Uncharted 2: Among Thieves PlayStation 3

  • Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Oct 13, 2009
User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 5247 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 2, 2012
    7
    Plays like an action movie, which is kind of cool but at the same time kind of problematic. The set-pieces are fantastic and the locales and graphics are finely crafted and detailed. The cut-scenes are some of the best in games but then... there is the gameplay. The thing that makes this, you know, a game. Combat is fairly one-note, predictable and overall not that fun. PlatformingPlays like an action movie, which is kind of cool but at the same time kind of problematic. The set-pieces are fantastic and the locales and graphics are finely crafted and detailed. The cut-scenes are some of the best in games but then... there is the gameplay. The thing that makes this, you know, a game. Combat is fairly one-note, predictable and overall not that fun. Platforming sections are okay, some more enjoyable than others. I feel like this game puts story ahead of gameplay, and the game suffers as a result of this. Still great to look at though. Expand
  2. Apr 10, 2012
    7
    Uncharted 2: Among Thieves is a very solid adventure game with stunning graphics. Lots of people seem to think that this is one of the best games of all time. I'm not one of them. Uncharted 2 was fun, but I did not think it to be exceptional. There were times in the game when I became frustrated. This frustration wasn't born from the game's difficulty but from it's design. The seeminglyUncharted 2: Among Thieves is a very solid adventure game with stunning graphics. Lots of people seem to think that this is one of the best games of all time. I'm not one of them. Uncharted 2 was fun, but I did not think it to be exceptional. There were times in the game when I became frustrated. This frustration wasn't born from the game's difficulty but from it's design. The seemingly endless hoards of enemies that frequently attack you feels quite like, well, a 'hoard' mode. It feels basic and tacky. The climbing also seems fairly rudimentary and limited when compared to something like Assassin's Creed. I don't mean to savage the game too much, though, as it does have some very strong elements. The script is descent and the acting is very strong. It makes for a compelling reason to finish the game, even when the gameplay isn't pulling it's weight. The graphics can sometimes dazzle and create truly special moments, such as climbing up high and catching the sight of a spectacular vista. In the end, I felt Uncharted was a solid game that was worth playing... But it didn't meet my expectations for "The Best Game Ever". Expand
  3. RavenX301
    Oct 14, 2009
    7
    A little big over blown. I don't care much for it...at least not to the point that I see this game scoring better than games like Batman AA or Demon Souls. It is very, very, VERY linear...ALMOST to the point of the new Prince of Persia. Also the gun play isn't really all that interesting. Considering the reviews on this game, I was expecting much better than this. After the A little big over blown. I don't care much for it...at least not to the point that I see this game scoring better than games like Batman AA or Demon Souls. It is very, very, VERY linear...ALMOST to the point of the new Prince of Persia. Also the gun play isn't really all that interesting. Considering the reviews on this game, I was expecting much better than this. After the first couple days, I'm back on Demon Souls. I know these are two completely different games, but Uncharted 2 really does not warrant its high 90's reviews. Expand
  4. Dec 19, 2013
    7
    One of the most beautiful games I've ever seen. The gameplay is almost perfect. It's fun, but I find it hard to be able to follow the storyline somehow. I can't put my finger on it. The thing is, besides being technically perfect, this is just a standard third person shooter. There is absolutely nothing original here. It's probably just me, but the game doesn't really touch me, it's just aOne of the most beautiful games I've ever seen. The gameplay is almost perfect. It's fun, but I find it hard to be able to follow the storyline somehow. I can't put my finger on it. The thing is, besides being technically perfect, this is just a standard third person shooter. There is absolutely nothing original here. It's probably just me, but the game doesn't really touch me, it's just a very well made shooter, there's no angle, nothing new or original, nothing to draw me in.
    For some reason this game gets better reviews then the first one. I don't understand why, not much has changed.
