User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2948 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 30, 2011
    9
    If you loved Uncharted 2, you're going to love this as well. It has many locations from the mean streets of London to the heart of the Arabian desert, which adds a lot of flavor into it. Sully is back! he has a much more significant role than in the previous game, so does Elena. Chloe also appears again and you get to meet an old friend of Drake's, who also joins your adventure for some time. While you search for the lost city in the desert. It's storyline is awesome!! No, i'm not just saying.. I ended up spending a lot of time playing it. It is pretty challenging, intensely entertaining hand-to-hand combat and just impossible to stop playing.

    The graphics and audio have had a tremendous improvement as well, lot of miscellaneous activities, including a multiplayer which i've heard is good. I have yet to play it.

    The game isn't perfect though, it's just on par with Uncharted 2. The reason i gave it a 9/10 is because it is repetitive. The gameplay style is pretty much the same as its predecessor, with some little tweaks here and there.

    It's worth every dime of what it costs. Go ahead a buy it and play. It'll keep you occupied for 5-9 hours (depends on what difficulty you chose) and a brilliant finish to it, if I may add!
    Expand
  2. Feb 9, 2012
    6
    As a fan of the uncharted series i was disappointed with this game. The story was flawless, though it didn't hit any emotional notes, it did create a sense of adventure and action. Now to the multiplayer: HUGE LET DOWN. Uncharted 2 had almost a flawless multiplayer in my opinion. Naughty Dog for the third installment went for a more COD style of an approach. Big mistake. I know people who enjoy this new style of multiplayer, but fans of U2's multiplayer will most likely be disappointed. Expand
  3. Dec 14, 2011
    10
    I honestly can't see any reason to complain about this game. I mean, its a beautiful story (for me it got better every game) , the game play is amazing, and the visuals and cinematography, breathtaking. Don't even get me started on the sound track. This game is the PERFECT mix of assassin's creed, call of duty, and even mortal combat with the fighting sequences. The ONLY problem I had (it wasnt really a problem. I liked it, just didn't love it like the rest) was that the gun fighting got a little tedious which is because they didnt mix the puzzles in with the fighting as well as they could. Other than that, buy this game. Support a game that knows what they are doing when it comes to developing for the PS3 (*cough* Skyrim *cough*) Expand
  4. Dec 17, 2011
    10
    First off, I wanna say that a 10 doesn't mean I think the game is perfect. No game could ever be perfect. It does however mean that among its peers, its excels to new heights. A game is a game because you play it, so graphics and sound can only take it so far. They do however take this game very far. They are quite simply the most beautiful graphics I have seen yet in any game. The voice acting once again is the best in the industry. The sound of the game in general is excellent. What makes it a game as I said is the fact you play it though and it is a blast to play. The fighting is fun although simple. The platforming is relatively easy which makes it enjoyable as its more of a cinematic way to move around than it is an important aspect of the games difficulty. The gun play can be frustrating at time which just makes you wanna get better at it. The cover system can kinda mess with you at times but it works very well. The enemy AI although not perfect works for a game or it would last way too long if they didn't make themselves available for us to shoot. After all, its just you and maybe you're cohorts here and there against an army of bad guys. If they acted as they should in real life with self preservation being a priority then you would never be able to finish the game.... The story is once again done with great care. It takes you all over and offers you many simply puzzles to make it interesting. It truly is becoming an interactive movie. The relationships among the characters make you care and the motives they have for doing what they do seem very genuine. I can't comment on multi-player as its not why I buy this game. I'm sure its great fun though. To me this is the pinnacle of cinematic gaming. A joy to play and a joy to play again. Its not just a great game but an amazing work of art. Simply spectacular... Expand
  5. Dec 17, 2011
    6
    The graphics are epic and it has a good story line but in total it's not that good. The gun fights are unrealistic and sometimes you can't control Nate. And sometimes what your trying to do is just confusing
  6. Dec 18, 2011
    10
    Amazing game! i am truly blown away,i mean i knew that is going to be good but i didn't expect it to be better than uc2 but then it turned out even better! it's better paced,it has deeper more emotional story,better puzzles and even better epic moments!The MP is also deeper better and more fun than uc2's MP,but the SP is where it shines it's a blast!!! I am serious uc3 makes uc2's single player not awesome and amazing anymore!It's that good!
    do yourself a favour GET THIS GAME!
    Expand
  7. Dec 20, 2011
    10
    Uncharted 3 is a game that really can't get much better than it already is. From the time you hear the epic music at the main menu, to the time you finish off the story, Uncharted 3 won't disappoint and will most likely leave a smile on your face. The story pretty much blew me away. It was the best campaign I've ever played in a game, and unlike most other games in this genre, the length of the campaign itself is perfect. You'll be playing as Nathan Drake throughout the entire campaign, alongside his mentor, Victor Sullivan, traveling around the globe looking for a lost city. And like every Uncharted game, you'll be fighting off waves of enemies with your gun and hands, solving difficult but exciting puzzles, and climbing objects to get to point A to point B. This all makes the story better than it should be. But it's not just playing the story itself that makes the campaign great, it's also the cutscenes and the voice acting that goes along with it. The characters walk and talk with noticeable emotion, and the cutscenes are like you're at the cinema. It's basically a movie and a game all in one. There is not one chapter in the game that bores me, every single one is filled with excitement and pleasure. Especially my favorite, the cargo plane mission, really was the one that blew me away. There's really nothing that can get much better in the campaign, and that's coming from a die-hard gamer. The multiplayer, is also a near-perfected game mode featured in Uncharted 3. It features many more customization settings than the previous title, and perhaps, it could be worthy of best multiplayer, too. In the game mode itself, you can customize a player to use in games, with clothing, emblems, and taunts, and you can also play around with your loadout settings, which allows the player to choose a gun, pick out a kickback, and choose perks to improve the way your player works. The maps, are also another part of Uncharted 3 worthy of mentioning. The maps are well made, and like the campaign, the player is able to interact with the environment. And the best part, you can pretty much do everything you can in the campaign. The only real problem I have with the multiplayer is the amount of bullets it takes to kill an enemy. This will take some time to get used to, but it's only a small flaw that doesn't effect multiplayer at all. If you feel to get away from the competitive section of multiplayer, a co-op mode is available to play with up to three other players. It features three game modes, including a mode where you can play chapters similar to the campaigns, and a survival-based mode where you fight off waves of enemies, which does require teamwork to pass. Co-op is pretty much a small addition to the game, but it's one amazing feature to add. Uncharted 3 is worth every cent of the money you may put into it. Everything in the game is near, if not perfect, and Drake's adventure truly is a blast. There's really nothing more I can ask for in Uncharted 3, and fans of the series, and even newcomers to the series will enjoy the game. It's probably one of the best games I've ever played. Websites like IGN, as you may know rarely give out a 10, but Uncharted 3: Drake's Deception, is definitely worthy of a perfect score. A well-crafted game that continues the epic and exciting trilogy. Expand
  8. Dec 21, 2011
    10
    Uncharted 3 is one of the best games i have ever played, the characters, story, and settings are as good as ever and the action is top notch. 2 thumbs up!
  9. Dec 21, 2011
    10
    The Perfect Game by the biggest geniuses of the gaming industry. Uncharted 3 is simply the best work of art by Naughty Dog in this generation, it has every element to keep you contained in this adventurous world they have created with an Outstanding, Gripping and Jaw-Dropping story, Immersing multiplayer and entertaining co-op missions. The main pieces of a perfect game like this include the presentation (The game has been laid out beautifully), graphics (The best looking game out there), sound (The voice acting of the characters and how real the environment sounds) and the solid game-play were you get the full feel of what this game is like. This game will go down in history as the best game of this generation, of any generation. Expand
  10. Dec 23, 2011
    6
    While this is a good - fun game. I'm a bit surprised at the Great reviews this game consistently gets. The story (which is meant to be a big focus in the Uncharted series, more so than other games) is really jumbled and unfocused - then finally leaves you with a sort of..."oh it's over...I guess" feel. It never really brought me in, and was far from engaging - even if the acting was great (and it was). It seemed mashed together with no purpose. The villains were basically non-existent and basically irrelevant, which was fitting for what they put as the ending I guess - pretty disappointing. The game-play on the other hand was very entertaining at times and was very well mixed. The only downside was the shooting mechanics - which is pretty archic. The graphics were nice and the art direction was among the best I've seen. Overall though, I enjoyed Uncharted 2 So-so much more than U3 and it didn't ever quite bring me into the game, - then it was over. As a reference, I give Uncharted 2 a 9.5 and Uncharted 3 just a 6. Good game, just not great in my humble opinion. Expand
  11. Dec 24, 2011
    10
    The Best Game I Have Played So Far. Uncharted 3 is one of the best games this generation. even though its little improvements from uncharted 2, its better. the cut scenes are very well done and is great to watch with the amazing voice acting, and the graphics. so much action in this one, its like watching a Micheal Bay film. the love story is much more tense and better then the 1st in 2nd. you can feel there's a lot of chemistry between Nathan Drake and Elena Fisher, especially when Nate is laying down on Elan's lap and saying "im sorry." the 3 major action parts in the game are The Chateau, The Ship, and The Airplane. those action parts are something you havent seen in a video game, those parts just leave you speechless. A great happy ending, and a great final boss fight. that leaves wanting more. Multiplayer is the big improvement in the game. its very fun and funny when you own someone and do your pump or thrust (both humping motions) taunt, and is very fun to play with your friends. its also a very simple multiplayer. run, jump, aim, shoot. (you may think of it as a 3rd person Call Of Duty.) and the 3rd person works in this game very VERY well.I recommend this game to anyone to play. the campaign will leave you speechless and the multiplayer is EXTREMELY fun. Expand
  12. Dec 27, 2011
    4
    Overrated in all aspects. There is nothing groundbreaking that you haven't already seen in uncharted 2. The new close-up combat system is even worse than the prequel. The storyline is thin and the game is full of bugs, especially when it comes to enemy AI. It's a good game, just not great. (loved uncharted 2 as the greatest game ever made).
  13. May 17, 2012
    8
    The game is decent. The game has higher highs than uncharted 2, but much lower lows. The campaign was shorter and some of the arena rooms were quite frustrating. On the positive side, the cutscenes were great and some of the set pieces were awesome. I do not enjoy the multiplayer as much as uncharted 2 either. This review is coming off of a ps3 fanboy. Decent game.
  14. Mar 23, 2012
    10
    The game masterpiece, no less. Clever plot, exciting gameplay. Certainly the best game of 2011. I want every year masterpiece of gaming. For me, this series is much better than Indiana Jones
  15. Jan 12, 2012
    10
    One of the best games i've played. Amazing story and visual design, funny gameplay. No matter that single player length is about 15 hours, it is worth it. I finished this game in one breath. Great conclusion of the series.
  16. Jan 12, 2012
    10
    The Only word i can say about this game is fantastic. i was feeling every second when i was playing it. the graphics were very detailed. throughout the game you will have the sensation that you are living the story live. this is an awesome game guys and i think every gamer should play it.
  17. Jan 14, 2012
    10
    Well, what's to say? I have never played a better game. From running to cover to get a better view on the people your trying to kill, to the EPIC action sequences this game packs, It just shouldn't exist in our day. Its just that good. Uncharted 3 really shows you how far video games have come, and wow, they have come a long way. If the graphics don't melt your eyes (and they will), the physics from explosions and things tearing apart will do it. They both look incredible, and quite honestly the best I have ever seen. I will give you ONE keyword that impressed me so much in the graphics department, and that's the word "SAND". This game shines with polish I never thought possible in only a few years of development time. The very way Nathan Drake acts (voiced by Nolan North) brings you a realistic sense not ever believed possible in a video game before. I have NEVER believed so much in a fictional character before, for him to keep pushing on when the going gets tough. If the single player campaign isn't enough, you have the multiplayer to go back to after beating the awesome campaign. Playing split-screen online or not is your choice, the games multiplayer feels fun and something you will want to log onto everyday to play. It's not without its problems though, as there are various bugs that get on my nerves. But overall, NONE of them have stopped me from loving it all the same. You level up from level 1 to level 75, but like a Call of Duty game, you can "Legacy" once reached the 75 limit. Legacy is this games prestige option from Call of Duty: Black Ops, except you can only Legacy a lousy 3 times instead of the 16 or so times Call of Duty: Black Ops allows. If you like EPIC, great acting, a movie like experience, then buy this game. You won't be disappointed in the story like Uncharted 2 was for some people. The story just has a fresh feel to it, and kept me engaged from the opening scene to the endings credits. I can't believe Uncharted 2 has become an after thought, because that game is STILL amazing. The biggest twist perhaps, is that the game that topped it, is its predecessor. Expand
  18. Jan 17, 2012
    10
    This is a game that plays like a movie. Think of Uncharted as a love child between Indiana Jones and Tomb Raider. The graphics are amazing to the point of just showing off. They dynamics of the environments is very detailed. The characters are among some of the best developed and realistic in gaming. They aren't over the top and you become invested in them as it plays out. Greg Edmonson, the man behind the internationally flavored music of Firefly does another amazing score here. The multiplayer has a lot of varied gameplay with the powerplay and load out system really making it a more engaging experience.

