Uncharted: Drake's Fortune PlayStation 3

  • Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Nov 16, 2007
User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2348 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DarcyW.
    Jul 9, 2009
    9
    Great story and beautiful graphics. Loads of excitement and enjoyment. I am just starting my second time through this game. Monkeys, birds, and a host of other items I never saw first time through. Highly recommended.
  2. WesH.
    Sep 24, 2009
    8
    A really great looking game with Hollywoodesque production values and fast-paced gameplay. The voice talent is also top-notch and it is impressively atmospheric. That said, the gameplay is at times very repetitive, the puzzles are not all that challenging, and the gun battles can at times be frustrating to the point that you want to throw your controller at the TV. But overall it is one A really great looking game with Hollywoodesque production values and fast-paced gameplay. The voice talent is also top-notch and it is impressively atmospheric. That said, the gameplay is at times very repetitive, the puzzles are not all that challenging, and the gun battles can at times be frustrating to the point that you want to throw your controller at the TV. But overall it is one of the better games on the PS3. Expand
  3. JustariusS
    Nov 17, 2007
    9
    Naughty Dog does it again. For the longest time I was following the progress of this game and I had high hopes. That's usually a bad thing. I'm almost always disappointed over what could or should have been (Assassin's Creed anyone?). But Uncharted cleanly trumped my expectations for the 1st time in awhile. This game is all about the immersing "movie-like" experience. By theNaughty Dog does it again. For the longest time I was following the progress of this game and I had high hopes. That's usually a bad thing. I'm almost always disappointed over what could or should have been (Assassin's Creed anyone?). But Uncharted cleanly trumped my expectations for the 1st time in awhile. This game is all about the immersing "movie-like" experience. By the end your only disappointment will be that the game is over like when the credits roll after watching a great film. You'll probably play Uncharted at least twice and after that it will come out once and awhile when friends come over and you want to dazzle them with your PS3 (along with the likes of MotorStorm, Warhawk, Ratchet & Clank, Heavenly Sword & COD4 although Uncharted trumps them all). As of the fall of 2007, the PS3 has finally arrived in the games department and Uncharted is one hell of a PS3 exclusive to get that party started. Expand
  4. LJK.
    Nov 19, 2007
    9
    Nearly perfect, only a few dull points. Some of the best in game story telling I've seen outside of an RPG.
  5. LB
    Nov 19, 2007
    9
    After playing this amazing game, reading these reviews feels exactly like watching foxnews: makes you want to puke at the sponsored dishonesty, and the appalling lack of accountability. This is the best game I've played this year on any platform, don't let any digital cockroach tell you otherwise, especially if they own a soapbox in the gaming media. Microsoft is now swiftboatingAfter playing this amazing game, reading these reviews feels exactly like watching foxnews: makes you want to puke at the sponsored dishonesty, and the appalling lack of accountability. This is the best game I've played this year on any platform, don't let any digital cockroach tell you otherwise, especially if they own a soapbox in the gaming media. Microsoft is now swiftboating at large because they've seen how successful it is when you can get away with murder. I am now done with official gaming sites just like any mainstream media outlet. Expand
  6. JonA.
    Nov 22, 2007
    10
    Great visuals, great gameplay, great story, great sound, lots of replay value, all thats missing is online play. still, one of the best games of the year and a must own.
  7. FarooqA.
    Nov 22, 2007
    10
    Simply put, the collection of best bitsfrom Prince of Persia and Tomb Raider serie, charged with pulp exoticness of Indiana Jones and garnshed with Naughty Dog's own spice of hilarious moments and their own innovations on the gameplay makes this an excellent, playable feast. The visual are second to none...the lush environments and how the jungle interacts, and sometimes reacts, is Simply put, the collection of best bitsfrom Prince of Persia and Tomb Raider serie, charged with pulp exoticness of Indiana Jones and garnshed with Naughty Dog's own spice of hilarious moments and their own innovations on the gameplay makes this an excellent, playable feast. The visual are second to none...the lush environments and how the jungle interacts, and sometimes reacts, is just flawless. You won't find such quality of animations elsewhere, write it on the stone NOW ! Expand
  8. MarcelD.
    Nov 25, 2007
    10
    Simply the most beautiful game i have played. Outplays Ratchet and Clank which was already amazing in terms of environments and atmosphere. Some scenes are just stunning (the waterfalls!) and i believe haven't been done before in a video game. Gameplay wise, it's a whole lot of fun, the cover system during gunplay feels great and you will just enjoy taking some time off Simply the most beautiful game i have played. Outplays Ratchet and Clank which was already amazing in terms of environments and atmosphere. Some scenes are just stunning (the waterfalls!) and i believe haven't been done before in a video game. Gameplay wise, it's a whole lot of fun, the cover system during gunplay feels great and you will just enjoy taking some time off wandering around in the excellent exploration sequences. The acting , the characters and the story are all excellent as well, it's a very very well crafted game... so all in all, definitely the best game i've played on the PS3 so far, a must play. Expand
  9. Warmonger
    Nov 26, 2007
    10
    Great game! It's sort of a.... Part Tomb raider part gears of war type game. The enemies can be brutally tough and they seem to come in waves but if you use cover effectively you should have less of a problem and what a sense of accomplishment.... when you finish a fire fight whoa!. The graphics are absolutely stunning and the controls bang on,the story and music are also Great game! It's sort of a.... Part Tomb raider part gears of war type game. The enemies can be brutally tough and they seem to come in waves but if you use cover effectively you should have less of a problem and what a sense of accomplishment.... when you finish a fire fight whoa!. The graphics are absolutely stunning and the controls bang on,the story and music are also excellent.....This is definitly a must have for PS3 owners. Expand
