• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Nov 16, 2007
User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1559 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 1, 2010
    10
    man i love this game, fantastic story, awesome platforming reminds me of prince of Persia climbing walls game and that's cool, the game play is great, i didn't like the AI though, it seems like its dumb as hell you know exactly when to shoot before the enemy does lol
  2. Jan 7, 2012
    4
    I love Uncharted 2 and Uncharted 3, but I hate this game. Most of the reason is because of the amount of shooting in this game. There is too much shooting! It gets really boring when you crash on the island because you shoot probably 500 pirates. How they brought 500 pirates to the island I do not know. It gets really annoying. They could cut the amount of shooting in this game in half and it would greatly improve the game. Another thing I noticed on this game was that Drake takes much less damage as he does on the other games in the series. This is very bad because in this game you are going against more enemies (who sometimes magically spawn behind you and shoot you with a shotgun) all by yourself without the help of Elena or Sully. To me, the game stops being fun when you're being surrounded by 20 pirates at once, who somehow can take 5 to 6 shots from an AK-47 without going down. If critics give this game a 90, then Uncharted 2 should get a 100. If you're a fan of the series, this is definitely the one to skip. Expand
  3. Dec 10, 2011
    8
    Really fun and unique game, albeit not my favorite genre. The mechanics are superb, seems like naught dog put a lot of effort into this game, and it pays off. Cant find much to complain about, except the lack of multiplayer and co-op.
  4. Jun 2, 2012
    10
    This game is an amazing. Naughty dog hit the nail on the head with this amazing game. Uncharted will should go down in history as the game that spawned many other great sequels and etc. Great story, Good graphics for the time, Nathan drake has taken Lara's seat for the time being until she can get back on her feet.
  5. Jan 23, 2012
    2
    At Least it looked nice.

    All I can say is I am glad I played Uncharted 2 First, and Uncharted 3 came out before I got around to this.
    Firstly, the cover is inadequate, especially against the pirates that have crack shots and can throw like baseball legends, or my favourite the shotgun wielding pirates who appear all ninja like and one shot you.
    The Cover issue would be fine if it wasn't
    so damn hard to kill these unarmoured pirates, I've had a few survive shots to the head, Keep in mind I was playing normal, and I was taking less damage then the most basic enemy's with a slow heal time and cover that usually doesn't cover you, I found myself dying alot. I also noticed I ran out of ammo while trying to kill the current wave of baddies before moving up, taking time for head-shots generally becoming unfavourable do to there incredible aim and drakes lack of health.
    Also there is no mild zoom like in Uncharted 2, what you get is all you get to work with. I also must make mention of the poor directions, often leaving grenade launchers to kill turrets in locations you fail to notice while taking heavy fire, or like in the Jet ski chapter where it fails to mention you control Elena and her grenade launcher (she just magically acquired) A scene with alot of potential for high octane fun, that boils down to a crawl with you just blasting the hell out of everything with your (her) grenade launcher, instead of flying through with some epic cinematic style jumps or something. and Lastly before concluding the rant, Drake's slow ass doesn't get a sprint, or a combat sprint, just a sketchy roll to cover, and for some reason the shotgun that the enemy's so often one shot you with, fails to one shot them more often then not.(Unless your really close of course)