    I highly recommend this game to everyone. It is platform gaming at it's best.

    Now for the bad. The story is I hate to say it the only weak link in this chain. And that is not to say that it is bad but at times it feels at times that the progression of the story is to move from one amazing set piece to the next. The overall motivations for the antagonists and who they are is fairly unknown, and with the heroes not a lot of risk is taken with their story. It does give a few really solid shock moments and heartfelt ones. A few reveals are made that aren't explored in any detail or consequence. It was a fun game, but in truth, Uncharted 2: Among Thieves had a story that was more engaging and satisfying overall when you finished it. Drake's Deception didn't seem to climax as hard. I kept waiting for the narrative to give me that really intense feeling of danger or need to fight and move onward but it never truly came. Again I blame Among Thieves, it set the bar too high.

    Get this game, play it, love it, and then try the multiplayer. With so many varying game modes you will find some that will hook you, if at least until you can compete with the higher level characters.


    Alex
    Expand
  19. Jan 17, 2012
    10
    I thoroughly enjoyed Uncharted 2 and consider it one of the best games I've played, and I feel just as satisfied with Uncharted 3.
    First of all, this game is gorgeous! This is the best looking game I've seen on a console to date and shows that the PS3 is capable of some impressive visuals given the right developer. Everything is incredibly detailed and crisp throughout the entire game,
    most notably the trek through the desert.
    The story is faced paced and action packed, and plays like a well-written blockbuster movie. The game mechanics are solid, character movements are fluid and high res textures make everything very realistic looking, while the strong lighting and bright color palette make the game look as if you're seeing it through the lens of a good photographer.