  10. KyleS.
    Nov 26, 2007
    10
    All around perfection, great game. All I can hope for is online play battles in the sequel
  11. Anthony
    Nov 20, 2007
    10
    Great gameplay, stunning visuials, most fun have had on my ps3 this year.
  12. Brian
    Nov 27, 2007
    10
    Amazing game. Right after I beat the game on normal, I was already starting a new game on hard.
  13. Jin-HoT.
    Nov 28, 2007
    9
    Great game ! I replayed it on higher difficulty to experience the new skins, rendering modes, tougher enemy AI and also for collecting more treasures. For people who obviously rate it low without playing (like Jan below). Shame on you !
  14. JoelC.
    Nov 28, 2007
    10
    Absolutely amazing, like playing a great hollywood action film. Game of the year for me.
  15. KyleJ.
    Dec 5, 2007
    10
    Seriously.... this is a very very good game. From the graphics(which have been praised as the best on console to date) to the animation, story, gameplay, twist.....everything about this game is AAA.
  16. MichelS.
    Dec 5, 2007
    10
    Marvelous gameplay, realistic graphics and movie-like cutscenes! This may be the best PS3-only game on the market!
  17. OddM,
    Dec 6, 2007
    10
    Best game I've played this year. Engaging story, pretty graphics, and most importantly, great gameplay. I love it.
  18. WalterC.
    Dec 8, 2007
    10
    This game looks,plays,flawlessly.
  19. ErlendH.
    Dec 9, 2007
    9
    Nicely balanced gameplay, tongue-in-cheek dialogue and above adequate story. Visually stunning! Pure fun with the occasional moments saturated with adrenalin!
  20. SephyX
    Jan 10, 2008
    9
    Great game, on the brink of a system seller. But none the less a game that establishes the foundation for a great franchise of other games. The game plays alot like Gears of War, except simply better and alot less clunky. The storyline isnt overly complexed, which helps the games pace rather then dragging it out, the firefights are intense and challenging, and the graphics are nothing Great game, on the brink of a system seller. But none the less a game that establishes the foundation for a great franchise of other games. The game plays alot like Gears of War, except simply better and alot less clunky. The storyline isnt overly complexed, which helps the games pace rather then dragging it out, the firefights are intense and challenging, and the graphics are nothing short of stunning. To compliment these things, the game also delivers one of the more charismatic characters to hit video games in quite a while. If you dont like this game you simply dont know what quality is, or you're desperate to find a reason to rip on the PS3. Expand
  21. MauriceW.
    Jan 16, 2008
    10
    The best ps3 game.Phenomenal graphics, awesome gameplay and an excellent story.
  22. JasonConaway
    Jan 2, 2008
    9
    This game was the most fun I've had in a long time. Uncharted: Drake's Fortune combines awesome visuals and evocative music with exciting, challenging, and varied gameplay. This game is a must-buy if you own a PS3. My only complaints are small nit-picks. For example, you'll occasionally see "screen tearing" when the game tries to draw too much. Also, with plenty of weaponsThis game was the most fun I've had in a long time. Uncharted: Drake's Fortune combines awesome visuals and evocative music with exciting, challenging, and varied gameplay. This game is a must-buy if you own a PS3. My only complaints are small nit-picks. For example, you'll occasionally see "screen tearing" when the game tries to draw too much. Also, with plenty of weapons and ammunition at your disposal, hand-to-hand fighting is rarely necessary and so you won't do it much, but that means you'll miss some of the game's most dramatic combat animations. Finally, the game's primary source of frustration comes from difficulty with staying in "cover" or leaving it when you want. Aside from that issue, the player controls are inuitive and feel responsive. That's an impressive feat considering the fluid character animations. Expand
  23. DanishA.
    Feb 10, 2008
    9
    Awesome graphics! A little confusing but still a game to remember in history. The story is a little boring but still the gameplay is fun and competitive.
  24. RodolfoA.
    Feb 16, 2008
    10
    One of the best titles PS3 has to offer, a sure classic many years from now. Has the potential to become one of the most successful franchise developed by Naughty Dog.
  25. H.Algawahmed
    Feb 21, 2008
    9
    Simply, great enjoyable game. This sets up the bar for future adventure games
  26. TylerW.
    Mar 13, 2008
    9
    One of the best games for the PS3 so far!
