• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Nov 16, 2007
User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1794 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 27, 2012
    7
    Unfortunately as many other players I played Uncharted 2 first so I did feel the difference between both games and I agree with other critics the number of enemies in this game it's ridiculous, and they can get a lot of damage but they just wont go down. But don't get me wrong this is definitely one of the best Adventure video game in the PS3 history.
  2. PaulL.
    Jan 10, 2010
    7
    This game is far from greatness. It can be quite infuriating at times and some of the checkpoint save locations are a joke. Combat can go both ways, either good or very bad. Aside from that, the story is somewhat charming. I must note here, that I'm a victim of the "Crysis effect". Anything above a 7, can't be justified.
  3. Jan
    Nov 27, 2007
    5
    6 to 9 Hours of Singleplayer Gameplay with low Replay Value and no additional Features. Total lack of Multiplayer or Coop Mode. 5/10
  4. OscarH
    Aug 11, 2008
    6
    I bought this on the strength of certain reviews, and I must admit I feel robbed; although I was fortunate enough to purchase it on Platinum so it doesn't hurt the piggy bank too badly! Games have taken a nose dive if a game so unimaginative and lacking in innovation as this is scoring anything above a 7. The positive: this game looks fantastic. Although the graphics aren't as I bought this on the strength of certain reviews, and I must admit I feel robbed; although I was fortunate enough to purchase it on Platinum so it doesn't hurt the piggy bank too badly! Games have taken a nose dive if a game so unimaginative and lacking in innovation as this is scoring anything above a 7. The positive: this game looks fantastic. Although the graphics aren't as impressive as Metal Gear Solid 4, it's still a very nice effort, albeit it looks plastic and over saturated in some places. In addition, it at least attempts to introduce innovation into the gameplay (with jetskis, jumping, puzzles etc) although you quickly realise they all follow a similar linear pathway and are heavily interspersed with the same lazy gameplay. The negatives: - Repetitive: For a short game (~8 hours apparently) this felt like a week of playing, such was the tedium. Shooting an endless stream of unnamed enemies grows tiresome very quickly; replacing those enemies with a few zombies at the end isn't the innovation I am looking for - Plot: B-movie style. This is acceptable in a game like Far Cry where its superior visuals and open ended approach to gameplay is the main selling point, but for such a linear game it hardly helps matters here. - AI: Almost superhuman at times, which isn't a good thing; those enemies with the lasers (especially Navarro at the end) are inhumanely accurate. Their presence is also incongruous with the information of certain locations - e.g. they appear in droves in areas that humans apparently haven't seen for hundreds of years. - Absolute zero replay value: I have no intention of ever playing this game again following my lack of enjoyment on my first run through. With the additional lack of multiplayer and coop modes, this will now be gathering dust somewhere. Overall this is lazy game design. Do not buy but merely rent this title only if you have a really boring weekend you want to kill, slowly and painfully. Distinctly unimpressed. Expand
  5. Sep 24, 2012
    5
    fine, but incredibly overrated. The game isn't that long and the story left an incredibly bad taste in my mouth, it gets so much praise, but there are far better games on the PS3.
  6. Aug 9, 2011
    6
    Uncharted is a good game and having completed it after Uncharted 2, my score may be lower than otherwise... Nonetheless, it is a great game with a good story, good characters and great voicework, together with a cinematic soundtrack. The graphics are very good, with the occassional pop-in and dodgy texture. The gameplay is decent, not as refined as its successor but there are some elementsUncharted is a good game and having completed it after Uncharted 2, my score may be lower than otherwise... Nonetheless, it is a great game with a good story, good characters and great voicework, together with a cinematic soundtrack. The graphics are very good, with the occassional pop-in and dodgy texture. The gameplay is decent, not as refined as its successor but there are some elements that can be frustrating. This mainly revolves around the attempt to apply six-axis controls into grenade throwing and shaking off some of the latter enemies... this can be frustrating. I'm not a big fan of quick-time events and this game has some infrequently and often unexpected during cutscenes. I can't see much reason to playthrough again other than trophies, which I'm not interested in. The game provides a decent challenge on the normal setting. Good, 3/5. Expand
  7. WayneL.
    Jan 27, 2008
    6
    Repetitive battles, poor story, poor object models (clipping problems), pointless jumping puzzles. Over all not a bad game but defiantly not worth the hype.
