• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Nov 16, 2007
User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1661 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 1, 2010
    10
    man i love this game, fantastic story, awesome platforming reminds me of prince of Persia climbing walls game and that's cool, the game play is great, i didn't like the AI though, it seems like its dumb as hell you know exactly when to shoot before the enemy does lol
  2. Jun 2, 2012
    10
    This game is an amazing. Naughty dog hit the nail on the head with this amazing game. Uncharted will should go down in history as the game that spawned many other great sequels and etc. Great story, Good graphics for the time, Nathan drake has taken Lara's seat for the time being until she can get back on her feet.
  3. Feb 27, 2012
    10
    AMAZING! game.. One of the Best games this gen (along withg Uncharted 2 , 3), its Very underrated too! I dont get how some people hate it, if you actually finished the game you will know its one of the best adventure games this gen! I recommend it to everyone who like action/adventure games
  4. Mar 25, 2012
    9
    Though it's dated now, Uncharted: Drakes Fortune is a non stop action packed adventure with incredible graphics and breath taking scenery. The combat is simple even with the friggin sixaxis for throwing grenades. Nathan Drake is the Indiana Jones for the 21st Century as he jumps, shoots and smart mouths his way through the jungle to stop pirates from stealing the gold, if you are lookingThough it's dated now, Uncharted: Drakes Fortune is a non stop action packed adventure with incredible graphics and breath taking scenery. The combat is simple even with the friggin sixaxis for throwing grenades. Nathan Drake is the Indiana Jones for the 21st Century as he jumps, shoots and smart mouths his way through the jungle to stop pirates from stealing the gold, if you are looking for a fun game with an amazing storyline and exceptional combat but you want it cheap. Then uncharted is a perfect Game for You Expand
  5. Mar 28, 2012
    9
    I'm very late to the Uncharted party but this was still one of the best games I've played in the past few years. After recently playing grinding RPGs like Skyrim and Dead Island, I was looking for something a little less exhausting, but while maintaining a very high fun factor. I got just that with Uncharted. I was hooked from the get-go. The thing I loved most about this game was howI'm very late to the Uncharted party but this was still one of the best games I've played in the past few years. After recently playing grinding RPGs like Skyrim and Dead Island, I was looking for something a little less exhausting, but while maintaining a very high fun factor. I got just that with Uncharted. I was hooked from the get-go. The thing I loved most about this game was how well it flowed. It really did have a very cinematic feel. Something was always happening. The gameplay transitioned into the cut scens seamlessly. And it never took more than a couple of minutes to figure out where to go or how to solve a puzzle. Nothing takes me out of a game more than walking around in circles for half an hour not knowing what to do (I don't like to use guides). Uncharted has none of that. As for the story itself, it's somewhat tired but still more than sufficient. The gameplay and experience is really what it's all about with Uncharted. I have two fairly minor complaints about the game. And that's what kept me from giving it the full 10/10. The first is the endless waves of pirates and bad guys. It's just too much, and it's somewhat unrealistic within the confines of the story. At first you don't notice. But a few hours into the game it's impossible to ignore. You kill 10 bad guys. only to have 8 more drop in like clockwork. You kills those 8 only to have 5 more pop up. This was the only aspect of the game that I found tedious and that at times killed the amazing flow. I would've preferred if 85% of the danger in the game didn't come from "bad dudes with guns". More traps, tougher jumps, etc. for less bad guys would've been an excellent tradeoff. The next complaint is in regards to the puzzles. Even though I've been praising the flow of the game for the most part, this is one area that I felt could've been tougher. There is a middle ground between "so difficult you want to bang your head into the wall" puzzles and "so easy an 8 year old could solve it" puzzles. Your diary basically holds your hand and walks you through the puzzles to the point where I don't even see why they didn't just throw in a cut scene for those parts. All I'm saying is they could've made the puzzles a bit more challenging without making much concession to the flow of the game. But in the grand scheme of things, these are very minor complaints. I'm just pointing out what kept this from being a "perfect" game. At the end of the day, I'd have no problem recommending this game to anyone who is a gamer, regardless of what genre they most enjoy. I can't wait to play the sequels and really hope at least one of my issues were addressed. Expand
  6. Jul 9, 2012
    9
    Awesome installment to the PS3 by developer Naughty Dog. It's a very unique and original story, almost like National Treasure without Nicholas Cage.. The only thing that keeps this away from a perfect 10 is the control scheme. It feels odd to me, and cannot be changed through the options menu. Definitely a game worth buying.
  7. Oct 2, 2010
    9
    I loved the characters in this game and the combat was difficult which is refreshing in today's games. You will be hard pressed to find many action/adventure games in the system that are as good as this game
  8. Feb 24, 2013
    10
    Wow. Assassin's Creed is one of my favorite games, but I feel that this might top that. Even though this doesn't have the free roam of AC, it doesn't need it. Although this series also has Nolan North starring. Everything about this game is spectacular. Althought the first time I played I got to about chapter 3 before I quit because I was tired of shooting games at the moment. I picked itWow. Assassin's Creed is one of my favorite games, but I feel that this might top that. Even though this doesn't have the free roam of AC, it doesn't need it. Although this series also has Nolan North starring. Everything about this game is spectacular. Althought the first time I played I got to about chapter 3 before I quit because I was tired of shooting games at the moment. I picked it back up and I am so impressed.

    Characters 10/10: Charming and entertaining characters that are very like able and unique.
    Story 9/10: nothing groundbreaking, but interesting enough and it is kept from being boring thinks to the characters.
    Gameplay 10/10: No where near as repetitive as first person shooters. Plus it has a platformer feel to it that keeps the gameplay fresh.
    Graphics 10/10: Some of the best graphics I have seen and this was in 2007!
    Replay Value 9/10: While I haven't beaten it yet, the game has multiple difficulty levels, and it has multiple treasures to find. Plus the game is so awesome anyway. Althought it wouldn't have that new and unique feeling playing it again, it would still be darn fun!

    Recommendation: Must Have. Any PS3 owner without this game needs to have it.
    Expand
  9. Nov 20, 2011
    9
    This game is the start of the best franchise in the history of the PS3. It is also the weakest of the games. That being said it is amazing. The game came out in 2007 and looks as good as something put out today. The first few chapters actually are slow and uninviting. After that it's nonstop action with the best voice-acting and cinematography ever displayed in a game series. It is just aThis game is the start of the best franchise in the history of the PS3. It is also the weakest of the games. That being said it is amazing. The game came out in 2007 and looks as good as something put out today. The first few chapters actually are slow and uninviting. After that it's nonstop action with the best voice-acting and cinematography ever displayed in a game series. It is just a campaign but there is so much fun you'll enjoy the whole ride. Expand
  10. May 30, 2012
    10
    Good game. I replaced my old PS3 recently and got Drake 3 bundled in with the console.So I also bought Drake 1 and 2 from the used shelf the same time. I think Drake 1 cost me £5, and its turned out to be one of the best £5 I've spent recently. I don't tend to like 3rd person games (too many bad camera angle experiences in the past) or puzzle games (too manyGood game. I replaced my old PS3 recently and got Drake 3 bundled in with the console.So I also bought Drake 1 and 2 from the used shelf the same time. I think Drake 1 cost me £5, and its turned out to be one of the best £5 I've spent recently. I don't tend to like 3rd person games (too many bad camera angle experiences in the past) or puzzle games (too many rubbush/illogical puzzle experiences), but Drake 1 is excellent. Its got and epic action storyline. Its got good graphics. Its got lots of combat (and enemies are intelligent). Its got climbing and jumping and camera angles that consistantly work. Its got logical puzzles that fit in with the flow of the game and story. All in all a really enjoyable game and im looking forward to playing Drake 2 and 3. Expand
  11. Mar 6, 2012
    10
    Great game! , I cant believe how some people gave this game such low scores! Its an AWESOME! game.. I recommend this game to every "REAL" gamer out there.
  12. Jun 13, 2012
    10
    After playing Uncharted 2 I felt like playing the Game that started the Tale...THIS game is very good,