    I would like to say however, that Elena is far more enjoyable a character in this one then the other two games of the trilogy. So at least there is that.
    Expand
  6. Nov 24, 2011
    8
    Not really a masterpiece to play, but it's worth getting if you have a Playstation 3, The gameplay is very stunning, and it is greatly fantastic to try out, although the combat is really repetitive on the other hand, they fixed this in the games sequels thank god, although. Story as it is, is pretty much a fortune hunter, named Nathan Drake, is trying to find the secret's of Sir Francis Drake, by going around various places and progressing through the game you will really see a lot of surprises on your way. The graphics can be at best really gorgeous, and it feels like the game is coming right at you. Sound at hand. For the voices it's really astonishing and I have no problems, with the people who voiced in this released title in 2007, thank god for the most part. Music on the other hand is really great, the main menu's music is very astonishing and it feels really deep when you play the game. Most of everything in this game is good, except that the combat is very repetitive in this game, and also this game can usually depending on your standards 6-8 hours. Recommended you get this game, if you are a PlayStation 3 Owner! Expand
  7. Jul 18, 2012
    8
    I have played all the Uncharted games, so take it from an expert: you must get every game in this series. The storyline is amazing, the graphics spectacular, the setpieces breathtaking, and the gameplay is awesome. This truly raises the bar for adventure games, and is a worthy addition to the library of PS exclusives.
  8. Aug 9, 2011
    6
    Uncharted is a good game and having completed it after Uncharted 2, my score may be lower than otherwise... Nonetheless, it is a great game with a good story, good characters and great voicework, together with a cinematic soundtrack. The graphics are very good, with the occassional pop-in and dodgy texture. The gameplay is decent, not as refined as its successor but there are some elements that can be frustrating. This mainly revolves around the attempt to apply six-axis controls into grenade throwing and shaking off some of the latter enemies... this can be frustrating. I'm not a big fan of quick-time events and this game has some infrequently and often unexpected during cutscenes. I can't see much reason to playthrough again other than trophies, which I'm not interested in. The game provides a decent challenge on the normal setting. Good, 3/5. Expand
  9. Mar 5, 2012
    3
    Playing this game for the first time, i go in to it with high expectations. Afterall, this is the much praised "Uncharted" series I've heard about. I've got to say I'm hugely dispointed. What this game basically boils down to is "move in to new area, hide behind a rock, shoot waves of bad-guys that get boring about half way through the first wave, pick up ammo, move around corner to next area, rinse, repeat". There are far too few "Adventure" moments considering it's suposedly an adventure game and in the end it turns out to be a cover and shoot game within a handful of picturesque settings. I'm going to play the other uncharted games but if it's all more of the same then i doubt i'll make it all the way to the end of the third game. Expand
  10. Oct 10, 2011
    4
    Oh how I hate this game. I've given it more than a fair try. I wanted to like it. When my friends said you've got to get the playstation 3 just for uncharted 2 alone I thought the first game must be great and I'm one of those people who can't just jump in mid series so the first game I got was this and my god does it suck. Firstly lets start with the good. Drake and Elena are likable characters and are the sole reason I wanted to see this game through. I struggle to find anything else nice to say about this game. Graphics are dated but lets forgive that as it is a old game so thats a non issue for me. Combat i'm less willing to forgive the camera during fights will get you killed. a lot. you'll often be "ambushed" you can always tell when its going to happen as normally any room with cover and a gun laying helpfully against said cover yeah theres going to be a shoot out. But another problem arises during these "ambushes" sometimes enemies will just jump in behind you meaning insta death unless you learn the spawn points in otherwords you're going to die a lot until you learn them. During these "ambuses" you'll be wishing they'd stop and you could get to the platforming. Forgetting just how bad the platforming is. If you've ever played any assassins creed games and had your character jump stupidly to his doom instead of grabbing the next ledge then you'll be horrified to hear its even worse in this game. And the check points mean you'll be forced to do the same 20 jumps before you get to the bit where a retarded drake decides he wants to jump pointlessly into nothing all over again. This game is terrible the story didn't drag me in the game play is terrible the graphics are dated. Do you're self a favor skip this game. Expand
  11. Feb 27, 2012
    10
    AMAZING! game.. One of the Best games this gen (along withg Uncharted 2 , 3), its Very underrated too! I dont get how some people hate it, if you actually finished the game you will know its one of the best adventure games this gen! I recommend it to everyone who like action/adventure games
  12. Mar 25, 2012
    9
    Though it's dated now, Uncharted: Drakes Fortune is a non stop action packed adventure with incredible graphics and breath taking scenery. The combat is simple even with the friggin sixaxis for throwing grenades. Nathan Drake is the Indiana Jones for the 21st Century as he jumps, shoots and smart mouths his way through the jungle to stop pirates from stealing the gold, if you are looking for a fun game with an amazing storyline and exceptional combat but you want it cheap. Then uncharted is a perfect Game for You Expand
  13. Dec 19, 2011
    4
    A copy from Tomb Rider, but without Lara Croft. Uncharted has Great graphics, but a poor gameplay. Lacks better controls, lacks a better combat system. And are quick time events reallly annoying. Just a game with good visuals. End.
  14. Mar 28, 2012
    9
    I'm very late to the Uncharted party but this was still one of the best games I've played in the past few years. After recently playing grinding RPGs like Skyrim and Dead Island, I was looking for something a little less exhausting, but while maintaining a very high fun factor. I got just that with Uncharted. I was hooked from the get-go. The thing I loved most about this game was how well it flowed. It really did have a very cinematic feel. Something was always happening. The gameplay transitioned into the cut scens seamlessly. And it never took more than a couple of minutes to figure out where to go or how to solve a puzzle. Nothing takes me out of a game more than walking around in circles for half an hour not knowing what to do (I don't like to use guides). Uncharted has none of that. As for the story itself, it's somewhat tired but still more than sufficient. The gameplay and experience is really what it's all about with Uncharted. I have two fairly minor complaints about the game. And that's what kept me from giving it the full 10/10. The first is the endless waves of pirates and bad guys. It's just too much, and it's somewhat unrealistic within the confines of the story. At first you don't notice. But a few hours into the game it's impossible to ignore. You kill 10 bad guys. only to have 8 more drop in like clockwork. You kills those 8 only to have 5 more pop up. This was the only aspect of the game that I found tedious and that at times killed the amazing flow. I would've preferred if 85% of the danger in the game didn't come from "bad dudes with guns". More traps, tougher jumps, etc. for less bad guys would've been an excellent tradeoff. The next complaint is in regards to the puzzles. Even though I've been praising the flow of the game for the most part, this is one area that I felt could've been tougher. There is a middle ground between "so difficult you want to bang your head into the wall" puzzles and "so easy an 8 year old could solve it" puzzles. Your diary basically holds your hand and walks you through the puzzles to the point where I don't even see why they didn't just throw in a cut scene for those parts. All I'm saying is they could've made the puzzles a bit more challenging without making much concession to the flow of the game. But in the grand scheme of things, these are very minor complaints. I'm just pointing out what kept this from being a "perfect" game. At the end of the day, I'd have no problem recommending this game to anyone who is a gamer, regardless of what genre they most enjoy. I can't wait to play the sequels and really hope at least one of my issues were addressed. Expand
  15. Feb 26, 2012
    6
    Nice graphics, interesting gameplay, and very well-made characters and dialogue. Voice acting is TOP notch. However, the story line immediately made me think of Indian Jones. Soon I realized that this WAS indiana jones. Then the weird monsters started attacking. Then I realized that the monsters are just people dressed up as monsters. Then I laughed and realized that this game is really nothing special. Expand
  16. Mar 4, 2013
    8
    Didn't play Uncharted games until now, so thought I should start from beginning to follow the story. I was right. Story in this game is nothing new, but charming and awesome "Indiana Jones" style. It start slowly with a lot of exploration, but right in the moment when i started thinking that it's too static and slow shootout begin. With balanced amount of shooting and exploring with good story this game is worth to play in any way. This game is very good and regarding the scores worst in the series. That sound promising!!! Expand
  17. Jul 9, 2012
    9
    Awesome installment to the PS3 by developer Naughty Dog. It's a very unique and original story, almost like National Treasure without Nicholas Cage.. The only thing that keeps this away from a perfect 10 is the control scheme. It feels odd to me, and cannot be changed through the options menu. Definitely a game worth buying.
  18. Jul 18, 2012
    8
    Uncharted: Drake's Fortune started the great uncharted saga. Naughty Dog has created amazing looking adventure game! Uncharted is filled with great characters, music, gameplay, great graphics and atmosphere. But Uncharteds weakest link is also in its gameplay it repeat itself and becomes little boring in the end. There also comes many enemy waves again and again. But overall it is a great game.
  19. Jul 29, 2012
    8
    A good start to a new franchise from Naughty Dog on how it all began before Uncharted 2 and Uncharted 3. Story- Nathan Drake a treasure hunter aided with his buddy Victor Sullivan and a reporter Elena Fisher goe after a treasure that was left by sir francis drake. They meet others who aren't friends with them and use it for purpose in being rich which nate is also wanting to be rich. Eventually later on Nathan finds out what really happened during francis drake exploring in the place nate is currently at and warns everyone to not take the artifact or it'll cause problems.

    Graphics- outstanding for being realistic and texture is good and detailed on setting where nate and his friends are at though not as good compared to uncharted 2 & 3.

    Gameplay- basic third-person but uncharted 1 feels different because grenades for example on how far you want throw is by moving your controller at an angle on how well you want to throw. melee pulling off combos isnt easy at first but after awhile you will get use to it however just pulling off square,square,square is a basics in getting started. ammo you have in this is limited so you will have to get headshots more often in higher difficulties but enemies will drop a few to help be reloaded. Quick time events often change the way it plays. Lastly they will be a few "you will rage moments" in this game because of the enemies taking almost all of your ammo in the gun to kill completely which is a perfect example but hey it was the first game and it got improved in the sequels Get Over It.

    Overall- A good start through Naughty Dog's successful run in this game turns out good.