  8. MessiahL.
    Dec 24, 2007
    6
    I rented it from Blockbuster and finished it before it was even due. Is this game really WORTH $60? Drake borrows from a variety of franchises: Tomb Raider, Resident Evil 4, et al but never really establishes itself as anything more than a derivative action/adventure game. I slugged through the 5 hours it took me to complete it... and you know what? I don't want to go back. It had a I rented it from Blockbuster and finished it before it was even due. Is this game really WORTH $60? Drake borrows from a variety of franchises: Tomb Raider, Resident Evil 4, et al but never really establishes itself as anything more than a derivative action/adventure game. I slugged through the 5 hours it took me to complete it... and you know what? I don't want to go back. It had a nice plot-twist toward the end, but it seems like it's there just to reassure you that Drake's Uncharted Fortune is merely a competent title, not an impressive one. Overall, I guess it might be worth the $60 price-tag if the only current-gen (NOT next-gen system) you own is a PS3. Expand
  9. Feb 26, 2012
    6
    Nice graphics, interesting gameplay, and very well-made characters and dialogue. Voice acting is TOP notch. However, the story line immediately made me think of Indian Jones. Soon I realized that this WAS indiana jones. Then the weird monsters started attacking. Then I realized that the monsters are just people dressed up as monsters. Then I laughed and realized that this game is reallyNice graphics, interesting gameplay, and very well-made characters and dialogue. Voice acting is TOP notch. However, the story line immediately made me think of Indian Jones. Soon I realized that this WAS indiana jones. Then the weird monsters started attacking. Then I realized that the monsters are just people dressed up as monsters. Then I laughed and realized that this game is really nothing special. Expand
  10. DBCooper
    Feb 12, 2008
    6
    Wave after wave of pointless pirates just becomes tedious after a while - especially when they swarm out of areas that supposedly have not seen the light of day for hundreds of years. The guns also feel underpowered - how many direct hits from an AK-47 can a guy in a tank top withstand? In this game, about 10. I haven't even gotten to the zombies yet. Anyway if you haven't Wave after wave of pointless pirates just becomes tedious after a while - especially when they swarm out of areas that supposedly have not seen the light of day for hundreds of years. The guns also feel underpowered - how many direct hits from an AK-47 can a guy in a tank top withstand? In this game, about 10. I haven't even gotten to the zombies yet. Anyway if you haven't played yet, prepare for a lot of pointless shooting, and get used to this sound, just as you're starting to look around at the environment and get interested in what's going on: "There he is!" "I see him!" "Shoot to kill!" Sigh. Expand
  11. GeorgeD.
    Dec 19, 2007
    6
    I don't know why this game is getting tens! It is good but the short length of the campaign makes it really bad value for money. Also the camera systems erratic seesawing (especially on the jetski stages) induces NAUSEA, which I cannot say is a very pleasant gaming experience.
  12. JoeB.
    Dec 31, 2007
    6
    Combat is bad. Storyline is average. Graphics are stunning!! All he textures look real .. simply amazing. I also thought it was rather difficult, it may be a little much for the average gamer.
  13. EricK.
    Jan 1, 2008
    6
    Way too much shooting, the game drags it out so bad in some spots you never think its gonna end. Not real impressed so far with this websites scores this is the third game i have bought going off the review scores on here and am feeling very cheated.
  14. RobB.
    Mar 14, 2008
    6
    NO REPLAY VALUE! I have played this "last gen game with a coat of new paint" several times through to completion on different levels including "crushing". I have found 61 of 60 tresures and been bored senseless doing so! Don't buy this, there is no point buying a game that you will get bored with after the third play through! Graphically I cant see what people are raving about; the NO REPLAY VALUE! I have played this "last gen game with a coat of new paint" several times through to completion on different levels including "crushing". I have found 61 of 60 tresures and been bored senseless doing so! Don't buy this, there is no point buying a game that you will get bored with after the third play through! Graphically I cant see what people are raving about; the screen tears every time your character turns around! The worst thing about this game is that it's so linear that it can't be described as "Next Gen", unless "Next Gen" really means just a coat of new paint! Expand
  15. ChrisS.
    Mar 16, 2008
    5
    Anything review above a 7 is by children or people who have never played a video game before. This game is gorgeous graphically, that's it. Puzzles are lame and easy and the action gets repetitive and down right tedious after a while. I wouldn't have been as vocal if I hadn't thought a 9 or 10 was showing up in the mail from all the initial reviews. 9s and 10s is what Anything review above a 7 is by children or people who have never played a video game before. This game is gorgeous graphically, that's it. Puzzles are lame and easy and the action gets repetitive and down right tedious after a while. I wouldn't have been as vocal if I hadn't thought a 9 or 10 was showing up in the mail from all the initial reviews. 9s and 10s is what Bioshock, orange box, ratchet and clank, COD4, Halo 3, Rainbow Six Vegas, and others got, this game is not in the same ball park, league, sport, or even the same planet of fun vs those games. The best part of this game is behind the scene extras. It's doing the PS3 a dis service to rate this game this high. If this is a 9 or 10, I made a serious mistake putting 500 bucks down for the PS3. Expand
  16. crackerJax
    Nov 19, 2007
    6
    I saw previews and the graphics look horrible, I saw it on G4 and waasnt sure if it was polished up by then but it was a mission where you were running around on a boat shooting at other people on a boat. I want to really like this game but I think I am going to rent it first.
