User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2866 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 24, 2014
    10
    The best Uncharted game yet in my opinion. The story is as gripping as ever, the action constantly spectacular and the dialogue funny and fresh. I much preferred the ending to this one than 2 (was not a fan of that boss fight) and the multiplayer and co-op modes were a really great addition. Perfect.
  2. Aug 21, 2014
    8
    Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipisicing elit, sed do eiusmod tempor incididunt ut labore et dolore magna aliqua. Ut enim ad minim veniam, quis nostrud exercitation ullamco laboris nisi ut aliquip ex ea commodo consequat. Duis aute irure dolor in reprehenderit in voluptate velit esse cillum dolore eu fugiat nulla pariatur. Excepteur sint occaecat cupidatat non proident, sunt in culpa qui officia deserunt mollit anim id est laborum. Expand
  3. Aug 8, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Definitely the best Uncharted so far. I love the graphics, love the storyline, and love the humour. The thing that starts to get annoying is that sad thread of the plot that everyone wants him to stop adventuring. Expand
  4. Jul 31, 2014
    10
    This game is a masterpiece on all fronts. It will never cease its on ongoing quality. I mean, just pick out anything. It has amazing combat, graphics, story, A.I., environments, and the voice acting is top notch. The melee combat has finally become fun and engaging, which was the only problem I had with its predecessors, and the shooting is as immersive as it always has been. Characters are written so well, you actually feel for them, which can be rare. Anyway this game ticks all the boxes. (Boxes that have been very sharply ticked!) Expand
  5. Jul 29, 2014
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I honestly feel like the whole 'drive' scandal is happening again (where reviewers were paid off). I am absolutely stunned that reputable reviewers actually gave this 10/10 I.e. perfect - could not be improved in any way!!!??? Seriously? There have been so many great games that have received so much criticism and this gets 10.
    Ok - why do I feel this way:
    (For the record I enjoyed uncharted 1 and absolutely loved uncharted 2 - along with infamous 2 prob my fave games on ps3)
    1) it's all gloss and no substance. If I wanted to watch a good treasure hunting movie I'd watch Indiana jones. A game should give me an experience to immerse myself in. The whole time I felt like a tourist on rails experiencing cut-scene followed by quicktime event or extremely limited action event. There's nothing wrong with storytelling but if that's the intention why not take a leaf out of telltale's book and do a 'walking dead' style adventure.

    2) enemies are unbelievably generic! All are wearing tuxedos and shades - I mean come on! How is that alone worthy of a 10. The action was so boring - not a patch on uncharted 2 or even enslaved.

    3) the balance has all gone. For some reason uncharted 2 did an excellent job of making you feel like you were involved in an adventure where you could create the action. This by contrast felt like a completely dictated experience. So dull I only finished it out of loyalty to its predecessors.

    4) graphics were fine but nothing significantly better than before. I loved uncharted 2's look anyhow.

    5) follows exactly the same plot - cursed city / race against baddies / deception etc - I mean I can let this go if the gameplay is exciting - but it just isn't.
    - to think that highly creative games like mirror's edge got critically slated while this uninspired money-making on-rails, set-piece after set-piece ultra-bland experience gets full marks. I just don't get it!

    Clearly enough people like this for my comments to be ignored - perhaps these people are the younger call-of-duty generation of gamers. I'm a little less 'blockbuster' in my taste. Also perhaps if it hadn't been given such high marks all round I'd let it go but something fishy is going on here!
    Expand
  6. Jul 27, 2014
    6
    This is a nice game but definitely not "the greatest game ever made". Too much lengthy and quite repetitive - all the time again and again similar shooting scenes, so similar that becoming boring after about 60% of progress. It even seems they didn't have that long story for a that long game and put some of the location just to make shooting scenes longer. Blah.
  7. Jul 21, 2014
    10
    This was one of the first games i played on my PlayStation and it was phenomenal i love the batman fighting style and the shooting mechanics are fair as well the visuals are amazing my mom thought it was a movie when she saw me playing it the story was phenomenal as well all in all i would definitely recommend you buy this game and would even go as far to say go out and buy a PlayStation 3 for this game. Expand
  8. Jul 11, 2014
    9
    AMAZING GAME - Great graphics, Great story locations, and Great Characters. A LOT of fun to play. The only problem I have is that there is too much recoil during gun combat, and you can't sprint in this game. I finished the game 3 times, and still not bored. A MUST BUY.