    The story itself is well done; Nathan's relationship with his love interest, Elena Fisher and his father figure, Victor Sullivan has been fleshed out a lot more in this than in previous games. Nathan revisits elements from his past and undergoes a lot of character development this time around, realizing that the consequences of his actions could endanger those he cares about.
    All of this, plus multiplayer make for a compelling and complete gameplay experience, and one that should not be passed up by anyone who can appreciate what is an astounding achievement in interactive entertainment.
    Expand
  20. Apr 18, 2012
    10
    A perfect game, and was dubbing for Brazil, it made me very happy Sony is once again congratulations increasingly investing in the Brazilian market. I admire this in sony!
  21. Feb 26, 2012
    9
    A little too over-hyped if you ask me. The story wasn't as compelling as its previous one. Graphics were slick, and gameplay even better. Environments were great, and I admired how the game explored Nate's background and his early involvement with Sully. However, this isn't a game I would pick up again. Online isn't all that fun after a couple of days. The ending wasn't all that great, it was more like a shrug. Definitely NOT the greatest game ever made, but it's still a pretty darn good one. If you own a ps3, buy it. I wouldn't buy a ps3 just to get this game however. Expand
  22. Mar 6, 2012
    10
    BEST GAME EVER!!! , I cant believe how some people gave this game such low scores! Its an AWESOME! game.. I recommend this game to every "REAL" gamer out there.
  23. Mar 6, 2012
    4
    An interactive movie worth redboxing, but with a mindless multiplayer suite that kills its longevity. For single player, the series' two previous, and cheaper, iterations provide greater bang for the buck. For multiplayer, the 2nd's superior controls and bare bones content opt for more competitive matches, not to mention that it still has a dedicated following. At this point, the Uncharted Dual Pack provides greater value than Drake's Deception. Expand
  24. Mar 9, 2012
    10
    Uncharted 3 is my 2011 game of the year. The action will leave you breathless, the multiplayer is pretty good, and the great story keeps on rolling. Nathan Drake is always good for a funny pun, and IMO one of the funnier game characters.I found myself holding my breath multiple times during the story mode. This game is a must buy, and you need to buy it now!
  25. Mar 12, 2012
    6
    Uncharted 3 left me severely disappointed. I liked Uncharted, loved Uncharted 2 but Uncharted 3 falls short of the mark it's predecessors set before it. It has everything the other games had, breathtaking vistas, engrossing cutscenes and wonderful animations. The story however, will disappoint you. Horrendously. It builds up and builds up, but instead of something amazing, you get 'it was all just a dream'. The game ends just like any TV show, with everything back where it all started. It's not what I expected from something that is, for the most part, well written and so immersive sometimes you will forget you're the one controlling what's on screen. All in all, I'm giving this game a six because there is undeniably a level of quality not seen in many games these days, but being the last in it's series the ending was bound to be disappointing, but I wanted it to be because I wanted more, not because the writers took a lunch break and left it to the interns. I wasn't even aware I had finished the game until I got the trophy for completing it, the final boss is that forgettable.

    If you haven't got Uncharted 3, but have played 1 and 2, pretend you never saw Uncharted 3. Forget it ever existed and that this review appeared in a vision. It will be better to remember Uncharted as the series that never got finished, rather than the anti-climax that did. I can't give this anything less than a six because of how engrossing the whole experience can be at certain points, but overall the combat and ending will hurt this for you, no matter how much of a fan of Uncharted you are.
    Expand
  26. Mar 25, 2012
    10
    The best Game ever made it has so many things going for it such as; in-depth storyline that keeps u glued to the screen from start to finish, amazing combat (Gun and otherwise) its the complete package. Buy this game !
  27. Apr 5, 2012
    10
    One of the best game in the history of gaming .Its an epic and unique adventure with drake .The multiplayer is even better with more stuff to do .Clearly a must own
  28. Apr 6, 2012
    9
    When i ended Uncharted 3: Drake's Deception, i was thinking that something wrong with my feelings about this game, cause every time i compare it with Uncharted 2 that was for me very special. The story was a little bit un development this time, characters face's design a little different compare to Uncharted 2 (was ideal for me, especially Elena) but anyway a like this game, like Naughty Dog, and of course i want Uncharted 4 but only on next-gen. Expand
  29. Apr 7, 2012
    9
    A terrific game, and, most importantly, a vast improvement over Uncharted 2.
    Everything has been refined from the predecessor, gameplay, story, just everything.
    This game should not be missed by any PS3 Gamer.
  30. Jul 18, 2013
    10
    this game is more better i love this game i am only half way thru entire game i am loving it i am dying to see what happen in end of game i want to see if this game get another sequel

    if u guys only bought 3rd series i suggest u play from start u enjoy this game much every Uncharted fan here
  31. Apr 13, 2012
    7
    Average game. Completely overshadowed by the greatness of Uncharted 2. Story is of the same Uncharted formula: - find an artefact - artefact stolen from you - use artefact clues to find hidden spot - enemies meet you there somehow - shoot your way out - find the next artefact. Overall i found the story and gameplay just feeling tired. There is nothing really new that brings fresh air or excitement to the game. Ending was a little anti- climactic. Additionally there is some audio skip bugs etc. Expand
  32. Apr 15, 2012
    6
    the story is once again amazing, however i think that the gameplay flaws really hold this game back from being a gem. 1) There is no red reticule for when you aim at an enemy. In other words there is no indication for when you are actually hitting an enemy or not. 2) TOO MANY ENEMIES at times. I think that the inclusion of these "juggernaught" enemies that takes hundreds of bullets to are not implemented correctly. You will find youself surrounded by snipers, guardian enemies with sheilds, these super strong enemies and enemies with rocket launchers. You will die alot! The improvements in melle combat and shooting mechanics are nice, but again you wont sit there in awe about how much better they are than the last game.