  17. AshM.
    Nov 22, 2007
    5
    Really pretty game. But really shallow. Boring gunplay, pretty bad sound effects (guns sound like toys), glitchy cover system, bad AI, monotonous level design, boring "collect them all" treasure system.
  18. chrisl
    Mar 22, 2008
    6
    The only reason anyone would rate this game a 9 or 10 is becuase they are so desperate for a exclusive ps3 game to be good. I own ps3 and the xbox360 and games as boring as this keep me going back to my 360. If you would just vote the score these crappy games deserve they would be forced to make better ones, but, since you want to hype up dud's like this they will continue to sell us The only reason anyone would rate this game a 9 or 10 is becuase they are so desperate for a exclusive ps3 game to be good. I own ps3 and the xbox360 and games as boring as this keep me going back to my 360. If you would just vote the score these crappy games deserve they would be forced to make better ones, but, since you want to hype up dud's like this they will continue to sell us the same old garbage. This game deserves a 6. It had it's fun moments but had more boring moments. It would have received a 7or 8 if it was longer and had less monotony. Expand
  19. JustinG.
    Jun 27, 2008
    6
    I love puzzle adventure games, so I was really looking forward to this game. What a disappointment. Chris S.' review below is spot on the money! I only gave it a 6 because the graphics are stunning, the story was interesting and the game play wasn't bad. Come on guy's, lift your expectations! The puzzles are fed to you on a platter, and the shooter element is so repetitive. I love puzzle adventure games, so I was really looking forward to this game. What a disappointment. Chris S.' review below is spot on the money! I only gave it a 6 because the graphics are stunning, the story was interesting and the game play wasn't bad. Come on guy's, lift your expectations! The puzzles are fed to you on a platter, and the shooter element is so repetitive. If you think this game is deserving of any score above a 6 go back to ps2, play "Soul Reaver" or "God of War" and have a good hard look at this game. Rent it, don't buy it! Expand
  20. Apr 2, 2012
    6
    The dullest third-person shooting game I have played in a while, complete with quick-time events. The scenery was nice and the graphics were very good too, and the platforming sections were fairly enjoyable. The story is ridiculous though and overall it was kind of a "meh" game.
  21. Feb 24, 2013
    7
    It is not that bad but its a bit overrated. Don´t get me wrong, its not that uncharted sucks, it doesnt but there is much space above. But the graphics were good at that time.
  22. Feb 26, 2013
    6
    Uncharted was a great idea for a game and therefore I believe the series deserves its multiple awards. However, I believe the game reminds me more of a Tomb Raider game from the original PlayStation but with a male protagonist. The gameplay mechanics for shooting were very well done for a 3rd person shooter but I felt like you could traverse the entire game by just hitting the actionUncharted was a great idea for a game and therefore I believe the series deserves its multiple awards. However, I believe the game reminds me more of a Tomb Raider game from the original PlayStation but with a male protagonist. The gameplay mechanics for shooting were very well done for a 3rd person shooter but I felt like you could traverse the entire game by just hitting the action button over and over again while jumping around. The game also included a couple puzzles but I thought they were too easy and a waste of 5 minutes. The story started out great but by the end I really didn't care that much anymore even though the game doesn't take that long to beat. The series deserves respect for what it tried to do but I would rather spend my time playing a longer more interesting game. Expand
  23. Sep 13, 2011
    7
    Played this on normal through to the finish. Loved some parts but others were very annoying. The platforming was good but the puzzles were a bit simple and tge constant gun fights were too much. If I want to shoot stuff I'll play halo or COD. Glad I played it but won't be rushing for the next one.....
  24. Dec 26, 2011
    5
    Uncharted is one of the few games I've played that does not match up to critics' review scores. Excellent: music, art, and tech, many extras crammed onto disc, some good gameplay sequences. Terrible: controls, cover mechanics, jumping mechanics, shooting mechanics, enemy behavior is too much like whack-a-mole, repetitive shooting scenarios, ridiculous difficulty even on easy, savegameUncharted is one of the few games I've played that does not match up to critics' review scores. Excellent: music, art, and tech, many extras crammed onto disc, some good gameplay sequences. Terrible: controls, cover mechanics, jumping mechanics, shooting mechanics, enemy behavior is too much like whack-a-mole, repetitive shooting scenarios, ridiculous difficulty even on easy, savegame checkpoints are extremely frustrating even on easy. The critically lauded story is the usual fluff and goes downhill later on. Overall, a good concept with some good elements but the whole experience is ruined by difficulty and frustration--so ruined that I registered for Metacritic to post this review. I usually play games at least twice but I have zero interest in replaying Uncharted:DF. Expand
  25. May 30, 2012
    6
    This is not a bad game, it is just not what I was looking for in an adventure game of this hype-status and here's why.

