplayer is more than a blockbuster and should be played by EVERY gamer in this world! (or other world!)
  18. Jun 10, 2012
    10
    i love this game one of the best for the playstation 3 the story is good
    the gameplay is good
    the singleplayer is long or 13hours
    the soundtrack is great
    the multiplayer is good
    and the co-op is awesome
  19. Jun 6, 2012
    10
    I love everything about this game. It's very pretty and very fun to play. Combat system has been improved and the story is perfect. Nathan Drake is the Indiana Jones for this generation. It's a non-stop, balls out, un apoligetic action fiesta. aquire this game without delay!
  20. May 22, 2012
    10
    This game is absolutely outstanding in every aspect . It reflects itself and clearly stands among the greatest game made in any platform . Going onto multiplayer it's purely unique and amazing unlike all those fps games
  21. May 18, 2012
    10
    this was one of the best games I've played on ps3 period. I think I've played this game twice, and then went back once a while do play particular chapters again. It was just everything you would want in a third person shooter. The story was addicting, every chapter was diverse, and game play was top notch. I loved the puzzles, and the climbing (assasins creed feel) to it. I also love the humor that was sometimes added into this game whether that be cut scenes, or when nathan randonly talks during firefights. Expand
  22. May 18, 2012
    9
    uncharted 2 is a really good game although not perfect due to multiplayer but if you judge this game only on singleplayer then it is perfect the dialouge is top notch the voice acting is amazing fun as hell extremely beautifull incredible music great story it is just that good until multiplayer its not fun its just boring
  23. May 15, 2012
    10
    WOW. This game is so good. I just replayed it after i played uncharted 3 in november. I have to say that this game is the best in the series no contest. Its hard to explain, this one is just better. More engaging story, great variety in scenes(the plane/desert scene of uncharted 3 is still the best scene on the playstation 3) etc.
    10
  24. May 7, 2012
    10
    Theirs a reason why this game is 2009's Game of the Year. It won so many GOTY awards that it went into the World records book as "most acclaimed game". Uncharted 2 is easily one of the best games ever created and all the reviewers raved about that. Words can not express on how out-stand/brilliant this game is.
  25. Apr 23, 2012
    10
    Best adventure 3rd person shooter I have ever played. It is perfect in every single way and it has what is necessary to please different audiences (online or single player players). The gameplay, story, characters, graphics, pace, soundtrack and replayability have made me return to this game ever since it came out in 2009. I know that nothing about the game is original as it borrows from other franchises, but it uses their elements in perfect ways, which is what makes it wonderful and in my opinion better than any other game in the genre. Expand
  26. Apr 19, 2012
    10
    Take the first Uncharted and add an even better story, more interesting characters and upgraded graphics and you have Among Thieves. Nathan Drake now heads for icy scenarios in search of the fabled Cintamani Stone, a sapphire so big no man can put his arms around it. Naughty Dog did an impressive job in this follow-up, taking the action/adventure genre to new heights. Shooting was greatly improved, and the cover system works much better. The addition of stealth was also very welcome, even if most times it is used in specific chapters of the game; and in real combat it's only real use is to eliminate two or three enemies of the equation before the shooting havoc starts. Drake's Fortune looked good, but Among Thieves is just amazing. From the simple snow at Drake's feet to a train crash and a temple inside an ice cavern, everything looks and feels great. Exploration was also increased, though not much. Uncharted 2 is simply an amazing game and a must-have, period. Expand
  27. Apr 17, 2012
    9
    I am not seeking to counter the current average, I am just seeking to be honest. Is this a "great" game? Yes. Is it "sublime"? No. Is it better than the first installment in the series, yes, but not in every way. The two main things I liked about the first game in the series (the intelligent AI and the realistic difficulty) were completely absent in this game. In the first game, the enemy would intelligently flank you, centered around where you were, and all the enemies would do this while actively pinning you down with bullet fire. In U2, the enemies do not behave so. Some do, but most of the enemies' behaviors are either clearly set as "stay behind this box or whatever and keep shooting" or "just walk in a straight line towards Drake." I was very