    Expand
  5. Jan 23, 2015
    6
    While I still prefer the original Uncharted, this is pretty impressive sequel. Uncharted 1 had a nice personal charm of Indiana Jones wannabe, it felt more compact with it's story, locations. Uncharted 2 tries to do more, be bigger, change locations completely, but it lacks a bit of that personal magic from Uncharted 1. It's definitely a visual upgrade, but other than that it's basicallyWhile I still prefer the original Uncharted, this is pretty impressive sequel. Uncharted 1 had a nice personal charm of Indiana Jones wannabe, it felt more compact with it's story, locations. Uncharted 2 tries to do more, be bigger, change locations completely, but it lacks a bit of that personal magic from Uncharted 1. It's definitely a visual upgrade, but other than that it's basically more of the same set in different locations. Game mechanics are still nothing to write home about, overly used shooting sections are once again quite annoying and overused, but most importantly it often doesn't even make sense. They are somewhere high in the tops of Himalayas and of course that the bad guys suddenly have their own army there, hundreds of jeeps, tanks, hordes of enemies coming out of nowhere and in their lead is typical over the top very tough muscular bad guy with Russian or whatever accent. I said that before, but Uncharted should really calm down, stop trying to be bombastic shooting fest and focus more on the adventure and exploration. Because when it comes to that, to story, characters, location exploration, treasure hunting, that's when I have fun. Maybe a bit more open world and less linearity would help. Looking forward to other chapters. 6/10 Expand
  6. Aug 27, 2015
    7
    Uncharted 2 is probably my highest disappointment with PS3. It is a good game. It is beautiful, it sounds good and lasts long enough. However, it did not make it to my top 5 of Playstation 3 exclusives.

    The problem is, just like in the first game of the series, the gameplay. Hours and hours of repetitive shooting with mediocre controls make this game way less interesting than it could
    Uncharted 2 is probably my highest disappointment with PS3. It is a good game. It is beautiful, it sounds good and lasts long enough. However, it did not make it to my top 5 of Playstation 3 exclusives.

    The problem is, just like in the first game of the series, the gameplay. Hours and hours of repetitive shooting with mediocre controls make this game way less interesting than it could have been. It is very cinematic, but many situations are predictable and annoying. All missions can be summed up as follows: Nathan discovers some great place, explores it, solves the puzzle, and... Suddenly, hundreds of enemies - who, apparently, were waiting for you to solve it - enter the place and start shooting at you.
    And, again like in the previous game of the series, enemies (who are just wearing a T-shirt) need 4-5 rifle bullets to die, which is not credible. There are other ways of making the game more difficult, Naughty Dog...

    However, the graphics are amazing and the exploration gained importance in Uncharted 2 with respect to Uncharted 1, and this is a good direction to follow. If the shooting gameplay was great, or just good, this game would have been way better.
    Expand
  7. Mar 5, 2011
    7
    I think the best way to summarize Uncharted 2 in two words it would be ''popcorn game''.
    Uncharted 2 is one of those games that are really fun and epic but don't do much more then that. I'ts fun shooting tons of enemies and Uncharted 2 makes sure that you will shoot as many as possible. The problem is that the game doesn't do much to be original or add anything beyond that, just like the
    I think the best way to summarize Uncharted 2 in two words it would be ''popcorn game''.
    Uncharted 2 is one of those games that are really fun and epic but don't do much more then that. I'ts fun shooting tons of enemies and Uncharted 2 makes sure that you will shoot as many as possible. The problem is that the game doesn't do much to be original or add anything beyond that, just like the first uncharted. The story is ridiculous. The characters are nothing less then stereotypes, and the humor as simple and somewhat retarded. There are also millions of times where Drake and his friends were supposed to die and somehow they survive. Drake is apperantly inhuman since he can climb any small crany in the wall and jump ridiculous distances or catching a ledge at the last secong( for the gazillionth time). It's as if the Naughty dog did it on purpose that the ''platforming'' sequences will be this laughable. The game also has puzzles which test nothing else then your ability of sight( matching colors with status and such, really simple and slightly retarded stuff) so these aren't really puzzles. Putting the **** stuff aside the game is a blast and i mean it. The shooting elements in the game are far better then the platforming ones and are really the best thing about it. It's a 10 hour rollercoaster of fun shooting and it also has multiplayer which is nice. For all that it's worth the game is worth a ride for shooters fans. People who love platforming games( such as mario, sly, ratchet etc) will be really disappointed with the platforming elements in this game. In the end it's a solid shooter that's worth a mention but I have no idea why did it outhype Jesus with so many AAAAAAAA scores.