    The setting seems interesting enough, a random (not super-powered) guy goes on a treasure hunting experience and is facing expected and unexpected enemies. Graphics are very good, gameplay is not as brilliant as many people say, but decent. The major letdown for me was
    This is not a bad game, it is just not what I was looking for in an adventure game of this hype-status and here's why.

    The setting seems interesting enough, a random (not super-powered) guy goes on a treasure hunting experience and is facing expected and unexpected enemies. Graphics are very good, gameplay is not as brilliant as many people say, but decent. The major letdown for me was that there is no real exploring in this game. You climb through caves or make your way up castles, trees and whatnot. On your path, you will find treasures, but the feeling of exploration is not there. What really killed the game for me is the shooting parts. this is where all athmosphere and fun is killed in an instant. I was reminded of the (terrible) Resident Evil 5 when I found myself walking through an appearantly quiet passge, when suddenly (maybe an invisible switch) hordes of bad guys with guns started attacking me. This feels incredibly dumb, as there is no music of any kind, just the sound of shooting guys that never seem to stop coming. I stopped playing after the 3rd or 4th shootout and sold the game, as it was another "please all" mashup of some very limited exploring and a lot of unnecessary shootouts.
    Expand
  26. Mar 14, 2013
    7
    This rating is not based on a thorough play-through but on first impressions... WTF! I came into the game expecting a Tomb Raider meets Prince of Persia platformer... and suddenly I'm playing a 3rd person shooter, with horrible gun controls (though I have NEVER liked playing any shooter on a console), limited ammo, and enemies that -literally- spawn out of nowhere. Seriously, I died duringThis rating is not based on a thorough play-through but on first impressions... WTF! I came into the game expecting a Tomb Raider meets Prince of Persia platformer... and suddenly I'm playing a 3rd person shooter, with horrible gun controls (though I have NEVER liked playing any shooter on a console), limited ammo, and enemies that -literally- spawn out of nowhere. Seriously, I died during an encounter and on my 2nd attempt waited outside the door for them to start firing... they did not even exist until I hit the doorway, then WHAM.....

    I'm gonna keep playing the game, but, I just can't let a HORRENDOUS game design decision like that go.
    Expand
  27. stuart
    Aug 10, 2008
    7
    Good, but not great. The mechanics of assasins creed are a lot better. Worth renting to play through. very short game.
  28. EricG.
    Dec 25, 2007
    7
    Totally agree with Toby O. Uncharted has the spirit of a great Indy movie, but is bogged down on numerous occasions by constant streams of bad guys to shoot, which gets very repetitive very quickly. I'd even say all the extra, unnecessary shooting pads the game another 3 hours that I could've done without. Don't get me wrong, the platforming is great, the presentation is Totally agree with Toby O. Uncharted has the spirit of a great Indy movie, but is bogged down on numerous occasions by constant streams of bad guys to shoot, which gets very repetitive very quickly. I'd even say all the extra, unnecessary shooting pads the game another 3 hours that I could've done without. Don't get me wrong, the platforming is great, the presentation is superb and overall package is first rate, but that one blemish of all the shooting really took a lot away from it for me. Expand
  29. DJC.
    Dec 27, 2007
    7
    Plays nicely and looks pretty good but there is too much shooting and not nearly enough puzzles.
  30. TobyO.
    Dec 9, 2007
    7
    While good looking and with a passable popcorn-esque story, Uncharted falls off the charts for its subpar gameplay. I want jungle exploration and next-gen Tomb Raider-esque platforming. Instead, I'm forced to shoot endless streams of drones in a knockoff of Gears of War's aim/cover mechanic. I thought this was inspired by Romancing the Stone, not Hardboiled. I thought this was While good looking and with a passable popcorn-esque story, Uncharted falls off the charts for its subpar gameplay. I want jungle exploration and next-gen Tomb Raider-esque platforming. Instead, I'm forced to shoot endless streams of drones in a knockoff of Gears of War's aim/cover mechanic. I thought this was inspired by Romancing the Stone, not Hardboiled. I thought this was going to be like Tomb Raider, not Contra! Once again, a developer pads its gameplay with way too much shooting -- which to me ruined the game. Expand
  31. TboneRex
    Jan 24, 2008
    7
    While this game is good and looks beautiful it's not big on the puzzles. The game pretty much guides you right through with many hints or way too obvious paths. There is a lot more shooting in the game than I thought. Which is okay but if you are used to other FPS games it's not that great. Back to the adventure stuff... the story is pretty good and the characters are great but While this game is good and looks beautiful it's not big on the puzzles. The game pretty much guides you right through with many hints or way too obvious paths. There is a lot more shooting in the game than I thought. Which is okay but if you are used to other FPS games it's not that great. Back to the adventure stuff... the story is pretty good and the characters are great but I remember the old tomb raiders games and how you'd work out the problem in your head while trying it on screen. This game just gives you the answer. Even on hard you can't get lost or stuck for more than 2 minutes so I felt like I was just blowing through this game. On a rental you can finish it if you have about 6 to 8 hours to kill. It's nice but not the adventure game I was hoping for... also too much shooting and not enough exploring. Expand
  32. TheTruth
    Jan 25, 2008
    7
    Ok, where to start? Controls could of been custumizable, to be more specific I prefer invert y and x. As for story line, pretty boring but the gameplay kept it interesting. As for graphics, nothing special but nice. I think it would be a nice collection to have for the ps3. Overall, worth more than to rent.
