Uncharted 2: Among Thieves PlayStation 3

  • Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Oct 13, 2009
User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 5445 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. SebastianG
    Oct 20, 2009
    10
    A stunningly presented, expertly paced adventure. Uncharted 2 might impress you with just one of its features; its looks or its style, its gameplay or presentation, or its excellent characterisation and voice acting. But success in every single one of these areas and more, means it truly captures you, and truly pushes action adventure to a whole new level. And then gives you brilliant A stunningly presented, expertly paced adventure. Uncharted 2 might impress you with just one of its features; its looks or its style, its gameplay or presentation, or its excellent characterisation and voice acting. But success in every single one of these areas and more, means it truly captures you, and truly pushes action adventure to a whole new level. And then gives you brilliant online multiplayer as well. An absolute thrill ride from beginning to end, and an unforgettable experience. Expand
  2. DaveH
    Oct 20, 2009
    10
    As an xbox owner i can say im guilty of wanting this game to be dissapointing due to jealousey, but after seeing my brother playing it i just had to swap consoles for the weekend. The game itself, as you may of heard, is amazing. It takes the best parts of other AAA games and pushes the boundaries of each element to the next level. With the gun play of Gears and the climbing of Assains As an xbox owner i can say im guilty of wanting this game to be dissapointing due to jealousey, but after seeing my brother playing it i just had to swap consoles for the weekend. The game itself, as you may of heard, is amazing. It takes the best parts of other AAA games and pushes the boundaries of each element to the next level. With the gun play of Gears and the climbing of Assains creed blended perfectly together all with breathtaking set peices from the likes of call of duty added to the mix. But what makes it even more impressive is the graphical quality throughout. Alot of things are happening at anyone time but the engine runs smooth with with no slow down or graphical comprimise. Obviously no game is perfect and more than likely never will, but if you like this type of game, you will find it closer to perfect than you may of been led to expect. I can honestly say this is my favourite game of the last couple of years and if money wasnt an issue, and playstation keeps getting games of this quality, then i would have to invest in a playstation3. Although im sure gears of war3 will give it a run for its money, lol. Expand
  3. RichardE
    Oct 20, 2009
    9
    Terrific game. It is very similar to the first game but with all the dials turned up to 11. It has its' faults but nothing to spoil the overall experience. Drake is definately one of gamings great characters; kind of between John McLane (Die Hard) and Indiana Jones. Definate replay value and excellent online features, both co-op and versus. Naughty Dog are a developer to watch.
  4. NazrulH
    Oct 21, 2009
    10
    Has amazing set pieces. Improves on everything from Drake's Fortune - animation, melee, much more varied stealth attack, varied guns with specific and essential abilities i.e close range type/long range type, monkey bars, story, more andrenaline in narrow escape set courses and of course graphics. Puzzles are of same challenge but with a slight bigger scale in terms of manoeuvre. Has amazing set pieces. Improves on everything from Drake's Fortune - animation, melee, much more varied stealth attack, varied guns with specific and essential abilities i.e close range type/long range type, monkey bars, story, more andrenaline in narrow escape set courses and of course graphics. Puzzles are of same challenge but with a slight bigger scale in terms of manoeuvre. Naughty Gods go as far as having specific animation coded for those 1 special moments such as walking past villigers and interacting with them if u feel like it. There's lots of things they knew that didn't have to be done yet they put so much dedication towards it. Coop is THE best among all games on Playstation3. Has specific objective mode for online coop which is a good move since it allows for better and balanced gameplay without hindering the amazing single player campaign. Never should you run and gun but keep an eye out for each other and work together. It's like horde mode but not just fixed in 1 area. You still have to progress through the levels which are slightly tweaked versions of single player mission. Lot's of fun especially playing with mic on with online friends. Competitive online is fair and runs very well. Expand
  5. CatT
    Oct 22, 2009
    10
    Graphics and story are great. They changed the fighting system. More variation than the first game, beautiful locations, some great (may I say 'epic?') moments. Puzzles were nice and good fights. I loved the voice acting.. simply phenomenal. Awesome co-op and multiplayer. I just have to give it a 10/10, the critics didn't lie, It really is awesome.
