Uncharted 2: Among Thieves PlayStation 3

  • Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Oct 13, 2009
User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 5225 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. shetaki
    Dec 23, 2009
    10
    Very good graphics and amazing story line. hopefully the cover glitches and A.I. will be fixed in an update but even if it isnt this is still a great gaming experience. oh and for all those people who are giving this game low scores, games are meant to be enjoyed. you guys seem to just play it, find as many glitches as you can and then write a bad review so that people who have not played Very good graphics and amazing story line. hopefully the cover glitches and A.I. will be fixed in an update but even if it isnt this is still a great gaming experience. oh and for all those people who are giving this game low scores, games are meant to be enjoyed. you guys seem to just play it, find as many glitches as you can and then write a bad review so that people who have not played the game yet will get the wrong idea. jesus christ PLAY THE GAME TO HAVE FUN! if something like this came out 5 years ago the whole world would have shit themselves. Well for those of you who have not played this game yet, dont listen to those dumbshits buy it and prepare for a stellar gaming experience that you will come back for again and again. Expand
  2. JoshS
    Dec 25, 2009
    8
    This game is good but it's nothing special. The gameplay is a mix between Assassin's Creed and a horde shooter, and horde shooters get boring and annoying, especially when the AI is so much better at shooting than you.
  3. CarlP
    Dec 26, 2009
    10
    This is definitely one of the top ten best games of all time. It's not innovative but it does everything right. The single player is the best of the year by a long shot.Also the multiplayer is awesome it's like that of Gears of Wars' which is great but with a platforming twist. So pick it up if you can.BEST GAME OF THE YEAR!!!
  4. AM
    Dec 26, 2009
    10
    DV actually rated this 3 because he wants it not to have such a high overall score of user ratings, and so does everyone else who rates this less than a 6. My MOTHER enjoys this game. It's simple, fresh, and has elements of the best game genres: Shooters, Action-Adventure and Platformers. Plus is looks visually solid. No, really. It is SOLID. The character models, when in-game, DV actually rated this 3 because he wants it not to have such a high overall score of user ratings, and so does everyone else who rates this less than a 6. My MOTHER enjoys this game. It's simple, fresh, and has elements of the best game genres: Shooters, Action-Adventure and Platformers. Plus is looks visually solid. No, really. It is SOLID. The character models, when in-game, aren't as great as the overall environments, but they still get a huge thumbs-up. Then there's the multiplayer... Balanced, with a great matchmaking system and constantly updating community service and servers. A no-brainer purchase for any PS3 owner. Even if you don't like third person shooters, just grab this one and beat it on very easy, then just keep watching the cutscenes. They're THAT incredible. Expand
  5. ABBAABBAA
    Dec 27, 2009
    10
    Freaking amazing game, and insanely fun too. This just continues to prove why the PS3 (which still has yet to have a game that meets its technological limit) is better than the 360
  6. FPSMaster
    Dec 27, 2009
    7
    I'm one of the people that also feels against the rest of the world when it comes to this game. Maybe I'm just jaded from this generation's small leap graphically over last generation, but I'm just not impressed by this game's graphics. They don't look bad, but I feel they look too colorful & over saturated for my tastes. I also think they sometimes look I'm one of the people that also feels against the rest of the world when it comes to this game. Maybe I'm just jaded from this generation's small leap graphically over last generation, but I'm just not impressed by this game's graphics. They don't look bad, but I feel they look too colorful & over saturated for my tastes. I also think they sometimes look really plain & cheap & poorly textured compared to other games this generation that have a meaty & hefty look to them with high res textures. The platforming is OK at best but extremely linear. I'd rather play POP:SOT or those horrible Assassins Creed games for my platforming fix. Shooting feels too light & chintsy & almost tacked on which carries over into the terrible tacked on multiplayer. Maybe it's because I was a 360 fan all generation until recently that makes me not understand why everyone thinks this game is so amazing, but like with KZ2, Infamous, UC1 & MGS4, I feel I saw all this years ago on 360 where it all looked & played better. Expand