  9. Jun 30, 2014
    10
    This was my first PS3 game and seriously, I don't know what to say. Those graphics are... just perfect! The story is fascinating, the characters are awesome and it's one of the greatest games I ever played. When I played for the first time, I was excited.
  10. Jun 21, 2014
    10
    97/100: Naughty Dog created a new, wonderful experience for the PlayStation 3 by creating Uncharted 3. The combat and the storyline are just as good as Uncharted 2 and graphically this game have to have blown everybody away. Also, the multiplayer is very fun and original!
  11. PMG
    Jun 17, 2014
    10
    This is an absolute masterpiece! The story is gripping with strong writing and excellent performances. The game also has excellent pace and blend tight shootout, platforming and really geneus puzzles. The multiplayer is a blast and really fun and the visuals on the PS3 are only rivalved by the Last of Us. All in all if you like third person shooters that play like Indiana Jones, you shouldn't miss this amazing experience. Expand
  12. Jun 6, 2014
    8
    The game was fun, but more or less I think it was just Uncharted 2.5 honestly. Not much changed, and it probably was just a "quick break out the third one to make a lot of money" or deal.

    Needless to say, it wasn't a bad game. It didn't live up to Uncharted 2 "which was a solid 10/10 in my book" but it wasn't as good.
  13. May 22, 2014
    10
    Uncharted 3: Drake's Deception I predict will go down in history as one of the most ambitious games ever made. The gameplay and set pieces flow here somewhat like action poetry. The characters here are so believable in their crazy motivations because of the brilliant voice acting and motion capture. The story, as ludicrous as it gets, is so entertaining because of director Amy Hennig and her smart script. The environments are so striking because of the brilliant designers and artists working at the Pixar of gaming: Naughty Dog. Expand
  14. May 19, 2014
    10
    the best in the series its nothing but a non- stop roller coaster of fun and action its approaching 3 years since its release and its still looks amazing today unlike uncharted 2 this is why i play console games
  15. Apr 16, 2014
    9
    If you own a ps3, the Uncharted series are a must have! The mixture of shooting, climbing and puzzle solving is perfect! The graphics are quite beautiful...I often found myself just stopping and looking at the scenery. The banter between characters as they explore the area is quite amusing to listen to. Get into it! I just wished it was a little longer :( I wanted the action to continue but maybe it felt shorter because I binge played it! Expand
  16. Apr 12, 2014
    8
    Very cinematic, with great action sequences and terrific voice acting. It is a very linear game, which isn't necessarily a bad thing, just the nature of the game. It's also quite short. My only criticism is the gameplay, which while generally very good, can be frustrating at times. Mostly when you are surrounded by enemies, and struggling to aim your gun while keeping a consistent camera angle. Overall, I would definitely recommend this game, you'll fly through it in a couple days. Expand
  17. Apr 1, 2014
    10
    Simply the best game I've ever played..Story,characters,voice acting,gameplay,graphics,online mode...finished 3 times and never get bored by repeting the story...........
  18. Mar 21, 2014
    8
    I was a huge fan of the first game in the series but I just thought that this one didn't quite take the same jump in quality than I would've expected in this franchise and from this particular developer.