  6. AndrewK
    Oct 23, 2009
    10
    Best game I've played in a long time, and I don't think its an understatement when people say that this game makes PS3 worth buying. I know the same was said about LittleBigPlanet, which I thought was awesome, but I definitely think Uncharted 2 was a more fun experience. Great replay value with unlockables, treasures and Crushing mode, and you will want to play the story again Best game I've played in a long time, and I don't think its an understatement when people say that this game makes PS3 worth buying. I know the same was said about LittleBigPlanet, which I thought was awesome, but I definitely think Uncharted 2 was a more fun experience. Great replay value with unlockables, treasures and Crushing mode, and you will want to play the story again because it is that sick. The graphics are phenomenal. The last game of this sort I've had this much fun playing was Goldeneye for N64. This may be the best game I've played in years. Expand
  7. TracieV.
    Oct 23, 2009
    10
    Uncharted 2: Among Thieves is one of the best games I have ever played. Everything about this game is amazing. Beautiful graphics, great characters, great story, great voice acting, etc. Whenever I'm playing the game, I don't want to put the controller down. Whenever I would play my brother, sister, and dad would watch me because they were so interested in the story. (my dad Uncharted 2: Among Thieves is one of the best games I have ever played. Everything about this game is amazing. Beautiful graphics, great characters, great story, great voice acting, etc. Whenever I'm playing the game, I don't want to put the controller down. Whenever I would play my brother, sister, and dad would watch me because they were so interested in the story. (my dad forced me to turn it off because he had to go to work and didn't want to miss any of the storyline). I don't care what anyone else says, Uncharted 2: Among Thieves deserves to be game of the year! Expand
  8. ScottA
    Oct 20, 2009
    10
    The game takes you back to the first time you watched an Indiana Jones movie, except this time it's playable... and better. Uncharted 2 combines fun, fast-paced gunplay with great platforming sequences and stunning graphics. The digital acting is unparallel and is easily one of the best games ever created. A must play for every fan of action games.
  9. RogerT
    Oct 24, 2009
    10
    Games like this one don't come around very often. It's the best looking game on any platform and I had a lot of fun playing it. You don't need to have played the first one to enjoy this one, but I highly recommend picking it up.
  10. ILoveThisGame
    Oct 24, 2009
    10
    I always go to metacritic for reviews but never have written one. But Uncharted 2 is so awesome that it deserves it. I truly don't think I've enjoyed a game like this in a long time. All the gameplay elements go together. Every little detail is touched upon. I play all the big blockbusters on xbox 360 and ps3 and would say I like a game that is truly exciting for a shorter I always go to metacritic for reviews but never have written one. But Uncharted 2 is so awesome that it deserves it. I truly don't think I've enjoyed a game like this in a long time. All the gameplay elements go together. Every little detail is touched upon. I play all the big blockbusters on xbox 360 and ps3 and would say I like a game that is truly exciting for a shorter amount of time then just average for a long time (looking at you fallout 3). As a busy person I don't have a lot of free time and am truly thankful for a game without extreme time devotions. IMO this is the most perfect game to come out. I'm not saying its all perfect because there is always room to improve but in comparison to every game that has ever come out (at least the ones I've played) its by far the greatest single player experience you can have (multiplayer on uncharted is no MW but its above everage). If you can buy only one system and one game this should be it. I think anyone that doesn't enjoy this game should go to a doctor because you might be depressed! Expand
  11. JaimeS
    Oct 25, 2009
    10
    This game is simply extraordinary. I was worried online would not be good because its their first time having multiplayer, but naughty dog nailed it to create a very addictive multiplayer. The offline is great as well. I dont usually play the story lines, but this one i had to play. Cut scenes are not short but also not near as much as MGS4 as some people would claim(maybe because they This game is simply extraordinary. I was worried online would not be good because its their first time having multiplayer, but naughty dog nailed it to create a very addictive multiplayer. The offline is great as well. I dont usually play the story lines, but this one i had to play. Cut scenes are not short but also not near as much as MGS4 as some people would claim(maybe because they haven't played it). Naughty Dog has really stepped it up. For that i will consider their games they will release. Expand
  12. JörgT
    Oct 25, 2009
    10
    10 for effort, 10 for execution, 10 for the fun of it all. No, it's not a sandbox game, but man, does it do story well... at least for a videogame. If only we can get away from Indiana Jones in the next big action adventure franchise, that would be even better.