    The multiplayer won't work with me.All i get is a "syncing level problem" and it disconnects me from the server. The multiplayer will not work on my router and it's not my problem because every other online game works. The splitscreen co-op is fun but it does not really add much to the experience.
    Expand
  33. Apr 17, 2012
    10
    The best game of 2011,everything in uncharted 3 is improvement over uncharted 2 graphics(OMG),gameplay,story,set pieces,multiplayer so i see no reason not to give it a 10/10.
    This game is a masterpiece in what it does and the best and most balanced game in the series,the plane/desert sequence is easily one of the best and most memorable moments in gaming period! It's not exactly flawles
    the controls are a bit lose and there were some glitches but this is nothing to worry about.Get this game and be amazed with it's awesomeness!
    Oh and ignore sad trolls like Skycrimson.
    Expand
  34. Apr 26, 2012
    10
    It is hard to chose which game is better uncharted 2 or 3 , both are an excellent experiences from the start to the end , both are recommended for every1 , but i might have to say that the multiplayer in uncharted 3 is better than in uncharted 2 , dont get me wrong thou both games excels in multiplayer but uncharted 3 shows the ultimate multiplayer experience while uncharted 2 shows the best story line experience ,
    so over all uncharted 3 is slightly better in multiplayer and uncharted 2 is slightly better in story campaign . Get both of them because you must not miss those masterpieces . and if you have watched the reviews you wont see the greatest moments of the games because they didn't want to rune it , but you will see in the uncharted series a huge surprises such as monsters and creatures that have their own roles , the game excels at making you feel excited and scared sometimes and also it sucks you in right from gt go.
    Expand
  35. May 2, 2012
    10
    Uncharted 3 is the final chapter for drake. The beginning of the game was slow and steady . But at last all the story came together at once , making the game full of mystery and excitement.
    Another wonderful masterpiece after Un2 , Best game ever !!!!!
  36. May 9, 2012
    9
    Uncharted 3 is an amazing game. It is with action, puzzles and with an interesting story. The technical graphics are great. But, you need more to explore, than to kill, and that is really good. One of the greatest PS3 game ever (9.5)
  37. May 27, 2012
    9
    I love Uncharted series,.. And as for me now, James Bond is nothing compare Nathan Drake... Can't wait for your another piece of work, The last of us... Must be a masterpiece... Keep up the epic work Naughty Dog... Cheers !
  38. Nov 25, 2012
    3
    I already made a review for this game but i'm going to review the multiplayer which i also reviewed. The online of this game is basically unbalanced to me but anyone else who finds it different may consider it being better than uncharted 2's online. In my opinion uncharted 3's online isn't better than uncharted 2's online or actually competitive level right now. The online is basically melee, melee, blindfire, blindfire, or use your kickbacks to get away from death fair and square. Naughty dog patched the aiming. Yes aiming which basically means that this game is gonna mostly be used as melee liking playing a fighting game and mash square on the controller. Another is the fact that when the game says that you can avoid being meleed by rolling, but due to lag you still die even if you rolled away from someone. Powerplays aren't something that can be played competitivley for deathmatch. The power plays can mostly just up the losing team in catching up quickly. Uncharted 2 was all about playing carefully, skillfulled, and whoever wins wins no matter what. Even the losing team can catch up if they have a strategy unlike uncharted 3 where its no skills at all. Treasure drops are another problem. People may get their treasures fairly easy but some people cant get new treasures drops now. Thats where Naughty Dog decides to pull a Capcom on where. You either keep getting the same duplicate treasures and eventually sooner or later just get 1 new one avaliable or just buy off the playstation store which to me i think its BS because Naughty Dog are responsible for listening to the fan's demand in patching the treasure drops and reduce the amount of duplications you pick up not charge in the PSStore but thats only for people who can't get the items they want. The spawn system is another negative because basically someone can either just camp where the player is going to spawn at or spawn on an enemy who doesn't notice where they are and get a cheap kill. OVERALL: Naughty dog can patch this game as much as they want but the situation of the problems will always be going on. Even if they patched it completely then a new problem can be abused and lead to critisims of the players. I don't think that Naughty Dog will revive the multiplayer like this right now they should just be making patches on disc cough cough Capcom or Infinity wards. The Uncharted community can still support this game but i don't think its going to be enough to make people play this game competitely at this time =( Expand
  39. Aug 17, 2012
    9
    Uncharted 3 is a masterpiece. It's graphically outstanding, really well-written and the gameplay is remarkably fun. Gameplay is mixed with gunplay and clever puzzles. Maybe the gunplay isn't perfect, but It's fun. The missions are interesting, from the objective of the great story. And, multiplayer is addictive and fun. 98 out of 100
  40. Aug 15, 2012
    9
    You really must play all the games in order to get the full experience of this, it's not just a great game it feels like an epic movie trilogy, you wouldn't watch the last lord of the rings before you watched the first, and so it should be the same with this..

    Combat is fun, graphics and visuals are stunning, characters are likable (most of them), and barely an repetition, put this game
    on your must list but make sure you get the other 2 firsts.. Expand
  41. Jul 6, 2013
    8
    Thing this game is great, but being such a fan of the first and especially the second game I don't think Uncharted 3 was as good. It did not hook me like the first two did, maybe because I was use to the Uncharted series, or maybe because I just had too high of expectations.
  42. Sep 2, 2012
    10
    This game is disgusting. It haz no plot, no graphics, no gameplay. Only japanese pedophilies can play this game. This game should burn in Abdulov hell
  43. Nov 5, 2012
    9
    The best console graphics ever made. Its a "simple" evolution from Uncharted 2, not a revolution like Uncharted 1 to Uncharted 2, but the game is very good. My only disapointed is in history, is good but not great like Uncharted 2.
  44. Jan 10, 2013
    9
    uncharted 3 is a great game. From the graphics to the gameplay, its one of my favorite games to date. One of the very few problems of this game was that the story was a bit shorter, and less thought out. The acting is still the best, but there wasnt as much connection, or charechter development as uncharted 2 among thieves. The ending felt a bit rushed, but that waasnt much of a problem, because it seems thier will be another one to fill in the gaps of the story that wernt explaind. But everything else is improved. The shooting, the platforming, and even the melee combat. Expand
  45. Jan 21, 2013
    9
    Is Uncharted 3 as good as it's predecessor? No. Is it flawless? No, it definitely isn't. Is it a disappointment? Absolutely not. Despite some messy spots here and there and all the imperfections, Uncharted 3 is nothing short of spectacular. Visually glorious and spellbindingly thrilling. It's epic in every sense of the word. Go buy it. Now.
  46. Nov 24, 2013
    7
    Greater game then the average joe, In my opinion this game was better then the 2 one. Puzzles are very hard for me so you will see I rarely play these kind of games but if i'm bored and need something i'm always in for a deep puzzler. Perfect for hardcore gamers.

    Maki
  47. Aug 18, 2013
    4
    I loved Uncharted 2. I played it through many times over all the difficulties, picked up one of my first platinum trophies and conquered the multiplayer.
    As you can imagine, I was very exited for the third installment. "How will the game begin", I thought to myself, thinking back to hanging from a train that was dangling off a cliff, slowly clawing a beaten-up Nathan Drake to the top to
    safety.
    So, how did it begin? A badly controlled punch up in a pub. Ok, that was anticlimactic. But then so was the rest of the game. If you can call it a game. Uncharted 3 felt more like one of those FMV games from the mid to late nineties. This "game" feels more like Uncharted: the movie in my opinion.
    The visuals are definitely the games strongest point, although the multiplayer visuals are very poor, but I'll get to that in a minute. Uncharted 3 tells the story of Nathan and Sully's father-son relationship; how they met, and how strong their bond is. Which was fairly interesting, but not really groundbreaking and filled with plot holes.
    Disappointed, I decided to give the multiplayer a try. I had already tried the beta and had a little experience to the new dynamic. My biggest problem had remained. The addition to a "sprint" button had changed everything.
    Before, fights were fair given everyone could move at the same speed. The shootouts were more strategic, and it was more about the placement of your character and the cover you had. Now, fights consist of blindfire rushes, and a melee attack to finish. Everybody uses this technique. It is a huge let down in my opinion as there are some great customisation options for your character and a new boost mechanic that gives the losing team a chance to catch up. You can even plug in a second controller for local play, which unfortunately downgrades the visuals. I did enjoy the horde mode though, fighting off waves of enemies made me forget that the elimination game mode had been removed on release, which infuriated me. A recent update had seen Naughty dog add this back into the playlist, but I had got rid of my copy by that point. I'd rather play Uncharted 2. It plays more like a game.
    Rental only.
    Expand
  48. Aug 17, 2013
    4
    Uncharted 1 and 2 were awesome.... 2 of my favorite games.... it pains me to say this but I feel that they phoned this one in just to make money...... No sense of depth or scale
  49. Jun 21, 2014
    10
    97/100: Naughty Dog created a new, wonderful experience for the PlayStation 3 by creating Uncharted 3. The combat and the storyline are just as good as Uncharted 2 and graphically this game have to have blown everybody away. Also, the multiplayer is very fun and original!
  50. Nov 20, 2011
    9
    Upon playing the Dessert level I was reminiscent of being a kid and watching Benchmark demos back in the day, getting a glimpse of the future of gaming, and being in awe of the footage I was watching. This game surpassed some of those demos for me, and at certain points it was unreal to me that I was actually playing a video game.