    Final Score : 8.4
    Expand
  20. Sep 24, 2012
    5
    fine, but incredibly overrated. The game isn't that long and the story left an incredibly bad taste in my mouth, it gets so much praise, but there are far better games on the PS3.
  21. Dec 27, 2012
    7
    Unfortunately as many other players I played Uncharted 2 first so I did feel the difference between both games and I agree with other critics the number of enemies in this game it's ridiculous, and they can get a lot of damage but they just wont go down. But don't get me wrong this is definitely one of the best Adventure video game in the PS3 history.
  22. Sep 9, 2012
    8
    Like a lot of people i came to this after playing it's illustrious sequels and though Uncharted 2 & 3 had bigger set pieces and slightly more refined controlls this is still everything we've come to love about Drakes adventures; A trademark mix of thrilling action, stunning scenery, peerless script and cutscenes. Uncharted 2 & 3 deserve all the acclaim they've had but people sometimes forget that for a long time this was PS3's greatest game and to this day remains highly playable. At the budget price you can now buy it at you'd be a fool to miss out, especially if you're a fan of the series. Expand
  23. Oct 2, 2010
    9
    I loved the characters in this game and the combat was difficult which is refreshing in today's games. You will be hard pressed to find many action/adventure games in the system that are as good as this game
  24. Jun 4, 2013
    8
    The best way I can describe this game is to say that it's Prince of Persia with guns and an Indiana Jones setting. The game is awesome and comes across like an awesome, action packed summer blockbuster. It really is like playing an action movie with it's memorable set pieces and firefights. The story and characters are awesome and scream Indiana Jones (I mean that in a good way). When you're not shooting guys in 3rd person Gears of War style you're platforming and climbing on stuff Prince of Persia style. When I say Prince of Persia style, I mean Prince of Persia style. It's exactly like the POP series minus wall running. This is great fun, but feels a little cheap that they just copied it from POP. Still this is an action packed experience that's worth your time. The only other real complaint I have is the games short length. It was over before I knew it. Considering this is a single player only experience the short length does hurt it. I'm glad it didn't overstay it's welcome with filler content, but I still wanted to spend more time with it. Luckily it does have high replay value. If you haven't played this game yet you really need too. It truly is one of the PS3's best titles. Expand
  25. Mar 11, 2012
    8
    An 8/10 may seem low, especially for an uncharted game but I'm basing this game on the standards of today. I came to this game having played the 2nd and 3rd ones and I have to say its my favourite series on ps3. Which is why I bought it where it all started in 2007 and to be honest the game doesn't feel 5 years old. While the graphics aren't spectacular , like the other two, it still looks great. There aren't really any crazy setpieces either but I still loved this game for the same reasons I loved the other two. The characters, the story, the pacing and gameplay. While this game didn't blow me away, I still loved it and is worth buying if you're thinking of buying it. It's a great 8/10. Expand
  26. May 17, 2011
    8
    Great game, takes some unexpected yet fun twists. Totally worth your time. Very entertaining, and a must play if you want to get Uncharted 2 (or 3). Well acted, well written.
  27. Feb 24, 2013
    10
    Wow. Assassin's Creed is one of my favorite games, but I feel that this might top that. Even though this doesn't have the free roam of AC, it doesn't need it. Although this series also has Nolan North starring. Everything about this game is spectacular. Althought the first time I played I got to about chapter 3 before I quit because I was tired of shooting games at the moment. I picked it back up and I am so impressed.

    Characters 10/10: Charming and entertaining characters that are very like able and unique.
    Story 9/10: nothing groundbreaking, but interesting enough and it is kept from being boring thinks to the characters.
    Gameplay 10/10: No where near as repetitive as first person shooters. Plus it has a platformer feel to it that keeps the gameplay fresh.
    Graphics 10/10: Some of the best graphics I have seen and this was in 2007!
    Replay Value 9/10: While I haven't beaten it yet, the game has multiple difficulty levels, and it has multiple treasures to find. Plus the game is so awesome anyway. Althought it wouldn't have that new and unique feeling playing it again, it would still be darn fun!

    Recommendation: Must Have. Any PS3 owner without this game needs to have it.
    Expand
  28. Aug 30, 2011
    8
    Gameplay = Plays alot like Prince of Persia, as far as climbing and swinging from ledge to ledge, also in its puzzle solving elements.

    Graphics = Im kind of 50/50 on because, some of the layouts look great, and the environments in some levels are breath taking. Sometimes youll watch a cut scene and look at the characters like meh.

    Controls = Were actually pretty easy to pick up and go,
    but I never did find myself wanting to get in a fistfight, because the reaction was a little off for my taste. The shooting wasnt bad and making your way around a level was pretty easy.

    Time = I myself got through it in around 7-8 hours, But if you were to try and collect all the treasures, and do everything there is to do it would probably run you somewhere around the 12-15 hour mark.

    Fun factor = Pretty high, it played like a movie and i did want to see the ending when it came, Id say its worth purchasing and playing through on harder levels, so it totally has replay value.
    Expand
  29. Nov 20, 2011
    9
    This game is the start of the best franchise in the history of the PS3. It is also the weakest of the games. That being said it is amazing. The game came out in 2007 and looks as good as something put out today. The first few chapters actually are slow and uninviting. After that it's nonstop action with the best voice-acting and cinematography ever displayed in a game series. It is just a campaign but there is so much fun you'll enjoy the whole ride. Expand
  30. May 30, 2012
    10
    Good game. I replaced my old PS3 recently and got Drake 3 bundled in with the console.So I also bought Drake 1 and 2 from the used shelf the same time. I think Drake 1 cost me £5, and its turned out to be one of the best £5 I've spent recently. I don't tend to like 3rd person games (too many bad camera angle experiences in the past) or puzzle games (too many rubbush/illogical puzzle experiences), but Drake 1 is excellent. Its got and epic action storyline. Its got good graphics. Its got lots of combat (and enemies are intelligent). Its got climbing and jumping and camera angles that consistantly work. Its got logical puzzles that fit in with the flow of the game and story. All in all a really enjoyable game and im looking forward to playing Drake 2 and 3. Expand
  31. Apr 19, 2012
    8
    When I first heard about Uncharted, my first impression was not good. Maybe because the whole Indiana Jones + Tomb Raider thing wasn't appealing to me, maybe because I was a little mad at Naughty Dog for abandoning another series that was at its apex. After playing the game, however, I have to admit: Uncharted is a great game. The concept is simple: you control Nathan Drake, an explorer after El Dorado, the lost city of gold. But that is just the starting point as the story really takes off from there, fueled by a set of interesting, believable characters. The game encourages exploration to find treasures scattered through all chapters of the game, however that exploration is limited by the linearity of the game; which, in its turn, is imperative to keep the game's ''movie feel'' through the whole experience. The climbing system is great and gunfights are very intuitive and fun, even if a bit frustrating at times on account of a sometimes clumsy cover system. Great dialogues, amazing plot twists and breathtaking scenes await you in this instant classic. Expand
  32. Jan 1, 2012
    8
    A review in 2012 and I still give it an excellent score. Great begining of an awesome game series, of course has its flaws but for the year it came out it was probably the best around. I have yet to play the other games in the series (Uncharted 2 and 3) but after this one, it will be easy finding them amusing. Good graphics, gameplay but awesome voices.
  33. Mar 6, 2012
    10
    Great game! , I cant believe how some people gave this game such low scores! Its an AWESOME! game.. I recommend this game to every "REAL" gamer out there.
  34. Jun 13, 2012
    10
    After playing Uncharted 2 I felt like playing the Game that started the Tale...THIS game is very good,

    It's gameplay is way more shooting than in the sequel, but if you like uncharted's gameplay you will be even more satisfied than with the sequel, more shootouts and climbing, less location-change, are making this game very unique
  35. Nov 24, 2012
    10
    The game is great. I dont understand ppl talking about to skip this one or that there is too much shooting etc etc. Drake is fighting with goons of Roman and Eddy Raja so there must be quite a lot of shooting going as as everybody is racing for that treasure. The puzzles are fun though nothing head breaking. However this is first game of Noughty Dog on PS3 franchise so its sure its aint perfect but deffinetly is very good piece of game code . The game is fast,nice,lot of exploring and shooting aswell as platform sections with climbing jumping swingin etc etc. Plus finding all the treasures is also nice challange. Preety easy to master for Platinum trophy though 2 or 3 thropies are preety hardcore :)

