Uncharted: Drake's Fortune PlayStation 3

  • Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Uncharted: Drake's Fortune Image
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 66 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2348 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: A 400-year-old clue in the coffin of Sir Francis Drake sets a modern-day fortune hunter on an exploration for the fabled treasure of El Dorado, leading to the discovery of a forgotten island in the middle of the Pacific Ocean. The search turns deadly when Nathan Drake becomes stranded on theA 400-year-old clue in the coffin of Sir Francis Drake sets a modern-day fortune hunter on an exploration for the fabled treasure of El Dorado, leading to the discovery of a forgotten island in the middle of the Pacific Ocean. The search turns deadly when Nathan Drake becomes stranded on the island and hunted by mercenaries. Outnumbered and outgunned, Drake and his companions must fight to survive as they begin to unravel the terrible secrets hidden on the Island. Using maps and ancient artifacts, uncover clues and unravel mysteries to find a forgotten island and a treasure that was thought to have never existed. Explore exotic locations. Traverse through living jungles and spectacular 400-year-old ruins. Drake's companions and allies play an important role in the adventure through cooperative mechanics, gun play and exploration. Experience fast-paced gunplay: use a variety of environmental elements for cover, shoot enemies off of moving vehicles in high speed chases and more. Use an array of hand-to-hand fighting moves to put your enemy off balance. Anything from wild haymaker punches to running drop-kicks. Naughty Dog's advanced animation techniques allow Nathan to switch seamlessly between movements and achieve a whole new level of believability in gameplay. Nathan can reload his weapon while dodging bullets and find cover behind a wall, all in one smooth natural motion. [SCEA] Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 66
  2. Negative: 0 out of 66
  1. Play Magazine
    100
    Naughty Dog use the PS3 to reinvigorate the adventure gaming experience, combining key elements that every gamer holds dear in a game that looks and feels like a blockbuster film. [Dec 2007, p.52]
  2. 93
    Uncharted is the best game Naughty Dog has ever crafted.
  3. Uncharted is a tremendously fun game and one of the best gaming experiences of the year. While it borrows heavily from other games in the market it's such a nice and diverse game that it's hard to find much fault with.
  4. We could actually say that Drake is the male version of Lara Croft, a good prediction to the beginning of a franchise that could be very interesting.
  5. PSM3 Magazine UK
    89
    Uniquely entertaining, if cliched at times. [Jan 2008, p.60]
  6. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    85
    Everything's fun and exhilarating, but it never builds to more than the sum of its parts. Just keep your expectations in the right place, and you'll enjoy your time in the tropical sun. [Holiday 2007, p.76]
  7. Problem is, when it comes to movie-style storytelling, Uncharted is more "Sahara" than "Raiders Of The Lost Ark."

See all 66 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 28 out of 464
  1. PS3RO
    Nov 19, 2007
    10
    This game is a diamond in the rough that is the PS3 game lineup. This one actually delivers on what it promised, unlike Heavenly Sword andThis game is a diamond in the rough that is the PS3 game lineup. This one actually delivers on what it promised, unlike Heavenly Sword and Lair. Best graphics I have ever seen in a game and as fun as watching a supermodel on a trampoline. BUY THIS GAME because the PS3 is now a contender! Expand
  2. MohammadA
    Mar 9, 2009
    10
    I am 26 and own a PS3 and 360. This game is amazing. Amazing graphics, amazing gameplay and a lot of suspense. I played it twice and would I am 26 and own a PS3 and 360. This game is amazing. Amazing graphics, amazing gameplay and a lot of suspense. I played it twice and would play it a third time if there weren't other titles out there to play. It made definitely made my PS3 purchase. Expand
  3. Sep 1, 2010
    10
    man i love this game, fantastic story, awesome platforming reminds me of prince of Persia climbing walls game and that's cool, the game playman i love this game, fantastic story, awesome platforming reminds me of prince of Persia climbing walls game and that's cool, the game play is great, i didn't like the AI though, it seems like its dumb as hell you know exactly when to shoot before the enemy does lol Expand
  4. CP.
    Oct 22, 2008
    9
    An excellent game and much maligned by the critics. I thought the game was what Tomb Raider should have been and I feel in years to come this An excellent game and much maligned by the critics. I thought the game was what Tomb Raider should have been and I feel in years to come this will turn into a series and eventually abolish Tomb Raider. What lets the game down in the end is its lack of replay value but a thoroughly decent PS3 exclusive and is an essential purchase. Expand
  5. Feb 9, 2015
    8
    A little frustrating game, but it's still a very good looker (considering it is 2007) and has a simple yet entertaining gameplay. It's not aA little frustrating game, but it's still a very good looker (considering it is 2007) and has a simple yet entertaining gameplay. It's not a masterpiece at all, however, and it is far behind both Uncharted 2 and 3. Expand
  6. ChanseW.
    Jun 27, 2008
    8
    Despite some of the jarring comments located in this forum, Uncharted does garner a look by those interested in a solid action/adventure Despite some of the jarring comments located in this forum, Uncharted does garner a look by those interested in a solid action/adventure title. The men and women at Naughty Dog have retained their knack for solid controls as well as beautiful graphics while still enveloping the player in a tropical treasure hunt. While sometimes battles can get tedious it never becomes a chore. Furthermore, the solid grappling/climbing mechanic (somewhat reminiscent of Assassin's Creed), is cause for some 'wow' moments. Voice acting and cutscenes are well done, leading to that great summer movie feel, and Nathan Drake seems like a character that could go places. Puzzles are few and far between, and when they are encountered prove to not be quite difficult (it has to be mentioned though that this was not made to be a Riven or Myst...it's made to be filled with action). Overall a good game that has a few flaws, but is certainly worth the money and time. Expand
  7. DevinH.
    Dec 16, 2007
    0
    I think this game is really around a 3 but I'm giving it a 0 because of the overblown reviews giving this game a 9 to 10 out of 10. If I I think this game is really around a 3 but I'm giving it a 0 because of the overblown reviews giving this game a 9 to 10 out of 10. If I was a desperate shoot-em up finatic that has no friends and no life and enjoyed playing a terrible mix of generic crap stolen from far better games over and over again just to collect the horrible substitutes of 360 achievements with nice graphics with a poorly done attempt at making the protangonist an everyday hero to try and standout from the other 100,000 shoot-em up games made this year (such as the legendary bioshock) than i would give this game an 8 out of 10. But then that's why there are so many poor shooting games out there, because any reviewer or gamer who would give this game above a 7 out of 10 has just been played and will keep getting played by other poorly made shooting games until they pull their head out of their arse and figure out what is going on. Expand

See all 464 User Reviews

Trailers