Uncharted 2: Among Thieves PlayStation 3

  • Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Oct 13, 2009
User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 5417 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. RienyeN
    Jan 4, 2010
    10
    Easily the best game of 2009 for PS3. Great gaming, great story line, even the cut-scenes were awesome. This is a very well-made game and this is the benchmark of what PS3 and other gaming console games should be. Naughty Dogg rocks!!!
  2. JohnN
    Oct 13, 2009
    10
    The game to come out on the PS3 to date. Amazing graphics,story and a really fun multiplayer to keep you playing for a long time. This game is almost perfect in every aspect and really 1-ups from the previous game. It take's what was good in the first game and builds on it to make the gameplay experience a solid one. This is a must have for all PS3 owners.
  3. AdrianC.
    Oct 14, 2009
    10
    This is honestly the best game I have ever played hands down. MGS4 and Uncharted 2 are the only games where I could not put down the controller because I HAD to know what was going to happen next!
  4. AC
    Jan 2, 2010
    10
    This game's definitely a masterpiece. I read a few negative reviews, and they're so stupid: the first one says there's too much gunfighting, the second says there's no action at all, another review says multiplayer is good and single player's not, the following one says the complete opposite. Basically I noticed they're written by xbox fanboys, recommending This game's definitely a masterpiece. I read a few negative reviews, and they're so stupid: the first one says there's too much gunfighting, the second says there's no action at all, another review says multiplayer is good and single player's not, the following one says the complete opposite. Basically I noticed they're written by xbox fanboys, recommending games like GoW (which I played and man, that's what you call bad controls). But here starts my review. Even though I don't care about graphics, I was stunned: characters look real, and the environment is awesome. The game starts with a sort of long flashback, which helps involving the gamer: the story is pretty good, certainly better than a lot of games nowadays. The controls are good even though 2-3 times I had some problems with them, but the overall gameplay it's amazing: there are stealth sections when you have to avoid enemies or to knock them out without being seen; there's climbing; gunfights (which I loved, because you always have to think a little to defeat everyone), and even a few escaping parts, with very good camera effects. The levels differ a lot from each other, which is good. I don't love online multiplayer much, but I found it's pretty good: there are lots of classic modes, like deathmatch, or king of the hill, and even 2 co-op modes, one is a mission and you have objectives, and the other one is survival. It definitely offers more variety than other (overrated) multiplayer games like Halo and CoD. If it wasn't for Ninja Gaiden Sigma, Uncharted 2 would be my GOTY. Expand
  5. TyroneJ
    Jan 20, 2010
    10
    This is really a huge improvement from the first game, and I thought the first game was amazing. Uncharted 2 is the definition of sequal! From engine upgrades, gameplay, and story, this game deserves its hype.
  6. [anonymous]
    Jan 20, 2010
    10
    After being disappointed by GTA4 and Metal Gear Solid 4, I now realize just how good this game is. Metal Gear tries to blend cinema and games, and fails miserably. This game is just like a movie, without just becoming an endless cutscene like in metal gear solid.
  7. JulianG.
    Jan 26, 2010
    10
    I don't understand how anybody can think this is a bad game, let alone undeserving of game of the year. First off, the controls are extremely responsive and it is a very fun game. Aiming is easy and the shooting system is sound and working. The cover system is near perfect, my only gripe is when Nate accidentally comes out of cover. The graphics are gorgeous, it really made you feel I don't understand how anybody can think this is a bad game, let alone undeserving of game of the year. First off, the controls are extremely responsive and it is a very fun game. Aiming is easy and the shooting system is sound and working. The cover system is near perfect, my only gripe is when Nate accidentally comes out of cover. The graphics are gorgeous, it really made you feel like you were in an action movie. There's incredible voice acting and some of Nate's and Sully's one liners are hilarious. The locales are all unique, and the moving train is one of the best technical feats in the history of gaming. Platforming is easy, Nate can climb anything climbable and he sticks so you don't miss your target. The story is incredible and there are no plot holes, its easy to follow and keeps you coming back for more. There's re playability, namely finding all 100 treasures, beating the story 2-4 times, getting all the kills with weapons, and getting all of the medals. The mulitplayer is in my opinion, better than COD. For instance, our game modes are all very unique and fun to play, the experience is rewarding and it makes you want to level up some more. Unlike COD, it takes actual skill to kill someone, and the store has tons of unlockables to get. Overall, 10/10. Its actually 4,000,000/10 but there is no score like that. Expand
  8. CandiceK
    Jan 2, 2010
    10
    If u needed a reason to own a PS3, this is it. Even if u can finish this in under 12 hours, u can replay it and never get bored. The graphics are great, the environments realistic and the lead character very likable from the start . Hands down the best game of 2009
  9. masterenj
    Nov 1, 2009
    10
    awesome i have completed this game and i have 61% in trophies. and im on 27 on multiplayer best game ever
  10. emanueles
    Nov 10, 2009
    10
    spettacolare... un piacere da guardare e giocare,e si gode a pieno l'avventura.. peccato che poi finisce! pieno l'avventura .. Peccato Che poi finisca !
