Uncharted 2: Among Thieves PlayStation 3

  • Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Oct 13, 2009
User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 5398 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 19, 2011
    10
    Ignore ANY bad review they are probably just 360 fanboys who have not even played the game. I used own to all three consoles, this may just be the best game on all three.
  2. Feb 26, 2011
    8
    The good- The graphics are the best in gaming.Period.Everything is shown with INCREDIBLE detail. The sound,music,and voice acting are great, and writing is funny. Gameplay is fun, tight, and gets your heart pumping. The story is, for the most part, is good. The bad- It's just to short. 7 hours, and I had no intention of coming back. The story was just a little confusing, and at one point IThe good- The graphics are the best in gaming.Period.Everything is shown with INCREDIBLE detail. The sound,music,and voice acting are great, and writing is funny. Gameplay is fun, tight, and gets your heart pumping. The story is, for the most part, is good. The bad- It's just to short. 7 hours, and I had no intention of coming back. The story was just a little confusing, and at one point I had no idea what was going on. Overall- The Game,while overrated, is very good. If you own a PS3, rent first. Expand
  3. May 13, 2011
    10
    A thrilling adventure from start to finish. Multiplayer online is a fun, the online co-op is great as well. If only there was offline co-op...then it would get an 11.
  4. Jun 13, 2011
    10
    Whilst not one of my favourite games,I cannot fault this game in any way.There is no better game that springs to mind, where the graphics,story,characters,audio and gameplay get better as the game continues.
    I think I can say that playing UC2 is like being actually able to play 'Raiders of the Lost Ark'.Just Awesome.
  5. Aug 16, 2011
    10
    still a great game! great replay value and cant wait for the 3rd installment to come out! :D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D
  6. Aug 27, 2011
    10
    Xbox fan boys please cry more and you giving the game zeros will not change the fact that it's one of the best action adventure games ever.Truly a must have for all PS3 owners, and those who don't have a PS3, get one just for uncharted 1,2, and 3.
  7. Sep 20, 2011
    10
    Simple and short... Best game on the PS3 Pro's and cons: Pro: stellar graphics, gameplay, voice acting, multiplayer, single player, story telling, and pacing... cons:..... A 2 year wait for a sequel;P
  8. Dec 28, 2011
    8
    A great game but for some reason I didn't buy into the hype as much as everyone else. I bought this game with high expectaions and although it was very good, it wasn't anything ground breaking. The graphics are absolutely stunning and the story kept twisting and turning till the very end but there were quite a few moments where I found it a bit repetitive. Kill badguys to get to the nextA great game but for some reason I didn't buy into the hype as much as everyone else. I bought this game with high expectaions and although it was very good, it wasn't anything ground breaking. The graphics are absolutely stunning and the story kept twisting and turning till the very end but there were quite a few moments where I found it a bit repetitive. Kill badguys to get to the next level and rinse and repeat. There were few moments of genuine ingenuity here. I still enjoyed playing the game but not to the extent that others seemed to. Expand
  9. Jun 6, 2012
    10
    I love everything about this game. It's very pretty and very fun to play. Combat system has been improved and the story is perfect. Nathan Drake is the Indiana Jones for this generation. It's a non-stop, balls out, un apoligetic action fiesta. aquire this game without delay!
  10. Oct 28, 2012
    10
    Эта игра невероятно зрелещная, красивые локации, хорошийЭта игра невероятно зрелещная, красивые локации, хороший сюжет,интересные персонажи , эффектные QTE сцены,забавный юмор,её очень трудно критиковать потому что каждый элемент этой игры на высочайшем уровне, в своё время она сдела прорыв в сфере игровой индустрии показав насколько крутой может быть игра, я собрал в ней 100% трофеев и с радостью ещё пройду компанию, даже онлайн в игре на достойном уровне, в uncharted 2 нельзя не влюбиться, у неё есть свой шарм безусловно,10/10(точнее 96/100)-абсолютно адекватная оценка, говорите про игру что хотите. только сперва её пройдите Expand
  11. Oct 30, 2012
    10
    Best PS3 game ! This game have everything : Great action sequence, great combat, awesome graphics, great control and great cinematics ! A must in every PS3 owner's game library !
  12. Jul 6, 2013
    10
    One of my favorite video games of all time. Uncharted 2 just kept me compelled and did not want to put down the controller. Improves on everything from the first Uncharted, which itself was a fantastic game.
  13. Sep 18, 2013
    10
    this games is one of the most amazing I have played in my life, definitely in my top 5, my mind was freaking blown, it is really one of the best games you can buy, so if you haven't played it... WHAT ARE YOU WAITING FOR??? DO IT NOW!!!
