Uncharted: Drake's Fortune PlayStation 3

  • Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Nov 16, 2007
User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2215 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 1, 2010
    10
    man i love this game, fantastic story, awesome platforming reminds me of prince of Persia climbing walls game and that's cool, the game play is great, i didn't like the AI though, it seems like its dumb as hell you know exactly when to shoot before the enemy does lol
  2. Mar 28, 2012
    9
    I'm very late to the Uncharted party but this was still one of the best games I've played in the past few years. After recently playing grinding RPGs like Skyrim and Dead Island, I was looking for something a little less exhausting, but while maintaining a very high fun factor. I got just that with Uncharted. I was hooked from the get-go. The thing I loved most about this game was howI'm very late to the Uncharted party but this was still one of the best games I've played in the past few years. After recently playing grinding RPGs like Skyrim and Dead Island, I was looking for something a little less exhausting, but while maintaining a very high fun factor. I got just that with Uncharted. I was hooked from the get-go. The thing I loved most about this game was how well it flowed. It really did have a very cinematic feel. Something was always happening. The gameplay transitioned into the cut scens seamlessly. And it never took more than a couple of minutes to figure out where to go or how to solve a puzzle. Nothing takes me out of a game more than walking around in circles for half an hour not knowing what to do (I don't like to use guides). Uncharted has none of that. As for the story itself, it's somewhat tired but still more than sufficient. The gameplay and experience is really what it's all about with Uncharted. I have two fairly minor complaints about the game. And that's what kept me from giving it the full 10/10. The first is the endless waves of pirates and bad guys. It's just too much, and it's somewhat unrealistic within the confines of the story. At first you don't notice. But a few hours into the game it's impossible to ignore. You kill 10 bad guys. only to have 8 more drop in like clockwork. You kills those 8 only to have 5 more pop up. This was the only aspect of the game that I found tedious and that at times killed the amazing flow. I would've preferred if 85% of the danger in the game didn't come from "bad dudes with guns". More traps, tougher jumps, etc. for less bad guys would've been an excellent tradeoff. The next complaint is in regards to the puzzles. Even though I've been praising the flow of the game for the most part, this is one area that I felt could've been tougher. There is a middle ground between "so difficult you want to bang your head into the wall" puzzles and "so easy an 8 year old could solve it" puzzles. Your diary basically holds your hand and walks you through the puzzles to the point where I don't even see why they didn't just throw in a cut scene for those parts. All I'm saying is they could've made the puzzles a bit more challenging without making much concession to the flow of the game. But in the grand scheme of things, these are very minor complaints. I'm just pointing out what kept this from being a "perfect" game. At the end of the day, I'd have no problem recommending this game to anyone who is a gamer, regardless of what genre they most enjoy. I can't wait to play the sequels and really hope at least one of my issues were addressed. Expand
  3. Jan 20, 2012
    8
    Uncharted Drake's Fortune is a satisfying new third person shooter IP for the PS3. Boasting the most stunning and articulate architectural environments and visual effects, Uncharted blows all competition out of the water. Character development is extremely central to the narrative progression, Nate turns from a bit of a male stereotype at the begining of the game, to a more human andUncharted Drake's Fortune is a satisfying new third person shooter IP for the PS3. Boasting the most stunning and articulate architectural environments and visual effects, Uncharted blows all competition out of the water. Character development is extremely central to the narrative progression, Nate turns from a bit of a male stereotype at the begining of the game, to a more human and emotionally charged individual in the end. Uncharted Drake's Fortune evokes the power of narrative with great third person shooting for a good slice of PS3 exclusivity. On the other end of the fence though, I really didn't like the pirates, as they show up insessantly and are murder to kill. Also the game is a bit too brief, though there are a nice assortment of collectibles. But this is still the killer app the PS3 always needed and stands as such to be recognised as a marvellous achievement. Expand
  4. Sep 9, 2012
    8
    Like a lot of people i came to this after playing it's illustrious sequels and though Uncharted 2 & 3 had bigger set pieces and slightly more refined controlls this is still everything we've come to love about Drakes adventures; A trademark mix of thrilling action, stunning scenery, peerless script and cutscenes. Uncharted 2 & 3 deserve all the acclaim they've had but people sometimesLike a lot of people i came to this after playing it's illustrious sequels and though Uncharted 2 & 3 had bigger set pieces and slightly more refined controlls this is still everything we've come to love about Drakes adventures; A trademark mix of thrilling action, stunning scenery, peerless script and cutscenes. Uncharted 2 & 3 deserve all the acclaim they've had but people sometimes forget that for a long time this was PS3's greatest game and to this day remains highly playable. At the budget price you can now buy it at you'd be a fool to miss out, especially if you're a fan of the series. Expand
  5. Jun 20, 2011
    8
    Moving away from the Tomb Raider games, Naughty Dog have created their own little clone called Uncharted. Tomb Raider is one of the most popular action adventure/games for the Playstation, and now Naughty Dog, most famous for making the Crash Bandicoot and Jak and Daxter, have risen to the challenge and created this unbelievable, action packed adventure. Uncharted Drake's Fortune is anMoving away from the Tomb Raider games, Naughty Dog have created their own little clone called Uncharted. Tomb Raider is one of the most popular action adventure/games for the Playstation, and now Naughty Dog, most famous for making the Crash Bandicoot and Jak and Daxter, have risen to the challenge and created this unbelievable, action packed adventure. Uncharted Drake's Fortune is an action/adventure game that tells the story of a young treasure hunter called Nathan Drake, in search for the lost hidden treasure of El Dorado. We start off with Drake who discovers a hidden clue in the coffin of Sir Francis Drake, and tailing along is a young female journalist called Elena Fisher, who is after the story of Sir Francis Drake, as well as any other interesting discoveries she may encounter. Soon Drake and Elena are discovered by pirate mercenaries and attack their boat, but in the nick of time Drake's friend Victor Sullivan (also an experienced treasure hunter), comes to the rescue. The main villain is Gabriel Roman, a competitive treasure hunter and is also after the treasure. He has hired some pirate mercenaries led by Atoq Navarro, Gabriel's lieutenant and an archaeologist. The main goal of the game is to search for any hidden clues, whilst fighting your way through the bad guys. The combat, though it may seem simple, can be difficult in some stages. Don't even bother trying to escape them, because you can't, you must kill every enemy in the area, before you can move on. There are a selection of weapons to choose from such as a 45 pistol, Wes, AK47, Shotgun, grenades, M79, and my personal favourite the Desert Sniper. There are different tactics you can use: Stand behind a wall, wait, aim and shoot, or you can use blind crossfire, which means you are shooting without standing open, this is best use when enemies are at close range. If worst case scenario you run out of ammo, then you can punch and kick your way through, as well as breaking necks, this is more challenging however, but will leave you in much better health. You can pick up ammo from other people's guns, once you've killed them. Other tasks involve searching for hidden treasures lying about in discrete places, as well as killing a certain number of enemies with a specific gun. Complete these tasks to earn rewards. It is also entertaining on a visual level, I especially love seeing the variation around the player, and there are some fantastic views. There's one scene where your standing at the very top of a forge castle and you can see the beautiful horizon of the sunset oceans. The graphics in this game are incredible, I mean I've experienced many games with great graphics, but this is in a different league to what we've seen before. The jungle is real, the water is real (The reflection and movement of the waves is incredible), and, most of all the character designs are spectacular. Everything from hair, face and clothes is real, and that's not the best. For the first time they've used people in motion capture suits to play the part of their characters, where as in most games they would just speak through a microphone, and the producers would just enhance and sharpen there voices through software programmes like Audacity. The characters are very likeable; Drake and Elena develop a sort of love/hate chemistry. Though they don't get on at first, they share a real bond together and eventually express there feelings to one another. Overall this is a fantastic Action/Adventure package. The only criticisms I would say is it repeats itself over and over again. You'll find yourself doing the same thing - running around, shooting your way through enemies and climbing walls over and over again. There isn't a lot of puzzle solving as I thought there'd be. But these problems are only minor and don't spoil this in any shape or form. If you love Tomb Raider, then you'll definatly enjoy Uncharted Drake's Fortune. Expand
  6. Oct 2, 2010
    9
    I loved the characters in this game and the combat was difficult which is refreshing in today's games. You will be hard pressed to find many action/adventure games in the system that are as good as this game
  7. Oct 13, 2013
    8
    The UNCHARTED series is a PS3 exclusive series that are often know as some of the greatest games ever made especially 2 and 3

    Game:UNCHARTED:Drake's Fortune Platform:PS3 Company:Naughty Dog Publisher:Sony Relleased:November 19,2007 Game time:8 hours Story:The game it self is like if Indiana Jones,Tomb Raider and Gears Of Wars had sex and had a baby it would be this.The
    The UNCHARTED series is a PS3 exclusive series that are often know as some of the greatest games ever made especially 2 and 3

    Game:UNCHARTED:Drake's Fortune

    Platform:PS3

    Company:Naughty Dog

    Publisher:Sony

    Relleased:November 19,2007

    Game time:8 hours

    Story:The game it self is like if Indiana Jones,Tomb Raider and Gears Of Wars had sex and had a baby it would be this.The story follows Nathan Drake who is a treasure hunter that works with his best friend an old man named Sully that loves money.Nathan is also a relative to sir Francis Drake.One day when he was on a boat with a reporter named Elena to find the coffin of Francis Drake find it inside empty with Drakes diary in it.After surviving an attack by pirates Nate finds out that his ancestor Francis found the Eldorado Treasure and decide to find it,they of curse get followed by a bunch of men Sully owns money to,that are also trying to find the treasure and its a race to see who will find it first.The story is excellent the reason why the story is so good is because of the great dialog and characters 9/10