  27. DannA.
    Mar 5, 2008
    8
    It's fun and hands-down the best looking game I've ever seen. My only complaint is that it's so hard to aim.
  28. Justin
    Apr 13, 2008
    9
    One of the best adventure games ever made. Great story, gameplay, and controls. You will love Uncharted: Drake's Fortune. Best visuals on a console today. Anyone that hates on this gem has the worst taste in gaming.
  29. LukeR.
    Apr 28, 2008
    10
    One of the best games I've ever played. Great story telling, graphics and gameplay, what more do you want?
  30. ChanseW.
    Jun 27, 2008
    8
    Despite some of the jarring comments located in this forum, Uncharted does garner a look by those interested in a solid action/adventure title. The men and women at Naughty Dog have retained their knack for solid controls as well as beautiful graphics while still enveloping the player in a tropical treasure hunt. While sometimes battles can get tedious it never becomes a chore. Despite some of the jarring comments located in this forum, Uncharted does garner a look by those interested in a solid action/adventure title. The men and women at Naughty Dog have retained their knack for solid controls as well as beautiful graphics while still enveloping the player in a tropical treasure hunt. While sometimes battles can get tedious it never becomes a chore. Furthermore, the solid grappling/climbing mechanic (somewhat reminiscent of Assassin's Creed), is cause for some 'wow' moments. Voice acting and cutscenes are well done, leading to that great summer movie feel, and Nathan Drake seems like a character that could go places. Puzzles are few and far between, and when they are encountered prove to not be quite difficult (it has to be mentioned though that this was not made to be a Riven or Myst...it's made to be filled with action). Overall a good game that has a few flaws, but is certainly worth the money and time. Expand
  31. JamesW.
    Jul 23, 2008
    9
    Great action game, but not without drawbacks. Replay value is limited, and the gunplay can get a bit repetitive.
  32. MichaelS.
    Jul 24, 2008
    10
    Uncharted: Drake's Fortune is the best looking game I've played to date next to MGS4. It's visuals and gameplay, along with the environments are jaw-droppingly gorgeous. Easily one the the PS3's best titles.
  33. TomS.
    Jul 24, 2008
    10
    A great game, with a great twist near the end.
  34. JoshP.
    Aug 12, 2008
    10
    This is the only game i can honestly say is a 10/10 game GTA 4 is a 8.5 at best, MGS 4 is about a 9.3, CoD 4 is about a 9.6, Gears of war is about a 9.3, but THIS is 10/10 This game gets a full score in all categories, graphics, sound, story, gameplay everything i have personally played through this game at least 10 times, possibly closer to 20, and have enjoyed every second the This is the only game i can honestly say is a 10/10 game GTA 4 is a 8.5 at best, MGS 4 is about a 9.3, CoD 4 is about a 9.6, Gears of war is about a 9.3, but THIS is 10/10 This game gets a full score in all categories, graphics, sound, story, gameplay everything i have personally played through this game at least 10 times, possibly closer to 20, and have enjoyed every second the storytelling and acting in this game is on par with blockbuster movies, the characters are all believable and the storyb with all its twists and turns are excellent no game has had this effect on me ever before 10/10 in every category. Expand
  35. TomL
    Dec 16, 2009
    9
    The designers of this game kept their eye on the ball: fun. That's the point of a game after all, and they hit it pretty well. There's a few spots late in the game that take away, but all in all extremely well done, and highly recommended.
  36. zachu
    May 20, 2009
    10
    One of the only games this year i actually enjoyed. To this day uncharted is ym fav game of all time. the characters pull you in to learn more about theyr story. the story itself is like an indiana jones adventure with crazy jumps and extremely satisfying gunplay with an amazing choice of armory. the animations are top notch. graphics are MORE than top notch. every singleobject in this One of the only games this year i actually enjoyed. To this day uncharted is ym fav game of all time. the characters pull you in to learn more about theyr story. the story itself is like an indiana jones adventure with crazy jumps and extremely satisfying gunplay with an amazing choice of armory. the animations are top notch. graphics are MORE than top notch. every singleobject in this game as an amazing amount of detail. overall this game is a 10/10. its simply amazing. the twist in the game makes it even more interesting. Expand
  37. AnthonyL
    May 26, 2009
    9
    One of the most plain fun games I've played in ages. This game is just FUN. It does the storytelling fantastically, the shooting well (although there is a little too much of it at times) and the platforming well and puzzles well. If only it lasted a little longer than the 7 hours it took for me on hard it would have got a 10 from me. Great music and acting. Amazing graphics.
  38. nijinski1
    Jul 26, 2009
    10
    Every positive comment here is true. the one thing i'd like to emphasize further is that you cannot underestimate the value of quality voice acting and excellently presented cut scenes. it gives a movie feel to the storyline. best adventure game experience I've had since tombraider 1.