  7. MarkW
    Dec 28, 2009
    8
    Wow, the graphics are great! Is that what makes a good game? On normal difficulty it's about 16 hours long...I rented it and returned it 4 days early. I thought the game was sort of a drag. The acting was melancholy and the story was dry and boring. If it would have been a movie instead of a game it would have been an epic failure. At times the camera angles are claustrophobic as is Wow, the graphics are great! Is that what makes a good game? On normal difficulty it's about 16 hours long...I rented it and returned it 4 days early. I thought the game was sort of a drag. The acting was melancholy and the story was dry and boring. If it would have been a movie instead of a game it would have been an epic failure. At times the camera angles are claustrophobic as is the game itself with its very linear nature. Have fun jumping sideways 30 feet from rock to rock only to find that you can't even climb a simple tree. The game pushes you to keep going down the only path there is and when there is a little room to explore don't be surprised if a door slams behind you with an auto save to destroy the opportunity. Expand
  8. WillT
    Dec 28, 2009
    9
    Absoluely fantastic and superior to the original in every way, giving it a 10 however would make it the perfect game, its not, but definatly the best on PS3
  9. KipH
    Dec 28, 2009
    8
    So close to perfection, yet so frustrating. Let me explain - In the Borneo level I took out the camp and then didnt know where to go next. The hint system said "join Sully" at the top of the cliff but I had no way to get up there. Apparently I should have blown up the snipers wooden platform which would fall and create a bridge up for me but instead I had shot him during the previous So close to perfection, yet so frustrating. Let me explain - In the Borneo level I took out the camp and then didnt know where to go next. The hint system said "join Sully" at the top of the cliff but I had no way to get up there. Apparently I should have blown up the snipers wooden platform which would fall and create a bridge up for me but instead I had shot him during the previous fight. Without a walkthrough I would still be there. 2 hours later and alot of jumping into the walls and I had to go on the net for the walkthrough. Very frustrating. When is a "hint" not helpful? Another one was in the Monastery and "climb to the open window", with no idea how to get there. 2 hours later and back to the walkthrough. The rest of the game is superb and if they could fix it so the hint was actually helpful then it would be a 10. Otherwise its just soo frustrating.... Expand
  10. KijiyaD
    Dec 29, 2009
    10
    Best ps3 game ever played. Best online play ever. If you have Uncharted 1, we all know that you've already bought the game because of the awesomeness of it. If you never ever played uncharted 1, no worries, uncharted 2 is all you need!
  11. TylerH.
    Dec 29, 2009
    10
    Haters be haters, simply because they dont have this game, they rate it down. Ignore the ignorance. This is simply a fantastic game with one of the best single players ever, 1 of my top 3 games of all time, aside Assassins Creed 2 and Half-life 2. Graphics are some of the best period, with only Crysis seemingly having better (but thats pc, which is ever changing, console is stuck at same Haters be haters, simply because they dont have this game, they rate it down. Ignore the ignorance. This is simply a fantastic game with one of the best single players ever, 1 of my top 3 games of all time, aside Assassins Creed 2 and Half-life 2. Graphics are some of the best period, with only Crysis seemingly having better (but thats pc, which is ever changing, console is stuck at same specs). Gameply is smooth, fast-paced, over-the top, but always enjoyable with a bit of humor thrown in. Multiplayer and co-op additions are great in there own respect, but this games single player is where its soul lies. Uncharted 2, Killzone 2, or Assassins Creed 2 for game of the year. I wouldnt complain with any of them. Expand
  12. ChrisS
    Dec 30, 2009
    10
    First Game was my game of this Gen... 2 has blown me away! If there is a game to make it worth owning a PS3 its this.
  13. Salvy102
    Dec 30, 2009
    9
    I didn't find anything "GROUND BREAKING" in this game, but it was fun to play, it is the best single player for an adventure game. The online is fun in its own way. I was stunned by the visuals and the climatic scenes. I liked the game but it's not perfect, at least in my eyes.
  14. MathewM
    Jan 2, 2010
    9
    This game is almost perfect in every way. The only thing that I did not like was that I was stuck in a jump at times. You know when you jump at a wall and you're stuck in the air? that happened to me twice. Besides that, I recommend this game to everyone who has a PS3.