    Characters:The characters are also great.Nathan is your typical treasure hunting hero with a great personality and is funny.Elena who is Nate's love interest is a strong character that isn't a damsel in distress.Sully who is the old guy and the funniest of the group that likes money.Overall great and believable characters the only character I didn't like was the main Villain 9/10

    Graphics:Now this game came in at 2007 but it still holds up to today.They are great the environments,jungles,cave,water and atmosphere are probably the best of 2007.The character models look good but dated and the hair is also not bad.The animations on Nate are great and his cloths get wet when you get in the water.A few pop ups especially when it loads a new stage after a cutscene 7.7/10

    What is it?:It is a 3D person action adventure linear game with Indiana Jones,Tomb Raider and Gears Of War elements like climbing,exploring,shooting and hand to hand combat

    Gameplay:The game is set up in to 3 groups shooting,climbing and puzzle solving.Shoting:This is the main part of the game and i mean you will be doing this 75% threw the game the shooting is simple go in to cover point out and shot you can carry two weapons a hand gun,grenades and a long gun there are a lot of weapons like:Shotguns,AKA-47,Gernade launcher,M4,9PMM,Uzi etc. There are a few other features like shooting when hagging of a ledge,a doge roll,shooting with out aiming,close combat.Now i like the shooting stages i just think they can be a bit repetitive and there are to many of them.And it is hard,on Normal it was F*cking difficult which is good and its the fair difficulty not the cheap.A few problems like weapons like the AKA-47 why does i take 15 shots to kill one enemy with no body armor.Combat is basically a 5 square mash and a brutal combo which is square,triangle,square.Climbing:This is my favorite thing about the game Nate is and expert climber.There are certain stages where you will need to climb to your objectives and they are really fun mostly because you feel inpowerd like you are Nathan Drake sure the game can be a little wage of what is claimable and what isn't but its still fun.Puzzel Solving:There aren't to many there are about 6 or 7 their the whole game.You are in a room and there are symbols or parters on the wall which with your book the diary of Francis can solve these puzzle's they do take a bit of thinking and are short and sweet 7.7/10

    A.I.:It is good the enemies are smart they take cover,have nice animations to them.They do some Rambo shooting,they sneak up to you to try to kill you 8.5/10

    Controls:The controls are great responsive and fun the only problem are the Sixaxes controls the are not that great for aiming grenades 9.3/10

    Voice Acting:One word amazing.All the performances are fantastic Nolan North who is the voice actor for Nate does a fantastic and flawless job.The only voice actors that were average were the goons and the villain 9.6/10

    Music:The soundtrack needs to be adventures which Naughty Dog nailed.The music that plays threw a stage shooting,climbing or whatever is great and fits the scene.The theme how ever is one of the greatest themes of all time in my top 3 it is that good 9.5/10

    Replay value:Once you beat the game you have the option to replay it on Hard or Crusing,find all of the 60 hidden treasures and complete challenges which you get money which you can do on the main menu to change the characters appearance and gun ammo and crap.But the average gamer really doesn't want to do that there is no multilayer 6.7/10

    Verdict:UNCHARTED is a great game it is an experience like you are watching a great Hollywood block buster movie with fun and challenging gameplay great characters and action.

    Recemondation:Rent it or Buy it

    Final score:7.8/10
    Expand
  8. JamesT
    Feb 8, 2009
    10
    Amazing game. I've played it over 20 times, yet i come back for more! Trophies obviously made the game more fun too!
  9. joshj.
    Sep 4, 2009
    9
    Only one complaint, it's over too quickly. Also, This game provides an excellent way to sniff out fanboys. How? Anyone who rates it low and says it has horrible graphics is a fanboy. Why? The games graphics may just be the greatest i have ever seen on a console yet. Dead serious. So my advice? Buy Uncharted, Love it like you know you should, then wait for the obviously GOTY 09 Uncharted 2.
  10. MarkB.
    Nov 25, 2007
    10
    Engaging story and great gameplay make this a must buy title
  11. MontyG.
    Feb 3, 2008
    9
    Some of the best cover/shooting mechanics around, with high graphical fidelity and overall polish. Cut-scenes are actually genuinely funny, a feat alone worth noting. This is a world you will want to explore and get lost in.
  12. KaranM.
    Nov 22, 2007
    9
    Very fun, polished and excellent graphics, Introduces nothing new or ground breaking, but it does what is does almost to perfection
  13. LeeW.
    Nov 23, 2007
    10
    This is the best game I have played in many, many years. Possibly the best game I've ever played, I'll have to see how long that opinion sticks though. Great action, amazing graphics, good variety of gameplay. Anyone ranking this below an 8.5 did not play the same game I did.
  14. CoryG.
    Dec 3, 2008
    10
    This game is one truly awesome and amazing game. it incorporates beautiful graphics, a good fighting system, action puzzles/climbing on walls, and treasure scattered through the game. what more can you want in a game?
  15. RaulC.
    Dec 27, 2007
    10
    Just the closest to play a blockbuster movie, period. You don't want a lesson for life, or a huge drama, or the trickiest plot, just pure, unadulterated fun. The graphics are more than incredible, and easily over anything out there. Can't wait to see what's next from Naughty DOg, and from the PS3.
  16. Sep 29, 2010
    8
    i a solid game on almost all fronts . the voice acting xuperb as well as the diolouge . the storty is very entertaining it feels kinda like a indiana jones movie. the gunplay is alot of fun . climbing at times can seem abit tedous and some times your charicter just flys off to his death for no real reason . there is a nice selection of guns the cover mechanic works well. replay value isi a solid game on almost all fronts . the voice acting xuperb as well as the diolouge . the storty is very entertaining it feels kinda like a indiana jones movie. the gunplay is alot of fun . climbing at times can seem abit tedous and some times your charicter just flys off to his death for no real reason . there is a nice selection of guns the cover mechanic works well. replay value is where the game falls abit.. atleast for me . i beat it 2x which is great but the game is only 8 hours or so long so $60 for just 8 hours of fun can seem abit pricey to some and may just warrent a rental to some . i did wait and got this for 24.99 and felt that was perfect price . right now you can get this game even cheaper then that . this game is deffinitly worth playing and it sequel is even better in every possable way and is worth $60. Expand
  17. Nov 12, 2010
    8
    I thought that Uncharted was a great game in parts, but overall it fell short of greatness (still very good though). The mix of 3rd person action, platforming, and a great story definitely make it worth playing. I really enjoyed the cinematic feel of the game and the voice acting was excellent. Gameplay wise, it is a mixed bag. The platforming sections feel pretty good, although NateI thought that Uncharted was a great game in parts, but overall it fell short of greatness (still very good though). The mix of 3rd person action, platforming, and a great story definitely make it worth playing. I really enjoyed the cinematic feel of the game and the voice acting was excellent. Gameplay wise, it is a mixed bag. The platforming sections feel pretty good, although Nate is occassionally a bit clumsy/clunky to move around (especially jumping). The combat in general is good, although the cover system is not perfect. The puzzles are kind of simplistic, but they are a nice change of pace. The pacing of the game is terrific...there are never any dull moments. I wasn't a huge fan of the 'twist' near the end, or the ending itself, but this was still a really fun game to run through and definitely worth buying (especially as it is at the platinum game price). Expand
  18. Sep 12, 2010
    8
    This is a very polished game, both graphically and cinematically. However, it suffers from a couple flaws, in my opinion. The AI for the enemies is very inaccurate. Which is funny to say, because they almost never miss a shot. There is no sneaking up on enemies, as the second you are within line of sight, even being behind them, they instantly start shooting you in the face -- with nearThis is a very polished game, both graphically and cinematically. However, it suffers from a couple flaws, in my opinion. The AI for the enemies is very inaccurate. Which is funny to say, because they almost never miss a shot. There is no sneaking up on enemies, as the second you are within line of sight, even being behind them, they instantly start shooting you in the face -- with near 100% accuracy. This for me added to a lot of frustration. I had to swap the game to easy mode many times and finally ended up just leaving it there. If you're looking for a realistic shooter that is fun to play against AI, look elsewhere.

    Otherwise, this game had a lot of great moments. There is plenty of comedy, suspense, and all the good stuff that goes into a game-that-could-have-been-a-movie.