    It's gameplay is way more shooting than in the sequel, but if you like uncharted's gameplay you will be even more satisfied than with the sequel, more shootouts and climbing, less location-change, are making this game very unique
  13. Nov 24, 2012
    10
    The game is great. I dont understand ppl talking about to skip this one or that there is too much shooting etc etc. Drake is fighting with goons of Roman and Eddy Raja so there must be quite a lot of shooting going as as everybody is racing for that treasure. The puzzles are fun though nothing head breaking. However this is first game of Noughty Dog on PS3 franchise so its sure its aintThe game is great. I dont understand ppl talking about to skip this one or that there is too much shooting etc etc. Drake is fighting with goons of Roman and Eddy Raja so there must be quite a lot of shooting going as as everybody is racing for that treasure. The puzzles are fun though nothing head breaking. However this is first game of Noughty Dog on PS3 franchise so its sure its aint perfect but deffinetly is very good piece of game code . The game is fast,nice,lot of exploring and shooting aswell as platform sections with climbing jumping swingin etc etc. Plus finding all the treasures is also nice challange. Preety easy to master for Platinum trophy though 2 or 3 thropies are preety hardcore :)

    All in All for me this game is just absolutely great and amazing and I definetly recomend every1 that want to start the adventure with Drake to start from the first game as its just a must have and must finish game in order to have 100% fun from other 2 parts of Drake's journey. Dont listen to trolls that says that the game is bad. The game is marvelous. Trust me and check it out. You wont regret a single minute sitting in front of TV and enjoying the spectacular adventure.
    Expand
  14. Oct 11, 2012
    10
    Wow. This game came out in 2007? When I realized that and that I had passed up on playing one of the prettiest games I have seen to date I could not have been more dumbfounded. I'll keep this one short as there is nothing to discuss that people haven't already. The adventuring aspect of the game was brilliant, and the set pieces mixed with the skybox was beautiful. I have not been thatWow. This game came out in 2007? When I realized that and that I had passed up on playing one of the prettiest games I have seen to date I could not have been more dumbfounded. I'll keep this one short as there is nothing to discuss that people haven't already. The adventuring aspect of the game was brilliant, and the set pieces mixed with the skybox was beautiful. I have not been that eager to get home and play a game in a very very long time. The only points I felt were annoying or weak were the combat situations which felt intrusive and the whole monster thing. The game had an almost realistic feel to it up till that point, but hey, what's the point of writing a story if you can't throw a little magic in it. I am truly enamored by this game and am excited to have dove into a series with a charismatic character like Nathan Drake. Expand
  15. Oct 30, 2012
    9
    Back then, i would have rated this game 9, right now, having played the 2 others uncharted, i would rate it 8. I keep my original 9 score since it was the feeling i had while i was playing this for the first time. Graphics were amazing, combat are great and the story is ok. What i hate though is that you cannot sneak on enemy. Most of the time you don't see anyone, you advance a little andBack then, i would have rated this game 9, right now, having played the 2 others uncharted, i would rate it 8. I keep my original 9 score since it was the feeling i had while i was playing this for the first time. Graphics were amazing, combat are great and the story is ok. What i hate though is that you cannot sneak on enemy. Most of the time you don't see anyone, you advance a little and BANG, 4 enemies going out of cover and shotting at you. There is no way to try to shoot enemies from a distance. Other than that, great game ! Expand
  16. Feb 16, 2013
    9
    The only gripe I have with this game is the sheer amount of shooting involved. Even when I think I've cleared an area, I see another batch of enemies drop down and start firing at me. It can get really annoying at times. Otherwise, this is an amazing game with a great story, great gameplay, great graphics; pretty much everything about it is astounding. It genuinely feels like I'm playing aThe only gripe I have with this game is the sheer amount of shooting involved. Even when I think I've cleared an area, I see another batch of enemies drop down and start firing at me. It can get really annoying at times. Otherwise, this is an amazing game with a great story, great gameplay, great graphics; pretty much everything about it is astounding. It genuinely feels like I'm playing a 2012 game. Would definitely recommend. Expand
  17. Dec 25, 2010
    9
    Drake's Fortune is a must play for many important reasons. The style and production values are through the roof, and revolutionize games in more than one way. With its graphics, characters, storyline and fast-paced gameplay oozing with gorgeous set pieces, it's hard to go wrong with Drake's first outing.
  18. Feb 27, 2012
    9
    A great game that has a very cinematic feel to it. While I was lost at some points of the game, it's all worth it for the excellent plot.
  19. Mar 18, 2013
    9
    You know, there are some flaws in this. Like the camera angles didn't always agree with me and the gameplay got a little repetitive but when there's a story that's this compelling, it compensates for it. The gameplay, though as I said repetitive, is remarkable. This is fun
  20. Oct 12, 2010
    9
    With its beautiful graphics, excellent voice acting, inspiring music, fantastic story and script, and amazing gameplay, Uncharted is excellent game for 2007.
  21. Oct 10, 2010
    9
    One great adventure game.
    Characters were interesting as well.
    No multiplayer mode, but the adventure sure was one hell of a ride.

    Gameplay wasn't that smooth that was all.
    Great game, 8.5/10.
  22. Oct 18, 2010
    9
    I think that Drakes Fortune is an excellent game, and one that has a lot to offer most gamers. There is plenty of problem solving, adventure and "bad guys" to shoot at to make most gamers happy. Overall, I would say this is a "must have" for most gamers' collections!
  23. Oct 14, 2010
    10
    Love it. If you agree with the Onion AV club you are a tool! Negative reviews are from people who cannot play video games.
    I like the fact that the control scheme is complete. There are a ton of possible moves and the bonus potential is great. The modifications to the game based on rewards is really nice too. I am looking forward to playing Uncharted 2!
  24. Oct 19, 2010
    9
    This is a great game. A must play for any true gamer. Has a very fluid cut-scene transition. Story - 9 : Graphics - 9 : Controls - 9 : Gameplay - 10
  25. Dec 23, 2011
    9
    Love the story, plot, pacing. For its time, my favorite game. I'd say a 10, but things have improved since then so much in its sequels. Either way, you owe it to yourself to checkout the first in the series as it is unique, and harder difficulty in crushing than UC2 and UC3.
  26. Jan 26, 2012
    9
    Great game, lots of action, good voice acting and most importantly, fun. The only problem are the grenade controls, but it doesn't ruin the experience.
  27. Jul 8, 2011
    9
    I got this game over a year ago and this game still pretty cool to this day. Naughty Dog has made one of their best games they've made. The story is amazing and the gameplay has a pretty cool mix of 3rd person shooting, platforming and puzzles. The graphics do look great and it still does today, but you'll notice that it's a bit dated after over 3 years. This is a stellar PS3 title andI got this game over a year ago and this game still pretty cool to this day. Naughty Dog has made one of their best games they've made. The story is amazing and the gameplay has a pretty cool mix of 3rd person shooting, platforming and puzzles. The graphics do look great and it still does today, but you'll notice that it's a bit dated after over 3 years. This is a stellar PS3 title and definitely check this game out! Expand
  28. Feb 8, 2011
    9
    I got this game with my PS3 when i brought it and it sat there for a few months gathering dust, Read a few good things online and decided to give it a crack. Well what a suprise i got, the best game i had played at the time. Graphically great with excellent characters and story. Playing this through a third time now.