    Expand
  8. Jan 2, 2012
    6
    Somewhat overrated...The presentation is stunning, the graphics and aesthetics remain amazing to this date, but when you break it down to the core gameplay, you're left with a mediocre title which fails to engage. The shooting is downright boring, with very basic enemy A.I. and horrible gun sounds, the melee combat is underwhelming with only a few (bad) moves, the sneaking is even worseSomewhat overrated...The presentation is stunning, the graphics and aesthetics remain amazing to this date, but when you break it down to the core gameplay, you're left with a mediocre title which fails to engage. The shooting is downright boring, with very basic enemy A.I. and horrible gun sounds, the melee combat is underwhelming with only a few (bad) moves, the sneaking is even worse because of the A.I., or the lack thereof. Climbing lacks variety or suspense(think of the Prince of Persia series) and the puzzles are ridiculously easy. Combine all this with the most annoyingly cliché Russian villains and soldiers you can imagine and it becomes clear why Uncharted deuce fails to impress. Expand
  9. Jun 10, 2012
    5
    If you're staggered by an explosion, enemies can shoot you, even if your character is clearly in cover. The melee combat is flawed, with no real way to exit combat, or cancel into other moves like the previous 2 games. There are times where the game feels like it's just throwing enemies at you for the sake of making it more difficult, only to have it be incredibly annoying.
  10. jeffl
    Nov 2, 2009
    6
    For some reason i didnt really enjoy the game. I was expecting a gears feel to the game but for some reason the controls felt clunky and counter intuitive and I felt Drake moved awkward. Anyways played the game for 2.5 hours and after 1.5 hours of play I felt more of a duty to move on then me having fun trying to finish the game.
  11. Nov 4, 2011
    6
    The most overrated game ever. After reading all the reviews, i had really high expectations.Yes the graphics were pretty, but the game itself was boring, and it repeated itself. The plot was like from a chinese copy of an indiana jones movie. It sucked. The gameplay and co-op were really good, and they pretty much saved the game. But still i cant really recommend it to anyone.
  12. bt
    Dec 9, 2009
    6
    Way too much looking around to find where to climb to next in single player. This game isnt a 3rd person shooter like people say, its more of a platformer. You spend the vast majority of your time looking where to climb to next and its very frustrating. Poor controls too. MP is a confusing mess. Cant figure out how to upgrade my character, choose my booster, choose any deathmatch other Way too much looking around to find where to climb to next in single player. This game isnt a 3rd person shooter like people say, its more of a platformer. You spend the vast majority of your time looking where to climb to next and its very frustrating. Poor controls too. MP is a confusing mess. Cant figure out how to upgrade my character, choose my booster, choose any deathmatch other then team, or play the horde mode (which I heard this game has). Also under my stats in multiplayer it says ive killed 0 people. That isnt right. Its just a confusing mess with bad controls and terrible melee. The graphics are great (though they didnt blow me away the way uncharted 1 did) and the voice acting is wonderful. Lacks the gore, chainsaws, crawling to a teammate, headstomping and other cool things in Gears 2. And lacks the instant respawns and replays of deaths of CODMW2. Expand
  13. TonyL.
    Nov 8, 2009
    5
    This is probably the most overrated and hyped game of 2009. I played this at a friend's on his 47" 1080P LCD w/ HDMI and honestly the visuals did not impress me, since I usually game on PC with a powerful machine. The game looked like it was running at 720P and had weak textures, including jaggies. Sad how some say this is the best looking thing out there. Besides the visuals, this This is probably the most overrated and hyped game of 2009. I played this at a friend's on his 47" 1080P LCD w/ HDMI and honestly the visuals did not impress me, since I usually game on PC with a powerful machine. The game looked like it was running at 720P and had weak textures, including jaggies. Sad how some say this is the best looking thing out there. Besides the visuals, this game is very unoriginal; meaning it steals a lot of other game's mechanics. This game even felt too short for 60 bucks. Also, I did not like the controls... although its most likely because I've spent my time firing virtual guns near accurate with you know, a computer mouse. I ended up asking my friend if this game was overrated and he replied in a mellow way that, yeah it was and kind of short. If you're an open-minded gamer and isn't biased, you will agree with my review. I am puzzled how Viorel 800022 gave this game a 10, yet saying he has a full list of complaints for Uncharted 2. This game just really isn't so godly. Expand
  14. ????????