  33. WordyWordword
    May 29, 2008
    7
    Very repetitive after the first hour, but I persevered. Stunning graphics, the light shining through the leaves is an amazing thing to see when you are just plodding through the jungle. Lack of weaponry made it easy for me to turn off about 80% through, it just got boring.
  34. DB
    Aug 15, 2008
    7
    Uncharted is a fun single player game, worth playing through. It has great colorful graphics and a decent story line, which can be a bit cheesy in a Indiana Jones/National Treasure sort of way. The gameplay is similar to a Tomb Raider style and has a lot of jumping puzzles that tend to get a bit repetitive after a while. It does now support trophies, so that is a plus, but I'd say it Uncharted is a fun single player game, worth playing through. It has great colorful graphics and a decent story line, which can be a bit cheesy in a Indiana Jones/National Treasure sort of way. The gameplay is similar to a Tomb Raider style and has a lot of jumping puzzles that tend to get a bit repetitive after a while. It does now support trophies, so that is a plus, but I'd say it doesn't have much, if any, replayability. Overall I'd say it's a good, not great, game. Worth while picking up on a rental or get a deal on it used. Expand
  35. ConorO.
    Jan 13, 2008
    7
    Overall, this is a great game. It does so many things better than any other game out there. The characters and plot, while not exactly cinema standard, are the best of any game I've seen in a quite a while. The game is also excellently paced; gameplay varies between shooting, exploring and puzzles which keeps things interesting. Graphically, this game is top notch. The diverse and Overall, this is a great game. It does so many things better than any other game out there. The characters and plot, while not exactly cinema standard, are the best of any game I've seen in a quite a while. The game is also excellently paced; gameplay varies between shooting, exploring and puzzles which keeps things interesting. Graphically, this game is top notch. The diverse and interesting locations are well presented. A few of the character animations look a small bit clunky compared to the new heights of smoothness seen in Assassin's Creed, but they're not particularly bad. Facial expressions in particular are well animated and really help convey the characters personalities. Because of this, though the story is related primarily through cut scenes, these are never annoying, as the characters are genuinely likable, and their actions are a pleasure to watch. When I got the game I expected something a bit more like Tomb Raider and while some sections are, know that the majority of time in Uncharted is spent shooting. For the most part the shooting is good but it often feels like it's artificially dragged out, with unseen waves of enemies appearing from no where. This is especially true when you first arrive at the island, after the introductory part of the game. Here the pacing falls down and you must persevere through several shooting galleries before another kind of gameplay is offered up. Furthermore, it almost makes no sense for the enemies to show up in some of the locations they do. All in all, an excellent effort from Naughty Dog, let down in places by small problems. Expand
  36. MichaelP.
    Apr 28, 2008
    7
    good game,very fun but it lacks something that all you know,graphics they stink compared to gears of war or turok.
  37. EriU.
    Jun 25, 2008
    7
    It was ok not as great a the reviews but worth playing definitely a game to play but not a s good as the hype.
  38. Feb 17, 2014
    6
    meh. drake's first adventure is a pretty mediocre one. the gameplay has some pretty fun platforming and puzzles but it focuses too much on the 3rd person shooter gameplay which wasn't very interesting to begin with. the plot though isn't anything groundbreaking or super complex, it is still quite entertaining and is full of loveable characters. the presentation is also quite good but themeh. drake's first adventure is a pretty mediocre one. the gameplay has some pretty fun platforming and puzzles but it focuses too much on the 3rd person shooter gameplay which wasn't very interesting to begin with. the plot though isn't anything groundbreaking or super complex, it is still quite entertaining and is full of loveable characters. the presentation is also quite good but the character models do look kinda awful. Expand
  39. Jan 10, 2012
    7
    The graphics are very good, but the jungle setting grows old fast. The cover-based shooting isn't as fluid as the second game, and neither is the climbing and jumping. That being said, you get a sense of potential while playing the game, and the characters of Nate, Elena, and Sully carry the whole game. Still, it's a bit too repetitive to live up to its amazing sequel.