    Bottom line here is, buy it used or rent it. It's short and has minimal replay value (unless you are a perfectionist). But it's definitely worth the 10-15 hour romp through the jungle, if you have the time and are looking for that kind of game. Oh and the story has a great twist near the end. I'm excited for the next game to come in via that online store that mails games to you.
    Expand
  19. Jun 4, 2013
    8
    The best way I can describe this game is to say that it's Prince of Persia with guns and an Indiana Jones setting. The game is awesome and comes across like an awesome, action packed summer blockbuster. It really is like playing an action movie with it's memorable set pieces and firefights. The story and characters are awesome and scream Indiana Jones (I mean that in a good way). WhenThe best way I can describe this game is to say that it's Prince of Persia with guns and an Indiana Jones setting. The game is awesome and comes across like an awesome, action packed summer blockbuster. It really is like playing an action movie with it's memorable set pieces and firefights. The story and characters are awesome and scream Indiana Jones (I mean that in a good way). When you're not shooting guys in 3rd person Gears of War style you're platforming and climbing on stuff Prince of Persia style. When I say Prince of Persia style, I mean Prince of Persia style. It's exactly like the POP series minus wall running. This is great fun, but feels a little cheap that they just copied it from POP. Still this is an action packed experience that's worth your time. The only other real complaint I have is the games short length. It was over before I knew it. Considering this is a single player only experience the short length does hurt it. I'm glad it didn't overstay it's welcome with filler content, but I still wanted to spend more time with it. Luckily it does have high replay value. If you haven't played this game yet you really need too. It truly is one of the PS3's best titles. Expand
  20. Jan 26, 2011
    8
    The thing is, when I put uncharted in, there was so much hype for it I didn't know if I was going to be that blown away. At first I wasn't but Uncharted gets stronger and stronger in every department until the big bang at the end! The gameplay in Uncharted is solid with moments of brilliance. The guns feel powerful and are good and easy to use. Although their isn't a big variety in guns.The thing is, when I put uncharted in, there was so much hype for it I didn't know if I was going to be that blown away. At first I wasn't but Uncharted gets stronger and stronger in every department until the big bang at the end! The gameplay in Uncharted is solid with moments of brilliance. The guns feel powerful and are good and easy to use. Although their isn't a big variety in guns. It can be a problem moving from cover to cover but that is very rarely. The climbing is fantastic albeit a little unrealistic. The climbing works so well because it is so easy and looks awesome. Who doesn't want to look awesome while doing literally nothing? The platforming sections really work as well but the game is from the people who made Crash Bandicoot and Jak and Daxter!

    Uncharted Characters are fantastic, although there are only three main ones (Nathan,Elena and Sully). Nathan Drake is a adventurer, he is also a relation of Francis Drake. Elena is a reported/camera woman and Sully, well I don't really know what Sully does. The dialogue between these characters is very funny (considering the situation there in) but also works when the cut scene is emotional.

    The setting looks beautiful and the place Is an awesome place to have this kind of story going on. What makes it even better is, by the time you have finished the game you actually feel like you have explored the entire island.

    I find the graphics to look very waxy on the characters but they're really impressive all around you. All of this makes for a great gaming experience, but a few niggles are holding it back from greatness. The cover system is one of these little niggles. It is a pretty average cover system to be honest but it certainly isn't game breaking. At times though, I found myself sticking to the wall for a couple of seconds. This broke up the flow of the game. Also, the story didn't particularly flow very well on the whole. I felt myself really getting into the game, only to get it stopped for doing a ridiculously easy puzzle. I didn't feel there was much point of that, either make them harder or leave them out. It also, wasn't very long. The ending showcase came about very quickly. Saying that though I didn't ruin the experience for me and i'm glad I had the chance to play this gem.
    Expand
  21. Mar 11, 2012
    8
    An 8/10 may seem low, especially for an uncharted game but I'm basing this game on the standards of today. I came to this game having played the 2nd and 3rd ones and I have to say its my favourite series on ps3. Which is why I bought it where it all started in 2007 and to be honest the game doesn't feel 5 years old. While the graphics aren't spectacular , like the other two, it still looksAn 8/10 may seem low, especially for an uncharted game but I'm basing this game on the standards of today. I came to this game having played the 2nd and 3rd ones and I have to say its my favourite series on ps3. Which is why I bought it where it all started in 2007 and to be honest the game doesn't feel 5 years old. While the graphics aren't spectacular , like the other two, it still looks great. There aren't really any crazy setpieces either but I still loved this game for the same reasons I loved the other two. The characters, the story, the pacing and gameplay. While this game didn't blow me away, I still loved it and is worth buying if you're thinking of buying it. It's a great 8/10. Expand
  22. Feb 20, 2011
    8
    Uncharted is a sprawling epic, very much like a hollywood blockbuster movie. It reminds me of the promise that early tomb raider games showed on the PS1 but never managed to follow up on with their current gen offerings. Just like many hollywood movies however, it uses style to make up for a shortage of substance in a few important areas. First, the good bits. The main character, NathanUncharted is a sprawling epic, very much like a hollywood blockbuster movie. It reminds me of the promise that early tomb raider games showed on the PS1 but never managed to follow up on with their current gen offerings. Just like many hollywood movies however, it uses style to make up for a shortage of substance in a few important areas. First, the good bits. The main character, Nathan Drake, a sort of rogueish, cheeky, good looking fortune hunter slash grave robber (think a male lara croft, but with more clothes on) is likeable, and some of the one liners and dialogue between him and some of the other main characters are well written and add a lot to the plot of going after the lost treasure of el dorado. The gameplay is fun, but never particularly challenging and mixes up environmental obstacle type play with cover based gunfights, all the while amazing you with beautiful environments, and admittedly impressive sweeping vistas, and even throwing in a couple of "on rails" sections for good measure. Even for a title that's now starting to show it's age, it looks and sounds damn good.

    While the "how the hell am i going to get up there/in there/over there" gameplay rarely changes and gets old pretty quickly after the first few times you figure out how to monkey along a ledge or shimmy up a wall to get to some seemingly unacessible spot where you need to be, the gunplay is simple and enjoyable, and often leads to some of the most rewarding sections of the game, with the usual theme being to take cover in an arena style area with just enough cover while you're bombarded with a wave or two of reasonably smart enemies who will try to flank you, chip away at your cover, and chuck grenades at you to flush you out. I quickly gave up caring about traversing the levels, as guessing where the tiny, hardly noticeable ledge or vine i needed to jump at to progress became repetitive, but started to look forward to these gunplay sections more and more as the game progressed and their difficulty, unlike the platforming sections, increased somewhat. I particularly enjoyed how the shooting sections were put together in such a way as to encourage movement through sparse availability of ammo. There are number of weapons scattered around the levels in the game, and while some of them are quite powerful, like the grenade launcher, sniper, and my personal favourite, the Desert Eagle .50AE handgun, (a one shot kill and a fantastic BANG to go with it), none of the weapons are well enough stocked with ammo to allow you to sit in cover and take out all of your enemies without moving or taking a risk. You can do that for a while, sure, but sooner or later you'll run out of ammo, and your enemies will advance on you and flush you out. In most levels in uncharted (with the exception of one jet ski level with infinite ammo that felt much too easy), the game designers force you to move, look for new clips, switch weapons and play out of your comfort zone. This is a nice touch, as when you do finally finish off the last enemy in any given area, you almost always feel a sense of accomplishment, like you've worked for what you've got.

    Uncharted's plot, while not revolutionary in any way, does the job quite nicely, and pretty much plays out as you'd expect. there are a few cases of severely dumb AI which take away from the experience, and [minor spoiler alert] one strange plot twist about 3/4 of the way through that makes the game feel like another type of shooter experience alltogether for a while, but on the whole it's a solid story. The biggest niggles i had with the game overall were a couple of my personal bugbears in videogames.Wonky controls, and what i can only term "learning by dying". Several times i knew exactly where i wanted drake to go, or how i wanted him to jump, but still i had to watch him fall to his death because i hadn't gotten a jump inch perfect, or found myself in an area where i didn't know what i was supposed to do, tried something, died, tried something else, died again, and so on and so on until after a good few deaths, i figured out what i was supposed to be doing. This took away from the game a little for me, but not enough not to recommend it, especially given now that you can get it pretty cheap almost anywhere.

    Overall, uncharted is a good game, not great, but good, and showed moments of real potential (which. by the way were improved upon in the sequel). It's plot is fine, and it's graphics and sound are excellent. It's length is not overly long, but still ok, and minor issues with controls and slightly repetitive gameply don't do enough to spoil it. Graphics: 8/10
    Sound:9/10
    Story:7/10
    Replayability: 5/10 Controls:7/10

    OVERALL:8/10

    Like my review? Then please mark it as "helpful". Thanks!
    Expand
  23. May 9, 2011
    8
    This is easily my favorite action/adventure game I've played for the ps3 thus far (picking up uncharted 2 tomorrow). Acting/voices is on par, if not better than that of the God of War series. I caught myself stopping and admiring the beautiful landscapes and scenery throughout the game. There were however a good amount of minor things that kept ticking me off. Enemy AI felt weird (akaThis is easily my favorite action/adventure game I've played for the ps3 thus far (picking up uncharted 2 tomorrow). Acting/voices is on par, if not better than that of the God of War series. I caught myself stopping and admiring the beautiful landscapes and scenery throughout the game. There were however a good amount of minor things that kept ticking me off. Enemy AI felt weird (aka shootin at you before they could even seen you). Lots of unfairs deaths due to lack of clarity of objectives. Cover system can be goofy at times. No croch button... Really? Other than those problems, I felt as though the game really delivers. Fabulous platform puzzler/third person shooter! Expand
  24. May 17, 2011
    8
    Great game, takes some unexpected yet fun twists. Totally worth your time. Very entertaining, and a must play if you want to get Uncharted 2 (or 3). Well acted, well written.
  25. Aug 30, 2011
    8
    Gameplay = Plays alot like Prince of Persia, as far as climbing and swinging from ledge to ledge, also in its puzzle solving elements.

    Graphics = Im kind of 50/50 on because, some of the layouts look great, and the environments in some levels are breath taking. Sometimes youll watch a cut scene and look at the characters like meh. Controls = Were actually pretty easy to pick up and go,
    Gameplay = Plays alot like Prince of Persia, as far as climbing and swinging from ledge to ledge, also in its puzzle solving elements.

