Uncharted 2: Among Thieves PlayStation 3

  • Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Oct 13, 2009
User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 5429 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 14, 2017
    5
    Techniquement, c'est un véritable tour de force : encore plus beau qu'Uncharted 1, un régal ! La mise en scène est aussi spectaculaire que le scénario qui se perd en improbables rebondissements et le ré-équilibrage entre bastons et plate-forme est un succès, contrairement au premier qui privilégiait trop l'action.

    Hélas, c'est aussi un long couloir scripté jusqu'à la nausée avec encore
    Techniquement, c'est un véritable tour de force : encore plus beau qu'Uncharted 1, un régal ! La mise en scène est aussi spectaculaire que le scénario qui se perd en improbables rebondissements et le ré-équilibrage entre bastons et plate-forme est un succès, contrairement au premier qui privilégiait trop l'action.

    Hélas, c'est aussi un long couloir scripté jusqu'à la nausée avec encore trop de QTE à la con ici et là, ce qui me fait préférer le premier très scripté lui aussi mais qui donnait un peu moins l'impression de jouer à un film interactif. Trop de séquences hollywoodiennes qui en mettent plein les yeux sans aucune liberté d'action, trop de rails... pourtant le niveau du train (!) est prodigieux. Mais c'est une exception. A vouloir trop en faire, Naughty Dog s'est un peu perdu en route.
    Expand
  2. Apr 10, 2012
    7
    Uncharted 2: Among Thieves is a very solid adventure game with stunning graphics. Lots of people seem to think that this is one of the best games of all time. I'm not one of them. Uncharted 2 was fun, but I did not think it to be exceptional. There were times in the game when I became frustrated. This frustration wasn't born from the game's difficulty but from it's design. The seeminglyUncharted 2: Among Thieves is a very solid adventure game with stunning graphics. Lots of people seem to think that this is one of the best games of all time. I'm not one of them. Uncharted 2 was fun, but I did not think it to be exceptional. There were times in the game when I became frustrated. This frustration wasn't born from the game's difficulty but from it's design. The seemingly endless hoards of enemies that frequently attack you feels quite like, well, a 'hoard' mode. It feels basic and tacky. The climbing also seems fairly rudimentary and limited when compared to something like Assassin's Creed. I don't mean to savage the game too much, though, as it does have some very strong elements. The script is descent and the acting is very strong. It makes for a compelling reason to finish the game, even when the gameplay isn't pulling it's weight. The graphics can sometimes dazzle and create truly special moments, such as climbing up high and catching the sight of a spectacular vista. In the end, I felt Uncharted was a solid game that was worth playing... But it didn't meet my expectations for "The Best Game Ever". Expand
  3. May 15, 2015
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I do not have to say anything more. But i need to write one hundred and fifty characters. i think my score can describe it............................ Expand
  4. Dec 13, 2013
    7
    The 'special' sequences lift this game to something extraordinary. Shooting has improved since 1, because opponents are less cartoony and just less irritating, more realistic. The color palette has widened a lot in Uncharted 1, it was lots of green and grey, jungle and temples. In this game, there are just lots of colors, truly varied locations/scenarios, a lot more happening on screen.The 'special' sequences lift this game to something extraordinary. Shooting has improved since 1, because opponents are less cartoony and just less irritating, more realistic. The color palette has widened a lot in Uncharted 1, it was lots of green and grey, jungle and temples. In this game, there are just lots of colors, truly varied locations/scenarios, a lot more happening on screen. It still takes the player from A to B and asks few questions of any kind, but there is so much spectacle you can't call it a bad time. The middle section of the game is amazing. The last hour is a bit lackluster, when the game really tests your concentration by spamming enemies so the tempo slows down and you get a bit bored, but even the most difficult parts should be manageable in a few tries on easy mode. All in all, I finished single player in around 10 hours. It left me satisfied, and feeling like I'd just been on a long roller coaster ride. I would have liked more (elaborate) puzzles, more ingenuity, wider use of the physics so impressively mastered in some sequences. It's also soo easy for a seasoned gamer like me to pick out the 'inspirations' for the game. It's all seen before. Whether in Tomb Raider, Gears of War, etc etc. I didn't get very immersed or involved in the story either, since the gameplay had little to do with the plot and I felt like Nathan Drake was a monster rather than a hero... it was like "plot in a clip, pause clip/plot to have meaningless violence or simple navigation, then further plot, then pause". Not very creative in terms of pushing the medium's mechanics forward. Expand
  5. Jan 23, 2015
    6