  40. Feb 2, 2015
    6
    Almost a good game. Graphics are good but confusing. Sometimes it's hard to tell the difference between background decoration and interactable ledges. Gun play gets frustrating towards the end. Aiming is slow and when you're surrounded by melee enemies, there's no way you can react fast enough. Naughty Dog might think that it's a good way to increase game lenght by making the players doAlmost a good game. Graphics are good but confusing. Sometimes it's hard to tell the difference between background decoration and interactable ledges. Gun play gets frustrating towards the end. Aiming is slow and when you're surrounded by melee enemies, there's no way you can react fast enough. Naughty Dog might think that it's a good way to increase game lenght by making the players do things that are not really working with game mechanics.
    Still, it's an interesting game with somewhat illogical level design.
    Expand
  41. Oct 9, 2013
    5
    I don't get it, how is THIS supposed to be one of the "system selling" PS3 games? The gameplay is so totally lame, boring linear platforming, amazingly repetitive and pointless fighting. Sure, the cutscenes are well made and fun, and the scenery is beautiful, but how can any of that compensate for such poor game mechanics is beyond me.
  42. Apr 12, 2011
    7
    Good game, but over-hyped in my opinion. The game plays like assassin's creed with guns, except the wall climbing isn't as polished as in assassin's creed. There are some jumps you may miss even if Nathan looks like he should have made the grab. You can also very easily walk off to your death, a lot like in demon souls but demon souls isn't the wall jumping type of game. Another pointGood game, but over-hyped in my opinion. The game plays like assassin's creed with guns, except the wall climbing isn't as polished as in assassin's creed. There are some jumps you may miss even if Nathan looks like he should have made the grab. You can also very easily walk off to your death, a lot like in demon souls but demon souls isn't the wall jumping type of game. Another point that bothered me was that a few passages that were supposedly secret and difficult to reach are riddled with enemies. The dialogues in the game were pretty good. Overall, not as great as all the hype made it out to be. I have high expectations for Uncharted 2, which I plan to play next. Expand
  43. Nov 30, 2011
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Don't get it wrong it is a great game... until you reach the end and zombies start to run after you.
    Also the aiming system is not the best either, find it hard to be on cover sometimes.
    But overall you take loads of pleasure killing those mexicanos in this beautiful island.
    Expand
  44. Nov 29, 2011
    7
    Modern version of prince of persia, excellent acrobatics, at times combat is frustrating. The final boss is frustratingly cheap in a difficult way. Dirt cheap now go get it now
  45. Nov 6, 2011
    7
    This game was great, it gave an awesome movie hero feel and it was really fun just jumping around with Drake. Of course I feel like I would love to know Drake more, and thank god Naughty Dog decided to make a sequel for this one as I can only see this series getting better and better.
  46. Jan 9, 2014
    7
    Game has good production value. The graphics are amazing for the year it came out. Music, sound, and voice acting are all good. What really takes the game down is they sub-par story and the extremely repetitive game play. An hour in and you have seen all there is to offer in terms of game play and the game gets very stale as you wind your way though gun fight after gun fight. VeryGame has good production value. The graphics are amazing for the year it came out. Music, sound, and voice acting are all good. What really takes the game down is they sub-par story and the extremely repetitive game play. An hour in and you have seen all there is to offer in terms of game play and the game gets very stale as you wind your way though gun fight after gun fight. Very repetitive and borderline boring. That said, there is a lot to grow on here (which is probably why the sequels are rated higher) I can definitely see the impact this style of game has had on others like Tomb Raider and The Last of Us (yes I know the later is the same company). Worth playing but not only for those interested in its influence not its fun factor. Expand
  47. Nov 16, 2011
    7
    A great single player experience can be had with this game, the graphics at times are pretty good, some of the level design is mostly ok althoguh the platform elements are extremely easy. The only challenge the game offers is from the combat which becomes very tiresome and repetitive. Overall the game has a nice adventure feeling but would have greatly benefited from some more open levels.
  48. Dec 11, 2013
    6
    "Shoot Targets And Climb Things The Game".

    I'm worried that the critics could love this game so much. Having just played it, years after the graphics got old, the entire game seems build around "pretty" surfaces. It plays like a showcase for the (early) PS3 rather than a showcase for creative software. The story is too simple and contrived to be worthwhile for adults, while the
    "Shoot Targets And Climb Things The Game".

