Uncharted 2: Among Thieves PlayStation 3

  • Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Oct 13, 2009
User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 5445 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. RachaelB
    Oct 15, 2009
    10
    I can't pick my jaw up off the floor! The visuals, gameplay and amount of action packed on the screen at the same time is simply a treat not to be missed! Plays very well and controls are intuitive and tight.
  2. DudeH
    Oct 15, 2009
    10
    Simply the best game this generation. It is 10/10 in gameplay, story, acting, graphics, and value. It is SUPERB. Everyone should pick this game up.
  3. NilsK.
    Oct 15, 2009
    10
    Yes, I do owe both an xbox and a ps3, and wether I would rather play games on my xbox due to less lags and an better controller: This Game is the best game I've played so far. I could spend just as much time describing how good this game is, as it took naughty dog to craft this holy grail of computer gaming. THIS IS A MILESTONE.
  4. paulj
    Oct 15, 2009
    10
    uncharted 2 is a great game one of the best games iv played this gen. uncharted 2 is a non-stop action platformer with twist and turns around every corner. the characters in the game are memorable and uncharted has action most blockbuster movies drool about. if you own a ps3 i suggest you get uncharted 2. its most definitely goty material.
  5. ZacharyD.
    Oct 16, 2009
    10
    When all is said and done, Uncharted 2: Among Thieves merits every single accolade it receives. It is a finely crafted milestone in sheer entertainment as a whole. Sporting a remarkable tale to tell, tight, responsive gameplay, and an endlessly intriguing multiplayer component all wrapped in gorgeous graphics, what reason is there to not own Uncharted 2? It offers everything a gamer When all is said and done, Uncharted 2: Among Thieves merits every single accolade it receives. It is a finely crafted milestone in sheer entertainment as a whole. Sporting a remarkable tale to tell, tight, responsive gameplay, and an endlessly intriguing multiplayer component all wrapped in gorgeous graphics, what reason is there to not own Uncharted 2? It offers everything a gamer wants. Forget Game of the Year. Forget the greatest game of all time. This is an unrivaled achievement in interactive entertainment. Expand
  6. KasperBergh
    Oct 16, 2009
    10
    Having just finished the game for the first time (got to do it on Crushing difficulty too), I can honestly say that this is the single best game I have ever played in the 20 years I've had a computer/console. The ONLY issue this game has is the cover system, which is sometimes annoying and can cause you to die and have to redo a fight. So consider this score a 9.99 rounded up to 10.
  7. AdamW
    Oct 17, 2009
    10
    Uncharted 2 is easily better than many Hollywood movies. I'm a big fan of the Indy films, and (dare I say it) even the Tomb Raider movies. But this blows them all out of the water. I don't know if it's the interactivity which games provide, or simply the immaculate presentation of the game, but it's just so much... MORE... than films provide. The opening chapter of Uncharted 2 is easily better than many Hollywood movies. I'm a big fan of the Indy films, and (dare I say it) even the Tomb Raider movies. But this blows them all out of the water. I don't know if it's the interactivity which games provide, or simply the immaculate presentation of the game, but it's just so much... MORE... than films provide. The opening chapter of Uncharted 2 is awesome - there really is no other word for it. And it just gets better and better as you play each chapter. The acting alone is better than you get in many movies these days, but added to that, the story is tight and well paced, the humour is subtle but never predictable, the action intense and occasionally exhausting. Uncharted 2 isn't simply a game - it's an EVENT, and one which every gamer owes it to themselves to experience. 'Epic' is a word that's thrown around way too much these days, but it's the only one which describes the game, and it's NOT an exaggeration. Expand
  8. HishamI
    Oct 17, 2009
    10
    This game is a perfect 10 and is my game of the year. The story is amazing and has the right mix of high-octane action with a little sensitivity that will amaze anyone that plays this game. This is a must buy and should be considered one of the greatest feats of gaming. Even though this game does nothing revolutionary it does everything us gamers have come to love right. The story alone This game is a perfect 10 and is my game of the year. The story is amazing and has the right mix of high-octane action with a little sensitivity that will amaze anyone that plays this game. This is a must buy and should be considered one of the greatest feats of gaming. Even though this game does nothing revolutionary it does everything us gamers have come to love right. The story alone would be enough for me and most gamers, but now with the addition of online it just cranks it up to a new level. I will admit that the online is no COD4, but it is highly addictive. This game deserves every award you can throw at it and more and this will be a game that will be cherished in the memories of any gamer that has even witnessed this masterpiece in action. Expand
  9. FionnF
    Oct 17, 2009
    10
    Best game I have ever played, and that is no exaggeration. This is the first game I can see myself playing time and time again (the campaign that is), apart from the original Uncharted. This came cost me $60, but I'd gladly pay 10 times that for this.
  10. SamuelA
    Oct 17, 2009
    10
    Excellent game, great graphics and enviroment and best story... Should recieve Game of Year, if Call of Duty Modern Warfare 2, dont give what is expected.
  11. DionD.
    Oct 17, 2009
    10
    Uncharted 2: Among Thieves was planned to be a great experience all along. People knew it was going to be great, and they knew the game would do good on all fronts... but not this good. Uncharted 2: Among Thieves has stunned me in every aspect of a game, whether it'd be with its vibrant graphics, fantastic art style, engaging gameplay, fun lasting appeal, or perhaps one of the best Uncharted 2: Among Thieves was planned to be a great experience all along. People knew it was going to be great, and they knew the game would do good on all fronts... but not this good. Uncharted 2: Among Thieves has stunned me in every aspect of a game, whether it'd be with its vibrant graphics, fantastic art style, engaging gameplay, fun lasting appeal, or perhaps one of the best stories of all time. I'd go as far as to say that this game is, overall, the best game I've ever played this generation so far! Expand
  12. timc
    Oct 18, 2009
    10
    One word. Epic. Great story. Dialogue is amazing. absolutly love the humor. Graphics WOW. Multiplayer is far better then many could of expected. If u dont own this game u are missing out on One of the years best games and possibly of all time
  13. bradd
    Oct 18, 2009
    10
    An absolutely EPIC game from start to finish. actually its more of a journey than a game. everything in it was perfect! IMO ;) by far the most stunning game this gen on any platform and i have all of them. this is a masterpiece. Naughty Dog really got it right with this one thats for sure. the visuals are stunning. the script and voice acting is amazing and the story reels you in like a An absolutely EPIC game from start to finish. actually its more of a journey than a game. everything in it was perfect! IMO ;) by far the most stunning game this gen on any platform and i have all of them. this is a masterpiece. Naughty Dog really got it right with this one thats for sure. the visuals are stunning. the script and voice acting is amazing and the story reels you in like a movie and makes you never want to put it down. i have never been a big RPG fan but this one has got me interested in the genre. although nothing can compare. this game deserves a 20/10! if you havent got this game get it! even if you have to buy a ps3 to play it. i guarantee it will not disappoint. sorry Kojima, naughty Dog have taken the throne. please hand in your crown and scepter peacefully. if this doesnt get GOTY then we know it's rigged! Expand
  14. GregorD
    Oct 18, 2009
    10
    If I could give this game 11/10 I would. It is simply amazing from opening to end. The cinematics feel is never broken and the new stealth aspect brings a new level of gameplay to the table. Put simply, if you have a PS3 then get this game, if you dont have a PS3 then get one and play this game ASAP. This is proof that Naughty Dog are one of, if not the best game developer of this If I could give this game 11/10 I would. It is simply amazing from opening to end. The cinematics feel is never broken and the new stealth aspect brings a new level of gameplay to the table. Put simply, if you have a PS3 then get this game, if you dont have a PS3 then get one and play this game ASAP. This is proof that Naughty Dog are one of, if not the best game developer of this generation. The graphics are incredible, the detail minute. Get this game now, you will not regret it, this is the PS3s killer game. Expand
  15. AlexS
    Oct 19, 2009
    10
    graphics aside, this game really delivers pure fun. The characters are funny, they action is intense, and I hope the ending will live up to the amazing material ive played through. Im 2 chapters away and I really don't want to be because that means the game will end. This game really is "that" good.