disappointed by that, and also by how much easier the game was in general. I played both games on normal and in the first game, you would take as much damage before death as the enemies at whom you were shooting. I liked this since I never liked the idea of why you can take 20 more bullets to the chest than everyone else. However, U2 employs the more ubiquitous "superhuman" approach, which was a shame. To make up for these absences, Naughty Dog gave us some incredibly varied level designs and a more interesting story. You travel to a lot more interesting places (though sadly these places are much more linear) and you are more curious as to what happens in the end. Otherwise, the biggest problem plagues both games: the tedious and crude gunplay. It's not "bad", and I certainly don't expect it to hit the heights of Gears of War, but it could stand to see substantial improvement. Overall, I don't see why this game is considered one of the best of this generation. Great, but not transcendental. Expand
  28. Apr 6, 2012
    10
    Naughty Dog's have made a huge step forward after Uncharted: Drakes Fortune in terms of graphics, story, characters design. I like the relationship between Nathan & Elena, maybe it's a main reason i love this franchase so much, and of course snow mountains at any games everytime is special for me, just love the snow :)
  29. Apr 3, 2012
    10
    Before I played Uncharted 2 I was what you could call an "xbox fanboy:" I wanted nothing to do with Sony, and I thought they were a joke of a company. I didn't realize how wrong I really was. One fateful day I strolled into my brothers room while he was at school and popped in Uncharted 2 to see what all the fuss was about. The game was so incredible that the tutorial, THE TUTORIAL, made me question my xbox fanboyism. I played nonstop for hours, and Uncharted 2 was so good that I couldn't bring myself to put it down. This is the only game I've ever played that's made me laugh not because something in the game was particularly funny, but because I was experiencing something I've never experienced before in a game and I can't even describe the feeling other than it was pure gaming nirvana. To compare this game to a movie isn't enough, because it easily exceeds any action flick I've ever seen. The graphics, the controls, the characters are all perfect. Although Uncharted 2 may not be as long as say...Skyrim or Arkham city, what it lacks in length it makes up for in pure enjoyment. After one sitting with this game, it converted me from an xbox fan to a ps3 fan, and I ended up driving to Gamestop later that day to purchase a PS3 and Uncharted 2. In closing, even though Uncharted 2 is the second game in the series, I recommend completely skipping the first game, because quite frankly...it isn't that great. You don't need any back-story from Uncharted 1, because each game is it's own story. It's worth owning a PS3 just for Uncharted 2 and Uncharted 3. Expand
  30. Mar 31, 2012
    10
    2010
    I was contemplating on what I should give this game, and after thinking back on it, This was a great experience. I literally loved every minute of it, and It continued to keep me wanting more. The opening was one of the greatest in gaming. The graphics were the best that I had seen. Everything about this game is awesome. I don't know what else to say. Then multiplayer got me started,
    and then it was as fun and felt like the singleplayer, very rewarding. This game deserves a 10. Story and graphics stand out to me, but that includes all the detail, animation, environment, and everything. Expand
  31. Mar 23, 2012
    10
    The game masterpiece, no less. Clever plot, exciting gameplay. Certainly the best game of 2009. I want every year masterpiece of gaming. For me, this series is much better than Indiana Jones
  32. Mar 21, 2012
    9
    I'm very surprised on how Naughty Dog has changed over the years, i always remembered them for the Crash Bandicoot games, which were ok, it's amazing how it became a great gaming studio and how they came up with this amazing game. The first Uncharted was good but not great, but Among Thieves is just amazing, it has everything a great has to include, a likable hero, great action, platforming but what i think is the best accomplishment of this game, is how it manages to tell a story that feels just like a movie, it's a great experience and one of the best of this generation. Expand
  33. Mar 10, 2012
    10
    i can't even begin to say how much i was blown away with the monstrous improvements this game had compared to the 1st one!!
    U2 captivated my soul from start to finish with its impeccable graphics,game play,story telling and cinematic scenes.
  34. Mar 6, 2012
    10
    BEST GAME EVER!!!! , I cant believe how some people gave this game such low scores! Its an AWESOME! game.. I recommend this game to every "REAL" gamer out there.