  15. MT
    Jan 2, 2010
    10
    The game is great! Even playing it through a second time I was still very into the game. I do not understand why people make such a big deal about a game borrowing from other games, saying that it is nothing new and it is repetitive. Halo is repetitive and borrows from other fps. Gears of War is repetitive and borrows from other 3rd person shooters. Heck, even a creative game such as The game is great! Even playing it through a second time I was still very into the game. I do not understand why people make such a big deal about a game borrowing from other games, saying that it is nothing new and it is repetitive. Halo is repetitive and borrows from other fps. Gears of War is repetitive and borrows from other 3rd person shooters. Heck, even a creative game such as Braid borrowed aspects from SMBs. Face it, U2 is amazing. Expand
  16. SuzanneD
    Jan 3, 2010
    9
    This game is totally cool, and D V is a total c**t head, every game has its partial faults and this game is no different. However the gameplay was good and it was more impressive graphically than MW2. must have for any ps3 owner, but i do recommend waiting a bit so you can get it cheaper.
  17. GypsumFantastic
    Jan 4, 2010
    7
    It's visually lush, has some exciting plot points. I liked the voice acting and soundtrack - both pretty cinematic. It's a completely linear adventure on rails. Each area is presented in order and there's no opportunity to revisit completed areas. The controls can clunk a bit - eg the system for ducking in and out of cover can be a bit awkward, and occasional sudden camera It's visually lush, has some exciting plot points. I liked the voice acting and soundtrack - both pretty cinematic. It's a completely linear adventure on rails. Each area is presented in order and there's no opportunity to revisit completed areas. The controls can clunk a bit - eg the system for ducking in and out of cover can be a bit awkward, and occasional sudden camera movements can catch you out. It's quite good but by no means a perfect game. I don't know how it got so many 100% reviews. Expand
  18. AnthonyR
    Jan 11, 2010
    10
    This game is very underrated, obv a 10 but sure as hell nothing lower than an 8, i gave it a 10 mainly because it is awesome, I bet most of the people who gave it 0 haven't even played it, probably don't even have a ps3, stupid fanboys.
  19. TomC
    Jan 12, 2010
    10
    the story, gameplay, graphics, and charcters are all PERFECT, enough said.
  20. DaveA
    Jan 12, 2010
    10
    This is one of the best games this generation and is an instant classic. It pushes the genre and industry forward, it does things right. Physics over physics, coupled in with the perfect Indiana Jones game, and you have a technological advancement that even movie fanatics will appreciate. You simply have to play Uncharted 2 to realize the hard work that's been put into it. A 10 out This is one of the best games this generation and is an instant classic. It pushes the genre and industry forward, it does things right. Physics over physics, coupled in with the perfect Indiana Jones game, and you have a technological advancement that even movie fanatics will appreciate. You simply have to play Uncharted 2 to realize the hard work that's been put into it. A 10 out of 10. Not the usual rating given for a game, but besides Super Mario Galaxy this is the only other perfect game this gen. Expand
  21. josephc
    Jan 13, 2010
    10
    This is simply the best action game ever made. Naughty dog has created a master piece, start to finish. Go buy this game! Go buy a PS3 just for this game
  22. NiallO
    Jan 13, 2010
    10
    Truly the best game on the PS3. Unsurpassed graphics, Hollywood blockbuster story, superb voice acting, and a better control scheme make this the must have game for all Playstation 3 owners.
  23. markl
    Jan 14, 2010
    10
    uncharted 2 is NOT overated at all it is singlehandedly one of the best apps to come out in a long time. The game play is simple, fluid and dynamic. The movies will hook you from the start and are worthy of a oscar. The multiplayer isnt so good but dont let this spoil you from one of the greatest games out there. The graphics are beautiful and it is a solid emotional rollercoaster of a uncharted 2 is NOT overated at all it is singlehandedly one of the best apps to come out in a long time. The game play is simple, fluid and dynamic. The movies will hook you from the start and are worthy of a oscar. The multiplayer isnt so good but dont let this spoil you from one of the greatest games out there. The graphics are beautiful and it is a solid emotional rollercoaster of a game. This truly deserves to stand amongst the giants of the gaming world. Expand
  24. EricF
    Jan 14, 2010
    10
    Absolutely amazing. The graphics are great, the voice acting is top-notch, and the gameplay is solid, and Naughty Dog has the sense to keep varying it up a bit to keep it fresh. Do not listen to a single reviewer who complains about bugs (I have encountered no problems what so ever), unvaried game play, not enough action, BS that a game not on PC is automatically inferior graphically, or Absolutely amazing. The graphics are great, the voice acting is top-notch, and the gameplay is solid, and Naughty Dog has the sense to keep varying it up a bit to keep it fresh. Do not listen to a single reviewer who complains about bugs (I have encountered no problems what so ever), unvaried game play, not enough action, BS that a game not on PC is automatically inferior graphically, or "sidequests" (yeah, people will complain about a feature that does not exist.) There aren't bugs, the action is actually really thick at some points, and the graphics really are amazing. Expand
  25. MattW
    Jan 15, 2010
    10
    Wow DV trolled you guys hard XD He was commenting on how some other reviewers act in their reviews. Anyway, Uncharted 2 is pretty damn amazing.