    While I still prefer the original Uncharted, this is pretty impressive sequel. Uncharted 1 had a nice personal charm of Indiana Jones wannabe, it felt more compact with it's story, locations. Uncharted 2 tries to do more, be bigger, change locations completely, but it lacks a bit of that personal magic from Uncharted 1. It's definitely a visual upgrade, but other than that it's basicallyWhile I still prefer the original Uncharted, this is pretty impressive sequel. Uncharted 1 had a nice personal charm of Indiana Jones wannabe, it felt more compact with it's story, locations. Uncharted 2 tries to do more, be bigger, change locations completely, but it lacks a bit of that personal magic from Uncharted 1. It's definitely a visual upgrade, but other than that it's basically more of the same set in different locations. Game mechanics are still nothing to write home about, overly used shooting sections are once again quite annoying and overused, but most importantly it often doesn't even make sense. They are somewhere high in the tops of Himalayas and of course that the bad guys suddenly have their own army there, hundreds of jeeps, tanks, hordes of enemies coming out of nowhere and in their lead is typical over the top very tough muscular bad guy with Russian or whatever accent. I said that before, but Uncharted should really calm down, stop trying to be bombastic shooting fest and focus more on the adventure and exploration. Because when it comes to that, to story, characters, location exploration, treasure hunting, that's when I have fun. Maybe a bit more open world and less linearity would help. Looking forward to other chapters. 6/10 Expand
  6. Dec 19, 2013
    7
    One of the most beautiful games I've ever seen. The gameplay is almost perfect. It's fun, but I find it hard to be able to follow the storyline somehow. I can't put my finger on it. The thing is, besides being technically perfect, this is just a standard third person shooter. There is absolutely nothing original here. It's probably just me, but the game doesn't really touch me, it's just aOne of the most beautiful games I've ever seen. The gameplay is almost perfect. It's fun, but I find it hard to be able to follow the storyline somehow. I can't put my finger on it. The thing is, besides being technically perfect, this is just a standard third person shooter. There is absolutely nothing original here. It's probably just me, but the game doesn't really touch me, it's just a very well made shooter, there's no angle, nothing new or original, nothing to draw me in.
    For some reason this game gets better reviews then the first one. I don't understand why, not much has changed.
    Expand
  7. Jul 28, 2013
    7
    It is better then its prequel but still nothing outstanding. Some scenes really seem to be from an action movie, but it struggles to maintain the cinema feeling. Design is awesome, shamballa really looks beautiful and also the soundtrack succeds.
  8. Dec 6, 2015
    7
    Its really sad that this was the best PS3 game of 2009. This game lets you run through corridors while your character takes subtle cues from your input and auto-performs many actions. The danger and feeling of control is not really felt as scripted events trigger. This game emulates stealth tactics from Metal Gear and climbing from Prince of Persia. It is not as satisfying to take outIts really sad that this was the best PS3 game of 2009. This game lets you run through corridors while your character takes subtle cues from your input and auto-performs many actions. The danger and feeling of control is not really felt as scripted events trigger. This game emulates stealth tactics from Metal Gear and climbing from Prince of Persia. It is not as satisfying to take out enemies because your weopons and the AI are not as refined as other games that are already in existence. The resolution of the textures, audio, and voice acting are pretty good. I still prefer any of the Tomb Raider games over this. The Uncharted series is super corny and shows how dumbed down PS3 games became. Expand
  9. Jul 5, 2013
    7
    What to say? After 1st part I expected awesomeness! Got good game, but worse than first part. Game is totally polished with great graphics, sound, cutscenes, but gameplay from 1st part awesome become shooting gallery. It's almost survival gameplay. Further, while some parts are technically PERFECT their gameplay is concurrent for most boring gameplay of all times (referring to train partWhat to say? After 1st part I expected awesomeness! Got good game, but worse than first part. Game is totally polished with great graphics, sound, cutscenes, but gameplay from 1st part awesome become shooting gallery. It's almost survival gameplay. Further, while some parts are technically PERFECT their gameplay is concurrent for most boring gameplay of all times (referring to train part of the game). Overall good game with almost no story. Only shooting. Expand
  10. May 2, 2014
    5
    Save yourself some cash and watch an Indiana Jones movie while holding a controller. Any one of them will do, even that turd with Shia LeBeouf. You will get better story, characters and gameplay. Plus you'll save yourself about 10 hours you can sink into something more fun, like staring at a wall. If it's on VHS Uncharted may have it in the graphics department, but that is about it.