  35. Mar 5, 2012
    10
    I know this review is nearly three years after the release and no one will probably read this but I'm bored so i'm reviewing it. When i played this in 2009 it was breathtaking and still is today. Everything is polished to meticulous detail and I do mean everything. This is probably why the game is about 10 hours long which doesn't seem long but it suits the pacing of the game perfectly. This single player is perfection. The multiplayer is a bonus and is pretty solid. The co-op is great as well. But the game is about 3 years old s the multiplayer isn't exactly hot at the moment. But if anyone is reading this ,which I doubt, and you've never played an uncharted game you simply have to. I'm sorry but you should be forced to play it. There isn't much need to play the first one but make this your first uncharted. The first one is great but that game is very old. But you must play the 2nd one first in my opinion. Expand
  36. Mar 3, 2012
    10
    When I first heard of this game, and how much reviewers and others loved it, i didn't believe it. I delayed my purchase of this game tell after I saw it on sale and as a GOTY edition. So i decided to take a chance and get it. That was one of the best decisions I have ever made, this game is brilliant in every sense of the word. One of the greatest moments in video game history has to be the train ride, where you must go from the back of a moving train to the front, taking out guards, tanks, and even helicopters to make your way to the front, and that's just one of many great moments in this game. It has so many defining moments that most games can dream of just one of them. Every time you think this game has done all that it could, something else comes up to shock you. The visuals in this game are outstanding, detail pours out of every scene to make you stop sometimes just to admire what Naughty Dog has done. The platforming in this game is remarkable, with landscapes that sometimes to the naked eye don't seem scalable, but then something breaks or shifts and new routes are open to you. Drake is one of the most likable characters this generation, he is a great explorer, a good friend and even better person, and yet also manages to be badass. There is also a multiplayer, it's good but not addicting. There is nothing wrong with it, it works well, the maps are perfect for the platforming and the competitive aspect is perfect for this sort of game, but personally i couldn't get into. It was fun for a few rounds but its the single player that is the meat of this game. That is how a game should be, and it does it well. Uncharted 2 is one of the best games this generation and I highly recommend this game to anyone who loves good story, great characters, and fantastic gameplay. Expand
  37. Mar 1, 2012
    9
    A game that was just as good as the original. Amazingly cinematic, and fun gameplay, even though I sometimes get lost, not knowing what I should do next.
  38. Feb 22, 2012
    10
    Even more catchy than first part. Awesome story and everything else. Adding multiplayer, that was thing I was waiting for, but it was a little bit disappointing. Best third person shooter I have ever played. U3 awaits!
  39. Feb 22, 2012
    10
    probably in my top 5 favourite games ever! it took everything from the first uncharted, improved it massively and then some how made a story even more compelling than the first game! a joy to play and to watch! a personal favourite about UC2 is the occasional flashes of the yetis you get what a simple way to keep the tension mounting! perfect!
  40. Feb 17, 2012
    10
    Game of the year. Anyone who doesn't think this is 10/10 might either have never played this game, or fail to understand its intriguing movie elements. This is a game where the player becomes the actor in the cinematics, controlling his own fate. The gun fights and puzzle elements combine flawlessly within Hollywood-styled hit. Words cannot describe how great this game has become, play for yourself. Expand
  41. Feb 12, 2012
    10
    Uncharted 2 is BY FAR the BEST GAME EVER!!!! Ø
  42. Feb 12, 2012
    10
    Hands down! Uncharted 2 the best games this gen.. The Story is AMAZING!! Nathan Drake is hands down the best main protagonist ever... I liked this game more than mass effect 2 which was a really great game too! But Uncharted 2 is soooo much better than any other game i have ever played The gameplay and the story makes it one of the best games ever... It pretty long game too.. I finished it in 22 hours and it will take you even longer if you looked for treasures and tried to platinum it Expand
  43. Jan 21, 2012
    10
    It's been a while since Uncharted 2: Among Thieves came out, and it is fairly pointless to write a review this late after its release, but if you haven't played it then look no further than this review. Uncharted 2 is a complete package with an incredible story, jaw-dropping graphics, fun gameplay and incredible characters. The story is great- Nate and co. are searching for Shambhala, a mythical city supposedly found by Marco Polo. I won't explain further because I really don't want to spoil the game as it has one of the most memorable stories of any video game that I've ever played. The graphics are stunning, from the museum in Istanbul to the jungles of Borneo to the streets of Nepal, to the mountains of Tibet the graphics have a nice diversity and are stunning. The snow effects are fantastic and look incredibly realistic. The gameplay is a mix of shooting, climbing, exploring, puzzle-solving, hand to hand combat and stealth. The gameplay is all great and Uncharted 2 does all of these things well, but isn't the best at doing it. The shooting can feel a little bit dated, the climbing is greatly improved over Uncharted 1 but still isn't the best I've seen and looking in Nate's diary almost gives away the puzzle. But the gameplay of Uncharted 2 is still a blast and it combines with crazy action set-pieces, fantastic story telling with compelling characters and incredible visuals to make a complete package. Then there's the multiplayer. The multiplayer isn't very deep and isn't much more than a little distraction. If you ask me it wasn't needed, but for all you people who think that EVERY game needs online play it's a nice feature. But if you ask me the most addicting part of the game is searching for the 101 hidden treasures and repeating the incredible story. The game isn't an incredibly hard game, but can be annoyingly hard at times. Those armoured giants with the machine guns can get quite annoying, and enemies can take an annoying amount of bullets to kill. The boss fight in the middle of the game is annoying and unrealistic, because the fact that a man only wearing an army vest and helmet with no arm protection or anything like that can take around 100 bullets to kill, while regular armoured foes take less is really stupid. That said, this boss fight isn't particularly hard, but it really is one of the low points of the game. Overall Uncharted 2: Among Thieves is an incredible game. It impresses with incredible visuals, great gameplay, great story and great improvements over Uncharted: Drakes Fortune. If you haven't played this masterpiece yet you must buy this game, your money will be very well spent. Expand