    All in All for me this game is just absolutely great and amazing and I definetly recomend every1 that want to start the adventure with Drake to start from the first game as its just a must have and must finish game in order to have 100% fun from other 2 parts of Drake's journey. Dont listen to trolls that says that the game is bad. The game is marvelous. Trust me and check it out. You wont regret a single minute sitting in front of TV and enjoying the spectacular adventure.
    Expand
  36. Oct 11, 2012
    10
    Wow. This game came out in 2007? When I realized that and that I had passed up on playing one of the prettiest games I have seen to date I could not have been more dumbfounded. I'll keep this one short as there is nothing to discuss that people haven't already. The adventuring aspect of the game was brilliant, and the set pieces mixed with the skybox was beautiful. I have not been that eager to get home and play a game in a very very long time. The only points I felt were annoying or weak were the combat situations which felt intrusive and the whole monster thing. The game had an almost realistic feel to it up till that point, but hey, what's the point of writing a story if you can't throw a little magic in it. I am truly enamored by this game and am excited to have dove into a series with a charismatic character like Nathan Drake. Expand
  37. Oct 30, 2012
    9
    Back then, i would have rated this game 9, right now, having played the 2 others uncharted, i would rate it 8. I keep my original 9 score since it was the feeling i had while i was playing this for the first time. Graphics were amazing, combat are great and the story is ok. What i hate though is that you cannot sneak on enemy. Most of the time you don't see anyone, you advance a little and BANG, 4 enemies going out of cover and shotting at you. There is no way to try to shoot enemies from a distance. Other than that, great game ! Expand
  38. Feb 16, 2013
    9
    The only gripe I have with this game is the sheer amount of shooting involved. Even when I think I've cleared an area, I see another batch of enemies drop down and start firing at me. It can get really annoying at times. Otherwise, this is an amazing game with a great story, great gameplay, great graphics; pretty much everything about it is astounding. It genuinely feels like I'm playing a 2012 game. Would definitely recommend. Expand
  39. Dec 5, 2012
    8
    Fantastic game. Great storyline, action, etc. Perhaps my rating is skewed because I played Uncharted 2 before I played this one. While Uncharted 2 is superior to this game, great things come from small beginnings, haha. Go play this game today!
  40. May 15, 2013
    8
    I got this game as a gift so i had no idea what to think when I first jumped into it. Now I wonder why I didn't get it myself. This is the first of one of the greatest franchises ever with an engaging story and characters that you care about, the quest for the lost treasure of El God Damn Dorado with a supernatural twist that is cool. This game has its flaws though, In some sections of the game the enemies are very cheap and too strong as in several grenades to takedown strong. You are also ambushed often making this problem more apparent but apart from that its great. The graphics are brilliant to. A great game!! Expand
  41. Oct 13, 2013
    8
    The UNCHARTED series is a PS3 exclusive series that are often know as some of the greatest games ever made especially 2 and 3 Game:UNCHARTED:Drake's Fortune Platform:PS3 Company:Naughty Dog Publisher:Sony Relleased:November 19,2007 Game time:8 hours Story:The game it self is like if Indiana Jones,Tomb Raider and Gears Of Wars had sex and had a baby it would be this.The story follows Nathan Drake who is a treasure hunter that works with his best friend an old man named Sully that loves money.Nathan is also a relative to sir Francis Drake.One day when he was on a boat with a reporter named Elena to find the coffin of Francis Drake find it inside empty with Drakes diary in it.After surviving an attack by pirates Nate finds out that his ancestor Francis found the Eldorado Treasure and decide to find it,they of curse get followed by a bunch of men Sully owns money to,that are also trying to find the treasure and its a race to see who will find it first.The story is excellent the reason why the story is so good is because of the great dialog and characters 9/10

    Characters:The characters are also great.Nathan is your typical treasure hunting hero with a great personality and is funny.Elena who is Nate's love interest is a strong character that isn't a damsel in distress.Sully who is the old guy and the funniest of the group that likes money.Overall great and believable characters the only character I didn't like was the main Villain 9/10

    Graphics:Now this game came in at 2007 but it still holds up to today.They are great the environments,jungles,cave,water and atmosphere are probably the best of 2007.The character models look good but dated and the hair is also not bad.The animations on Nate are great and his cloths get wet when you get in the water.A few pop ups especially when it loads a new stage after a cutscene 7.7/10

    What is it?:It is a 3D person action adventure linear game with Indiana Jones,Tomb Raider and Gears Of War elements like climbing,exploring,shooting and hand to hand combat

    Gameplay:The game is set up in to 3 groups shooting,climbing and puzzle solving.Shoting:This is the main part of the game and i mean you will be doing this 75% threw the game the shooting is simple go in to cover point out and shot you can carry two weapons a hand gun,grenades and a long gun there are a lot of weapons like:Shotguns,AKA-47,Gernade launcher,M4,9PMM,Uzi etc. There are a few other features like shooting when hagging of a ledge,a doge roll,shooting with out aiming,close combat.Now i like the shooting stages i just think they can be a bit repetitive and there are to many of them.And it is hard,on Normal it was F*cking difficult which is good and its the fair difficulty not the cheap.A few problems like weapons like the AKA-47 why does i take 15 shots to kill one enemy with no body armor.Combat is basically a 5 square mash and a brutal combo which is square,triangle,square.Climbing:This is my favorite thing about the game Nate is and expert climber.There are certain stages where you will need to climb to your objectives and they are really fun mostly because you feel inpowerd like you are Nathan Drake sure the game can be a little wage of what is claimable and what isn't but its still fun.Puzzel Solving:There aren't to many there are about 6 or 7 their the whole game.You are in a room and there are symbols or parters on the wall which with your book the diary of Francis can solve these puzzle's they do take a bit of thinking and are short and sweet 7.7/10

    A.I.:It is good the enemies are smart they take cover,have nice animations to them.They do some Rambo shooting,they sneak up to you to try to kill you 8.5/10

    Controls:The controls are great responsive and fun the only problem are the Sixaxes controls the are not that great for aiming grenades 9.3/10

    Voice Acting:One word amazing.All the performances are fantastic Nolan North who is the voice actor for Nate does a fantastic and flawless job.The only voice actors that were average were the goons and the villain 9.6/10

    Music:The soundtrack needs to be adventures which Naughty Dog nailed.The music that plays threw a stage shooting,climbing or whatever is great and fits the scene.The theme how ever is one of the greatest themes of all time in my top 3 it is that good 9.5/10

    Replay value:Once you beat the game you have the option to replay it on Hard or Crusing,find all of the 60 hidden treasures and complete challenges which you get money which you can do on the main menu to change the characters appearance and gun ammo and crap.But the average gamer really doesn't want to do that there is no multilayer 6.7/10

    Verdict:UNCHARTED is a great game it is an experience like you are watching a great Hollywood block buster movie with fun and challenging gameplay great characters and action.