  16. Chasyboy
    Nov 9, 2009
    9
    Uncharted 2 starts off brilliant, very well done, great suspence, unexpected surprises around most corners, story is better than the original, which was also good. Straight into the action brilliant!! the way it should be. The enemies AI was much better than Killszone 2, which is one of the best around, the various enemies coming at you at the same time was awesome at times am sure Uncharted 2 starts off brilliant, very well done, great suspence, unexpected surprises around most corners, story is better than the original, which was also good. Straight into the action brilliant!! the way it should be. The enemies AI was much better than Killszone 2, which is one of the best around, the various enemies coming at you at the same time was awesome at times am sure you'll agree. I really enjoyed that side to this game. Headshot practice on a moving enemy is very hard, but such is what makes it a great game. On the other hand, what I thought was not so good was the yeti's who jumped around and never seemed to feel any the headshots I pumped into them, just smacking me around alot. The first game also had a crazy bit in it with alien type characters too which was strange and frustrating. The gunfights were tremendous at times, as were the train levels, with attacking helicoptors and bad guys everywhere. The chase scene up the mountains revealed some tremendous crashes and explosions. I sometimes was stalling just to take in the views lol. I, like most waited for this game for a long time and was mostly impressed by everything except until I was being chased around, the controls were harder to control, sometimes I was dying after jumping the wrong way to what I wanted Drake to jump? Was it just me or was it the same for you? The high mountain graphics were totally awesome, although better control of Drake during intense chase and fight scenes would be better than running into walls and unable to move, which happened to me on a couple of occassions. I would have given it a 10 if the close control of the character was more like Lara Croft games. Can't wait for the next instalment though if its anything like this, until then, see you online.... Expand
  17. SteveB
    Oct 19, 2009
    10
    Fantastic. I became greatly attached to the single player characters because of the deceptively simple interactions which bread true to life relationships. The multi-player game continues to draw me in as I want to keep getting that next carrot but as I'm playing each match I forget about the carrot and love the experience. It is a rare game to find a game that the grind is what Fantastic. I became greatly attached to the single player characters because of the deceptively simple interactions which bread true to life relationships. The multi-player game continues to draw me in as I want to keep getting that next carrot but as I'm playing each match I forget about the carrot and love the experience. It is a rare game to find a game that the grind is what keeps you going but doesn't feel as though you are ever grinding. A Must Play for All PS3 users! Expand
  18. cb
    Dec 11, 2009
    2
    Since I played Uncharted 1 I couldnt quit thinking about how great its sequel would be if they fixed the controls and added multiplayer. To my surprise, I thought the sequel was much worse. All you do in single player is climb. This game is broken. I have gotten to two spots in this game where i knew where to climb but the he could not grab the ledge. Both times I spent about 3 hours and Since I played Uncharted 1 I couldnt quit thinking about how great its sequel would be if they fixed the controls and added multiplayer. To my surprise, I thought the sequel was much worse. All you do in single player is climb. This game is broken. I have gotten to two spots in this game where i knew where to climb but the he could not grab the ledge. Both times I spent about 3 hours and died over a 100 times because he would not recognize the ledge to grab. At another point i was supposed to put a dagger into a statue. Well the game never gave me the option to. The triangle button never came up when I was at the statue. I blew about three hours trying to figure out what to do. Finally, all the sudden a cut scene came on that never came on before and it allowed me to put the dagger in. Simply climbing in this game is a major chore. I tried my hardest to finish this game. But I cant beat a broken game. There is so little action in this game. And when you finally get to some, it to is very frustrating. Cut scenes and bad controls ruin the action. At one point I walked up to the boss and shot bullets directly into his head yet it didnt hurt him, and he killed me. But the next time a cut scene happened (why didnt the cut scene occur the first time) and we got into a fight and a simple punch killed him. The action in this game feels forced, manipulative, and buggy. As far as multiplayer goes, it isnt much better. I liked Gears 2 alot, so I couldnt wait for this game because I thought it would be a faster paced version of Gears 2 with the ability to respawn in multiplayer. But its frustrating and felt tacked on. The load times are long. The menus are confusing. And I cant figure out how to switch modes. How do you get into free for all deathmatch? How do you alter your character? Couldnt figure out how co-op worked. When trying to upgrade what does upgrade co-op guns mean? Does it not effect your gun in deathmatch? Overall, I thought Uncharted 2 is possibly the most frustrating game ive ever played. It could have been so good if they would have finished the game and fixed the controls, camera, melee, mulitiplayer, and gave it some of the nice touces of Gears 2 or the new COD, to show they actually care and werent trying to rush it out before the game was finished. If you want a better 3rd person shooter, its not even close, go with Gears 2 or the new Ratchet and clank game. Expand
  19. michaelk.
    Oct 21, 2009
    10
    Wow this could be the best game i've played this year its a none stop rollercoster of fantastic set pieces and after compleating it i had to jump right back into the story to exparience these amazing scenes again. the graphics really are a standout feature of and testify what can happen when a developer has the time passion and budget to apply towards improving what was already a Wow this could be the best game i've played this year its a none stop rollercoster of fantastic set pieces and after compleating it i had to jump right back into the story to exparience these amazing scenes again. the graphics really are a standout feature of and testify what can happen when a developer has the time passion and budget to apply towards improving what was already a pretty game in drakes fortune, more thane once i had to stop playing to look around at my inviroment and gasp at the level of detail desplayed everywhere. the multi player is also fantastic despite the long wait in the lobbies its great to get into a competative game and use the skills you honed in the single player to dominate other people around the world (or just get blown away like me) in all this game is the very definition of epic and i have no hesitation putting my name next to the 10 i voted for it but now i have to go away there's a temple in napal that needs investigating. Expand