  39. JeredR.
    Sep 4, 2009
    9
    Frankly, I very much enjoyed this game. It had everything that I would expect from Naughty Dog. The visuals are amazing, the soundtrack is as solid as it's engaging..... and the gameplay is solid for a third-person shooter of its caliber. My few large gripes about the game would come in its close-quarters combat, which was not nearly as fluid as the rest of the game. I found myself Frankly, I very much enjoyed this game. It had everything that I would expect from Naughty Dog. The visuals are amazing, the soundtrack is as solid as it's engaging..... and the gameplay is solid for a third-person shooter of its caliber. My few large gripes about the game would come in its close-quarters combat, which was not nearly as fluid as the rest of the game. I found myself wishing for Jak's spin-kick on more then one occasion. Overall, I give Uncharted its well-deserved props. As for its sequel, I have high-hopes that it takes the bar and raises it higher, as Naughty Dog has done for years. Expand
  40. CT
    Nov 18, 2007
    10
    A truly awesome story full of epic shootouts and acrobatic platforming! This game has it all plus it shows off the PS3 capabilities like no other game has so far.
    There are no load times which help keep you entrenched in the story. The graphics will make you say WOW many many times! The Voice acting is the best I have ever experienced in a video game and you will develop a true
    A truly awesome story full of epic shootouts and acrobatic platforming! This game has it all plus it shows off the PS3 capabilities like no other game has so far.
    There are no load times which help keep you entrenched in the story. The graphics will make you say WOW many many times! The Voice acting is the best I have ever experienced in a video game and you will develop a true interest in all of the charactors.

    Overall, this is the best game released on the PS3 so far (Rachett and Clank Future is a close second) and promises to be a classic! Naughty Dog should be praised for making such a solid game that truly is a next gen experience!
    Expand
  41. E
    Nov 19, 2007
    9
    This is one of the best games I have ever played. The gameplay, especially during shootouts, is phenominal.
  42. EduardoR.
    Nov 19, 2007
    10
    This is a true next gen game. Breathtaking graphics, great game mechanics, excellent controls. This is a must buy game for any PS3 owner.
  43. JoeD.
    Nov 19, 2007
    10
    Excellent game, gameplay, stoyry, graphics, sound. It's an overall great experience.
  44. MarcB.
    Nov 20, 2007
    10
    The game is incredible. it incorporates parts of many games that i love, such as the tactical shooter aspect of rainbow six (along with the gruelling difficulty), and the wonderful puzzle/platforming, reminiscent of prince of persia and god of war. I really think that microsoft is paying off companies to review this game negatively: for example, gamestop argued that the enemies were hard The game is incredible. it incorporates parts of many games that i love, such as the tactical shooter aspect of rainbow six (along with the gruelling difficulty), and the wonderful puzzle/platforming, reminiscent of prince of persia and god of war. I really think that microsoft is paying off companies to review this game negatively: for example, gamestop argued that the enemies were hard to beat. the enemies were hard to beat in ninja gaiden, too! but that was a good thing about the game! another thing, this game is MUCH better than games such as halo and gears of war, but they gut much, much better reviews. not cool. Expand
  45. DeeC.
    Nov 20, 2007
    10
    This game is absolutely amazing, the graphics are second to none.. Sensational! And it plays extremely well, Thumbs up to Naughty Dog!!!
  46. D.Vid.
    Nov 22, 2007
    10
    Best graphics for consoles great sound effects, great orchestral music, superb voice acting best animations so far gameplay is fun, fast, action packed.
  47. MatthewS.
    Nov 23, 2007
    10
    Best game I've played all year, it's a game you can easily play through again to unlock things because it's fun and it doesn't feel like a chore, which most games leave behind.
  48. BrendonR.
    Nov 27, 2007
    9
    Stunning! Graphics are top notch, the action is great, controls are tight. It feels like you're playing an "Indianna Jones" style movie. Also, unlike many recent games, its not over in 8 hours. Best reason to own a PS3 yet.
  49. Darren
    Nov 27, 2007
    10
    Honestly one of the best games I've played in a long time. It's beautiful, entertaining, challenging, but not to the point of being frustrating. I thought Tomb Raider was one of the worst games I've ever played and was afraid that this would have the same frustrating jumping sequences and it doesn't. It has its flaws. Times where it's hard to see around a corner, Honestly one of the best games I've played in a long time. It's beautiful, entertaining, challenging, but not to the point of being frustrating. I thought Tomb Raider was one of the worst games I've ever played and was afraid that this would have the same frustrating jumping sequences and it doesn't. It has its flaws. Times where it's hard to see around a corner, or some odd camera angles, but I'm more than willing to forgive them in this game. This is the first game I haven't been able to stop playing since God of War II. Thoroughly enjoyable. Expand