    Recemondation:Rent it or Buy it

    Final score:7.8/10
    Expand
  42. Dec 25, 2010
    9
    Drake's Fortune is a must play for many important reasons. The style and production values are through the roof, and revolutionize games in more than one way. With its graphics, characters, storyline and fast-paced gameplay oozing with gorgeous set pieces, it's hard to go wrong with Drake's first outing.
  43. Sep 29, 2010
    8
    i a solid game on almost all fronts . the voice acting xuperb as well as the diolouge . the storty is very entertaining it feels kinda like a indiana jones movie. the gunplay is alot of fun . climbing at times can seem abit tedous and some times your charicter just flys off to his death for no real reason . there is a nice selection of guns the cover mechanic works well. replay value is where the game falls abit.. atleast for me . i beat it 2x which is great but the game is only 8 hours or so long so $60 for just 8 hours of fun can seem abit pricey to some and may just warrent a rental to some . i did wait and got this for 24.99 and felt that was perfect price . right now you can get this game even cheaper then that . this game is deffinitly worth playing and it sequel is even better in every possable way and is worth $60. Expand
  44. Jan 20, 2012
    8
    Uncharted Drake's Fortune is a satisfying new third person shooter IP for the PS3. Boasting the most stunning and articulate architectural environments and visual effects, Uncharted blows all competition out of the water. Character development is extremely central to the narrative progression, Nate turns from a bit of a male stereotype at the begining of the game, to a more human and emotionally charged individual in the end. Uncharted Drake's Fortune evokes the power of narrative with great third person shooting for a good slice of PS3 exclusivity. On the other end of the fence though, I really didn't like the pirates, as they show up insessantly and are murder to kill. Also the game is a bit too brief, though there are a nice assortment of collectibles. But this is still the killer app the PS3 always needed and stands as such to be recognised as a marvellous achievement. Expand
  45. Nov 12, 2010
    8
    I thought that Uncharted was a great game in parts, but overall it fell short of greatness (still very good though). The mix of 3rd person action, platforming, and a great story definitely make it worth playing. I really enjoyed the cinematic feel of the game and the voice acting was excellent. Gameplay wise, it is a mixed bag. The platforming sections feel pretty good, although Nate is occassionally a bit clumsy/clunky to move around (especially jumping). The combat in general is good, although the cover system is not perfect. The puzzles are kind of simplistic, but they are a nice change of pace. The pacing of the game is terrific...there are never any dull moments. I wasn't a huge fan of the 'twist' near the end, or the ending itself, but this was still a really fun game to run through and definitely worth buying (especially as it is at the platinum game price). Expand
  46. Feb 17, 2014
    6
    meh. drake's first adventure is a pretty mediocre one. the gameplay has some pretty fun platforming and puzzles but it focuses too much on the 3rd person shooter gameplay which wasn't very interesting to begin with. the plot though isn't anything groundbreaking or super complex, it is still quite entertaining and is full of loveable characters. the presentation is also quite good but the character models do look kinda awful. Expand
  47. Jun 20, 2011
    8
    Moving away from the Tomb Raider games, Naughty Dog have created their own little clone called Uncharted. Tomb Raider is one of the most popular action adventure/games for the Playstation, and now Naughty Dog, most famous for making the Crash Bandicoot and Jak and Daxter, have risen to the challenge and created this unbelievable, action packed adventure. Uncharted Drake's Fortune is an action/adventure game that tells the story of a young treasure hunter called Nathan Drake, in search for the lost hidden treasure of El Dorado. We start off with Drake who discovers a hidden clue in the coffin of Sir Francis Drake, and tailing along is a young female journalist called Elena Fisher, who is after the story of Sir Francis Drake, as well as any other interesting discoveries she may encounter. Soon Drake and Elena are discovered by pirate mercenaries and attack their boat, but in the nick of time Drake's friend Victor Sullivan (also an experienced treasure hunter), comes to the rescue. The main villain is Gabriel Roman, a competitive treasure hunter and is also after the treasure. He has hired some pirate mercenaries led by Atoq Navarro, Gabriel's lieutenant and an archaeologist. The main goal of the game is to search for any hidden clues, whilst fighting your way through the bad guys. The combat, though it may seem simple, can be difficult in some stages. Don't even bother trying to escape them, because you can't, you must kill every enemy in the area, before you can move on. There are a selection of weapons to choose from such as a 45 pistol, Wes, AK47, Shotgun, grenades, M79, and my personal favourite the Desert Sniper. There are different tactics you can use: Stand behind a wall, wait, aim and shoot, or you can use blind crossfire, which means you are shooting without standing open, this is best use when enemies are at close range. If worst case scenario you run out of ammo, then you can punch and kick your way through, as well as breaking necks, this is more challenging however, but will leave you in much better health. You can pick up ammo from other people's guns, once you've killed them. Other tasks involve searching for hidden treasures lying about in discrete places, as well as killing a certain number of enemies with a specific gun. Complete these tasks to earn rewards. It is also entertaining on a visual level, I especially love seeing the variation around the player, and there are some fantastic views. There's one scene where your standing at the very top of a forge castle and you can see the beautiful horizon of the sunset oceans. The graphics in this game are incredible, I mean I've experienced many games with great graphics, but this is in a different league to what we've seen before. The jungle is real, the water is real (The reflection and movement of the waves is incredible), and, most of all the character designs are spectacular. Everything from hair, face and clothes is real, and that's not the best. For the first time they've used people in motion capture suits to play the part of their characters, where as in most games they would just speak through a microphone, and the producers would just enhance and sharpen there voices through software programmes like Audacity. The characters are very likeable; Drake and Elena develop a sort of love/hate chemistry. Though they don't get on at first, they share a real bond together and eventually express there feelings to one another. Overall this is a fantastic Action/Adventure package. The only criticisms I would say is it repeats itself over and over again. You'll find yourself doing the same thing - running around, shooting your way through enemies and climbing walls over and over again. There isn't a lot of puzzle solving as I thought there'd be. But these problems are only minor and don't spoil this in any shape or form. If you love Tomb Raider, then you'll definatly enjoy Uncharted Drake's Fortune. Expand
  48. Sep 12, 2010
    8
    This is a very polished game, both graphically and cinematically. However, it suffers from a couple flaws, in my opinion. The AI for the enemies is very inaccurate. Which is funny to say, because they almost never miss a shot. There is no sneaking up on enemies, as the second you are within line of sight, even being behind them, they instantly start shooting you in the face -- with near 100% accuracy. This for me added to a lot of frustration. I had to swap the game to easy mode many times and finally ended up just leaving it there. If you're looking for a realistic shooter that is fun to play against AI, look elsewhere.

    Otherwise, this game had a lot of great moments. There is plenty of comedy, suspense, and all the good stuff that goes into a game-that-could-have-been-a-movie.

    Bottom line here is, buy it used or rent it. It's short and has minimal replay value (unless you are a perfectionist). But it's definitely worth the 10-15 hour romp through the jungle, if you have the time and are looking for that kind of game. Oh and the story has a great twist near the end. I'm excited for the next game to come in via that online store that mails games to you.
    Expand
  49. Feb 27, 2012
    9
    A great game that has a very cinematic feel to it. While I was lost at some points of the game, it's all worth it for the excellent plot.
  50. Apr 2, 2012
    6
    The dullest third-person shooting game I have played in a while, complete with quick-time events. The scenery was nice and the graphics were very good too, and the platforming sections were fairly enjoyable. The story is ridiculous though and overall it was kind of a "meh" game.
  51. Mar 18, 2013
    9
    You know, there are some flaws in this. Like the camera angles didn't always agree with me and the gameplay got a little repetitive but when there's a story that's this compelling, it compensates for it. The gameplay, though as I said repetitive, is remarkable. This is fun
  52. Oct 12, 2010
    9
    With its beautiful graphics, excellent voice acting, inspiring music, fantastic story and script, and amazing gameplay, Uncharted is excellent game for 2007.
  53. Oct 10, 2010
    9
    One great adventure game.
    Characters were interesting as well.
    No multiplayer mode, but the adventure sure was one hell of a ride.