  19. Mar 17, 2014
    2
    To start I would like to say that no... I didn't play this game when it first came out, I only played it last week. But if the game really aged this badly in only 3 (or really more like 2) years then this has to be a contender for worst first party game ever made. But why is it so bad well let me start with the first thing seen about the game the title (I get it don't judge a book by it's cover but still) Uncharted 3 Drake's Deception and as the title suggests (SPOILERS!!!) Drake gets infact, indeed, indubitably, deceived. But in all the other Uncharted games (SPOILERS!!!) Drake gets deceived then shouldn't it be more like: Uncharted Drake's Deception, Uncharted 2 Drake's Deception again, Uncharted 3 Drake you F*@#$^% idiot. But unfortunately this is the least of the game's problems because to be completely honest the best part about this game is the title screen infact I would rather just stare at the title screen for 6 1/2 hours then play this game for about just as long. But next I'll get the few good things about this thing out, the main theme is good all of the other music I can't remember but the main theme is good, the characters are generic but there not annoying or stupid... so better that then Last of Us, and also the graphics in the actual cutscenes are okey. But anything else ranges from bad to just plain garbage. I'll start with the story and... it's basically the same as the other Uncharted games, I'ld go more in depth but I don't want to have to click that contains spoilers box and I already have done quite a lot but what ever there's plenty more garbage that Naughty Dog dished out so don't worry about it. The control is just plain bad, it's infact so bad that I didn't even want to think that this game was a first party. What do I mean by this well firstly Nathan Drake who (SPOILERS!!!) is the main character of the game only jumps when he fricken feels like it, and you can't even imagine how annoying this is in a game like this when you are trying your best just to get Nathan to do a little kindergardener jump but instead he just head bangs like he's at a Nirvana concert. He also runs into invisible walls half the time when there's a cliff and the other half he just slips off like an idiot and goes plummeting to his death. Also for the fact that when your not aiming a gun the camera moves around like it's on speed, but once you aim a gun the camera then moves around like it's... well off of speed. And since the control is goins so much into the gameplay I might as well just go full in. So in terms of gameplay there are actually a lot of different kinds... of course they can't get any of them right though. First the swimming I hope you thought that Ocarina of Time was the best swimming was ever going to get because in Uncharted 3 it's worse. By this I mean that basically when you first start out in Ocarina of Time and when you first try to swim well imagine that except more stiff and a million people shooting instakill grenades at you. Then there is the climbing which just like the jumping only works when it feels like it. Some times the segments are as easy as spamming X while holding up and sometimes they just don't work and force you to exhaust every possible option until finally you get it right. But you know what the best part is? it's when you try to jump to something that seems obvious to get on but when you jump to them you go falling to your death again. Then there is of course the walk around like an idiot for 10 minutes to elongate gameplay while searching for something or just walking in a straight line. Oh but before I get to the actual combat I have to get to one of the best parts of the game... in game cutscenes. Oh my god are they hilarious because not only does the game begin to look worse while in these cutscenes but they also decide to give Nathan and (SPOILERS) Sully the ability to teleport into a completely different position durning one of these and then teleport back like nothing ever happened. Then the big one the fighting mechanics. First of all the melee combat, I will say it's not completely a cutscene but it's a button masher and a bad one at that. You can also apparently kill enemies by landing on them but it never worked for me except for the first level. The shooting as I mentioned before is very stiff and there have been times where I had to follow an enemy across the screen because the cursor moved like a slug. But of course with all of that obviously you should be assaulted by ten thousand responding enemies who can take sniper bullets to the head right. Well no but it's in the game anyway. But by far the worst part of the game is the fricken RPG's, because not only are they an instakill but they also will send Nathan into an omg something exploded remotely close to me animation if it explodes anywhere near you. And of course there are armored guys that take 200 hits to kill and can't be meleed. So in the end this game isn't worth a 10/10. Expand
  20. Mar 6, 2014
    9
    If you like Uncharted Series you will love Uncharted 3, action, great story, beautiful graphics, all in one package, i keep my heart with uncharted 2 as the best of the series but please don't miss this one too
  21. Feb 23, 2014
    10
    The expectations were high, but Naughty Dog delivered a masterpiece. The story here is fascinating, the gameplay is fun, the cinematic moments are often breathtaking, and the writing and performances remain smart and snappy. Looking forward to the next installment.
  22. Feb 8, 2014
    10
    I did not buy this game. It was shipped with my new PS3. I usually do not play action games. However I loved it. Amazing action from the beginning until the end. Superb graphics. Innovative. Thanks to the developers !
  23. Feb 4, 2014
    9
    This is a really great game, I enjoyed the atmosphere, the gameplay, the story, and even the multiplayer. Everything about this game is great, my only gripe is that it is so darn linear!
  24. Jan 27, 2014
    9
    Again to me the uncharted series are just supreme talking about the graphics and game play, the acting voices are again very god, BUT I would like to leave without knowing Drake's story of his childhood, I found it senseless like someone spent 10 minutes just to come up with something to say. Other that that is great and the multi player is fantastic.
  25. Jan 27, 2014
    10
    One of the best game of ps3, the history is amazing with a lot of intense moments (but a history a little below than uncharted 2) , the characters are unforgettable, perfect gameplay, and much acction where we were never bored. The best graphics for ps3. If you have a PS3, you must have this game
  26. Jan 17, 2014
    7
    Suffers in comparison to Uncharted 2, but it's still an incredibly polished game from a developer who never disappoints. The boat sequence especially is one of the most exciting setpieces ever made playable.