    Recommend to everyone
  29. Aug 9, 2011
    9
    Tomb Raider meets Indiana Jones! I like the third person perspective for console games. (PC for first person) I am almost done with this one and have already purchased the second and pre-ordered the third. Graphics are good and action is challenging but not so much that it's frustrating. (I play on easy.) Great adventure game.
  30. Apr 3, 2011
    9
    i have fallen in love with another great game. i have yet to finish it but i am about half way through (i know this due to the fact that some people don't know how to check the spoiler box, JoeDeMaria!) and i am loving every second of game play, yes the AI is stupid but there are often many of them trying to shoot you at the same time that you have to be careful about when to shoot or elsei have fallen in love with another great game. i have yet to finish it but i am about half way through (i know this due to the fact that some people don't know how to check the spoiler box, JoeDeMaria!) and i am loving every second of game play, yes the AI is stupid but there are often many of them trying to shoot you at the same time that you have to be careful about when to shoot or else you may die. this game has wonderful graphics that are even good by todays standards and the voice acting is also pretty good with a little bit of humor every once and a while to make you smile. as well as the gameplay being top notch but the story is also very good and although i am sure there have been games like this that came out in the past there is none that i know of that have been made with such care and skill that is fun to play and keeps you entertained. i am so happy that this is a Playstation exclusive because it is one more thing that we have over the Xbox freaks and is a must buy no matter who you are or what type of games you like because this game has a bit of everything in it Expand
  31. Mar 22, 2011
    10
    Amazing. Stunning. Breathtaking. I just don't know where to start. Recently had just caving and buying myself a PS3, the first game I chose to pick up was Uncharted: Drake's Fortune. Was I ever spot on on choosing the most amazing single player game to date. I was captivated with the story, Nate's up's and downs, his wise-cracks, the emotion that drives the story. It's so well thought out,Amazing. Stunning. Breathtaking. I just don't know where to start. Recently had just caving and buying myself a PS3, the first game I chose to pick up was Uncharted: Drake's Fortune. Was I ever spot on on choosing the most amazing single player game to date. I was captivated with the story, Nate's up's and downs, his wise-cracks, the emotion that drives the story. It's so well thought out, and even better - is the way they put it all together.

    From the opening cinematic you are taken right into the combat methods, and shooting methods, and from there the climbing, running, jumping, aiming, shooting, the environment, everything, crystal clear, running so smoothly. I never thought a game could deliver on such a level.