    Graphics = Im kind of 50/50 on because, some of the layouts look great, and the environments in some levels are breath taking. Sometimes youll watch a cut scene and look at the characters like meh.

    Controls = Were actually pretty easy to pick up and go, but I never did find myself wanting to get in a fistfight, because the reaction was a little off for my taste. The shooting wasnt bad and making your way around a level was pretty easy.

    Time = I myself got through it in around 7-8 hours, But if you were to try and collect all the treasures, and do everything there is to do it would probably run you somewhere around the 12-15 hour mark.

    Fun factor = Pretty high, it played like a movie and i did want to see the ending when it came, Id say its worth purchasing and playing through on harder levels, so it totally has replay value.
    Expand
  26. Dec 19, 2013
    8
    One of the most beautiful games I've ever seen. The gameplay is almost perfect. It's fun, but I find it hard to be able to follow the storyline somehow. I can't put my finger on it. The thing is, besides being technically perfect, this is just a standard third person shooter. There is absolutely nothing original here. It's probably just me, but the game doesn't really touch me, it's just aOne of the most beautiful games I've ever seen. The gameplay is almost perfect. It's fun, but I find it hard to be able to follow the storyline somehow. I can't put my finger on it. The thing is, besides being technically perfect, this is just a standard third person shooter. There is absolutely nothing original here. It's probably just me, but the game doesn't really touch me, it's just a very well made shooter, there's no angle, nothing new or original, nothing to draw me in. Expand
  27. Nov 29, 2015
    8
    Game: Uncharted Drake's Fortune
    Genre: Action/Adventure
    Developer: Naughty Dog/Sony System: Playstation 3 (PS3) Total Score: 8.6/100 Value Score: 86/10 • Story: 9/10 • Characters: 9/10 • GamePlay: 9/10 • Graphics: 9/10 • Sound: 10/10 • Music: 8/10 • Length: 7/10 • Replay Value: 7/10 • Player Value: 8/10 Pros +A lot of unlockables which lets players choose how to play
    Game: Uncharted Drake's Fortune
    Genre: Action/Adventure
    Developer: Naughty Dog/Sony
    System: Playstation 3 (PS3)
    Total Score: 8.6/100
    Value Score: 86/10

    • Story: 9/10
    • Characters: 9/10
    • GamePlay: 9/10
    • Graphics: 9/10
    • Sound: 10/10
    • Music: 8/10
    • Length: 7/10
    • Replay Value: 7/10
    • Player Value: 8/10

    Pros
    +A lot of unlockables which lets players choose how to play the game such as slowing down time, increasing time, playing in black or white, etc
    +There's also costumes that can be unlocked with other features by collecting treasures
    +Gameplay for the most part is enjoyable especially during combat scenes
    +Puzzles are nicely done and even assists you in times when you are stuck by giving hints
    +A good variety of weapon types and weapons
    +You can play specific chapters whenever you want once completing the game

    Cons
    -Game is very linear in design
    -Not much exploration as there are only treasures and weapons/ammo
    -No multiplayer in a game that feels like MP would be great.
    Expand
  28. Nov 20, 2011
    9
    This game is the start of the best franchise in the history of the PS3. It is also the weakest of the games. That being said it is amazing. The game came out in 2007 and looks as good as something put out today. The first few chapters actually are slow and uninviting. After that it's nonstop action with the best voice-acting and cinematography ever displayed in a game series. It is just aThis game is the start of the best franchise in the history of the PS3. It is also the weakest of the games. That being said it is amazing. The game came out in 2007 and looks as good as something put out today. The first few chapters actually are slow and uninviting. After that it's nonstop action with the best voice-acting and cinematography ever displayed in a game series. It is just a campaign but there is so much fun you'll enjoy the whole ride. Expand
  29. Apr 19, 2012
    8
    When I first heard about Uncharted, my first impression was not good. Maybe because the whole Indiana Jones + Tomb Raider thing wasn't appealing to me, maybe because I was a little mad at Naughty Dog for abandoning another series that was at its apex. After playing the game, however, I have to admit: Uncharted is a great game. The concept is simple: you control Nathan Drake, an explorerWhen I first heard about Uncharted, my first impression was not good. Maybe because the whole Indiana Jones + Tomb Raider thing wasn't appealing to me, maybe because I was a little mad at Naughty Dog for abandoning another series that was at its apex. After playing the game, however, I have to admit: Uncharted is a great game. The concept is simple: you control Nathan Drake, an explorer after El Dorado, the lost city of gold. But that is just the starting point as the story really takes off from there, fueled by a set of interesting, believable characters. The game encourages exploration to find treasures scattered through all chapters of the game, however that exploration is limited by the linearity of the game; which, in its turn, is imperative to keep the game's ''movie feel'' through the whole experience. The climbing system is great and gunfights are very intuitive and fun, even if a bit frustrating at times on account of a sometimes clumsy cover system. Great dialogues, amazing plot twists and breathtaking scenes await you in this instant classic. Expand
  30. Jan 1, 2012
    8
    A review in 2012 and I still give it an excellent score. Great begining of an awesome game series, of course has its flaws but for the year it came out it was probably the best around. I have yet to play the other games in the series (Uncharted 2 and 3) but after this one, it will be easy finding them amusing. Good graphics, gameplay but awesome voices.
  31. Jul 18, 2013
    9
    Ever wanted Indiana Jones in a video game? Then Uncharted: Drakes Fortune is your best shot.
    Nathan Drake, the so called descendant of the great explorer Sir Francis Drake finds the burial site of his ancestor and a map to the fabled treasure of El Dorado. This sets Drake, his money hungry best friend Victor Sullivan and TV reporter Elena Fisher on a journey to uncover the treasure and
    Ever wanted Indiana Jones in a video game? Then Uncharted: Drakes Fortune is your best shot.
    Nathan Drake, the so called descendant of the great explorer Sir Francis Drake finds the burial site of his ancestor and a map to the fabled treasure of El Dorado. This sets Drake, his money hungry best friend Victor Sullivan and TV reporter Elena Fisher on a journey to uncover the treasure and its dark past, but they aren't the only ones who want to find it.
    If a summer blockbuster could translate into a video game then Uncharted would be the product of that, a great character focused plot with some awesome cinematic techniques used.
    My only gripe with the game is that the final hour or so of the game is needlessly difficult and involves over reliance on backtracking.
    An amazing game that any PS3 owner should have
    Expand
  32. Jul 18, 2013
    10
    this is best game i ever played it like male version of lara croft only with humor the climbing finding hidden puzzle piece doing puzzle and action all awesome i like the tension between elena & drake it so funny
  33. Jan 1, 2014
    8
    played this last out of the uncharted trilogy, so I can't really give a unbiased review as if I were playing a new ip back in 2007, but it was a good not great,but fun with a little but of everything here and there game. we all know how this series turned out so it's all good.
  34. Oct 11, 2013
    9
    What is there to say about this game as well as the Uncharted series, well, it is arguably the greatest gaming series ever made to start. Uncharted: Drake's Fortune provided the ultimate stepping stone for this series to achieve greatest, it is perhaps my personal favorite out of the trilogy and was also the most amazing for its time as it was a launch title for the PS3.

    You play as
    What is there to say about this game as well as the Uncharted series, well, it is arguably the greatest gaming series ever made to start. Uncharted: Drake's Fortune provided the ultimate stepping stone for this series to achieve greatest, it is perhaps my personal favorite out of the trilogy and was also the most amazing for its time as it was a launch title for the PS3.

    You play as Nathan Drake, who is a descendant of the famous English sea captain Sir Francis Drake. He is essentially a treasure hunter of anything his ancestor was involved in and along with his best pal Victor 'Sully' Sullivan and Elena Fisher are lead towards a mysterious island with untold secrets. The action is amazing (and is enhanced further in the trilogy), it is a typical 3rd person shooter with basic weapons and standard cover system. It is easy to get used to and and is quickly enjoyable. An added bonus are the tricky for some puzzles that will get you thinking and may even force you for help online.

    But what makes this game along with its sequels stand out of the rest is the main character Nathan Drake. His is in my opinion the greatest protagonist in video game history. He is incredibly witty, coming out with hilarious one liners during the cutscenes. He is almost impossible to dislike as his intelligence for treasure hunting simply makes you go wow.

    Uncharted: Drake's Fortune ticks many boxes, great graphics, great gameplay, great story, great puzzles and an unsuspected twist.

