Uncharted: Drake's Fortune PlayStation 3

  • Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Uncharted: Drake's Fortune Image
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 66 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2442 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: A 400-year-old clue in the coffin of Sir Francis Drake sets a modern-day fortune hunter on an exploration for the fabled treasure of El Dorado, leading to the discovery of a forgotten island in the middle of the Pacific Ocean. The search turns deadly when Nathan Drake becomes stranded on theA 400-year-old clue in the coffin of Sir Francis Drake sets a modern-day fortune hunter on an exploration for the fabled treasure of El Dorado, leading to the discovery of a forgotten island in the middle of the Pacific Ocean. The search turns deadly when Nathan Drake becomes stranded on the island and hunted by mercenaries. Outnumbered and outgunned, Drake and his companions must fight to survive as they begin to unravel the terrible secrets hidden on the Island. Using maps and ancient artifacts, uncover clues and unravel mysteries to find a forgotten island and a treasure that was thought to have never existed. Explore exotic locations. Traverse through living jungles and spectacular 400-year-old ruins. Drake's companions and allies play an important role in the adventure through cooperative mechanics, gun play and exploration. Experience fast-paced gunplay: use a variety of environmental elements for cover, shoot enemies off of moving vehicles in high speed chases and more. Use an array of hand-to-hand fighting moves to put your enemy off balance. Anything from wild haymaker punches to running drop-kicks. Naughty Dog's advanced animation techniques allow Nathan to switch seamlessly between movements and achieve a whole new level of believability in gameplay. Nathan can reload his weapon while dodging bullets and find cover behind a wall, all in one smooth natural motion. [SCEA] Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Uncharted PS4 Teaser Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 66
  2. Negative: 0 out of 66
  1. Play Magazine
    100
    Naughty Dog use the PS3 to reinvigorate the adventure gaming experience, combining key elements that every gamer holds dear in a game that looks and feels like a blockbuster film. [Dec 2007, p.52]
  2. 93
    Uncharted is the best game Naughty Dog has ever crafted.
  3. Uncharted is a tremendously fun game and one of the best gaming experiences of the year. While it borrows heavily from other games in the market it's such a nice and diverse game that it's hard to find much fault with.
  4. We could actually say that Drake is the male version of Lara Croft, a good prediction to the beginning of a franchise that could be very interesting.
  5. PSM3 Magazine UK
    89
    Uniquely entertaining, if cliched at times. [Jan 2008, p.60]
  6. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    85
    Everything's fun and exhilarating, but it never builds to more than the sum of its parts. Just keep your expectations in the right place, and you'll enjoy your time in the tropical sun. [Holiday 2007, p.76]
  7. Problem is, when it comes to movie-style storytelling, Uncharted is more "Sahara" than "Raiders Of The Lost Ark."

See all 66 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 28 out of 474
  1. NickSisneros
    Nov 18, 2007
    10
    This is the first single player game that I've actually played through 4 times in a row for new unlockables that make the game fun. ItThis is the first single player game that I've actually played through 4 times in a row for new unlockables that make the game fun. It takes me back to when Perfect dark had time limits set for cheats, but this time its attached to certain limits in killing and collecting hidden treasures.

    The one thing I like the most is that there is only 1 load screen for the entire game. (You can skip any little cutscene and you are already playing the next level without running into a load screen; Sure you may see textures load after skipping the cut scene but, it makes it a whole lot more fun to play it through.)

    the mechanics of the game feel like a simplified version of Tomb Raider and Prince of Persia, however you aren't sweating each jump to time it correctly or hitting a certain button to perform an action. you just run n' jump. Yes it is that simple, but very fun.

    The [cheats] you gain for your efforts makes the game more fun to play a second time.

    Overall this game next to Ratchet really "takes the cake."
    Expand
  2. ps3guy
    Aug 20, 2008
    10
    Really cool game with great graphics and fun gameplay with all the puzzle solving took me about a week to beat so you could rent it if you Really cool game with great graphics and fun gameplay with all the puzzle solving took me about a week to beat so you could rent it if you played it a lot and is definately one of the ps3's best games. Expand
  3. Sep 1, 2010
    10
    man i love this game, fantastic story, awesome platforming reminds me of prince of Persia climbing walls game and that's cool, the game playman i love this game, fantastic story, awesome platforming reminds me of prince of Persia climbing walls game and that's cool, the game play is great, i didn't like the AI though, it seems like its dumb as hell you know exactly when to shoot before the enemy does lol Expand
  4. JamesW.
    Jul 23, 2008
    9
    Great action game, but not without drawbacks. Replay value is limited, and the gunplay can get a bit repetitive.
  5. Oct 21, 2015
    8
    I played this game on ps3 this summer, 2015 this first time. the graphic is surprisingly decent given how old the game is. the gameplay isI played this game on ps3 this summer, 2015 this first time. the graphic is surprisingly decent given how old the game is. the gameplay is also decent. the seeds are planted in this game which lead to the amazing uncharted 2. all in all it is a decent game Expand
  6. AdamA.
    Nov 25, 2007
    8
    To put it bluntly, this game is beautiful. To the thundering waterfalls and ancient fortresses you adventure through, to the subtle way the To put it bluntly, this game is beautiful. To the thundering waterfalls and ancient fortresses you adventure through, to the subtle way the fabric of Drake's shirt shifts as he runs, your eyes are in for a visual feast that runs at a constant, smooth framerate even when the action heats up. The extensive motion capture work Naughty Dog used on this title is evident in the way Drake an Co. move and interact with the environment, adding a level of immersion that goes overlooked in most games. However, in their quest to strike a balance between response time and character movement, the developers seem to have missed the mark. Platforming movements aren't seamless and tend to be too rapid to be believable, making things seem sort of canned. Technical elements of the story also stray a little to far from reality, adding to a sort of out-of-place feeling. The story as a whole is pretty solid and fun to play through though, and the time you'll spend having fun greatly outweighs the few discomforts. An excellent game overall. Expand
  7. DevinH.
    Dec 16, 2007
    0
    I think this game is really around a 3 but I'm giving it a 0 because of the overblown reviews giving this game a 9 to 10 out of 10. If I I think this game is really around a 3 but I'm giving it a 0 because of the overblown reviews giving this game a 9 to 10 out of 10. If I was a desperate shoot-em up finatic that has no friends and no life and enjoyed playing a terrible mix of generic crap stolen from far better games over and over again just to collect the horrible substitutes of 360 achievements with nice graphics with a poorly done attempt at making the protangonist an everyday hero to try and standout from the other 100,000 shoot-em up games made this year (such as the legendary bioshock) than i would give this game an 8 out of 10. But then that's why there are so many poor shooting games out there, because any reviewer or gamer who would give this game above a 7 out of 10 has just been played and will keep getting played by other poorly made shooting games until they pull their head out of their arse and figure out what is going on. Expand

See all 474 User Reviews

Trailers