  20. WoW,THisgamereallyRox!
    Dec 10, 2009
    10
    Hey! Ok, Uncharted 2 is one of the games that you won't forget in the rest of your life, this game is just perfect, since the storyline to the voice-acting, passing trough the gameplay, wich must be 9.9 (only a minor bug in the cover system, that is quite annoying doesnt make gameplay get a 10). Voice-Acting is spectacular, animations are fluid, graphics are unbeleiveble, story is Hey! Ok, Uncharted 2 is one of the games that you won't forget in the rest of your life, this game is just perfect, since the storyline to the voice-acting, passing trough the gameplay, wich must be 9.9 (only a minor bug in the cover system, that is quite annoying doesnt make gameplay get a 10). Voice-Acting is spectacular, animations are fluid, graphics are unbeleiveble, story is great, gameplay is 9.9/10, what else can i say? The game is perfect, GOTY 2009 for me, for sure, and probably GOTCentury, Naughty Dog, did another great job, Uncharted 1 was my favourite game to the date, now it lost the place, for it's sequel. BUY THIS GAME! Expand
  21. Kenny
    Dec 10, 2009
    10
    One of the best single player experience I have ever had with a game. They completely blew me away with this game. The first one was good but this was Great! Felt like a high budget Hollywood movie but as a game. They way the characters reacted with each other felt real. This game is gonna be one for the records. Have to give it to Sony for finally having a winner on there hands. Wish One of the best single player experience I have ever had with a game. They completely blew me away with this game. The first one was good but this was Great! Felt like a high budget Hollywood movie but as a game. They way the characters reacted with each other felt real. This game is gonna be one for the records. Have to give it to Sony for finally having a winner on there hands. Wish they had more exclusives like this. Expand
  22. JohnF.
    Oct 21, 2009
    10
    No fanboy here -- I own all three consoles plus play on the PC, and this is my favorite game of the current console generation so far. It's not perfect; I give it a 9.75 rounded up to ten for this site -- it has some issues with glitches and freezes that you will notice more and more if you put a lot of time into the game, and it feels at times like it lacks originality. But this No fanboy here -- I own all three consoles plus play on the PC, and this is my favorite game of the current console generation so far. It's not perfect; I give it a 9.75 rounded up to ten for this site -- it has some issues with glitches and freezes that you will notice more and more if you put a lot of time into the game, and it feels at times like it lacks originality. But this game is the real deal. It's not often that a game comes out that almost everyone can agree is great, but this is one of them. The game does everything at a high level, from combat to multiplayer to graphics to voice acting to music. Many people have played through this game only to immediately start over and play it again because they don't want to stop playing. It is the closest thing right now you can get to actually feeling like you are on an Indiana Jones-like adventure right in your own home. If you have an interest in video games, you need to get your hands on this game and play it. It's that simple. Expand
  23. MikeC
    Oct 21, 2009
    10
    It's an amazing game and does almost everything perfect. I played the game for 9 hours straight to beat the single player on hard and then went through it again on crushing the next day. This is truly a title that should not be missed. zgo buy it now and gasp at the jaw dropping graphics, thrilling action sequenses and the addciting online modes full with co-op, competitive, and It's an amazing game and does almost everything perfect. I played the game for 9 hours straight to beat the single player on hard and then went through it again on crushing the next day. This is truly a title that should not be missed. zgo buy it now and gasp at the jaw dropping graphics, thrilling action sequenses and the addciting online modes full with co-op, competitive, and machinama mode to create your own movies. Expand
  24. alibaba
    Oct 21, 2009
    10
    If you're looking for an entertaining ride, look no further! uncharted 2 is probably one of the best games I've played in my 22 years of gaming. i'm tired of hearing people talk about the scoring system and all that nonsense about the game not being perfect. look if a game grabs you, puts a smile on your face and doesn't let you put the controller down then the game If you're looking for an entertaining ride, look no further! uncharted 2 is probably one of the best games I've played in my 22 years of gaming. i'm tired of hearing people talk about the scoring system and all that nonsense about the game not being perfect. look if a game grabs you, puts a smile on your face and doesn't let you put the controller down then the game deserves a 10. I give it a ten even though i found minor glitches and bugs here and there but overall the experience was amazing and that's what should count with games. Expand
  25. RayanG
    Oct 21, 2009
    10
    Outstanding! The best PS3 game I've played. I'm a recent PS3 owner waiting for a reason to buy one. I'm glad I did, because the Slim is great and Uncharted is undoubtly the best game I've played this generation. No, it's not perfect, but it's the closest thing I've seen to a perfect game since Ocarina of Time (no kidding). The Xbox 360 is still my best Outstanding! The best PS3 game I've played. I'm a recent PS3 owner waiting for a reason to buy one. I'm glad I did, because the Slim is great and Uncharted is undoubtly the best game I've played this generation. No, it's not perfect, but it's the closest thing I've seen to a perfect game since Ocarina of Time (no kidding). The Xbox 360 is still my best system overall, but Uncharted obliterates every 360 game. I'm glad I have both systems. Shame on so-called harcoregamers that don't have both systems and have the money to do so. Uncharted is cinematic, the script rivals Indiana Jones and National Treasure, the graphics are the best this generation. The only bad thing is that I cannot play this game with my 360 controller which I believe is superior in feel. Nonetheless Uncharted 2 is one of the best games I've played along with Ocarina of Time, GTA, MGS 4, Mario Galaxy, Half-Life 2, GoldenEye, Call of Duty 4, Gears of War, Halo, Little Big Planet, Fallout 3 and Wii Sports. Uncharted blasts all of them off the water, with the exception of Zelda (maybe). So yes, its worth the money. Expand
  26. kj
    Dec 12, 2009
    10
    is b t joking?.... i think he is trying to imitate Sol T for being a fanboy... no one could possibly have that much trouble without being mentally disabled...... this game is absolutuly amazing in everyway (i play it more than cod, and i am a cod junkie)
  27. JackSparrow
    Dec 12, 2009
    10
    Plain and simple, this is the game we have all been waiting for.........game of the decade! From graphics to platforming, this is as good as it gets.
  28. TylerD
    Dec 13, 2009
    10
    Amazing. I played through the game three times in a row, and it never got boring for me. If you have a ps3, you must buy this game. If you do not have a ps3, you must buy a ps3, and then buy this game.
  29. IceTea
    Dec 14, 2009
    10
    You might call it overrated, and you might say that it's all about the graphics, but then it's probably more you there is a problem with than the game. What do I think? Well, let's just say I'm having a hard time lifting my jaw up from the floor. Epicness FTW!
  30. DV
    Dec 15, 2009
    3
    I expect every good game I play to be innovative in every regard or it has automatically failed. I hate it when games borrow ideas or game mechanics from other games. I don't care if a story has a good game with good characters, I will find and point out alleged bugs that were minor yet proved game-breaking for me. Any game that is not on PC is graphically inferior since it runs at I expect every good game I play to be innovative in every regard or it has automatically failed. I hate it when games borrow ideas or game mechanics from other games. I don't care if a story has a good game with good characters, I will find and point out alleged bugs that were minor yet proved game-breaking for me. Any game that is not on PC is graphically inferior since it runs at lower resolution. People who enjoy games are fanboys and my sole purpose is to find faults in their arguments. Liking a game has to be justified using faulty logic. Expand
  31. Novaria
    Dec 21, 2009
    10
    Fab game, cut scenes are seamless, effortless pick up and play and with the 5 play modes its a game for everyone.....a must in any gamers collection
  32. RafaelA
    Oct 22, 2009
    10
    This game is beyond great, beyond beautiful. The game has such an awesome story, so "absorving"... And the graphics, are something, that you can't discuss... That truly shows the power of the PS3 over the Xbox 360. For me, i think the Xbox 360 fan boys are cryin' out like BABIES! Simply a great, awesome job that Naughty Dog did... If you see, the Xbox CANT support Uncharted 2, This game is beyond great, beyond beautiful. The game has such an awesome story, so "absorving"... And the graphics, are something, that you can't discuss... That truly shows the power of the PS3 over the Xbox 360. For me, i think the Xbox 360 fan boys are cryin' out like BABIES! Simply a great, awesome job that Naughty Dog did... If you see, the Xbox CANT support Uncharted 2, due the hardware and media disk dont support it. Expand
  33. mattf
    Oct 22, 2009
    10
    This game is by far the best game i have played all year... i didn't want to give it a chance but i'm so happy i did. Level design is beautiful, great mechanics, great story, great action and cinematography. I'm not a huge PS3 fan but this game absolutely blew my mind. There is not one point in the game that is dull. Exciting and fun all the way through. This game is a must buy.