    9/10
    Expand
  35. Jul 6, 2013
    9
    Uncharted series is great. The game play and story is outstanding, and Nathan Drake is one of my favorite video game characters of all time. Naughty Dog really did a fantastic job.
  36. Jan 15, 2014
    8
    After a long time I finally got this game and got to try it out!
    It is very special game, I think it was a awesome story and awesome platforming game but the shooting was just to repetitive and I got bored with every corner with tha bad shooting style, I did compare it to The last of us so that part was my problem but still I found this game on my mind weeks after i finished it so it is
    After a long time I finally got this game and got to try it out!
    It is very special game, I think it was a awesome story and awesome platforming game but the shooting was just to repetitive and I got bored with every corner with tha bad shooting style, I did compare it to The last of us so that part was my problem but still I found this game on my mind weeks after i finished it so it is really NOT a bad game it is a great game but I found it boring after a while with the "shooting" parts of the game. I would give it 7,5/10
    Expand
  37. Oct 11, 2012
    10
    Wow. This game came out in 2007? When I realized that and that I had passed up on playing one of the prettiest games I have seen to date I could not have been more dumbfounded. I'll keep this one short as there is nothing to discuss that people haven't already. The adventuring aspect of the game was brilliant, and the set pieces mixed with the skybox was beautiful. I have not been thatWow. This game came out in 2007? When I realized that and that I had passed up on playing one of the prettiest games I have seen to date I could not have been more dumbfounded. I'll keep this one short as there is nothing to discuss that people haven't already. The adventuring aspect of the game was brilliant, and the set pieces mixed with the skybox was beautiful. I have not been that eager to get home and play a game in a very very long time. The only points I felt were annoying or weak were the combat situations which felt intrusive and the whole monster thing. The game had an almost realistic feel to it up till that point, but hey, what's the point of writing a story if you can't throw a little magic in it. I am truly enamored by this game and am excited to have dove into a series with a charismatic character like Nathan Drake. Expand
  38. May 5, 2016
    8
    Drake's Fortune kicks off the series in great fashion thanks to a really interesting and exciting story, cool characters and solid gameplay. The enemy death animations are very unrealistic though, but it doesn't take away from the game that much.
  39. Oct 30, 2012
    9
    Back then, i would have rated this game 9, right now, having played the 2 others uncharted, i would rate it 8. I keep my original 9 score since it was the feeling i had while i was playing this for the first time. Graphics were amazing, combat are great and the story is ok. What i hate though is that you cannot sneak on enemy. Most of the time you don't see anyone, you advance a little andBack then, i would have rated this game 9, right now, having played the 2 others uncharted, i would rate it 8. I keep my original 9 score since it was the feeling i had while i was playing this for the first time. Graphics were amazing, combat are great and the story is ok. What i hate though is that you cannot sneak on enemy. Most of the time you don't see anyone, you advance a little and BANG, 4 enemies going out of cover and shotting at you. There is no way to try to shoot enemies from a distance. Other than that, great game ! Expand
  40. Feb 2, 2014
    9
    I really like the Uncharted series and I have played the first one more than the others. For me there is something special about the whole series and especially the first game in the series. Technically Uncharted 2 was probably the best but I find it difficult to choose between them.

    So what do I like about it? Well it is a simple game really, you go down a pre-determined path or
    I really like the Uncharted series and I have played the first one more than the others. For me there is something special about the whole series and especially the first game in the series. Technically Uncharted 2 was probably the best but I find it difficult to choose between them.

    So what do I like about it? Well it is a simple game really, you go down a pre-determined path or storyline. The storyline therefore needs to be good and it is. The characters are great and are memorable, unlike so many other games out there. There are parts of exploration and some simple puzzles (the puzzles are too easy really as the game effectively tells you the answer), third person shooting etc. The game uses a cover system similar to Gears of War on the 360 if you have ever played that. Overall it all works well. I have to mention the graphics and scenery which create the whole atmosphere of this game. There are plenty of moments in the game where you will just take a moment to look at the scenery. Graphics for an early ps3 game are brilliant and the surroundings and scenery amazing at times. This all adds to the experience of what is one of the best ps3 games in my opinion.

    Reading some reviews, others seem to think this is the worst of Uncharted series of the ps3. The first game does not have any multiplayer and is solely the single player campaign. Personally I don't buy Uncharted to play online anyway so if it remained solely single player this would not have bothered me. Thankfully when they did introduce multiplayer for Uncharted 2 it did not detract from the single player experience at all.

    So what can I say bad (or what others could see as bad) about the game. Well it is nit picking as I obviously like the game overall. It is a "linear" game in that you follow the storyline and a set path. Don't expect an open world like GTA or Far Cry for example. This is not really a negative for me, as it works for this game. There are a few moments where Nate will fail to make a jump multiple times (one particular moment I am thinking of where you are swinging and jumping between ropes) which obviously can become frustrating. Nate can occasionally become stuck on the cover system or it will go into cover when you are attempting to roll etc, again nothing major. Towards the end of the game it kind of loses realism as you are fighting non-humans for the firs time. This was a negative for me as I generally like to keep an element of realism where possible.

    However this is a great game and Uncharted is a great series. All games in the series are among the best games on the ps3. Played this through multiple times and definitely one to keep in my collection. I only keep hold of the better games I play and this is certainly one of them.

    Overall I give 8.9/10 (rounded to 9/10)
    Expand
  41. Nov 9, 2014
    8
    An adventure that awakens the feeling is watching those summer blockbuster, looks a lot like an Indiana Jones movie, which is seen by the fact, was actually based on that. Uncharted proves an effective game, his story is ok, its interesting characters and scenarios your drives in a game that stuck for a good story, frenetic action and fun.
  42. Feb 16, 2013
    9
    The only gripe I have with this game is the sheer amount of shooting involved. Even when I think I've cleared an area, I see another batch of enemies drop down and start firing at me. It can get really annoying at times. Otherwise, this is an amazing game with a great story, great gameplay, great graphics; pretty much everything about it is astounding. It genuinely feels like I'm playing aThe only gripe I have with this game is the sheer amount of shooting involved. Even when I think I've cleared an area, I see another batch of enemies drop down and start firing at me. It can get really annoying at times. Otherwise, this is an amazing game with a great story, great gameplay, great graphics; pretty much everything about it is astounding. It genuinely feels like I'm playing a 2012 game. Would definitely recommend. Expand
  43. Aug 2, 2013
    9
    Uncharted: Drake's Fortune 9/10.......................................................................................................................
  44. Nov 28, 2012
    8
    What shall i say? Uncharted is the beginning of the best game-series on the ps3. The Graphics are not so well as in the sequels, but its ok and the Game makes much Fun. I have played it 3 times.
  45. Dec 5, 2012
    8
    Fantastic game. Great storyline, action, etc. Perhaps my rating is skewed because I played Uncharted 2 before I played this one. While Uncharted 2 is superior to this game, great things come from small beginnings, haha. Go play this game today!
  46. Sep 2, 2014
    8
    In a nutshell, this is Tomb raider: Guy edition.

    But regardless of its obvious inspiration, Uncharted manages to be its own thing as well. Following in the spirit of adventure movies of the 80's similar to Indiana Jones, Jewel of the Nile, Sahara, etc. The story is a little generic which is typical of its style, and aside from Drake the other characters aren't really explored that
    In a nutshell, this is Tomb raider: Guy edition.

    But regardless of its obvious inspiration, Uncharted manages to be its own thing as well. Following in the spirit of adventure movies of the 80's similar to Indiana Jones, Jewel of the Nile, Sahara, etc.

    The story is a little generic which is typical of its style, and aside from Drake the other characters aren't really explored that thoroughly. Still Drake is utterly likable and is very charming. It's understandable why he's become such a gaming Icon.

    Visually, for a 2007 game, not bad. Still a bit rough around the edges but for the time impressive.

    Gameplay is really were this game feels like Tomb raider, except better. Combat is alright, could be improved upon. Stealth is almost non existent, even though it should be possible. Platforming in general is done pretty well, but the camera angles do leave a bit to be desired at times.