    Nov 9, 2009
    6
    Easily the 2nd most overated game on ps3 (1st inFamous) has some god bits but is repatative all the way through with the same shoot, climb, shoot so if you want a good action game buy Arkham Asylum instead, it beats it bycountry mile
  15. GusC
    Dec 31, 2009
    5
    Meh. This is really no different from every other adventure blockbluster. There's a lackluster plot, repetitive gameplay, uninspired sidequests, all adding up to no fun for an experienced gamer. The graphics are top notch, however, so if you are won over by eye candy, this alone may get you by.
  16. WillC
    Nov 19, 2009
    6
    Yes. The game looks amazing. I agree with that. But the gameplay is generic and is nothing new. The characters are voiced well, but not very relatable. The set pieces are pretty impressive, but mainly on a visual level. The multiplayer is good, but generic. Generic, but very pretty
  17. kosmow
    Nov 25, 2009
    6
    I don't understand what all the fuss is about this game is... Take away the graphics and one is left with a standard linear action game, with lots of wall climbing, easy to solve puzzles and whats that another wave of bad guys to shoot at. Think I've played this game before....
  18. fanlyficks
    Dec 25, 2009
    6
    over hyped game, not so bad but not so good either. the best part were the dialogues and yes, they deserve a 9. the rest is just Uncharted 2 with some more polished graphics.
  19. DavidS
    Oct 26, 2009
    6
    First off, this game is very overrated, I bought my PS3 in 2007 and was disappointed by the major lack of good games coming out for it. However, there were a couple things i could hold above my xbox 360 owning friends's heads - the original Uncharted and Metal Gear Solid 4. besides, my PS3 doesnt get red rings and die every time i turn it on. other than that, well we all know xbox First off, this game is very overrated, I bought my PS3 in 2007 and was disappointed by the major lack of good games coming out for it. However, there were a couple things i could hold above my xbox 360 owning friends's heads - the original Uncharted and Metal Gear Solid 4. besides, my PS3 doesnt get red rings and die every time i turn it on. other than that, well we all know xbox 360 is probably the winner of this gen, lol actually its the Wii for sales but whatever, because it has much better software, no not games, the operating system is much friendlier and everything is easier to use, but hey, it breaks. also, our exclusives are twice as good as theirs, gears? lol that game sucks, but dont compare it to Killzone, that sucked too. actually there were no good exclusives this time around, except for the first Uncharted. Great set pieces, voice acting, story, graphics, gameplay. So naturally i was psyched for this game and all the hype it was receiving, it looked like the best game ever. Boy was I wrong. Don't get me wrong, its alright, its capable, just not what I was hoping for. graphics remain unchanged, and come on, do we really want worse graphics than that uber crappy gears of war 2? sure we might call them fanboys when they say how good gears is, but we have to shut up when asked how uncharted compares. textures are not smooth, they are jaggy and not detailed anywhere except for character models, and animations are STIFF. I could not believe it, everything was so robotic, I dreaded the horrible platforming sections. the mechanics are still good, being unchanged from the superior first installment, but nothing is improved upon enough to warrant this game a purchase. Please, all you people buying the new Slim and getting into the steadily-growing-better-than-360 playstation experience - buy the first game but skip this one. This is one game i do not mind gamestop ripping me off on a trade in for, i haven't felt this way since resident evil 5! Expand