    If you have a PS3, and you don't have this game, you are just missing out on one of the, if not the best game on the PS3 (maybe aside from Uncharted 2 :P)
    Expand
  32. Feb 22, 2012
    9
    Amazing graphics, excellent story, but movements of Nate were bit weird. And I would really appreciate, if there was option to turn off motion-controlled grenade throwing.
  33. Sep 10, 2011
    10
    I see a lot of people/critics that praise Uncharted 2 for being such an amazing game, and I realize that Uncharted 2 has an amazing cinematic feel and does all these other wonderful things with multiplayer, co-op, and all that other good stuff; but Uncharted is definitely in my top 10 games of all time list. I think me, at the time, I hadn't played anything like Uncharted, it didn'tI see a lot of people/critics that praise Uncharted 2 for being such an amazing game, and I realize that Uncharted 2 has an amazing cinematic feel and does all these other wonderful things with multiplayer, co-op, and all that other good stuff; but Uncharted is definitely in my top 10 games of all time list. I think me, at the time, I hadn't played anything like Uncharted, it didn't remind me to badly of Tomb Raider, and despite the mechanics slightly reminding me of Gears of War, I still felt like it was original in it's own way (which it is). I loved how the story was told, and unfolded because originally getting into the game, it just came with my PS3, I originally had no interest in it at all (I really followed through with getting my PS3 for MGS4). But after playing Uncharted through and through, on every difficulty and unlocking everything; Uncharted remains my favorite PS3 exclusive title... more than Uncharted 2. Expand
  34. May 16, 2011
    9
    Great game, dosent stand anywhere near the sequel though. First of all the gameplay, Uncharted is split between platforming, puzzling and shootout sections. The platforming is fun, especially when you are hanging from an edge with a mile long drop below you. The puzzles are fun but not too confusing so your stuck. Then theres the shooting which is cover based over the shoulder style and isGreat game, dosent stand anywhere near the sequel though. First of all the gameplay, Uncharted is split between platforming, puzzling and shootout sections. The platforming is fun, especially when you are hanging from an edge with a mile long drop below you. The puzzles are fun but not too confusing so your stuck. Then theres the shooting which is cover based over the shoulder style and is lots of fun. the graphics are very good, however are starting to show their age now. The story is extremely well told and feels more of a film then a game. Exiting gameplay and incredible story make this a must have for any PS3 owner, and get Uncharted 2 as well, its even better! Expand
  35. Jun 12, 2011
    9
    This game is great! Naughty Dog does is again and this time on PS3! (Yes, I'm a Jak and Daxter-fan). Nathan Drake is a lovable and funny character. The story is good, the environments are beautiful and feels alive. And I've never played a game like this, cause the characters are humans, I mean, they feel real, and it's easy to care about them. The graphics is amazing (2007) and it's justThis game is great! Naughty Dog does is again and this time on PS3! (Yes, I'm a Jak and Daxter-fan). Nathan Drake is a lovable and funny character. The story is good, the environments are beautiful and feels alive. And I've never played a game like this, cause the characters are humans, I mean, they feel real, and it's easy to care about them. The graphics is amazing (2007) and it's just fun to help Nathan Drake on his journey :) Expand
  36. Jun 16, 2011
    10
    great great great game , amazing characters, beautiful set pieces, and i love the platforming, the zombie were a wierd twist tho but It was a beautiful ride and this will be a classic years later.
  37. Aug 28, 2011
    9
    This game was fantastic. A story that was fun characters I felt for and overall just a blast to play. Pick this one up if you haven't already. You will not regret spending the money on it.
  38. Nov 1, 2011
    10
    Platforming is awesome, great adventure story , and awesome gameplay. I would recommend you get this game right away at your nearest game store or wherever you get your games
  39. Aug 25, 2011
    9
    Interesting characters, great story, pretty standard, nothing too fancy gameplay. Very cinematic, feels like a movie. Did not expect/like the plot twist, but still a great game.
  40. Nov 2, 2011
    9
    I wasn`t sure to this game till i started to play it... After running it and playing 10 min i started to love this game, graphic, humor, etc stand on very high level.. i`m really glad that i made myself to play this game and i really enjoy it. If u never played it.. u have to do it!
  41. Oct 4, 2011
    9
    Due to the critical acclaim this game has received, I was initially disappointed upon my first couple of plays because the game fails to do anything particularly innovative. It combines elements from various action adventure titles such as Gears of War, Prince of Persia and Tomb Raider. However, the more I played the more I appreciated the game, despite its lack of innovation. It not onlyDue to the critical acclaim this game has received, I was initially disappointed upon my first couple of plays because the game fails to do anything particularly innovative. It combines elements from various action adventure titles such as Gears of War, Prince of Persia and Tomb Raider. However, the more I played the more I appreciated the game, despite its lack of innovation. It not only borrows elements from past games, it perfects them. From the gun play to the platforming to the story telling, everything is executed flawlessly. It's ability to take these core designs and blend them so effortlessly is why I think this game deserves the critical acclaim it has received. Not to mention, that the game is just pure fun to play from start to finish. Expand
  42. Sep 18, 2011
    9
    This is the game where the Uncharted saga begins! It has several good weapons to use and a great storyline. This is one of Naughty Dog's best games ever made, so I would say that every PS3 owner should have this game.
  43. Oct 13, 2011
    9
    The must play action game on the PS3 and of 2007. This is a true action adventure game with amazing cinematics, great graphics, good cover system, intense shoot-outs, fantastic voice acting and an appealing story. However, the story is only up to 7 hours on normal difficulty, on crushing: 10 but there are treasures to collect to keep you busy for a few more days/weeks.
  44. Oct 26, 2011
    10
    6 days from release of uncharted 3 and im stuck playing the first two over and over until that amazing day comes, and both uncharted and uncharted 2 are amazing. This game started a series that will sure stay with us for a very long time. A sure contendor for one of the best games ever made!
  45. Oct 27, 2011
    10
    what a game!not great as uncharted 2 but it is beautiful,great graphics,story and fantastic characters,just beautiful..naughty dog always does fantastic games
  46. Feb 27, 2012
    10
    3rd Best game this gen (after Uncharted 2 , 3), its Very underrated too! I dont get how some people hate it, if you actually played the game you will know its one of the best adventure games this gen! I recommend it to everyone who like action/adventure games
  47. Nov 4, 2011
    9
    Uncharted: Drakes Fortune is awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! You should play this brilliant game before playing the sequels!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  48. Nov 7, 2011
    10
    awesomeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee
  49. Nov 9, 2011
    9
    Very very very good story. The enviornment is beautiful the voice acting and sound are great and it's just fun to play. Now, the gameplay it self is very...retroish and it can sometimes feel old and at times a bit akward but it'r really hard to fault this game on alot
  50. Nov 9, 2011
    10
    Haven't enjoyed an action/adventure game this much in a long time. Since I've played Uncharted, pulp action movies have not been as enjoyable as this game. While the controls are not as tight as some games, this is a great game for someone who only has a few hours a week to enjoy a video game and wants to make the most of their time.
  51. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    easily one of my favorite games on the ps3 to date. this games gripping single player experience has me totally excited for what the future installments in the series has to offer.
  52. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    Un jeu au top, datant de 2007 il écrase encore, en 2011 certains jeux qui sortent actuellement.
    Rien a redire, l'ambiance est génial je me suis cru là bas avec eux.
  53. Nov 19, 2014
    10
    I played this game like less then a year ago. I was a blast. I really enjoyed it. I bought the PS3 last black friday 2013 and got the game as well. Amazing graphics for such an old game. I havent moved on to the second game yet but I do own it. Im sad that my friends made me buy Xbox One so I wont get to play the newest one for quite some time. 10/10
  54. Nov 20, 2011
    9
    Drake's Fortune is an awesome game. Set with an awesome story that will have you waiting for the next moment, top notch graphics and gameplay and music that'll make you feel like Indiana Jones. The only problems I have with this game is at some points in the game, the pacing is bad. You find yourself just shooting down hoards of enemies after hoards of enemies. If the story wasn'tDrake's Fortune is an awesome game. Set with an awesome story that will have you waiting for the next moment, top notch graphics and gameplay and music that'll make you feel like Indiana Jones. The only problems I have with this game is at some points in the game, the pacing is bad. You find yourself just shooting down hoards of enemies after hoards of enemies. If the story wasn't interesting, this would be a serious problem. Also the game could have benefited greatly from a multiplayer mode. After beating the game, which is close to 10 hours long, your stuck with just replaying the story on a higher difficulty. If I were to give this game a rating it would get a 9.1. Expand
  55. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    I love this game! It is one of the best PS3 exclusives out there (of course, including further Uncharted series). When you finish the game, you'll come back and play it again!
  56. Nov 19, 2011
    10
    I loved this game. A really exciting experience and a really good history. Absolutely recommendable. You wont be dissapointed. Now I'm getting Uncharted 2 with high spectatives.
  57. Jan 3, 2012
    10
    Started the game, thought lots of adventure but it totally lacked adventure it seemed like its main focus was shooting like all games but overall it did have bits and pieces of adventure and a great storylne making you want to keep playing so you know what will happen next. The characters seem so real they have there own traits that kinda show who they are like Nathan Drake seems to have aStarted the game, thought lots of adventure but it totally lacked adventure it seemed like its main focus was shooting like all games but overall it did have bits and pieces of adventure and a great storylne making you want to keep playing so you know what will happen next. The characters seem so real they have there own traits that kinda show who they are like Nathan Drake seems to have a lot from Sir Francis Drake making him brave and wanting non stop adventure so overall this is a grat game and i have high hopes for uncharted 2. Expand
  58. Jan 10, 2012
    9
    Uncharted DF is a great game that starts off the Uncharted franchise and the story, graphics, controls and voice acting are all amazing. There are a few niggles I have, mostly owing to enemies being quite invulnerable to bullets and the platforming isn't as controlled as Uncharted 2 and 3, yet these are minor criticisms in the very enjoyable and action-packed game that lets you step intoUncharted DF is a great game that starts off the Uncharted franchise and the story, graphics, controls and voice acting are all amazing. There are a few niggles I have, mostly owing to enemies being quite invulnerable to bullets and the platforming isn't as controlled as Uncharted 2 and 3, yet these are minor criticisms in the very enjoyable and action-packed game that lets you step into the shoes of a treasure hunter! Expand
  59. Aug 5, 2012
    9
    Really awesome game, good graphics and and good game play. Although the story reminded me of the story of Jacky Chan's movie, but I guess it was still ok. Nothing much to say, but this game has everything that an action adventure game should have.
  60. Feb 17, 2012
    9
    The first game in the award-winning Uncharted series is definitely worth playing. It is not as fun as the 2nd game, but surely sets up enough Uncharted elements for new players to experience. My biggest problem with this game is the map environment. Some parts are so uninteresting I really wish to skip forward but couldn't; it felt like a duty to play through this game SO THAT I can startThe first game in the award-winning Uncharted series is definitely worth playing. It is not as fun as the 2nd game, but surely sets up enough Uncharted elements for new players to experience. My biggest problem with this game is the map environment. Some parts are so uninteresting I really wish to skip forward but couldn't; it felt like a duty to play through this game SO THAT I can start playing the 2nd one. Expand
  61. Feb 21, 2012
    10
    Gorgeous graphics and level design. Lots of variety with puzzles, shoot outs, vehicle chases. Great storyline and characters. A classic. an easy 10/10.
  62. Feb 29, 2012
    10
    playing through this game is one of the best experiences I've had with my ps3
  63. Dec 11, 2012
    9
    I have played all the uncharteds and have loved everyone of them. This one holds a place dear in my heart because I loved the spanish setting and forts, with the water and jungle, and the character and climbing was all new to me. I had a ps2 and not a good computer so games like half-life 2, doom 3, and far cry were showing me what I was missing. Well uncharted I remember looked like anI have played all the uncharteds and have loved everyone of them. This one holds a place dear in my heart because I loved the spanish setting and forts, with the water and jungle, and the character and climbing was all new to me. I had a ps2 and not a good computer so games like half-life 2, doom 3, and far cry were showing me what I was missing. Well uncharted I remember looked like an answer for me since I had eventual gotten to play half-life 2 and doom 3 but missed out on far cry, and this reminded me a lot of how it looked, not played. So I was already excited for it. It did not disappoint It has great moments and fun story and few twists some wonderful vistas, and it feels like a fun adventure. This is the one that started it all and it started it off with high expectations. Expand
  64. Jul 18, 2013
    9
    Ever wanted Indiana Jones in a video game? Then Uncharted: Drakes Fortune is your best shot.
    Nathan Drake, the so called descendant of the great explorer Sir Francis Drake finds the burial site of his ancestor and a map to the fabled treasure of El Dorado. This sets Drake, his money hungry best friend Victor Sullivan and TV reporter Elena Fisher on a journey to uncover the treasure and
    Ever wanted Indiana Jones in a video game? Then Uncharted: Drakes Fortune is your best shot.
    Nathan Drake, the so called descendant of the great explorer Sir Francis Drake finds the burial site of his ancestor and a map to the fabled treasure of El Dorado. This sets Drake, his money hungry best friend Victor Sullivan and TV reporter Elena Fisher on a journey to uncover the treasure and its dark past, but they aren't the only ones who want to find it.
    If a summer blockbuster could translate into a video game then Uncharted would be the product of that, a great character focused plot with some awesome cinematic techniques used.
    My only gripe with the game is that the final hour or so of the game is needlessly difficult and involves over reliance on backtracking.
    An amazing game that any PS3 owner should have
    Expand
  65. Jul 18, 2013
    10
    this is best game i ever played it like male version of lara croft only with humor the climbing finding hidden puzzle piece doing puzzle and action all awesome i like the tension between elena & drake it so funny
  66. May 8, 2012
    9
    This is why I bought a ps3.. Uncharted! A guy at work was going on and on in full detail about how awesome this game was. Sooo I did my homework, read reviews, watched videos, and finally knew this was the game for me. Got the ps3, uncharted, and a new flat screen tv.. Never looked back since. Graphics are top notch, voice acting, controls, gameplay.. All amazing. If you haven't yet BUY UNCHARTED!
  67. Oct 11, 2013
    9
    What is there to say about this game as well as the Uncharted series, well, it is arguably the greatest gaming series ever made to start. Uncharted: Drake's Fortune provided the ultimate stepping stone for this series to achieve greatest, it is perhaps my personal favorite out of the trilogy and was also the most amazing for its time as it was a launch title for the PS3.