    Overall:
    Uncharted: Drake's Fortune is a great start to a great franchise. Obviously a little rough around the edges, but for what it is and when it came out, a great game.
    Expand
  47. Jun 28, 2013
    9
    This is a great game it is a little repetitive but the story is so awesome. Playing this game feels like a movie but the only thing keeping me from giving this game a 10 is the ending fight it pissed me off a lot but still a great game go and buy it, it's worth it.9.5/10
  48. Jan 22, 2013
    9
    If you like a advenure, action and shooter game you should buy this one! It looks a lot like Tomb Raider, except for the fact that you control a guy fascinated with treasures and things like that. The story and the characters are epic, even the villains. The places are totally amazing. Deep jungles, the forgotten fort, very realistic scenarios in a expansive, very, very big island. And aIf you like a advenure, action and shooter game you should buy this one! It looks a lot like Tomb Raider, except for the fact that you control a guy fascinated with treasures and things like that. The story and the characters are epic, even the villains. The places are totally amazing. Deep jungles, the forgotten fort, very realistic scenarios in a expansive, very, very big island. And a misterious treasure hidden. The graphics are incredible, but not so perfect because the game it's a bit old, it was developed when PlayStation 3 was "new" to everyone. I love this game, or I should say... the Uncharted series! Expand
  49. Nov 27, 2013
    9
    Uncharted was an honest-to-goodness thrill ride that felt very much like one of the Indiana Jones films. Though Uncharted came out in 2007, the graphics are still eye-catching and solid. Whether treading the dusty passages of an ancient Aztec temple or exploring dense jungles, the settings always carried a sense of realism. The story line was gripping, and the character animations andUncharted was an honest-to-goodness thrill ride that felt very much like one of the Indiana Jones films. Though Uncharted came out in 2007, the graphics are still eye-catching and solid. Whether treading the dusty passages of an ancient Aztec temple or exploring dense jungles, the settings always carried a sense of realism. The story line was gripping, and the character animations and voice acting both in game play and cut scenes left it feeling like a video game-movie hybrid. Expand
  50. Oct 11, 2013
    8
    This was more like a playthrough for me so I could into Uncharted 2 much easier. For the time it was released it was impressive. Of course I've seen how huge Naughty Dog has improved over the years since this came out so it's difficult reviewing this in retrospect. Still it was enjoyable and had a few cool moments. I didn't like the creature feature element though, took me out of the story.
  51. Apr 6, 2015
    10
    Drake's Fortune is a game that is a rarity, with many tepid first person shooters, CoD games and big budget titles coming in and out, it is DEFINATLEY a classic and one of the best games on PS3. Uncharted kills some next gen games, the graphics are jaw droppingly AMAZING. The slow burn thrills, and the action packed set pieces are great. Many games borrow the adventure and plat formingDrake's Fortune is a game that is a rarity, with many tepid first person shooters, CoD games and big budget titles coming in and out, it is DEFINATLEY a classic and one of the best games on PS3. Uncharted kills some next gen games, the graphics are jaw droppingly AMAZING. The slow burn thrills, and the action packed set pieces are great. Many games borrow the adventure and plat forming elements Uncharted pulls off with great ease. It's a game that Naughty Dog should remake on the PS4, and with the PS Now subscription now available, we can play Drake's Fortune as a HD Remastered version on the new hardware! If you haven't experianced Uncharted before, that would be a nice chance to play the game on new consoles, or just get a PS3! ;) Expand
  52. Sep 6, 2013
    8
    Uncharted is one of the PS3's proudest exclusives, and Drake's Fortune, the first title in the series is the roughest of the three but still a very solid game.
    The story is very Indiana Jones-esque (in a good way!) and is told in a cinematic manner which doesn't break up the gameplay more than it really needs to.
    The platforming controls look nice in action but feel kind of stiff and
    Uncharted is one of the PS3's proudest exclusives, and Drake's Fortune, the first title in the series is the roughest of the three but still a very solid game.
    The story is very Indiana Jones-esque (in a good way!) and is told in a cinematic manner which doesn't break up the gameplay more than it really needs to.
    The platforming controls look nice in action but feel kind of stiff and jerky at times. Jumping can be a pain sometimes due to not having much control over the distance of a jump, resulting in frequent overshoots. The game was released just days after Ubisoft's Assassin's Creed, and it's fair and accurate to say that had a much more flowing platforming system.
    Shooting and combat in general feels pretty nice the controls are responsive and the animations fluid. One thing I feel could be improved were the hitboxes.
    Uncharted has some really mixed graphics. There are moments of true beauty when the game's impressive lighting is showcased and the colours are vibrant and rich, but you'll often notice texture and model problems. The vegetation looks great (which is a relief, because there's a ton of it in this game) unless you look at it from above. It's a good-looking game for it's time, and served to show off what the PS3 was capable of, but unlike PC exclusives from 2007 such as Crysis the graphics don't really hold up today.
    All in all, Uncharted is a surprisingly good release from Crash Bandicoot creators Naughty Dog, paying tribute to their platforming roots while making a mature and calculated transition to modern hardware.
    Expand
  53. Jun 15, 2013
    8
    uncharted is great it has everything good story good characters good gameplay and great voice acting but the graphics aren't that good and it becomes repetitive after a while still a great experience and definitely worth playing
  54. Oct 21, 2015
    8
    I played this game on ps3 this summer, 2015 this first time. the graphic is surprisingly decent given how old the game is. the gameplay is also decent. the seeds are planted in this game which lead to the amazing uncharted 2. all in all it is a decent game
  55. Jun 7, 2013
    9
    This is really a great PS3 exclusive! its got a great story that will appeal to anyone who loves Indiana Jones. The graphics are absolutely stunning and I just can't wait to see what Naughty Dog is going to continue to do with this series!
  56. Sep 14, 2014
    9
    Uncharted: Drake's Fortune is a really good game. The story is interesting as characters. Environments could have been a little more change, and the story could have been a bit longer. In any case, overall very good game, the atmosphere remains good all the time.

    If you like the story of the games, for this you definitely need to play.
  57. May 15, 2013
    8
    I got this game as a gift so i had no idea what to think when I first jumped into it. Now I wonder why I didn't get it myself. This is the first of one of the greatest franchises ever with an engaging story and characters that you care about, the quest for the lost treasure of El God Damn Dorado with a supernatural twist that is cool. This game has its flaws though, In some sections of theI got this game as a gift so i had no idea what to think when I first jumped into it. Now I wonder why I didn't get it myself. This is the first of one of the greatest franchises ever with an engaging story and characters that you care about, the quest for the lost treasure of El God Damn Dorado with a supernatural twist that is cool. This game has its flaws though, In some sections of the game the enemies are very cheap and too strong as in several grenades to takedown strong. You are also ambushed often making this problem more apparent but apart from that its great. The graphics are brilliant to. A great game!! Expand
  58. Jun 17, 2013
    8
    "Uncharted: Drake's Fortune" may not be a flawless game, since its aim system is somewhat weak and the campaign could last longer, but i was so entertained by the excellent pacing, gorgeous visuals, very good platforming and how even challenging sequences are fun on this game, that i really didn't cared that much about those flaws.
  59. Dec 29, 2015
    9
    Uncharted is such a good game. It has an interesting story, cinematic gameplay, and is a genuinely difficult 3rd person shooter. They even manage to throw in zombies.
  60. Jun 19, 2013
    8
    As my first PS3 game, it is another thing that will have a place in my heart. Naughty Dog will always be my favorite developer of all time. This was a good introduction into Uncharted the game was alright, can't really complain i really enjoyed it. But it wasn't perfect by any means it had its flaws. The story was alright, the thing is it wasn't great to be honest I don't remember if IAs my first PS3 game, it is another thing that will have a place in my heart. Naughty Dog will always be my favorite developer of all time. This was a good introduction into Uncharted the game was alright, can't really complain i really enjoyed it. But it wasn't perfect by any means it had its flaws. The story was alright, the thing is it wasn't great to be honest I don't remember if I actually finished it. That how memorable it was. Expand
  61. Nov 17, 2013
    9
    Recommendation:
    A very well-written treasure hunt with better story than Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull.
    Pros: Story Characters Treasure Hunt Vehicle sequences Mixed: Graphic Combat Jumping Puzzles Negative: NOTHING Summary: EPIC (MUST PLAY!) First of all, this was one of the first games I borrowed from a friend when I got my PS3. I just thought:
    Recommendation:
    A very well-written treasure hunt with better story than Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull.

    Pros:
    Story
    Characters
    Treasure Hunt
    Vehicle sequences

    Mixed:
    Graphic
    Combat
    Jumping Puzzles

    Negative:
    NOTHING

    Summary: EPIC (MUST PLAY!)

    First of all, this was one of the first games I borrowed from a friend when I got my PS3. I just thought: "Worth a try, at least". I didn't really gave this game too much attention because I just didn't like the trailers much.
    Now, I loaded up the game. I first notice that the soundtrack is just absolutely amazing. I created my save, started playing.
    I noticed that the graphics are nice but not beautiful. (I think it was in 2007). However, in the first hour i really really got into this story, because i love Indiana Jones and treasure hunting.
    The story is incredibly well written, better than the last Indiana Jones movie. With an incredibly awesome main character, and the surprisingly well-written side characters its just great. The combat is actually a little bit hard sometimes, because of the not that great cover system... Other than these simple elements... there are a s*it ton of collectibles. Now these are awesome looking, golden or silver treasures which you can have a better look at the bonuses. Other great things, like vehicle sequences or jumping puzzles (this is quite a bit annoying sometimes) are also great.
    Well Done! MUST PLAY!
    Expand
  62. Jul 1, 2013
    9
    I will get right to the point with this. This is personally my favorite Uncharted title. Why? Mainly due to the story line. The story simply is Nathan Drake's search for El Dorado with his pal/mentor; Sullivan. It's basic but brilliant. The characters are well written and presented, the entire voice cast is perfect, Nolan North plays the and adventurous Drake beautifully.
    There are a few
    I will get right to the point with this. This is personally my favorite Uncharted title. Why? Mainly due to the story line. The story simply is Nathan Drake's search for El Dorado with his pal/mentor; Sullivan. It's basic but brilliant. The characters are well written and presented, the entire voice cast is perfect, Nolan North plays the and adventurous Drake beautifully.
    There are a few problems, mainly with the gameplay. Whilst the sequels seem to have fixed these issues, this is the title they originate from. Melee combat is simply a pain in Drakes Fortune, it requires a basic combo to knock down enemies but usually dissolves to 'Mash buttons until enemy is dead' whilst other enemies decide to shoot you like your body was a walking target.
    Aiming is another problem, the aiming in Drakes Fortune is very stiff, if you are trying to gun down an enemy from afar, managing to get the reticule to land on him will be very tricky and frustrating. Again, these are all issues fixed in the sequels but in Drakes Fortune they are clear and present.
    Also as this is an early PlayStation 3 title, the graphics are much to be desired and look extremely dated from the standard of graphics found in a PlayStation 3 title today, it has a colour problem where the green of the forest will be near overpowering and slightly sickly, the sun will also be too bright on the ground. I'm not complaining that this game is too colourful, in fact its one of the reasons I like it but it can be at times unrealistically colourful, so watch out for that.
    The reason I love this Uncharted is due to the story, while most people would tell you to simply get Uncharted 2/3, I recommend starting from the beginning of this fantastic trilogy and pick up Drakes Fortune. You won't regret it.
    Expand
  63. Mar 23, 2014
    9
    This Game Is..... AWESOME!, The Graphics Are Amazing, The Gameplay Is Fun, The Story Is Steady And Epic, The Characters Are Really Interesting (Except For Elena She's Annoying Because She Always Stands In My Way When I'm Shooting) All In All A Visionary Game And A Must Own For The PS3.
  64. Feb 13, 2016
    8
    8.5/10 Played the game on the PS4 as part of the collection and it is truly a great experience, it is not the same game as the third and the second one, but its amazing nevertheless. The hype for Uncharted 4 is full, and you should get your hands on the collection before April
  65. Jul 13, 2013
    8
    A good game but not the best, it lacks of qte (quick time events), so lacks of action. After a time, it repeats itself, just harder enemies but it isn't enough. Overall is good, graphics, platform puzzles, shooting.
  66. Jul 18, 2013
    9
    This was the first PS3 game i ever played, and was completely blown away by the graphics. Its exceptional for the start of the PS3's life cycle.