  14. Dec 19, 2013
    7
    One of the most beautiful games I've ever seen. The gameplay is almost perfect. It's fun, but I find it hard to be able to follow the storyline somehow. I can't put my finger on it. The thing is, besides being technically perfect, this is just a standard third person shooter. There is absolutely nothing original here. It's probably just me, but the game doesn't really touch me, it's just aOne of the most beautiful games I've ever seen. The gameplay is almost perfect. It's fun, but I find it hard to be able to follow the storyline somehow. I can't put my finger on it. The thing is, besides being technically perfect, this is just a standard third person shooter. There is absolutely nothing original here. It's probably just me, but the game doesn't really touch me, it's just a very well made shooter, there's no angle, nothing new or original, nothing to draw me in.
    For some reason this game gets better reviews then the first one. I don't understand why, not much has changed.
    Expand
  15. Jan 23, 2015
    6
    While I still prefer the original Uncharted, this is pretty impressive sequel. Uncharted 1 had a nice personal charm of Indiana Jones wannabe, it felt more compact with it's story, locations. Uncharted 2 tries to do more, be bigger, change locations completely, but it lacks a bit of that personal magic from Uncharted 1. It's definitely a visual upgrade, but other than that it's basicallyWhile I still prefer the original Uncharted, this is pretty impressive sequel. Uncharted 1 had a nice personal charm of Indiana Jones wannabe, it felt more compact with it's story, locations. Uncharted 2 tries to do more, be bigger, change locations completely, but it lacks a bit of that personal magic from Uncharted 1. It's definitely a visual upgrade, but other than that it's basically more of the same set in different locations. Game mechanics are still nothing to write home about, overly used shooting sections are once again quite annoying and overused, but most importantly it often doesn't even make sense. They are somewhere high in the tops of Himalayas and of course that the bad guys suddenly have their own army there, hundreds of jeeps, tanks, hordes of enemies coming out of nowhere and in their lead is typical over the top very tough muscular bad guy with Russian or whatever accent. I said that before, but Uncharted should really calm down, stop trying to be bombastic shooting fest and focus more on the adventure and exploration. Because when it comes to that, to story, characters, location exploration, treasure hunting, that's when I have fun. Maybe a bit more open world and less linearity would help. Looking forward to other chapters. 6/10 Expand
  16. Mar 27, 2015
    10
    Naughty Dog owned last gen with all 3 Uncharted games and The Last of Us. The gameplay is perfect, the story is as good as Indiana Jones, and it is just the right blend of gunplay, puzzles, exploration, and cinematics. I would NEVER get tired of Naughty Dog doing action-adventure.
  17. Aug 27, 2015
    7
    Uncharted 2 is probably my highest disappointment with PS3. It is a good game. It is beautiful, it sounds good and lasts long enough. However, it did not make it to my top 5 of Playstation 3 exclusives.

    The problem is, just like in the first game of the series, the gameplay. Hours and hours of repetitive shooting with mediocre controls make this game way less interesting than it could
    Uncharted 2 is probably my highest disappointment with PS3. It is a good game. It is beautiful, it sounds good and lasts long enough. However, it did not make it to my top 5 of Playstation 3 exclusives.

    The problem is, just like in the first game of the series, the gameplay. Hours and hours of repetitive shooting with mediocre controls make this game way less interesting than it could have been. It is very cinematic, but many situations are predictable and annoying. All missions can be summed up as follows: Nathan discovers some great place, explores it, solves the puzzle, and... Suddenly, hundreds of enemies - who, apparently, were waiting for you to solve it - enter the place and start shooting at you.
    And, again like in the previous game of the series, enemies (who are just wearing a T-shirt) need 4-5 rifle bullets to die, which is not credible. There are other ways of making the game more difficult, Naughty Dog...

    However, the graphics are amazing and the exploration gained importance in Uncharted 2 with respect to Uncharted 1, and this is a good direction to follow. If the shooting gameplay was great, or just good, this game would have been way better.
    Expand
  18. Mar 5, 2011
    7
    I think the best way to summarize Uncharted 2 in two words it would be ''popcorn game''.
    Uncharted 2 is one of those games that are really fun and epic but don't do much more then that. I'ts fun shooting tons of enemies and Uncharted 2 makes sure that you will shoot as many as possible. The problem is that the game doesn't do much to be original or add anything beyond that, just like the
    I think the best way to summarize Uncharted 2 in two words it would be ''popcorn game''.