  11. KyleH
    Nov 2, 2009
    10
    By far the best console game I have played since Ocarina of Time. They single player story is heavily linear, but you won't care, everything is executed and presented so well that you'll be sucked into the story. Miles ahead of the first uncharted title, which was solid, but not as memorable as Uncharted 2. And for the first time in a while I was impressed with the visuals on a By far the best console game I have played since Ocarina of Time. They single player story is heavily linear, but you won't care, everything is executed and presented so well that you'll be sucked into the story. Miles ahead of the first uncharted title, which was solid, but not as memorable as Uncharted 2. And for the first time in a while I was impressed with the visuals on a new game. Far from the overly bloomed and muddy current gen graphics this game has rich colors and sharp textures, it's just a shame they couldn't do it in 1080p, you will quickly forgive that though because the whole game seems to run at a constant 60fps. Everything from the story, audio, graphics, and pacing in this game come together so well that this will be the defining game for the PS3, if you own a playstation, you HAVE to play this game. The included multiplayer is actually good too, I never thought uncharted's game play would work in the MP environment, but it does. A perfect single player experience and solid multiplayer fun on one blu-ray combine to make this the game of the year for me. Expand
  12. BiosaberBiosaber
    Nov 24, 2009
    10
    Words cannot describe how epic this masterpiece is. U mix Indiana Jones (peaunut butter) and Tomb Raider (chocolate) together and u have a revolutionary blockbuster that surpasses even Hollywood epics. This is truly the "Godfather" of gaming. From Crash Bandicoot all the way to this, Naughty Dog is one of the world's best game developers. Grab loads of popcorn, drinks, and lot of Words cannot describe how epic this masterpiece is. U mix Indiana Jones (peaunut butter) and Tomb Raider (chocolate) together and u have a revolutionary blockbuster that surpasses even Hollywood epics. This is truly the "Godfather" of gaming. From Crash Bandicoot all the way to this, Naughty Dog is one of the world's best game developers. Grab loads of popcorn, drinks, and lot of snacks and get ready for one of the best gaming experiences of ur life. Intense cinematics, high levels of action that surpasses the likes of Hollywood, and an epic plot with love and betrayal. Expand
  13. MrReeves
    Nov 30, 2009
    10
    This game is awesome, it´s perfect! it´s what we´ve all been wating for on the ps3, I knew it was going to be good, but not THIS GOOD! The multiplayer is out of this world, I think I´ll be playing this for months!
  14. OskarE
    Oct 13, 2009
    10
    Wow. Simple words can't explain this game, I can try though; AMAZING! Uncharted 2 is a must buy if you own a Playstation 3. Stunning graphics; Check Amzing gameplay; Check Impressive multiplayer; Check Awesome story/SP; Check Must buy ps3 game; Check 10/10; Check.
  15. CarlJ.
    Oct 13, 2009
    10
    Funny, clever, witty. Nathan Drake is a brilliant hero in a brilliant game. The level design and graphics are obviously amazing, and the gameplay is brilliant. This is one of the best games I have every played, having been gaming for the last 25 years. No single-player experience this generation comes close to this. It's like the big summer action flick - you need popcorn with this Funny, clever, witty. Nathan Drake is a brilliant hero in a brilliant game. The level design and graphics are obviously amazing, and the gameplay is brilliant. This is one of the best games I have every played, having been gaming for the last 25 years. No single-player experience this generation comes close to this. It's like the big summer action flick - you need popcorn with this game. When you pick up the controller, you will want to do nothing more than carry on playing until the end - but at the same time you will wish the game will never end. The multiplayer is also awesome. Though I was sceptical at first, it turned out brilliant, and I am not a massive fan of online gaming. Levelling up works well, as do the "perks." Competitive and cooperative multiplayer work amazingly well, and it's "horde" mode is brilliant. Serious contender for, not only game of the year, but one of THE best games this generation, and EVER. Expand
  16. RodneyB
    Oct 13, 2009
    10
    Please next time make the 11 out of 10 rating, and that will be my score. The best game I have seen up till now. I loved the first uncharted, I'm sure I love the second one aswell, I love your work naughty dog... continue with this SUPER WORK.