  34. BH
    Oct 22, 2009
    7
    The most over-rated game since GTAIV. Don't believe the hype. The graphics, which everyone seems to be raving about are definitely not amazing. Theres nothing wrong with them but they certainly aren't anything special. And the story, well lets just say if you've seen an Indiana Jones movie before then nothing in this story will surprise you. Gameplay is incredibly The most over-rated game since GTAIV. Don't believe the hype. The graphics, which everyone seems to be raving about are definitely not amazing. Theres nothing wrong with them but they certainly aren't anything special. And the story, well lets just say if you've seen an Indiana Jones movie before then nothing in this story will surprise you. Gameplay is incredibly repetitive, especially the platforming and puzzle sections which feel like they were added solely to boost the campaign's length (8-9 hour campaign) The best bit about the game is it's online competitive mode, which concentrates solely on gunplay, Uncharted 2's best part. Don't get me wrong the game isn't bad by any stretch, even I will admit that the voice acting is very good, and you will probably enjoy your time playing it, but it's still nowhere near a 9.6/10 game. Expand
  35. AM
    Dec 26, 2009
    10
    DV actually rated this 3 because he wants it not to have such a high overall score of user ratings, and so does everyone else who rates this less than a 6. My MOTHER enjoys this game. It's simple, fresh, and has elements of the best game genres: Shooters, Action-Adventure and Platformers. Plus is looks visually solid. No, really. It is SOLID. The character models, when in-game, DV actually rated this 3 because he wants it not to have such a high overall score of user ratings, and so does everyone else who rates this less than a 6. My MOTHER enjoys this game. It's simple, fresh, and has elements of the best game genres: Shooters, Action-Adventure and Platformers. Plus is looks visually solid. No, really. It is SOLID. The character models, when in-game, aren't as great as the overall environments, but they still get a huge thumbs-up. Then there's the multiplayer... Balanced, with a great matchmaking system and constantly updating community service and servers. A no-brainer purchase for any PS3 owner. Even if you don't like third person shooters, just grab this one and beat it on very easy, then just keep watching the cutscenes. They're THAT incredible. Expand
  36. ABBAABBAA
    Dec 27, 2009
    10
    Freaking amazing game, and insanely fun too. This just continues to prove why the PS3 (which still has yet to have a game that meets its technological limit) is better than the 360
  37. FPSMaster
    Dec 27, 2009
    7
    I'm one of the people that also feels against the rest of the world when it comes to this game. Maybe I'm just jaded from this generation's small leap graphically over last generation, but I'm just not impressed by this game's graphics. They don't look bad, but I feel they look too colorful & over saturated for my tastes. I also think they sometimes look I'm one of the people that also feels against the rest of the world when it comes to this game. Maybe I'm just jaded from this generation's small leap graphically over last generation, but I'm just not impressed by this game's graphics. They don't look bad, but I feel they look too colorful & over saturated for my tastes. I also think they sometimes look really plain & cheap & poorly textured compared to other games this generation that have a meaty & hefty look to them with high res textures. The platforming is OK at best but extremely linear. I'd rather play POP:SOT or those horrible Assassins Creed games for my platforming fix. Shooting feels too light & chintsy & almost tacked on which carries over into the terrible tacked on multiplayer. Maybe it's because I was a 360 fan all generation until recently that makes me not understand why everyone thinks this game is so amazing, but like with KZ2, Infamous, UC1 & MGS4, I feel I saw all this years ago on 360 where it all looked & played better. Expand
  38. WillT
    Dec 28, 2009
    9
    Absoluely fantastic and superior to the original in every way, giving it a 10 however would make it the perfect game, its not, but definatly the best on PS3
  39. KijiyaD
    Dec 29, 2009
    10
    Best ps3 game ever played. Best online play ever. If you have Uncharted 1, we all know that you've already bought the game because of the awesomeness of it. If you never ever played uncharted 1, no worries, uncharted 2 is all you need!
  40. TylerH.
    Dec 29, 2009
    10
    Haters be haters, simply because they dont have this game, they rate it down. Ignore the ignorance. This is simply a fantastic game with one of the best single players ever, 1 of my top 3 games of all time, aside Assassins Creed 2 and Half-life 2. Graphics are some of the best period, with only Crysis seemingly having better (but thats pc, which is ever changing, console is stuck at same Haters be haters, simply because they dont have this game, they rate it down. Ignore the ignorance. This is simply a fantastic game with one of the best single players ever, 1 of my top 3 games of all time, aside Assassins Creed 2 and Half-life 2. Graphics are some of the best period, with only Crysis seemingly having better (but thats pc, which is ever changing, console is stuck at same specs). Gameply is smooth, fast-paced, over-the top, but always enjoyable with a bit of humor thrown in. Multiplayer and co-op additions are great in there own respect, but this games single player is where its soul lies. Uncharted 2, Killzone 2, or Assassins Creed 2 for game of the year. I wouldnt complain with any of them. Expand
  41. LoonieR
    Dec 3, 2009
    10
    One of the best games I've ever played! Story, voice acting, animation and gameplay is all brilliantly executed. What more can one ask for in a game?
  42. GusC
    Dec 31, 2009
    5
    Meh. This is really no different from every other adventure blockbluster. There's a lackluster plot, repetitive gameplay, uninspired sidequests, all adding up to no fun for an experienced gamer. The graphics are top notch, however, so if you are won over by eye candy, this alone may get you by.
  43. AaronS
    Oct 23, 2009
    10
    This is definnetlly the GOTY. I started it on thursday and finished it on saturday then started it again on sunday and finished it again. I still dont get bored of it. Everything in it is wonderfull and amazing must buy. Well done naughty dog you have certainlly made this my favourite game ever.
  44. rashads
    Oct 24, 2009
    10
    This game is a rush the entire way through. This is a video game that feels more like an interactive blockbuster movie. My heart was actually pumping hard, never before has a game done that to me almost all the way through the game. Now I'm on multiplayer which is great and will give me an alternative to call of duty when i get bored with it. This is what the ps3 is all about.
  45. RobO
    Oct 25, 2009
    10
    Clearly one of the best third-person shooter games I've ever played...! Everything from the single-player to the multiplayer is nearly perfect. This is a must buy for all PS3 owners. This game is just so much fun.