  44. Jan 20, 2012
    10
    It's not hard to see why the Uncharted series is so successful. Drake's Fortune was a brilliantly crafted third person action adventure/shooter than was a few steps short of a golden fortune. The wisecracking protagonist is back, in what is his finest game to date. Unbelievable pacing, with action setpieces and stunning moments, pitched brilliantly and often into the campaign. Most will finish this game in one sitting but that's because the game constantly excels itself with beautiful scenery, clever puzzles and fantastic gunplay. It now even boasts multiplayer, with some narrative elements afoot. In short Uncharted 2 begs to be the top dog, and if this game is any indication, it has succeeded without fault. Expand
  45. Jan 10, 2012
    10
    A jaw dropping game. The animations, textures, music, and voice acting are all amazing to behold. But it's the way the game is paced that is its biggest accomplishment. The game rarely lets up, and has you racing from one peril into another at an exciting speed. This is really the only game I can think of that made me feel so damn excited while I played it, particularly the EPIC train sequence in the middle of the game. This game alone has made my recent purchase of a PS3 worth it. It's a f*cking awesome game, and I can't believe how much I enjoyed playing it. Expand
  46. Jan 10, 2012
    10
    Uncharted 2 takes what was good in Uncharted 1 and transforms it into an astounding sequel that is clearly the best game of 2009! This time Nate travels across several countries on the hunt of treasure (instead of just the one island from DF) teaming up with a few new faces and a baddie that is more intimidating than the previous one. The sound effects are great and controls have been improved on: gunplay is more realistic, the platforming feel has been changed to perfection and combat is more-or-less the same but feels more controlled. The story is a step-up from DF and moves at a perfect pace from beginning to end that amazes and shocks at every angle. There are virtually no criticisms, however the puzzles are a bit too obvious and the end boss fight was a bit repetitive. Yet the pros outweigh the cons 10 to 1, making this clearly one of PS3's best games ever!! Expand
  47. Jan 6, 2012
    10
    This game is a must have for all ps3 owners. The story alone is on the precipice of hitting the quality of some of the best films of this decade (well not really but its still amazing) . Chloe is hot!!
  48. Jan 4, 2012
    10
    This is the best game I have played so far for ps3 it is even better than the first. The graphics are even better the storyline is better a lot more adventure and you never want to stop. It brought back the main characters Alene, Sully, And of course Nathan Drake we also see some new characters including Chloe, Flynn:(:( and Tenzin. This game the fun NEVER stops. Trust me you will never get bored. Something i find way fun is being able to replay the game and buy characters that are in the game so you can replay the game and be whoever the heck you wanna be..:) AMAZING GAME. Expand
  49. Dec 31, 2011
    10
    Same thing I wrote for the original Uncharted and Uncharted 3. This game also deserves a 10. ALL Uncharted games got a 10 from me. They are the best series available on PS3. Anybody who gave mixed and negative reviews to the series is clearly an idiot.
  50. Dec 31, 2011
    10
    Uncharted is like the video game love child of Indiana Johns and Mission Impassible. it's rapid paced, always keeps you on the edge of the seat with absolutely fantastic and breathtaking set pieces. It almost flawlessly moves between an action packed fire fight, to high risk platforming sections with gravity defying leaps of fate, all with some of the best animation and graphics the gaming world ever seen. Is, evan after two years after it's release Among Thieves is a stone cold stunner. Uncharted captures the fast paced fun of a top of line summer flick, with tight gameplay and amazing looking lacks. It is The Raiders of the Lost Ark of gaming, Among Thieves is that good. Expand
  51. Dec 29, 2011
    10
    This game is simply fantastic. The best PS3 game. It's so addicting, the plot is very good and you want to play the game nonstop until you beat it, The soundtrack is good, it's quite challenging and the graphics are awesome, the voice acting and cutscenes are also great, Drake and Sully are one of the most charismatic characters I've ever seen. Whoever gives this game a score under 8.5 is trolling or is just plain stupid, for real. Expand
  52. Dec 29, 2011
    10
    The perfect game and even though graphically and technically its been out done by Uncharted 3 this is a game no one is ever going to forget. It was such a leap from Uncharted Drake's Fortune it hit us like a brick wall opened a door and dragged us into this amazing immersive experience and that does not happen to often in video games. There is just so many great things about this game I have chosen the 3 best things about the game. 1: technology leap was huge and graphically stunning. 2: Set pieces. from walking through a tibetan village high in the mountains to a massive collapsing bridge at the end. 3: The characters are epic from Nathan and Harry's chats to the amazing Villain Zoran Lazarovich which to this day still is one of the greatest villains to ever be made and I wish he comes back. The only down thing was the multiplayer which I played for quite a while but needed a bit of work doing to it but luckily its all been sorted out in Uncharted 3. Another Flawless game by Naughty Dog but this game gets a 10 and theres no other score besides 10 for it.