    You play as
    What is there to say about this game as well as the Uncharted series, well, it is arguably the greatest gaming series ever made to start. Uncharted: Drake's Fortune provided the ultimate stepping stone for this series to achieve greatest, it is perhaps my personal favorite out of the trilogy and was also the most amazing for its time as it was a launch title for the PS3.

    You play as Nathan Drake, who is a descendant of the famous English sea captain Sir Francis Drake. He is essentially a treasure hunter of anything his ancestor was involved in and along with his best pal Victor 'Sully' Sullivan and Elena Fisher are lead towards a mysterious island with untold secrets. The action is amazing (and is enhanced further in the trilogy), it is a typical 3rd person shooter with basic weapons and standard cover system. It is easy to get used to and and is quickly enjoyable. An added bonus are the tricky for some puzzles that will get you thinking and may even force you for help online.

    But what makes this game along with its sequels stand out of the rest is the main character Nathan Drake. His is in my opinion the greatest protagonist in video game history. He is incredibly witty, coming out with hilarious one liners during the cutscenes. He is almost impossible to dislike as his intelligence for treasure hunting simply makes you go wow.

    Uncharted: Drake's Fortune ticks many boxes, great graphics, great gameplay, great story, great puzzles and an unsuspected twist.

    9/10
    Expand
  68. Jul 6, 2013
    9
    Uncharted series is great. The game play and story is outstanding, and Nathan Drake is one of my favorite video game characters of all time. Naughty Dog really did a fantastic job.
  69. 4DI
    Nov 13, 2012
    9
    This game probably has one of the coolest story telling elements i've seen in a long time. Sure it's a cliche' but it's a cliche' of it's own! Has some awesome action packed gameplay moments, and a handfull of memorable (original!) characters. This cinematic game has more than your average share of amazing moments.
    Yet this game isn't without it's flaws. The environments become a bit
    This game probably has one of the coolest story telling elements i've seen in a long time. Sure it's a cliche' but it's a cliche' of it's own! Has some awesome action packed gameplay moments, and a handfull of memorable (original!) characters. This cinematic game has more than your average share of amazing moments.
    Yet this game isn't without it's flaws. The environments become a bit repetitive at the beginning, but change as you progress. Also, your progression is delayed by difficulty bumps. The thing is that those delays are caused by the AI having a better hand (literally) enemies have the precision of baseball players when it comes to lobbing grenades! I kept on failing because of the damage caused by enemy attacks, a very few shots and you're a goner. I'm not bad at uncharted, but it seemed a bit unfair at some points. I was playing on normal BTW. There are a few other things I should mention about these bumps, but i wouldn't want to spoil anything.
    IN SHORT: Uncharted is an awesome,epic, and entertaining game that stays fresh all the way. you should not miss out on this fun!
    Expand
  70. Feb 2, 2014
    9
    I really like the Uncharted series and I have played the first one more than the others. For me there is something special about the whole series and especially the first game in the series. Technically Uncharted 2 was probably the best but I find it difficult to choose between them.

    So what do I like about it? Well it is a simple game really, you go down a pre-determined path or
    I really like the Uncharted series and I have played the first one more than the others. For me there is something special about the whole series and especially the first game in the series. Technically Uncharted 2 was probably the best but I find it difficult to choose between them.

    So what do I like about it? Well it is a simple game really, you go down a pre-determined path or storyline. The storyline therefore needs to be good and it is. The characters are great and are memorable, unlike so many other games out there. There are parts of exploration and some simple puzzles (the puzzles are too easy really as the game effectively tells you the answer), third person shooting etc. The game uses a cover system similar to Gears of War on the 360 if you have ever played that. Overall it all works well. I have to mention the graphics and scenery which create the whole atmosphere of this game. There are plenty of moments in the game where you will just take a moment to look at the scenery. Graphics for an early ps3 game are brilliant and the surroundings and scenery amazing at times. This all adds to the experience of what is one of the best ps3 games in my opinion.

    Reading some reviews, others seem to think this is the worst of Uncharted series of the ps3. The first game does not have any multiplayer and is solely the single player campaign. Personally I don't buy Uncharted to play online anyway so if it remained solely single player this would not have bothered me. Thankfully when they did introduce multiplayer for Uncharted 2 it did not detract from the single player experience at all.

    So what can I say bad (or what others could see as bad) about the game. Well it is nit picking as I obviously like the game overall. It is a "linear" game in that you follow the storyline and a set path. Don't expect an open world like GTA or Far Cry for example. This is not really a negative for me, as it works for this game. There are a few moments where Nate will fail to make a jump multiple times (one particular moment I am thinking of where you are swinging and jumping between ropes) which obviously can become frustrating. Nate can occasionally become stuck on the cover system or it will go into cover when you are attempting to roll etc, again nothing major. Towards the end of the game it kind of loses realism as you are fighting non-humans for the firs time. This was a negative for me as I generally like to keep an element of realism where possible.