  46. CodyB
    Oct 25, 2009
    10
    I just finished this game and it is definitely in my top 3. Possibly my all time favorite game. I will decide that when I play through it again. Graphics, story, gameplay, acting, presentation... they really went all out on this game. So far it is the game of the year. I can't imagine another game coming close to this... and I am a HUGE Modern Warfare fan.
  47. HarveyB
    Oct 26, 2009
    8
    This game is good. not as great as people are making it but still very good. it is like the first Uncharted except the graphics have taken a jump alongside a better story. it mixes the gameplay of gears of war along with the climbing of assassin's creed and tomb raider and then blends it with cinematic perfection of Metal Gear solid 4. this game won't see sales like Halo 3:ODST This game is good. not as great as people are making it but still very good. it is like the first Uncharted except the graphics have taken a jump alongside a better story. it mixes the gameplay of gears of war along with the climbing of assassin's creed and tomb raider and then blends it with cinematic perfection of Metal Gear solid 4. this game won't see sales like Halo 3:ODST which is also a good game but still worth checking out at least until Mdern Warfare 2. rent the game, beat single player and play some multiplayer before MW2. Expand
  48. DavidS
    Oct 26, 2009
    6
    First off, this game is very overrated, I bought my PS3 in 2007 and was disappointed by the major lack of good games coming out for it. However, there were a couple things i could hold above my xbox 360 owning friends's heads - the original Uncharted and Metal Gear Solid 4. besides, my PS3 doesnt get red rings and die every time i turn it on. other than that, well we all know xbox First off, this game is very overrated, I bought my PS3 in 2007 and was disappointed by the major lack of good games coming out for it. However, there were a couple things i could hold above my xbox 360 owning friends's heads - the original Uncharted and Metal Gear Solid 4. besides, my PS3 doesnt get red rings and die every time i turn it on. other than that, well we all know xbox 360 is probably the winner of this gen, lol actually its the Wii for sales but whatever, because it has much better software, no not games, the operating system is much friendlier and everything is easier to use, but hey, it breaks. also, our exclusives are twice as good as theirs, gears? lol that game sucks, but dont compare it to Killzone, that sucked too. actually there were no good exclusives this time around, except for the first Uncharted. Great set pieces, voice acting, story, graphics, gameplay. So naturally i was psyched for this game and all the hype it was receiving, it looked like the best game ever. Boy was I wrong. Don't get me wrong, its alright, its capable, just not what I was hoping for. graphics remain unchanged, and come on, do we really want worse graphics than that uber crappy gears of war 2? sure we might call them fanboys when they say how good gears is, but we have to shut up when asked how uncharted compares. textures are not smooth, they are jaggy and not detailed anywhere except for character models, and animations are STIFF. I could not believe it, everything was so robotic, I dreaded the horrible platforming sections. the mechanics are still good, being unchanged from the superior first installment, but nothing is improved upon enough to warrant this game a purchase. Please, all you people buying the new Slim and getting into the steadily-growing-better-than-360 playstation experience - buy the first game but skip this one. This is one game i do not mind gamestop ripping me off on a trade in for, i haven't felt this way since resident evil 5! Expand
  49. Liferuler
    Dec 6, 2009
    0
    Every Aspect of Uncharted 2 that has been implemented as a new addition to Uncharted 1 sucks. This game is completely lifeless and full of bugs! Stay with Uncharted (one!) if you like adventure games on PS3!!
  50. AlexV.
    Oct 27, 2009
    9
    A Wonderful experience, but was this a game in the classical sense of gaming? The game and story and action will grab you by the balls and only let go on those brief breathing moments. The presentation and voice-acting is the best we have ever seen in gaming history and raises the bar beyond a point many developers will ever reach. But, there is always a but, is this what we want to see A Wonderful experience, but was this a game in the classical sense of gaming? The game and story and action will grab you by the balls and only let go on those brief breathing moments. The presentation and voice-acting is the best we have ever seen in gaming history and raises the bar beyond a point many developers will ever reach. But, there is always a but, is this what we want to see when we imagine us the future of gaming? Straight up linear gameplay with only little choices left to the imagination of the one holding the controller? I'm still not sure. Nevertheless, Uncharted 2 a game that will undoubtedly be thé game of 2009 and every self-respecting gamer should play. A new standard for interactive entertainment has been set. And in my opinion will only be rivalled by the third part of Naughty Dog his golden franchise. An instant classic which raises the debate what gaming is all about. Expand
  51. HowardC
    Oct 27, 2009
    10
    This game is a truly majestic take on gaming! I loved the first game, but this one was jaw droppingly good at everything you could want from a game, gameplay, graphics, voice talents, cutscenes tieing seemlessly into gameplay, combat was so much fun, hauling people of the sides of mountains! Then between all the action stopping to look out at the mountains and scenery that could be real This game is a truly majestic take on gaming! I loved the first game, but this one was jaw droppingly good at everything you could want from a game, gameplay, graphics, voice talents, cutscenes tieing seemlessly into gameplay, combat was so much fun, hauling people of the sides of mountains! Then between all the action stopping to look out at the mountains and scenery that could be real pictures! Terrific action set pieces like no other game I've played! Special mention to how beautiful Nepal looked even when ravaged and the little touches of Nate and the Nepalese villagers interaction were special, not to mention how well the main characters interacted in general! Phew, and that's without the excellent quality multiplayer! Expand
  52. TroyR.
    Oct 28, 2009
    9
    Fantastic game. Believe the hype. What keeps this from being a '10' is that I only wished the cover/roll system was a [i]little[/i] better. When I was moving Drake deliberately, the cover system was smooth and awesome. When I had to creative with them in an intense firefight, I often died (especially on Crushing difficulty). Still, it's a reach to even point that out as a Fantastic game. Believe the hype. What keeps this from being a '10' is that I only wished the cover/roll system was a [i]little[/i] better. When I was moving Drake deliberately, the cover system was smooth and awesome. When I had to creative with them in an intense firefight, I often died (especially on Crushing difficulty). Still, it's a reach to even point that out as a flaw in an otherwise pitch-perfect gaming experience. Expand
  53. KevinC
    Oct 28, 2009
    10
    One of the best games available on the PS3 and probably across all consoles and platforms in this generation. The single player is given alot of emphasis even though there is multiplayer included, which is very rare in games today as developers just toss away the storyline all together sometimes. The graphics are mindblowing, that word pretty much sums it up. Although there are minor One of the best games available on the PS3 and probably across all consoles and platforms in this generation. The single player is given alot of emphasis even though there is multiplayer included, which is very rare in games today as developers just toss away the storyline all together sometimes. The graphics are mindblowing, that word pretty much sums it up. Although there are minor quibbles like clouds not moving and things like that, overall the graphical presentation is astounding. The sound effects and voice acting are top notch and basically what all other critics say, movie-like. The cast is very likeable and memorable that even if someone who never played uncharted 1 will catch on. The gameplay is silky smooth compared to a lot of other third person action adventure games and the replayability is great with the coop and competitive multiplayer, though a few more maps/ levels and options would greatly improve the feature. Overall if you have a Playstation 3, get this game! Expand
  54. Viorel800022
    Oct 29, 2009
    10
    It
  55. olet
    Oct 31, 2009
    1
    This game deserves a 9, but there are issues. The camera sensitivity is realy slow, with no way of adjustments. That can be a real pain in multiplayer, and is bad in the singel and coop mode to. The cover system is also not perfect, becouse when you are walking out of cover and wants to go forward, you are forced to take a little step backwards first, wich with then you are dead in This game deserves a 9, but there are issues. The camera sensitivity is realy slow, with no way of adjustments. That can be a real pain in multiplayer, and is bad in the singel and coop mode to. The cover system is also not perfect, becouse when you are walking out of cover and wants to go forward, you are forced to take a little step backwards first, wich with then you are dead in multiplayer mode. If it was not for this issues, i would rate this game 8, but its not playable before noughtydog fix this things. Expand
  56. JoubertN
    Oct 31, 2009
    10
    Gorgeous cinematic experience, nail biting moments; there's not as scary a moment as in Uncharted 1, where the zombies attack in the dark (or maybe it is just because I played it at night). Best game I've played.