  17. HuGiOMFG
    Oct 13, 2009
    10
    Awesome , Awesome , Awesome!! Th BETA itself is better thsn 90% of this Generation GAMES and the game will be briliant and a 11/10 if i could !!! Brliant , Awesomness and the Reason to Everyone buy a Ps3 , i already PRe ORdered mine Ps3 w/ UC2 Bundle !!! Already play it so thats why i bought a Ps3! Perfection has been achieved - UnCharted 2 rises the bar this generation and lets hope Awesome , Awesome , Awesome!! Th BETA itself is better thsn 90% of this Generation GAMES and the game will be briliant and a 11/10 if i could !!! Brliant , Awesomness and the Reason to Everyone buy a Ps3 , i already PRe ORdered mine Ps3 w/ UC2 Bundle !!! Already play it so thats why i bought a Ps3! Perfection has been achieved - UnCharted 2 rises the bar this generation and lets hope games like Halo Reach , Gears of War 3 and Killzone 3 can set that bar and dont fall apart. Expand
  18. DominicT.
    Oct 14, 2009
    10
    Im on chapter 10 right now of the single player campaign. I can say without a doubt this IS the best single player expereience to come out on this generation of console. That alone deserves a rating of 10. If the multiplayer is fun (which I have heard it is) this game is well worth your 60 bones. YOU WILL NOT WANT TO PUT IT DOWN! you feel like you are the star of an epic hollywood Im on chapter 10 right now of the single player campaign. I can say without a doubt this IS the best single player expereience to come out on this generation of console. That alone deserves a rating of 10. If the multiplayer is fun (which I have heard it is) this game is well worth your 60 bones. YOU WILL NOT WANT TO PUT IT DOWN! you feel like you are the star of an epic hollywood blockbuster. Graphics are unreal, controls are tight, AI is fun (to kill). What really sperates this game however is the story line, acting, and level design; everything just flows. Nuff said, GO BUY IT! Expand
  19. KravenBrazil
    Oct 15, 2009
    10
    Um dos melhores jogos de todos os tempos. Um pacote completo com: single player com excelentes gráficos, história envolvente e trilha sonora de arrepiar. Um dos melhores multiplayers que vi no ps3 a ponto de fazer disputa com COD 4. Co-op, ou seja você e mais dois amigos numa história que se encontra com a original, mas com outros objetivos. A Naughty Dog seUm dos melhores jogos de todos os tempos. Um pacote completo com: single player com excelentes gráficos, história envolvente e trilha sonora de arrepiar. Um dos melhores multiplayers que vi no ps3 a ponto de fazer disputa com COD 4. Co-op, ou seja você e mais dois amigos numa história que se encontra com a original, mas com outros objetivos. A Naughty Dog se superou, todo dono de ps3 deve comprar esse game. AWOSOME! Expand
  20. LukasG
    Oct 15, 2009
    10
    I'm super pleased with Uncharted two. It's probably my favorite single-player game for the PS3, and I recommend it to anyone interested in a story-driven adventure.
  21. AgengS.
    Oct 15, 2009
    10
    This is one of the rare games where you just do not want to put the controller down, EVER. It's only after 8-9 straight hours of gameplay will you realize how much time has passed. Never has a video game felt more like an epic Hollywood movie until this. Visuals are almost comparable to Crysis. The extreme standard of polish in level design is beyond anything this current generation This is one of the rare games where you just do not want to put the controller down, EVER. It's only after 8-9 straight hours of gameplay will you realize how much time has passed. Never has a video game felt more like an epic Hollywood movie until this. Visuals are almost comparable to Crysis. The extreme standard of polish in level design is beyond anything this current generation has produced. Every hallway, corner, cave, tunnel, street, landscape or building never repeats and feels unique every step of the way. There is a level set inside a cave of ice that is the most breathtaking achievement of computer generated landscapes in video game history. What makes this game so lovable are the on the fly dialogs between Drake and his fellow comrade/s. Amazing game that every PS3 owner should buy. Expand
  22. ThomasA
    Oct 16, 2009
    9
    Excellent game with very nice voice acting and a good story. Action sequences are about the best I have experienced in a game. Single player campaign could easily be longer, but isn't it always like that when you enjoy a game?