  27. Jan 17, 2014
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. While I believe it isn't as good as Among Thieves, Uncharted 3: Drake's Deception is still a really good game. The game remains as solid and enjoyable as the previous entry in the series while also adding more interesting and intense set pieces. This game also has around three times as many puzzles as it predecessor, each one being clever and well thought out. The story was well done too, even if parts like the prolonged desert level and the final fight with Talbot were lackluster. Overall, this game is amazing, despite living in Among Thieves' shadow. Expand
  28. Jan 16, 2014
    9
    I didn´t expect Uncharted 3 to be a massive improvement over its predecessor, because I felt there was a balance between the plot and the characters, something that Uncharted 2 did not. Both Nathan Drake and Victor Sullivan are fleshed out, as we see the origin of their partnership when Drake was a young kid and Sully was a thief. It was a treat seeing them like that! And unlike Among Thieves, I cared more for the heroes than ever. Nathan, while sometimes naive, is always spirited, and finally, Sully appears more in the game, which means we get to hear his awesome voice and dialogue. Chloe Frazer appears more stable in his change of personality, and Cutter was surprisingly entertaining for a character that´s new to the franchise, although Elena doesn´t take a big role like in Uncharted 2. As for the villains, while Marlowe isn´t as threatning or cold-hearted like Lazaravich, I did feel hatred for his assistant Talbot, who always seems to get his ways around the heroes, as he sometimes steals the artifacts that the protagonists worked so hard for. Now obviously, there´s a ton of action, involving lots of the same aspects Uncharted 2 had, but this time, a lot of things are improved: melee combat has been upgraded, allowing a more satisfying and quicker punchlines, unlike the more slower fist fighting from before. There´s a a ton of enemies in the game, but not in the same level of Among Thieves, and that´s the best change of the game: there´s no excessive amount of enemies. You do get a ton, but it didn´t me turn off from the experience. The graphics have improved: lots of detail in the enviroments and the characters, especially during the forest in France. Multiplayer in this game is somewhat the same as UC2, but it does include a Buddy System, where you get tagged with someone, and if you die, depending on if your buddy is getting shot or not, you get an option to spawn next to him, like Battlefield´s Spawn system, only less liberating. However, it was funny to see that there´s Unchated TV, where you get to see some videos about the weapons for MP and some parody vids. Overall, I loved this game: I loved the characters, the action, the detail, and it was more enjoyable than UC2 for me. I can´t wait for the next Uncharted game! Expand
  29. Jan 15, 2014
    10
    Man if you like the uncharted series this is one of the best game this year! Really a must buy! If new player to uncharted I recommend to start from the first, the story is so freaking good!
  30. Jan 9, 2014
    3
    One of my least favourite games of all time. Graphics and sound absolutely shine, this is a good looking game, even by 2014 standards. But that's it. The whole game basically boils down to a pattern of explore, gunfight, and solve puzzle over and over again through 22 chapters of tedium. To be fair, the exploring is basically okay and the puzzles are just the right level of difficulty. But the gunfights will make you regret buying a PS3. They happen at the wrong times, just as a scene's rhythm is gathering steam. Deaths in gunfights often feel cheap and the enemies are bullet sponges, sometimes needing 6 or 7 rounds to go down. I have much respect for Naughty Dog, but I'm won't spend 60 dollars on a 20 hour game with no replay value ever again. If I hadn't played this game for free via my PlayStation Plus subscription, I would have never had played it. Expand
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 97 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 96 out of 97
  2. Negative: 0 out of 97
  1. The characterisations by the actors is second to none and even though this tall-tale takes you to fantastical places and events, the script is never once unbelievable. You never feel like an outsider. If anything, you'll feel right at home, ensconced in the constant drama of this loveable cast of returning reprobates and reprehensible villains. [Dec 2011, p60]
  2. Feb 5, 2012
    100
    It's more than just the best entry in an outstanding series though - it epitomises the very reason many of us play video games. And that's its greatest achievement.
  3. 90
    Only a few camera troubles stopped us from giving Drake's Deception the highest rating. Uncharted 3 is without doubt the best PS3 exclusive game of this year. [Dec 2011]