  57. EliJ.
    Nov 11, 2009
    10
    Ha, greatest 3rd person shooter since resident evil 4, and the greatest story line since bioshock. You can definitely tell that xbox fanboys just commented on this game and gave it a zero without even playing it. Cant let anything ps3 be any good can you xbox humpers? ha its just too funny. Honestly, if its a good game give it a good score. Jesus its like you guys are 5 years old. Ha, greatest 3rd person shooter since resident evil 4, and the greatest story line since bioshock. You can definitely tell that xbox fanboys just commented on this game and gave it a zero without even playing it. Cant let anything ps3 be any good can you xbox humpers? ha its just too funny. Honestly, if its a good game give it a good score. Jesus its like you guys are 5 years old. Uncharted 2 blew my mind and splattered it all over my Ps3. Expand
  58. DanielSG-17
    Nov 11, 2009
    10
    This is hands down the best game that I have ever played in my entire life! Even better than Super Mario Bros 3!
  59. AndrewC
    Nov 12, 2009
    10
    First off Graphics: The best of this console generation. Only Arma 2 and Crysis can compare with this wonderful work of art! The story is off blockbuster movie quality and is genuinely a laugh from start to finish, it is absolutely breathtaking. I completed the game and then guess what I did? Yep that's right, started all over again. The multiplayer ain't half bad either ;)
  60. codenamezero
    Nov 13, 2009
    9
    Solid game play and great story telling. I enjoy the multiplayer mode a lot especially the co-op, however i gave it a 9 because some part of the game aren't right, such as falling through world and getting stuck around the obstacles...
  61. AndrewB
    Nov 14, 2009
    10
    Naughty Dog are one of those companies that seem to make an great game everytime, and this time, even they have a truely outdone themself. Uncharted 2 is a game that beats the previous game in everyway imagineable. The single player is amazingly done and filled with memorable moments, they didn't even have to include the multiplayer, but man, I'm glad they did. Just like the Naughty Dog are one of those companies that seem to make an great game everytime, and this time, even they have a truely outdone themself. Uncharted 2 is a game that beats the previous game in everyway imagineable. The single player is amazingly done and filled with memorable moments, they didn't even have to include the multiplayer, but man, I'm glad they did. Just like the single player, it's filled with death defying gameplay and very enjoyable to play. As an overall package it's near perfection, easily Game of the Year and possibly one of the best games ever made. 96% Expand
  62. EdUARDOF
    Nov 15, 2009
    10
    Graphics: 10 Story: 95 Gameplay: 95 Overall: 10
  63. TomA.
    Nov 15, 2009
    9
    Very good addition to the ps3's library, but somewhat overhyped. I give the graphics a 10, the audio a 10, and the gameplay a 9, only because it can get frustrating at times, and there are too many annoying bugs. But overall a great game and a must buy for any ps3 owner.
  64. AlexiS
    Nov 16, 2009
    10
    Go PS3! Awesome job ND. I have only managed to play through half of the game because of all the work of senior year, but my experience so far has been great. The multi is awesome and I must say there aren't too many whiny middle schoolers to worry about. A - Friken - Mazing graphics! Xbox...I don't even have to say anything.
  65. DanielH
    Nov 17, 2009
    10
    This game is simply put, Outstanding! Uncharted 2 is without a doubt the PS3's best looking game. The campaign is very cinematic, at parts i could not tell if i was controlling Drake or not. My only problem with the game is that the cover system is a bit sticky online.
  66. BoS
    Nov 17, 2009
    10
    Absolutely the best game I have ever played and cannot put down. So refreshing feels like a new genre, in my opinion this game truly kicked off this generation. If you thought the first was good, you have no idea. Mad props to naughty dog! Hope to see a number 3 but wow I cant see how they can improve at all, one love....
  67. DominikJ
    Nov 17, 2009
    9
    A well- polished set of mechanics, a cinematic thrill ride, and a surprisingly good multiplayer and coop feature make this a package that all PS3 users should try
  68. ThomasO.
    Nov 19, 2009
    10
    Without a doubt, Uncharted 2: Among Thieves is THE BEST GAME AVAILABLE on the PS3. Sony and Naughty Dog have easily made the best game of this current generation for now. U2: AT's awesomeness will be talked about for years to come. If you own a PS3, get this game. Don't own a PS3, BUY ONE TO PLAY IT!!!
  69. WillC
    Nov 19, 2009
    6
    Yes. The game looks amazing. I agree with that. But the gameplay is generic and is nothing new. The characters are voiced well, but not very relatable. The set pieces are pretty impressive, but mainly on a visual level. The multiplayer is good, but generic. Generic, but very pretty
  70. RyanR
    Nov 21, 2009
    10
    The best game out on any gaming console. The thing to keep in mind is that this masterpiece is PS3 exclusive(what else?). Best graphics, gameplay, story, replay value, and has the best themed music imaginable. This game is more than a 10/10. It's broken the boundry to an 11/10. Go Uncharted 2!
  71. kosmow
    Nov 25, 2009
    6
    I don't understand what all the fuss is about this game is... Take away the graphics and one is left with a standard linear action game, with lots of wall climbing, easy to solve puzzles and whats that another wave of bad guys to shoot at. Think I've played this game before....