    The waves impact with the elements around the levels, and
    the water floating back and forth on the surface as the rain poured down, took my breath away. Climbing on the walls of a ship, not knowing which way is up was disorienting and intriguing. Chasing someone through the corridors of an old town and seeing the care that has gone into the polygons in the background is one of the things that truly separates Uncharted 3 from the competition. The game as a whole consists of so many beautiful moments, both in regards to the the story and the presentation.

    Combining elements of regret, loyalty, and adventure. The story is about a man with an unclear motivation, on a pursuit of buried secrets of the past, and the narrative builds around how his ambitions affect the people around him, allowing the player to get involved in the characters, and relate to them, which is unusually deep for a video game.

    Naughty Dog as a studio has grown so much in the last years, and they have accomplished most of the challenges they have bestowed upon themselves for this game. Some have claimed the game is too cinematic and linear, but considering that it's what the Adventure genre has always been about, it's kind of like saying a comedy film made you laugh too much. In truth, the Uncharted series doesn't really do much that hasn't been done before, but rather builds upon the best elements of gaming and perfects it - taking it to a whole other level. Although not the same leap forward as Uncharted 2, the game is certainly not any less ambitious. And to say that this game has succeeded my expectations would be an understatement.
    Expand
  51. Aug 28, 2012
    9
    I really like the uncharted series but held off on this one because i heard mixed reviews from friends about the game . well i have to say after playing it for myself i think its another great entry into the uncharted franchise . getting the negitive stuff out of the way quikly . the story isn't as strong as U2's and the villian some have told me was better the U2's main boss was just BS. U2's main Boss was vastily better done . also the supporting characters outside of sully just felt tossed in . That being said every thing els about the game was well done it feels like the Uncharted we know and love . there are new guns lots of fun intense sceanes that get your blood pumping and bring that movie feel in (though again not as strong as U2) . The online also has been improved and is now alot faster to get into a match unlike U2 was . All in all U3 is a great game that every uncharted fan should have and makes me kick myself for waiting as long as i did for getting it . Expand
  52. Oct 3, 2012
    7
    I gave Uncharted 2 a top ten. This sequel though had the worst story. They dropped the ball way to many times during gameplay. You couldn't feel anything for the characters, non of the new characters got properly introduced. The game ended like **** everything was just ****
  53. Oct 23, 2012
    10
    A masterpiece in the world of gaming. Don't listen to any of the negative reviews. Those idiots prefer CoD or some other crap, and they clearly haven't even played the game themselves. Uncharted 3 is a masterpiece of a game and is a gorgeous cinematic experience that stands out from the cliched cinematics used today.

    I can honestly say that the Uncharted Trilogy is the only fantastic
    trilogy of games aside from Mass Effect. These two trilogies show that gaming is a form of art just like cinema. Expand
  54. Nov 25, 2012
    9
    There are a lot of loose ends that dont get tied up in this game. The game was going in an awesome direction but the ending left me wanting more. the graphics and production are top notch. The past two games had a supernatural theme to them and I feel like they tried too hard to try and trick you into thinking thats where they were going again. Great game though
  55. Dec 3, 2011
    10
    Uncharted 3: Drake's Deception is the best game of 2011! The characters, the graphics, the sound, the story â
  56. Oct 12, 2014
    8
    Uncharted 3 falters in that it is so much like Uncharted 2 but far less interesting. The narrative has difficulty hooking the player. Additionally, the game flow isn't as smooth as I would have liked to see. Nonetheless, it's absolutely gorgeous, and has a few epic moments that actually go above and beyond what Uncharted 2 did.
  57. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    What a shame when 360fanboys are trolling UC3 user score,maybe its because they have got no games to play on xbox or the fact UC3 has been nominated for game of the year,but whats worse is even Metacritic have also resorted to only accepting low score reviews and ignoring all the 10/10 scores just so their 360 can look good.