    Gameplay wasn't that smooth that was all.
    Great game, 8.5/10.
  54. Oct 18, 2010
    9
    I think that Drakes Fortune is an excellent game, and one that has a lot to offer most gamers. There is plenty of problem solving, adventure and "bad guys" to shoot at to make most gamers happy. Overall, I would say this is a "must have" for most gamers' collections!
  55. Oct 14, 2010
    10
    Love it. If you agree with the Onion AV club you are a tool! Negative reviews are from people who cannot play video games.
    I like the fact that the control scheme is complete. There are a ton of possible moves and the bonus potential is great. The modifications to the game based on rewards is really nice too. I am looking forward to playing Uncharted 2!
  56. Oct 19, 2010
    9
    This is a great game. A must play for any true gamer. Has a very fluid cut-scene transition. Story - 9 : Graphics - 9 : Controls - 9 : Gameplay - 10
  57. Dec 23, 2011
    9
    Love the story, plot, pacing. For its time, my favorite game. I'd say a 10, but things have improved since then so much in its sequels. Either way, you owe it to yourself to checkout the first in the series as it is unique, and harder difficulty in crushing than UC2 and UC3.
  58. Jan 26, 2012
    9
    Great game, lots of action, good voice acting and most importantly, fun. The only problem are the grenade controls, but it doesn't ruin the experience.
  59. Jan 26, 2011
    8
    The thing is, when I put uncharted in, there was so much hype for it I didn't know if I was going to be that blown away. At first I wasn't but Uncharted gets stronger and stronger in every department until the big bang at the end! The gameplay in Uncharted is solid with moments of brilliance. The guns feel powerful and are good and easy to use. Although their isn't a big variety in guns. It can be a problem moving from cover to cover but that is very rarely. The climbing is fantastic albeit a little unrealistic. The climbing works so well because it is so easy and looks awesome. Who doesn't want to look awesome while doing literally nothing? The platforming sections really work as well but the game is from the people who made Crash Bandicoot and Jak and Daxter!

    Uncharted Characters are fantastic, although there are only three main ones (Nathan,Elena and Sully). Nathan Drake is a adventurer, he is also a relation of Francis Drake. Elena is a reported/camera woman and Sully, well I don't really know what Sully does. The dialogue between these characters is very funny (considering the situation there in) but also works when the cut scene is emotional.

    The setting looks beautiful and the place Is an awesome place to have this kind of story going on. What makes it even better is, by the time you have finished the game you actually feel like you have explored the entire island.

    I find the graphics to look very waxy on the characters but they're really impressive all around you. All of this makes for a great gaming experience, but a few niggles are holding it back from greatness. The cover system is one of these little niggles. It is a pretty average cover system to be honest but it certainly isn't game breaking. At times though, I found myself sticking to the wall for a couple of seconds. This broke up the flow of the game. Also, the story didn't particularly flow very well on the whole. I felt myself really getting into the game, only to get it stopped for doing a ridiculously easy puzzle. I didn't feel there was much point of that, either make them harder or leave them out. It also, wasn't very long. The ending showcase came about very quickly. Saying that though I didn't ruin the experience for me and i'm glad I had the chance to play this gem.
    Expand
  60. Jul 8, 2011
    9
    I got this game over a year ago and this game still pretty cool to this day. Naughty Dog has made one of their best games they've made. The story is amazing and the gameplay has a pretty cool mix of 3rd person shooting, platforming and puzzles. The graphics do look great and it still does today, but you'll notice that it's a bit dated after over 3 years. This is a stellar PS3 title and definitely check this game out! Expand
  61. Feb 8, 2011
    9
    I got this game with my PS3 when i brought it and it sat there for a few months gathering dust, Read a few good things online and decided to give it a crack. Well what a suprise i got, the best game i had played at the time. Graphically great with excellent characters and story. Playing this through a third time now.

    Recommend to everyone
  62. Aug 9, 2011
    9
    Tomb Raider meets Indiana Jones! I like the third person perspective for console games. (PC for first person) I am almost done with this one and have already purchased the second and pre-ordered the third. Graphics are good and action is challenging but not so much that it's frustrating. (I play on easy.) Great adventure game.
  63. Feb 20, 2011
    8
    Uncharted is a sprawling epic, very much like a hollywood blockbuster movie. It reminds me of the promise that early tomb raider games showed on the PS1 but never managed to follow up on with their current gen offerings. Just like many hollywood movies however, it uses style to make up for a shortage of substance in a few important areas. First, the good bits. The main character, Nathan Drake, a sort of rogueish, cheeky, good looking fortune hunter slash grave robber (think a male lara croft, but with more clothes on) is likeable, and some of the one liners and dialogue between him and some of the other main characters are well written and add a lot to the plot of going after the lost treasure of el dorado. The gameplay is fun, but never particularly challenging and mixes up environmental obstacle type play with cover based gunfights, all the while amazing you with beautiful environments, and admittedly impressive sweeping vistas, and even throwing in a couple of "on rails" sections for good measure. Even for a title that's now starting to show it's age, it looks and sounds damn good.

    While the "how the hell am i going to get up there/in there/over there" gameplay rarely changes and gets old pretty quickly after the first few times you figure out how to monkey along a ledge or shimmy up a wall to get to some seemingly unacessible spot where you need to be, the gunplay is simple and enjoyable, and often leads to some of the most rewarding sections of the game, with the usual theme being to take cover in an arena style area with just enough cover while you're bombarded with a wave or two of reasonably smart enemies who will try to flank you, chip away at your cover, and chuck grenades at you to flush you out. I quickly gave up caring about traversing the levels, as guessing where the tiny, hardly noticeable ledge or vine i needed to jump at to progress became repetitive, but started to look forward to these gunplay sections more and more as the game progressed and their difficulty, unlike the platforming sections, increased somewhat. I particularly enjoyed how the shooting sections were put together in such a way as to encourage movement through sparse availability of ammo. There are number of weapons scattered around the levels in the game, and while some of them are quite powerful, like the grenade launcher, sniper, and my personal favourite, the Desert Eagle .50AE handgun, (a one shot kill and a fantastic BANG to go with it), none of the weapons are well enough stocked with ammo to allow you to sit in cover and take out all of your enemies without moving or taking a risk. You can do that for a while, sure, but sooner or later you'll run out of ammo, and your enemies will advance on you and flush you out. In most levels in uncharted (with the exception of one jet ski level with infinite ammo that felt much too easy), the game designers force you to move, look for new clips, switch weapons and play out of your comfort zone. This is a nice touch, as when you do finally finish off the last enemy in any given area, you almost always feel a sense of accomplishment, like you've worked for what you've got.

    Uncharted's plot, while not revolutionary in any way, does the job quite nicely, and pretty much plays out as you'd expect. there are a few cases of severely dumb AI which take away from the experience, and [minor spoiler alert] one strange plot twist about 3/4 of the way through that makes the game feel like another type of shooter experience alltogether for a while, but on the whole it's a solid story. The biggest niggles i had with the game overall were a couple of my personal bugbears in videogames.Wonky controls, and what i can only term "learning by dying". Several times i knew exactly where i wanted drake to go, or how i wanted him to jump, but still i had to watch him fall to his death because i hadn't gotten a jump inch perfect, or found myself in an area where i didn't know what i was supposed to do, tried something, died, tried something else, died again, and so on and so on until after a good few deaths, i figured out what i was supposed to be doing. This took away from the game a little for me, but not enough not to recommend it, especially given now that you can get it pretty cheap almost anywhere.