  72. SpenokV
    Nov 29, 2009
    10
    Simply one of the Best games i have ever played, on any platform, at any time. This goes up there with MGS4 and Zelda
  73. RichardN
    Dec 13, 2009
    9
    I really don't understand Sol T's comment, exept that maybe he is a Xbox fanboy and this game can only be on ps3 (lack of space on normal dvd on xbox). This game is truly a masterpiece, the controls are very smooth, nice hitbox/aiming system, really good sound effects,VERY challenging at hard difficulty on coop and solo, awesome map design, insane story/cutscene even better than I really don't understand Sol T's comment, exept that maybe he is a Xbox fanboy and this game can only be on ps3 (lack of space on normal dvd on xbox). This game is truly a masterpiece, the controls are very smooth, nice hitbox/aiming system, really good sound effects,VERY challenging at hard difficulty on coop and solo, awesome map design, insane story/cutscene even better than a lot of movies. The multiplayer is very well done, it's very fair ( Actually more than other popular shooters like CodMW2, Halo 3, Killzone 2 etc..) and doesn't lag at all. This game doesn't deserve a 0 , Sol T's comment deserve a 0. the only reason why i'm giving a 9 is because if someone leave an online match, no one can connect to the game after that to take his place but thats only a matter of time for naughty dog to patch this maybe, anyway thats not a big problem at all. In fact all ps3 owners SHOULD buy this game. Expand
  74. JD
    Dec 14, 2009
    10
    b t and Sol T got it all wrong. Sol T is a 360 fan, because of the fact he called the PS3 fail, and b t is obviously making Uncharted 2 seem hard to climb in. It's not really, it's super easy and dynamic. Plus, he says it lacks stuff again from OTHER games and a 362 exclusive, hence a fanboy Back to my review: The game is phenomenal. Character animations are NOT stiff, they b t and Sol T got it all wrong. Sol T is a 360 fan, because of the fact he called the PS3 fail, and b t is obviously making Uncharted 2 seem hard to climb in. It's not really, it's super easy and dynamic. Plus, he says it lacks stuff again from OTHER games and a 362 exclusive, hence a fanboy Back to my review: The game is phenomenal. Character animations are NOT stiff, they react very realistically to what you do, and other stuff. Multiplayer upgrade system is ridiculously easy to use, it SHOWS you on the Multiplayer menu for petes sake! Multiplayer is fantastic if you're up for getting killed a lot the first three or four games, requires skill. Graphics are best to date on any console, still overall is Crysis on PC. But for a 720p game, dang, it looks goooood. 1080p would have fried my eyebrows off with amazingness! Multiplayer is only team based though, and it should be. It wouldn't make sense for Drake to shoot Drake. Gameplay is great, and the platforming which sometimes you need to hurry up for, or you die. Oh, and one last thing: It won GOTY! :P Expand
  75. brandonr
    Dec 18, 2009
    10
    the only perfect game we've seen this generation and most likely the best single player experience ever!
  76. PaulR
    Dec 22, 2009
    9
    Perfect combination of... shooting, platforming and puzzling with production values that have to be seen to be believed
  77. MiKE
    Dec 23, 2009
    10
    What can I say? The best game I have EVER played! Great gameplay, kickass graphics! a must play!
  78. JoshS
    Dec 25, 2009
    8
    This game is good but it's nothing special. The gameplay is a mix between Assassin's Creed and a horde shooter, and horde shooters get boring and annoying, especially when the AI is so much better at shooting than you.
  79. fanlyficks
    Dec 25, 2009
    6
    over hyped game, not so bad but not so good either. the best part were the dialogues and yes, they deserve a 9. the rest is just Uncharted 2 with some more polished graphics.
  80. CarlP
    Dec 26, 2009
    10
    This is definitely one of the top ten best games of all time. It's not innovative but it does everything right. The single player is the best of the year by a long shot.Also the multiplayer is awesome it's like that of Gears of Wars' which is great but with a platforming twist. So pick it up if you can.BEST GAME OF THE YEAR!!!
  81. MarkW
    Dec 28, 2009
    8
    Wow, the graphics are great! Is that what makes a good game? On normal difficulty it's about 16 hours long...I rented it and returned it 4 days early. I thought the game was sort of a drag. The acting was melancholy and the story was dry and boring. If it would have been a movie instead of a game it would have been an epic failure. At times the camera angles are claustrophobic as is Wow, the graphics are great! Is that what makes a good game? On normal difficulty it's about 16 hours long...I rented it and returned it 4 days early. I thought the game was sort of a drag. The acting was melancholy and the story was dry and boring. If it would have been a movie instead of a game it would have been an epic failure. At times the camera angles are claustrophobic as is the game itself with its very linear nature. Have fun jumping sideways 30 feet from rock to rock only to find that you can't even climb a simple tree. The game pushes you to keep going down the only path there is and when there is a little room to explore don't be surprised if a door slams behind you with an auto save to destroy the opportunity. Expand
  82. KipH
    Dec 28, 2009
    8
    So close to perfection, yet so frustrating. Let me explain - In the Borneo level I took out the camp and then didnt know where to go next. The hint system said "join Sully" at the top of the cliff but I had no way to get up there. Apparently I should have blown up the snipers wooden platform which would fall and create a bridge up for me but instead I had shot him during the previous So close to perfection, yet so frustrating. Let me explain - In the Borneo level I took out the camp and then didnt know where to go next. The hint system said "join Sully" at the top of the cliff but I had no way to get up there. Apparently I should have blown up the snipers wooden platform which would fall and create a bridge up for me but instead I had shot him during the previous fight. Without a walkthrough I would still be there. 2 hours later and alot of jumping into the walls and I had to go on the net for the walkthrough. Very frustrating. When is a "hint" not helpful? Another one was in the Monastery and "climb to the open window", with no idea how to get there. 2 hours later and back to the walkthrough. The rest of the game is superb and if they could fix it so the hint was actually helpful then it would be a 10. Otherwise its just soo frustrating.... Expand
  83. Aug 11, 2010
    10
    Every game critic gave this game a positive review, and with good reason. Best game ever released, but its only home is the PS3!!! Go Uncharted 2!!! 10/10!!!
  84. Aug 11, 2010
    10
    the most entertaining game i have ever played! it ranks up there with ocarina of time as one of the best games of all time, and easily the best on the ps3. obviously a goty winner that in my opinion blew mwf2 out of the competition.just the first chapter of this game is more epic than all of mwf2. to those who say it isnt original, you are genuine idiots! to all those who say the graphicsthe most entertaining game i have ever played! it ranks up there with ocarina of time as one of the best games of all time, and easily the best on the ps3. obviously a goty winner that in my opinion blew mwf2 out of the competition.just the first chapter of this game is more epic than all of mwf2. to those who say it isnt original, you are genuine idiots! to all those who say the graphics are average or buggy, you are wrong, and basically no one agrees with you except for 40 year olds who play thier pc in their momie's basement. and lets not forget about the losers who give this game a 0 to counter act all the tens, there are 1482 positive reviews to your pathetic 178. a wise man (adam sessler x-play) once said that this is the best single player experience he has ever had in a video game. hell yea!!!!! uncharted 2 FTW!!!! Expand
  85. Jul 11, 2011
    10
    Beautiful. This game has a ridiculous amount of polish. Literally every moment is packed with action. It's one of those games that you buy a PS3 for.
  86. Dec 16, 2010
    10
    three words: BEST GAME EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  87. Aug 12, 2010
    10
    The only thing I didn't like from the game is that it was too short!

    The story line is awesome, the characters are really believable (animation, script, voices), and the graphics are stunning.

    The most immersive game in terms of storytelling ever. You really feel as if you were Indiana Jones of the 21st century.

    Clearly one of the best games on the ps3.
  88. Aug 30, 2010
    10
    wow no game captures the feel you are in a movie like Uncharted 2 . a solid story with great voice acting . solid controls great gun play . the first one was alot of fun but the second one is even better in every way. new addition is the online play which is alot of fun . this is what a sequel to a already good game should be.