    Uncharted 3 is getting perfect scores for a reason,its amazing
    and really is the best game this gen. Expand
  58. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    Perfect from beginning to end, the pace is flawless. The graphics are the best in this generation, nothing comes close to the quality and presentation, Batman Arkam City comes close, but U3 has the edge. I think Naughty Dog did an exceptional job, and Im not even mentioning the multiplayer and Coop content, its a full package, worth every penny. Dont let this one pass, its an EXPERIENCE you have to live. Expand
  59. Apr 22, 2013
    10
    A prime, worthy follow up to Uncharted 2. God damn, this is a good game. Everything that could have gone right has gone right in his game. The story is compelling as phuck, the gameplay is well-improved and these characters are going to stay implanted in my memory until I am on my deathbed.
  60. Jan 6, 2014
    10
    Uncharted 2 and 3 are some of the greatest video games ever made especially from a cinematic point of view. The puzzles and fights are just as fun. The only thing I can say is if you love the Indiana Jones movies...give these games a try especially if you enjoyed Tomb Raider and some shooters now and then. Both of those game features are the meat and potatoes of Uncharted. Did I mention the simple yet great stories they tell? Simply very well done stuff that should not be missed. Expand
  61. Feb 14, 2012
    7
    Drake's Deception is a vast improvement from Among Thieves if that's possible. The Multiplayer and Co-op now has Medal Kickbacks and Weapon Mods. The Single Player Campaign is interesting as well but I kind of thought there should have been a villian return somehow because I feel that the villians in UC3 are dull. While the heroes are interesting, but I guess that's on purpose. Overall the game a great buy for a PS3 owner. 9.25/10 Expand
  62. Nov 7, 2011
    10
    I kept reading that this was basically just like Uncharted 2. That wouldn't be a huge disappointment since I thought it was the best game made, but that isn't the case. Uncharted 3 takes it to another level. It is now the best game. Great action, puzzles for a break, fun running scenes and a story you just want to keep watching. Perfect 10!
  63. Nov 8, 2011
    9
    It won't blow you away as much as Uncharted 2 did, but it will still blow you away. Naughty Dog shows again how the Uncharted franchise is the jack of all trades, with phenomenal set-piece moments, gameplay, graphics, audio, characters and so much more. The writing is clever and humorous while still presenting realistic human interactions. The environments will astound you with their beauty, with the only graphical flaws being the awful shadows (relative to PC graphics). Facial animations not only look beautiful, but convince you that the characters are real human beings. The gameplay this time around has a more weighty feel to it and Drake is a bit more unwieldy to control. Whether or not you like this change is up to you, as I personally feel like Drake is more human and adds a bit of welcome challenge to the game. If you have ever played Killzone 2 and 3, imagine that in reverse as Killzone 3 removed the gravity effect but Uncharted 3 adds it. Otherwise, everything else about this game is impeccable. If you have a PS3, you owe it to yourself to purchase this game as soon as possible. Expand
  64. Feb 15, 2012
    8
    A bit of a letdown given the great expectations I had for it. The single player is definitely a great experience, however there are a handful of negatives which take away from the experience. It never focuses on one location long enough, and it seems built around the crazy setpieces, which takes away from the single player, in my opinion. Where Uncharted 2 used the setpieces to complement and enhance the game, Uncharted 3 seems built simply to take you from one ridiculous stunt to the next, which is exciting, but a bit shallow. Multiplayer also takes a step back as well, with what I would refer to as gimmicks added for the casual player. Kickbacks and loadouts are two new additions that do nothing but hold the game back for me. All that said, the game is still enjoyable for sure, with a thrilling single player that keeps you on the edge of your seat. Expand
  65. Nov 7, 2011
    10
    MY FAVORITE GAME. Every part of this game is worth experiencing. Loved Uncharted 2, and this is even better. Finished the game (campaign) and multiplayer is too addictive !!!
  66. Nov 8, 2011
    9
    It's amazing how they created another masterpiece in the Uncharted universe. The single player is engaging, exciting and never show any dull moment. You'l have one hell of an adrenaline-rush when you finaly reach the last level, so that'll you'll be begging for more! ... The multiplayer is fun and rewarding, so you'll definitely come back for more! ... One thing though,... sometimes you'll want to take cover but the game will put you on the opposite wall instead, meaning your demise. It can give you a moment of pain, but that'll soon be over with the game's regular checkpoints. ... In the end, Uncharted 3: Drake's Deception is awesome. It's a ride you'll want to take. Expand
  67. Feb 4, 2012
    10
    What more can be said ! Its made by Naughty Dog one of the top 5 best game developers in the world. The graphics mind blowing for a ps3 game (take that PC!). The story might not be as intriguing as U2 but it was a nice sort of "Last Crusade" father and son story line. and the multiplayer has improve a lot since U2. One of the Best PS3 games of all times! and if you own a PS3 and have not played this and the last 2 games SHAME ON YOU ! Expand
  68. Jan 6, 2012
    9
    Great game as always. If you liked the other games in the series you'll love this game. The only reason I am not giving it a 10 is because I don't feel like they upgraded the graphics from Uncharted 2 (not that it exactly needed to), it just would've been nice to see.
  69. Oct 4, 2012
    10
    Uncharted 3 transcends the the popcorn blockbluster flair of its predecessors, to become a deeply compelling, introspective story which features arguably the greatest plot in a video game this generation. Mulitplayer is also better than ever and more robust in every facet.
  70. USG
    Nov 18, 2011
    8
    This game has arguably the best story out of all three installments by far. The story is nothing short of fantastic or beautiful. Otherwise, not much is to be said in terms of gameplay as it's nearly identical to the previous titles. Multiplayer is quite an enjoyable aspect, especially to those who are interested in the feature but moderately beats Uncharted 2.
  71. djs
    Nov 8, 2011
    10
    Simply the best game I've ever played.
    Great story, great graphics, and the sound is amazing.
    I recommend everyone to play this masterpiece! Just buy it and play one of the best games ever made!
  72. Oct 22, 2012
    6
    Awesome graphic, but an average game.
    I'm disappointed by this one, the story lacks passion, as the relationship between Nate and Elena is completed in Among Thieves,the one between him and Sully is not very convincingly told. The graphic is AWESOME, beats all the other acclaimed visually stunning console games. But it's more like a movie than a video game. There are so many times you
    just punch one or two buttons to keep the show running. Expand
  73. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    Best game I ever played it makes Gears 3 look like a steaming pile of $H!T lol

    I loved the story it was so addictive I was hard to leave for work on time, the lighting textures and animations are the best I've seen since Uncharted 2: Among Thieves.
  74. Dec 23, 2011
    9
    I'm torn between giving this an 8 and a 9. In many ways it's the superior of both UC and UC2, and yet despite amazing polished, it somehow doesn't feel finished, aspects feel rushed and the controls are not always what they should be. It's almost like they needed a bit more time to perfect things prior to release. I think the multiplayer is better than its ever been, but I'm more interested in the single player. Multiplayer cooperative is much more challenging than it was previously, which is a good thing. It's my favorite UC game is most respects, I want to give it a 10 but think 9 is more honest. Expand
  75. Nov 9, 2011
    10
    If you are going to be buying a title for Xmax, this surely has to be it. Simply immense from the outset to the end in single player, and fantastic fun in Multiplayer too.

    If you thouhght Uncharted 2 was perfection, this just raises the bar even further... Other games on other systems are a full gaming generation behind where this series is right now.
  76. Jul 1, 2013
    10
    This was my introduction to the Uncharted series. My jaw was literally dropping throughout a good portion of this game. Naughty Dog is definitely pushing the limits of gaming. I felt like I was transported into an Indiana Jone movie. I play a lot of video games but this was a truly unique experience.