  23. kevin
    Oct 16, 2009
    10
    this game uncharted2 im very glad that the game makers have made this best game in the hole world every game shud be like this one this what games are all about im looking forward to seeing more games like this one years to come
    and ill play UNCHARTED2 LOTS I LIKE TO SAY A THANKS TO THE GAME MAKERS HOW MADE UNCHARTED2 AND A THANKS TO SONY YOU
    this game uncharted2 im very glad that the game makers have made this best game in the hole world every game shud be like this one this what games are all about im looking forward to seeing more games like this one years to come
    and ill play UNCHARTED2 LOTS I LIKE TO SAY A THANKS TO THE GAME MAKERS HOW MADE UNCHARTED2 AND A THANKS TO SONY YOU GUYS ARE THE BEST GAME MAKERS IN THE HOLE WORLD BRING ME MORE BEST GAME LIKE UNCHARTED2 FOR YEARS TO COME I LIKE MY PLAYSTATION 3 LOTS ITS THE BEST,
    Expand
  24. VitSavicky
    Oct 17, 2009
    10
    An even 10. The most intense experience I had in a really long time. No movie can even touch it. No game comes even close. I know 10 is the top of the scale, but if anything beats this experience then it deserves to expand the scale just for it.
  25. RandomGuy
    Oct 19, 2009
    10
    This game is simply amazing. The graphics are the best i've ever seen, possibly the best of this generation. The sound is amazing, the story is addictive, and the gameplay is to die for. Every aspect of this game is astonishing. From the 10 hour single-player campaign, with tons of replay value, to the addictive, action packed online, with competitive and cooperative gameplay. Let me This game is simply amazing. The graphics are the best i've ever seen, possibly the best of this generation. The sound is amazing, the story is addictive, and the gameplay is to die for. Every aspect of this game is astonishing. From the 10 hour single-player campaign, with tons of replay value, to the addictive, action packed online, with competitive and cooperative gameplay. Let me put it this way, if you have a PS3 you MUST own this game. And if you don't have a PS3, then BUY ONE NOW! Expand
  26. DrewR
    Dec 10, 2009
    10
    Uncharted 2 is a spectacular work of interactive storytelling. It is a compendium of everything you've seen in previous third-person adventures and summer blockbuster films, all polished to a fine glow and cranked up to 11. No other game can boast the exhilaration of its train-traversing, truck-leaping, snow-blinding innovativeness, nor its Oscar-quality writing and acting, nor the Uncharted 2 is a spectacular work of interactive storytelling. It is a compendium of everything you've seen in previous third-person adventures and summer blockbuster films, all polished to a fine glow and cranked up to 11. No other game can boast the exhilaration of its train-traversing, truck-leaping, snow-blinding innovativeness, nor its Oscar-quality writing and acting, nor the sheer beauty of the scenery (my god, the ice caves...). Naughty Dog have set a bar that will not be brushed any time soon. Expand
  27. RobertA
    Dec 11, 2009
    10
    This game is fantastic! I have never seen a game that was able to command my attention and get me to play through 4 times in a row on the single player mode, just working my way through crushing now and it's still an amazing ride! And, all the moves in single player translating to oonline play, this game is off the hook. The life of the PS3 environments; rock!
  28. TimL
    Oct 22, 2009
    10
    The absolute best game I have played in a very long time. This game has it all ! Gameplay Graphics Story Acting/Voice acting Sound and effects Multiplayer/Co-op Trophies This game is without a doubt THE game to own a PS3 for.
  29. StephenC
    Oct 20, 2009
    10
    This game is TOO good. The graphics are the best ever in a game, the music and voice acting is ace and the gameplay is brilliant. Not to mention the multiplayer co-op and vs modes which is the icing on the cake. The worst thing about this game is that you know it will eventually end!
  30. NiallR
    Oct 23, 2009
    10
    Without a doubt one of the best games of this generation. Incredible graphics, smooth intense gameplay and unparalleled voice acting pull Uncharted 2 into the "modern classic" category of which only a few games of this decade are deserving. A rollercoaster ride more hectic and enjoyable than any movie I've ever watched, and an excellent reason to fork out the money to buy a PS3 if Without a doubt one of the best games of this generation. Incredible graphics, smooth intense gameplay and unparalleled voice acting pull Uncharted 2 into the "modern classic" category of which only a few games of this decade are deserving. A rollercoaster ride more hectic and enjoyable than any movie I've ever watched, and an excellent reason to fork out the money to buy a PS3 if you don't already have one. And if you do, do not by any means hesitate to buy this game. Expand
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 105 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Mixed: 0 out of 105
  2. Negative: 0 out of 105
  1. 100
    Spread across twenty-six chapters is a story as playful and worthwhile as the gameplay.
  2. Graphically stunning, Uncharted 2: Among Thieves is, first of all, an interactive adventure, one that feels like a movie and even has a storyline of a movie. Most gameplay situations have been tailored in order to stun the player with originality and identification, and the end result is absolutely amazing.
  3. Among Thieves is all about constant movement. And even movement on top of movement. It grabbed me from the beginning and didn't let go for twelve hours. Once I finished, all I could think about was playing it again. More than a defining game for the PS3, Uncharted 2 is a defining game of this console generation.