  20. DennisH.
    Oct 14, 2009
    5
    If you enjoy watching long, between-level cutscenes and constantly having play stopped during gameplay for mini cutscenes then this is the game for you! Unfortunately for me, I don't. As a result I'm not able to even remotely enjoy this game. Yes, it is absolutely beautiful. The best looking game on any console, period! If you like Metal Gear Solid and/or watching a movie while If you enjoy watching long, between-level cutscenes and constantly having play stopped during gameplay for mini cutscenes then this is the game for you! Unfortunately for me, I don't. As a result I'm not able to even remotely enjoy this game. Yes, it is absolutely beautiful. The best looking game on any console, period! If you like Metal Gear Solid and/or watching a movie while holding your PS3 controller, then you will love this game. If not, don't even bother with it. Expand
  21. Mar 14, 2011
    6
    I really wanted to love this game, but I can't honestly even say that I like it all that much. The main reason: it's monotonous. I was really into this game for about the first quarter or so, but as I made more and more progress, I realized that there really wasn't much else to the game play. It's just a series of endless climbing puzzles in tandem with endless gun battles against foesI really wanted to love this game, but I can't honestly even say that I like it all that much. The main reason: it's monotonous. I was really into this game for about the first quarter or so, but as I made more and more progress, I realized that there really wasn't much else to the game play. It's just a series of endless climbing puzzles in tandem with endless gun battles against foes with lousy AI. What makes matters even worse is how incredibly linear the game is. I knew when I bought it that I wasn't getting an open world game like Fallout, but it would be nice if you could explore a bit more to break up some of the boredom. The single player campaign isn't all that long, but it seems much longer than it really is due to the repetitive and tedious nature of the game play. I'm about 90 percent of the way through and at this point, I'm just struggling to finish it. I don't even care about finding all of the treasures anymore. I will say that visually the game is quite stunning and for some, that might be enough to carry the day. Expand
  22. Aug 5, 2012
    6
    You know, this game is good but at the same time is extremely overrated. The story is nothing to write home about, the first 4 Tomb Raiders had the same storyline - and even better ones - and in 1996/1999. Actually, this game copies A LOT of stuff in the old and classic Tomb Raider games (the 'tibetan dagger', the Tibet itself, the Monastery, the train fight, the bad guy who wants theYou know, this game is good but at the same time is extremely overrated. The story is nothing to write home about, the first 4 Tomb Raiders had the same storyline - and even better ones - and in 1996/1999. Actually, this game copies A LOT of stuff in the old and classic Tomb Raider games (the 'tibetan dagger', the Tibet itself, the Monastery, the train fight, the bad guy who wants the artifact to have all power, and I could go on). The gameplay is repetitive and the cutscenes are excessive (better than UC3 at least, that was a pain in the ass, cutscenes EVERYWHERE). The platforming is nothing exceptional. The best things? The graphics, the atmosphere, the lypsinching and Nathan Drake is a funny character. People just give it a 10 because it has superb graphics, the plot/gameplay stuff was made years ago and better, IMO. Expand
  23. TheChosenOne
    Jan 22, 2010
    6
    Ridiculously overrated... This is a perfect example of people mimmicking whatever mag they read. Notice how anybody who criticises it is a '360 fanboy'? Yes well done, your complimenting the framerate not dropping and the draw distance, just like IGN. You must be really clever. Anybody that can see past their own hand will immediately realise this is just another linear Ridiculously overrated... This is a perfect example of people mimmicking whatever mag they read. Notice how anybody who criticises it is a '360 fanboy'? Yes well done, your complimenting the framerate not dropping and the draw distance, just like IGN. You must be really clever. Anybody that can see past their own hand will immediately realise this is just another linear platformer. About 10-12 hrs, and there is not really that much replayability either. And you can forget "hundreds of hours" on multiplayer. I've never heard so much garbage in my life. Now don't get me wrong this is not a bad game at all, but its certainly nothing 'revolutionary'. I suppose its natural, a kind of defense mechanism, a reason to defend ones purchased console. Expand
  24. Feb 23, 2011
    6
    i know right? a 6 breez? a freaking 6? yup dawg a 6....snatch my manhood card for a week...ban me from my ps3...a very overrated, BORING, dull, experience... i fell to see the interest in this game... technically its a masterpiece, i understand most enjoy it. just not me... i'm having trouble concentrating on it...because i just don't care about nathan drake or his dull adventure. LARA CROFT!