  50. JasonC.
    Nov 28, 2007
    9
    This is by far the best game this year. With wonderful visuals, great gameplay, decent story and a crap ton of unlockables for replay value. If I had time make any complaints, its that Uncharted does NOT have multiplayer or even co-op which now and days should be a highly important part of gameplay fixed in. The worst part about that it seems it would have been easy to code it in cause in This is by far the best game this year. With wonderful visuals, great gameplay, decent story and a crap ton of unlockables for replay value. If I had time make any complaints, its that Uncharted does NOT have multiplayer or even co-op which now and days should be a highly important part of gameplay fixed in. The worst part about that it seems it would have been easy to code it in cause in multiple parts of the game, you are joined by one or even two other characters. My only other complaint is the lack of different locaitions (which isn't a horrible thing), but for the most part in the game you are really in a jungle or ruins, which gets kind of old. I think the next one will be even better. One thing I hear alot is "The combat is to frustraiting" which is the case, but you can get good at it (even enough that Deathmatch might be in the next one). All and all 9/10, I hope for multiplayer next time. Expand
  51. James
    Dec 10, 2007
    10
    Beautiful graphics, fluid gameplay and spot on acting make this game the best I've played on the platform... and that includes Call of Duty 4. A must buy!
  52. MattD.
    Dec 1, 2007
    9
    The very best I've played this generation. Great pacing so far and a bloody U Boat in a waterfall.. Boys own stuff!
  53. BP
    Dec 13, 2007
    10
    Excellent game, Amazing visuals and epic story. There is no point in owning a PS3 without this game.
  54. BeatrixKiddo
    Dec 14, 2007
    10
    Funnest Game I have played so far this year. My other favorites are. Ratchet and Clank TOD, COD4, Halo3, The orange Box, Resistance and Gears. This one takes the cake though. Soooooo Fun!!!! The movement of the character is addicting. You want to take him and jump off of everything just to see him grab hold of stuff. Awesome!!!!
  55. AdamP.
    Dec 15, 2007
    10
    This game is far better than anything i have played this year. People say the shooting and adventuring can not go together but the is one of the poorest excuses i have heard to rate this game down. This game is like being indiana jones then going home and nailing the prom queen.
  56. AbrahamS.
    Dec 21, 2007
    10
    Best console graphics, great AI, engaging story. Best overall game for the holidays.
  57. JosephW.
    Dec 27, 2007
    9
    It's a great mix of puzzles, platforming, and shooting combined with great graphics. The Combat can get a little old and the towards the end the game basicaly changes to a survival horror game the goods far outway the bad.
  58. JaredB.
    Dec 3, 2007
    10
    Beautifully crafted graphics, solid combat, and a story akin to the old indiana jones.. One of the best videogame experiences in recent history
  59. DanteD.
    Dec 3, 2007
    9
    Incredible game play experience.
  60. BillC
    Oct 11, 2008
    9
    Loved this game. Very action packed, awesome graphics, great story, and alot of variety to its gameplay. You don't want to miss this one especially when part 2 maybe out by xmas 09 hopefully.
  61. JoeMetelko
    Nov 2, 2008
    9
    Literally just finished the game. I found it to be very good all round including the gunplay which has a similar cover system to gears of war on xbox but done more discretely. Although as you have to use cover so much there are very few points of the game where the shotguns are of any use. The storlyine has some twists at the end that are a little out of context and a little odd but thereLiterally just finished the game. I found it to be very good all round including the gunplay which has a similar cover system to gears of war on xbox but done more discretely. Although as you have to use cover so much there are very few points of the game where the shotguns are of any use. The storlyine has some twists at the end that are a little out of context and a little odd but there not game destroying. Definately worth getting especially as i can now be bought for 15 pounds. 9/10 Expand
  62. AndyP.
    Oct 31, 2008
    9
    This game will invariably be compared to Lara. Shame really, since its much, much better. Puzzles are fun and graphically its solid but by far the best part is the gun play. The snap to cover system work brilliantly making gun fights thrilling and exhilarating. With the added inclusion of PSN trophies this a definite must buy.
  63. JoshuaM.
    Feb 21, 2008
    9
    The visuals are stunning, the storyline is engrossing and the gameplay mechanics are solid. Uncharted isn't revolutionary but it's not trying to be, it's just a well made game that happens to be the most beautiful game on consoles period.
  64. SeanM.
    Mar 12, 2008
    10
    This game is amazing! I don't see why people are giving it less that 8, even 9 is disappointing!
  65. DaveP.
    Mar 14, 2008
    9
    Overall great game a lot of fun. Big surprise in the end. The graphics, storyline and overall game play are great the only thing keeping this game from being a ten is that the game is relatively short. It took me just under 8 hours to complete and one more run through to get all the lost treasure.
  66. CrySis
    Mar 24, 2008
    10
    Great gameplay, gorgeous graphics.
  67. NateG
    Apr 11, 2008
    10
    this game has stunning graphics at 720p even though i wish it could do 1080p the story line is great and the driver scenes are awesome a must have for people who love action
  68. someguy
    May 31, 2008
    10
    Great game. Definitely worth a buy.