    However this is a great game and Uncharted is a great series. All games in the series are among the best games on the ps3. Played this through multiple times and definitely one to keep in my collection. I only keep hold of the better games I play and this is certainly one of them.

    Overall I give 8.9/10 (rounded to 9/10)
    Expand
  71. Aug 2, 2013
    9
    Uncharted: Drake's Fortune 9/10.......................................................................................................................
  72. Dec 4, 2012
    9
    Beautiful Visuals and excellent action take this game to another level. Nathan is back!
    The game starts off with a bar brawl (a little different from the previous drake). When it comes time to tell the origin of Nathan Drake the game is at it's best. The story isn't the greatest, but sully, cutter and Elena all make for a great cast. While not as good as the previous the games strengths
    Beautiful Visuals and excellent action take this game to another level. Nathan is back!
    The game starts off with a bar brawl (a little different from the previous drake). When it comes time to tell the origin of Nathan Drake the game is at it's best. The story isn't the greatest, but sully, cutter and Elena all make for a great cast. While not as good as the previous the games strengths overcome it's shortcomings. A few shortcomings: The controls are not the best and the game has many pixel errors that it does become noticeable.
    The story lacks any true meaning, but is told through the support of Drake's friends. The game is extremely linear. There is just one way to attack, one way to go, and again, one way to attack. (of course there are multiple ways to attack, but you do it in a very linear fashion throughout the story line)
    Not many puzzles - I think i counted five. the game is mostly comprised of running, jumping and shooting. All else said this is definitely a great game, because of the extreme suspense and great character "influence". A must for anyone in Drakes long journey...
    Expand
  73. Dec 7, 2012
    9
    Interesting plot -- I mean, looking for ancient treasure is always interesting. Particularly when it's based on history; reminds me of Lara Croft and Tomb Raider. Nathan Drake is by far one of the top video game characters in my list. Throughout the game you can't help but feel like you are him or are at least connected to him. The game really does a good job with making you a part of theInteresting plot -- I mean, looking for ancient treasure is always interesting. Particularly when it's based on history; reminds me of Lara Croft and Tomb Raider. Nathan Drake is by far one of the top video game characters in my list. Throughout the game you can't help but feel like you are him or are at least connected to him. The game really does a good job with making you a part of the world as well, with its well-done environments and visuals. The camera is actually done pretty well too, at least for me, and the game mechanics are fantastic. There is an excellent amount of fighting mixed in with puzzles and parkour-ing around wherever you happened to be. Love this game! Expand
  74. Jun 28, 2013
    9
    This is a great game it is a little repetitive but the story is so awesome. Playing this game feels like a movie but the only thing keeping me from giving this game a 10 is the ending fight it pissed me off a lot but still a great game go and buy it, it's worth it.9.5/10
  75. Jan 22, 2013
    9
    If you like a advenure, action and shooter game you should buy this one! It looks a lot like Tomb Raider, except for the fact that you control a guy fascinated with treasures and things like that. The story and the characters are epic, even the villains. The places are totally amazing. Deep jungles, the forgotten fort, very realistic scenarios in a expansive, very, very big island. And aIf you like a advenure, action and shooter game you should buy this one! It looks a lot like Tomb Raider, except for the fact that you control a guy fascinated with treasures and things like that. The story and the characters are epic, even the villains. The places are totally amazing. Deep jungles, the forgotten fort, very realistic scenarios in a expansive, very, very big island. And a misterious treasure hidden. The graphics are incredible, but not so perfect because the game it's a bit old, it was developed when PlayStation 3 was "new" to everyone. I love this game, or I should say... the Uncharted series! Expand
  76. Nov 27, 2013
    9
    Uncharted was an honest-to-goodness thrill ride that felt very much like one of the Indiana Jones films. Though Uncharted came out in 2007, the graphics are still eye-catching and solid. Whether treading the dusty passages of an ancient Aztec temple or exploring dense jungles, the settings always carried a sense of realism. The story line was gripping, and the character animations andUncharted was an honest-to-goodness thrill ride that felt very much like one of the Indiana Jones films. Though Uncharted came out in 2007, the graphics are still eye-catching and solid. Whether treading the dusty passages of an ancient Aztec temple or exploring dense jungles, the settings always carried a sense of realism. The story line was gripping, and the character animations and voice acting both in game play and cut scenes left it feeling like a video game-movie hybrid. Expand
  77. Jun 7, 2013
    9
    This is really a great PS3 exclusive! its got a great story that will appeal to anyone who loves Indiana Jones. The graphics are absolutely stunning and I just can't wait to see what Naughty Dog is going to continue to do with this series!
  78. Apr 29, 2013
    9
    It definitely can get repetitive at times, but the gameplay is so mixed and well done that you can look past it really fast.
    The story is excellent you never feel like every objective that you're given is out of place or even predictable, wich is surprising since you're gonna be doing only two things in this game. (in terms of gameplay) one is of course shooting a lot of stuff since you
    It definitely can get repetitive at times, but the gameplay is so mixed and well done that you can look past it really fast.
    The story is excellent you never feel like every objective that you're given is out of place or even predictable, wich is surprising since you're gonna be doing only two things in this game. (in terms of gameplay) one is of course shooting a lot of stuff since you might have guessed it for the cover of the game and the second would be climbing a lot of stuff oh and resolving mini puzzles from time to time, even if this game mechanics may sound like they're not much, believe me they are so well done that you're not even going to notice how many of this are being used.
    Aside from that the story feels amazing the easiest way that i can compare how the story make me feel is probably comparing it to movies like Indiana Jones or James Bond 007, is just excellent you have all your elements, the cute girl that you can't wait to kiss at the end, your older extremely likable friend, the bad guy, and an even badder sidekick bad guy. What surprised me about this characters was just... well how important they were for the story at times they even felt more important that Drake himself.
    This is done by an amazing voice acting from everyone it just really adds a really cinematic style to it, having such wonderful voices in a game where the story and the gameplay is just beautiful.
    The only reason why im not rating this game a 10 is just because it can definitely become repetitive at times and the difficulty of the game is pretty unbalanced i mean normal just feels extremely difficult at times, luckily it can be changed at any time without any loading screens in the middle this was an amazing option that strangely enough not so many games till now have incorporated, but...
    In conclusion an amazing voice acting cast, beautiful stunning graphics, and a gorgeous combination of gameplay that so many games before had tried and have failed miserably with Uncharted: Drake's Fortune having so many good things done the right way i can just let this game get a lower score than nine.
    Buy this game now
    Expand
  79. Sep 14, 2014
    9
    Uncharted: Drake's Fortune is a really good game. The story is interesting as characters. Environments could have been a little more change, and the story could have been a bit longer. In any case, overall very good game, the atmosphere remains good all the time.

    If you like the story of the games, for this you definitely need to play.
  80. May 30, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is a fun third person shooter although it can be repetitive. You pretty much walk into an area and shoot 20 enemies. And it bothers me how Nate can get shot three times and walk it off, but its a video game so I guess I should stop complaining. The story was really interesting and at the end the story becomes friggin' I Am Legend because there are monsters trying to kill you and which was scary and fun. Overall, it was a great game. Expand
  81. Nov 17, 2013
    9
    Recommendation:
    A very well-written treasure hunt with better story than Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull.
    Pros: Story Characters Treasure Hunt Vehicle sequences Mixed: Graphic Combat Jumping Puzzles Negative: NOTHING Summary: EPIC (MUST PLAY!) First of all, this was one of the first games I borrowed from a friend when I got my PS3. I just thought:
    Recommendation:
    A very well-written treasure hunt with better story than Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull.