  25. Ridnarhtim
    Jan 6, 2010
    6
    Most overrated game this year. Okay, so the graphics are amazing, and the dialogue is usually smooth and witty. But the controls are awful, it made the game frustrating for me to constantly jump into holes, cover behind the wrong objects, and roll off cliffs. The camera was quite frequently completely off, causing me to suddenly find myself running around blindly in the hectic of combat. Most overrated game this year. Okay, so the graphics are amazing, and the dialogue is usually smooth and witty. But the controls are awful, it made the game frustrating for me to constantly jump into holes, cover behind the wrong objects, and roll off cliffs. The camera was quite frequently completely off, causing me to suddenly find myself running around blindly in the hectic of combat. Enemies seemed to occasionally spawn behind me, causing me to suddenly be surprised and die, adding to the frustration. The game does nothing new, it's repetitive, you spend most of your time shooting ridiculous numbers of enemies, and the puzzles weren't challenging in the slightest. Not to mention the disgusting story progression in the last third or so. Having said all that, it's a fantastic cinematic experience, have your friends watch you play the first few levels and watch their jaws drop. But don't play too far, or they may realise just how repetitive and linear the gameplay truly is. Expand
  26. HowdyD
    Oct 24, 2009
    6
    Gotta be honest, this game annoyed the crap out of me, and I had such fond memories of the first one. It seems just like that last Tomb Raider which was a disaster. And the jumping and climbing should have been toned down for more gunplay. I think it's a problem with these "story" games. There's no challenge or accomplishment. You put in the time, and you get walked through the Gotta be honest, this game annoyed the crap out of me, and I had such fond memories of the first one. It seems just like that last Tomb Raider which was a disaster. And the jumping and climbing should have been toned down for more gunplay. I think it's a problem with these "story" games. There's no challenge or accomplishment. You put in the time, and you get walked through the game. Pass. Expand
  27. Oct 14, 2011
    5
    Unlike the original Uncharted, that had a simple interesing story taking you through a short game that had spectacular visuals and "good" gameplay... the guys at naughty dog thought they could re do the entire game and make it better by just making it bigger longer and... well... prettier. to be honest. this game did not work for me. halfway through i was tired of shooting soldiers... likeUnlike the original Uncharted, that had a simple interesing story taking you through a short game that had spectacular visuals and "good" gameplay... the guys at naughty dog thought they could re do the entire game and make it better by just making it bigger longer and... well... prettier. to be honest. this game did not work for me. halfway through i was tired of shooting soldiers... like seriously how many can there be, I did not care about the story... kinda forgot what the hell i was doing anyway. not a great game. totally overrated. Expand
  28. Dec 6, 2015
    7
    Its really sad that this was the best PS3 game of 2009. This game lets you run through corridors while your character takes subtle cues from your input and auto-performs many actions. The danger and feeling of control is not really felt as scripted events trigger. This game emulates stealth tactics from Metal Gear and climbing from Prince of Persia. It is not as satisfying to take outIts really sad that this was the best PS3 game of 2009. This game lets you run through corridors while your character takes subtle cues from your input and auto-performs many actions. The danger and feeling of control is not really felt as scripted events trigger. This game emulates stealth tactics from Metal Gear and climbing from Prince of Persia. It is not as satisfying to take out enemies because your weopons and the AI are not as refined as other games that are already in existence. The resolution of the textures, audio, and voice acting are pretty good. I still prefer any of the Tomb Raider games over this. The Uncharted series is super corny and shows how dumbed down PS3 games became. Expand
  29. Nov 14, 2012
    6
    Great beginning, pretty good middle, horrible third act.
    Story remains pretty good but loses some of its daring, action becomes more scripted and repetition becomes unbearable.