    Uncharted 2 is one of those games that are really fun and epic but don't do much more then that. I'ts fun shooting tons of enemies and Uncharted 2 makes sure that you will shoot as many as possible. The problem is that the game doesn't do much to be original or add anything beyond that, just like the first uncharted. The story is ridiculous. The characters are nothing less then stereotypes, and the humor as simple and somewhat retarded. There are also millions of times where Drake and his friends were supposed to die and somehow they survive. Drake is apperantly inhuman since he can climb any small crany in the wall and jump ridiculous distances or catching a ledge at the last secong( for the gazillionth time). It's as if the Naughty dog did it on purpose that the ''platforming'' sequences will be this laughable. The game also has puzzles which test nothing else then your ability of sight( matching colors with status and such, really simple and slightly retarded stuff) so these aren't really puzzles. Putting the **** stuff aside the game is a blast and i mean it. The shooting elements in the game are far better then the platforming ones and are really the best thing about it. It's a 10 hour rollercoaster of fun shooting and it also has multiplayer which is nice. For all that it's worth the game is worth a ride for shooters fans. People who love platforming games( such as mario, sly, ratchet etc) will be really disappointed with the platforming elements in this game. In the end it's a solid shooter that's worth a mention but I have no idea why did it outhype Jesus with so many AAAAAAAA scores.
    Expand
  19. Nov 8, 2015
    9
    Near perfect game. If you own a ps3 or a ps4 (remaster) pick it up and play it. Controls are tight, story is great, set pieces are great. just a good all round game
  20. Jan 2, 2012
    6
    Somewhat overrated...The presentation is stunning, the graphics and aesthetics remain amazing to this date, but when you break it down to the core gameplay, you're left with a mediocre title which fails to engage. The shooting is downright boring, with very basic enemy A.I. and horrible gun sounds, the melee combat is underwhelming with only a few (bad) moves, the sneaking is even worseSomewhat overrated...The presentation is stunning, the graphics and aesthetics remain amazing to this date, but when you break it down to the core gameplay, you're left with a mediocre title which fails to engage. The shooting is downright boring, with very basic enemy A.I. and horrible gun sounds, the melee combat is underwhelming with only a few (bad) moves, the sneaking is even worse because of the A.I., or the lack thereof. Climbing lacks variety or suspense(think of the Prince of Persia series) and the puzzles are ridiculously easy. Combine all this with the most annoyingly cliché Russian villains and soldiers you can imagine and it becomes clear why Uncharted deuce fails to impress. Expand
  21. Jun 10, 2012
    5
    If you're staggered by an explosion, enemies can shoot you, even if your character is clearly in cover. The melee combat is flawed, with no real way to exit combat, or cancel into other moves like the previous 2 games. There are times where the game feels like it's just throwing enemies at you for the sake of making it more difficult, only to have it be incredibly annoying.
  22. Apr 20, 2012
    3
    This game is very polished in almost every aspect: the graphics, the cinematic cut scenes, the voice acting, the story. The only thing it lacks is an exciting gameplay, which is why I give this game such a low score. Sure it has a combination of puzzle solving, shooting, platforming, online multiplayer but none of them are really interesting (to me at least). Overall this is a ridiculouslyThis game is very polished in almost every aspect: the graphics, the cinematic cut scenes, the voice acting, the story. The only thing it lacks is an exciting gameplay, which is why I give this game such a low score. Sure it has a combination of puzzle solving, shooting, platforming, online multiplayer but none of them are really interesting (to me at least). Overall this is a ridiculously overrated game with mediocre gameplay. Expand
  23. Liferuler
    Dec 6, 2009
    0
    Every Aspect of Uncharted 2 that has been implemented as a new addition to Uncharted 1 sucks. This game is completely lifeless and full of bugs! Stay with Uncharted (one!) if you like adventure games on PS3!!
  24. ElSupes
    Nov 24, 2009
    2
    This game is soooo OVERRATED it´s not even funny, oh wait! it is! OK the game looks good, it looks better than anything I've ever played on any console, however this only applies to the environments; the character models are nothing to write home about, specially the enemies, they are generic and every enemy in a given area looks exactly the same. The combat is not as good as This game is soooo OVERRATED it´s not even funny, oh wait! it is! OK the game looks good, it looks better than anything I've ever played on any console, however this only applies to the environments; the character models are nothing to write home about, specially the enemies, they are generic and every enemy in a given area looks exactly the same. The combat is not as good as they make it sound, the only thing I really enjoyed was the story and the dialogue is pretty funny, but really, if I want witty and funny talking characters I´d just rent a movie and that would be a lot cheaper and it wouldn't take as long. In a related story, people who write comments in sites like this have the most horrible writing I´ve ever seen, guys! please, grab a book every once in a while so you can write proper reviews. Expand
  25. jeffl
    Nov 2, 2009
    6
    For some reason i didnt really enjoy the game. I was expecting a gears feel to the game but for some reason the controls felt clunky and counter intuitive and I felt Drake moved awkward. Anyways played the game for 2.5 hours and after 1.5 hours of play I felt more of a duty to move on then me having fun trying to finish the game.
  26. Dec 22, 2011
    10
    no game can defeat this game!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!uncharted 2 roxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
  27. Nov 6, 2011
    1
    Absolutely awful. The characters, Drake in particular, are so dull, and there isn't a single line that isn't a cliche. I found it insulting, and can't really understand how can IGN rate it so highly.