    I have a few minor gripes about the game play but I can't in good conscience lower
    the rating for those. It's a pretty good sign when the biggest complaint I can come up with is that I wished it was longer. I played on hard difficulty and found it to be more than enough of a challenge. Bravo! I will definitely be buying more games from Naughty Dog. Expand
  77. Aug 2, 2013
    9
    The is in my opinion the best Uncharted yet. From a technical perspective this game is near-flawless. These are some of the best graphics I've ever seen, and the facial and character animations are so lifelike that at times it looks like you're controlling a real-life person. The game still features the same awesome voice actors and the soundtrack is as always fantastic. The story mode is the best yet, with an emotional story focusing on Drake and Sully's bond and a look into Drake's past. It also features some of the series most memorable set pieces. The gameplay is still awkward at times, with gunplay feeling stiffer than in previous entries, but everything still feels smooth enough to keep you glued to your controller. Melee combat has taken some great steps forward, featuring environmental takedowns and a handy counter-attack system that allows you to juggle multiple goes with ease. Platforming is still fun and is occasionally smoothly tied into a combat encounter. So the campaign is the best this series has offered yet, the multiplayer takes somewhat of a step back. There's nothing wrong with the multiplayer, it's still a perfectly great time, it's just not as much fun as in Uncharted 2. The stiffer aim is a hindrance to the multiplayer, but never stops it from being an addictive experience. With a great selection of maps as well as a fantastic selection of competitive and co-operative modes Uncharted 3's multiplayer will keep you hooked for countless hours. Drake's Deception is an amazing experience. From the campaign to the multiplayer (both competitive and co-op), Uncharted 3 manages to be a non-stop fun time. It's not only one of the best PS3 games of all time, but it's also just one of the best games of all time. If you haven't played this game yet you're missing out on one of the best video game experiences around. So take my advice and pick up a copy of this game ASAP, you wont regret it. Expand
  78. Sep 2, 2013
    6
    This must be the most overrated game ever, this game isn't even the best in the Uncharted series, being uncharted 2 the only one who deserves nines not even a 10.
  79. Nov 13, 2011
    9
    I actually had a more enjoyable time playing through Uncharted 2, but Uncharted 3 is an excellent sequel to Naughty Dog's best work to date. Everything here is excellent, except the aiming, which has been discussed here and elsewhere on the web. The story was well done, well paced, and wonderfully presented. Somehow ND squeezed an extra bit of graphical umph out of the PS3 for this one.
  80. Nov 6, 2011
    10
    My original review for this game was 20000 characters over the limit. Why? Because Uncharted 3 is not only the reason I play videogames, but it is the reason videogames were made. To match the quality and excitement of a Hollywood movie, if not, beating the excitement. Uncharted 2 was almost there, and Uncharted 3 goes above and beyond. Add on the best multiplayer on the Playstation 3, and Uncharted 3 is one of the best games of all time. Expand
  81. Dec 29, 2011
    9
    After I completed Uncharted 3 I was, to be honest disappointed. Compared with the others, It was pretty the worst in the series.. Of course,that's not really a criticism though, as the other two were great. I just thought the story wasn't as good as the others (and bat **** crazy). Saying that though, it was great fun, the game play is flawless and the characters are great (Cutter being a great new addition). Expand
  82. Nov 7, 2011
    9
    This game is spectacular. The same characteristic story and graphics that we have come to know in love are even more incredible here. I would say it is the best in the series but Uncharted 2 holds a special place in my heart. The story is great but a little convoluted at times. The graphics are even better if you can believe that. The uncharted series has been unbelievable. How many times has a game come out to such incredible reviews (Some calling it near perfection)? Only to have the sequel turn out even better. The Uncharted series has done that time and again. The only failing here is the same as in all the Uncharted games, Gameplay. The first Uncharted had fairly poor gunplay, movement issues and poor collision detection. Uncharted 2 was vastly improved in all areas yet was still weak in them as well. Uncharted 3 however is a step back in this re-guard. The gunplay feels off, with the aiming being a little to jumpy and inaccurate. Using off brand controllers can be horrible in this game. For some reason controllers with no problems in other games will have huge dead zones in Uncharted 3. Making you switch to a Sony brand controller as soon as possible. Which still has problems just to a lesser degree. They seem to have ignored the collision detection issues all together. At times headshots will ring true wil a satisfying killshot. Other times an obvious headshot seems to have no affect as the game counts it as hitting the body. The biggest problem with Uncharted 3 is it's attention to detail and realism. This should be a good thing but really shows the huge flaws in gameplay. When in water levels the movement and flow of the area is incredible. But it really causes problems in movement and aiming when in battle. Which would make sense of course but is so drastic here because of the gunplay issues. All in all, Uncharted 3 is well worth the price. The story and graphics more than make up for the gameplay issues. The gameplay may be a little frustrating at times but will not leave you hating the game as a whole. I'm giving Uncharted a 9 as 10 means perfection and no game is perfect. Thanks for reading. Expand
  83. Dec 12, 2011
    10
    Naughty Dog can do no evil. The story is fantastic, the characters are believable and likeable. The gunplay and platforming are both spot on. The game always changes it up with new environments or new types of levels, such as: escaping spiders, fighting through a falling plane, running through a burning building, or a sinking ship. I never got bored or felt as if something was repetitive because I was always doing something new. The game even made me laugh, which VERY FEW games have been able to do. I really did feel as if I was playing an Indiana Jones movie or one of my favorite books. I have not played the multiplayer or co-op which I am sure will be fun in their own right, but lets face it, this isn't COD; everyone buys this game for the single-player. I must say, this single-player is one of the best out their. Some of the critics complained it was more of the same, but I say why mess with perfection. If they make ANOTHER great story with MORE exciting scenes, what is to complain about. Yes, the gameplay is similar but I would not want drastically different anything, because why would you stray from the best reviewed ps3 game of all time? I cannot think of one bad thing to complain about, since they added the alternate shooting by listening to the fans. Expand
  84. Nov 26, 2011
    10
    Stunning, absolutely stunning. A game that blends every element that can be put into a video game perfectly together. It's cinematic, with eye-candy visuals, an unforgettable story, and amazing voice acting. However, Naughty Dog could have made the game play and gun play a little tighter. Otherwise, this game is a straight 10.
  85. Nov 9, 2011
    10
    This game is why you have a PS3. If you don't buy this game and you have a PS3 I think you must have some serious issues. If you don't like this game, then I don't think I could like you as a person. This game really is something quite special; it's polished and refined beautifully. I've never seen such a level of polish in a game before. The singleplayer experience is incredible with great pacing and a very satisfying length. People have told me they're put off by how the game is only about 10 hours long but surely quality is more important than quantity? You'll replay this game many times and trust me the money is worth for those 10 hours. The multiplayer is just icing on the cake, its great and very robust and surprisingly addicitive. Sure, its not the best but its certainly good. The co-op is great as well. But the reason you should buy this game is for the singleplayer experience. There's nothing wrong in this game which is why its a perfect 10/10. Expand
  86. Dec 9, 2012
    9
    Not quite as essential as Unchartered 2 but a must have game all the same. Single player mode once again is excellent although not as fresh as the previous game. Multiplayer is incredible but I felt that some of the new maps were a bit dull. Being able to bring back the old maps was an excellent idea. I can't wait for an online game against 100 people instead of just a handfull. I will be saving all my pennies for the PS4 just simply because Unchartered 4 will be on there. I'm certain that Naughty dog won't disappoint. Been gaming for 30 years and this is my 2nd best game ever. 1st of course is Unchartered 2. Expand
  87. Nov 8, 2011
    7
    A fantastic experience, and a must own for any PS3 owner. The scenery (as well as everything else in the game) is gorgeous and diverse, meaning you never get sick of seeing any one environment for an extended period of time. The story, while a bit predictable, is very well executed. The writing is superb, as expected of an Uncharted game. There is a good mix of both humorous and serious dialogue.

    The gameplay is extremely solid. They did not change much from the previous games, as there was no need. The aiming mechanics are a bit tighter, and the melee is infinitely more satisfying, but don't expect a huge change from the previous two installments. I never found myself getting sick of the game, while at times the story was too obvious for my tastes, the edge of your seat action and the banter between Drake and company kept me coming back for more.