  30. Jun 25, 2011
    5
    Uncharted 2 is the most insanely overrated game of all time. Much more so that Final Fantasy VII or Ocarina of Time. The fanboys for this game have my utmost pity. It's not necessarily a bad game but the over-whelming amount of perfect scores and awards this game gets really shows how gaming is going down the toilet. Where do I begin? There are so many things to pick apart, so fewUncharted 2 is the most insanely overrated game of all time. Much more so that Final Fantasy VII or Ocarina of Time. The fanboys for this game have my utmost pity. It's not necessarily a bad game but the over-whelming amount of perfect scores and awards this game gets really shows how gaming is going down the toilet. Where do I begin? There are so many things to pick apart, so few characters. How bout the graphics? Yes, technically the graphics and animations are top-notch, but that doesn't mean that they're appealing to look at. Uncharted 2 has a very generic look to it. At least in the mountainous levels (which make up most of the game). Most of the game is quite uninteresting to look at unlike the first game. Something that's not helped by the fact that there really isn't ever much going on screen. Maps are small and usually have few enemies, no destruction, and some really bad textures. So is it really that impressive for them to have such good graphics? Not that graphics make a game good. But I bring it up because any Uncharted 2 fanboy will never shut up about the graphics. Much like they will tell you about how amazing the story and characters are. The story is as generic and unsatisfying as they come. Even compared to a summer flick movie like Transformers, the story in Uncharted 2 boils down to being an excuse to go around the world. Same goes for the characters. They're generic, annoying, and unlikable. Especially Nathan Drake- who is so moronic that he gets back-stabbed, not once, but twice by Cloe throughout the game and he STILL trusts her. He also has nothing interesting to say aside from some history lessons and failed attempted jokes. Moving on. The final point made by Uncharted fanboys is that the game "plays like a movie". My question is How in their feeble minds, is that a good thing? How is it good that a game plays like a movie? Shouldn't it play like- oh I don't know... A GAME! Indeed. Uncharted plays like a movie. Only one where you're forced to move the character and do other such button presses. Much of your time will be spent watching cutscenes. And even when you're not technically watching cutscenes, the gameplay is so mind-bogglingly linear that it's pretty much the equivalent of watching cutscenes. Especially the combat. This game was clearly dumbed down for dumbass casuals that just got done playing Call of Duty with their fraghead friends. The combat is so easy now. I remember playing Uncharted 1 and being destroyed with challenge. It was frustrating at times, sure. But it was fun and helped the gameplay. The maps were large and you'd face waves of 10 or 20 enemies. All of whom took no less than a half a clip of ammo to kill. You couldn't hold nearly enough ammo to take all of them which would force you move your ass out of the cover you're on, into fire, and find more ammo or better yet, different guns. It was exciting. In Uncharted 2, that's all gone. Maps are small and confined, and you can win each firefight by sitting at one bit of cover with an AK-47, until the enemies start spawning on your side of the cover. It' gets so boring because of this. The only times I really died during U2 were because of **** who hit me with RPGs or because of environmental stuff like the infamous tank level. This kind of thing is really getting annoying in games where you're punished by instant death for not knowing what to do. You put up with all this crap for easily the most **** ending I've ever seen in a game. In short, the singleplayer for this game was a disaster. The one interesting part of this game WAS the competetive multiplayer. It was really fun, especially in a party. It played like Gears of War but with much more maneuverability. You could climb anything and the maps were well designed. But Naughty Dog ruined it by constantly updating the game and tweaking. So often that I got pissed off. It didn't help that there was never a large population on the game. The most I ever saw online was 15,000 at once (which is pretty sad since over 3 million ppl had already bought the game). The co-op was also dull. It lacked much platforming or puzzles and there were only 3 levels. In short, this game average at best. I can't believe people have the nerve to say that it's one of the best games of all time. Even of 2009. It's a mess. I hope Naughty Dog learns their lesson before Uncharted 3. I used to be their #1 fan. Now, they're dead to me. Expand
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 105 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Mixed: 0 out of 105
  2. Negative: 0 out of 105
  1. 100
    Spread across twenty-six chapters is a story as playful and worthwhile as the gameplay.
  2. Graphically stunning, Uncharted 2: Among Thieves is, first of all, an interactive adventure, one that feels like a movie and even has a storyline of a movie. Most gameplay situations have been tailored in order to stun the player with originality and identification, and the end result is absolutely amazing.
  3. Among Thieves is all about constant movement. And even movement on top of movement. It grabbed me from the beginning and didn't let go for twelve hours. Once I finished, all I could think about was playing it again. More than a defining game for the PS3, Uncharted 2 is a defining game of this console generation.