    The story was very gripping, and i am a huge fan of solving mysteries and adventuring so i was totally hooked from the beginning. The interaction between each character is very interesting, especially the father-son relationship between sully
    This was the first PS3 game i ever played, and was completely blown away by the graphics. Its exceptional for the start of the PS3's life cycle.

    The story was very gripping, and i am a huge fan of solving mysteries and adventuring so i was totally hooked from the beginning. The interaction between each character is very interesting, especially the father-son relationship between sully and drake.

    The gameplay was a mix of platforming like the type in prince of persia series, 3rd person shooting, and some puzzle solving. It was an interesting blend of action-adventure gameplay, and it doesn't get boring. I played the whole game within two sittings; that's how good it was.

    I do have some gripes with the game. For instance there are unusual difficulty spikes within the game, which leads to multiple death and frustrating moments (I'm looking at you crushing difficulty lol). Also there's just an abundance of enemy spawning, and sometimes you get bored with the endless waves of enemies who are bullet sponges later on in the game. Also not a fan of the six axis motion control for moving through logs. Finally my main problem is the fricking quick time events, especially the quicktime event final boss. This guy was a dick on crushing, and its just not needed in this other wise awesome game. Definitely needed a better boss.

    All in all this is a system defining game for the PS3. To people who read this, you will definitely have fun with the game. If you aren't gonna buy it then atleast rent it once for a single playthrough, the story definitely needs to be experienced once.

    Naughty Dog deserves all the praise they get, as they are a top notch studio
    Expand
  67. Aug 12, 2013
    8
    EN: Feels repetitive when compared to Uncharted 2 and 3, but still a great game, with an excellent pacing, beautiful visuals, interesting story and strong platforming.

    PT-BR: repetitivo quando comparado a Uncharted 2 e 3, mas continua um ótimo game, com excelente ritmo, belos gráficos, história interessante e um forte sistema de plataforma.
  68. Aug 16, 2013
    9
    This is definitely one of the best games on PS3. Great story, gameplay and graphics. Even though it's quite old now, it's still a great game, and everyone should try it out at some point!
  69. Sep 25, 2013
    9
    The game is an overall great experience. the shooting works well, the story is interesting, the graphics are great and the gameplay is really fun. there's many things to be fixed, but has a really good potential.
  70. Sep 28, 2013
    9
    Este es solo el comienzo de las aventuras de Nathan Drake, pues Naughty Dog, mi compañía favorita, hace bien al realizar "Uncharted: Drake's Fortune", aunque es muy criticable el escaso lugar para investigar y desplazarse, lo compensa con una aventura increíble nunca antes vivida reviviendo el estilo cinematográfico de películas de aventuras de los años 80' tal como es la saga de "IndianaEste es solo el comienzo de las aventuras de Nathan Drake, pues Naughty Dog, mi compañía favorita, hace bien al realizar "Uncharted: Drake's Fortune", aunque es muy criticable el escaso lugar para investigar y desplazarse, lo compensa con una aventura increíble nunca antes vivida reviviendo el estilo cinematográfico de películas de aventuras de los años 80' tal como es la saga de "Indiana Jones". Gran título. Expand
  71. Nov 6, 2014
    8
    The first game to resemble a Hollywood blockbuster. Stunning graphics, great story, one of the best cast of characters in video games and solid action help start one of the greatest franchises of the 7th console generation. Even if the gunplay can get unfair, and that the game doesn't have much replay value, you would be doing yourself a disservice by not experiencing "Drake's Fortune" andThe first game to resemble a Hollywood blockbuster. Stunning graphics, great story, one of the best cast of characters in video games and solid action help start one of the greatest franchises of the 7th console generation. Even if the gunplay can get unfair, and that the game doesn't have much replay value, you would be doing yourself a disservice by not experiencing "Drake's Fortune" and the rest of the "Uncharted" Series.

    For the full review, check out "BathroomGamers" on YouTube :)
    Expand
  72. Nov 21, 2013
    9
    this is absolutely a terrific game and one of the best exclusive games of the playstation 3 ever released,it only problem is that is too small and there is no time to apreciate it.
  73. Nov 9, 2013
    10
    What can I say, bought a PS3, heard that Uncharted 2's a good game, bought this on sale. It ended up being the best thing I've played on the PS3. This game makes the most of Indiana Jones and Lara Croft combined, having you mow down pirates, solve intricate puzzles (ok, not really) and leap from pipe to pipe or search vaults of an abandoned Spanish colony. The story is perfect, theWhat can I say, bought a PS3, heard that Uncharted 2's a good game, bought this on sale. It ended up being the best thing I've played on the PS3. This game makes the most of Indiana Jones and Lara Croft combined, having you mow down pirates, solve intricate puzzles (ok, not really) and leap from pipe to pipe or search vaults of an abandoned Spanish colony. The story is perfect, the characters are extremely likeable and the gameplay is decent too, what more can one ask for? Expand
  74. Nov 10, 2013
    10
    first off naughty dog i love you and you and insomniac are the only reasons the playstation is relevant now to the game perfect great story great game play i'm sorry no matter how much of a hardcore gamer you are you do not expect the ending
  75. Jan 4, 2014
    8
    The biggest con of this game is the health and stupidity of the Al. I mean you cant kill them with 4 AK-47 bullets to the chest. But I must say the mechanics and the story is very good. This is a game that is worth to buy.
  76. Dec 3, 2013
    9
    When I first got my PS3 I was initially disappointed by the lack of games I could play. At the time I was only interested in sports games, and MLB The Show quickly grew tiresome after a week. My console came with a bundle, featuring a strange game called Uncharted: Drake's Fortune. With nothing else to do, I inserted the game and decided to see what happens. For 12 hours my mind was blown,When I first got my PS3 I was initially disappointed by the lack of games I could play. At the time I was only interested in sports games, and MLB The Show quickly grew tiresome after a week. My console came with a bundle, featuring a strange game called Uncharted: Drake's Fortune. With nothing else to do, I inserted the game and decided to see what happens. For 12 hours my mind was blown, and I continued to play the game over three times in a row just to relive some of its epic moments. This was the first PS3 game that really left an impact on me, and still holds up today alongside its gigantic sequels.
    The story is reminiscent of an Indiana Jones movie. Fortune hunter Nathan Drake is on the search of the coffin of his supposed ancestor Sir Francis Drake, with the funds of journalist Elena Fisher. Things soon turn sour as pirates sabotage their journey to find El Dorado, the fabled treasure referenced in Drake's journal. After betrayals and gunfights, Nate and Elena end up separated on a lost island full of cutthroat pirates and thieves, and Nate goes on a perilous journey to get her back and escape the clutches of his rival fortune hunters. The closer he gets to gold, however, he realizes that Drake's treasure isn't all what it seems, and the secrets of the island perhaps were better left buried.
    The story is a thrill ride from start to finish, featuring lush and vibrant environments to explore and flawless voice work from Nolan North and Emily Rose. On top of that, all the characters, from the relatable lead to his cigar-smoking mentor Victor Sullivan, are complex characters whose actions feel real. The more you play the game, the more you bond with Nate and Elena and the more you are concerned when they are faced with extreme peril. The gameplay also shines, featuring climbing mechanics and third person shooting reminiscent of the Lara Croft series, polished to near perfection. The game feels great to play, whether you're gunning down enemies in a truck racing through the jungle or trying to maneuver your way up a rock wall, dangling hundreds of feet above a rocky surface. As if this all weren't enough, the soundtrack and atmosphere are phenomenal, with Greg Edmonson providing the score for the game. One of my favorite moments in the entire trilogy was just taking a moment between gunfights to stare out at the sunset, as a beautiful jungle-like orchestra played in the background. This is one of my few moments of pure gaming bliss, one that is nearly impossible to recreate.
    The game does falter in some areas. There is very limited ammo in the game, which does provide a nice challenge but also occasionally poses insurmountable challenges. Since the enemies come in hordes, the gameplay does feel formulaic and overwhelming at times. Also some of the gameplay does feel stiff during some climbing segments and gunfights, leading to several frustrating deaths as you try to navigate up walls and swing from building to building. One scene in the game I had to replay five times in a row not because of the enemies, but just because the lag in the jumping caused me to die during the same leap each time.
    Despite all this, Uncharted: Drake's Fortune is a fantastic game that appeals to my inner adventurer through death-defying leaps, a riveting Indiana Jones-esque story, and my favorite video game protagonist of all time. Despite a few hiccups in gameplay, the game is virtually flawless. The world is beautiful and full of secrets to find, making everything seem like a realistic uncharted island. The characters are memorable and the acting is truly unbelievable, making the player really feel attached to each unique personality the game has to throw at you.
    Drake's motto engraved on his ring says "Sic parvis magna", which means "Greatness from small beginnings."
    When referring to this PS3 masterpiece, as well as the entire Uncharted franchise as a whole, I couldn't agree more.