    Pros:
    Story
    Characters
    Treasure Hunt
    Vehicle sequences

    Mixed:
    Graphic
    Combat
    Jumping Puzzles

    Negative:
    NOTHING

    Summary: EPIC (MUST PLAY!)

    First of all, this was one of the first games I borrowed from a friend when I got my PS3. I just thought: "Worth a try, at least". I didn't really gave this game too much attention because I just didn't like the trailers much.
    Now, I loaded up the game. I first notice that the soundtrack is just absolutely amazing. I created my save, started playing.
    I noticed that the graphics are nice but not beautiful. (I think it was in 2007). However, in the first hour i really really got into this story, because i love Indiana Jones and treasure hunting.
    The story is incredibly well written, better than the last Indiana Jones movie. With an incredibly awesome main character, and the surprisingly well-written side characters its just great. The combat is actually a little bit hard sometimes, because of the not that great cover system... Other than these simple elements... there are a s*it ton of collectibles. Now these are awesome looking, golden or silver treasures which you can have a better look at the bonuses. Other great things, like vehicle sequences or jumping puzzles (this is quite a bit annoying sometimes) are also great.
    Well Done! MUST PLAY!
    Expand
  82. Jul 1, 2013
    9
    I will get right to the point with this. This is personally my favorite Uncharted title. Why? Mainly due to the story line. The story simply is Nathan Drake's search for El Dorado with his pal/mentor; Sullivan. It's basic but brilliant. The characters are well written and presented, the entire voice cast is perfect, Nolan North plays the and adventurous Drake beautifully.
    There are a few
    I will get right to the point with this. This is personally my favorite Uncharted title. Why? Mainly due to the story line. The story simply is Nathan Drake's search for El Dorado with his pal/mentor; Sullivan. It's basic but brilliant. The characters are well written and presented, the entire voice cast is perfect, Nolan North plays the and adventurous Drake beautifully.
    There are a few problems, mainly with the gameplay. Whilst the sequels seem to have fixed these issues, this is the title they originate from. Melee combat is simply a pain in Drakes Fortune, it requires a basic combo to knock down enemies but usually dissolves to 'Mash buttons until enemy is dead' whilst other enemies decide to shoot you like your body was a walking target.
    Aiming is another problem, the aiming in Drakes Fortune is very stiff, if you are trying to gun down an enemy from afar, managing to get the reticule to land on him will be very tricky and frustrating. Again, these are all issues fixed in the sequels but in Drakes Fortune they are clear and present.
    Also as this is an early PlayStation 3 title, the graphics are much to be desired and look extremely dated from the standard of graphics found in a PlayStation 3 title today, it has a colour problem where the green of the forest will be near overpowering and slightly sickly, the sun will also be too bright on the ground. I'm not complaining that this game is too colourful, in fact its one of the reasons I like it but it can be at times unrealistically colourful, so watch out for that.
    The reason I love this Uncharted is due to the story, while most people would tell you to simply get Uncharted 2/3, I recommend starting from the beginning of this fantastic trilogy and pick up Drakes Fortune. You won't regret it.
    Expand
  83. Mar 23, 2014
    9
    This Game Is..... AWESOME!, The Graphics Are Amazing, The Gameplay Is Fun, The Story Is Steady And Epic, The Characters Are Really Interesting (Except For Elena She's Annoying Because She Always Stands In My Way When I'm Shooting) All In All A Visionary Game And A Must Own For The PS3.
  84. Jul 18, 2013
    9
    This was the first PS3 game i ever played, and was completely blown away by the graphics. Its exceptional for the start of the PS3's life cycle.

    The story was very gripping, and i am a huge fan of solving mysteries and adventuring so i was totally hooked from the beginning. The interaction between each character is very interesting, especially the father-son relationship between sully
    This was the first PS3 game i ever played, and was completely blown away by the graphics. Its exceptional for the start of the PS3's life cycle.

    The story was very gripping, and i am a huge fan of solving mysteries and adventuring so i was totally hooked from the beginning. The interaction between each character is very interesting, especially the father-son relationship between sully and drake.

    The gameplay was a mix of platforming like the type in prince of persia series, 3rd person shooting, and some puzzle solving. It was an interesting blend of action-adventure gameplay, and it doesn't get boring. I played the whole game within two sittings; that's how good it was.

    I do have some gripes with the game. For instance there are unusual difficulty spikes within the game, which leads to multiple death and frustrating moments (I'm looking at you crushing difficulty lol). Also there's just an abundance of enemy spawning, and sometimes you get bored with the endless waves of enemies who are bullet sponges later on in the game. Also not a fan of the six axis motion control for moving through logs. Finally my main problem is the fricking quick time events, especially the quicktime event final boss. This guy was a dick on crushing, and its just not needed in this other wise awesome game. Definitely needed a better boss.

    All in all this is a system defining game for the PS3. To people who read this, you will definitely have fun with the game. If you aren't gonna buy it then atleast rent it once for a single playthrough, the story definitely needs to be experienced once.