  13. MatthewE
    Dec 6, 2009
    10
    Possibly the best single-player gaming ever! The multiplayer gets almost as high marks. The vs mode is OK, but the co-op is friggin' sweet. Not perfect, but almost.
  14. AlanD
    Dec 7, 2009
    10
    Refines adventure games as Tomb Raider did back in 1996! A true masterpiece of a game!
  15. SuperSlasher
    Oct 28, 2009
    10
    Absolutely without a doubet the most awesome game I've ever played, and I've played a alot of games way back to Goldeneye on N64. The atmosphere, graphics, puzzles, adventure, voice-acting, musical score, surprises, storyline, humor, etc., etc., etc. are simply unparalleled on any platform! So rich & delicious it's like French Food. Completely satisfying in every way Absolutely without a doubet the most awesome game I've ever played, and I've played a alot of games way back to Goldeneye on N64. The atmosphere, graphics, puzzles, adventure, voice-acting, musical score, surprises, storyline, humor, etc., etc., etc. are simply unparalleled on any platform! So rich & delicious it's like French Food. Completely satisfying in every way imaginable. Shall I tell you how I REALLY feel? Haha Expand
  16. Laszlo
    Oct 28, 2009
    9
    The game is a technical marvel and sets a new standard for action games. However it takes a few hours till it gets really amazing. The Train and convoy levels were the most fun IMO. Overall I prefer more atmospheric games like TOMB RAIDER UNDERWORLD.
  17. Val
    Dec 8, 2009
    10
    One of the best games.. in fact, possibly THE best game ever made. The only disappointment is that it's a bit too short
  18. neofitoso
    Dec 9, 2009
    10
    The best graphics ever and fantastic action.Perfect story.I never wanted this memorable game to end.This game is 10/10.MUST BUY.
  19. DraganaK
    Oct 29, 2009
    10
    Absolutely fantastic game. The story, gameplay, graphics, sound, level design, controls, and multi-player options are all top notch. You're really doing yourself a great disservice as a gamer if you do not at least try out this game.
  20. pg
    Dec 9, 2009
    10
    No game has yet to reach the standards of Uncharted 2. The game is near perfect in every aspect.
  21. ColeP
    Oct 31, 2009
    10
    Incredible game: awesome story, amazing characters, great humor, unprecedented graphics, and a multiplayer experience that has a non-mulitplayer guy excited to keep playing it! Everyone should give this game a try!
  22. BrianB
    Oct 30, 2009
    10
    Probably the best game ever made! No other game comes even remotly close to this, exept maybe drakes fortune. Everything about this game is top noch. Even the multiplayer is fun and i dont like playing online games! This is what all games should strive for in terms of quality. Naughty Dog is the best !