  11. Feb 23, 2011
    6
    i know right? a 6 breez? a freaking 6? yup dawg a 6....snatch my manhood card for a week...ban me from my ps3...a very overrated, BORING, dull, experience... i fell to see the interest in this game... technically its a masterpiece, i understand most enjoy it. just not me... i'm having trouble concentrating on it...because i just don't care about nathan drake or his dull adventure. LARA CROFT!
  12. Apr 2, 2012
    7
    Plays like an action movie, which is kind of cool but at the same time kind of problematic. The set-pieces are fantastic and the locales and graphics are finely crafted and detailed. The cut-scenes are some of the best in games but then... there is the gameplay. The thing that makes this, you know, a game. Combat is fairly one-note, predictable and overall not that fun. PlatformingPlays like an action movie, which is kind of cool but at the same time kind of problematic. The set-pieces are fantastic and the locales and graphics are finely crafted and detailed. The cut-scenes are some of the best in games but then... there is the gameplay. The thing that makes this, you know, a game. Combat is fairly one-note, predictable and overall not that fun. Platforming sections are okay, some more enjoyable than others. I feel like this game puts story ahead of gameplay, and the game suffers as a result of this. Still great to look at though. Expand
  13. Jun 28, 2012
    5
    The original was fun in many ways. This one is visually just as impressive if not better. Also, the Tomb Raider 2 influences are definitely present (Daggers, Tibet, etc) though that is a good thing. Honestly, this game doesn't really do me in. I feel liked I had more fun with the original. I see some notable improvements in this one over the original, but really it feels like the sameThe original was fun in many ways. This one is visually just as impressive if not better. Also, the Tomb Raider 2 influences are definitely present (Daggers, Tibet, etc) though that is a good thing. Honestly, this game doesn't really do me in. I feel liked I had more fun with the original. I see some notable improvements in this one over the original, but really it feels like the same game. It's not a bad one, but I'm not into basic platforming games and heavy emphasis on shooting. Expand
  14. Feb 9, 2015
    5
    One of the best games ever? Good shooting? Good story? Great Characters? This is what I had been promised with all the talk of this game I'd heard. Was any of it true? No....none of it. For starters the shooting is completely stupid. It feels like your aim is sliding on ice, and it feels pointlessly hard to line up your shots. The story? wtf? You know what I really compare this to.One of the best games ever? Good shooting? Good story? Great Characters? This is what I had been promised with all the talk of this game I'd heard. Was any of it true? No....none of it. For starters the shooting is completely stupid. It feels like your aim is sliding on ice, and it feels pointlessly hard to line up your shots. The story? wtf? You know what I really compare this to. National Treasure. The story has about as much build up. Woo~ Treasure hunting. Woo~ Random Terrorist that has nothing to do with my character personally and I see maybe a total of three times before I fight him. Other than Drake himself, I hate most all of the characters in this game. None of them are interesting or none stereotypical. And completely screw the enemies. You see a total of ONE type of enemy through the whole game. They don't even change in looks, like, at all. They **** suck. Taking several assault rifles clips straight to the face and STILL not dying.The game looks alright, if it was a lunch title than its forgivable. The amount of constraint this game puts on you is complete garbage. Oh, you want to jump down those four feet? **** you. You die, do it the way WE want you to, or not at all. This game is a painfully average third person shooter, with no real polish or over all, is simply outdated by the times. One of the best games ever MY ASS. Expand
  15. Aug 29, 2017
    7