    Overall, uncharted is a good game, not great, but good, and showed moments of real potential (which. by the way were improved upon in the sequel). It's plot is fine, and it's graphics and sound are excellent. It's length is not overly long, but still ok, and minor issues with controls and slightly repetitive gameply don't do enough to spoil it. Graphics: 8/10
    Sound:9/10
    Story:7/10
    Replayability: 5/10 Controls:7/10

    OVERALL:8/10

    Like my review? Then please mark it as "helpful". Thanks!
    Expand
  64. Jan 10, 2012
    7
    The graphics are very good, but the jungle setting grows old fast. The cover-based shooting isn't as fluid as the second game, and neither is the climbing and jumping. That being said, you get a sense of potential while playing the game, and the characters of Nate, Elena, and Sully carry the whole game. Still, it's a bit too repetitive to live up to its amazing sequel.
  65. Apr 3, 2011
    9
    i have fallen in love with another great game. i have yet to finish it but i am about half way through (i know this due to the fact that some people don't know how to check the spoiler box, JoeDeMaria!) and i am loving every second of game play, yes the AI is stupid but there are often many of them trying to shoot you at the same time that you have to be careful about when to shoot or else you may die. this game has wonderful graphics that are even good by todays standards and the voice acting is also pretty good with a little bit of humor every once and a while to make you smile. as well as the gameplay being top notch but the story is also very good and although i am sure there have been games like this that came out in the past there is none that i know of that have been made with such care and skill that is fun to play and keeps you entertained. i am so happy that this is a Playstation exclusive because it is one more thing that we have over the Xbox freaks and is a must buy no matter who you are or what type of games you like because this game has a bit of everything in it Expand
  66. Mar 17, 2011
    3
    This is a rail shooter with jump "puzzles". Story is kinda interesting, voice acting isn't terrible, visuals are pretty good. I've played it for a little bit and I'm certain that I'm going to trade it in, probably in the immediate future. I can see why some people like it, but it's not a puzzle game, and it's not an adventure game (thief & Assassins creed are way more of both) which is what it was billed as, and it's a terrible shooter. So what's the point? Expand
  67. Mar 22, 2011
    10
    Amazing. Stunning. Breathtaking. I just don't know where to start. Recently had just caving and buying myself a PS3, the first game I chose to pick up was Uncharted: Drake's Fortune. Was I ever spot on on choosing the most amazing single player game to date. I was captivated with the story, Nate's up's and downs, his wise-cracks, the emotion that drives the story. It's so well thought out, and even better - is the way they put it all together.

    From the opening cinematic you are taken right into the combat methods, and shooting methods, and from there the climbing, running, jumping, aiming, shooting, the environment, everything, crystal clear, running so smoothly. I never thought a game could deliver on such a level.