    Naughty Dog deserves all the praise they get, as they are a top notch studio
    Expand
  85. Aug 16, 2013
    9
    This is definitely one of the best games on PS3. Great story, gameplay and graphics. Even though it's quite old now, it's still a great game, and everyone should try it out at some point!
  86. Sep 25, 2013
    9
    The game is an overall great experience. the shooting works well, the story is interesting, the graphics are great and the gameplay is really fun. there's many things to be fixed, but has a really good potential.
  87. Sep 28, 2013
    9
    Este es solo el comienzo de las aventuras de Nathan Drake, pues Naughty Dog, mi compañía favorita, hace bien al realizar "Uncharted: Drake's Fortune", aunque es muy criticable el escaso lugar para investigar y desplazarse, lo compensa con una aventura increíble nunca antes vivida reviviendo el estilo cinematográfico de películas de aventuras de los años 80' tal como es la saga de "IndianaEste es solo el comienzo de las aventuras de Nathan Drake, pues Naughty Dog, mi compañía favorita, hace bien al realizar "Uncharted: Drake's Fortune", aunque es muy criticable el escaso lugar para investigar y desplazarse, lo compensa con una aventura increíble nunca antes vivida reviviendo el estilo cinematográfico de películas de aventuras de los años 80' tal como es la saga de "Indiana Jones". Gran título. Expand
  88. Nov 21, 2013
    9
    this is absolutely a terrific game and one of the best exclusive games of the playstation 3 ever released,it only problem is that is too small and there is no time to apreciate it.
  89. Nov 9, 2013
    10
    What can I say, bought a PS3, heard that Uncharted 2's a good game, bought this on sale. It ended up being the best thing I've played on the PS3. This game makes the most of Indiana Jones and Lara Croft combined, having you mow down pirates, solve intricate puzzles (ok, not really) and leap from pipe to pipe or search vaults of an abandoned Spanish colony. The story is perfect, theWhat can I say, bought a PS3, heard that Uncharted 2's a good game, bought this on sale. It ended up being the best thing I've played on the PS3. This game makes the most of Indiana Jones and Lara Croft combined, having you mow down pirates, solve intricate puzzles (ok, not really) and leap from pipe to pipe or search vaults of an abandoned Spanish colony. The story is perfect, the characters are extremely likeable and the gameplay is decent too, what more can one ask for? Expand
  90. Nov 10, 2013
    10
    first off naughty dog i love you and you and insomniac are the only reasons the playstation is relevant now to the game perfect great story great game play i'm sorry no matter how much of a hardcore gamer you are you do not expect the ending
  91. Dec 3, 2013
    9
    When I first got my PS3 I was initially disappointed by the lack of games I could play. At the time I was only interested in sports games, and MLB The Show quickly grew tiresome after a week. My console came with a bundle, featuring a strange game called Uncharted: Drake's Fortune. With nothing else to do, I inserted the game and decided to see what happens. For 12 hours my mind was blown,When I first got my PS3 I was initially disappointed by the lack of games I could play. At the time I was only interested in sports games, and MLB The Show quickly grew tiresome after a week. My console came with a bundle, featuring a strange game called Uncharted: Drake's Fortune. With nothing else to do, I inserted the game and decided to see what happens. For 12 hours my mind was blown, and I continued to play the game over three times in a row just to relive some of its epic moments. This was the first PS3 game that really left an impact on me, and still holds up today alongside its gigantic sequels.
    The story is reminiscent of an Indiana Jones movie. Fortune hunter Nathan Drake is on the search of the coffin of his supposed ancestor Sir Francis Drake, with the funds of journalist Elena Fisher. Things soon turn sour as pirates sabotage their journey to find El Dorado, the fabled treasure referenced in Drake's journal. After betrayals and gunfights, Nate and Elena end up separated on a lost island full of cutthroat pirates and thieves, and Nate goes on a perilous journey to get her back and escape the clutches of his rival fortune hunters. The closer he gets to gold, however, he realizes that Drake's treasure isn't all what it seems, and the secrets of the island perhaps were better left buried.
    The story is a thrill ride from start to finish, featuring lush and vibrant environments to explore and flawless voice work from Nolan North and Emily Rose. On top of that, all the characters, from the relatable lead to his cigar-smoking mentor Victor Sullivan, are complex characters whose actions feel real. The more you play the game, the more you bond with Nate and Elena and the more you are concerned when they are faced with extreme peril. The gameplay also shines, featuring climbing mechanics and third person shooting reminiscent of the Lara Croft series, polished to near perfection. The game feels great to play, whether you're gunning down enemies in a truck racing through the jungle or trying to maneuver your way up a rock wall, dangling hundreds of feet above a rocky surface. As if this all weren't enough, the soundtrack and atmosphere are phenomenal, with Greg Edmonson providing the score for the game. One of my favorite moments in the entire trilogy was just taking a moment between gunfights to stare out at the sunset, as a beautiful jungle-like orchestra played in the background. This is one of my few moments of pure gaming bliss, one that is nearly impossible to recreate.
    The game does falter in some areas. There is very limited ammo in the game, which does provide a nice challenge but also occasionally poses insurmountable challenges. Since the enemies come in hordes, the gameplay does feel formulaic and overwhelming at times. Also some of the gameplay does feel stiff during some climbing segments and gunfights, leading to several frustrating deaths as you try to navigate up walls and swing from building to building. One scene in the game I had to replay five times in a row not because of the enemies, but just because the lag in the jumping caused me to die during the same leap each time.
    Despite all this, Uncharted: Drake's Fortune is a fantastic game that appeals to my inner adventurer through death-defying leaps, a riveting Indiana Jones-esque story, and my favorite video game protagonist of all time. Despite a few hiccups in gameplay, the game is virtually flawless. The world is beautiful and full of secrets to find, making everything seem like a realistic uncharted island. The characters are memorable and the acting is truly unbelievable, making the player really feel attached to each unique personality the game has to throw at you.
    Drake's motto engraved on his ring says "Sic parvis magna", which means "Greatness from small beginnings."
    When referring to this PS3 masterpiece, as well as the entire Uncharted franchise as a whole, I couldn't agree more.

    9.4/10

    Follow me on twitter. @cbeers2513
    Expand
  92. Jan 3, 2014
    9
    Definitely not one of the best games on the PS3, but one of the better. Creative storytelling and amazing design have this story fit out. The graphics are sharp and make the jungles come to life, and the movements of people are also amazing. Voicing acting did an outstanding job, and Nolan North may be one of the best voice actors. There is no online play, but trophies may keep youDefinitely not one of the best games on the PS3, but one of the better. Creative storytelling and amazing design have this story fit out. The graphics are sharp and make the jungles come to life, and the movements of people are also amazing. Voicing acting did an outstanding job, and Nolan North may be one of the best voice actors. There is no online play, but trophies may keep you playing. After the campaign though, there is really nothing left to do. Overall Naughty Dog showed they could bring that slickness from the PS2 to the PS3. This Game is Superb. Expand
  93. Dec 31, 2013
    9
    This is one of those simply enjoyable games. It feels like you're pushing a good movie forward. I liked the environment and the characters were fun. I took away one score because of the short time play. Man the game ends a little too soon. But thankfully, you will still be left with a positive experience after the game. Very eager to play the sequels.
  94. Jan 19, 2014
    9
    The start to possibly my second favorite series behind The Legend of Zelda. Great story, great gameplay, great writing, and amazing cinematics. Some really memorable moments, and characters overall 9/10.
  95. Mar 21, 2014
    10
    One of the best games ever. Exciting, thrilling, heart-racing and incredibly funny. There is never a dull moment in the story narrative. Each character is well thought-out and the writing is very good. But i wish they had given an option to use stealth at least in some situations. But it does not affect the gaming experience in any way.
  96. Jul 11, 2014
    9
    AMAZING GAME, but slightly not as good as Uncharted 3. This game has great locations and graphics, and the two combined provide a great gaming experience. The game also has very like able characters. You won't get bored even after finishing it 3-4 times. Only problem is that it is a bit too difficult - especially on Hard, and Crushing difficulties.
  97. Nov 3, 2014
    9
    Fue el mejor juego de PS3 en sus inicios y a día de hoy sigue siendo uno de los mejores. Una aventura muy divertida con una buena trama, con un protagonista genial y unos secundarios a la altura y todo con unos gráficos muy buenos que, aunque hayan sido superados por sus secuelas, marcó una diferencia entre lo que podíamos ver en una PS2 y una PS3. Imprescindible si se tiene PS3.
  98. Aug 8, 2014
    9
    Drake's Fortune is hard, but rewarding and fun. It's basically parkour meets guns meets Nathan Drake. Nolan North does a great job as always. A must-play classic.
  99. Oct 19, 2014
    9
    A very entertaining game. Not always perfect in the gameplay, but very good with the story and characters. It is actually good that this one was not as memorable as the other games because it made U2 all the more perfect.
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 66 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 66
  2. Negative: 0 out of 66
  1. 91
    The final sum is far greater than the individual parts. Maybe you don't dig the combat or maybe the pop-in gets you down, but the overall package of an endearing story, outstanding score, great performances and fun gameplay should put this title on the top of your holiday wishlist.
  2. 90
    This game is one of the most immersive gaming experiences I've had this year, and it's definitely a great reason to own a PS3. The mix of platforming and gunplay worked really well and left me craving the next title in the series.
  3. By starting with a great control and camera system, building on that with excellent combat and a wonderful spin on Ico's platform adventuring, and then topping it off with a decent storyline, Naughty Dog has cooked up one of the most relentlessly entertaining, fat-free games to emerge in ages. Topped off with the most stunning use of the PS3's underused technical prowess yet, Uncharted: Drake's Fortune is, for my money, the first must-have PlayStation 3 title.