    Uncharted 2: Among Thieves is great action game that can be enjoyed by all. Uncharted 2 is one of the most critically acclaimed games of all time which I can see why but I believe that it is not the best in the series. Uncharted 2 had made many graphical improvements since the first entry but graphically it won’t earn any rewards by today’s standards. The game does feature breathtakingUncharted 2: Among Thieves is great action game that can be enjoyed by all. Uncharted 2 is one of the most critically acclaimed games of all time which I can see why but I believe that it is not the best in the series. Uncharted 2 had made many graphical improvements since the first entry but graphically it won’t earn any rewards by today’s standards. The game does feature breathtaking environments that look quite impressive for how old the game is. The game also has a variety of settings from a jungle and city environments to the the snowy peaks of the Himalayan mountains. Sadly, The characters models still look cartoony and fake. There are also frequent blurry textures and basic models throughout the environment that show that the game has aged a lot. Uncharted 2 tells a basic but well acted story about the main character Nathan Drake returning on a new quest to find the ancient city of Shambala. The returning characters of Nathan Drake, Victor Sullivan and Elena Fisher are even more funny and well acted than the previous game. The game also features some new great characters that add to the entertaining witty banter between characters. I wish more could be done with the story but it is overall fine. Uncharted 2 just like the previous game is a 3rd person shooter where the player will fight enemies, solve puzzles, and do some platforming. The gunplay is great and has more impact than the previous one and features some great action set pieces. The biggest improvement Uncharted 2 has made to the original is the improved platforming. The platforming is now no longer stiff and clunky. Uncharted 2 does a lot right but I feel it is not a perfect game and lacks the polish that 4th game has. Uncharted 2: Among Thieves is an enjoyable game that doesn’t bring anything new to the table but it is still a lot of fun.

    7/10: Good
    Expand
  16. Jan 2, 2013
    7
    Overall, i think the game is pretty excited and love the storyline. Some humor in the game, little things that i enjoy. However, i took away a few scores is because the game is very simmilar to the first 1 and is ethier find another way around or sh*t lodes of people to shoot. And some of the things doesnt make sense, punching actually will do more damage then a AK47 or a shotgun?Overall, i think the game is pretty excited and love the storyline. Some humor in the game, little things that i enjoy. However, i took away a few scores is because the game is very simmilar to the first 1 and is ethier find another way around or sh*t lodes of people to shoot. And some of the things doesnt make sense, punching actually will do more damage then a AK47 or a shotgun? Ya...think about that. Jumping off a place where its only 10 feet tall and u die, doesnt make sense!! (other mission u jump like 20 feet :O)Also, it always give me hints when i dont need them(i know u can turn it off though :P) when i need them, they dont give me. So i think it will be better if u want some hints, press a button then its there, will be the best option. (too complicate to understand?) Expand
  17. May 3, 2017
    6
    Much better than the first, but it has pacing issues. I didn't care about the game until about 4-5 hours in, which is nearly half of the game. I hope 3 has better pacing.
  18. Jun 20, 2013
    7
    Uncharted 2 is a fun game, but it is one of those games that just doesn't have much value. The production quality is great, with very nice graphics, however the gameplay isn't always the best. There are a few reasons the gameplay isn't great for me. First of all, the gunplay isn't the best. Most of the time it just gets repetitive and boring. Second of all, there is no replayability toUncharted 2 is a fun game, but it is one of those games that just doesn't have much value. The production quality is great, with very nice graphics, however the gameplay isn't always the best. There are a few reasons the gameplay isn't great for me. First of all, the gunplay isn't the best. Most of the time it just gets repetitive and boring. Second of all, there is no replayability to this game, I played it once and I was done with the game. If you enjoy the multiplayer then the game will have more value for you. The story is fun and it feels like an Indiana Jones movie, but once you know what happens the draw to play the game is gone. Definitely a game to rent and beat as quickly as you can. Expand
  19. Mar 5, 2011
    7
    I think the best way to summarize Uncharted 2 in two words it would be ''popcorn game''.
    Uncharted 2 is one of those games that are really fun and epic but don't do much more then that. I'ts fun shooting tons of enemies and Uncharted 2 makes sure that you will shoot as many as possible. The problem is that the game doesn't do much to be original or add anything beyond that, just like the
    I think the best way to summarize Uncharted 2 in two words it would be ''popcorn game''.