    If it's your type of thing, the game has a very good multiplayer mode as well. While I don't like to play a lot of third person multiplayer, the game offers infinite customization options for both your character and your loadouts. The weapons are fairly well balanced, as are the streak bonuses. For someone who doesn't like third person multiplayer, like me, this won't change your opinion on the genre. However if you don't mind it, or enjoy that kind of multiplayer, it is well done and will likely keep you coming back for more unlocks.
    Expand
  88. Nov 22, 2011
    10
    Naughty dog at it again. The game's single player campaign offers people exactly what they expect from the franchise an a adrenaline pumping action adventure with really nice tight controls. The game mixes Third person shooter cover based system combat with puzzles and platforming, and planned out to nicely break the flow of the game with some lows and highs makes for an amazing experience. With an adventure themed story like indiana jones and fun characters you get to play your own hollywood adventure, top notch production values. As for the characters this game does go into more background info on drake and sully so if you love those characters then you're in for a treat. The online component is a big improvement over the other game with the co-op modes being the main highlight and very fun. Suffice to say uncharted 3 offers amazing SP and if you still need a fix it has a good online and amazing co-op modes to keep you busy. Expand
  89. Nov 19, 2011
    9
    Uncharted 3 is a thoroughly entertaining and impressive game, it's just not as good as Uncharted 2. Control seems somehow less precise, whether it is worse than Uncharted 2 or showing it's age I can't say for sure. Combat seems a little on the clunky side, but the game is simply so gorgeous that you really don't care. Story is top-notch as well. It's not a perfect 10, but it's a must buy it you own a PS3. I'd like to give it an 8.5 (if Metacritic would ever bother with a half point system), but 8 seems too low. Expand
  90. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    This game is a perfect 10. IGN, a trusted website, doesn't just give out perfect 10's lightly. You are hooked from beginning to end! A must own by any game player!
  91. MJR
    Dec 22, 2011
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I know how much the game is loved and how much the series is loved by it's fans. But the truth is I found the game to be very shallow compared to Uncharted 2, which i would give a perfect 10. The characters sort of jump in and out of the story with Chloe and Cutter disappearing and that random Arabic guy near the end. Felt a little bit deus ex (not a reference to the Deus Ex games), and there was no climatic finish like Uncharted 2 where the sap from the Tree of Life is eaten by Lazaravich and the worst comes to worst followed by a great boss battle. In Uncharted 3 the container at the bottom of the well in the City of Brass containing the Djinn is taken care of in a cutscene you had nothing to do with. Bye evil thing that I never saw surfaced. Also that B**ch Marlowe is killed by quicksand and Drake even attempted to SAVE her. I wanted to straight up kill that c**t. Weak and unsatisfying. I will admit that the fight with Talbot as the city collapses was pretty intense as was the chase in Cartagena as young Drake. The graphic are beautiful, no denying that, and as always the voice acting is superb. The gameplay flows really well, with fisticuffs being a real highlight. I also really enjoyed the cruise ship level but it felt weird because there was no reason to have been on the boat. It was irrelevant to the story, a filler, albeit an awesome filler. You got nothing out of the level other than, oh Drake wasted a bunch of time. Overall it was a very good game with a lot of cool aspects and levels, but the end was kind of a let down, and the cruise ship level I wish could have been integrated better into the plot line. I also wish Chloe and Cutter were in the game longer and that the Arabic guy wasn't or that you had met him sooner to make him more relevant. The only area the game really suffered was the story (which is very important to me considering I'm not the biggest fan of multiplayer), mainly from the time the Djinn get sent back down into the well to the end, which had nothing on the showdown with Lazaravich. In the words of Mega64 sometimes games are just okay. They don't all need a 9 or 10. Expand
  92. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Uncharted 3 is the most beautiful game ever made for the consoles.I think is one of the top 3 games of the year.Naughty dog done very good work again. Expand
  93. Nov 13, 2011
    9
    Surprisingly challenging. Combat is slightly improved over its predecessors - bullets hit harder and Drake has some new melee moves. It's just fun to play all the way around. Naughty Dog is constantly changing up the game play type and surroundings to keep things always feeling fresh and different. A must-own for PS3 enthusiasts.
  94. Oct 16, 2014
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. this is a review for uncharted 3. it is a video game where things happen and some things that do not happen. it was okay. i would say that it was a video game. Expand
  95. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    Uncharted 3 is simply amazing. The story: character driven, emotional, and continually surprising. The gameplay: fluid, refined, with exciting mechanics that enhance the story. The presentation: the best visuals around, and the music is fantastic too. Great multiplayer, co-op, and tons of bonus features as well
  96. Mar 5, 2012
    8
    Big hat, no cattle. Don't get me wrong, this game is breathtakingly beautiful and the gameplay is top notch. However, the biggest let down of this game is its story. One you wouldn't notice while playing the game because they successfully immerse you in its world. Once you set down your controller though, after the credits stop rolling, you realize there wasn't really much to the story. Poorly fleshed out villains and a plot that was, well, pretty tacked on. Overall, a great game, but the weakest in the trilogy. One that pales in comparison with its predecessor. Expand
  97. Oct 2, 2012
    7
    I found UC3 to be a somewhat disappointing sequel. It is a decent game but in light of the outstanding quality of its immediate predecessor I did expect a more entertaining experience. More focus has been placed on melee combat, which has been refined, but it is still fairly ropey and you are often encouraged to engage in it when there is a lot of shooting going on around you. This often leads to frustrating deaths as switching between melee and shooting can be quite cumbersome and you are often left as an easy target. The pacing of the game is also inferior to UC2. Where UC2 ratcheted up the intensity of the action at a consistent pace, leading to a brilliant climax ,UC3 takes quite a while to get going and the first half could only be most favourably described as subdued. When it does get to its most intense chapters there are never quite up to par with UC2 and the game then sloooooows down just before the final chapters to a grinding pace that I found quite misjudged and frustrating. These games are clearly aping the beats of an adventure movie, most noticeably the Indiana Jones series, so why the designers didn't stick as closely to this pacing template is quite confusing. They got it just right the last time, so why not stick to it?
    It also feels shorter than the previous games and has quite a ho-hum finale, and to add to its bland troubles the main baddie of the game is about as exciting as a cardboard flavoured lolly pop. Think a stoned and bored Helen Mirren and you're pretty much there.
    The story isn't bad but it does have a faint smell of repetitive odour and several characters actually question the necessity of the quest, almost as though they've broken the fourth wall and are winking at us. The main cast all return but even their appearances feel somewhat perfunctory, as though they were contractually obliged to return.
    This is not to say the game is without its strengths: It looks absolutely gorgeous, and there are a number of very impressive set pieces, what with the budget undoubtedly being so high. There were a few moments of real emotional connection with the characters, which is rare, and good to see, in action video games. Having spent three games with most of these characters it is nice to see they still have depth and imperfections worth exploring.
    Had this game been released before UC2 I still don't think it would've reached the high scores of that outstanding title, but it would certainly not have been a disappointment in any way as it is certainly superior to the first.
    I did enjoy it but was constantly comparing it to UC2, willing it to be better, but it just never quite got there. I do hope there are more UC titles, but that the next one ups the ante again the way the second one did. This is a game that should be rented rather than bought as there simply isn't enough replay value and the multiplayer, whilst fairly enjoyable, is not good enough to justify a full price purchase.
    Expand
  98. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    I think this is one of the best games ever made. Fantastic action, transversal, story, characters, and amazing graphics. The campaign is the best ever, only if it's 8.5 hours(on Hard, but on Crushing its 9.5). The mp is okay, but the story has all the thrills. The ship graveyard battles destroy the train sequence from uc2. My favorite part is the horseback chase in Chapter 20. The best level design is in Chapter 11. :D Expand
  99. Nov 7, 2011
    10
    I never give games a ten but this is it, a perfect 10. If you thought Uncharted 2 couldn't be bettered, well, think again! Everything about this game has improved since the last iteration, everything. You will miss out on one of the best games of all time if you don't play this. Take a standing ovation Naughty Dog, you deserve it.
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 97 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 96 out of 97
  2. Negative: 0 out of 97
  1. The characterisations by the actors is second to none and even though this tall-tale takes you to fantastical places and events, the script is never once unbelievable. You never feel like an outsider. If anything, you'll feel right at home, ensconced in the constant drama of this loveable cast of returning reprobates and reprehensible villains. [Dec 2011, p60]
  2. Feb 5, 2012
    100
    It's more than just the best entry in an outstanding series though - it epitomises the very reason many of us play video games. And that's its greatest achievement.
  3. 90
    Only a few camera troubles stopped us from giving Drake's Deception the highest rating. Uncharted 3 is without doubt the best PS3 exclusive game of this year. [Dec 2011]