• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Uncharted: Drake's Fortune Image
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 66 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2500 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: A 400-year-old clue in the coffin of Sir Francis Drake sets a modern-day fortune hunter on an exploration for the fabled treasure of El Dorado, leading to the discovery of a forgotten island in the middle of the Pacific Ocean. The search turns deadly when Nathan Drake becomes stranded on theA 400-year-old clue in the coffin of Sir Francis Drake sets a modern-day fortune hunter on an exploration for the fabled treasure of El Dorado, leading to the discovery of a forgotten island in the middle of the Pacific Ocean. The search turns deadly when Nathan Drake becomes stranded on the island and hunted by mercenaries. Outnumbered and outgunned, Drake and his companions must fight to survive as they begin to unravel the terrible secrets hidden on the Island. Using maps and ancient artifacts, uncover clues and unravel mysteries to find a forgotten island and a treasure that was thought to have never existed. Explore exotic locations. Traverse through living jungles and spectacular 400-year-old ruins. Drake's companions and allies play an important role in the adventure through cooperative mechanics, gun play and exploration. Experience fast-paced gunplay: use a variety of environmental elements for cover, shoot enemies off of moving vehicles in high speed chases and more. Use an array of hand-to-hand fighting moves to put your enemy off balance. Anything from wild haymaker punches to running drop-kicks. Naughty Dog's advanced animation techniques allow Nathan to switch seamlessly between movements and achieve a whole new level of believability in gameplay. Nathan can reload his weapon while dodging bullets and find cover behind a wall, all in one smooth natural motion. [SCEA] Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Uncharted PS4 Teaser Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 66
  2. Negative: 0 out of 66
  1. Play Magazine
    100
    Naughty Dog use the PS3 to reinvigorate the adventure gaming experience, combining key elements that every gamer holds dear in a game that looks and feels like a blockbuster film. [Dec 2007, p.52]
  2. 93
    Uncharted is the best game Naughty Dog has ever crafted.
  3. Uncharted is a tremendously fun game and one of the best gaming experiences of the year. While it borrows heavily from other games in the market it's such a nice and diverse game that it's hard to find much fault with.
  4. We could actually say that Drake is the male version of Lara Croft, a good prediction to the beginning of a franchise that could be very interesting.
  5. PSM3 Magazine UK
    89
    Uniquely entertaining, if cliched at times. [Jan 2008, p.60]
  6. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    85
    Everything's fun and exhilarating, but it never builds to more than the sum of its parts. Just keep your expectations in the right place, and you'll enjoy your time in the tropical sun. [Holiday 2007, p.76]
  7. Problem is, when it comes to movie-style storytelling, Uncharted is more "Sahara" than "Raiders Of The Lost Ark."

See all 66 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 28 out of 484
  1. NickSisneros
    Nov 18, 2007
    10
    This is the first single player game that I've actually played through 4 times in a row for new unlockables that make the game fun. ItThis is the first single player game that I've actually played through 4 times in a row for new unlockables that make the game fun. It takes me back to when Perfect dark had time limits set for cheats, but this time its attached to certain limits in killing and collecting hidden treasures.

    The one thing I like the most is that there is only 1 load screen for the entire game. (You can skip any little cutscene and you are already playing the next level without running into a load screen; Sure you may see textures load after skipping the cut scene but, it makes it a whole lot more fun to play it through.)

    the mechanics of the game feel like a simplified version of Tomb Raider and Prince of Persia, however you aren't sweating each jump to time it correctly or hitting a certain button to perform an action. you just run n' jump. Yes it is that simple, but very fun.

    The [cheats] you gain for your efforts makes the game more fun to play a second time.

    Overall this game next to Ratchet really "takes the cake."
    Expand
  2. YngveL
    Dec 2, 2008
    10
    In my opinion perfectly polished graphics, story and gameplay. Though the game is only 8-10h long, there isn't a single second of those In my opinion perfectly polished graphics, story and gameplay. Though the game is only 8-10h long, there isn't a single second of those hours where I didn't sit with a big smile on my face. Replay value is huge as well. Easily one of the top ten games I've ever played. Expand
  3. Sep 1, 2010
    10
    man i love this game, fantastic story, awesome platforming reminds me of prince of Persia climbing walls game and that's cool, the game playman i love this game, fantastic story, awesome platforming reminds me of prince of Persia climbing walls game and that's cool, the game play is great, i didn't like the AI though, it seems like its dumb as hell you know exactly when to shoot before the enemy does lol Expand
  4. MsediW.
    Jul 1, 2008
    9
    This game was great. Its a box of surprises especially towards the end. Next to a stunning game is the amazing storyline. This should be This game was great. Its a box of surprises especially towards the end. Next to a stunning game is the amazing storyline. This should be written into the PS3's History Books because it shows many reasons on why to get a PS3. It is quite short though. Thats why I give it a nine. A game like this should be longer. No doubt, its great and hopefully the sequel will come very soon. Expand
  5. Jun 21, 2015
    8
    UC2 is one of my favorite games ever. I played it before I played Uncharted Drake's fortune, so naturally this game was a big setback for meUC2 is one of my favorite games ever. I played it before I played Uncharted Drake's fortune, so naturally this game was a big setback for me gameplay wise. The story and setting is great as it always is in the Uncharted games. Music is also wonderful. And don't even get me started with the voice acting.

    There is one part in the game that completely changes from an action/adventure game to a horror game. That part was extremely frightening and that is always cool to see. Scary bits in other games than horror games that are actually scarier than most horror games are always great.

    One big minus that I really didn't care for was the blood-splatter that came out of the enemies whenever I hit them with bullets. It was too corny and unrealistic for my taste.
    Expand
  6. Dec 27, 2012
    7
    Unfortunately as many other players I played Uncharted 2 first so I did feel the difference between both games and I agree with other criticsUnfortunately as many other players I played Uncharted 2 first so I did feel the difference between both games and I agree with other critics the number of enemies in this game it's ridiculous, and they can get a lot of damage but they just wont go down. But don't get me wrong this is definitely one of the best Adventure video game in the PS3 history. Expand
  7. DevinH.
    Dec 16, 2007
    0
    I think this game is really around a 3 but I'm giving it a 0 because of the overblown reviews giving this game a 9 to 10 out of 10. If I I think this game is really around a 3 but I'm giving it a 0 because of the overblown reviews giving this game a 9 to 10 out of 10. If I was a desperate shoot-em up finatic that has no friends and no life and enjoyed playing a terrible mix of generic crap stolen from far better games over and over again just to collect the horrible substitutes of 360 achievements with nice graphics with a poorly done attempt at making the protangonist an everyday hero to try and standout from the other 100,000 shoot-em up games made this year (such as the legendary bioshock) than i would give this game an 8 out of 10. But then that's why there are so many poor shooting games out there, because any reviewer or gamer who would give this game above a 7 out of 10 has just been played and will keep getting played by other poorly made shooting games until they pull their head out of their arse and figure out what is going on. Expand

See all 484 User Reviews

Trailers