    I'm worried that the critics could love this game so much. Having just played it, years after the graphics got old, the entire game seems build around "pretty" surfaces. It plays like a showcase for the (early) PS3 rather than a showcase for creative software. The story is too simple and contrived to be worthwhile for adults, while the gameplay is too brutal and tense for a recommendation towards teenagers. The first many chapters are about exploration, but it didn't give the feeling of mystique or intrigue, since all gameplay elements are taken from Tomb Raider, CoD, etc. If you've played a bunch of video games, you've seen everything in this game before. Even when the game suddenly changes tone and becomes (way too) horrific, I was like "wait, this is stressful but not exciting at all!".. it just exposes you to various levels of stress, and some very simple puzzles. Each element is simplified and not nearly as good as more focused games. The plot itself would be cringeworthy in an action film. It's no Indiana Jones or anything. It's just a bunch of people who happen to run to the EXACT right places through chaotic terrain, only to meet more "bad guys", repeated dozens of times, and then the clichéd twist. I played it on easy, and when it turned into a horror game, it just went from "same three villains repeated for hours" to "one villain that stresses you out in a new way" for an hour or so. There are some sequences with different gameplay, and they are more enjoyable, but still there's little progress gameplay wise from how these games were made in the 90s.
    Expand
  49. Nov 10, 2012
    7
    great graphics and good looking charcters. Uncharted is like the better and funner version of Tomb Raider. They had clear stories and simply steps wat to do next in the game. but Tomb Raider is like a game really have to get ur brain thinking and sovle problem. i cant really stick to this game for too long though ,maybe it s me idk.
  50. Oct 28, 2014
    7
    Pros:
    -Slick presentation
    -Likable cast -Challenging even on easy -Exciting gameplay. -Parkcore ala Prince of Persia Cons -monotonous gameplay. Walk to in a room. Baddies infest room. Kill them. Second wave of baddies -It's challenging even on easy. -In the parkcore parts sometimes you don't notice a ledge and get stuck -Camera can be frustrating at times as it moves to a more
    Pros:
    -Slick presentation
    -Likable cast
    -Challenging even on easy
    -Exciting gameplay.
    -Parkcore ala Prince of Persia

    Cons
    -monotonous gameplay. Walk to in a room. Baddies infest room. Kill them. Second wave of baddies
    -It's challenging even on easy.
    -In the parkcore parts sometimes you don't notice a ledge and get stuck
    -Camera can be frustrating at times as it moves to a more cinematic angle

    Conclusion: Big, shiny, and polished but the gameplay can sometimes get in the way of the enjoyment. Would still recommend it though, especially if you are more seasoned with 3rd person shooters.
    Expand
  51. Mar 5, 2014
    7
    This game has a lot a hype behind it. Going into it, I was told Uncharted would be one of the greatest games I would play. Unfortunately it never really lived up to the hype. The game has a great story, interesting characters, and a cool setting. The issue is the gameplay. The third person shooting mechanics aren't that interesting. After playing games like Vanquish, I really can'tThis game has a lot a hype behind it. Going into it, I was told Uncharted would be one of the greatest games I would play. Unfortunately it never really lived up to the hype. The game has a great story, interesting characters, and a cool setting. The issue is the gameplay. The third person shooting mechanics aren't that interesting. After playing games like Vanquish, I really can't appreciate the shooting in Uncharted. Occasionally the fights get really difficult. However, it's not difficult in a fun way like Dark Souls. It's just a pain in the ass.
    However, the game as a whole is actually pretty good. I'd recommend it.
    Expand
  52. Mar 15, 2013
    7
    Uncharted: Drake's Fortune is a good game, but it's not great. It's quite repetitive and the combat is somewhat clunky compared to other games but Uncharted 2/3 don't have this problem, The graphics are nice for 2007. The best thing about Uncharted: Drake's Fortune is it's story and characters which are all interesting and it's great to play through the game just to see how the storyUncharted: Drake's Fortune is a good game, but it's not great. It's quite repetitive and the combat is somewhat clunky compared to other games but Uncharted 2/3 don't have this problem, The graphics are nice for 2007. The best thing about Uncharted: Drake's Fortune is it's story and characters which are all interesting and it's great to play through the game just to see how the story unfolds, It's gripping and good fun, the gameplay is by no means bad, but a bit clunky with silly things like Sixaxis controlled grenade throws but it's a game worth playing if you own a PS3. Expand
  53. Jun 3, 2013
    7
    Naughty Dog really blew away the competition in action adventure games with this title and series. It has for the most part redefined the action adventure genre. The game features great well scripted characters, with good chemistry that lets the player engage with the story as they progress throughout the game. A highly appraised feature in this game is the character design andNaughty Dog really blew away the competition in action adventure games with this title and series. It has for the most part redefined the action adventure genre. The game features great well scripted characters, with good chemistry that lets the player engage with the story as they progress throughout the game. A highly appraised feature in this game is the character design and animation, you'll watch the main protagonist get hurt fall down stumble and struggle throughout his journey that really gives a sense of realism. The musical score fits the game perfectly and captures the mood in each and every level. The game however can be faulted on the lack of multiplayer and co-op capabilities. Expand
  54. Oct 8, 2013
    7
    muito bom o jogo mas tem suas baixas a mecânica do jogo e bem precisa mas a vezes que tem um bug, o enredo e excelente a campanha começa bem chatinha e la para perto do final fica bom os gráficos para a época eram impressionante comparando com outros games do mesmo ano
  55. Feb 3, 2014
    6
    Story: 8 out of 10, Graphics: 9 out of 10, Fun: 5 out of 10, Controls: 7 out of 10, Ease to Learn: 7 out of 10, Length: 8 out of 10, Re-play: 3 out of 10, Value: 6 out of 10

    Too much platforming; can you climb this, jump here, scurry there, timing, climb, jump, scury, timing, platform, platform, platform... geez, more platforming?! aihhhhhhhhh, the excessive platforming killed the game for me!