    Technology: 10
    Graphics: 10 Campaign: 10
    Multiplayer: 7 CO-OP: 7
    Expand
  53. Dec 23, 2011
    10
    The best of the series in my opinion. While UC3 adds things, UC2 covers the most ground and feels the most balanced and fleshed out, it's really solid. Probably my favorite game of all time, in that despite being very linear, I never get sick of multiple play throughs.
  54. Dec 22, 2011
    10
    no game can defeat this game!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!uncharted 2 roxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
  55. Dec 15, 2011
    10
    This game is amazing, I have nothing to say negative about this game, but it was awesome. The story was good. the graphic are good. and the multiplayer is good.
  56. Dec 11, 2011
    9
    Pretty decent game with great graphics and cinematics. A lot of fun wall hopping and killing dudes in a variety of ways. Campaign is short at around 8 hours or less. Would have preferred more weapons to choose from, but still good. Multiplayer is a good add-on to the main game. I was more than happy to step into drakes boots again.
  57. Dec 6, 2011
    10
    It is simply game of the generation. Nothing else is quite like it, and I expect that nothing else will ever be quite like it. A masterful blend of cinema and video games.
  58. Dec 6, 2011
    10
    This game gives you very little to relax and frankly that's ok because how can you relax when you're a treasure hunter. And what a treasure hunter Drake is he(you) is well equipped to do pretty much anything; from fighting, to leaping, to solving puzzles. The only thing that Drake can't do is take on a lot of bullets; so cover is a major thing in this game, which gives it a huge realistic feel. Drake's agility can be used during combat but it mostly shines during platforming sections and a thrilling chase. The only time where Drake can relax a bit is during the puzzle sections of the game; they are not as entertaining as the combat but they do present their own buckets of charm. Although these sections are slower this is not to say that uncharted is a slow game; exactly the opposite. The pace of this game is incredible. All of this is complemented by the breath-taking sites you encounter...this must be one of the best looking games of all time. After finishing the campaign you would definitely want some more and there is plenty. One definite more is the three-player cooperative mode, which is highly recommended if you have a couple of friends. The competitive multiplayer is also a must which provides explosive action and the same great core gameplay and the great visuals. All-in-all uncharted 2 is a complete package and a must play for anyone who has a ps3. Expand
  59. Dec 3, 2011
    10
    Its been over two years since the release of this game, and I can safely say Uncharted 2 is still a treasure to behold. The graphics are insane, the sound is amazing, the story/characters is well-done, and the gameplay is top-notch smooth. The campaign is the best of the best. Finding treasures and tweaking the game also give even more life to the already amazing game. The multiplayer is also fantastic, despite some balance issues. Its also not as deep, but you need not worry: the game as a whole is fantastic. This game will go down as one of the best for sure. Expand
  60. Dec 3, 2011
    10
    One of the best games I've ever played. the story is fantastic, everything is great and it feels like a movie. VERY well done. the only problem is near the end of the game i was sick of going from room to room fighting bad guys. just a little too much gunplay near the end for me. but besides that it was PERFECT. keep up the good work naughty dog!! ::))
  61. Dec 2, 2011
    10
    I absolutely love this game! The graphics and game-play and everything else is so awesome. Truly the best on the PS3 and a must-have. The game is hugely fun and the voice-acting is spectacular. Do not hesitate to buy this game.