  89. Aug 14, 2010
    10
    Very Good Game, completely full of Next-Gen graphics, and way past any other games. I was pleasantly surprised at how long the single player was, I expected it to just end like MW2 did when it reached around chapter 12 (i think). The cut-scenes are great with the actually funny script. An excellent game which just shows what PS3 can do when a frankly brilliant developer works hard at usingVery Good Game, completely full of Next-Gen graphics, and way past any other games. I was pleasantly surprised at how long the single player was, I expected it to just end like MW2 did when it reached around chapter 12 (i think). The cut-scenes are great with the actually funny script. An excellent game which just shows what PS3 can do when a frankly brilliant developer works hard at using the processing power it harnesses. Any PS3 owner should have this game. Expand
  90. Mar 27, 2015
    10
    Naughty Dog owned last gen with all 3 Uncharted games and The Last of Us. The gameplay is perfect, the story is as good as Indiana Jones, and it is just the right blend of gunplay, puzzles, exploration, and cinematics. I would NEVER get tired of Naughty Dog doing action-adventure.
  91. Nov 4, 2011
    8
    This is a good game, but it is a bit overrated. This is yet another game that gets too much credit for having "flashy, cinematic looks", yet no one criticizes it's often scripted gameplay. After playing amazing open world games like GTA, Infamous, and Assassin's Creed...a game with so many scripted sequences just seems obsolete. This game was basically designed mostly to show off its fancyThis is a good game, but it is a bit overrated. This is yet another game that gets too much credit for having "flashy, cinematic looks", yet no one criticizes it's often scripted gameplay. After playing amazing open world games like GTA, Infamous, and Assassin's Creed...a game with so many scripted sequences just seems obsolete. This game was basically designed mostly to show off its fancy environments and to create a "hollywood movie" feel by using dramatic camera angles and big scripted sequences...but beneath that shiny exterior lies a somewhat shallow game. I much prefer open world games that allow unexpected and things to happen, and they allow the user to try various ways to complete a task....rather than being forced into a scripted sequence. i'm more impressed by games that create a dynamic world that challenge you to complete tasks in your own way by using your brain. There are some cool parts that require thinking, but these moments are too few and far between. I do have to give them props for the amazing environments and responsive control - these factors go a long way in making this game more enjoyable. Expand
  92. Jan 20, 2012
    10
    It's not hard to see why the Uncharted series is so successful. Drake's Fortune was a brilliantly crafted third person action adventure/shooter than was a few steps short of a golden fortune. The wisecracking protagonist is back, in what is his finest game to date. Unbelievable pacing, with action setpieces and stunning moments, pitched brilliantly and often into the campaign. Most willIt's not hard to see why the Uncharted series is so successful. Drake's Fortune was a brilliantly crafted third person action adventure/shooter than was a few steps short of a golden fortune. The wisecracking protagonist is back, in what is his finest game to date. Unbelievable pacing, with action setpieces and stunning moments, pitched brilliantly and often into the campaign. Most will finish this game in one sitting but that's because the game constantly excels itself with beautiful scenery, clever puzzles and fantastic gunplay. It now even boasts multiplayer, with some narrative elements afoot. In short Uncharted 2 begs to be the top dog, and if this game is any indication, it has succeeded without fault. Expand
  93. Aug 18, 2010
    10
    This game is totally awesome!!!! Graphics, Story, Cut scenes and Game play are off the rockers.... I couldn't wait more for the third edition of the legendary drake's series. Seriously, buy ps3 just to play this mind blowing game...
  94. Sep 28, 2010
    10
    This is the absolute BEST graphic made game on the planet. The game has a compelling story, but the reason why I love this game the most, is because games look better than when you actually play them. However, this game remains the same. So either the cutscenes are just garbage, or the game's graphics a re AWESOME. I can't wait for Uncharted 3.
  95. Jan 19, 2011
    10
    Ignore ANY bad review they are probably just 360 fanboys who have not even played the game. I used own to all three consoles, this may just be the best game on all three.
  96. Sep 14, 2010
    0
    This game was a yawn from start to finish.... Off to play some Killzone instead of this crap. The combat was iffy, the cover system was horrible, the guns where generic bullcrap, the level design was so cruddy, the whole game was basicly a massive long tunnel, the graphics are not that amazing, the story is not that great. Overall a very over-rated game.
  97. Oct 3, 2012
    10
    One of the best games out there. I was really emotional attached to all of the characters. Good pacing. Great story. Just wait til everybody gets disappointed for Uncharted 3.
  98. Oct 6, 2010
    9
    Brilliant level design, fluid controls and camera, interesting characters, and lush graphics. Uncharted 2 is a much more intense experience than its predecessor, and the combat and climbing have been fine-tuned to as good as I've seen in a third-person shooter or platform game respectively. The 'duck and cover' mechanic is wearing a bit thin and Uncharted 2 doesn't do anything particularlyBrilliant level design, fluid controls and camera, interesting characters, and lush graphics. Uncharted 2 is a much more intense experience than its predecessor, and the combat and climbing have been fine-tuned to as good as I've seen in a third-person shooter or platform game respectively. The 'duck and cover' mechanic is wearing a bit thin and Uncharted 2 doesn't do anything particularly new with it to separate itself from the masses in regards to this feature, but in the ends it's just a small part of what is an incredibly rich and diverse game. It is perhaps a little on the short side â Expand
  99. Apr 10, 2011
    9
    If you own a PS3 and havn't played this by now, if you've still got any doubts of this games quality then allow me put them to rest. Firstly, any negative reviews you may have read are clearly written by people with some sort of agenda or by people who know nothing about decent games. Secondly, you can get it pretty cheap now. Yeah it's linear and it doesn't have any genuine innovation butIf you own a PS3 and havn't played this by now, if you've still got any doubts of this games quality then allow me put them to rest. Firstly, any negative reviews you may have read are clearly written by people with some sort of agenda or by people who know nothing about decent games. Secondly, you can get it pretty cheap now. Yeah it's linear and it doesn't have any genuine innovation but the gameplay's so polished and the action so breathtaking that you won't notice or care. Stunning set piece follows thrilling shootout and the quality just doesn't let up throughout the entire game. The graphics, the cut scenes, script and voice acting are also of the very highest quality and the whole experience is like being in a great action movie while still feeling like a game. Many people have called Uncharted 2 the best game of this generation; I feel it falls just short of that accolade but i will call it the greatest pure action game i've ever played and (I'll say it again) - must buy! Expand
  100. Aug 30, 2010
    1
    Waste of money! Redundant action, climb some walls, jump some gaps, shoot a couple baddies, repeat. So boring in all aspects. The only reason I gave this game a 1 is because the human graphics are almost lifelike.
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 105 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Mixed: 0 out of 105
  2. Negative: 0 out of 105
  1. 100
    Spread across twenty-six chapters is a story as playful and worthwhile as the gameplay.
  2. Graphically stunning, Uncharted 2: Among Thieves is, first of all, an interactive adventure, one that feels like a movie and even has a storyline of a movie. Most gameplay situations have been tailored in order to stun the player with originality and identification, and the end result is absolutely amazing.
  3. Among Thieves is all about constant movement. And even movement on top of movement. It grabbed me from the beginning and didn't let go for twelve hours. Once I finished, all I could think about was playing it again. More than a defining game for the PS3, Uncharted 2 is a defining game of this console generation.