    Uncharted 2 is one of those games that are really fun and epic but don't do much more then that. I'ts fun shooting tons of enemies and Uncharted 2 makes sure that you will shoot as many as possible. The problem is that the game doesn't do much to be original or add anything beyond that, just like the first uncharted. The story is ridiculous. The characters are nothing less then stereotypes, and the humor as simple and somewhat retarded. There are also millions of times where Drake and his friends were supposed to die and somehow they survive. Drake is apperantly inhuman since he can climb any small crany in the wall and jump ridiculous distances or catching a ledge at the last secong( for the gazillionth time). It's as if the Naughty dog did it on purpose that the ''platforming'' sequences will be this laughable. The game also has puzzles which test nothing else then your ability of sight( matching colors with status and such, really simple and slightly retarded stuff) so these aren't really puzzles. Putting the **** stuff aside the game is a blast and i mean it. The shooting elements in the game are far better then the platforming ones and are really the best thing about it. It's a 10 hour rollercoaster of fun shooting and it also has multiplayer which is nice. For all that it's worth the game is worth a ride for shooters fans. People who love platforming games( such as mario, sly, ratchet etc) will be really disappointed with the platforming elements in this game. In the end it's a solid shooter that's worth a mention but I have no idea why did it outhype Jesus with so many AAAAAAAA scores.
    Expand
  20. Jun 10, 2012
    5
    If you're staggered by an explosion, enemies can shoot you, even if your character is clearly in cover. The melee combat is flawed, with no real way to exit combat, or cancel into other moves like the previous 2 games. There are times where the game feels like it's just throwing enemies at you for the sake of making it more difficult, only to have it be incredibly annoying.
  21. Oct 14, 2011
    5
    Unlike the original Uncharted, that had a simple interesing story taking you through a short game that had spectacular visuals and "good" gameplay... the guys at naughty dog thought they could re do the entire game and make it better by just making it bigger longer and... well... prettier. to be honest. this game did not work for me. halfway through i was tired of shooting soldiers... likeUnlike the original Uncharted, that had a simple interesing story taking you through a short game that had spectacular visuals and "good" gameplay... the guys at naughty dog thought they could re do the entire game and make it better by just making it bigger longer and... well... prettier. to be honest. this game did not work for me. halfway through i was tired of shooting soldiers... like seriously how many can there be, I did not care about the story... kinda forgot what the hell i was doing anyway. not a great game. totally overrated. Expand
  22. Sep 5, 2012
    6
    A great adventure movie but a terrible "game". The aspects of Uncharted 2 that have nothing to do with gameplay are so good that I withstood 7 hours of pure gameplay misery to see them to completion. I once read a gaming article that said if your game in prototype form is not fun to just walk around, then your game is not going to be fun. The gamer-avatar connection in Uncharted 2, as withA great adventure movie but a terrible "game". The aspects of Uncharted 2 that have nothing to do with gameplay are so good that I withstood 7 hours of pure gameplay misery to see them to completion. I once read a gaming article that said if your game in prototype form is not fun to just walk around, then your game is not going to be fun. The gamer-avatar connection in Uncharted 2, as with Uncharted 1, is simply broken. The movement system (both on foot and on walls) is imprecise, sluggish, and unpredictable. It causes me mental pain to play this game because your avatar, Drake, will not do what you want. It's the same sort of mental pain when you write with your non-dominant hand. This is not a function of games in general, because I re-played some Mass Effect 2 to see if I was crazy, and it felt incredibly responsive, precise, and predictable. Guess what I'm doing for Uncharted 3? I'll watch a video of it. I will get all the good parts with none of the misery. What are the good parts? Anything that is unrelated to gameplay: the one-liner writing, art assets (some of the best texturing I've ever seen), lighting, vistas, sense of adventure, outstanding music, etc. I will never buy another Naughty Dog (the developer) game without renting it first. Expand
  23. Dec 10, 2014
    6
    Greatly improves but under performs in key moments. Has an interesting cast , story, gameplay, immersion and all that is much appreciated. The game glitches hard a lot atleast on my ps3 but it doesn't take me away from the moment
  24. Dec 12, 2013
    5
    Perhaps if I had played it back in 2009 I would have given it a better score, but it's 2013 and after playing Tomb Raider on PC with 3D Vision and Full HD, Uncharted 2 on PS3 seems just mediocre. I loved various scenery, the plot was ok, but repeatable tasks like giving someone a boost or climbing, which is not half as enjoyable as in Assassin's Creed series, make this game a bore. IPerhaps if I had played it back in 2009 I would have given it a better score, but it's 2013 and after playing Tomb Raider on PC with 3D Vision and Full HD, Uncharted 2 on PS3 seems just mediocre. I loved various scenery, the plot was ok, but repeatable tasks like giving someone a boost or climbing, which is not half as enjoyable as in Assassin's Creed series, make this game a bore. I would have enjoyed it more if it had been shorter and published on PC with mouse support.