  62. Nov 28, 2011
    10
    I bought a PS3 recently and don't regret it one bit simply because I went through the Uncharted experience. WOW!! This game is groundbreaking!!! The characters are great. The story is engaging. The gameplay is brilliant. It definitely set the standard for Action-Adventure games. Would highly recommend anybody who hasnt played
  63. Nov 24, 2011
    9
    I really have nothing bad to say about this game. The graphics are phenomenal, even for the game being a few years old. The story is so captivating, and you really become emotionally invested in the characters. The gameplay is a lot of fun, with creative platforming sections that remind me of assassin's creed/tomb raider. While some may not like the bounciness and inaccuracy of the shooting, I think it adds a level of realism to the game. Minus the bad guys being able to take 5 shotgun rounds to the chest Expand
  64. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    I didn't think the sequel could be better and I was dead wrong. The graphics, oh my god, are so dazzling and incredible. The story picks up some time after the first one and accelerates into the action right away. This movie... er I mean game is a thrill ride from start to finish. The gameplay improves removing the six-axis controller from use entirely, and the combat is more effective and less tedious. This is quite possibly the best game on the PS3. And then you have the multiplayer... it just never stops amazing you from the moment you put it in. Expand
  65. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    After finishing this game I was trying to find some of the flaws in this game, then I realized, there are none. Games don't get any better this, no matter what you are looking for, good game play, story line, graphics, Uncharted 2: Among Thieves has you covered. It will provide approximately 8-10 hours of jaw-droppingly single player action, and hours on end of surprisingly good online multiplayer. Not only is this the best action/adventure games ever, it is also, arguably, the best game of this generation. You don't want to miss out on Nathan Drake's latest amazing adventure, when it comes to games, I couldn't think of a better way to spend my money than on this game. Expand
  66. Nov 19, 2011
    10
    This game is incredible, the graphics are stunning and the Single-Player is one of the best in the market. The only thing that this game doesn't have is a good multiplayer, but who cares about this when there is a Story mode that deserves multiples playthroughs and also have about 100 treasures to find.
  67. Nov 17, 2011
    10
    Uncharted 2 is just plain amazing. It is very well one of the best games I have ever played, second only to Grand Theft Auto IV. Nathan Drake's latest journey is amazing. The graphics are flat out amazing, the voice acting is great, the characters are great , and the set pieces are breath-taking, it's like watching a movie! The plot is great, the plot of a typical action movie and the action is wowinvoking as well. The gameplay is very good, one of the best controls schemes to date and I feel like I am Nathan Drake when I play. The humanization is so cool that you feel more attached to the characters. The action genre just got renovated with Uncharted 2, not only does it set the bar for the series but the bar for action games and gaming in general. Flaws, there are like virtually no flaws at all but just that maybe a tiny tiny portion is inariably clunky and that is the gnplay which can be a little twitchy but nonetheless almost perfect and platforming is a little limited, again, just a little but still Uncharted 2 gives you many ways to tackle the situation. These flaws are very minute compared to the rest of the game and they are teeny tiny problems in general. Overall Uncharted 2 is an amazing that I absolutely love. It's thrilling, it's entertaining, it's flat-out amazing. I will never look at video games the same way. Uncharted 2 comes second only to GTA IV. I love this game. Breakdown for "Uncharted 2: Among Thieves": Presentation: 10, Graphics: 10, Sound: 10, Playability: 9.8, Lasting Appeal: 10. Verdict: 9.9 out of 10 "Amazing". The best adventure game of all time. Expand
  68. Nov 17, 2011
    10
    Best game ever! Best game ever! I even have an extra copy do lend to a friend.
    ////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////
  69. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    I don't always give games a perfect score, but when I do, its Uncharted 2. I was completely blown away by this game and had absolutely no idea what I was getting into. I got this game as a Christmas gift the year it was released since it was the only game that seemed interesting to me at the time. I had played the first one for a good ten hours, but this one is a huge upgrade. Brand new engine with stunning visuals, sound design, and the camera work. It's all in the camera work, man! Naughty Dog has left a very deep mark in platforming titles with this game for years to come. Expand
  70. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    I just say, it´s a master piece. I wrapped the game from the beginning in addition to telling you a story with a solid support.
    The scenarios are very well developed in detail and the snow looks pretty good especially the brightness of light and snow.
  71. Nov 12, 2011
    9
    Uncharted 2 improves on the story, graphics, and replay ability aspects of the original Uncharted. The most cinematic game experience, experienced by me. Has great voice acting and memorable characters. The graphics are just astounding here. Levels are well designed and pacing is excellent. This game never seems to drag, ever. Cover and shoot gameplay system has been fine tuned. A great multiplayer has been added to Uncharted, and it is loads of fun. This gamedeserves a 9.5 if I coukd give it that. Expand
  72. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    This is naughtydog at their best. Edge of the seat action, stunning visuals and an amazing story.
    This is the reason why I play games.The best sequel yet.
  73. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Uncharted 2 is a great game, and I think the characters, the heroes and the villains are great too, and the multiplayers mode is fantastic. The single player mode has a wonderful story, and the gets even better when you buy items in the store, things like other character's skins, weapons and little movies about the game. Uncharted 2: Among Thieves is a great production of Naughty Dog. Expand
  74. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    The best game of actual generation. Who loves videogames must play this one. Amazing history, beautiful graphics, fun gameplay... It's a complete game. If you don't like it, give up on playing games.