  69. MiKE
    Jul 27, 2008
    10
    WOW! What a surprise this game turned out to be! The environments are huge! and on top of that the graphics are amazing as well! The gameplay is great with a decent story to match! What a great game! A lot of people complain that the gun battles are too repetitive, but if it wasn't the game would be a lot shorter! so its fine the way it is. Do not rent this game. Go out and BUY it! WOW! What a surprise this game turned out to be! The environments are huge! and on top of that the graphics are amazing as well! The gameplay is great with a decent story to match! What a great game! A lot of people complain that the gun battles are too repetitive, but if it wasn't the game would be a lot shorter! so its fine the way it is. Do not rent this game. Go out and BUY it! its really that good! The game really picks up after chapter 3 and from there is non stop fun! Expand
  70. RobertJ.
    Sep 28, 2008
    9
    This was my first game for the ps3 and I must say that I really loved it. The story is a bit too short, but other then that it's a excellent game.
  71. PatrickN
    Nov 17, 2009
    9
    Wow. What a game. Pure action, fun shooting segments and fun platforming. Sure the platforming might be easy but it fun. The graphics are amazing with a ton of varied environments above and below ground. The game gets really difficult near the end, but it builds in difficulty. I never want to go back and complete games and find all of the secrets, but I missed 21 of the 60 treasures the Wow. What a game. Pure action, fun shooting segments and fun platforming. Sure the platforming might be easy but it fun. The graphics are amazing with a ton of varied environments above and below ground. The game gets really difficult near the end, but it builds in difficulty. I never want to go back and complete games and find all of the secrets, but I missed 21 of the 60 treasures the first time so now I want to play the chapters and find the ones I'm missing. This game should no be missed by action gamers... not s pure shooter so pure FPS fans might be bummed out, but I found it fun. Expand
  72. AnthonyV
    Feb 24, 2009
    9
    Amazing gameplay. this game made me a fan of shooters. in depth characters, action and story. this is what the ps3 was made to do. can't wait for the sequel.
  73. EnochC
    Feb 25, 2009
    9
    I love this game. It's a fun single player game that is great with platforming and combing shooter/action elements. I only wish it was slightly longer and had more of the horror elements.
  74. AlejandroT
    Jun 27, 2009
    9
    I can't believe I didn't play Uncharted until know. This game was so amazing to play the acting and voice acting was really y top notch. The cgam play refreshing to play I had so much fun!
  75. ThomasM
    Sep 28, 2009
    10
    Best game I played in long while. Good amount of treasures to find, puzzles, good shooter mechanics and further more brilliant story telling. While I have some quirks about the game, it's so extremely minor and subjective It doesn't need to be included in the rating. While no game is perfect, this game hits all cylinders with what it does. I suggest any PS3 owner plays this as Best game I played in long while. Good amount of treasures to find, puzzles, good shooter mechanics and further more brilliant story telling. While I have some quirks about the game, it's so extremely minor and subjective It doesn't need to be included in the rating. While no game is perfect, this game hits all cylinders with what it does. I suggest any PS3 owner plays this as it's a brilliant game. Uncharted 2 is around the corner so this is a good time to pick this game up cheap and play it before the second. Expand
  76. DavidLoy
    Nov 13, 2007
    9
    AI is fantastic, graphics are mind blowing, sound is right on the money. N.D. did a wonderful job bringing this game together. The only thing that could have been better is possible make the game co-op capabable.

    Yet another game for the PS3 that could and should be a system seller!
  77. KalebFabsik
    Nov 14, 2007
    10
    I am a blockbuster movie buff of Indiana Jones, National Treasure, Star Wars and Transformers. Not to mention a musician. And my typical type of game is the movie games such as King Kong which came out a while ago, 24:The Game and most of the Star Wars Games along with James bond. But, the only games that came close to a real movie was King Kong and 24: The Game but Game play wise theI am a blockbuster movie buff of Indiana Jones, National Treasure, Star Wars and Transformers. Not to mention a musician. And my typical type of game is the movie games such as King Kong which came out a while ago, 24:The Game and most of the Star Wars Games along with James bond. But, the only games that came close to a real movie was King Kong and 24: The Game but Game play wise the games had a lot of problems with control. But when I heard About Uncharted Drake's Fortune in June of 2007 and learned that Naughty Dog was making the game it sparked my interest. Not only did I buy a PS3 this last summer not knowing wheather the game would be good or not. I also pre-ordered it and did as much reasearch about the game as I could. I used my thinking skills about how well this game was being made compared to some of our recent games that have come out such as Halo, CD4: Modern Warfare and other titles. I discovered that hey this game is going to be PS3's Halo game. Then when I played the demo gosh! The game is just as good as the Game previewers tell me and it well excieds my expectation. No to mention I don't usally buy games that depict blood but hey Indiana Jones has it so why not? The game play is wonderfull and the graphic possibly on par- with Final Fantasy: The Spirits Within(Movie) if not better. Buy this game it is worth it and all the reviewers who praise it are true and correct which doesn't happen much with a title such as this one. Sound is just like watching a Star Wars movie or even on par with the sound in the Transfomers DVD by Micheal Bay. It's the Halo of PS3 and it's not even rated "M" only T which may make is more popular with the younger crowd. Expand
  78. AshtonCouche
    Nov 16, 2007
    10
    One of the best, most cinematic, intense games i've ever played! After you finish it your left wanting more, therefore you play it through again. But im not sure how many times one would play through this game, but it's something nobody should ever miss! Better than Gears of War on my list!