    9.4/10

    Follow me on twitter. @cbeers2513
    Expand
  77. Jan 2, 2014
    10
    FOR A 2007 year game.. this is awesome...i played this game and fell in love with the script... amazing plot.. only thing, its a small game, gets over quickly.....
  78. Dec 21, 2015
    8
    Uncharted: Drake's Fortune is a fun, albeit somewhat flawed, experience. The characters are great, and the story is intriguing. However, there just seems to be a lot of repetition in the gun fights. There are way too many.
  79. Jan 3, 2014
    9
    Definitely not one of the best games on the PS3, but one of the better. Creative storytelling and amazing design have this story fit out. The graphics are sharp and make the jungles come to life, and the movements of people are also amazing. Voicing acting did an outstanding job, and Nolan North may be one of the best voice actors. There is no online play, but trophies may keep youDefinitely not one of the best games on the PS3, but one of the better. Creative storytelling and amazing design have this story fit out. The graphics are sharp and make the jungles come to life, and the movements of people are also amazing. Voicing acting did an outstanding job, and Nolan North may be one of the best voice actors. There is no online play, but trophies may keep you playing. After the campaign though, there is really nothing left to do. Overall Naughty Dog showed they could bring that slickness from the PS2 to the PS3. This Game is Superb. Expand
  80. Dec 31, 2013
    9
    This is one of those simply enjoyable games. It feels like you're pushing a good movie forward. I liked the environment and the characters were fun. I took away one score because of the short time play. Man the game ends a little too soon. But thankfully, you will still be left with a positive experience after the game. Very eager to play the sequels.
  81. Jan 19, 2014
    9
    The start to possibly my second favorite series behind The Legend of Zelda. Great story, great gameplay, great writing, and amazing cinematics. Some really memorable moments, and characters overall 9/10.
  82. Feb 14, 2014
    8
    Hello folks , can anyone plz tell me how to get passed the compas statues! As I have tried everything possible and am really enjoying the game and it's just stressing me out!
  83. Jul 7, 2015
    9
    This is the best action adventure game I have played in so long. The game is absolutely beautiful. Huge outdoor areas, great puzzles to solve and the most engaging story and characters I have experienced in a game so far. Drake's triumphs are yours to enjoy and when you fail it's disappointing but the game is so great you'll get back up and try until you perfect it.
  84. Feb 23, 2014
    8
    Uncharted: Drake's Fortune was the first game acclaimed developer Naughty Dog made for the PlayStation 3. It's also their first game to contain realistic settings rather than a fantasy setting. However gameplay wise, it contains elements of both their early platform games like Crash Bandicoot, along with the third-person shooter elements from their Jak and Daxter series. The game kicksUncharted: Drake's Fortune was the first game acclaimed developer Naughty Dog made for the PlayStation 3. It's also their first game to contain realistic settings rather than a fantasy setting. However gameplay wise, it contains elements of both their early platform games like Crash Bandicoot, along with the third-person shooter elements from their Jak and Daxter series. The game kicks you into the shoes of fortune hunter Nathan Drake (voiced by Nolan North) searching for El Dorado in the Pacific Islands. The game is still one of the most gorgeous-looking games of the past six years. The character models look kind of dated now, but the cinematic moments are still breathtaking even to this day. Expand
  85. Feb 20, 2016
    9
    such an underrated gem of last gen had what made the series great such as great story,great charactors,great graphics,great gameplay the driving segments were not the best but the rest was great replay value shame the game got ignored by reviewers & gamers alike a must play if you have a ps3 or a ps4
  86. Jul 19, 2014
    8
    Its basically a Tomb Raider game with a male protagonist , but they added some cover based gun mechanics to the mixture, while reducing the puzzle factor a bit... TBH this is the way it appeals to me, keeping it simple, no need to think about puzzles for more than 5-10 minutes, quick progression trough the story, and nice graphics and controls. Even my girlfriend loved it!! so now I cantIts basically a Tomb Raider game with a male protagonist , but they added some cover based gun mechanics to the mixture, while reducing the puzzle factor a bit... TBH this is the way it appeals to me, keeping it simple, no need to think about puzzles for more than 5-10 minutes, quick progression trough the story, and nice graphics and controls. Even my girlfriend loved it!! so now I cant play with the 2., and 3rd episode until she comes back so we can play together. its a great adventure game, but not a 10 pointer because of the vast amount of cliches, not too original characters, and a tiny bit repetitive sections, and world. Expand
  87. Mar 21, 2014
    10
    One of the best games ever. Exciting, thrilling, heart-racing and incredibly funny. There is never a dull moment in the story narrative. Each character is well thought-out and the writing is very good. But i wish they had given an option to use stealth at least in some situations. But it does not affect the gaming experience in any way.
  88. Jul 11, 2014
    9
    AMAZING GAME, but slightly not as good as Uncharted 3. This game has great locations and graphics, and the two combined provide a great gaming experience. The game also has very like able characters. You won't get bored even after finishing it 3-4 times. Only problem is that it is a bit too difficult - especially on Hard, and Crushing difficulties.
  89. May 22, 2014
    8
    Drake's Fortune is a very ambitious game. It plays out like a summer blockbuster with a high-concept story, lovable characters, strong acting, and exciting set pieces.
  90. Oct 30, 2015
    8
    Graphics: 8.5 Sound: 8.2 Gameplay: 8.0 Fun/Story: 8.4

    A solid new IP that was the basis for very good sequels (U2 and U3). Some collision and physics problems (seems personages don´t walk naturally on the floor). Overall a good game.
  91. Feb 9, 2015
    8
    A little frustrating game, but it's still a very good looker (considering it is 2007) and has a simple yet entertaining gameplay. It's not a masterpiece at all, however, and it is far behind both Uncharted 2 and 3.
  92. Jun 20, 2014
    8
    A perfect mixture of Tomb raider and Prince of Persia. Addictive game that forces you to play it until you pass it. Combats are dynamic and occasionally pretty hard.
    Graphics are a bit outdated, yet still beautiful, but what the hell, it is a 2007. game.
    I truly hope that the later series are at least equally good as is this one.
  93. Jun 30, 2014
    8
    I love the humour (Drake is such a cool character), the cover shooting gameplay and the story, however it was a little short. The sequels are superior but this is still highly recommended.
  94. Nov 3, 2014
    9
    Fue el mejor juego de PS3 en sus inicios y a día de hoy sigue siendo uno de los mejores. Una aventura muy divertida con una buena trama, con un protagonista genial y unos secundarios a la altura y todo con unos gráficos muy buenos que, aunque hayan sido superados por sus secuelas, marcó una diferencia entre lo que podíamos ver en una PS2 y una PS3. Imprescindible si se tiene PS3.
  95. Aug 19, 2014
    8
    An absolutely visually and mechanically brilliant game, Uncharted offers a great story, with engaging combat and puzzles as well. The story is one of the best In years; it's full of twists and turns, and makes you feel for the characters. The combat is impressive, with great shooting, but the melee is awful. It feels like a QTE, which isn't that fun. The puzzles feel very well composed,An absolutely visually and mechanically brilliant game, Uncharted offers a great story, with engaging combat and puzzles as well. The story is one of the best In years; it's full of twists and turns, and makes you feel for the characters. The combat is impressive, with great shooting, but the melee is awful. It feels like a QTE, which isn't that fun. The puzzles feel very well composed, yet frustratingly hard at some points. Overall, not as good as its sequels, but a great game nonetheless. A must buy for anybody who appreciates an excellent story. Expand
  96. Jan 17, 2015
    8
    Although the game shows its age, Uncharted is still a strong start to a fantastic adventure franchise. Nathan Drake is the modern Indiana Jones in just about every sense of the word.

    8.5/10
  97. Aug 8, 2014
    9
    Drake's Fortune is hard, but rewarding and fun. It's basically parkour meets guns meets Nathan Drake. Nolan North does a great job as always. A must-play classic.
  98. Aug 11, 2014
    8
    I found the game a little bit irritating at times as you're involved in a shoot-out every five seconds, and are out numbered the majority of the time. But I did like the story and had a lot of fun playing it.
  99. Sep 10, 2015
    8
    Not really a masterpiece to play, but it's worth getting if you have a Playstation 3, The gameplay is very stunning, and it is greatly fantastic to try out, although the combat is really repetitive on the other hand, they fixed this in the games sequels thank god, although.
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 66 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 66
  2. Negative: 0 out of 66
  1. 91
    The final sum is far greater than the individual parts. Maybe you don't dig the combat or maybe the pop-in gets you down, but the overall package of an endearing story, outstanding score, great performances and fun gameplay should put this title on the top of your holiday wishlist.
  2. 90
    This game is one of the most immersive gaming experiences I've had this year, and it's definitely a great reason to own a PS3. The mix of platforming and gunplay worked really well and left me craving the next title in the series.
  3. By starting with a great control and camera system, building on that with excellent combat and a wonderful spin on Ico's platform adventuring, and then topping it off with a decent storyline, Naughty Dog has cooked up one of the most relentlessly entertaining, fat-free games to emerge in ages. Topped off with the most stunning use of the PS3's underused technical prowess yet, Uncharted: Drake's Fortune is, for my money, the first must-have PlayStation 3 title.