    If you have a PS3, and you don't have this game, you are just missing out on one of the, if not the best game on the PS3 (maybe aside from Uncharted 2 :P)
    Expand
  68. Oct 9, 2013
    5
    I don't get it, how is THIS supposed to be one of the "system selling" PS3 games? The gameplay is so totally lame, boring linear platforming, amazingly repetitive and pointless fighting. Sure, the cutscenes are well made and fun, and the scenery is beautiful, but how can any of that compensate for such poor game mechanics is beyond me.
  69. Apr 12, 2011
    7
    Good game, but over-hyped in my opinion. The game plays like assassin's creed with guns, except the wall climbing isn't as polished as in assassin's creed. There are some jumps you may miss even if Nathan looks like he should have made the grab. You can also very easily walk off to your death, a lot like in demon souls but demon souls isn't the wall jumping type of game. Another point that bothered me was that a few passages that were supposedly secret and difficult to reach are riddled with enemies. The dialogues in the game were pretty good. Overall, not as great as all the hype made it out to be. I have high expectations for Uncharted 2, which I plan to play next. Expand
  70. Feb 22, 2012
    9
    Amazing graphics, excellent story, but movements of Nate were bit weird. And I would really appreciate, if there was option to turn off motion-controlled grenade throwing.
  71. May 9, 2011
    8
    This is easily my favorite action/adventure game I've played for the ps3 thus far (picking up uncharted 2 tomorrow). Acting/voices is on par, if not better than that of the God of War series. I caught myself stopping and admiring the beautiful landscapes and scenery throughout the game. There were however a good amount of minor things that kept ticking me off. Enemy AI felt weird (aka shootin at you before they could even seen you). Lots of unfairs deaths due to lack of clarity of objectives. Cover system can be goofy at times. No croch button... Really? Other than those problems, I felt as though the game really delivers. Fabulous platform puzzler/third person shooter! Expand
  72. Sep 10, 2011
    10
    I see a lot of people/critics that praise Uncharted 2 for being such an amazing game, and I realize that Uncharted 2 has an amazing cinematic feel and does all these other wonderful things with multiplayer, co-op, and all that other good stuff; but Uncharted is definitely in my top 10 games of all time list. I think me, at the time, I hadn't played anything like Uncharted, it didn't remind me to badly of Tomb Raider, and despite the mechanics slightly reminding me of Gears of War, I still felt like it was original in it's own way (which it is). I loved how the story was told, and unfolded because originally getting into the game, it just came with my PS3, I originally had no interest in it at all (I really followed through with getting my PS3 for MGS4). But after playing Uncharted through and through, on every difficulty and unlocking everything; Uncharted remains my favorite PS3 exclusive title... more than Uncharted 2. Expand
  73. May 16, 2011
    9
    Great game, dosent stand anywhere near the sequel though. First of all the gameplay, Uncharted is split between platforming, puzzling and shootout sections. The platforming is fun, especially when you are hanging from an edge with a mile long drop below you. The puzzles are fun but not too confusing so your stuck. Then theres the shooting which is cover based over the shoulder style and is lots of fun. the graphics are very good, however are starting to show their age now. The story is extremely well told and feels more of a film then a game. Exiting gameplay and incredible story make this a must have for any PS3 owner, and get Uncharted 2 as well, its even better! Expand
  74. Jun 12, 2011
    9
    This game is great! Naughty Dog does is again and this time on PS3! (Yes, I'm a Jak and Daxter-fan). Nathan Drake is a lovable and funny character. The story is good, the environments are beautiful and feels alive. And I've never played a game like this, cause the characters are humans, I mean, they feel real, and it's easy to care about them. The graphics is amazing (2007) and it's just fun to help Nathan Drake on his journey :) Expand
  75. Feb 24, 2013
    7
    It is not that bad but its a bit overrated. DonĀ“t get me wrong, its not that uncharted sucks, it doesnt but there is much space above. But the graphics were good at that time.
  76. Jun 16, 2011
    10
    great great great game , amazing characters, beautiful set pieces, and i love the platforming, the zombie were a wierd twist tho but It was a beautiful ride and this will be a classic years later.
  77. Aug 28, 2011
    9
    This game was fantastic. A story that was fun characters I felt for and overall just a blast to play. Pick this one up if you haven't already. You will not regret spending the money on it.
  78. Feb 26, 2013
    6
    Uncharted was a great idea for a game and therefore I believe the series deserves its multiple awards. However, I believe the game reminds me more of a Tomb Raider game from the original PlayStation but with a male protagonist. The gameplay mechanics for shooting were very well done for a 3rd person shooter but I felt like you could traverse the entire game by just hitting the action button over and over again while jumping around. The game also included a couple puzzles but I thought they were too easy and a waste of 5 minutes. The story started out great but by the end I really didn't care that much anymore even though the game doesn't take that long to beat. The series deserves respect for what it tried to do but I would rather spend my time playing a longer more interesting game. Expand
  79. Nov 30, 2011
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Don't get it wrong it is a great game... until you reach the end and zombies start to run after you.
    Also the aiming system is not the best either, find it hard to be on cover sometimes.
    But overall you take loads of pleasure killing those mexicanos in this beautiful island.
    Expand
  80. Nov 1, 2011
    10
    Platforming is awesome, great adventure story , and awesome gameplay. I would recommend you get this game right away at your nearest game store or wherever you get your games
  81. Jan 3, 2012
    8
    I'm not going to make this long because this is an older game. First the bad. This game is massively overrated. There isn't a single original idea to be found throughout the entire experience. Combine, Indiana Jones, Tomb Raider, a touch of the Mummy and a shoddy Gears of War cover and shoot mechanic and you have Uncharted in a nutshell. Now that wouldn't be so bad (I happen to like those movies and games), but the game really suffers when all you basically do is fight endless droves of enemies in sequences, which are occasionally broken up to platform around, hear some story and repeat (it gets old). And there isn't a single moment in the experience when I'm not reminded that I'm playing a game. I died constantly in the gunfights and it became a trial and error affair to continue. Now the good. I do like the characters, story, graphics and sound. And the shooting aspect isn't bad, it's just not as refined and intuitive as Gears of War. The game is just a shade better than the sum of it's parts and over all I give it a 8. Not a bad game, but certainly not worthy all of the 9's and 10's it's been getting. The potential for greatness is there for sure, so I will attempt to play Uncharted 2, as there's plenty of room for improvement. Expand
  82. Aug 25, 2011
    9
    Interesting characters, great story, pretty standard, nothing too fancy gameplay. Very cinematic, feels like a movie. Did not expect/like the plot twist, but still a great game.
  83. Nov 2, 2011
    9
    I wasn`t sure to this game till i started to play it... After running it and playing 10 min i started to love this game, graphic, humor, etc stand on very high level.. i`m really glad that i made myself to play this game and i really enjoy it. If u never played it.. u have to do it!
  84. Oct 4, 2011
    9
    Due to the critical acclaim this game has received, I was initially disappointed upon my first couple of plays because the game fails to do anything particularly innovative. It combines elements from various action adventure titles such as Gears of War, Prince of Persia and Tomb Raider. However, the more I played the more I appreciated the game, despite its lack of innovation. It not only borrows elements from past games, it perfects them. From the gun play to the platforming to the story telling, everything is executed flawlessly. It's ability to take these core designs and blend them so effortlessly is why I think this game deserves the critical acclaim it has received. Not to mention, that the game is just pure fun to play from start to finish. Expand
  85. Sep 13, 2011
    7
    Played this on normal through to the finish. Loved some parts but others were very annoying. The platforming was good but the puzzles were a bit simple and tge constant gun fights were too much. If I want to shoot stuff I'll play halo or COD. Glad I played it but won't be rushing for the next one.....
  86. Sep 18, 2011
    9
    This is the game where the Uncharted saga begins! It has several good weapons to use and a great storyline. This is one of Naughty Dog's best games ever made, so I would say that every PS3 owner should have this game.
  87. Nov 29, 2011
    7
    Modern version of prince of persia, excellent acrobatics, at times combat is frustrating. The final boss is frustratingly cheap in a difficult way. Dirt cheap now go get it now
  88. Oct 13, 2011
    9
    The must play action game on the PS3 and of 2007. This is a true action adventure game with amazing cinematics, great graphics, good cover system, intense shoot-outs, fantastic voice acting and an appealing story. However, the story is only up to 7 hours on normal difficulty, on crushing: 10 but there are treasures to collect to keep you busy for a few more days/weeks.
  89. Dec 19, 2013
    8
    One of the most beautiful games I've ever seen. The gameplay is almost perfect. It's fun, but I find it hard to be able to follow the storyline somehow. I can't put my finger on it. The thing is, besides being technically perfect, this is just a standard third person shooter. There is absolutely nothing original here. It's probably just me, but the game doesn't really touch me, it's just a very well made shooter, there's no angle, nothing new or original, nothing to draw me in. Expand
  90. Oct 26, 2011
    10
    6 days from release of uncharted 3 and im stuck playing the first two over and over until that amazing day comes, and both uncharted and uncharted 2 are amazing. This game started a series that will sure stay with us for a very long time. A sure contendor for one of the best games ever made!
  91. Oct 27, 2011
    10
    what a game!not great as uncharted 2 but it is beautiful,great graphics,story and fantastic characters,just beautiful..naughty dog always does fantastic games
  92. Feb 27, 2012
    10
    3rd Best game this gen (after Uncharted 2 , 3), its Very underrated too! I dont get how some people hate it, if you actually played the game you will know its one of the best adventure games this gen! I recommend it to everyone who like action/adventure games
  93. Nov 4, 2011
    9
    Uncharted: Drakes Fortune is awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! You should play this brilliant game before playing the sequels!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  94. Nov 6, 2011
    7
    This game was great, it gave an awesome movie hero feel and it was really fun just jumping around with Drake. Of course I feel like I would love to know Drake more, and thank god Naughty Dog decided to make a sequel for this one as I can only see this series getting better and better.
  95. Nov 7, 2011
    10
    awesomeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee
  96. Nov 9, 2011
    9
    Very very very good story. The enviornment is beautiful the voice acting and sound are great and it's just fun to play. Now, the gameplay it self is very...retroish and it can sometimes feel old and at times a bit akward but it'r really hard to fault this game on alot
  97. Nov 9, 2011
    10
    Haven't enjoyed an action/adventure game this much in a long time. Since I've played Uncharted, pulp action movies have not been as enjoyable as this game. While the controls are not as tight as some games, this is a great game for someone who only has a few hours a week to enjoy a video game and wants to make the most of their time.
  98. Jan 9, 2014
    7
    Game has good production value. The graphics are amazing for the year it came out. Music, sound, and voice acting are all good. What really takes the game down is they sub-par story and the extremely repetitive game play. An hour in and you have seen all there is to offer in terms of game play and the game gets very stale as you wind your way though gun fight after gun fight. Very repetitive and borderline boring. That said, there is a lot to grow on here (which is probably why the sequels are rated higher) I can definitely see the impact this style of game has had on others like Tomb Raider and The Last of Us (yes I know the later is the same company). Worth playing but not only for those interested in its influence not its fun factor. Expand
  99. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    easily one of my favorite games on the ps3 to date. this games gripping single player experience has me totally excited for what the future installments in the series has to offer.
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 66 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 66
  2. Negative: 0 out of 66
  1. 91
    The final sum is far greater than the individual parts. Maybe you don't dig the combat or maybe the pop-in gets you down, but the overall package of an endearing story, outstanding score, great performances and fun gameplay should put this title on the top of your holiday wishlist.
  2. 90
    This game is one of the most immersive gaming experiences I've had this year, and it's definitely a great reason to own a PS3. The mix of platforming and gunplay worked really well and left me craving the next title in the series.
  3. By starting with a great control and camera system, building on that with excellent combat and a wonderful spin on Ico's platform adventuring, and then topping it off with a decent storyline, Naughty Dog has cooked up one of the most relentlessly entertaining, fat-free games to emerge in ages. Topped off with the most stunning use of the PS3's underused technical prowess yet, Uncharted: Drake's Fortune is, for my money, the first must-have PlayStation 3 title.