  75. Nov 10, 2011
    9
    Personally the best game ever made. Lost one point for silent takedown required in a level which was truly annoying.
    The good - fantastic story lots of twist, hilarious, stunning visuals, gr8 multiplayer
    Bad - only the silent take down level

    A must play if ya own ps3 and a reason to own ps3.
  76. Nov 10, 2011
    9
    Great game that has a great story, game mechanics, and re-playability. Feels like you are in a movie and you are controlling the main character/actor. Although my review is late, I would still buy a copy and play it.
  77. Nov 9, 2011
    10
    One of the best games I've ever played. Uncharted 3 is even better. If you have a PS3, there's NO REASON not to get this game. The cutscenes are phenomenal, the characters look incredibly real, and the cover mechanics are amazing. GET THIS GAME!
  78. Nov 9, 2011
    9
    There's no such thing as a perfect game, though Uncharted 2 comes pretty close. Perhaps one of the most polished and slick games in recent memory, it's also perfectly paced and features some solid gunplay and climbing mechanics. Whenever you find yourself bored of doing something, the game switches gears and has you puzzle solving, or jumping and leaping around any of the games amazingly detailed and varied environments. Never has a game been able to tug so tightly on the heart strings and it really boils down to superb writing and voice acting as well as a gripping and generally solid story line. Uncharted 2 is pretty much a must play for anyone with a PS3 and really just fans of action/adventure games in general. Expand
  79. Nov 7, 2011
    10
    awesomeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee gameeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee
  80. Nov 6, 2011
    9
    Epic. Nathan Drake climbing and rolling all over the place makes for greatness. Add in two attractive women and an old guy, and you've got an absolute masterpiece. Along with great multiplayer with cool new modes and co-op, this game would be the closest thing perfect I have ever seen. Just simply, epic.
  81. Nov 6, 2011
    10
    If i would like to comment this game only in one word it will be : AWESOME, this game has everything what great game should have. Great plot, awesome graphic, action... You don`t even have to read anything about this game, just play it!
  82. Nov 4, 2011
    10
    This is arguably the best game ever made. Uncharted 2 feels like you're watching a awesome and epic action movie and playing a great game all at once. Naughty Dog always make A+ games.
  83. Nov 1, 2011
    10
    Incredible. Phenomenal. Engaging. And much much more. It only does everything a gamer wants! I mean seriously, I can't say what most other people have not said. This game is just smiling with 10s and A's for its reviews, and for those who didn't give it a 10, you'd be damned not to. Or they just aren't your average gamer (those jerks). Anyways, this game's graphics are so beautiful, its gameplay is so, just so awesome. There is not much to say when a game is that good besides this word that can describe it in its fullest. Perfection (Perfect won't cut it). Multiplayer is great and fun. Now all I can do after playing this game for 100 plus hours is, you know, play some more while we wait for the next universally acclaimed three-quel! Expand
  84. Nov 1, 2011
    10
    This is game is freakin amazing. Everything in this game is fantastic and awesome. If you have a PS3 , get this game. If you dont have a ps3 , go buy one and this game!! 10/10
  85. Nov 1, 2011
    10
    Been playing games since the early 80s and this right now is for me the best game I've ever played. The morons on here that proclaim it being over rated and repetitve are either dimwits or work for competing games developers. I accept that we all like different things and for some this may only be an 8/10 game but I haven't been able to put it down. The single player was exciting, engrossing and brought new ideas with humour and a fantatsic storyline. But it's the multiplayer that is just sublime. I paid £40 but had UNchartered 3 come out at £100 it would have been worth it simply for the replay value. The only other game that comes close to it is Streetfighter 2 when it came out on the Snes. I can't wait to play Drake's deception and for anyone who doesn't own Unchartered 2, this is a must own title that is right now a masterpiece in gaming. Expand
  86. Oct 31, 2011
    10
    -Review BRAZIL- "Uncharted 2: Among Thieves" traz à tona tudo o que conhecemos sobre exploração. Envolto nesse clima, à lá Indiana Jones, o game de tiro em terceira pessoa, baseado em cobertura, plataformas, puzzles. Não é a toa que foi considerado o melhor jogo de 2009. Basta ver as notas do próprio site. 39 reviews perfeitos, nota 100. E 105 reviews positivos. As notas negativas de usúario de x-box, não podemos levar a sério! Sem dúvida nenhuma o melhor jogo de todos os tempos. NOTA 10. Expand
  87. Oct 31, 2011
    10
    The original Uncharted was already a fantastic game, albeit a bit derivative. It combined the best components of several action/adventure titles and executed them perfectly. The same applies to Uncharted 2 and while it seems impossible to improve on this formula any more, that's exactly what they've done, with bigger environments, better graphics, more complex story and all around improved performance and polish. In addition to the already impressive single player campaign the developers decided to add a fully fleshed out multiplayer mode that rivals any of the top competitive multiplayer games on the market. This is gaming at its finest. Expand
  88. Oct 27, 2011
    10
    something unreal,graphics,gameplay,characters,story,emotions,are all of great quality,maybe the greatest game in the history of videogames..sit down and play it now!