    All in all, I regret buying it and I will definitely skip the next part.
    Expand
  25. Jul 11, 2014
    6
    This game was really very poor compared to Uncharted 1 and Uncharted 3 - which were great. The locations in this game are dull and boring, and the story is poorly written, probably because Sully is more or less not in the game.
    The free-running really sucks in this particular game, and combat is very unrealistic.
  26. Jan 15, 2014
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Uncharted 2 does a great homage for the most popular action-adventure films out there like the Indiana Jones movies. The cinematics are very well done, with tons of detail on the graphics, great music score (especially the Main Theme) and great characters that made up this game. Unlike The Last of Us, where the pace is extremely slow, this game has a ton of action, involving shooting, fist fights and parkour, all blended in with explosions and funny humor, including some puzzle solving. Unfortunately, there are some things that break immersion: it seems more plot driven than character driven, as I felt that there was almost no moment where I feel a connection with the characters, not even Nathan Drake himself. There are moments in the story that made no sense, and Chloe Frazer, Nathan´s new girlfriend, was highly unlikable, because even though I don´t have problem with people who are just themselves, she has an unstable change of personality: she´s good, she´s bad, she´s good, she´s bad, for no apparent reason! Also, in the gameplay, there´s an excessive amount of enemies, and I find it illogical: it seemed that Lazaravich, the antagonist, who is considered to be a major criminal who kills, mutilates and disrupts innocent people, had the entire Russian Army with him. And while the shooting mechanics gets the job done, the melee combat was highly ineffective, as Nathan is somewhat slow to land a single hit. But the biggest flaw is the fact that Nathan kills a thousand enemies like some sort of killing machine, and that may detract the player from the experience. And where the hell is Victor Sullivan?! I think he was the funniest of all the characters here, with the most awesome voice so far, and he doesn´t appear a lot in the game! For the rest of the game, I enjoyed it a lot, especially the boarding train sequence, as it shows a great example of how Naughty Dog handles its technology for epicness. The multiplayer is a ton of fun, and I played a lot of competitive matches. Now, even with the excessive waves and waves of enemies, I found it to be a decent experience overall. Expand
  27. Aug 27, 2015
    7
    Uncharted 2 is probably my highest disappointment with PS3. It is a good game. It is beautiful, it sounds good and lasts long enough. However, it did not make it to my top 5 of Playstation 3 exclusives.

    The problem is, just like in the first game of the series, the gameplay. Hours and hours of repetitive shooting with mediocre controls make this game way less interesting than it could
    Uncharted 2 is probably my highest disappointment with PS3. It is a good game. It is beautiful, it sounds good and lasts long enough. However, it did not make it to my top 5 of Playstation 3 exclusives.

    The problem is, just like in the first game of the series, the gameplay. Hours and hours of repetitive shooting with mediocre controls make this game way less interesting than it could have been. It is very cinematic, but many situations are predictable and annoying. All missions can be summed up as follows: Nathan discovers some great place, explores it, solves the puzzle, and... Suddenly, hundreds of enemies - who, apparently, were waiting for you to solve it - enter the place and start shooting at you.
    And, again like in the previous game of the series, enemies (who are just wearing a T-shirt) need 4-5 rifle bullets to die, which is not credible. There are other ways of making the game more difficult, Naughty Dog...