  23. RyanS
    Oct 30, 2009
    8
    This is a great game, but don't let anyone fool you, It is NOT the best game of all time (or generation even)... The Single-player experience if great, but for an adventure game, is pretty linear. It is pretty lengthy, but the scenarios seem kind of blended together (you have at least one teamate leading you around for most of the game). The multiplayer is unique, with the perk This is a great game, but don't let anyone fool you, It is NOT the best game of all time (or generation even)... The Single-player experience if great, but for an adventure game, is pretty linear. It is pretty lengthy, but the scenarios seem kind of blended together (you have at least one teamate leading you around for most of the game). The multiplayer is unique, with the perk system, to the gunplay. My biggest gripe is the inconsistancy and how the maps fail to utilize height advantage. Certainly a must have for PS3 owners, who have to be itching for a game to play lately... But doesn't come close to the metascore champion of the Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time. Solid game, but doesn't deserve a 97 metascore... Expand
  24. CranstonB.
    Oct 30, 2009
    10
    What is up with the PS3 lately. It's really coming out with top notch games. I own both and have not bought a game for the 360 in 10 months. Uncharted 2 has got to be the best, most polished game I have ever played. I can't remember the last time I wanted to start a game over the minute I finished it. That's exactly what I did with Uncharted 2. People. NOW is the time to What is up with the PS3 lately. It's really coming out with top notch games. I own both and have not bought a game for the 360 in 10 months. Uncharted 2 has got to be the best, most polished game I have ever played. I can't remember the last time I wanted to start a game over the minute I finished it. That's exactly what I did with Uncharted 2. People. NOW is the time to buy a PS3. Infamous, Demon Souls, Uncharted series, Killzone, God of War. Sheesh. How could you NOT want one??? Expand
  25. MichaelH.
    Oct 30, 2009
    10
    That's actually a 9.5 but since i can't put it ill stick with 10. This game is mind-blowing in every way; the graphics, storytelling, the characters it just gets about everything right, but it's not perfect because no game so far can be perfect; yet. I fully recommend this game and also recommend that you keep a close eye on Naughty Dog.
  26. AnthonyR
    Jan 11, 2010
    10
    This game is very underrated, obv a 10 but sure as hell nothing lower than an 8, i gave it a 10 mainly because it is awesome, I bet most of the people who gave it 0 haven't even played it, probably don't even have a ps3, stupid fanboys.
  27. josephc
    Jan 13, 2010
    10
    This is simply the best action game ever made. Naughty dog has created a master piece, start to finish. Go buy this game! Go buy a PS3 just for this game
  28. markl
    Jan 14, 2010
    10
    uncharted 2 is NOT overated at all it is singlehandedly one of the best apps to come out in a long time. The game play is simple, fluid and dynamic. The movies will hook you from the start and are worthy of a oscar. The multiplayer isnt so good but dont let this spoil you from one of the greatest games out there. The graphics are beautiful and it is a solid emotional rollercoaster of a uncharted 2 is NOT overated at all it is singlehandedly one of the best apps to come out in a long time. The game play is simple, fluid and dynamic. The movies will hook you from the start and are worthy of a oscar. The multiplayer isnt so good but dont let this spoil you from one of the greatest games out there. The graphics are beautiful and it is a solid emotional rollercoaster of a game. This truly deserves to stand amongst the giants of the gaming world. Expand
  29. MattW
    Jan 15, 2010
    10
    Wow DV trolled you guys hard XD He was commenting on how some other reviewers act in their reviews. Anyway, Uncharted 2 is pretty damn amazing.
  30. grimdeath
    Jan 18, 2010
    8
    Good game but I don't see what all the fuss is about it's good but not great, don't believe the hype.
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 105 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Mixed: 0 out of 105
  2. Negative: 0 out of 105
  1. 100
    Spread across twenty-six chapters is a story as playful and worthwhile as the gameplay.
  2. Graphically stunning, Uncharted 2: Among Thieves is, first of all, an interactive adventure, one that feels like a movie and even has a storyline of a movie. Most gameplay situations have been tailored in order to stun the player with originality and identification, and the end result is absolutely amazing.
  3. Among Thieves is all about constant movement. And even movement on top of movement. It grabbed me from the beginning and didn't let go for twelve hours. Once I finished, all I could think about was playing it again. More than a defining game for the PS3, Uncharted 2 is a defining game of this console generation.