  28. cb
    Dec 11, 2009
    2
    Since I played Uncharted 1 I couldnt quit thinking about how great its sequel would be if they fixed the controls and added multiplayer. To my surprise, I thought the sequel was much worse. All you do in single player is climb. This game is broken. I have gotten to two spots in this game where i knew where to climb but the he could not grab the ledge. Both times I spent about 3 hours and Since I played Uncharted 1 I couldnt quit thinking about how great its sequel would be if they fixed the controls and added multiplayer. To my surprise, I thought the sequel was much worse. All you do in single player is climb. This game is broken. I have gotten to two spots in this game where i knew where to climb but the he could not grab the ledge. Both times I spent about 3 hours and died over a 100 times because he would not recognize the ledge to grab. At another point i was supposed to put a dagger into a statue. Well the game never gave me the option to. The triangle button never came up when I was at the statue. I blew about three hours trying to figure out what to do. Finally, all the sudden a cut scene came on that never came on before and it allowed me to put the dagger in. Simply climbing in this game is a major chore. I tried my hardest to finish this game. But I cant beat a broken game. There is so little action in this game. And when you finally get to some, it to is very frustrating. Cut scenes and bad controls ruin the action. At one point I walked up to the boss and shot bullets directly into his head yet it didnt hurt him, and he killed me. But the next time a cut scene happened (why didnt the cut scene occur the first time) and we got into a fight and a simple punch killed him. The action in this game feels forced, manipulative, and buggy. As far as multiplayer goes, it isnt much better. I liked Gears 2 alot, so I couldnt wait for this game because I thought it would be a faster paced version of Gears 2 with the ability to respawn in multiplayer. But its frustrating and felt tacked on. The load times are long. The menus are confusing. And I cant figure out how to switch modes. How do you get into free for all deathmatch? How do you alter your character? Couldnt figure out how co-op worked. When trying to upgrade what does upgrade co-op guns mean? Does it not effect your gun in deathmatch? Overall, I thought Uncharted 2 is possibly the most frustrating game ive ever played. It could have been so good if they would have finished the game and fixed the controls, camera, melee, mulitiplayer, and gave it some of the nice touces of Gears 2 or the new COD, to show they actually care and werent trying to rush it out before the game was finished. If you want a better 3rd person shooter, its not even close, go with Gears 2 or the new Ratchet and clank game. Expand
  29. DV
    Dec 15, 2009
    3
    I expect every good game I play to be innovative in every regard or it has automatically failed. I hate it when games borrow ideas or game mechanics from other games. I don't care if a story has a good game with good characters, I will find and point out alleged bugs that were minor yet proved game-breaking for me. Any game that is not on PC is graphically inferior since it runs at I expect every good game I play to be innovative in every regard or it has automatically failed. I hate it when games borrow ideas or game mechanics from other games. I don't care if a story has a good game with good characters, I will find and point out alleged bugs that were minor yet proved game-breaking for me. Any game that is not on PC is graphically inferior since it runs at lower resolution. People who enjoy games are fanboys and my sole purpose is to find faults in their arguments. Liking a game has to be justified using faulty logic. Expand
  30. SolT
    Dec 10, 2009
    0
    This game will officially go down as officially one of the most overrated games of all time, due to unjustifiably being praised excessively given the lack of blockbuster titles on a largely failed system to the most successful gaming brand of all time in Sony Playstation. The title does not innovate in any way beyond its cinematic presentation and the gameplay is standardised to the core This game will officially go down as officially one of the most overrated games of all time, due to unjustifiably being praised excessively given the lack of blockbuster titles on a largely failed system to the most successful gaming brand of all time in Sony Playstation. The title does not innovate in any way beyond its cinematic presentation and the gameplay is standardised to the core with very little in the way of innovate mechanics that seperate all time great games from merely good ones. Mark my words, when the dust settles on this game, and this game doesn't feature prominently (i.e. in the top 20) in many of the nets greatest games of all time lists (surprise surprise) the gaming world will finally come to the proper realisation that this truly is one of the most overrated games (by both critics and users) of all time. Expand
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 105 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Mixed: 0 out of 105
  2. Negative: 0 out of 105
  1. 100
    Spread across twenty-six chapters is a story as playful and worthwhile as the gameplay.
  2. Graphically stunning, Uncharted 2: Among Thieves is, first of all, an interactive adventure, one that feels like a movie and even has a storyline of a movie. Most gameplay situations have been tailored in order to stun the player with originality and identification, and the end result is absolutely amazing.
  3. Among Thieves is all about constant movement. And even movement on top of movement. It grabbed me from the beginning and didn't let go for twelve hours. Once I finished, all I could think about was playing it again. More than a defining game for the PS3, Uncharted 2 is a defining game of this console generation.