    However, the graphics are amazing and the exploration gained importance in Uncharted 2 with respect to Uncharted 1, and this is a good direction to follow. If the shooting gameplay was great, or just good, this game would have been way better.
    Expand
  28. Dec 13, 2013
    5
    I feel as though I've missed something. While the production values of the game were certainly stunning, the gameplay and narrative seemed very stale and uninspiring. Both the platforming and the shooting mechanics felt clunky and stiff. Also, having played open world climbing platformers like Assassin's Creed it was a real bummer to see how linear the game's environments were. TheI feel as though I've missed something. While the production values of the game were certainly stunning, the gameplay and narrative seemed very stale and uninspiring. Both the platforming and the shooting mechanics felt clunky and stiff. Also, having played open world climbing platformers like Assassin's Creed it was a real bummer to see how linear the game's environments were. The developers built only a single path through every level making for a very predictable and frankly boring experience. Honestly, I don't really understand what all the fuss is about. Also, it has one of the most disappointing and horribly annoying boss fights in video game history. This game has made me very hesitant to play The Last of Us. Expand
  29. Jul 9, 2015
    7
    Mediocre with highs and lows and slightly entertaining.

    First things first. This is not an adventure game, this is a third person shooter in each and every aspect. The fact that it has many clunky climbing sections and "puzzles" that couldn't pose a challenge even to a braindead monkey is just an insult to the great games of this genre from which Uncharted tries to get inspiration,
    Mediocre with highs and lows and slightly entertaining.

    First things first. This is not an adventure game, this is a third person shooter in each and every aspect. The fact that it has many clunky climbing sections and "puzzles" that couldn't pose a challenge even to a braindead monkey is just an insult to the great games of this genre from which Uncharted tries to get inspiration, namely: Tomb Raider before the reboots, and Prince of Persia.
    This is a game that tries to give a lot but ends up delivering a dull and linear experience. The main problem with it is that despite the look of the maps, the game is linear and has a single path. It also frustrates your efforts in playing it more stealthy or strategically by flooding the areas with endless amounts of enemies.
    Though it is a major improvement compared to the first game it's still pretty lacking.

    PROS:
    - Pretty visuals, varied and nice looking environments
    - Balanced weapons(which was a big con in the first one)
    - Fairly long
    - Incredibly cliché but entertaining story
    - Likable characters
    - If you can bother shooting hordes of enemies over and over it's a fairly fun shooter
    - The two stealthy levels were actually good, but the game can't be played all like that

    CONS:
    - If you're looking for an adventure game this is 80% shooting
    - Clunky climbing/jumping controls
    - Artificially extended longevity via really slow trivial animations, need to wait for other characters, wounded Drake walking incredibly slow and stopping for every wind-blow ever, enemies spawning out of empty rooms just to block your path
    - No brainer puzzles
    - Linear maps
    - Many cliches
    - Good shooting dragged down by terrible cover system
    - Pretty maps with bad level design
    - Terribly exposed invisible walls( for example to the right of the temple behind the gunner)
    - No logic behind climbable objects, just the ones the developers chose

    Overall, not a bad game but mediocre to the point that I didn't want to play it again and I probably never will.
    6.5/10
    Expand
  30. Nov 4, 2011
    6
    The most overrated game ever. After reading all the reviews, i had really high expectations.Yes the graphics were pretty, but the game itself was boring, and it repeated itself. The plot was like from a chinese copy of an indiana jones movie. It sucked. The gameplay and co-op were really good, and they pretty much saved the game. But still i cant really recommend it to anyone.
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 105 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Mixed: 0 out of 105
  2. Negative: 0 out of 105
  1. 100
    Spread across twenty-six chapters is a story as playful and worthwhile as the gameplay.
  2. Graphically stunning, Uncharted 2: Among Thieves is, first of all, an interactive adventure, one that feels like a movie and even has a storyline of a movie. Most gameplay situations have been tailored in order to stun the player with originality and identification, and the end result is absolutely amazing.
  3. Among Thieves is all about constant movement. And even movement on top of movement. It grabbed me from the beginning and didn't let go for twelve hours. Once I finished, all I could think about was playing it again. More than a defining game for the PS3, Uncharted 2 is a defining game of this console generation.