  79. JordonChaboine
    Nov 17, 2007
    10
    This is easlily the best looking game to come out on any console this past year. It plays a bit like tombraider meets Max Payne. I really enjoyed this game, the story was great, the game play was fun and got better and better as you played through the game. The visual look of the game is absolutely incredible, there are moments in this game where you cannot believe it is a game. TheThis is easlily the best looking game to come out on any console this past year. It plays a bit like tombraider meets Max Payne. I really enjoyed this game, the story was great, the game play was fun and got better and better as you played through the game. The visual look of the game is absolutely incredible, there are moments in this game where you cannot believe it is a game. The water in this game is absolutley mesmerizing. IMHO - Uncharted and COD4 are the best games to come out this year. Expand
  80. BobSmith
    Nov 18, 2007
    10
    One of the most immersive games I have ever played with an incredibly realistic presentation. As close to a blockbuster hit as you can get. It's the little things that really make this game stand out (e.g. Drake flinches behind cover when shot, clothes get wet in water, etc.). A must buy for any PS3 owner/action-adventure fan.
  81. NickSisneros
    Nov 18, 2007
    10
    This is the first single player game that I've actually played through 4 times in a row for new unlockables that make the game fun. It takes me back to when Perfect dark had time limits set for cheats, but this time its attached to certain limits in killing and collecting hidden treasures.

    The one thing I like the most is that there is only 1 load screen for the entire game. (You can
    This is the first single player game that I've actually played through 4 times in a row for new unlockables that make the game fun. It takes me back to when Perfect dark had time limits set for cheats, but this time its attached to certain limits in killing and collecting hidden treasures.

    The one thing I like the most is that there is only 1 load screen for the entire game. (You can skip any little cutscene and you are already playing the next level without running into a load screen; Sure you may see textures load after skipping the cut scene but, it makes it a whole lot more fun to play it through.)

    the mechanics of the game feel like a simplified version of Tomb Raider and Prince of Persia, however you aren't sweating each jump to time it correctly or hitting a certain button to perform an action. you just run n' jump. Yes it is that simple, but very fun.

    The [cheats] you gain for your efforts makes the game more fun to play a second time.

    Overall this game next to Ratchet really "takes the cake."
    Expand
  82. ScottMartz
    Nov 18, 2007
    10
    From the very beginning I knew I was going to love this game. Naughty Dog(the makers of my personal favorite game of last generation, Jak 2) have metaphorically hit another one right out of the park. When you realize that the movie you just watched is actually gameplay, you are hooked. GOTY for sure.
  83. JohnM.
    Nov 19, 2007
    10
    This game is the perfect compliment to your ps3 library. It is by far the best exclusive title on the console. Meshing great graphics, gameplay and story all in one makes this title a must buy for any PS3 owner.
  84. PS3RO
    Nov 19, 2007
    10
    This game is a diamond in the rough that is the PS3 game lineup. This one actually delivers on what it promised, unlike Heavenly Sword and Lair. Best graphics I have ever seen in a game and as fun as watching a supermodel on a trampoline. BUY THIS GAME because the PS3 is now a contender!
  85. RobertR.
    Nov 19, 2007
    9
    What a fantastic fun game. Just really enjoyable.
  86. HussainR.
    Nov 19, 2007
    10
    This game is truly epic. It's one of the best, single-player experience ever, right next to Prince of Persia: The Sands of Time. I seriously recommend this game to anyone who has a PS3 or is thinking of getting one or even if you are not, go get one. This game, you have to play. I was so involved in the game, I love the story, the characters, the environment....everything. It This game is truly epic. It's one of the best, single-player experience ever, right next to Prince of Persia: The Sands of Time. I seriously recommend this game to anyone who has a PS3 or is thinking of getting one or even if you are not, go get one. This game, you have to play. I was so involved in the game, I love the story, the characters, the environment....everything. It captures you and does not leave you until the end. Expand
  87. KenjiO.
    Nov 24, 2007
    10
    Spectacular! Fun, fast, and furious. The best game I've played on the PS3 to date.
  88. AndrewH.
    Nov 25, 2007
    10
    Awesome gameplay, lots of exploring ancient ruins and searching for treasure! Best Game on Playstation 3!!!!
  89. RicardoM.
    Nov 25, 2007
    10
    Fun.. Fun... Fun... I don't have order word to describe this games. Excellent gameplay, amazing graphics and great story. The best game I have play. I can see what is coming for PS3! Must have! I only don't understand why this game get score lower the 9. Loses!