  89. Oct 26, 2011
    10
    The uncharted series is honestly my favorite series of games i have played, and now when we are about 6 days from the release of Uncharted 3, i just had the urge to right a review on how awesome the first two were. No question that uncharted 3 will be GOTY! uncharted 2 pushes the boundries of what playstation can handle, its up with one of the best looking console games, along with God Of War 3. Just buy, dont rent, if you love a great story and adventure along with a fantastic supporting cast, dont hesitate to put this on your ps3 rack. Expand
  90. Oct 20, 2011
    10
    Best game of the year (2009)? No, the best game of all time. And Uncharted 3 will be no different. UNCHARTED 3 goty, and "goat" (game of all time.)!!!!!!!
  91. Oct 19, 2011
    10
    Definitely the best game of all time.
  92. Oct 19, 2011
    9
    This game was great. Briefly, the characters and story were very compelling. The voice acting and dialog were highly entertaining. The variety of locations and destinations was epic, it gave the game a great adventure type tone. The game play was fun and challenging. The cut-scenes and writing kept you engrossed in the story, making you want to find out what happens next. A very satisfying game and one every gamer should play. Expand
  93. Oct 17, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I bought this game in 2009 when I first got my Playstation 3 and the minute I started playing I knew it was going to be incredible. The gameplay is perfect, the graphics are perfect and the multiplayer is so much fun. The campaign takes roughly 9-10 hours to complete depending on your skill at it. There is plenty to do like finding the hidden treasures there are 100 to find, the multiplayer which is very fun and there are plenty of game modes to choose from and of course the campaign which has the be the most fun I have ever had of any campaign. This is truly one of the best games I have ever played I recommend it to anyone who enjoys action/adventure games. Expand
  94. Oct 13, 2011
    10
    A true successor to the original. The aiming/movement has been improved, with a great multiplayer package, expanded cast to make this on most people's shortlists for best PS3 game, best looking game, best game of all time and rightfully so, this game deserves it. Treasures, medals, multiplayer and the compelling singleplayer will have you playing this for days/weeks/months, even years.
  95. Oct 9, 2011
    9
    Naughty Dog does it again--they seem to never make a mediocre game! Uncharted 2 is undoubtedly not a mediocre game. The characters are real characters, the story is deep, engaging and is executed properly. What Uncharted 2's real goal was to bring real cinematic entertainment into a shooter platform, it has surely succeeded in doing so. Uncharted 2 theme is adventurous, the animations look lifelike, the action is intense and the violence is pure. Expand
  96. Oct 7, 2011
    10
    One of the best I've played this generation and improvement so far, has a mystique of adventure, have the nostalgia and spirit of Indiana jones of adventures with the dexterity of lara croft.
    The story is competent and the action is full of cues and climax, few games together so many positive aspects that make us happy to play it, the online is addictive and different from others.
  97. Oct 7, 2011
    9
    Great game play. Great story. Great graphics. Great online. Greatly balanced trophy's (Gold trophy's are hard and bronze trophy's are easy, unlike games like wipeout.)
    Can it get better?
  98. Oct 4, 2011
    10
    This has got to be the most movie-like game experience I have ever had. The characters and storyline are as good as any of the Indy movies - and the gameplay just works. A polished diamond.
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 105 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Mixed: 0 out of 105
  2. Negative: 0 out of 105
  1. 100
    Spread across twenty-six chapters is a story as playful and worthwhile as the gameplay.
  2. Graphically stunning, Uncharted 2: Among Thieves is, first of all, an interactive adventure, one that feels like a movie and even has a storyline of a movie. Most gameplay situations have been tailored in order to stun the player with originality and identification, and the end result is absolutely amazing.
  3. Among Thieves is all about constant movement. And even movement on top of movement. It grabbed me from the beginning and didn't let go for twelve hours. Once I finished, all I could think about was playing it again. More than a defining game for the PS3, Uncharted 2 is a defining game of this console generation.