  56. Jan 2, 2015
    6
    Indiana Jones light. I love this type of exotic adventure, the ancient treasure hunt, some mystique thrown in and charismatic hunter in the lead. That's why I love Tomb Raider and Indiana Jones. Nathan Drake is not as sympathetic or cool as Indiana, nor is he as sexy as Lara Croft, but he still gets the job done. The closest to Uncharted are probably first two Tomb Raiders and IndianaIndiana Jones light. I love this type of exotic adventure, the ancient treasure hunt, some mystique thrown in and charismatic hunter in the lead. That's why I love Tomb Raider and Indiana Jones. Nathan Drake is not as sympathetic or cool as Indiana, nor is he as sexy as Lara Croft, but he still gets the job done. The closest to Uncharted are probably first two Tomb Raiders and Indiana Jones and The Infernal Machine, both better than this. The problem with Uncharted is that it soon turns into a shooting fest and that kills the game basically. Most of the time you're just shooting waves and waves of enemies, it doesn't even make sense, they just keep magically appearing where it suits them, one moment there is an empty room, you make one step and suddenly the room is filled with 10 bastardos. Wave after wave after wave, it gets boring pretty soon and annoying soon after that. The clunky combat mechanics and often bad camera doesn't help either. If the game was more focused on the exploration, the story and the mysteries ala Indiana Jones and less on shooting, it would be much better. Hopefully Naughty Dog learned from their mistakes and improved this in the next Uncharted chapters, I'm going to play all of them in order soon, so we will see. So far, this is a promising start, a bit overrated, but that's usually the case with Naughty Dog games, so I'm keeping my expectations fairly low and hopefully I will be pleasantly surprised with the next Uncharted title. 6/10 Expand
  57. Nov 22, 2013
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Uncharted: Drake's Fortune is a great game with really smooth graphic and surroundings with just a few repetitive gun play that might get boring in between not a masterpiece though as i'm rating this game after playing Uncharted 2 and 3. or else would have given 9 still the game play was fun :D Expand
  58. Aug 12, 2014
    7
    It is definitely the worst Uncharted launched on PS3. But still, it is Uncharted with nice characters and decent story. I am glad that Naughty Dog improved all aspects of the game and made brilliant sequels, Uncharted 2 & 3.
  59. Jul 15, 2014
    7
    Uncharted is a fun and well made game, well worth playing through for almost any gamer. It'll take most less than 10 hours to play though, but those hours are filled with capable and fun third person shooting, cinematic platforming, and the occasional puzzle which is all very reminiscent of the older Tomb Raider games or films like National Treasure or The Mummy. The storyline is prettyUncharted is a fun and well made game, well worth playing through for almost any gamer. It'll take most less than 10 hours to play though, but those hours are filled with capable and fun third person shooting, cinematic platforming, and the occasional puzzle which is all very reminiscent of the older Tomb Raider games or films like National Treasure or The Mummy. The storyline is pretty much par-for-the-course, taking no real risks while remaining well written and paced for what it is; containing memorable characters who I enjoyed my time with. Cut scenes establish motive and set the scene without feeling too drawn out. All in all, this is a solid game that doesn't overstay it's welcome. Nothing particularly groundbreaking or special about it, but well crafted and enjoyable with nothing beyond the most superficial of flaws. I'd recommend this to most gamers. Expand
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 66 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 66
  2. Negative: 0 out of 66
  1. 91
    The final sum is far greater than the individual parts. Maybe you don't dig the combat or maybe the pop-in gets you down, but the overall package of an endearing story, outstanding score, great performances and fun gameplay should put this title on the top of your holiday wishlist.
  2. 90
    This game is one of the most immersive gaming experiences I've had this year, and it's definitely a great reason to own a PS3. The mix of platforming and gunplay worked really well and left me craving the next title in the series.
  3. By starting with a great control and camera system, building on that with excellent combat and a wonderful spin on Ico's platform adventuring, and then topping it off with a decent storyline, Naughty Dog has cooked up one of the most relentlessly entertaining, fat-free games to emerge in ages. Topped off with the most stunning use of the PS3's underused technical prowess yet, Uncharted: Drake's Fortune is, for my money, the first must-have PlayStation 3 title.