  90. AdamA.
    Nov 25, 2007
    8
    To put it bluntly, this game is beautiful. To the thundering waterfalls and ancient fortresses you adventure through, to the subtle way the fabric of Drake's shirt shifts as he runs, your eyes are in for a visual feast that runs at a constant, smooth framerate even when the action heats up. The extensive motion capture work Naughty Dog used on this title is evident in the way Drake To put it bluntly, this game is beautiful. To the thundering waterfalls and ancient fortresses you adventure through, to the subtle way the fabric of Drake's shirt shifts as he runs, your eyes are in for a visual feast that runs at a constant, smooth framerate even when the action heats up. The extensive motion capture work Naughty Dog used on this title is evident in the way Drake an Co. move and interact with the environment, adding a level of immersion that goes overlooked in most games. However, in their quest to strike a balance between response time and character movement, the developers seem to have missed the mark. Platforming movements aren't seamless and tend to be too rapid to be believable, making things seem sort of canned. Technical elements of the story also stray a little to far from reality, adding to a sort of out-of-place feeling. The story as a whole is pretty solid and fun to play through though, and the time you'll spend having fun greatly outweighs the few discomforts. An excellent game overall. Expand
  91. DainC.
    Dec 19, 2007
    10
    The best the ps3 has to offer, great graphics, sound and story. Buy a Playstation 3, as this is a must have.
  92. ThomasW.
    Dec 19, 2007
    10
    Really great story, graphics, control, and everything else I'm missing. I'm currently in chapter 8 and I'm pretty surprised that critics say that it takes approx. 8 hours cause I'm pretty sure its not gonna happen at the rate I'm having. Def must buy or at least rent if you own the ps3.
  93. SuleimanM.
    Dec 29, 2007
    9
    The best PS3 game, period. Phenomenal graphics, awesome gameplay, and a story you wish they'd make into a movie. Uncharted has it all. If you're in the field for a Playstation 3, Drake's fortune should be considered without a doubt, and it will warrant that purchase. This is the game to play this year, it's that simple.
  94. MichaelK
    Nov 25, 2008
    9
    It is everything people are raving about. Quite possibly the most beautiful game on the PS3 console. If your an action addict - this game should be a first stop. Stunning visuals, beautiful attention to detail, great combat, amazing cinematics and engaging story with memorable characters. It's a bit linear. Zero replay value, unless you want to go back collecting artifacts and trying It is everything people are raving about. Quite possibly the most beautiful game on the PS3 console. If your an action addict - this game should be a first stop. Stunning visuals, beautiful attention to detail, great combat, amazing cinematics and engaging story with memorable characters. It's a bit linear. Zero replay value, unless you want to go back collecting artifacts and trying different difficulties. Like others have said there are undead in the game - but only for a short period of time - and they do fit snug into the overarching storyline. Awesome game - can't wait for another installment. Expand
  95. Feb 27, 2012
    9
    A great game that has a very cinematic feel to it. While I was lost at some points of the game, it's all worth it for the excellent plot.
  96. Mar 18, 2013
    9
    You know, there are some flaws in this. Like the camera angles didn't always agree with me and the gameplay got a little repetitive but when there's a story that's this compelling, it compensates for it. The gameplay, though as I said repetitive, is remarkable. This is fun
  97. Oct 10, 2010
    9
    One great adventure game.
    Characters were interesting as well.
    No multiplayer mode, but the adventure sure was one hell of a ride.

    Gameplay wasn't that smooth that was all.
    Great game, 8.5/10.
  98. Oct 18, 2010
    9
    I think that Drakes Fortune is an excellent game, and one that has a lot to offer most gamers. There is plenty of problem solving, adventure and "bad guys" to shoot at to make most gamers happy. Overall, I would say this is a "must have" for most gamers' collections!
  99. Oct 14, 2010
    10
    Love it. If you agree with the Onion AV club you are a tool! Negative reviews are from people who cannot play video games.
    I like the fact that the control scheme is complete. There are a ton of possible moves and the bonus potential is great. The modifications to the game based on rewards is really nice too. I am looking forward to playing Uncharted 2!
  100. Oct 19, 2010
    9
    This is a great game. A must play for any true gamer. Has a very fluid cut-scene transition. Story - 9 : Graphics - 9 : Controls - 9 : Gameplay - 10
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 66 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 66
  2. Negative: 0 out of 66
  1. 91
    The final sum is far greater than the individual parts. Maybe you don't dig the combat or maybe the pop-in gets you down, but the overall package of an endearing story, outstanding score, great performances and fun gameplay should put this title on the top of your holiday wishlist.
  2. 90
    This game is one of the most immersive gaming experiences I've had this year, and it's definitely a great reason to own a PS3. The mix of platforming and gunplay worked really well and left me craving the next title in the series.
  3. By starting with a great control and camera system, building on that with excellent combat and a wonderful spin on Ico's platform adventuring, and then topping it off with a decent storyline, Naughty Dog has cooked up one of the most relentlessly entertaining, fat-free games to emerge in ages. Topped off with the most stunning use of the PS3's underused technical prowess yet, Uncharted: Drake's Fortune is, for my money, the first must-have PlayStation 3 title.