  26. grimdeath
    Jan 18, 2010
    8
    Good game but I don't see what all the fuss is about it's good but not great, don't believe the hype.
  27. Classy
    Jan 21, 2010
    10
    I would give this game a 9.8ish but since there isn't one it gets a 10, this game is beyond impressive. And to the poster below me known as Johan F, he says he gets bored yet based on 104 Game critics, which gave this game the best rated of 2009 are overhyping it? Yeah okay there buddy, and Average graphics? Right there gives away that you are an Xbox fanboy...a fanboy regardless I would give this game a 9.8ish but since there isn't one it gets a 10, this game is beyond impressive. And to the poster below me known as Johan F, he says he gets bored yet based on 104 Game critics, which gave this game the best rated of 2009 are overhyping it? Yeah okay there buddy, and Average graphics? Right there gives away that you are an Xbox fanboy...a fanboy regardless shouldn't even be able to post due to their incoherent minds to assume whatever Sony pushes out must be garbage 100%... What this game is, is the Die Hard of Video Games. The way that movie redefined Action movies is the way this game redefined Action Games...through great voice acting and motion capture, unbelievable action sets and a superb plot that keeps going and going it will be entertaining to all...an example of this is my dad was watching me play from the beginning, the next day i was playing Modern Warfare 2 and he comes in and tells me to play Uncharted 2...He WANTED me to play the game so he can see what happens...unfortunately my PS3 YLOD so he didn't get to see the ending to it but he will eventually (I'm at university so the ps3 is with me) Bottomline: If you own a ps3, this game is a MUST have, best game out on PS3 so far and well deserves the many GotY awards it recieved. Expand
  28. MarkyMarkWhaleberg
    Jan 25, 2010
    9
    Great game that improves on the original in almost every way. Very close to the experience of a great action movie. That being said, it is overrated in retrospect because of the lack of good action games.
  29. L.Mehr
    Jan 26, 2010
    9
    Don't give in completely to the hype (like almost every critic did). Where you see so much praise for it graphics, you'll notice it's gameplay has hardly changed and what gameplay did change wasn't well implemented. A great thrill ride with the pacing of a Hollywood movie but........a bit of an annoying climax-cliche so I can't say great story all-around but in Don't give in completely to the hype (like almost every critic did). Where you see so much praise for it graphics, you'll notice it's gameplay has hardly changed and what gameplay did change wasn't well implemented. A great thrill ride with the pacing of a Hollywood movie but........a bit of an annoying climax-cliche so I can't say great story all-around but in terms of dialouge and pacing, it's superb. Expand
  30. [Anonymous]
    Jan 26, 2010
    9
    It really is a great game. Sure, the game-play itself leaves a little bit to be desired, but where it lacks in game mechanics, it doubly makes up for in story. I thoroughly enjoyed the storyline of Uncharted 2. Though it has no real replay value, I'm not really one for replay single player platformers.
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 105 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Mixed: 0 out of 105
  2. Negative: 0 out of 105
  1. 100
    Spread across twenty-six chapters is a story as playful and worthwhile as the gameplay.
  2. Graphically stunning, Uncharted 2: Among Thieves is, first of all, an interactive adventure, one that feels like a movie and even has a storyline of a movie. Most gameplay situations have been tailored in order to stun the player with originality and identification, and the end result is absolutely amazing.
  3. Among Thieves is all about constant movement. And even movement on top of movement. It grabbed me from the beginning and didn't let go for twelve hours. Once I finished, all I could think about was playing it again. More than a defining game for the PS3, Uncharted 2 is a defining game of this console generation.